Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 56 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I find the fact that B'elanna and Tom's baby has two episodes devoted to her already (and she's not even born yet!) hilarious.

I don't really care about Klingon religions and all that, but I do have to admit that if they stuck to their guns and continued their mission faithfully for 4 generations, that that is some serious devotion to your faith. Especially considering the fact that it was not originally their idea to start the journey. The fact that even the great-grandchildren of the ones who originally began the mission are still devoted to it, is a testimony to the faith of the Klingons. Too bad they didn't adress that, at all.

The Neelix subplot was meh. Harry shoves a Klingon female once and suddenly he's got a 'fiery spirit that makes him a worthy mate'. Neelix shoves Harry one time and says one harsh thing and suddenly he's an even worthier mate. This particular Klingon sure is easily impressed...And yeah, more forced Tuvok/Neelix comedy routine, which never works, including this time.

Can we move on to something Delta Quadrant related now? Like the Borg or a native alien species or some unique space phenomenon or something?
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sat, Jun 27, 2015, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Could've done without the Neelix subplot. Just because a Starfleet vessel saved them, doesn't mean the prisoners fall under Starfleet regulations.
They are still Nygean prisoners and, in order to follow the prime directive as much as possible, should be treated as such. Which is to say, the Nygeans call the shots on what rights the prisoners do and do not have.
I understand that Voyager had to interfere to save the crew from their malfunctioning ship, especially because they didn't know who was on board at the time. I understand that, while they are on Voyager, the crew has a right to keep an eye on their 'guests'.
But that's about as far as their interference should be allowed to go, if they truly intended to follow the prime directive.

Ofcourse, the guy turned out to be a rotten apple all along. Anyone with half a brain could've seen that one coming a mile away. How else are they supposed to hammer their point home? Had Neelix just butted out and minded his own business, we wouldn't have learned this 'valuable lesson'.

I really disliked that subplot. It had all the subtlety of a truck barrelling down on an innocent deer caught in its headlights.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Fri, Jun 26, 2015, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Hm, this was the perfect episode to showcase Samantha Wildman again. Who else has been through a prefnancy on Voyager? Samantha Wildman. Who knows what it's like to raise a kid on a starship that has no other kids? Samantha Wildman. Who knows how to raise a kid with mixed heritage? Samantha ****ing Wildman.

And yet, no sign of her. Of all the people on Voyager, she is the most fit to give you advice, because she's been through all of it.
Everyone on Voyager is giving you parenting advice, except the one person that actually knows what they're talking about.
Sure, there are probably other parents on the ship, but she comes closest to B'elannas situation. Damn shame, that is.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Thu, Jun 25, 2015, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

I kinda liked it, to be honest. I thought it was a very unique way to put together a clip show from previous episodes. Sure, the premise of it didn't make sense, but they at least tried a fresh idea and I gotta give em credit for that.
It's better then bunching the main characters together and have them reminisce about the times that were, as most clip shows do.
My favorite scene was the one where Seven barges in through her temporal anomaly, casually shoves a Kazon aside while taking a phaserblast without flinching and manhandling Seska like a ragdoll.

It was a good ride. Not a very sensible one, but fun. I enjoyed it, at least.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Mon, Jun 22, 2015, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Harry tries on the big boy pants. We all knew where this was going. He'd start with overconfidence, events would occur that made him doubt himself as a leader, someone gives him a peptalk and he accepts his limits and saves the day.
And then he's just plain old Harry Kim again. Poor guy has one interesting episode over the course of 7 seasons. That's rough. I always kind of liked Harry, but it seems he was destined to come in last.
The Icheb/B'elanna subplot was meh. It's believable, given what we know about Icheb but not really funny or interesting. Another episode of nothing really happened or changed and I doubt I'll remember this episode for very long.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sat, Jun 20, 2015, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

Hey, it's Troi and Barclay. Again. What is this, the third time now? We get it. Barclay is obsessed with Voyager and Troi is worried about his mental health. Didn't they already do this once?
Well, except this time there's Ferengi around. To the satisfaction of absolutely no one.
I'm not surprised the Ferengi would ruthlessly kill a crew of 150 people to set themselves up for life, but I am surprised that they are presented as gullible cretins who fail to see through Reg's lie, yet still smart enough to intercept a Starfleet hologram message (without Starfleet knowing they did so), alter it to serve their own purpose and then send it to the Delta Quadrant, again without Starfleet finding out about it.

It could just be me, but I feel like they took the Barclay/Troi combo one episode too far. They should have stopped after the second time. I'm all for seeing TNG crewmembers on Voyager, but not when it's just a rehash of a former episode in which they also appeared. Nothing new going on here. This episode might as well not exist.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Wed, Jun 17, 2015, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

The dragrace was a cool idea. The relationship turmoil ... not so much. I've honestly never really cared whether B'elanna and Tom are good together or not. Episodes that focus on the matter aren't bad per se, but I don't really care about the outcome either.
Whether they stay together or break things off, it's all the same to me.

It also comes as no surprise that Harry falls for the cute alien chick. At this point, we don't even need dialogue to know that's going to happen. The second she beamed aboard the flyer and I saw she was cute, I knew Harry was going to be into her. It's just become that predictable.

I'm curious how her sabotage was intended to work, however. She apparently set some sort of rudimentary timer on the Flyer's fuel conversion unit and was betting on it to explode at the finish line. But how did she know the flyer was going to win? What if the flyer ran into trouble and was slowed down? They would just blow up in the middle of the course, with no damage done to anyone but themselves and possibly some other competitors. Just feels a little wonky for a sabotage plan. Could have easily backfired on her in many different ways.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Tue, Jun 16, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

As usual, there are a few things I can't help but wonder:
-What was the point of that goodbye scene to those 3 Borg kids? That kinda felt like it came out of nowhere and didn't really serve any purpose. Sure, they're not important characters (especially the twins) but it feels like they just wanted to get rid of them to simplify matters. This way they can focus on Icheb as a character without those 3 tagging along every time.
-Tuvok gets shot on the Borg ship. No one seems to care. Are you telling me that those aliens are sifting through the wreckage of a Borg vessel with their weapons on safe mode? Those are Borg we're talking about. Deadly force should be used at all times. But this is a Seven of Nine episode. No one has time to worry about Tuvok this time.
-Where the hell is Naomi Wildman? She's like family to Seven and yet, she is nowhere to be seen. Seven is on her deathbed and yet one of her closest friends, who considers her family, doesn't care enough to show up. Either that or no one told her Seven is dying. Either way, what the hell? One scene would've been enough, but nope. Nothing.

On the plus side, I liked Icheb's part in all this. The first time he contributes something meaningfull, both character wise and driving the plot forward. Very commendable job.
I liked the episode overall, but there were a few scenes that felt like they were dragging a bit. B'elanna and Seven discussing the afterlife and Neelix' game of Kadis-kot were two things I could've done without.
Thank god they didn't bring up Neelix' crisis of faith from his earlier near death episode.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Wed, Jun 10, 2015, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Well, there we finally have it. The worst episode of Voyager. Yes, that includes Treshold.

This episode is painful to watch. It's like Jennifer Lien didn't even want to do this. She comes across completely uninterested and she doesn't put in any effort.
Did I want to see a 'Kes returns' episode? You better believe I did. Kes is one of my favorite Voyager characters.
Did I want to see Kes tearing Voyager to pieces with her powers? Yes, I did. A beloved character blowing stuff up with her mind and going all 'Carrie' on Voyager? Sign me up!
And then she explained why she was doing it. After having to watch her skulk around the ship and deliver unconvincing dialogue.
I won't even get into that stupid Janeway/Kes fight. Just... just no. If I had to vote for any scene of Voyager as absolute worst, this would be it.

Poor Kes. Voyager did not treat you well. Even your final goodbyes are once again gravely underplayed and underwhelming. That's twice in a row now. And also twice that the Doctor completely misses it, despite being one of her closest friends.
Where did they even send her off to? Ocampa? Isn't that like 40 years away at the highest warp? Through Borg space and everything?

Just so many stupid things in this episode. Ugh. Kes deserved better. She deserved a better send off. Both times.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Tue, Jun 9, 2015, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I didn't like this episode one bit. A play? A shakespearean play based on the adventures of Voyager and B'elanna in particular? Yawnfest.
I'll admit, I didn't quite get all the actors vs writers details this episode obviously alludes to. I'm one of those people who doesn't need to know what goes on behind the screens.
I don't need to see how magic tricks are done, how awesome actionpacked scenes are put together, how they make big explosions seem real etc etc. It completely ruins the whole point of it.
This whole episode feels like that. A look behind the scenes of an ancient play of some backwater aliens trying to grasp the concept of a civilzation millenia ahead of their time. And it's a mess. A jumbled, boring, confusing mess.

Big waste of time. Could not care less where it was going or how it ended. I like my sci-fi a little more flashy. If that's shallow, when then that's shallow. I like flash over substance for my entertainment. Sue me. While Star Trek is not generally all that flashy (Abrams movie reboots notwithstanding), it still delivers on this front often enough to warrant watching. I suppose that means I have to take the good with the bad and stomach the occasional episode I know I won't like, like this one. So be it, then.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Mon, Jun 8, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Hm, is impostor Janeway's escape preplanned by Voyager or did she really pull it off on her own?

On the one hand, if it was planned by Voyager, it was a messy plan. It would have us believe that they sent in Neelix armed with a phaser and a story of redemption to see how fake Janeway would react to it. Why give Neelix a real phaser then? Give him a fake one. If she tries to go for it, it'll be useless to her and the guard can take her out safely before she's anywhere close to escaping. She shot two people with that phaser. She could have figured out how to set it to kill and then what? RIP Neelix and nameless security guard?
On the other hand, they did plant Tom and the Doctor in the Delta Flyer. So, either Voyager's officers have mad improvisational skills and they anticipated her moves as she was escaping and devised a shockingly detailed plan on the fly or they got lucky everything went as it did.

I'd like to believe they allowed fake Janeway to escape, so she would lead them to the loot and her compatriots, but there are too many things that don't add up. She escaped on her own and only clumsy writing had everything go right in the end.
Rating seems about right to me.

Personal favorite scenes of mine include: Tuvok outsmarting fake Tuvok (more improvisation) and Doctor outsmarting Neelix and Tom with their little game of find the nut and them getting him back at the very end.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sat, Jun 6, 2015, 8:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

The parents having bred Icheb as a living weapon to destroy the Borg seems a little farfetched, if you ask me.
First of all: He wasn't really that effective, given that he only disabled a single cube. In Collective, we learn that one cube is roughly 5.000 Borg. What's a few thousand compared to the billions of the collective? That's like going to war arming your soldiers with bbguns.
Then there was also the fact that apparently waited until Icheb was in his early teens before deploying him as a weapon. Why risk it? What if you become so emotionally attached to him during that period that you find yourself unable to go through with it, as you would expect of any decent parent? The situation is dire for the Brunali, but the love parents can have for their children can often be overwhelming and, as Tuvok would say, impair their logic.

Most of the episode worked, until they implemented that twist. I wouldn't go so far as to say it ruined the episode, because they do tie it in reasonably sensible, but it still feels out of place. It's too sudden and jarring. It feels like they should have been 2 seperate episodes.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Fri, Jun 5, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

There are a few things I like about this episode.
Normally, in Trek it are humans who are slowly transforming into an alien who are the problem. This time, it was the other way around. I kind of liked that idea of role reversal. Here we have an alien trying to become a human again. I thought that was neat.
I also liked the subplot of the Borg children. Like Seven, they have trouble adapting to their individuality. Icheb and the twins follow Seven's rules, strictly adhering to the order and structure where as the girl exhibits a more artistic streak and asserts her individuality through that. It was enjoyable to see.

Unfortunately, I tend to be a stickler for following continuity and I could not get into the story of Ballard, simply because it breaks continuity in several places. Ignoring that, it's a decent human drama story, although I would question one thing.
Someone who spent 6 months in a spaceship trying to find their former crew again while fending off constant attacks from pursuers would have to be VERY determined to reach their goal. And yet, once she reaches that goal, she gives up after a few days and goes back to her old alien life. I get that Voyager may not have been all that she remembered it to be, but still...6 months of trying to find them would make her a fiercely determined and stubborn individual. One that would not give up after a few disappointing days.

Overall, it mostly just annoyed me because of the continuity errors that prevented me from enjoying the story. I found the subplot to be the most enjoyable thing and you can't really call an episode a success if its main story is its biggest weak point.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Thu, Jun 4, 2015, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Biggest offender, as pointed out in the comments here several times:
Torres: We could just pull the plug on them.
Neelix: But the program will be gone. We'll lose Fair Haven.
Seven: They are not real people, they're holograms.
Janeway: Oh, they may not be real, but our feelings for them are.

SO WHAT? You know who is real? Tom and Harry. You know what else is real? The fact that they could very well die because you refuse to give up your precious attachments to a bunch of preprogrammed photons! Pull the plug, already! Rebuild it later, if you have to and don't run it 24/7 after you do.
Seriously, Torres hands them solution on a silver platter and they refuse based on their 'feelings for the characters'? Disconnect the whole thing, save your crewmen and fix that thing later on if you absolutely must (although I would prefer you didn't).

Fairytale BS made possible by stupid decisions while ignoring the only two who speak some common sense. I hope to never see Fair Haven again after this.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Wed, Jun 3, 2015, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Icheb: 'Icheb. My name was was Icheb.'
Seven: 'Your name IS Icheb.'

Yea, and your name is Annika, but I don't see you using that either. Don't be a hypocrit, Seven.

Just a little thing that popped out at me when I saw it. Anyway, the episode wasn't really much to look at. I couldn't help but think: they are 5 children, running a ship meant to be run by thousands. At this point in time, Voyager probably knows more about dealing with the Borg then any other Starfleet vessel. Should be a piece of cake for them to take out a damaged vessel run by 5 deborgified children. Just shoot them enough to cripple them, beam your crew out of there and tell The First to go **** himself. It's really as simple as that.

But I guess we wouldn't have much of an episode, if they did that. And I suppose it wouldn't be too Starfleet of them, either. Although I think they'd understand. When you run into Borg, a shoot first, ask questions later policy is generally the way to go. Mediocre episode. Kind of a snoozefest. I'd really love to see the Borg be the big scary badasses they once were, but shows like this make it hard to come back to that.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Tue, Jun 2, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I really like this episode. It's heavy on the action (which I always enjoy) and still ties together decently into the Trek universe, which I did not believe possible for an episode based on martial arts. I've generally come to accept clumsy throws, telegraphed punches and kicks and Vulcan neckpinches as the pinnacle of Trek hand to hand combat. This episode proves otherwise and I enjoy that.

I also like the fact that they acknowledge Chakotay's love for boxing/wrestling. It's not groundbreaking or anything, but at least they didn't completely throw away that part of his character after the one episode it got.
If I were to have any complaints (and these would be of the nitpick variety), it would be that it doesn't stand out in any way, shape or form. No new ground is being tred, the action is good but not great and the story is predictable. In short, it's a good hour of fun, but it doesn't really say or do anything that stands out. In the end, the only thing this episode will ever be remembered for is the appearance of The Rock.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sat, May 30, 2015, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

An interesting episode. This is pretty much what I watch shows like Star Trek for. Despite a few holes in the logic already described in above comments, the general idea of it works and the way it's handled is good enough to keep you entertained for its duration.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Fri, May 29, 2015, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Not my cup of tea. I'm already not a fan of romance stories and I generally dislike holodeck shenanigans as well, so yea...

The only thing I found worth watching was the Doctor and Janeways discussion about her romantic options. It's true that her options are limited, but I don't agree that the holodeck could provide a decent alternative. They aren't real. It's all good and fine if you're playing out a story with yourself as a character in it, because you're always aware of that fact.
But when you start seeing holograms as real people that have to fulfill real human desires, then you're taking it too far and Janeway did the right thing by walking away before things got even worse.
In the end, Michael and Fair Haven are just an elaborate illusion. They are what Tom and Janeway made them to be. You can never get any real satisfaction from anything they say or do, because in the back of your mind you know you (or someone else programmed them to be that way).

It was a waste of an episode for me personally, as I didn't enjoy 95% of the content and the part that does work is an ethical/moral debate that is too headache inducing to think about in depth, so I don't. Not a shining moment in the Voyager saga, as far as I'm concerned.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Tue, May 26, 2015, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

It was an overall enjoyable episode, but the only thing that bothered me was that they hoisted archeology onto Chakotay as one of his passions/hobbies. You can't pull stuff like that 6 seasons in. Feels like it came out of nowhere and I wouldn't be surprised if it never gets mentioned again. Just like his love for boxing.

They already have a character who makes a hobby out of Earth's history. Paris. Oh, and look. He's sitting right there. Everything Chakotay said to change Seven's mind about the importance of history and preserving the past should have been said by Paris. He has long been established as being the resident history buff when it comes to the 19th and 20th centuries.

So yea, that was kinda weird, but I guess they can't just completely ignore Chakotay for 2 whole seasons and I don't think he's had an episode focused on his in this season yet, so might as well just copy/paste someone elses hobby onto him and force the thing, I guess. Aside from that, it was a fine episode. I like the guest actor. He did a pretty good job and Seven was good too. It was fine, but not awe inspiring or anything. Enjoyable hour but not very exciting. I actually like some mindless space action. Give me phaserfire and spacebattles any day. This episode isn't hurting for lack of that, but a man likes what a man likes, I suppose.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Mon, May 25, 2015, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Seems like towards the end, Janeway is making a mountain out of a moleheap. If there are only 50 or so Vaadwaur ships in existence for a total of 600 members, then no matter how resourceful or tenacious they are, they're going to die.

If they don't get pwned by some other aliens due to inferior technology then nature will slowly kill them. Give it 3 or 4 generations and see how many of them are left then. It's only a matter of time before they become extinct. Even if they had the luxury of quietly settling down and trying to revitalize their culture, they would fail because there's simply not enough of them. 600 is not nearly enough to maintain an entire species for very long.
But they don't have that luxury. They are stuck desperately fighting for their survival in corridors that other species have since taken over in ships that are 900 years out of date. They're doomed, no matter how you look at it. This is a problem that will take care of itself, if you give it enough time. No need to make any real fuss about them.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Sat, May 23, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

Couldn't really get into it.
For starters, I don't know why Tom was so intrigued with the shuttle when he first saw it. He already has the Delta Flyer, which is pretty much his work in progress, isn't it? Anything he can do to Alice, he can do to the Delta Flyer as well, save for the Neurogenic interlink or whatever it's called.
I also found the actress who plays Alice a little lackluster. She just doesn't sell the manipulation parts. She comes acorss as flat and unconvincing, particularly towards the end. She detects Voyager messing with her shiels while B'elanna distracts Tom and she just doesn't transmit a sense of urgency or desperation, the way I feel she should. She's pretty to look at, but that's about it.

It wasn't all bad, though. I liked the opening scene where they try to guess Tuvok's age. I liked the bit where B'elanna gets locked in Alice and almost dies.
And I liked the joke Seven made where she tells Neelix that all sales are final, including his precious berylium crystal.
It works as a watchable hour, but just barely. Perhaps if Alice had been more convincing, it would have proven more interesting.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Wed, May 20, 2015, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I didn't care for it, for a very simple reason. I dislike any episode where the afterlife is depicted as actually existing and following the rules of whatever species they belong to. The afterlife isn't meant to be confirmed or denied. They seem to understand that in so many other Trek episodes. Even the one where Neelix suffers from a near death experience leaves him in doubt as to whether or not his version of the afterlife actually exists or not.
This one has too much detail and confirmation to be credible. You can't confirm or deny the existence of an afterlife. You can only hint at it. Any character development that follows in this episode was ruined for me, just because of this.

Silly concept, poorly executed, boring as hell (no pun intended).
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Fri, May 15, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

Well, after the last 2 slowmoving low on sci-fi episodes, this is a nice refresher. Finally some action and an actual sci-fi related plot.
Sure, it's hopelessly convoluted and nonsensical, but it doesn't seem to care and just swiftly plows through the episode. There's action, there's goofiness, there's a twist. Pretty much everything I like about Star Trek in one episode. I'm not even going to bother nitpicking this time around, even though there's plenty to pick. As far as I'm concerned, this is what Trek should be all about.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Thu, May 14, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Well, on the one hand, I appreciate Voyager trying something new occasionally. On the other hand, this was really slowmoving and rather pointless. It's a good thing they cut back to the Voyager crew every now and again, or I would have been bored to tears.
The Voyager scenes work really well, but the Millenium Gate story was beyond boring. I just couldn't bring myself to care about anyone involved.

And like Jeff Bedard says, why would Voyager have so much history in their database? Same issue I complained about back in 'Once Upon a Time'. There is no reason for Voyager to have this in their database, just like there was no reason for them to have children's stories stored in the holodeck.

Mostly a pointless episode. The only thing worth remembering this for is the nice 'Voyager crew as a family' scenes. The Millenium Gate story itself amounts to nothing and is best left forgotten, if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Xylar
Wed, May 13, 2015, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I don't really know how to feel about this one. I guess it's all about how you personally feel about more character focused episodes. Delving into a character's personality and adding on to it and exploring it is either something that is right up your alley or it's not.
Personally, I don't care too much for these kinds of episodes. That's not to say they're bad. They're just not my cup of tea. I could have easily done without this episode, but I suppose there is some merit to it.
Call me shallow, but I like my Star Trek a little more... exotic. They can have human elements, to be sure, but I want my Trek episodes to include strange aliens or unique space/time phenomena and, if at all possible, an action scene or two. But I suppose it can't be just that all the time. Sometimes, you just have to make room for more character development and the action/sci-fi elements have to take a backseat for that episode.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.