Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 48,936 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,958
Set Bookmark
Juca
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

The worst thing in this episode is that Nagilum could easily prevent que auto-destruct sequence to begin, as it would be against his interests.

The best solution for this episode (before or after Nagilum) would be for someone saying "Computer: exit", and then the Holodeck illusion fades. They were all in a Holodeck simulation since the beginning, what a relief!
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I agree there's a lot of flaws in the episode, but I still enjoy it. Nevertheless, I do think it was incredibly irresponsible of the crew to just let the time ship go back to Jersey all by itself. Data knew it was about to leave and could have stayed with it to figure out how to use it and bring it back. As it is, I picture it reappearing in Rasmussen's garage and quickly becoming a curiosity that gets snatched by the authorities. In 200 years someone could've figured out how to get into the thing. Aside from that, wouldn't someone like Captain Braxton from Voyager come looking for it after its first captain failed to return? Maybe they were a bit more relaxed about their time travel in the 26th century.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

This is a pulpy masterpiece, IMO, and works well as a possible critique of the Vietnam war. You essentially have the enemy demonized as lizards for commiting massacres. The Federation go out seeking revenge, but are then revealed to be colonizing another's territory and so partially responsible for retalliation. Mercy, appologies and bridge-building ensues. The lizard monsters are not our enemy.

Gene Coon was so underrated. More than Roddenberry, he defined the soul of Trek.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1."

Well, I had three 4.0 episodes in DSC (Magic Makes the Sanest Man Go Wild, Into the Forrest I Go, What's Past Is Prologue) and two in Voyager Season 1 (Eye of the Needle and State of Flux). I haven't finished reviewing Enterprise yet, but I know at least three off the top of my head that will be 4.0 (IAMD, Observer Effect and Demons/Terra Prime).

I was surprised Jammer didn't give 'Into the Forrest I go' a 4.0. Voyager season 1 is currently my highest ranked trek first season (-DSC). I still have TOS and TNG to go.

Maybe it's not fair to grade DSC against other seasons that are 22+ episodes long.

I'm not sure what it all means, other than we all have our favorites. My numbers indicate that DSC season 1 was the best, but it's not my favorite because of how they ended it. It was a fun ride, but the bridge collapsed and we all died at the end.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 8:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

I found this a great, atmospheric, lush and expressionistic episode. Loved the style of Cochrane's little house, and the moody, hyper-romantic style of the episode.

Some commenters above have taken issue with the Companion inhabiting Hedford's body, but there is a line of dialogue in the episode which makes it clear that Hedford was mere moments away from dying before the Companion inhabited her.

I agree with those pointing out several sexist tropes in the episode (Hedford's the stiff careerist who only finds happiness after settling down for a life of domesticicty with a hunky man), but the episode's intra-species love affair (betwen an alien and what is essentially a suicidal old man) is touching and interestingly weird.
Set Bookmark
Mitchell
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Yeah...I mean, I can understand them winning because...L'Rell or Tyler or someone takes over and likes them, but...The "Big Bomb" thing?

I'm wondering if the Mirror Mommy plotline was added halfway through. (Partly due to protests on killing her off?) That might explain some of the clumsiness.

I mean, I can see her being WANTED to be used in it...but, well? It feels like Lorca's 'Pure Evil', and such was reversed. (Also, the bomb is just OY)

I'm betting that the last bits, where it kinda collapses, are the parts where they only had vague ideas, not detailed notes.
Set Bookmark
Plain Simple
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Jammer: "If you're looking for Michelle Yeoh movies, perhaps an obvious place to start would be "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," which was a big international mainstream (and Oscar-nominated) endeavor outside her action genre roots. (Watch it with the subtitles, not dubbed.)"

Thanks! I think I did watch that many many years ago, but didn't realize (or remember) it had Yeoh in it. Since I cannot remember much of it anyway, it might be time for a rewatch.

And thanks for your insightful and entertaining reviews throughout yet another season of Trek!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Plain Simple,

"But my initial point was that in this episode the crew is supposed to believe that 'Captain Georgiou' is in command of Discovery, yet someone calls Saru captain. Would just the fact that she is on the planet with an away team justify calling Saru captain? When Kirk and Spock would beam down on an away mission, did the remining crew address Scotty as captain?"

I don't recall the exchange, but assuming that's what happened maybe we can surmise that the crew didn't really accept Georgiou as being their new Captain. Or maybe they were confused about who the current Captain was. Or maybe the writers were. It's probably the last one.
Set Bookmark
Plain Simple
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Nievesg: "I recall commander "Trip" Tucker was called "Captain" at ENT in a couple of episodes, when he was in command as "acting captain", although his real rank was still a commander.

I guess the same applies to Saru at the MU episodes. A pity Saru wasn't promoted to real captain rank, he really earned it."


@Peter G. "Whoever is in command of a naval vessel is called Captain, regardless of their rank. This also includes non-military vessels."

This is also mentoned in an early season 6 DS9 episode by O'Brien to Nog when Dax takes command of the Defiant after Sisko gets a desk job as sidekick to the admiral.

But my initial point was that in this episode the crew is supposed to believe that 'Captain Georgiou' is in command of Discovery, yet someone calls Saru captain. Would just the fact that she is on the planet with an away team justify calling Saru captain? When Kirk and Spock would beam down on an away mission, did the remining crew address Scotty as captain?
Set Bookmark
Stanley Kenner
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

The obvious has not been mentioned. When Kirk, Spok and Macoy returned to the present, everything was as before. Their uniforms, equipment and memories. They had no recollection of what happened in the past. Spok first looked shocked when he returned to the present. Then he saw Macoy return which caused him to use logic by stating “We were successful”. Had they not been successful the three would not have returned.

All Kirk and Spok remembered was jumping to try and land in the1930’s to stop Macoy and landing back where they started. In this way, in the words of the Guardian, “Time has regained its shape. Everything is as it was before”. This would include the memories held by Kirk, Spok and Macoy.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Forgot TOS, whoops:

3: TOS2
2: TOS1
1: TOS3.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

For the record (I know this has been done before): number of 4* episodes (according to Jammer) -- where here I'll also count 2-hour/2-part episodes with a single rating as 2 eps (e.g. All Good Things, Occupation/Precipice from BSG)

5: DS95,7; BSG4
4: TNG3,5,7; DS96; BSG2,3
3: TNG4; DS92,3,4; BSG1
2: TNG2; VOY5,6; ENT1
1: TNG1; DS91; VOY2,3,4,7; ENT2,3; Andromeda 1; Caprica (as long as reviewed)
0: VOY1; ENT4; Discovery s1; Orville thusfar; Andromeda 2.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 3:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

(Lest it seem like I really hate The Icarus Factor: I think the Worf subplot is funny and effective, and the IDEA of Will's conflict with Kyle Riker ends up being very important for Riker's character, and the transition in the character from the hyper-ambitious rank-climber to the more settled man in BOBW and beyond, so it's an important episode, just that the execution of the main story isn't great.)
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

In addition to general series, it also helps/harms individual seasons of those shows to a lesser extent; see the thread for The Icarus Factor, where Patrick asks if Jammer really thinks The Icarus Factor and Family (both 3* shows) are actually equivalent, and Jammer jokes that he thinks TIF is better before saying that he's really rating them relative to what TNG s2 looks like versus s4 -- which is even two years apart. Now that said, I think that even relative to those respective seasons, Jammer overrates The Icarus Factor and seriously underrates Family, but the fact remains that he acknowledges some floating of the levels for the different ratings. That said, except for cases like that, I'm not sure that the rating variance is *so* huge between different TNG seasons, because you can see s2's extreme unevenness in the ratings, and he doesn't really pull punches on the several really bad episodes, even if not-that-successful shows which have some bright patches of characterization and interesting long-term implications like Icarus get a bit of a boost.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

This has always been one of my favourite episodes! There's something touching at the end with the little insect boy. I always pictured as a kid the enemies that wiped out his race as being spider people! (But I'm a weird one)

Anyway, it was neat seeing the cast as a bit older
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Given how first seasons are generally shakedowns, it's best to leave them out of discussions about lack of 4 star episodes. Usually any that do appear are flukes or one offs like Duet or Dear Doctor that rise above the rest of their first season cousins due to having something singular about them that rises them above the rest.

I'd suggest a better conversation would be to look at seasons that have more than one 4 star episode and investigate what makes those seasons tick.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

We should also take into account the sliding rating scale, which Jammer has sort of indicated he uses. TNG *** is not necessarily equal to ENT ***, for instance, in absolute quality, but rather I think he uses that particular rating to mean something like "pretty solid but not exceptional", which is a fairly relative qualification. Solid for ENT means a reasonable story that doesn't bore us to death or make any missteps, whereas for TNG solid means really exciting our imagination but still by no means being the best TNG has to offer. And I think William is right that a retrospective review will always harm a good series while helping a bad one, because if you know just how good TNG can get you'll be hesitant to award more than *** to an episode that doesn't floor you, whereas if the expectations are lower you'll be quite pleased for them to have produced a modest effort that creates some effect.

I'm not intending to rip into any particular series when I say this, because there's some logic to employing a sliding scale. For one thing, being too absolute will fail to properly indicate how rewarding it is to see a season that's struggling produce something decent, which is a relative but still real reaction when watching. Another thing is that if one is charitable (which I think Jammer really is in his reviews) the sliding scale allows for a lot of 'hope' to creep into the ratings, where an episode that makes us hopeful for the series will bump the rating, compared to a series that has a high standard, where a substandard episode (like Sub Rosa) will really irk people. Actually I don't hate Sub Rosa, but it is really stupid.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 12:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Jammer is probably the best person to ask (though it's in some ways not that interesting a question), but here's my take:

I don't think that the point is that VOY s1 or ENT s4 are particularly weak seasons. The lack of 4 star shows just means a lack of 4 star shows; VOY s1 also has only one episode with a sub-2* rating, and it's 1.5*, and that's actually very good for a Trek season overall -- there are only a handful of Trek seasons with no episodes of 1* or lower. ENT s4 has the one 1* ep (Bound) but otherwise doesn't sink below 2*, so also gets points for consistency. And we find the same with ratings for Discovery s1, which never sinks below 2*, which is rare. It's not a knock against those seasons so much as a sense that they don't have classics, which in turn is maybe a knock against them -- since a lot of what we're here are the memorable classics.

I was going to say that I also think that ratings are a little relative to season, and the fact that the VOY s1/ENT s4/Disco s1 ratings were done from week-to-week rather than in retrospect, like TOS/TNG/DS9 s1-2, might mean that it's hard to identify where the level of a four star episode is for that season. And yet, am I really arguing that there are any seasons of TOS/TNG/DS9 s1-2 that don't have any four-star eps? The only possible exception I can think of is that *maybe* TNG s1's 11001001 gets a slight boost by virtue of the season it's in and is maybe more naturally a 3.5* show, but other than that, I can't think of any seasons of TOS/TNG/DS9 s1-2 that don't have any obvious 4* candidates (and in some cases, I'd give out more 4*'s personally). Here I'll add though that if Duet had happened to come in DS9 s2, only a handful of eps later, and if Jammer didn't (subconsciously?) scale one of the 3.5*'s up, then DS9 s1 would be a clear case of "season Jammer really clearly likes and speaks highly of without a 4* show," demonstrating that the 4* classics are not strictly necessary for a year to be good. Though even there, you know, Duet does do something pretty special for DS9 s1 in terms of paying off a lot of the set-up early enough to make s2 clear viewing.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I actually wonder how much Kira herself led to this interpretation of Odo's actions; in Necessary Evil, he demonstrated that he cared about justice rather than serving the Cardassians by letting Kira go when she (falsely) claimed that she was innocent. Kira had said that he would have to choose a side, and he insisted he wouldn't, and she banked on the idea that he was either noble enough or naive enough to believe that, in order to get released, and she succeeded. Kira's personal admiration for Odo can be traced back to that moment, and it also has an element of guilt for her, because their early relationship was based on a lie -- where she used his pro-justice beliefs against him. Certainly Bajorans probably came to trust him for the reasons Peter mentions, but once the Occupation ended and it was no longer necessary to trust anyone working for the Cardassians, no matter how noble, I think it's probably Kira's position and support on the station that probably led to Odo's acceptance and continued role.

But more generally, I think Odo gets his status for being a literal out-of-this-quadrant alien. He was raised by Dr. Mora, but he's still physically and emotionally markedly distinct from either Bajorans or Cardassians, and is even more different physically than the Bajorans and Cardassians are different from each other. If the Bajorans never quite accept Odo as being one of them, then it's not really "collaborating" for him to work with the Cardassians. I have a hard time imagining even some Bareil-type ascetic being able to take Odo's job and convince the entire Bajoran people that he's "neutral" when he arrests and jails Bajorans and sometimes presides over their executions (if they are murderers), even if he doesn't get any cushy perks from his position. Odo's otherworldliness is also part of why people bought the idea that Odo had some sort of preternatural, almost mystical ability to recognize and carry out Justice that was beyond the petty Bajoran and Cardassians, and, indeed, it does turn out to be genetic, though as we discover it's actually Order that he has a genetic propensity for and he had mistaken this for Justice.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

With these Omega molecules being so powerful and potentially destructive, I would think that the Q would be keeping a close watch on what is being done with them and intervening just enough to allow some accidents and loss of life to happen, but not allowing something so serious that it does harm to the galaxy.

In this episode, I could see Q actually causing the loss of containment so that the Omega molecules would be detected by Voyager, thus putting in motion the Omega directive.

The decision by Janeway to start the decompression sequence with only 72% of the molecules neutralized, would have ultimately ended in disaster for the quadrant. The self-stabilizing right before the chamber was blown into space was Q minimizing the damage that would be done when the chamber was torpedoed.

2 stars
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

@ Doug,

"Why...isn't Odo considered a collaborator by the Bajorans? Wasn't he head of security in a Cardassian station during the occupation?"

Because they knew he was impartial, and didn't contribute to or assist the Cardassians in their oppression of Bajor. In his capacity as chief of security on the promenade he would probably have been seen by them as potentially a helpful person rather than The Man just waiting to get them. In some respects his activities no doubt protected the Bajorans from disorderly conduct by Cardassians. This is speculation, of course, but based on Kira's testimony the Bajorans respected and even looked up to him as someone of integrity. He did his job because he thought it was right, and not because the Cardassians gave him a cushy life or promised him things, which would be the hallmarks of a collaborator.
Set Bookmark
Doug
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Why...isn't Odo considered a collaborator by the Bajorans? Wasn't he head of security in a Cardassian station during the occupation?
Set Bookmark
Jrpl
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1.

What grand and esoteric piece of wisdom can be gleaned from this?"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That Jammer is part of the big anti Voyager season 1 lobby? Or is it the Enterprise season 4 lobby? Actually, it's because when those seasons were airing, Venus was aligned with the Moon.

Anyways, to actually answer that question, I've always found ENT S4 to be highly overrated by the fanbase. The notion that Manny Coto came and saved the show ignores just how boring and predictable the episodes that season really were. TO me it was the least interesting season of the show.

VOY S1 was a shakedown cruise. Some good stuff, but they were still figuring it out. I do really love the Beowulf episode though.
Set Bookmark
KT
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Ed
"Exactly. While the story might have been more interesting with an added subplot about contested territory, nothing the characters said or did gives that impression."

Yeah, the writers seemed to have dropped any potential of the Klingon territorial claim in favour of making it seem like TKuvma was a warmongerer for unification purposes. Maybe they were attempting a commentary on Margret Thatcher and the Falklands war, or Bush and the Iraq war.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 6:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Who Mourns for Adonais?

@ Peter G.,

Excellent analysis -- enjoyed reading what you had to say.

I think what you wrote is quite insightful:
"What Apollo represents is the appeal to that old craving for creature comforts, which humanity by this point rejects as being of primary importance, and *that* is why they reject him. I see no atheistic message here."

Also I'd add that an initial show of force certainly would put off Kirk & Co. -- make them far less likely to accept Apollo's proposition.

One last tidbit I'd like to add about this episode -- it has a wonderful musical score that gives the sense of awe of the power of Apollo but also the uniqueness of the situation (in the presence of a Greek God/temple).
Next ►Page 1 of 1,958
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.