Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 109 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 5:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I enjoyed the finale for what it was - an exciting action flick, but I also agree with all of the complaints about it. It could've been so much more. Especially some sort of epilogue. The way it ended, it felt like there was going to be a follow up episode.

What bugs me about the main conflict between the Janeways was what to do about the transwarp hub. All I could think of, when they were planning to blow it up, was, "They built it. They can build it again. So how does this matter?" Even worse, they mention that there are six transwarp hubs. The animation in Astrometrics, displayed the connections from the one hub they were talking about destroying. It showed connections throughout the galaxy. So, are we to assume the other 5 hubs don't have a similar spread of connections? If so, what will destroying a single hub accomplish in the long run? Unless we go with the idea that it's just this one hub that has so many connections and the rest only have a few strands. The basis of this conflict was lame and this problem should've been pointed out in the episode, so that they could focus more on attacking the central node/queen's cluster/whatever it's called. That at least made sense, but since it's less eye candy, we just have to assume that the suicide infiltration by Janeway with the "virus" (what the hell was it anyway? and how did it destroy the complex?) works without giving us any information on how that was possible. And are we supposed to assume that the queen's cluster getting blow'd up destroyed ALL of the Borg? Or not? Or some? Or the other transwarp hubs? hello?
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

What I appreciate about Seven's character during the final season is that she often became the opposition voice - putting forth a point of view that ran counter to the one that was either the point of the episode, or the main argument put forth by a major character. This was especially poignant in Repentance. No judgement, just highlighting that no one side has a monopoly on logic or morality. (That is, of course, what makes a dilemma a dilemma. Otherwise it's just a propagandizing morality play.)

So comes the moment when Seven talks about the Ledosians helping the Ventu with technology, infrastructure and education. Chakotay objects to this:
Chakotay: "Can you honestly say you know what's better for them?"
Seven: "...No, I can't."
Janeway: "Then what do you think we should do?"
Seven: "I am uncertain."
Janeway: "It's not like you to be on the fence."

That last bit with Janeway seems to be meant to solidify the idea that she doesn't have strong moral or logical reasoning to back up her statement. And this is where I lost my @#$% when watching this episode. This is the kind of scene that ideologues construct in which they think they've scored some sort of moral and intellectual point that silences the opposition to some humble state where there is no adequate reply to maintain their position. Bull$hit. What Seven should have said was:

Seven: "Commander, can you honestly say that YOU know what's best for them?"

I would love to see that smug face struggle to say 'No' when it's so obvious that he does think he knows what's best for someone else. That he knows how another culture, on another planet, should (or should not) develop. That he should be able to dictate how and when a culture, not his own, should or shouldn't be exposed to other things.

But don't worry, the writers covered for this obvious hypocrisy by making it obvious that these people don't suffer or have to work really hard to survive. They have herbs and poultices that heal bone micro-fractures in a matter of days! Wow! they don't need antibiotics or alcohol! Who needs hospitals? And with that magical barrier, they never have to deal with dangers or the threat of maturing into an advanced race on their own. Thank the gods for the powers of writing in excuses into the script. Yes! For the sake of someone else's ideals and values, the Ventu must stay at their technological level. So enlightened!

They're basically living in a terrarium mean to keep them the way they are. Forever.

Seven's reply of not being sure is the most honest answer, but it's used here as a kind of agitprop for the morality of Chakotay's position.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Seems like I don't agree with some of the reviews on this site, I found "Devil's Due" to be entertaining, for example, but this episode to be a boring mess. The crew might not be able to get REM sleep, but this episode nearly gave it to me.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sat, Jul 22, 2017, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

I can see this episode being an allegory for either of the two most common assumptions: the US health care system or socialized medicine. It's actually quite telling that this is possible. But if we look at the pattern of ideology (and let's be honest, the Star Trek universe is a socialist utopia) that the writers and stories have shown us over the years, it's most likely meant to be critical of the US system. Fair enough. It's their show and they can say what they want on it, and I was fine taking the story as it is (I despise socialism, btw).

But it wasn't until I watched the SF Debris review of the episode that I noticed what was missing from the allegory that makes it crumble under the weight of logic. Money is never mentioned once. Only value to society. Chuck does a great job of pointing out that the criticism towards the US system makes sense if you are talking about money (in terms of how the Allocator determined where care was to go), but if there is no money involved, then the allegory makes no sense. It's the kind of messy mixing of metaphors/similes that happens all too often when one is too eager to promote an argument in a message show. If the Allocator was programmed to distribute care based on value to society, the result would not look like the socialist wet dream (by which I mean a representation that is so obviously meant to show the results of evil capitalism) that we have in 'Critical Care'. I understand where they wanted to go, and on the surface it looks like they got there, but in truth the message is muddied by sloppy allegory whose logic fails to holdup under scrutiny. It's like taking a plane to France and ending up in Paris, California (and trying to convince everyone that the chapparal in the your pictures is standard plumage in the French capital).
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

So, the reason they had to invade the tactical cube was so that they could "infect" all of the drones who were part of UM-0 at the same time through the central thingy. Ok.

Later, when those drones had been cut off from the collective by the virus and the Queen had no way to access them, she threatened to "infect" the drones with the same virus (only modified to kill them) by using UM-0.

If you could run the infection through UM-0, to get at the drones who were part of UM-0, why bother with the cube?
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 1:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode pissed me off. But it wasn't the Kes mess that did it. It was the "return" of the Vidiians (or the reminder, I guess). Yes, the Kes story was really botched and they screwed up what could've been a wonderful Coda to a character I liked. But it's the Vidiians that enfuriate me.

Well, maybe I should be honest and say it's not the Vidiians, but Voyager's reaction/handling of them. Here is a species that LITERALLY looks at every other sentient species as consumable. They're not desperate, they're evil. They may have begun as desperate, but now they only look to consume. Why would you treat them with kid gloves...ever? If you don't put them down when you meet them, they will turn on you without exception.

When the grappling things were broken off, Voyager fired torpedoes at it and they obviously got through the shielding. They should've kept firing until there was nothing left. Anything left alive would just attack and consume whoever passed by.

They were an excellent villainous force in the show - my angry reaction to them is a good indication for me, but it was the kid glove treatment that pissed me off. Voyager should've built a coalition of species predated by the Vidiians and led a massive fleet to wipe them all out. (Hmm...maybe they should've done that with the Borg, too...but hell, I like the Borg. Yeah, I know. But at least the Borg want to use you as a living being to increase their own. The Vidiians want to literally rip you to pieces to fix themselves.)
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Thu, Jul 13, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

This episode didn't deserve it's one star. The only moment I really enjoyed was (and maybe I'm giving the writers too much credit) the call back to Logan's Run when the Doctor drones, "There is no Other Side....only Voyager...." I actually laughed out loud at that.

And that was the only good point of the episode. I can't recall yelling at the television, "Why does that even matter?" so many times before this. All of the usual complaints have already been mentioned but there was one point in the episode at which I literally threw up my hands in frustration. The shotgun blast to the holodeck control console was stupid enough on its own, but what really pissed me off was that it turned off the safeties Permanently. When I say permanently, I mean that either they designed the holodeck so that the safeties can only be turned on/off INSIDE the holodeck, or the crew simply forgot to consider turning the safeties back on from outside of it. And I will not buy any bullsh!t about the shotgun scrambling the controls so that the safeties stay off. That makes the tech on board Voyager equivalent to those old Christmas lights where if one bulb burned out the whole thing wouldn't light and you had to figure out which one to replace by testing each one.

This is my first run through Voyager and I consider this episode to be the very worst so far - even more than Threshold. Threshold at least had bullsh!t come out of nowhere leaving me in a state of bewildered shock wondering if it was bad on purpose. Spiritfolk was made up of nothing but the laziest contrivances that makes me recall one of the best lines from MST3K: "You know, this was really avoidable." (The Pumaman S09E03 - if you're curious.)
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Thu, Jun 29, 2017, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

Very tense and fun episode. Major complaint would be Janeway's hypocrisy, but it isn't. Her experiences in the Delta quadrant actually support her condemnation of Ransom's actions and violation of Federation Principles. The true culprit of hypocrisy is Janeway's superpower: plot contrivance. Because Voyager seemed to be uninterested in exploring the idea of a Federation starship in dire circumstances over a long period of time, they used the Reset Button on a near-weekly basis. (Can you imagine how much more engaging and interesting Voyager would've been with even a sprinkling of what Equinox went through?) Plot contrivances allowed for Janeway to take stands and act based on Federation principle because she would rarely have to face the consequences of her actions - either because the episode is written to conclude with her in the right or when she did face consequences, they didn't matter because they would be resolved or ignored by the episodic reset button.

It doesn't take away that the episode was gripping at times. It was nice to get a taste of what Voyager could've been in better and bolder hands.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Jun 27, 2017, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

I can't think of the think tank as truly villainous. The intro segment was a legitimate deal, and that the blue fish-dude tried to lie his way out of it without the proper payment. Sure, their replicators "wouldn't work" by a plot contrivance, but there's more than one way to get/grow/trade/barter/buy food. Therefore the introduction was an attempt to make a legitimate act of helpfulness look sinister while the ones who were helped are cast as the victims, even thought they're the ones trying to deceive! Of course, later in the episode the Think Tank is much more villainous since they orchestrated the events to create a situation that would work to their own goals. (which made me wonder...did they create the trap that destroyed that planet? or was it those bounty hunters? Pretty extreme measures either way. Or can a planet literally explode randomly when you scan it?)

There was a jaw-dropping moment for me in the planet explosion scene. Voyager's shields are up and a chunk of the debris them, gets vaporized, and hurls Voyager backwards. Given the size, mass and speed of the chunk of 'sploded planet, there is no way in hell Voyager (or any ST universe ship) could possibly survive that. I mean, if Voyager's shields can block that, there's no way any weapons fire from anyone can get through. I know its just eye candy, but it's utterly ridiculous. I've always been critical of planet-busting visuals - starting with when I first saw Episode IV as a kid. The best depiction of planet 'splosion was in Titan AE. Those chunks were deadly. And the most realistic-looking (in my experience) is the Stellar Converter from Master of Orion II.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 23, 2017, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

@Tmrn I agree with nearly everything you said. It would've been really engaging if the aliens attacking at the end were that desperate and Tuvok points out that they are not necessarily the enemy. Of course, that would require the original message that Voyager sent to include the information of what the idiotic and inexcusably inflexible aliens were doing to the sinkhole and what that would do to the planets therein.

My point of contention is the racist remark: "Is it because she is white and looks like a human and has sparkly stuff on her face while the aliens look less human and have darker skin?" Too often these days such a statement is brushed aside, accepted or simply ignored because it targets "the Man" or white people. Basically it's become acceptable to make disparaging remarks about a particular skin color because of the skin color - making a race-based judgement. I understand the history behind the accusation and for all I know it might be true! But that does make its tone any less racist than it is.

I mean no offense to you Tmrn. I just wanted to make the point that this kind of behavior shouldn't be accepted. Again, the trend you point out may have some basis in fact, but too often it is used by race-baiters on both sides to pollute the debate with their own agendas.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

A minor complaint. You would think that after the second time the "midnight snacker" struck the kitchen, they would've put cameras or something in the kitchen. Is that so hard? Screw the security detail, how about a basic level of passive security - especially considering that Neelix would probably not be so lit up about it if Seven wasn't throwing food everywhere. But I suppose its consistent with the other MAJOR complaint about ST:Everything. Most of the injuries on the bridge, and ESPECIALLY the shuttle crashes, could be avoided by using restraints/seat belts/duct tape/anything aside from nothing.

Also, how is there a "midnight" on a starship? Of course, there's an 0:00 hour, but does the ship shut down for 8 hours and everyone go to sleep? The ship should be crewed 24/7 and the galley should conceivably be open as well with "over-nighters".

On a good note, Naomi is very cute and a great actress. She's growing on me as well - dispelling the usual dread that comes with child actors.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

This was a great episode. Seven's words and expressions as One let himself die were tear-jerking. That being said, I wanted to make three nitpicks:

1. The death or removal of One was too telegraphed from the beginning. I literally had the thought, "This guy is too powerful. He gives them and easy way out of everything. He has the mobile emitter in his head. They are so going to kill him at the end of this."

2. You would think by now that the standard procedure for evaluating any kind of explosive/expansive stellar phenomenon is NOT to do it in a shuttle! Jesus Christ these idiots don't deserve to survive. It's so frustrating that it makes it harder to suspend my disbelief.

3. Not a nitpick, but can you imagine what it must've been like for the Doctor to remove his emitter from One's head?
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

It would've been interesting if they kept the Void setting going for a few episodes. They could have easily made up for it with the "skip-2 years" Void at the end of it as a satisfying reward. It would've allowed for an extended process by which they encountered the Voidians (or whatever), fought them off, communicated, learned of their plight, learned of the Melons, tried diplomacy, etc. Maybe even flesh out how they could've evolved/developed in total darkness! How about there was a Precursor species who did something to create the void and died out. And the Voidians were a primitive species who adapted to the darkness over time on one of the planets within, found the technology and adapted it to their own needs. What if it turns out there ARE stars and planets, etc. but the Void obscures it all (a kind of dark matter? and there's the answer to the energy problem) and God help you if you steer into one of them!)

I agree with TMRN above regarding the Melon dumper. I understand they're trying to depict a good guy/bad guy duality, but c'mon! It's like the writers have no understanding or consistency of people who are motivated by profit. They offered him a means of addressing a species-wide environmental problem. And given that he literally had a monopoly on the Vortex, he would've had a monopoly on the technology. If he were that saavy, he would be able to see how much of a win this is for him as well as a benefit for his people, but NOOOOOOO! He has to be lazy too, otherwise we'll be giving his character more than one dimension and then how can we artificially depict our heroes as the righteous ones.

So many chances of exploring issues in a deep and meaningful manner just cast aside for the ease of black and white preaching.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Janeway: How about launching a probe?
Tuvok: It would be incinerated in seconds.
Harry: I know, let's launch a shuttle instead...with people inside.
[Tuvok n' Janeway glare at him.]
Harry: ...or how about we just launch the entire ship at it...and land it...on the surface?
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 4:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

I know it wasn't the point of the episode and it was meant to be a one-off with a reset button, but seriously: These people use a particle beam that can pierce most shields?! Jesus Christ, screw Chakotay's love journal! Tell Harry and Seven to spend their time getting down that technology on paper so they can develop it for themselves. I doubt Voyager would become an aggressive conquering force (jokes about Janeway aside), but it sure would be one hell of a deterrent against hostile alien ships. (Run away! Run awaaaaaaaay!)

Also, the Netflix screen still for this episode showed what's-her-face in a profile shot, which really highlighted her ears (the only "alien" part of her species) and it got me thinking about the "hard-headed-alien-of-the-week" meme. Given how often the alien-ness is established by forehead ridges, ears and nostrils, I wonder what kind of selection pressure is so ubiquitous throughout the alpha and delta quadrant to produce it. I'd love to hear the technobabble BS explanation for that.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sat, Jun 10, 2017, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Ack. My mistake. I just watched it again and they were identified as a pre-warp civilization. My criticism of still stands, though and I definitely agree with Chuck from SFDebris that these people are pre-warp only as a plot convenience. They've got everything except for warp capability, which makes no sense. In the ST universe nearly EVERY starfaring species is humanoid (which they gave a reason/excuse for in ST:NG), can breed with one another (which is a violation of the definition of species and speciation), and are at about the same tech level (I swear it's either warp-capable, twentieth century, or cave man). So yeah. Plot convenience.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sat, Jun 10, 2017, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Oh yeah. And what was going to stop that species from doing it all over again. The dialog with that lead researcher made it seem like they were desperate for the Omega particle. Why didn't anyone bother to tell them about the potential dangers? Or maybe even talk to them and give them an alternative energy technology? If the Omega Directive is as draconian as it is portrayed here, it almost seems plausible that if this species refuses to stop pursuing it Janeway/Starfleet has no choice but to force compliance with threats, steal their tech and kill their researchers, bomb them "back to the stone age", or wipe them out. It's that or recklessly let them potentially put the entire galaxy in danger.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Sat, Jun 10, 2017, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I don't understand how the Prime Directive has any play here. I don't recall this species being identified as Pre-Warp as mentioned in an above comment - unless that was concluded based on the reference by Tuvok to the PD. Either way I thought it was very reckless of Voyager to torpedo the Omega particles for two reasons:
1. They planned to warp away right after they fired - I assume for safety's sake. Since they didn't bother to tell the other two ships, they were probably consumed in the blast (makes them a$$holes of the highest degree). Unless Voyager assumed they could warp away (which negates the PD argument) and which is a thoughtless assumption. I actually yelled WTF?! when I saw that.
2. You can torpedo something like the Omega particles? I know they technobabbled something to the torpedo, but jeez! Wasn't Seven working on a way to neutralize them? How does shooting them avoid the repurcussions of their destructive capabilities? (We must eliminate our nuclear stockpiles without the deleterious effects of their explosions. I know, blow 'em up!)

I found the epilogue with Janeway and Seven to be insulting. Here is the order of Janeway's dialog with Seven concerning her crisis of faith or whatever you would call it.
"Chances are it was a chaotic anomaly. Nothing More." --- "If I didn't know you better, I'd say that you just had your first spiritual experience."
Now switch it around:
"If I didn't know you better, I'd say that you just had your first spiritual experience."---"Chances are it was a chaotic anomaly. Nothing More." That's a pretty sh@#$ty approach to dismissing the experience of someone who is questioning their beliefs. It's also a very convenient dismissal of a phenomenon that seems utterly unlikely for the sake of the plot or personal ideology...but consistent with the atheistic ideology of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Can you imagine how tense that would've left the show, crew and audience? It wasn't their fault that they were dragged to the Delta Quadrant, but it WAS the Prime Directive that helped to keep them stuck there. That would be a strong complaint by the Maquis on the ship maybe even fomenting some unhappiness in the Federation crew. They could even debate the beliefs of the Federation and their situation (it would fall on the side of the Federation, since this is their show). The drama would practically write itself. Add to that the threat of a large number of Kazon (you would have to remove the Oompa Loompa and maybe enhance the menace of strength of numbers and being pissed off first, of coures) and you have a starship on the run with rebellion bubbling just below the surface. (Gosh! sounds like BSG.)
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

+DLPB And I would add:

Caretaker: "Then you leave me no choice." His body starts to glow/shiver/shrink/whatever. Tuvok/Chakotay/Every goddamn Federation and Maquis in range detect an energy spike on their tricorders: the Caretaker is going into some kind of critical mass and will explode in just enough time to transport back onto the ship and back off. Kazon approach the array thinking they've fought off Voyager and are caught in the blast.

There, now we have a badass AND reasonable Janeway. She shoves his hypocrisy in his face and the decision to destroy the array is taken out of her hands. Sure, people will still complain that she should've been more accomodating with him and negotiated to send them back first, but at least there's MUCH less stupid to pin on her.

....and let the integration of the crew happen over the next few episodes, of course.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Every time they said Coaxial Warp Drive was overloading or charging or whatever, I kept saying in my head, "Well, just unplug it!"
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

What could have turned this episode into an even greater one would've been having the commanding Hirogen survive. That would've had consequences that could have been very interesting to watch. We could have seen him calling his people together and proposing his plans. We could have seen the struggles of acceptance and/or civil war. We could have seen Voyager stick around and share the Federation gospel (which I despise, but this is their show so it would be appropriate) as well as help in the transition. Maybe even imply that the Hirogen could become a smarter and slightly benevolent version of Klingons for the Delta Quadrant. You know. Consequences. The stuff that make stories really stick. I understand that killing the leader upped the drama, but it was the easy way out. (Lazy) And his survival would've made the cease-fire at the end make sense instead of the usual "Pulling-the-Captain's-log-out-of-our-asses-because-we-wrote-ourselves-into-a-corner".

Anyway, the episode was fun and enjoyable, but I definitely agree that it was full of cliches. Neelix was less annoying than usual, but annoyance with him is such a common element, there's almost no need to comment on it.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Also. You would think that if the Doctor had downloaded all of Starfleet's database regarding therapy and the like, it would have included some cautions about Repressed Memories and the influence of bias. And if you want to propose the possibility of Future Developments making Repressed Memories an actual, proven and practiced therapy, then this episode shouldn't have happened at all.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

It's interesting to see the evolution of socio-political trends in the comments, especially how much more vocal the backlash against "listen and believe" has become in last few years. I actually worked with an older gentleman who was accused of molesting his own daughter after she saw a therapist and discovered "repressed memories". It was proven to be false and I know him well enough to know he didn't do it, but the rage coming off of him about that false accusation was so strong it was scary. (Keep in mind he was in his late 60s when I worked with him over 10 years ago and this had happened when he was a young man...so early 80's?) Can you imagine loving and raising your daughter only to have some "expert" convince her that you did something monstrous to her? This is the danger of "listen and believe". It doesn't minimize the pain, suffering and seriousness of a true experience to be skeptical of a claim, because it does maximize pain, suffering and seriousness to blindly believe any accusation. It makes it more likely for a charlatan or a liar to take advantage of such a situation, causing innocent people to suffer, and make it less likely for people to believe the true claims. It's actually quite small-minded and despicable to not care about that.

Which is why I think Kovin panicking and runnning was a great idea. It's completely understandable given his awareness of his own culture and what will most likely happen to him. AND it also makes him look more guilty to the ones hunting him and reinforces the assumptions of those who see him as guilty. I'm surprised so few people mention Kovin's initial trust in Tuvok. He makes it point to recognize that Tuvok is the most likely to offer an impartial investigation - another indication that logic is the best way to navigate through an emotionally charged situation like this.
Set Bookmark
Reuben K.
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Too much tech to think simply. When Janeway and da Vinci were on their way to the storehouse, they could only detect the mobile emitter, and weren't sure if Janeway was there. They were literally walking to the storehouse over the Southern California Desert landscape. Are there no telescopes on Voyager? They can detect specific details of the borders of space-faring races (Year of hell) from parsecs away (or really far away), but can't magnify a view of the surface of the planet they're orbiting?! How hard is it to look out the !@#$% window?
Also, it's obvious why the bad guys only shot once when Janeway and da Vinci glided away. They were utterly shocked at how ridiculous the situation was. How would you react if the people you were chasing suddenly decided to skate away using Hot Wheels tied to their shoes?
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.