Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,186 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 48
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

OK, it's still Friday.... :-)

The word "sir" is uttered 5 times in the episode.

NONE at Janeway.

3 occurances from Prax to Kashyk

The last from Vorik to Torres. B'Elanna has never mentioned it being an issue with her and as we know, it IS included in Star Fleet protocol.

So now that I've actually researched this, I don't see what all the fuss is about.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Why you ask? ... because it's a slow Friday at work... :-)

[Ready room]

"JANEWAY: Mister Kim, at ease before you sprain something. Ensign, despite Starfleet protocol, I don't like being addressed as sir.
KIM: I'm sorry, ma'am.
JANEWAY: Ma'am is acceptable in a crunch, but I prefer Captain. We're getting ready to leave. Let me show you to the bridge.

[Bridge]

JANEWAY: Did you have any problems getting here, Mister Paris?
PARIS: None at all, Captain.
JANEWAY: My first officer, Lieutenant Commander Cavit. Ensign Kim, Mister Paris.
CAVIT: (human male going grey) Welcome aboard.
(He shakes Kim's hand, then Paris' reluctantly and walks away.)
JANEWAY: Ensign Kim, this is your station. Would you like to take over?
KIM: Yes, ma'am.
(Rear of the bridge, on the right as we view it.)
JANEWAY: It's not crunch time yet, Mister Kim. I'll let you know when. "

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

"Inexcusable gaffes"?

lol

Hell, today one is allowed to identy as whatever gender they feel appropriate at the time, so I'm not so sure Ma'am or Sir wouldn't be acceptable in the 24th century.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Peter G,

Concerning your comments about Picard and Janeway... I was not referring to the characters, I was comparing the actors. Picard was the face of trek for years because there was no other trek for years (aside from the TOS movies). Kate played Janeway every bit as well as Stewart played Picard. You can argue about the writing, but not the performances.

As far as acting performances, you can say the same thing about DS9. Easily the best actors on the show were the "secondary" characters.

I don't dislike Burton at all, but Roxanne is a better actor. She didn't need any street cred to carry her.

Agree regarding Frakes. He always did very well, both in the series and the movies. Beltran did fine as an actor early on, but as you stated he lost interest late.

HAHA.... I new I forget someone. I won't knock McNiel's acting, but the character did lack. the Tom/B'Elanna thing helped in the end though.

When comparing Yoyager to TNG, it's almost universally accepted that Voyager's 1st two seasons were better.... they also were better than DS9's first two as well. So the number of "clunkers" is subjective I think. I haven't reviewed(graded) every episode of TNG yet, I have to finish Enterprise first.

I like your listing the strongest of each series. But taking one's love of the characters aside, I think the actors from Voyager in the case are stronger than TNG's.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Chrome

"TNG has clunkers, but they only make up about 25% of a given season on average. That percentage is about reversed for an average season of Voyager."

That's just not true. Not even close. You can say you like one series over another, but Voyager didn't have near that many clunkers.

"The big advantage TNG has is that even when the episode isn't the best, the actors can still put on an enjoyable performance (take for example lower quality scripts like "Encounter at Farpoint" or "Datalore" or even "The Neutral Zone" which are all still pretty entertaining)."

Don't agree here either. From top to bottom, Voyager had a far superior cast when it comes to the acting department.

Want to match them up?

Stewart/Mulgrew - I'll give you a push here, but many would say Kate over Patrick
Frakes/Beltran - Frakes in my book, but it's close.
Dorn/Russ - Russ, and it's not close
Burton/Dawson - Dawson, and it's not close
McFadden/Picardo - Picardo, and it's not close
Sirtis/Ryan - Ryan, and it's not close
Spiner/Wang - Spiner, and it's not close
Wheaton/Phillips - ?????? :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Trent

..."Was the Federation aware of the need to outfit all crew members in sensible clothing, and then Trump became the president of the United Federation of Planets and suddenly we have micro mini-skirts?"

HAHA.... Make Trek Great Again!!

@ Chrome

"Similarly composed shows like Voyager or Enterprise certainly don’t hold a candle to TNG."

Sometimes they did, sometimes they didn't. On the whole I might give you TNG, but it had more that it's share of clunkers.

@ SpaceHippy

"I wish there was a separate page for comments on the season as a whole. I think I was reasonably entertained episode to episode and I'd rate most a 2.5 or 3.0 but the season as a whole is far less than the sum of its parts. Despite being entertained by the episodes, when I step back and take a look at this first season, I'm terribly disappointed."

That's about how I feel. When you put all your eggs in the "season long arc" basket, you'd better not drop any eggs in the end. I think we got scrambled.

"I came out of this not caring about any of the characters and I'm just not "into it."

I won't go that far, there are many of the characters I really enjoyed.

"Expanse is light years ahead of DIS, and while dark and gritty, manages to keep you invested in the outcome and plot lines."

I don't know that you can really compare. I too like Thr Expanse, but what's so good about it is you don't know what's coming. That's the bad thing about doing a prequel, we already know what's coming.

"I hope Jammer finds the time to review this great series someday."

Jammer reviewing anything would be great.

"I honestly feel after this season 1 of DIS that it's time to retire Trek for good and let us enjoy what came before."

Well, I can't go there. I ALWAYS look forward to new trek, even if we are disappointed at times.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ James
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:12pm (UTC -5)

"I just want to say that listing a generic pop song like "Faith of the Heart" above Jerry Goldsmith's wonderful theme for Voyager is an absolute joke."

Hard to top the master for sure, expecially when it's not orchestral.

"I agree that Discovery's theme is just as bad, though. I think Goldsmith would be turning in his grave hearing that one."

I don't agree here. I'm quite fond of Discovery's theme. Much more so that I was of Enterprises opener.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ Clark
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:35pm (UTC -5)

I felt just like you the first time I watched it.

It will grow on you over time.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 8, 2018, 5:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

Clark,

When did she break it?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

@ Ieuan

"Ieuan
Tue, Feb 27, 2018, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Another rubbish review. This was one of the worst episodes of the season. We just got done 2 episodes ago finding out ow crucial Captain numbskull's survival is to the future and he decides to throw all that way by going out instead of sending an engineer or in fact any one of the other 80 or so crew.

This alone makes it unwatchable."

OR.... if Archer had not assisted Reed, the mine goes off and kills Archer and other members of the crew... or the Enterprise is lost.

That one make much more sense when you actually think about it.

I'm fairly certain once Archer "knew" he wasn't going to spend the rest of his life wrapped in Styrofoam.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1."

Well, I had three 4.0 episodes in DSC (Magic Makes the Sanest Man Go Wild, Into the Forrest I Go, What's Past Is Prologue) and two in Voyager Season 1 (Eye of the Needle and State of Flux). I haven't finished reviewing Enterprise yet, but I know at least three off the top of my head that will be 4.0 (IAMD, Observer Effect and Demons/Terra Prime).

I was surprised Jammer didn't give 'Into the Forrest I go' a 4.0. Voyager season 1 is currently my highest ranked trek first season (-DSC). I still have TOS and TNG to go.

Maybe it's not fair to grade DSC against other seasons that are 22+ episodes long.

I'm not sure what it all means, other than we all have our favorites. My numbers indicate that DSC season 1 was the best, but it's not my favorite because of how they ended it. It was a fun ride, but the bridge collapsed and we all died at the end.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oh, for the Discovery folks.

I very much prefer Michael's hair at the beginning of the show.

Drop the volcano head look please.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 8:51am (UTC -6)
"I forget but did we ever get a real answer on why that Discovery-class ship (that wasn't the Discovery) had all those twisted and messed up dead people on it?

Or are we just assuming it was a failed attempt to get to the Mirror Universe?"

My take on that is it was a failed attempt at using the spore drive. This miscue actually produced the tardigrade.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -6)

@Yanks “Don't agree. She is in no way responsible for the war.”

"How do you figure? She killed T’Kuvma. She herself said that such an action would make him into a martyr and guarantee that the Klingons would pick up the banner. She guaranteed the war when she decided to flip her phaser to kill and shoot him in the back. If she stuns him and brings him back to the Federation in chains he’s humiliated, to Klingons go back to their internal squabbles, and the war is avoided.

I don’t understand why this is even a discussion. It’s all right there, in dialogue."

It's not. T'Kuvma declared war when he opened fire on the fleet. So regardless of the martyr thing, while it is in the dialog, doesn't fit what happened. ... and as we found out, they weren't going to follow him anyways.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
"Frankly, I find these “redemption” arcs in sci-fi to be a tiresome cliche. Michael is responsible for a war that presumably kills millions. There’s no redeeming that."

Don't agree. She is in no way responsible for the war. One could say that PU G not following her recommendation in "Vulcan Hello" is the one responsible. *but that's a huge stretch) The first Klingon she killed was in self defense (torch bearer) and it was T'Kuvma's aggression (we come in peace) that started the war.

She is responsible for the attempted mutiny. Nothing more. The only thing she really changed was that the Klingons weren't "unified" in their war effort.

"The Pegasus told a more plausible story of personal redemption, Riker coming to terms with an old mistake and atoning for it, but still being said to pay a price for it. Ensign Ro had a redemption arc of sorts too, which was more believable than Michael’s."

I liked the Ro story but I still have problems with Rikers "I was right out of school" excuse. Bull... something should have happened to him. Hell, Picard sent a newbie ENS crawling back into Star Fleet to her death because she made the wrong decision early in her career. What did Riker have to prove?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G.
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 2:25pm (UTC -6)
"I do agree with Jason R, though, that the way it was shot (having now watched it again) it's possible the writer sort of intended it to be that Michael was trying to save Georgiou in a moment of desperation. The phaser shot does happen very quickly after the stabbing."

Yeah, it's not murder

"However on the production side they made the detailing of the phaser being switched to kill pretty clear, and there is Michael's desperate (sort-of) looking face, to the extent that SMG was capable of portraying it. To be honest they probably wanted her to look even more desperate than that but that's all she could get out when they shot it."

An unfortunate all to common theme in Discovery I'm afraid.

I could see an argument that they intended to show it as an animal, emotional, and unconsidered response, rather than premeditated murder, and in my opinion that sort of reaction would be in keeping with her character as portrayed through the whole season. But that doesn't change the fact that botching her mission by killing a guy doesn't seem to be something that can be explained away as "I was wrong about that" since it isn't an idea she had that was incorrect. It was more like she behaved like an animal and if that's the sort of person she is - who will mentally break down when things are bad - then she has no place in Starfleet under any circumstances. And actually that's my general takeaway from the entire season, so the pilot is consistent with this. But that's not the story they wanted to tell, clearly, so I think they swept this killing under the rug because they didn't want to have to deal with two different redemption issues. Mutiny is bad enough without having to address the fact that she's also mentally a loose canon, so they dropped the latter outright.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just had a thought about that last "speech" scene.

I would have been 10 times more effective had they shot it like the episode began. Michael narrating, with the crew getting their promotions/medals on screen. Michael could even be standing with them.

I know she's not the greatest narrator, but that still would have been better than what we got.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 8:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Mertov
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 5:22pm (UTC -6)

"Two people I have never heard of before, one of them Korean, wrote the best episode of the season (in my opinion of course) "Into the Forest I Go.""

Truth. Funny, how a "non-trekkie" does the best work. Same thing could be said of the director for TWoK.

Break...

I major complaint I had with the last two episodes (especially the last) was IT WAS TOO FRAKIN DARK!!!! There were times when I couldn't make out the characters. Good god man, brighten things up!!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Jammer: "It's really a shame. Burnham's arc is actually not bad at all. She made a reckless decision to mutiny in the pilot that she thought would save the Federation (although I was never sold on the logic of that move), was humbled and stripped of rank, got a second chance, and found in her dealings with Lorca that his amoral actions touting the ends justifying the means were unacceptable."

Funny you should mention second chances. So did Michael in her "this is what we are" speech at the end.

"Some say that in life, there are no second chances.
Experience tells me that this is true."

She just got the biggest second chance ever! Just a head scratcher there.

"Sarek apparently signed off on the destruction of Kronos (off-screen, of course). This strikes me as wrong on so many levels."

I'll give him some room here. He said "What the Federation chose to do on Kronos was unprincipled, and I had a part in it."

I guess we don't know exactly what "a part" means. I know I'm hoping here, but it is Sarak... I would hope the writers would realize that. I'm hoping Sarak is just being hard on himself.

"If it sounds like I'm retroactively blaming the faults of the season, which I found fairly acceptable as it was airing, on the events in this finale — well, yeah. The destination reveals much less than was promised, and all the weekly action and cliffhangers up to that point, while entertaining and well-executed, dissolve away into a disappointingly substance-free experience."

My thoughts exactly. After all the effort to get there, the "there" fell short - so sadly, the whole season left a bad taste in my mouth.

Not unlike nuBSG.

Great review Jammer.

If I can suggest a series to dive into.... how about "The Expanse"?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Tim
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 3:25pm (UTC -6)

I'm with ya aside from SMG's acting chops. She really had the chance to show us her heart and I didn't get it. But that's me... here's hoping she does better in season 2.

Break.

I didn't rate this thing. I channeled my inner William B again. Sorry, didn't mean to go that long for sure.

I think I'll have to go 2 stars here. Too much that upset me.

Double break.

Here are my DSC Season 1 ratings:

The Vulcan Hello - 3.50
Battle of the Binary Stars - 3.50
Context is for Kings - 3.00
The Butcher's Knife Care Not for the Lambs Cry - 3.00
Choose Your Pain - 2.50
Lethe - 3.00
Magic Makes the Sanest Man Go Wild - 4.00
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum - 3.50
Into the Forest I Go - 4.00
Despite Yourself - 3.00
The Wolf Inside - 3.00
Vaulting Ambition - 3.00
What's Past Is Prologue - 4.00
The War Without, The War Within - 3.00
Will You Take My Hand? - 2.00

Total: 48.00
Average: 3.20

This is by far my highest average for a trek season 1. I haven't rated TNG or TOS yet though. TOS S1 might eclipse it, but I'm certain TNG will not.

I guess my heartache is how it all ended. I see my average rating but I don't feel like it's that high. I almost feel like I've bought a clunker and didn't realize it until the warranty was up.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

3 stars for me here.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

3.5 for me here too.

I really enjoyed the opening 2 episodes.

Questions to be answered as the season progresses.

Need to stop all the damn subtitles though :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Man, I didn't rate this :-)

3.5 out of the gate for Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Plain Simple
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 2:29pm (UTC -6)

"Random confusion:

-I'm very confused about Saru's rank. At some point in the episode, he was called 'captain', even though at that point officially Georgiou was still acting captain of the Discovery. So is Saru's rank actually captain now? And if so, why are they about to pick up a new captain on Vulcan?"

If they called him Captain it was because he was acting in that position. (not uncommon in the military) He is a Commander and didn't get promoted at the end, he just received the Medal of Honor.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

TBonz, that's some funny stuff. Can't wait for Jammer's review. He just may take a cue.

Anyone notice the "Bread And Circuses" comment from Georgiou? .. reference to TOS?

So Yanks logs into CBSAA and checks length of episode.... 45 min.... wow, how the hell are they going to wrap this all up? ...

The episode starts out with Michael narrating... telling the "fear story".... my god, SMG can't even do that. I thought at that time, "this episode is doomed".

So, we end the last episode with our good ADM announcing they rescued CAPT Georgiou and she will lead us to victory... blah, blah. totally unneeded. Cornwell could have kept the Captain job and used MU G on the away team etc.

But in this episode, at every turn it seemed like MU G was going out of her way to give herself away. I mean really, no one on the bridge can hear her to talking to Saru, scared tough unpalatable Saru? ... but of course when Michael flies in to protect her appetizer, then they have to "go for a walk" where MU G threatens Michael about trying to expose her. WTF?

Then we get to see Yeoh ... I mean MU G kick the crap out favorite caged Klingon... only for Michael to say "- Enough! - There is another way." (drama...)

So we have to go to our other Klingon source of information, Ash....

"This is a bowline, it doesn't run.
It doesn't slip.
It's the first thing I learned as a kid that made me me.
It ties me to my past.
Who I am."

What brilliant fucking dialog... wow.... tying a knot as a kid .... whatever.... I'm seriously thinking of shutting it off.

...but I forge on...

Tyler agrees to help..... and he's now part of the landing team.

Then, because MU G had a fling with CAPT Killy in the MU, she chooses Tilly to go on the mission. OK, whatever. Fine with me - the more Tilly the better.

So we get "lowlife" Trailer Trash Tilly(tm) that includes, I believe, our first Tilly cleavage... thank you Star Trek Discovery... no Michael or MU G cleavage, just Tilly.... and her 900th hair-do change.

Then "Jeanie Alert", Stamets crosses his arms, blinks and ka=poe=e=owe, Discovery is in a cave on Quonos. We get a little self-gratifying Stamets and then our heroes beam down to Orionville. I'm thinking this is going to be pretty cool. Haven't seen the Orions in awhile. Then I get a glimpse of male Orions dancing... I shake my head and think it must be me... and continue to watch.

Hey, I got a STRONG "Jessica Jones" vibe with the first comments from that Orien woman they approached to sell firearms too...I actually thought that was Krysten Ritter for a minute. :-)

So they have to find the shrine... blah, blah, .... MU G is checking out a MALE Orion prostitute dancer thingy ... good god, they couldn't leave the Orions alone? Of course in good SJW DSC style, MU G has to have a woman too... Tilly's happy about that.

Tilly gets stoned, then figures out there are active volcano's on Quonos, tells Michael and BOOM... get knocked out by MU G. So they've figured out what the real plan was... my guess it included eliminating MU G after the destruction of the Klingon's "home". Of course Jack Michael Burham can't have this and decides they need to speak with our ADM.

Speaking of our Admiral, isn't she a doctor? .... WTF is a doctor ADM doing planning war stuff with Star Fleet? ... maybe that's why the Federation is getting their ass kicked.

Now we have Michael coming full circle here. Instead of acting on impulses and changing the plan, she pleads with Star Fleet and convinces then to change. No Vulcan nerve-pinch required. That's the whole development of Michael.

Pinch to no-pinch.

Now I've read many posts here that have real difficulties with "the plan". It's war and Cornwell is right. "Terms of atrocity are convenient after the fact." ... this is something that Sisko obviously came to terms with... hell, Star Fleet's section 31 infected the Founders... I don't see what all the heart-ache here is. I like that Michael figured out another plan and that it didn't include wasting Quonos, but I don't question Star Fleet's motives here... unless you're OK with speaking Klingon and weathering countless other wars/skirmishes the rest of your life. It's war people.

The new plan - I think they had the right players, but I think it might have been more palatable for L'Rell to demand a vote and establishment of the Klingon High Counsel or something to that effect. I know this is SJW trek, but a female is not going to rule the Klingons. I guess the "home world" means more to all the Klingons that one might expect.

I think Tyler makes the right decision. He has all Voq's memories and can help L'Rell here and the final scene with Tyler and Michael is palatable. ... as was MU G. Michael Yeoh really killed it in both parts. She will be missed... I'm hoping she becomes a thorn in the Federations side and we get to see her again. Not really sure what authority Star Fleet has over her anyways.... she's committed no crimes in this universe.

It was nice to meet Amanda.

The Surak / Michael conversation was well....

Surak: "I am not alone in finding your commitment to Starfleet's ideals commendable.
I asked if I may give it to you.
Your record has been expunged, your pardon by the president of the Federation is official.
Commander Burnham."

Did ANYONE here feel great for her? I mean, according to Discovery this it tantamount to Kirk getting busted to the rank of Captain and .... well you know the rest.

I felt nothing for her. .... nothing .... after 15 episodes, I felt nothing. I wanted to feel something for her, but no.

But hey, we get Clint Howard and "Isik for your thoughts?" so the Discovery writers and producers did their job.... you know....

Then we get the gushing awards ceremony. Who is Michael speaking to? Just horrible.

Nice to see Stamets be promoted (sorry Harry). Suru gets the Medal of Honor I1st Kelpian). and Tilly is promoted to ENS (YEAH!!!) and accepted into SFA Training Academy. WTF is that anyways? She's obviously not heading off to SFA, so she needs a "Training Academy"? Good lord, don't you think she's proven herself? Please don't let her turn into Wesley Crusher.

This was kind of like an Archer "Terra Prime" speech (but not even close to meaning and emotional impact) and a Kirk 2009 movie ending after Pike give Kirk the Enterprise. ... but Michael is standing there speaking to what seems like "her crew" but the audience is behind her and the ADM is announcing the awards? .... who thinks this crap up?

"We will not take shortcuts on the path to righteousness." .... WTF does that have to do with Star Fleet?

Then Michael smiles.... I guess that means her journey is complete... and we all should be very happy, you know that we've been graced by Michael's presence and are all better for it. Same with Star Fleet. Kiss the Michael ring ya all...

So let's end this season and set us up for Season 2 shall we?

Suru is now acting Captain (again) Sarak is happy to see Vulcan fro the bridge and off they go to pick up Discovery's new Captain.... wait for it...... they received a distress call .... and it's from Pike's Enterprise?!?!??!

You know, the one with Michael's brother, Spock on it

Suru orders:
"Helm, slow us down."
"Dropping us out of warp now, sir."

And poof, we are within meters of NCC-1701.... (not a Discovery exclusive problem, but a trek issue nonetheless.)

Then of course we get what should have been the JJ-prise.... and we'll have to wait for next season.

...and we get TOS music that actually pissed me off.

Summary?

Man, I don't know... I get so frustrated with this... I'm not sure I'm going to do this again for season 2.

... but what will probably happen is, .... it's so long before Season 2 I'll forgive and jump in again.

Funniest line?

When Tilly is first speaking to Michael in their room....

"What's your name? Michael.
I never met a female named Michael before.
Do you think that suits you? I'll call you Mickey.
I think that's more approachable.
No, you won't.
Oh, yeah.
No, I won't.
The only other female Michael I ever heard of was Michael Burnham, the mutineer.
You're not her, are you? [CHUCKLING] Are you?

That, was laugh out loud funny :-)

Favorite Characters?

Suru
Tilly
Lorca
Georgiou (both)
Stamets
Sarak

Not so favorite characters?

Michael (affirmed in the last 2 episodes)
Cluber

You'd think that the favorites would outweigh the bad, but it's hard when the bad is the show's lead.

Who cast SMG? .... they should be shot. I have nothing against her personally, but damn...

I didn't feel a struggle for Michael.... I guess that's the crux of the dilemma I guess. I don't know why she made the deliberate decision to kill T'Kuvma... her action was not an emotional response.
Next ►Page 1 of 48
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.