Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 76 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Benjamin
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 12:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

Surprisingly, one of the best episodes of Trek IMO because of the intelligence of conveying the arguments on both sides and the incredible acting by everyone in the episode. David Ogden Stiers did a good portrayal of his character... making sure not to seem too human... being mello, reserved, not used to others... the expert in his field. Also enjoyed reading all of the opinions above.
Set Bookmark
doctorbenjiphd
Fri, Mar 10, 2017, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

If we take the premise and keep it true to the internal logic of the show, I find it impossible to buy Janeway ordering Tuvix to his death. It simply seems like a staple of Trekian/Starfleet morals and ethics that a captain would never order the taking of a life to save another. Think O'Brien in DS9's wonderful Children of Time--he says something along the lines of "nobody can tell me that I can't see my wife and child." And Sisko agrees. I appreciate the impossible dilemma Janeway was in, and Mulgrew is a solid enough actress that she really conveyed the pain it took her to give this order, but at the end of the day, it seems dishonest to the character and to the Star Trek universe that she would go through with it. Again, simply put, I just don't buy it.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Tue, Nov 1, 2016, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Robert Picardo's performance in this episode is beyond anything voyager has shown before.
Set Bookmark
ben
Sat, Oct 22, 2016, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I ilked the first maybe 20 minutes which gave me a little sense of wonder and excitment and some bits between Spock and Bones were good too. It is style over substance. A pretty mediocre action movie.
Star Trek: the fast and the furious.

And reading through the comments and how people say that they liked it because it wasn't as bad as the others to that I can only say: Hunger makes the best cook.
People just ignore that the movie made no sense. Jammer and some other pointed that out. They have succesfully dumbed down the audience. Nobody minds anymore that this movie had no big ideas and that the story is a big plothole. And yeah they talk about unity but the Federation isn't about unity it is about community and how acceptance and individuality strengthens that community. In Star Trek the word unity means probably more to Romulans or the Cardassians.
But I would give it 2.5 stars too which may sound surprising but yeah I have accepted it, it is dumb and I don't consider it to be Star Trek and judging it on its own it is a sometimes enjoyable action movie with some nice jokes. And I'm sure that I will have forgotten in a year or two what this movie is about. I more or less have forgotten the 2009 movie (Vulcan was destroyed, a fight on something in high alltitude and Spock flying around in an egg, that is all I remember), Into Darkness is already fading (Only things I remember here are Benedict Cumberbatch, the horrible KHAAAAAAN scene, the other horrible scene with carol marcus aka look ! A blond woman in her underwear, the evil admiral, people in torpedos and superblood). And I have already forgotten the motivation of two jj movie villains.
Set Bookmark
benb1
Sun, Sep 11, 2016, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

For me, the borg becomes individual far too quickly, the episode paints the crew as if they are fattening a pig for a big feast and when it comes to the time to kill it they can't go through with it because they've given it a name and everyone feels like meat eating might not be justifiable.

not to mention the borg character is not interesting, and for those who have lost alot (or come close to losing alot) namely picard and guinan, people change their mind easily as to how they percieve 'Hugh' and what they think of him and subsequently his role in genocide.

how about this instead. picard agrees to analyse the borg member in the hopes of finding weaknesses and exploits for any future encounters with the borg, and through doing this realises there might be a way to eradicate the borg altogether. his crew have their various battles with the morality of that situation, especially since the borg is behaving differently and cooperating since his capture, (although i don't think he needs a name or to be particuarly fond of geordi and i also don't think he requires a paradigm shift in borg ideology as just because he has been disconnected for a few days, it hardly brings back all his individuality. now picard realises that it is not what the federation stands for to destroy entire cultures and peoples and argues this case to the higher ups, which SHOULD feature in the episode in order that the final say IS to do something about the Borg and if that means a virus then goddamnit picard you're orders are clear. picard doesn't like the way this sits on his conscience but, like the best episodes of trek, he does not pussy out and find a magical way to get out of the situation, no, instead he carries out the orders at the protests of some of his crew (noted doctor) and that's that. the plan fails anyway perhaps simply delaying the borg a small amount of time but eventually the borg overcome the virus considering how ridiculously superior in terms of technology they are and subsequently the borg can still turn up and do whatever they want.

I am also a die hard voyager fan and believe the best representation of borg individuality and the troubles therein was undoubtedly 7 of 9, who by the way, got to keep the name 7, instead of getting a crap name like hugh, seeing as that was her chosen name, and there's nothing wrong with a number being your name if it's how you identify as an individual among many.
Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Wed, Aug 31, 2016, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

There are a few things that attempt to salvage this episode. However, as to the plot, this dead horse has been beaten so badly, it's bones have been pulverized to a fine powder. Enough already with the "close calls". It's unoriginal. It's boring. It's insulting to the audience. This is the one major reason why I feel Voyager could never measure up to the other series that came before. They could have done anything with this ship but instead, it turned into this "plodding our way home" ordeal. As Jammer said, enough with the teasers. If they aren't going to get home until the series finale, then let's stop with the false hopes BS and get on with other themes. Frankly, I don't care if others don't find the Gilligan's Island plot repetition to be obnoxious. This is bush league writing and fodder for the all-but-discerning viewer.

It's especially insulting that the encrypted Star Fleet message from several episodes past was just a "Sorry, no go on any help from us... but good luck!" What a complete waste of a plot device.

-2 for yet-another-we-came-close-to-getting-home-but-sorry-not-this-time plot
+1 for good dialog and performances from the Voyager crew
+1 for great character interactions between Janeway & Seven
-0.5 for Ray Wise's lackluster performance
-1 for absurd revenge plot and associated contrivances
+2 for exploring the effects of Janeway's decision from Scorpion
-1 for making us wait for the Star Fleet message decryption for nothing except another Gilligan-in-Space spiel

Episode gets a -0.5 stars in my book. Call me picky, but Gilligan's Island barely worked as a serialized sitcom. Stop using its themes in Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Laben
Sun, Aug 21, 2016, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Actually I don't believe 'Star Trek' is a Utopia by any means at all....all they did is replace America, Russians, Chinese, etc. with the Federation, Klingons, Romulans, and Cardassians and continue waging war.

There is really no progress made whatsoever by humanity on Star Trek....most of Star Trek TNG, DS9, Voyager, and the movies thereafter were all about war and violence.

Sure the show is entertaining, but real progress, in my opinion, would be a largely peaceful state of being with no need for petty conflicts and battles any longer. Technology itself obviously doesn't guarantee peace - people can either use it for good or for bad.

That's my two cents, and I really don't care if anyone sees that as left or right wing.
Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Thu, Aug 18, 2016, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

2 stars from me. Good philosophical episode with some decent performances. I like the gratuitous appearance of Riker and DeLancie's performance is, as always, superb. However:

-1 (Canon violation) for the fact that I can hardly believe the Q would allow a human to determine the fate of one of their own.

-1 (basic series plot hole) for the fact that the Q could easily (and without moral issue) send Voyager back home and this should have been the immediate instinct for Janeway upon seeing any of the Q.

Frankly, I was taken aback by this episode. As soon as it was apparent that there was a Q in it, I discounted the episode's validity. The fact that the Q are in Voyager at all is insulting to the viewer's intelligence unless the writers were prepared to have Voyager return home early. But I always like a Q episode and [series-defining plot holes aside] the philosophical view in question was interesting.
Set Bookmark
ben
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I hate prequels. Name one that didn't suck.
The only good prequel I can think of is Godfather II and that was only a half prequel.
I mean Hollywood movies always end good. Tv shows often do, too.
DS9 was a bit different but anyways this new show will tell a story of which we already know the outcome. Kirk
Enterprise was a good example: The Vulcans treat Humans like shit ?! I wonder if that will ever change ? Oh no I actually already know that this will change and in the end they will all be buddies...
I at least hope that we will not see another woman with suspiciously large breasts stuffed into a corset. That somewhat killed Voyager and Enterprise for me because it is a mockery of the ideals of Star Trek.
One can only hope.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Fri, Jun 17, 2016, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

@Mayavoe

I recently rewatched this episode with my kids. They both thought that either the creature had shapeshifted into Dax or the gas had affected her and she was helping the creature. Her comments about moving the artifact reinforced this.

While this doesn't explain within the plot why Dax seemed to be acting weird, it does explain why the writers included these scenes. I think Dax was meant to be a red herring to take our suspicion away from the true culprit Odo.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Thu, Jun 2, 2016, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

Why was starbuck flying a viper? Didn't Adama throw her out of the military in the previous episode or one before that?
Set Bookmark
Ben
Fri, May 20, 2016, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

DPLP wrote:

"Actually, it's been stolen from a first season episode of Babylon 5 (a much better episode with a gutsy ending). There are a lot of eps in DS9 that are plagiarizing B5."

What the heck are you talking about? How can you claim "Babel" ripped off a Babylon 5 episode when:

1) I can't think of a season 1 B5 episode that's close to "Babel". The closest episode would probably be "Confessions and Lamentations" which is in B5's second season and aired in May 1995 (two and a half years after Babel). I would agree that it's a better episode than "Babel" but certainly different enough that there's no ripping off going on.

2) Babel aired in January 1993. Bablyon 5's pilot episode "The Gathering" did not air until a month later. The first true episode of the first season of Babylon 5 didn't air until until a year later in January 1994. How could "Babel" be ripping off anything in Babylon 5?

Set Bookmark
Ben
Fri, May 6, 2016, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

@Shinzon
Sisko contacts another two star admiral who obviously knows about the coup. Others are probably involved, too.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Wed, Apr 13, 2016, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

@ Yanks: Unions are only possible because of capitalism ?? That is quite an odd analogy. Thats like saying the suffragettes were only possible because of patriarchy, which isn't really saying much apart from the fact that capitalism was pretty shitty.
And I was actually talking about Europe not about the colonies. :)
But I guess it was quite as bad in the US during that time (plus slavery and the native american genocide)
My point was that Luke doesn't know much about economics or history (which are my fields) but that has never stopped anybody, right. ?
Set Bookmark
Ben
Tue, Apr 12, 2016, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Oh my god. Another conservative having a bad day.
Yeah, yeah Capitalism is good, Unions are bad. We get it.
Quark treats his employer as capitalists did during the 19th century. No sick leave, no vacation and children working 18 hours a day until they were dead. And unions and the teachings of Karl Marx (who by the way is still very respected as an economist even by guys from the other side like Hayek or Friedman) were the reason that through the evil state/work laws we have now sick leave, vacation and no child labor. The horror.
Why do you even watch Star Trek ? The Federation is basically a liberal communist state.
Maybe the apprentice is more your style.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Oh guys you are so lovable. All your speculations and whatever. Will Simon Pegg bring it back to its roots, what does the new director want, will JJ with the third movie bring it back to something that can be called star trek, why is the trailer just full of action and quips ? I'll tell you why

Star Wars 7: 2 Billion
Transformers 4: 1.1 Billion
Avanegers + Age of Ultron: 3 Billion
Fast and Furious 6,5: 1.5 Billion (and Lin made almost 200 millions more with every new fast and furious movie)

Star Trek (2009): 385 Million
Star Trek: Into Darkness: 467 Million
most succesful of the older ones
Star Trek 1: (adjusted) 450 Million
Star Trek 4: (adjusted) 288 Million

So Into Darknes made already more than the most succesfull Star Trek film (and the first one wasn't that trekky and the next one Star Trek 4 only made 288 millions)

And the numbers up there are alll that matter. JJ makes movies that make alot of money and he make more money with every new film in the franchise and it is the same with Lin. Both Avengers movies made more than ALL the old Star Trek movies combined. And I guarantee you, the guys at Paramount think how can we make a billion dollars with Star Trek. That is Paramounts prime directive. And that is the reason why the trailer appeals to guys who watch fast&furious, Star Wars and Avengers and that is why the director says that the movie is totally not like the trailer and that is also the reason why they say that Simon Pegg is one of the writers (because this time it has to be done right). So that you guys go see it. What you don't see is: It is capitalism and capitalism is the great cultural equalizer or standardizer and now finally Star Trek is on the menu. It is far more accessible, even enjoyable. It is just not Star Trek anymore. These movies will never be like classic Star Trek. I put my hopes on the new show.






Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Sun, Mar 6, 2016, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I'm not sure why people have a hard time with Guinan's ability to consciously transcend space-time and to have a glimpse of a parallel universe. The writers have consciously chosen to keep Guinan a mystery... a special character if you will... instead of giving her a proper backstory and character arc of her own. She is not a primary character, after all. The Q are able to do things that no one in the Trek universe can comprehend, yet we all love the Q episodes (most of them) and Q in general. The fact that Q and Guinan seem to have a very adversarial stance towards each other coupled with the fact that Q considers her to be "a very dangerous creature" tells me that Guinan simply has abilities that we, and the Enterprise crew, cannot readily comprehend.

I love this episode. We get a little more Tasha, we get some play with dimensions and time. We get some moral ambiguity. And we get some great performances. The one thing that always irked me is the fact that Guinan was on the alternate-universe Enterprise *at all*. What was a bartender doing on a warship? They didn't even have access to the replicators (eating rations etc), what use would they have for a bartender? I was in the Navy and you better believe if there was a civilian on our boat, it wasn't a bartender... more likely to be CIA or something like that. Guinan should not have been on board the alternate-universe Enterprise at all. The story could've moved forward with Picard and Data's usual deference to logic and logical thought. As some posters have mentioned previously, Picard had already alluded to the possibility that the presence of Enterprise-C could have messed up their time line. Data could've assuaged any moral dilemma that Picard was dealing with.

Again, I'd give this episode a solid 4 stars but I am definitely irked by the very presence of Guinan on a Federation warship during wartime when things are so bad that they have shut down replicators and are living on rations.
Set Bookmark
Ben Franklin
Fri, Mar 4, 2016, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

This episode is one that could've been awesome but was made meh by the whole "rape is a perspective" thing.

Anyone defending the writing of this and saying that a person could alter their memory so badly that they could actually invent a rape inside their mind can be accurately labeled an imbecile. Go talk to a rape victim. Go speak with people who have escaped rape. You don't forget that shit. The tidal wave of fear, terror, and depression that follows such events can cripple some people for years. Others can recover significantly faster but no one can just conjure up an attempted rape in their mind and actually believe it unless they were HEAVILY under the influence of some very strong psychoactive drug.

You really have to do some mental gyrations to actual defend the idea that an attempted rape is a point of perspective. No way, jack. It is a direct insult to rape victims to even try arguing that point. Maybe Mrs. Apgar might have remembered Riker being a little overly forward in his comments and gestures towards her but to completely invent him trying to force fuck her is absolutely loony toons. The writers should've just left the rape bit out completely. It comes close to ruining the episode for me.

Luckily, the rest of the episode is solid enough for it to get a 3 star from me.
Set Bookmark
Ben Masters
Fri, Feb 12, 2016, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

"If you can, view the remastered version of this episode. The updated graphics adds amazing visual punch."

I've taken that recommendation and then some. I have seen through the remastered "Doomsday Machine" quite a few times, first from the standalone second-season remastered release, and then from the 2015 remastered full-series release, and it never ceases to amaze.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

I understand Jammer. Most (people) men have a problem to expierence movies on an emotional level. I don't mean that somebody doesn't like the music or whatever, I mean the nitpicking. relax beanvounters.
I was overwhelmed by Interstellar. I like the grim portrait of world destroyed by climate change and it fascinated me that all the people were just doing what they always did while knowing that things get worse/end. I think that is how the people will react when we have destroyed the planet. Just watchingin disbelieve and minding their own buisness. I could name other things I liked but yeah bottom line: It really got me on an emotional level. Most movies don't
Set Bookmark
Ben
Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@ Ian and comp625: You are both wrong. In TNG it is made clear that datas positronic brain is unique and that nobody could recreate it. So, whatever Bashir could have used would have been far less complex than data. In the context of the story it probably meant turning Bareil into a computer.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Zero stars is far to harsh. There are worse episodes like "Fascination". I liked the scene where Worf made his revelation about why he is so stiff. I found it especially strong because the rest of the episode was pretty silly and it comes out of nowhere. He killed another kid in a football game which changed him forever. If you are different (stronger, fearless and so on) and proud about it, maybe even arrogant to realize then that this led to the death of someone. I don't know. I found it quite moving.

@jammer: more and more people like soccer in the US (probably because of all the brain destruction in american football ?) I think these two sports show the difference between Europe and the US quite well: Football: slow, strategic, you have to be concentrated the whole time.
American Football: fast, brutal, tactical.
(Ok, I admit. Most of my knowledge about American Football comes from "Jerry Maguire" and "Any given sunday" :D )

I never understood why American Football is called football and not American Rugby... The mysteries of life :)
Set Bookmark
Ben
Tue, Nov 3, 2015, 3:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

One point most, if not all, commentators are missing is the fact that this episode is (also) about minorities and what it can do to you when you are living in an hostile environment. And of course Laas is an ass that is the whole point. He lived in a world full of prejudice and hopelessness and in the end he became intolerant and bitter because of that.
Odo grew up under different circumstances, therefore he is loving and understanding.
Odos blind support is also understandable for someone from a minority. Just try to imagine that at a certain point in your existence you had to accept that almost everyone around you is different, so different that they will never understand important parts (?) of what you are AND then you meet someone who actually does understand you. There is an instant connection. It is hard not to take his/her side even if his/her actions are questionable.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Sun, Nov 1, 2015, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

@Aine: good point. Now that I think about it, was there any gay relationship, in any of the shows, that lasted longer than an episode.
More LGBT would have been nice although thinking about sex change Quark really makes me cringe (Men wearing female clothing acting super girly is like black face in my opinion but I admit that I have a very special view on that topic)
Nevertheles, what I liked about trek was that changing your body or being with the same sex is mostly treated as something normal.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Wed, Oct 28, 2015, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

@Yanks and methone: First of all the Federation isn't scialist. It is, in fact, communist (no money). And which important inventions were made because of war needs? The internet, telephones, airplanes, cars, antibiotics, computers ? And I could go on for hours. Which big invention was made because of war ??? I cannot even name one. And the difference from now to the star trek universe is a cultural shift. I think Picard explained it in "First contact" people just stoped wanting to have things just to show off, greed is no longer the driving force but personal fulfillment.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.