Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,088 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 44
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@ gingerbreadmen
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 12:38pm (UTC -5)

"Klingons don't torture defenseless people."

They are at war with the federation... I don't think you have any canon to fall back on here.

"Klingons don't eat their victims."

Same holds true here. This was a matter of survival here.... I don't think you can knock the DSC Klingons for surviving.

"Klingons don't take sex slaves"

I think we are going to find out that she didn't "take" him... so this complaint will be rendered moot.

"Where is the honour in anything these Klingons are doing? Why didn't the writers just make up a new name and call them something else? These are clearly not Klingons."

They clearly are... Kahless and all. Klingons are ripe with stupidity and evilness throughout their canon history. In TOS they ordered the death of 400 folks and hour until (I can't remember exactly). They have lied/cheated with the best of them. "Honor" is a relative thing I'm afraid, and probably mostly heard about in song.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

@Person012345
Tue, May 30, 2017, 11:12pm (UTC -5)

That being said, Trip did what he did, and then the girl asked for asylum. Now Archer specified that he was REQUIRED to give serious consideration to the request - and I see no way that it could possibly have been legitimately denied. It's undeniable that if she were sent back she would be subject to harsh oppression. Everyone knew that, Archer knew that. He took a decision that was a clear miscarriage of justice, counter to the rules of his own society, in order to have better relations.
=====================================================

Read my posts above. "It" wasn't a girl.

You nor Archer have no indication that any harsh treatment/oppression would take place.

The asylum request couldn't legitimately be granted. No "injustice" committed.


Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I loved it!!! .... lol!!

And more about our possible rat....

www.theverge.com/tldr/2017/10/20/16504260/star-trek-discovery-voq-ash-tyler-shazad-latif-javid-iqbal-fake-actor-tribbles

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Chrome & WTBA,

Agree about the host... it's interesting hearing some of the actors, but the only real benefit I get from watching is the previews for the next episode. the host IS annoying.

Break...

Are Ash Tyler and Voq are played by the same actor? Has Vog made the extreme sacrifice and been surgically altered? Augment virus? IMDB lists Javid Iqbal as the actor that plays Voq, but when I google him an article come up that says this actor might not exist?

It will be interesting to see how that tribble Lorca has sitting on his desk reacts when Ash enters his cabin. :-)

I smell a spy... :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Is anyone watching "After Trek" on the CBS All Access after the showing on Sunday night?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@ Peremensoe
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 11:20pm (UTC -5)

My guess is that interacting with the mushroom world has caused Stamets to begin 'smearing' into a macroscopic quantum superposition, kind of an incomplete separation of the multiverse timelines that slightly different choices (turn away versus stand longer at the mirror) would normally spawn in Trek cosmology. Because we know that Trek is a multiverse (not just Prime and Mirror 'verses, but countless parallel possibilities), and we've recently been told that the key to understanding the mushroom world is on a "quantum level."

Thanks. I don't know that I subscribe to the Multi-Verse thing in trek. We only got that in one episode (TNG: Parallels) right? I'm a one and only one timeline guy. the "Kelvin timeline" thing is just crap. But I guess quantumly (if that's a word :-)), you can be in two places at the same time, right?

@MidshipmanNorris
"As it went on, and became more intimate, with Culber brushing Stamet's hair, I found myself growing uncomfortable with it, and I can't explain why. 'Why shouldn't there be a gay couple on Trek?' I asked myself. "Why does this make you uncomfortable?" I don't really know why. I'm guessing it just flopped me out of my comfort zone a little too hard for my taste. I guess I still have a long way to go toward being an accepting human being. :("

Same deal for me. If it goes "further" I'm probably gone.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Konstantinos,

So true...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

E2,

That's a possibility, but I don't think so. We'll see.

I just watched it again. I failed to mention that I the Saru killed it in the Captain's chair.

Also, the mirror scene at the end... What do you all think the remaining reflection for lack of a better way to put it means? Are we in a mirror universe?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Well, and interesting episode. As many have stated, the most "episodic" episode to date.

I'm not sure why we needed Mudd in this episode, I'm also not sure why they needed to change the character's personality. But it didn't hurt anything introducing him here I guess. It might have made more sense to rescue him and see where that might have led.

Maybe Mudd was working WITH the Klingons?

I had to look up glowing HawgWyld. :-) It fits Michael very well. I love the character and actor, I hope we get to see her heart in future episodes. We started to see some personality/interaction in this episode with Suru and Sylvia.

MadManMUC, you make some very valid points. I was more than a little shocked when Captain Lorca revealed what he did to his crew. That kind of threw me for a loop as I tried to conceive a situation that could have justified his actions. I really hope we haven't heard the last of this.

To the "fuck" language... I chocked it up to the source, our "special needs" crew member had a tourette moment. But as to more of the same needed in our trek... my parents always told me if you swear you've either lost control or are ignorant. Neither of which are characteristics of Star Fleet officers. I don't like this any more that the potty mouth jokes in Orville in their pilot. Not needed nor desired.

Suru... I enjoy him, but some questions have risen in my mind... he said "they" selected him as first officer because they liked his performance at the Binary Stars battle, but I'm trying to recall what he did and when he was right that would have justified this (other than saving Michael). His coming out party with Michael was OK I thought. I don't think he has/had a personal vendetta against Michael, he was just jealous. I think that's natural. Her gesture of offering him the telescope was touching and telling I thought. Maybe the biggest thing we have learned about Suru is that he lacks self confidence. He did have the computer drum up leadership traits of the most decorated Star Fleet Captains etc...

I understood Suru's order to hook the tardigrade up. This is war and tough choices have to be made. Sometimes you can't "find another way" (ITPM). The possibility of sentience was brought up and he stated he would accept the consequences if someday they were determined to be sentient. But at this point, they weren't (technically). When Michael mentioned that 52% of our DNA (incert treknobabble of choice) was a match leading to a possibility of humans assuming the pilot role I figured they would go there. Glad to see Stamet do the right thing and it will be interesting to see how this progresses. I have visions of Michael becoming our pilot. (I hope not)

For Michael.... mutiny yes, but just how can she be held responsible for starting this war? Star Fleet was loured into a trap. All she did was explore and defend herself. You'd think that Star Fleet would ENSURE the truth got out here.

I'm hoping we find our more about Lorca's eyes and what's behind his disdain for doctors. I would also like to know how he and the ADM are friends.

I agree the escape was choppy on the Klingon ship... my thought watching it was they must be saving $$$$ not sowing the shuttle bay, more of the Klingon prison ship etc. It seems to me that the two Klingons wre pretty easily taken in hand to hand combat. Not sure what they were going for with the Klingon shuttle/whatever. They made me think of Spock's ship in ST09. Those Klingons are worse shooters than the Stormtroopers in Star Wars.

I'll give this one a 2.5.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

Funny one.

Avis, we try harder... Lol!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@ Peter G.
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
I could swear I saw them leave behind canisters/explosives when they jumped out. I automatically assumed they had mines there and detonated them just as the Klingons closed in and they jumped out.
==================================================

That's what happened Peter.

For those that thought that explosion should have finished of the mine below I would say that those shields are extremely strong, built to withstand about anything because of how important the mine is to Star Fleet and the Federation. They withstood hours of attacks.

For those that say "what's keeping the Klingons from just coming back?"

Nothing, but the rest of the war and the knowledge that Star Fleet now has a weapon that just wiped out about 4 BOP's with ease. Assets are a problem in war... I'm certain it's an issue for the Klingons.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@ Chrome
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
I could see why Sonequa Martin would get criticism, but the Michael character seems incredibly difficult to play. I'd give her a little more time before throwing her to the wolves. Brent Spiner's Data, another complicated character, was terrible for about a year before he made it into one of the most involving figures in the franchise.

Oh yes, and DSC also gets major points for not having any character close to as annoying as Wesley Crusher or Neelix. TNG was lucky enough to survive Wesley, I'm not sure I could say the same in VOY's case.
===================================================

I agree. I think Michael will be a slow, probably entire season type reveal. I love the actress.

I read a great article last night that I can't pull up at work. The title of it is:

"Star Trek Discovery is still Star Trek. It's just swapped idealism for realism because that's what we need right now"

I thought it put our new trek in logical perspective.

I'm astounded reading these comments. .... what "they" are dinging STD for and knowing what was accepted in TNG/DS9/VOY/ENT.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 7:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

"The whole spore drive thing makes no sense at all."

Biology and physics are one and the same at the quantum level. (says our good scientist)

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 6:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I found this episode to be enjoyable. Some good humor, some good interactions.

I also don't think I can evaluate this like trek. There's not enough seriousness to it.

Sort of a message, pretty badly told and directed....

But it's fun and that's about it.

If you're going to steel from a TOS episode, I'd choose a season 1 or 2 episode. :-)

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Mal,

Too bad you weren't around when I was watching and grading DS9 :-) If I ever get back to it I'm about 1/2 way through Enterprise :-)

Great group of posters Jammer has corralled here.

As to the "I don't feel anything for these characters" .... personally I like it. I think all the spin-offs threw "you have to feel" in your face early on in their run. Many times I just kind of rolled my eyes. I'd rather the characters earn that feeling from me over time. One of the things I didn't like about Enterprise was they kept throwing in your face how important Archer was to everything from the founding of the federation to saving Earth. Don't tell me that, show me!

I want to learn more about all of these characters. This isn't a series like the others, we aren't out being "all trek and all" from the get-go. It's about the Klingon war.

I think we'll grow to love/hate these folks over time. I'm not sure we are supposed to love them all?

I especially love the Michael character. Love her unique background. Love her acceptance of her wrongdoing and love that she appears to be ready to stick to principles and take advantage of her second chance. She carries herself very Vulcan but I see a big hear there and I think we'll see it before all is said and done. I think we should have got a tear when she received the telescope.

Sorry to see our resident Cylon get schwacked. I also love our new special needs gal.

Issacs is going to be awesome!

We've all seen so much trek, it's hard to accept a different format?

This isn't cookie cutter trek.

Funny, as most complaints used to be "tried to be too much like TNG", etc.... now we get something different and folks don't know what to do.

I don't think this is going to "fall flat on its face", far from it.

Enjoy it folks!

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

He wouldn't have a choice. But that said, he wouldn't have got caught :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Well.... my season of trek is better than yours :-)

I always thought that ENT seasons 1&2 were the best of the spin offs. TNG and DS9 it was no question, but I surprised myself when reviewing and grading each episode, Voyager eeek'd out Enterprise.

Thank Chrome, I didn't know RLM had done any discovery reviews.

Mal, jump down off the horse and think a minute. This is a science ship turned warship in time of war. The Captain will use any means necessary to win the war.... as all other Captains have (see Sisko). I think they are setting this up for a moral fight at the end and therefore this propulsion method will be out of reach by season's end.

Peter, I don't see anyone gleeful about it's use.

As to DSC Season 1 v other trek.... I think this is dwarfing other spin-off trek. Really... visually it's not even an argument, and we've got really good actors and the making of a great story here. As much as I love my treks (and I do), this is much better early on.

I do hope we have a couple stand alone episode thrown in though.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 6:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Still soaking all this in.

Love Michael. I don't know that I've ever seen a trek actor get the treknobabble down with such ease.

Love our "special needs" crewman. :-)

I canon hit (I think). Big bad Klingon guy (can't remember all the names) came back, apologized and stated that the sarcophagus ship had something the "houses" didn't have; a cloaking device. Well, The Klingons in Enterprise had that technology.

Maybe I'm missing something.

Loving this show. Visually, it looks like a movie. Awesome stuff.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

"Most of both episodes are carried by Martin-Green's strong and calibrated performance"

Truth. I love Michael. Ms Green nails it IMO. so happy we have her to be the centerpiece for our new series.

More to follow once I've watched these episodes for a second time.

Right out of the gate I LOVE what I'm seeing in Star Trek Discovery so far.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

I don't think a ship went over warp 10 under its own power before Threshold. Weren't they under alien/foreign influence when it happened? I believe Q flung them all over the place in TNG.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

SC,

I think this was done intentionally. The Orville benefited from the bump received by NFL watchers. Now that the fall TV schedule is starting, they will take their planned spot.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

I enjoyed this episode.

It seems that those having a hard time with this series are evaluating it like it is trek. It is not. We wouldn't do that for FarScape, or BAB5... I just don't think you can look at this through that same lens.

The biggest issue I had with this one was the reason Alara "caved". She was so worried about what everyone thought of her she even went to the mess hall to announce her change in heart.

I loved the reality TV bit and all the neat new aliens.

Loved the opening. I like that it's a long one. TV had gone away from that. The visuals made me think of Voyager, but I couldn't place what sounded familiar to me in the music. Then I figured it out.... it reminds of of 'Seaquest DSV'.

Fun ride, getting better as we go.

Nice to see Ron Canada again.

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 6:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

Just caught this one last night.

I really enjoy this one; always have.

Harry should have been thrown in the brig! :-)

Kes actually serves a meaningful purpose.

I do have a problem with Voyager just flying into the Vidian's plain as day trap... but Tuvok's solution was a good one I guess.

Still 3 stars in my book.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

This is where an edit function would be nice.

Disregard everything after my Scorpios remark.

Sorry.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

methane,

"Well...Farscape could be just as crude as this episode. They certainly weren't afraid of making fun of bodily functions. But their humor was always more organic than Orville's shown. Actually, in terms of tone, Farscape is probably a good comparison to Orville, in that both want to mix humor and drama. Farscape could do both really well. Orville's pilot episode doesn't give me hope that it will do either well. Farscape also seemed fresh and original, despite the fact that it uses many familiar science fiction elements*. Orville went out of its way not to seem original."

FarScape, especially when it started out, wasn't trying to be funny. WE thought the quirks of their "universe" had it's funny parts. Orville is a different attack here, they ARE trying to be funny as they tell a story. The Orville is billed as a comedy/SCI-FI mix, FarScape was not; nor should it have been.

"To be fair, FarScape took about half a season to start to click. But it always felt like it had more potential than this Orville episode shows."

It took about half a season to get used to :-) Man, it was light-years different than anything else. I probably would agree about potential. I think we've already seen what we are going to get with The Orville. Not saying that it bad, but I don't expect a character like Scorpios to show up.

*Farscape might not seem as fresh to people starting it now, as the first Guardians of the Galaxy film felt like a Farscape rip-off (I haven't seen the 2nd movie yet).

-------------------------------------------------------------

"Everything I watched with [Brannon Braga] at or close to the helm was terribad: Voyager, Enterprise, that Dinosaur thing a few years back, Salem..."

Looking over his credits, I was interested in "Threshold, "FlashForward" & "Terra Nova", to some extent. "Terra Nova" was probably the worst; I think the writers were told it had to be kid-friendly, and they felt that meant bland and unchallenging. I'm not predisposed to hate something Braga's involved in. However, if he's involved in a Star Trek clone, I would like to know what new inspiration he's had since he last worked on Enterprise.
Next ►Page 1 of 44
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.