Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,141 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 46
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 12:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Well, well, well.... many of our suspicions prove true. Seems we now have a reason why Lorca wasn't a very "Star Fleet" Captain. Loved all the little clues put together in All Trek.

All very well done with one exception (I could be mistaken here). ... I thought it was Voq's body that was surgically altered, then Tyler's "ora" for lack of a better term was implanted in him. Didn't L'Rell just state the opposite????? Tyler's was captured, and modified to receive Voq? ... how does that make any sense with what Cluber figured out?

Micheal Yeoh did a fine job here, but I like her much more as Capt Georgiou.

Now Lorca is turned loose... can't wait for this. I thought the "darkness" reveal was pretty cool. Never mentioned before in the MU or does something happen to eliminate it maybe?

A little disappointing this episode was so short...

Did Michael just eat MU Saru? :-)




Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Nice review Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@LJ
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 6:32pm (UTC -6)

"Tilly's line about "fungi being the only organism with the biological aptitude to link death with life", as ridiculous as it may seem, it actually is real science and it's a concept taken from real-life American mycologist Paul Stamets' book "Mycelium Running". Paul Stamets, the real-life mycologist, was the one who inspired the creation of DSC's Paul Stamets. Actually, the whole "spore drive" concept is based on this mycologist's work, so for those tho are saying it's too fake-science a concept, compared to old-school Trek technobabble, well, it's not. "

Thank you LJ!!

Jammer, this should be on the Discovery main page. I tire of hearing "spore science" bashing... especially when it's unjustified. There's more "real science' referenced in discovery than any other series.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 10:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@Booming
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:06am (UTC -6)

I don't believe we "knew" she was a Cylon until she had sex with Chief in one of those ammo-lockers. (spine red thingy) .... or that episode. I don't think it was from the get-go.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 11, 2018, 6:14am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Gooz,

That's not how the episode played out at all.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

msb00th
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:36pm (UTC -6)
"What if Georgiou is Hoshi's daughter, and the Empire became a dynasty?"

I had the same exact thought as soon as they said that Burnham was the Shenzhou's Captain.

I'm sure either way ... Emperor Hoshi will be mentioned.

Peter G.
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 12:26am (UTC -6)

Great thoughts Peter. "One thing problematic about all of these 'aha!' surprises is that they're being telegraphed enough that they're predictable" ... exactly what was going through my mind watching this one. It was fun, but damn, I could almost guess the script as they went along. My call that Lorca was from the MU is looking more plausible as we go.

Break.....

So, the MU it is.... I think we all pretty much saw this coming. I'm sure now they will plagiarize some of the stuff from 'Mirror, Mirror' from TOS. (still today the best MU episode in all of trek.) We'll see if there will be any impact as a result of this "incursion".

Ah SNAP! ..... I didn't see that one coming :-) We will still see the good doctor in the MU.... I wonder if he's straight? :-) ... and... if you watched 'After Trek', I'm betting he's not done in the PU either. (I'm about done with 'After Trek' btw.... eeeesh)

Stamets should be interesting as we go ahead... kind of a human Tribble is seems :-)

CAPTAIN TILLY!!!! HAHA!!! Funny as crap in the beginning as she stumbles to sound mean.... and she learned to be a bad ass pretty quickly! I'll tear out your tongue and use it to lick my boots" ... lol I just love this character!

I didn't much like the fight in the elevator. It seemed too staged or ..... choreographed... I also don't know why one would lose or loosen their grip just because gravity went away.

This episode wasn't Michael's best... many times it looked like Green acting, and that's never a good thing. I should be thinking Michael...

The Ash/Voq thing... we all saw this one coming for sure, but does L'Rell have some sort of voo-doo over him? She says she'll tell him everything if only he'd just let her out and boom.... Ash hits the button... no restraint whatsoever.

No one else in medical when Ash kills Culber? ... really? .... come on...

I will also chime up about the CGI in this thing... damn, 8 million an episode and it looks like a 20 year old video game? BAB5 looked better.... damn, the actor's must be sucking it up.... I hope so anyways.

They could have elaborated about/described the agony booths .... not everyone has seen Enterprise.

This should be a fun ride. Many twists we haven't yet pondered I think... this seems to shed some light on Lorca's keen interest in Burnham.

I'll go 3 stars on this one.

Seriously, they should keep Frakes on the docket... nice pacing etc... "One take Frakes" doesn't get enough love in the industry for his work. You'd think he would do lot's of directing.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Care to elaborate Dexter Morgan?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 17, 2017, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@ Slackerinc,

"That review confused me. Was it written by multiple people? LOL "Not bad" but "so cheesy" and an "additional star" only gets you up to 2? Huh."

Yeah, I just tired of them being idiots. That and the cheese factor knocked it down for me. I actually like the story idea.

Love your screen name BTW. :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@ Mertov
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
"I can already see faithful Fox viewers condemning this episode..
:))))))))"

Why?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Not a bad episode. Definitely made me think of Voyager's far superior "Blink of an Eye" and DS9's inferior "Meridian".

So the CO of the ship walks around trying to find someone to get drunk with? Good lord. I don't care if this is supposed to be a comedy or not...

Every time they go down to a planet, they are a bunch of blundering idiots.

This whole ep was just so cheesy. From stepping on a branch to get noticed, to the super advanced spaceship approaching the Orville without hailing...

Lamar hooking up with a hottie!!

That's worth and additional star I guess.

2 stars from me.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

I've watched this again.

Aside from the dumb choice of choosing someone that dry humps a public statue on an away mission, I'd much prefer Yaphit as CHENG anyways....pretty cool character.

I got to thinking about the "IQ" thing. IQ does not equate or translate to motivation. This is a poor choice for a very important leadership position.

So, in the previews of next week's episode, we see Lamar back on the bridge in his old spot... I don't remember seeing the old CHENG ever driving/navigating on the bridge.

So, I think we now see why our Captain went off the deep end when his wife crewed around on him... just look at his reaction here... "whiny bitch" certainly applies and his actions demonstrate the mental maturity of a 5 year old. This angle from Seth concerning everything that irks him is growing tiresome.

I thought the "2D" thing in this episode was pretty cool and, I don't believe, has ever been done before?

I'll go 2 stars. While I thought the gist story was OK, the rest brought this episode down.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

The Captain is a mental pussy. If he can't see that he needed help to make it to the CO's chair, then screw him.

We always knew Geordi was going to make it to Engineering.
Set Bookmark
REMOVE YANKS FROM PREMISES
Mon, Dec 4, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

*trumpet*
OD BADLANDS, DO SOLOSOS SELA
DO SOLOSOS SELA
MAQUISKA ZEMLJA, NAPADNUTA CELA
NAPADNUTA CELA
EDDINGTONU, VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
NEK SE VIDI, NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NIKOG SE NE BOJE
*datface's accordion*
OJTA VI DE, CARDASSKE USTASE
CARDASSKE USTASE
NE DIRAJTE, U PLANETE NASE
U PLANETE NASE
EDDINGTONU, VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
NEK SE VIDI, NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NIKOG SE NE BOJE
*datface's accordion*
IZ ATHOSKE, RO LAREN SU VUCI
RO LAREN SU VUCI
CUVAJTE SE, CARDASSKI I STARFLEET
CARDASSKI I STARFLEET
EDDINGTONU, VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
NEK SE VIDI, NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NIKOG SE NE BOJE
*datface's accordion*
U ODBRANI, SVOGA MAQUIS RODA
SVOGA MAQUIS RODA
BORIMO SE, DRAGA NAM JEAN VALJEAN
DRAGA NAM JEAN VALJEAN
EDDINGTONU, VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
VODI MAQUIS SVOJE
NEK SE VIDI, NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NEK SE VIDI, NIKOG SE NE BOJE
NIKOG SE NE BOJE
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Hugh
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -6)
@Mertov

"The Borg Queen was fully consistent with the logic of the show's narrative. The Borg wanted to capitalize on what it saw as an advantage of species with the capacity for individuals with independent thought. The appointment of the Borg Queen makes total sense considering the goals and ambitions of the Borg and what we had seen of them in the past."

I've been doin this trek thing for a long time and you my friend are the first one I've EVER seen take that stance on the Borg Queen in 'First Contact'.

Bryan is 100% correct.

@Mertov
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 12:51am (UTC -6)
"But I lean on Yanks' side with his proposal that continuity problems exist everywhere and there isn't that much difference in between. That is the negative of a prequel (and a serialized one at that) with only 9 episodes into its life in a highly scrutinized show like ST: Discovery."

I've been leaned on! :-)

I honestly can't believe this is even being brought up as a "point" for those criticizing STD. We ALL have been here and on sites for "ever" tearing a part trek for it's inconsistencies, canon violations, plot conveniences, etc. To hold Discovery to a new standard is Trekocracy! :-)

You bring up a very good point; this is the first truly "serial" trek, so one would think folks would error on the side of forgiveness than throwing daggers.

Am I saying STD is better than previous trek and that it doesn't deserve criticism? .... hell no, but lets keep our standards the same, or reasonable.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

@ Chris
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 6:43am (UTC -6)
"Am I missing something here? All this talk about whether or not they would have left part of Cardassian OS running but surely, if they did, as part of the treaty there would be some sort of long term support agreement with the Cardassians to help if any bugs cropped up? Why the hell did they not simply contact the Federation and/or Cardassian command about this issue as soon as it arose and get someone to given them the override codes they needed?

I couldn't find any indication during the episode that the security protocols had cut-off external contact. If they had, it would of helped maintain my suspension of disbelief. As it was, it seems like they made a mountain out of a mole hill on this one."

External contact wouldn't have helped. This was Dukat's program.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

@ Markus
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 4:13am (UTC -6)
"Why did the Klingons not realize the second time around that the coordinates for their transport were different from before?"

They did, but only after transport.

I don't hold these Klingons in a high regard. They basically run a dump truck.

No songs in their line of business.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Peter G.
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 10:38am (UTC -6)
@ Yanks,

"What he's saying is that there are dropped threads and continuity problems between the episodes. If they aren't continuity errors then at the very least they failed to produce the connective tissue that could explain certain things like how they can detect the cloak at all. All we heard is "something, something, gravity" which is fine as a hand-wave away but doesn't tell us why this supposedly unbeatable tech has a weakness no one has mentioned until conveniently the Discovery just happens to notice it."

I would propose that there are no more "continuity problems" here than in any other trek incarnation. ... probably less. "Convenience" is part of SCI-FI... not just trek. How many times throughout trek does a crew happen upon something for the sole purpose of an episode? ... or a movie?

Also, Michael told us what was going on with Pahvos. Not sure what else you want. The last time the writers included clarity in how the spore drive works, folks wanked because they already heard it in the previous episode.

Your assumption indicates you know the entire Klingon history of cloak development as well as the complete history of Star Fleet's technology of defeating it.

They didn't say they detected a cloaked ship, they said they detected a power signature.

It is what it is.... kind of like accepting that a Star Fleet cloak in the 24th century can allow a ship to pass through a planet's crust.

@ Nic,

"- The sensors they place on the Sarcophagus ship are ridiculously loud, clunky and bright. How is it that no one found one and destroyed it before they finished relaying their data?"

Big ship... relatively short period of time needed to gather data. They WERE being kept busy by Michael.

@Brian1
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
"I don't usually have trouble suspending disbelief with Star Trek, but I found the whole spore drive being plugged into Stamets thing really hard to get past. I know, there have been implausible things on Trek many times but this is the worst since it's supposed to be grounded in science (unlike the Q or prophets who are more clearly fantasy). Yep, just plug him in and somehow he can guide these also implausible spore things to make the ship jump. It was one thing when it was the creature who was inherently oriented with the spores, but just for some human to do it? I'm glad the drive seems to be done with though."

True enough. But I'm sure there is some science this all was based on.

@Skorch
Mon, Nov 27, 2017, 2:36am (UTC -6)
"I find it fascinating how much I, and all of the other posters here, care about this show, just because it's called Star Trek. The characters, plot, science, etc. I think we care more about it than the people who made it. Of course they are having to create a show out of whole cloth, and we get to dissect it afterward, so we should forgive them a bit if they make some mistakes. But then again, it is Star Trek, and they should realize what they are dealing with, so we shouldn't forgive them either. LOL. It's a tough call. So far, I think they did a little bit worse than they should have, or could have.

I'm just posting this because it's off for 2 months and have nothing else to say."

Isn't that the truth. I've seen nuBSG 3 times through (for the most part) and I couldn't speak of those episodes like I do trek. Same with Stargate, BAB5 and FarScape. I love them all, but none of them generate the interest from me that trek does.

January 7th seems sooooooo far away.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 8:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Simon,

"What on earth was the Phavan's plan? They made the effort to get the Klingons there, what further intervention were they intending (answer: none, as this was just a plot contrivance to move the action along)."

Quoted from 'Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum':

"It is Starfleet's plan to modify the electromagnetic frequency of Pahvo's signal and harness it as a form of sonar that can detect the presence of the cloaked Klingon vessels decimating our fleet, make them visible to our sensors, and turn the tide of war in our favor."

"How can the Discovery can detect a cloaked ship entering the system?"

Quoted from 'Into the Forest I Go':

"Sir, long-range sensors have detected the power signature of a cloaked Klingon vessel entering Pahvo's orbit."




Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I thought Halston Sage did very well in this episode.

You'd think Lt. Alara Kitan's superior strength would make her fast as well. :-)

I enjoyed this one, twists and all.

A few trek episodes came to mind while I was watching this. I liked the fact that this wasn't just like any of them.

The "humor" didn't do anything for me, so I'll go 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 7:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Skorch
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 12:42am (UTC -6)
"Everyone arguing about the cloak that uses gravity keeps assuming that the only way to create gravity is by using mass, and that it would have to be a huge mass, akin to a black hole. But in Star Trek they create gravity all the time without having large masses, using artificial gravity generators and so on. So the Klingons don't necessarily have to fly around with their ship covered in black holes. They just need a powerful artificial gravity generator."

Well played Skorch, well played.

If "gravity plating" can work in the Star Trek universe, then I'm confident that when the appropriate treknobabble is inserted, that concept/treknology can be the basis for a cloak strong enough to mask a star ship.

Of course, I'm not looking to ding Discovery at every turn.

[BURNHAM] We suspect the Klingon cloak generates a massive gravitational field, one that bends light and other electromagnetic waves around the ship.

Scripts here for everyone BTW: (Chrissies Transcripts is still protesting) https://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/episode_scripts.php?tv-show=star-trek-discovery-2017

@ Pocket University, yes. thank you. Just like transporting would take so much power isn't possible either. (something like all the mass in the universe converted into energy)

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ karatasiospa
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 9:57am (UTC -6)

"...but it seems that if somebody wants to rationalize everything that DISC does he will find a way even if it is an absurd one. have fan with DISC!!!!"

Good lord, you have an issue with using gravity in the "science" of cloaking on trek? .... I'm sure you have perfect scientific facts to support warp drive, the anti-matter chamber, transporting, replicators, just about everything medical...

I mean really, how is what Discovery said (and I don't have a transcript) worse than the "it consumes lots of power" and just somehow works that we had for the last 50 years?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ BZ
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 8:33am (UTC -6)
"Black holes are not "invisible" anyway. Aside from the accretion disk, they are literally black (as in they block any light sources behind them). Whatever cloaks do, they have to bend light in such a way that they are "transparent", that is, you can see whatever is behind the ship they're cloaking. Since gravity can bend light, it's a reasonable starting point for any technobabble the cloaks use."

I prefer treknobabble :-)

Thank you.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 5:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ Boneless chicken
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
@Yanks

"Gravity would be quite noticeable so that would not be much of a cloak..."

But include treknobabble of choice and you're good.

I just liked the clarification Discovery used, identifying gravity as the basis for the cloak.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@ karatasiospa
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 1:59pm (UTC -6)

"a sun bends light but it does not become invisible."

But the stars behind the sun do to the observer.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Oh, another whaaaaaaaaa I'm leaving now because someone is mean post?

Drama, drama, ..... snowflake drama...

Give me a break.

And you're not leaving, you will post again.... just like everyone else on the internet that announces their dramatic departure... if not under "OmicronThetaDeltaPhi", then by another name.
Next ►Page 1 of 46
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.