Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
warp10lizard
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

How does one eatchbthis an episode, anyway? It sounds painful!
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Disclaimer: you are all entitled to your opinions, and I'm super grateful to you Jammer, for posting these reviews with comments sections where we can voice our own opinions.

That said, I'm a sad to once again be all alone in being extremely disappointed in an episode, and wondering what in Q's name everyone else sees in this episode, and in Verad.

I found Verad's performance extremely annoying at best, never mind un-convincing. Granted, I generally cannot stand people who smile nonstop even when speaking, and between speaking just stand there with their mouths half-opened in a smile with staring at you bug-eyed and unblinking, so I'd loath Verad even if he were a real person. IRL I literally cannot look people like that in the eye.
(I abhor Michael Eddington for the same reason.) In any case, Verad 100% failed to gain any sympathy from me. Same goes for his generic girlfriend.

And the episode overall was nothing but a giant failed opportunity, arguably one of the biggest in all of "Star Trek." This episode should have shown us what Dax and Jadzia are like when separated from each other, and how each contributes to the personality of the Jadzia Dax we know. Instead, the entire separation was treated as nothing more than a plot device. We see no hint at all that Dax changed Verad other than Verad no longer stammering as much, mentioning some random memories and calling Sisko "Benjamin." 90% of the "change" is just conveyed through Sisko telling us over and over, "He's changed! He's different! His girlfriend can sense it, with her, like, woman sneses or something. We won't show you, but trust us, Verad is different!"

And Jadzia just being unconscious the entire episode....wow. It's like the writers were absolutely determined not to develop Jadzia at all throughout all of her six seasons. I love Jadzia Dax, she's a fun character; but her entire character is just Dax. We learn virtually nothing at all about Jadzia, and what makes her different than any of the other hosts. Some have said that Ezri Dax was developed vastly more in one season than Jadzia was in six, and it's sadly true. I love both Daxes, but objectively, Ezri is a vastly superior character (in B4 Ezri haters) and this episode is a highlight as to why.
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

This was one of the fisrt DS9 episodes I ever saw as a kid. Part of me found it really boring, but at the same time, even as a kid, I really appreciated how the episode ended with Sarina clearly stating "I don't know what love is" (yet). The only bigger cliche than "love interest of the week" for a TV show is "instalove with someone who barely understands human interactions yet but somehow has no trouble picking out their soul mate in the span of one adventure." I liked how this ended realistically, and taught Bashir a lesson about his selfish romantic advances on a woman who wasn't ready for them.

My 11-or-whatever-year-old-self also enjoyed the "save the universe! We only have thirty trillion years!" bit and the "that's a stupid question!" gag.

And on a completely unrlated note, are there any other Channel Awesome fans here who think Jack reminds them uncannily of the Cinema Snob?
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Entertaining episode to be sure, but the attempt at social commentary is ruined by the lack of balls.

I get that a family show won't go into details about certain things, but for a setting that was supposed to be so dark and chaotic, it was so G-rated it was ridiculous. I'm not saying the Sanctuary looked like fun, but for something that was supposed to be one of Earth's most "depressing" periods of history, the people living there seemed more disgruntled and irritated than desperate, impoverished and living in chaos. And don't even get me started on the language. I don't expect F-boms or the N-word on "Star Trek," but for god's sake, "New boy?" "Losers?" Is this really a sci-fi dystopia, or an episode of "Hey Arnold!" ?

It's also really wall-banging how close into the future they set the Bell Riots. (2024 is only seven years from now, and even when this aired the writers knew how close it was; Dax's friend mentions being in high school "in the '90s" for Q's sake). I give the Original Series a pass for making "future history" in the 1990s, because they had no idea what a long-lasting phenomenon "Star Trek" would become. But by DS9 the writers should have known better than to set this episode in a year where their own kids, if not also themselves, would still be watching "Star Trek."

Overall I put this episode in the same category as "Voyager's" "Equinox;" great episode in all ways except the plot.
Set Bookmark
warp10lizard
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

That is, TNG 2.0. Sorry, lizard fingers.
Set Bookmark
warp10lizard
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 9:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

@Jason R.

Don't forget all those follow up cameos Picard makes. This may as well be DS9 2.0.
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S2: All Too Human

I've just discovered "Andromeda" and just watched this episode. It's one of the best episodes of this show so far, though admittedly that's not saying much.
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 9:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

This episode was shown to prisoners at Guatanamo Bay, but then Obama outlawed torture.
Set Bookmark
Warp10Lizard
Thu, Feb 2, 2017, 2:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Wow. I just....wow. If you love this episode that's fine, it wasn't awful, I'm just.....kind of stunned so many people love it.

To be it was very typical "Star Trek" cliched plot, specifically a kind I'd expect from TNG, but not DS9. As someone else mentioned, the entire ending is given away as soon as you learn where these colonists came from.

The emotional and moral dilemma the characters were supposedly stuck in had no effect on me, because the descendents were such flat, bland characters. Yedrin and all the colonists were played just like any bland colonists-of-the-week. And the "Klingons" just seemed bored, like their actors had no interest in playing Klingons and would rather be anywhere but here. The episode tries to make us care about the colonists with painfully cliched interactions with cute kids, but that doesn't do it.

The episode kept asking us if we'd be okay sacrificing Kira and dooming Sisko, Odo, Miles, Worf, Jadzia and god knows how many Dax hosts to a life of imprisonment on this planet and never seeing Jake, Molly, Keiko, Kirayoshi, Alexander, or any of their families or friends again, not to mention how their absence would affect the Dominion War.....in exchange for these cardboard cutouts who feel like "descendants" of these characters we love in name only (literally).

No.

If I'm going to care about a character the show has to do more than have the ones I already like verbally pummeling me over and over with "But these people! The children! Look how happy they are, planting and stuff!"

This episode seemed like an already cliched idea for "Star Trek" presented in the most effortless way possible.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.