Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 60 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Zane
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

I must agree with Chris and Ray. What is the big deal about "city" anyway?
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 6:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

The Wire is a 4 star masterpiece. This episode epitomizes why Andrew J Robinson is my favorite DS9 actor. He's so intense, natural and believable telling his 3 stories in The Wire. Then the wrap up with him saying they're all true, especially the lies. Excellent writing for a pitch perfect performance.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Hi Elliott, good comments, thanks. But I didn't understand this part:

Elliott said: "I'm truly stunned by all the "I like this person but not this one, so when this one does something, I like it, but when this one does not, I HATE it"...etc..."

Not sure if that's for me but I'll take a shot at a response anyway.

I do like some characters more than others; I look forward to seeing Eights, Tigh, Cottle, Romo, Helo, Leoben, Doral, Baltar, etc. While I don't like Starbuck or Roslin (2 examples) so much and am not as interested in seeing them come up, I know they're integral parts of the series and can't imagine the show without them. Plus they both have some enjoyable/moving scenes. When Athena does something controversial, e.g. at the end of a season 4.0 episode, I'll tend towards explanations/rationalizations or simply irrational defensiveness. Roslin yields an opposite bias: when she does something controversial it's more likely to make me jump to criticism and anger.

It's sort of a chicken and the egg thing. Do I have a pro/against bias to start and does that make my judgements either like or HATE? Or, do I develop the biases based on the character actions in the mini/s1 and then in s2 onwards do I then have the like/HATE magnifiers in effect? I think (hope!) the latter. I don't mind being biased but I hope I develop those character biases for fair reasons, at least fair to me.

Elliott said: "There are few characters in this series whom I would call "heroic" through and through and defensible as mostly "good" people: Helo, Athena, Billy and the angels...[shh that was a spoiler]."

I couldn't agree more! What a messy, grey set of players, very un-Star-Trek-like where Worf, Ensign Roe and Paris are the wild, nutty, edgy characters. But even Roe's nuttiness can't touch Lee putting a gun to Tigh's head or Roslin subordinating mutiny with Adama's top pilot in s1. BSG is dark and complicated ... but it's all the better for it.

Calling out Helo (only one controversy and that was him being high minded) and Athena (I plead temporary insanity for her one debatable action) is right on the money - those were the closest heroic, clean characters that span the series. And even they aren't simplistic characters, quite the opposite, I think Athena is one of the two most complicated characters (Boomer is the other for me). Great job by Moore & Co. making an interesting range of complicated characters.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Captain Jim said: "But, if you didn't watch it, how do you know it was skippable?"

Fair question. I watched some of the beginning of the rock climbing and became bored/dissatisfied. I used the Netflix timeline slider to preview stills of the upcoming rock climbing, I watched a bit of more and was bored again. Because of your question, I just looked at the rock climbing again and I found it boring - again.

This is how I approached the rock climbing which involved middling (for me) characters: Trip (aw shucks!), Reed (I'm British!) and Mayweather (who's this guy?). If the rock climbing had Phlox, Hoshi and Jeffrey Colmbs (as Shran, Weyoun, Brunt, anyone really) I'd have watched!

But to me rock climbing is inherently boring. Plus, I'm a die hard MST3K zealot and anytime "rock climbing" is mentioned I get twitchy with a crazed look in my eyes ... :)
www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJolhpz57RI
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Oct 24, 2012, 6:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Yay, Ellen Tigh!!! Great to see Kate Vernon in a pre-BSG role.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II >> a solid 4.0 star out of 4 follow up to the 4.5 star Part I. More of the same: great effects, good story, call backs to TOS, and Gorn! I for one loved seeing our favorite old lizard man from TOS, nicely updated to actually move faster than a snail and be much smarter too. And Hoshi! Wow, if they'd let her headline more episodes ENT would have been better off. Linda Park was great in this: acting, looks, awesome anime hair, the story they wrote her, everything. Very impressive. All hail Empress Hoshi!!

I gotta say, s4 Enterprise has really impressed me. I didn't like the augments and Spiner's stock baddie plus the transporter inventor episode was a snooze and skip. But the rest have all been 3.0 stars plus, very enjoyable. I see that the show runner changed from B&B to Manny Coto, a damn pity they didn't give him the reigns from day 1. I've been very critical of some of the earlier s1 and s2 episodes and even some of the Xindi arch which I usually liked could fall flat. But s4 has been excellent! Even my angst towards T'Pol has softened as she's taken on the Trip story line away from Vulcan "massage" therapy into real Human/Vulcan drama. The show is really clicking, I look forward to the last 2 Manny Coto episodes. (I don't count the finale which I already watched/skipped through - terrible! ... and B&B of course).
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I >> wow, what an episode! 4.5 stars out of 4.0, this is as good as it gets for Enterprise and even at the top with the best NG and DS9. I really disliked the DS9 mirrors with Kira the ridiculous evil/horny schemer and Sisko overacting so much I thought his head was going to explode. But Mirror Darkly was outstanding with the right amounts of good story, acting (over but not too much) and call backs to the old TOS gems. It was a nice mirror approach to have all of them be evil/alternates, not some like in the other mirrors. Evil Phlox was still smiling and cheery, but evil! Torture, animal dissection, plus an evil leather-ish outfit to boot. And Tholians! I loved seeing all of one and getting more details on them. Oh and I guess evil Star Fleet only takes aerobics instructors and sit up champions for female crew members, wow-za! And evil Hoshi's hair, look, and demeanor was great, she was the best alternate of the lot. And the Tholian web is back! Really cool stuff, great effects, good pacing. An excellent episode, top 5 for the whole series and one of the most memorable Treks for the whole franchise.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Bound was a solid 3.0 stars for me. I knew this was a green hottie episode and went in with low expectations but it was actually pretty good. And Ziyal as the head Orion women and the other DS9 alumni as the Orion trader was neat. The dance was excellent and the sexual innuendo was well done for sexual innuendo. Remember this series opened with T'Pol in her undies getting a salve rub down or T'Pol (again!) in decon going all Ponfar like a pol dancer? This was much more reasonable and intentionally funny than those scenes. I liked the twist at the end with who's really in charge! Good episode.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

So I'm watching the opening of Divergence and I think "wow, that's nuts, you can't take a cable between 2 ships at warp!" And then I remembered 2 things:
1) FTL is total BS, about as real as anti-grav and the universal translator
2) this is science *fiction* that is meant to be enjoyed

Once I recalled that FTL and warp technobabble was bull, I thought "why not take a cable across if the ship's warp fields merge?" Now I could really enjoy an awesome scene.

Both Affliction and Divergence were excellent, mining the Khan/mutant backstory and the ridgeless Klingons. I liked the general quite a bit. And the Klingon doctor was excellent, especially his warrior's take on victory and glory with medicine. Phlox's winning moment of beaming the cootie bomb on to the attacking ship and negotiating a peaceful conclusion was cool. Very good Trek, this is excellent stuff. 3.5 stars for both episodes.

ps - Hoshi kicking but in the first episode was great!

Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 25, 2012, 8:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

I really liked The Aenar, maybe 3.5 stars. It had excellent human drama, again anchored by Shran and the albino but also T'Pol and Trip. Neither are my faves but their strained relationship is compelling. The remote controlled ships were very cool and the whole arch was excellent. s4 Enterprise is like a whole new, good show!
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 9:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Observer Effect is one of my 2 or 3 favorite ENTs up to now, 4 stars all the way. I was actually riveted by the story and I thought the acting and direction were top notch. I even liked T’Pol’s controlled but noticeable concern for Trip at the end plus Archer’s speech was very good and believable. The aliens were cool and I like how they introduced them at the start with the chess game … it had me doing a double take, are they making these 2 chess masters out of the blue? It was realistic that Trip and Hoshi immediately noticed Mayweather’s odd visit to quarantine though the aliens were played a bit off but not very obviously off which would raise alarms. The slow explanation of their race, what they were doing and their powers was nicely done. Finding out more about Trip and Hoshi was also neat. It occurred to me that, unlike TOS with Spock, this ship’s Vulcan science officer might only be the third smartest person on board after the linguist/cryptographer/security prodigy (and black belt!) and the multi-advanced degree alien doctor/scientist/exobiologist (and great basketball shooter!). The ending in sick bay was intense. I knew that somehow both Hoshi and Trip would survive, this isn’t BSG after all. But Archer and Phlox and the direction were very convincing plus the make up on Hoshi & Trip made it seem real. I’m glad that it was a non-violent solution not pew-pew, sensor pulse, quantum blah blah that defeated the aliens. Archer used human nature and qualities to convince the aliens they were on the wrong path. Really, a superb Trek and done with zero guest stars, just the normal cast with good writing. Excellent!
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

Kir'Shara wraps up an excellent trilogy. And the stinger at the end is right on, much better than the bat faced, red eyed, time traveling, Nazi space demons at the end of s3. I’m glad they explained the Vulcans being sort of jerky and showing the path toward the TOS Vulcans who don’t lie and are frequently pacifist. And though I’d like Shran to always be Archer’s buddy, I liked how they made him a dangerous frenemy again by his deplorable torturing of Soval who acted very well. It was cool to see Kuvak nerve pinch that guard with an aggressive sneer - I was like “go, pinch that a-hole guard!” And Kuvak gets to zap the warmongering, jerk-wad V'Las. All the story lines were excellent and it was great to see the migration from mind melds are taboo to mind melds are going to be much more common since by TOS-time Spock was melding left and right. Superb stinger at the end, I hope they get in a few more episodes of this arch. 3.5 for all three - great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Sep 19, 2012, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

Very good episode, I agree with Jammer's 3.5 stars for The Forge. I watched the whole thing and didn't have any issues with it. Nice structure starting off with 2 reoccurring guest stars, Reed and Mayweather get some action, Phlox in the mix, and then the bifurcation into 2 well done story branches. This is how it's done: mine the rich Trek history in a consistent way for a fresh, exciting story. Nicely done!
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

I liked the episode Cold Station when it was a movie called X-Men with a good guy named Professor X and a bad guy named Magneato who both led mutants and not rip-off augments. The similarity is striking, especially in the opening Spiner dialogue with the kids. Except the ENT augment arch had a wimpy leader and tween augments with no personality/gravitas.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

1.5 stars. The super genetic twenty somethings were unconvincing and uninteresting. Why did they have torn clothes and lots of leather straps and what not? I guess Mad Max style clothing is required in the Boderland though tough cities in the U.S. usually feature well dressed baddies, at least their cloths don't have 20% holiness. So the slave market was neat with lots of money in the set and make up plus Big Show was, well, big! But I felt bad for Blalock being held up twice like she was. I don't care about the "accuracy" of it or that Orion slavers are bad. I immediately pitied her for the indignity of having do go through that. Not to mention the pathetic cliche kick in the crotch and tacky quip right before she beamed out. Also, I love Data but Brent Spiner always seems to play the same non-Data character: swarmy, sarcastic, sneering, nasty. He's not a subtle or varied bad guy. I guess it's better than Daniels but still he's no Combs that's for sure. But I'll take Spiner evilly hamming up any day over the ridiculous super twenty somethings and their holy clothing.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Storm Front for me was 2.5 stars, I agree with Jammer. I skipped a lot of it since it was pretty stupid story-wise. But Vosk was great as a red-eyed, bat-faced, Nazi-helping, time traveler. Hmm, I wonder if his race is evil? (just kidding!) ENT really was over the top with a lot of the aliens being so super evil looking and almost always turning out to be evil. No surprises here. But Vosk acted well and convincingly despite a dumb story and a preposterous premise. I ended up skipping to to Vosk and his crew, they were good. As was Silik. Which leads me to what I think was the biggest Temporal Cold War mistake: casting Matt Winston as Daniels. Winston has a bland, featureless appearance, almost a bit feminine. And his voice and acting mannerisms matched his physical appearance. John Fleck was really good as Silik; he could bring life to silly lines and stories but Winston was just a pasty, boring, plain guy mouthing lines about non-nonsensical, overused time travel drivel. It reminds me of Highlander where Connery could say the dumbest lines and make them powerful and believable with his legendary voice and physical gravitas. Winston? Not much Connery in there. Or Fleck/Silik or Gwaltney/Vosk or MacDonald/Dolim or Andrew Robinson or Jeffrey Combs or Tony Todd (man, DS9 had some great semi-guest and guest stars!) or etc. Winston was miscast and could not cover up silly time travel stories with any kind of heft or believable acting. Well, it’s over, time for less time travel … I hope!
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Tue, Sep 18, 2012, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I really enjoyed Zero Hour, 3.5 or 4 stars in my book. Certainly 4 stars on the ENT scale. Oddly I wasn’t such a big fan of Azati Prime/Damage/Forgotten; maybe 2.5 stars avg for the lot. But Zero Hour was excellent! I loved the reptilians, right from their toasting at the start by choking down live mice. That’s science fiction, other worldly. And creepy. Scott MacDonald was outstanding as Commander Dolim: big, great voice, threatening, and unlike poor Rick Worthy, MacDonald’s make up allowed him to act through it very well. And act he did. I thought the fight with Archer was well choreographed and I really liked the Woo-ping spin Dolim did on Archer by grabbing his angle. I mean, these guys should be way stronger than Humans and Dolim is a big for the lizard men. Nice touch with Archer *not* winning by simply out fist fighting Dolim but by using an explosive ducked under Dolim’s ornamental armor/cloths. And how about the reptilians make up and costumes? ENT had story issues, questionable casting, and up/down acting but they really got make up, costumes, and effects down pat.

The trans-dimensional baddies (TDBs) were cool looking and scary. After the Terminator-esque Borg it’s tough to do scary enemies but I really liked these TDBs. I like how they were being driven back and then just looked at each other and walked through a wall. I hated when TDBs do that! :) And Phlox on the bridge was very convincing with T’Pol kind of whacked out by her addiction issue. Phlox issuing orders and barking out statements on the bridge felt natural as did T’Pol’s uncertainty and lack of command. I liked T’Pol having a very Human problem: being drug addicted to something that gives her emotions. They should have done this in late s1 to give her character some spice instead of having her writhing in decon with Phlox and being a therapeutic (yeah, right!) message therapist.

Hoshi was really good as the depressed, damaged junior bridge member who may have helped destroy her planet. I like how she snapped at one point as Archer pressured her and she responds as if he was a reptilian. Now BSG would have cranked up Hoshi’s bit: crying, catatonic stares, shaking, etc. E.g. Sharon in s4e17 Islanded In a Stream of Stars as she’s in a stupor tidying up after a meal and Helo confronts her; the look of loss and crushed, black despair on Sharon’s face is overwhelming, very powerful. But, alas, ENT is not BSG though this dark bit was well done for the Trek TV world. BTW, since Hoshi is a linguistic prodigy I suppose that’s why she excels at encryption/decryption - it’s all about information patterns. She must have had some advanced mathematics tossed into her non-stop linguistic training. Not a reach for a sci-fi series IMO.

And Combs is back! This actually surprised me a bit since I guessed the Xindi in the wimpy fast ship would nobly sacrifice themselves to help pay humanity back for the 7 million dead. But no, Shran to the rescue! He can make any episode better, except for maybe the finale. The effects were top notch and I didn’t mind a bit with the cliched rotating thing-a-ma-jiggy that you know is going to be blown up. It looked cool, the bigness of the space was great, everything looked sharp in the Death Star, I mean the Xindi weapon. Great episode, I’m upping it to a solid 4 stars, kudos to the ENT team!

PS - yes, WTF indeed about the ending. Space demon Nazis - now with time travel! Sure, silliness on steroids but the rest of the episode was fantastic and by now I’m used to ENT using time travel for just about anything. Though red eyed, bat faced aliens working with Nazis is …. kind of amazing. I laughed out loud and took it in stride, still a great epi.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Sep 17, 2012, 10:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Ok, I’m watching the finale out of order since I’ve heard it’s such a stinker. I just finished the Xindi and Temporal Cold War archs with s4e02. Now for the finale!!

First off, 4 stars for Hoshi’s hair! It looks great out of the pony tail and with that sporty half-bang on the right side, very cool. Impractical? Sure but who cares. Don’t know if this is her hair dew in other season 4 episodes or if it’s a “six years in the future” hair cut.

Secondly, for a non-fan of T’Pol I really liked her interaction with Archer before he made the speech. I wish B&B wrote her less woodenly like this, especially during s1 and s2. Unfortunately for this epi, it’s all downhill from here.

I’m a ginormous Jeffery Combs fan and I was determined to watch all his parts and skip the Riker/Troi silliness. But the NG folks kept getting in the scenes, sitting or standing watching, and saying “computer, freeze program.” Nuts. It was awful. About 40% through I had to start skipping looking for Hoshi and Phlox scenes. I found some! But it was with a super-sized Riker in the kitchen (not a surprise) so I had to watch muted. I also watched the amazingly stupid Trip death scene. It could have been worse I guess. Tasha’s death scene was dumb but I think she brought that on herself with contract demands and/or wanting to leave. Why not just critically injure Trip, have Phlox save him with weird creature X from planet Y, and then have a moving scene with T’Pol in sick bay sharing a moment with him, maybe committing? Naw, just have Trip die. No time for that other stuff since Riker/Troi need screen time. I’m glad I didn’t see the bit about their baby dying. I’m just going to pretend that (and this whole episode) didn’t happen.

While I understand the idea of tying up the whole series, it’s still a bad idea. We had to go through 4 years of ENT ups and downs so the finale should be set in that context and with those characters. I don’t even remember the NG episode Pegasus! To me, that’s a Battlestar, not a Trek episode and I watched NG several times albeit years ago. I’ve moved on through DS9, VOY, and now ENT. Why try to pull the NG cast and story into the finale of ENT? And they did a bad job at it! I think ENT deserved a full, proper finale with no cast from other shows. Afterward, a 2 hour clip show hosted by all of the captains would have been awesome. By combining a series finale with a TV franchise wrap up all in 43 minutes, they ended up doing a bad job at both.

To sum up: I’m very glad I watched the finale between s4e02 and s4e03. It reminds me of watching BSG’s The Plan just after No Exit and not after the finale Daybreak - you just don’t want to end on The Plan. And I think I’ll be much happier not ending Enterprise on These Are the Voyages.

1 star because Hoshi's hair looked great and Combs was fantastic in other episodes.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Sep 12, 2012, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

Heheh, I just read Jammer's review and the comments. So much Combs love, I made a highlight reel:
* "The Andorian Mining Consortium runs from no one." — Shran, in Weyoun-like form after doing his best Brunt impression [nice one Jammer! I call this the Shran/Weyoun/Brunt trifecta]
* a godsend from beyond the borders of the Delphic Expanse
* Yes! More Jeffrey combs please!
* Jeffrey Combs can take any kind of turd and turn it into a shining diamond
* Jeffrey Combs has enough bad assery and charisma for the both of them
* THANK GOD for Jeffrey Combs
* He is the real standout here ... He redeems the episode in and all by himself
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Sep 12, 2012, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

"Praise Jeffrey Combs" indeed, 3, maybe 3.5 stars for me since Combs is awesome. The b-story of conflict between Reed and the Orion tactical woman was predictable and boring (and thus skipped). But Combs delivers again. Excellent actor, great voice, he's just superb. On DS9, he was my 2nd fave guest star after the incomparable Andrew J. Robinson but Combs is still fantastic.

The scene with Shran leaving the room as Archer says he wants to be on Shran's ship seemed a little fakey and overplayed. And Archer saying you son of a bitch before the commercial fade at the end of Act 3 was an empty throwaway. Maybe a better actor like Patrick Stewart or EJO could have just intensely stared at Shran to convey his anger. Or maybe better writing was required.

No matter, Combs is so good the blah b-story and other minor quibbles are just that, minor. I could watch Combs in the worst Trek, maybe playing Brunt in stupefying stupid Ferengi episode. He’s that good.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Sep 12, 2012, 5:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Has Enterprise become in s3 basically Battle-Star Trek-lactica? Archer is now a “whatever it takes” captain willing to employ torture in multiple episodes, very much like Roslin and to a lesser extent Adama. The military detachment appears on the Enterprise in s3 mirroring the military sci-fi of BSG. The Enterprise writing and casting just doesn’t match up. E.g. Archer interrogating someone can’t hold a candle to Adama’s Glare of Death or Starbuck and a pail of water. Plus, Archer can only muster *almost* airlocking a prisoner. On BSG there’s a line to get airlocked! In Enterprise, 7 million killed in the beta test and a full planet buster is in the works. In BSG, 99.99975% of humanity is annihilated in the Great Attack (20billion dead, 50k survive). Come on Enterprise, don’t try to be dirty, military, tough, torture-ee, intense, etc. I like the Expanse, the Xindi, and Trek story archs but this copy cat seems weak sauce to say the least. Instead, Enterprise and the Xindi should have taken more queues from DS9 story archs ... oh wait, Ron Moore did lots of those and then went on to BSG. To bad he couldn't have helped ENT out.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Wed, Sep 12, 2012, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

I watched all of this one. Turd. I give it 1.5 stars (and 2.5 turds), just because of the effects and I ended up rooting for Degra the whole time. It was one deception after another and since I laughed out loud at the first one it sort of spoiled the rest. The second deception was predictable (the full-ship ruse) and the last one (putting them on their ship) was ridiculous. Too bad B&B couldn’t have mined the best parts of the episode: Archer finding out the Xindi are more heterogeneous than he thought and even a weapons master like Degra can feel genuine remorse for killing 7 million, especially the children. But no, the Xindi are the enemy, time to deceive, brutalize, torture, do whatever it takes.

The breaker for me was the monitor outside of the shuttle window, the setup was preposterous! Look at the size of the window, the distance to the monitor, and it’s size. Surely a viewer inside the shuttle would see more than the monitor not to mention the fact that even the best monitors we have today are plainly that, monitors. I know future monitors would be better but I still doubt the dimensionality would be unnoticeable. I laughed out loud at the reveal when Archer walked out.

I’m so disappointed that Phlox suggests a truth serum to aid the interrogation, does the tattoos, and helps the victim’s hair grow. Isn’t the first rule of Denobulan medicine about consent from the patient? Oh, I guess Degra isn’t a patient, he’s a prisoner so let the games begin! And Phlox’s sing-song way he refers to torture causing graying of hair is really a bummer coming from a doctor. Then he inserts the blood worm into the Xindi! Which later must be painfully, bloodily removed. And at the end, Phlox injects a bit of plasma in the 3 Xindi for the final ruse and says “it won’t be harmful” - who cares! Phlox was at best a Doctor of Interrogation in this episode and at worst simply a torturer. Very disappointing.

“I gave you what you thought you wanted” - great line by Degra reflecting the dubious value of torture. Then Archer threatens to do it to Degra again. [eyes roll!] And in engineering, Archer orders the guy at gunpoint to command the Xindi engineer to stabilize the ship. Kind of funny how Travis saves the ship OFF SCREEN! Poor guy, he gets no respect. Of course in the end Travis didn’t even save the ship off screen!

Surprise! They did a full-ship version of the ruse to get him to admit the red giant was the key location. Whoopee! And Archer caps it with a sarcastic, monotonic “thanks for your help.” Is this good writing? It wasn’t for me. Also, Archer just doesn’t come off believable in these intense, threatening, torture situations. He always has a wry, slightly sarcastic way of talking through these scenes that doesn’t feel right.

And the final, unbelievable deception is setting the 3 Xindi in their ship, presumably with a very accurate memory erasing treatment from Phlox. So the memory erasure is that accurate and reliable, it never fails or is off by an hour or a day? Come on. And their computer core is blank? I’d think if a major database (i.e. a dozen file cabinets) for the Manhattan Project disappeared after 3 critical scientific blacked out for days, the project leaders and security would go ape sh|te and not just chalk it up to an unexplained plasma leak. Nuts!

And why the last, short Archer voiceover about hoping the next system will have the Xindi weapon? I mean, duh, isn’t that implied! No need to say that, especially right before the credits. B&B also had a previously seen montage for an episode where the Xindi weapon misfired. All so Archer could refer to the scientist who refined the kemocite. Does B&B have any respect for the viewer? BSG had previously seen montages but there were lots of characters and complicated stories that spanned all 4 seasons. Even with the Xindi arch it’s very easy to keep up without a montage.

I might have to downgrade this to 1 star (and 3 turds) - really silly stuff.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Though Twilight was a one-off that probably will have no lasting impact and it featured a lot of T’Pol, I liked it quite a bit. I’d say 3 stars. It was so good that I lowered the setting on my T-Pol Auto-Skipper so I actually caught her scenes as captain and towards the end of the episode. It was so refreshing to see Blalock in a normal uniform and non-skin tight casual clothes. That and her acting a bit more really improves T’Pol. I will try to give her scenes a chance more often though her writhing in heat with Phlox is still burned in my memory.

Reed’s goatee was very Mirror Mirror, Hoshi’s super-side bangs were cool, and Phlox was, well, awesome as always. But the real eye opener for me in Twilight was Captain Tucker - he we great! The accent was almost gone and he really cranked it up in the battle sequence. He was very convincing interrogating the Gollum/Goblin looking trader and he was powerful in command. His losing the accent and having a different role made all the difference. Now I wonder about Trinneer being cast as Archer instead of Bakula. Anyway, good episode.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Mon, Sep 10, 2012, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

I very much enjoyed this episode, I’d go 3.5 stars for Exile. Since Hoshi is my fave it’s no surprise but the story, execution, and the guest star were all very good. Phlox is my 2nd fave on Enterprise so his scene as Tarquin with Hoshi in sick bay was tops for me! I liked that Tarquin was actually pretty dang ugly which precluded any typical physical attraction between him and Hoshi - he was all about company and love. The Dracula-style castle and sets were excellent - Enterprise really nails that stuff well most of the time. Seeing more about Hoshi’s background was cool and I think Linda Park again pulled off a very believable performance; she just seems very natural. I didn’t mind the b-story at all and the effects were neat. Sure, that sphere wouldn’t normally make enough gravity to pull the shuttle pod back the way it did but come on, this is the Expanse! It’s crazy physics in there. It was obvious that something was up with Tarquin but they played it out well. Maury Sterlin did an excellent job communicating his loneliness and slowly revealing his true intent. I thought Hoshi’s show down with him worked well and it was nice to see a conflict resolved without the typical pew-pew action sequence in Act 4. My only regret about the episode is the very last scene with Hoshi reporting to Archer about the info Tarquin just gave her. It was all about the data and moving on to the next episode. I’d rather had something more character oriented like in Battlestar Galactica; e.g. Hoshi comes in with a distance look on her face, hands the pad to Archer, doesn’t answer Archer’s questions, walks back to her quarters and picks up the alien book and fade to black. Put more focus on Hoshi and what she just experienced instead of “here’s the data, next episode please!” But this isn’t BSG though for Enterprise it was a darn good, character focused episode.
Set Bookmark
Zane314
Fri, Sep 7, 2012, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Hi Jammer, I just read all of your review and am struck by similarities and differences with my comments. We match up on the T’pol nonsense and the excellent production quality of The Xindi. But the criticism of Archer getting captured and the shootout seems a bit misplaced. This is a tv show and we’re going to have “insert action here” quite a bit. I’m not sure if it’s the same amount but I recall Kirk getting captured many times. With The Xindi, we have a whole new context in which Archer is captured ending with a shootout: a very dangerous, uncharted part of space; a dangerous planet; unknown races; and a mission to find answers and justice for an attack that cost 7 million lives by a race(s) that wants to completely destroy Earth. I mean, really, 2.5 stars? I’ve read most of your Enterprise reviews and you give 2.5 stars to a lot of turds and The Xindi seemed much fresher, more enjoyable, and better executed than your previous 2.5 star reviews.

Just a side note: as soon Corporal Chang was introduced I thought to look him up since I always like to see if Trek matches the real ethnicity with that of the character in the show. Well, what do you know, they got DDK for Cp Chang! Too bad a Korean actor can’t play, I don’t know, a Korean!
Corporal Chang, Chinese - Daniel Dae Kim, born in Korea
Ensign Hoshi Sato, Japanese - Linda Park, born in Korea
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.