Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 58 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 5:01am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I guess time has been kind to STID in your eyes. STID was just awful. Yes, even worse than V and Nemesis. It's the only Trek I don't and won't own on DVD because it doesn't even feel like Trek. It's so full of plot holes and poor characterization that I don't know if I could even give it one star. I especially dislike what they've done with Spock in the Kelvin timeline turning him into an emo Spock.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 4:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Good to see Jammer back, but disagree with the movie assessments. STID was the worst of all Trek movies, even V and Nemesis at least felt like Trek STID was just cringe-worthy on so many levels: whitecasting Khan, ill-thought and executed homage, no exploration, huge plot holes, emo Spock and the silly romance, etc.). Beyond was good, but not great. Krall as the villain was lacking with a ridiculous motivation and back story. But at least the characters rang true, except for Spock who still feels off. Oh well... Trek is best on TV anyway so I look forward to what they bring in Discovery.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sun, Aug 30, 2015, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I agree with Jammer's review and two stars. I felt the episode was well-intentioned but with some obvious missteps and off-notes. I loved the recreated TNG sets (my favorite Trek by far), and the last 30 seconds brought a tear to my eye.
But Trip's death was utterly ridiculous. It felt so off and rushed, like let's just tape this and get it done. How the aliens got on board? Where was security? It was absurd. Too much Riker playing chef. No character development for the Ent principals in 6 years. It could have been much better with a few more rewrites and plot tightening.
I also think it would have been better received as a regular season episode with Riker and Troi commenting on history through the holodeck (minus Trip's death). That would have been a real love letter to the fans, and allowed Ent to have a more rewarding finale.
In any case, 10 years later and still not Trek series... just a rather poor alternative universe film reboot. I hope the 50th anniversary next year persuades the suits at CBS to do a new Trek TV series that continues in the prime universe.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Tue, Aug 25, 2015, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

So tired of the mirror universe, it's been played out to death and is just an excuse for scenery chewing and showing off female midriff.
The one cool thing was the Defiant bridge being lit up in the last episode. Otherwise, the story was plodding and pointless.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sun, Aug 23, 2015, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Greg nailed it, nicely done and kudos to him. Still the episode itself could have been done with more nuance and with an overall better story. But if the point of the episode is how to approach a relationship and not get burned, then it's correct. Those of us who have lived longer and become wiser, now know the score. Be strong and don't be weak, and never let someone steamroll you or make you sacrifice your principles and values. That advice is good for men and women who want to enter a romantic relationship. But frankly, friends with benefits is best, and I think most young people today are realizing that as well.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sat, Aug 22, 2015, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

It's been 10 years since Enterprise went off the air and still no new Trek show on TV. At the time of Ent's cancellation, I figured a new Trek would crop up in five years or so, but I think the new JJ films sucked out CBS/Paramount's incentive to do a new series. It's a shame because I don't think Trek works narratively as films very well (action is not its forte), and is much better suited to TV's weekly episodes for thoughtful storytelling. Such a shame.

As for Enterprise, it was finally finding its legs in season 4 (better than season 3 IMO), and I would have liked to have seen a season 5. Another shame.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sat, Aug 22, 2015, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Maybe I missed it, but why was Archer the only one who came down to the planet? It's a hostile planet full of Klingons, wouldn't you at least take a few MACOs with you?
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Fri, Aug 21, 2015, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

A disappointing conclusion to the three-parter but not terrible either. The Aenar were interesting, and the Romulans had a clear motivation: chaos in the galaxy serves their plans for expansion. But the big plot hole was Gareb's motivation in going along with the Romualans' orders. If he really believes his entire species is dead, then what are the Romulans holding over his head? I figured either the Romulans threatened to kill all Aenar if he didn't cooperate, or he was being injected with some kind of "obedience" serum. Didn't make any sense that he would cooperate since he gave up his life as soon as his sister contacted him.

The best part was the Trip/Archer scene at the end. It rang very true, and something that anyone that has gone through a romantic breakup can relate to. It's not easy to get over unrequited love, and sometimes it's just best to get far away from that person in order to move on.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Thu, Jul 16, 2015, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Overall not bad, especially since it dealt with Phlox who is well played by Billingsley. I saw the plot twist with T'pol well before the reveal, but my wife didn't see it coming at all. I think those of us with training or exposure to scriptwriting or story analysis caught it because we look for such things while watching a story. We know that a gun revealed in a camera shot means that gun is going to get fired at some point in the story. For others, it's a surprise. Seeing the "twist" in advance doesn't mean anyone is smarter or more prescient, it just means we all approach our story time in a different manner and outlook. That said, I didn't see the Sixth Sense plot twist coming, though seeing that movie probably helped me in this episode to detect the similar twist.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Thu, Jul 16, 2015, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Jammer hits the nail on the head again that Phlox must not watch much Star Trek to not see that Archer was going to get affected by the bug goop. It was so painfully obvious what was going to happen and what was happening, that the hour just becomes frustrating to watch. At least the episode could have concentrated on the peril of "only following orders" by the MACOs who have become nothing more than plot ciphers.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Fri, Jul 10, 2015, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

That was a pretty bad outing, I'm shocked that Jammer actually upgraded it at the season recap up to 2 stars. I'd give it one star for the fairly interesting part with the transdimensional alien. The whole "my people will prevail when yours die" sneer was a bit too much mustache-twirling to be believable though. Why can't the writers do a little subtlety? Well, that question was answered with the other two subplots. Roddenberry would be really upset with the Hayes/Reed jealousy and sparring. Roddenberry thought humans would evolve from such puerile and base emotions. And Reed in particular was just ridiculous in this one. The T'Pol and Trip romance was cheap as well. I always felt that if T'Pol was going to be end up with anyone on Enteprise then it would be with Archer since she respects and admires him so much. Trip is such a goofball that I can't imagine she would take an interest in him, but perhaps the goofiness is supposed to be the appeal. Still, the romance was portrayed in such a sophomoric and trite way that it carried no emotional weight beyond ass crack.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Fri, Jul 10, 2015, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

A solid episode that moved the main story along while being entertaining and interesting. The "tricks" were pretty easy to spot but still fun to watch unfold. Archer had to be careful when talking with Degra on the small ship to get only the necessary information, and couldn't engage in talk of Xindi motivations since obviously Degra would assume that had already discussed it over the course of a three-year imprisonment together. The memory wipes were a bit too inconvenient in wrapping up the story so I'd deduct a star for that easy way out in reset storytelling.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sun, Jul 5, 2015, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

This episode was actually pretty good until the 9 or 10 days schism reasoning. That line was delivered so pat that nobody, including the actor, could take it seriously. Yes, others here have mentioned seemingly ridiculous reasons for schisms on Earth but none of them deal with the number of days for creation. They relate to leadership succession (Shia vs. Sunni) or the nature of divinity itself (Catholic vs. Protestant). This number of days issue was just too absurd and immediately took me out of the story. The action scene ending was also cliche with the GI Joes of Earth military making their obligatory appearance. A solid first half wasted by a poor second half.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Fri, Jul 3, 2015, 12:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

The fact that Jammer has not posted a review on this pathetic dud of a film is all the commentary you need. He made the time to post a review of Interstellar because that was a fine movie and probably a joy to write the review. But STID had so many plot holes and ridiculous scenes that I can understand why Jammer would not want to waste his time recounting such a poor viewing experience in words.

Not posting a review is comment in itself.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Thu, Jul 2, 2015, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Yeah, wow, that was pretty bad and boring. Can they ever time travel someplace besides the US (particularly California, even when they say it's Detroit and obviously LA), and not the present day? In any case, I'm so sick of Trek time travel episodes, they just overdosed on it to the point of it being silly and trite. At least DS9's Past Tense was about something interesting, it had a point. This episode was completely by the numbers and pointless.
And I agree with the other commenter that Daniels needs a new barber.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sun, Jun 28, 2015, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I'm on the fence for this one. The story was about something interesting for a change, but the plot had too many contrivances. It could have been interesting if Sim didn't have Trip's memories. That part was too convenient in setting up conflict and strained any scientific belief. On the other hand, Trineer did some fine acting in this episode and the outcome had some emotional resonance despite the absurd science and contrivances.

At the story intro, it was funny how the camera last panned to Mayweather, I thought he might be the one to play dead for the entire episode since he doesn't get a chance to do or so much anyway. Poor guy...
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Thu, Jun 25, 2015, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

I'm shocked so many posters here liked this episode. I thought it was rather shallow in plot and full of cliches. The premise that an advanced alien species would need to travel to far away Earth to find slaves is ridiculous. And if the Earthlings overthrow the Skag overlords, why didn't a Skag SWAT team show up to put down the human uprising? Just makes zero sense. The action scene at the end was a joke with Archer got shot in the shoulder and then taking down the deputy at the horse stalls. Just embarrassingly bad, and such a shame to have such a dud after two solid episodes.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Wed, Jun 24, 2015, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Two in a row that were quite good, and this one was almost excellent (a couple of big plot holes that Jammer points out). Looking ahead in Jammer's reviews, there are a lot of 2-star episodes coming up so I'm wary. The writers hit their stride with this one and the last one, but presumably stumble afterwards, what a shame.
What's the deal with Travis? Not only do they kill him off, but there's no fanfare for him in death. I really think the powers that be were trying to drive him off the series at this point. Good for him to hang on, it's a steady paycheck after all.
I liked the allegory to Alzheimer's with T'pol as caregiver for Archer as well.
We can now see the consequences if this mission fails so the stakes are at their highest. But I go forward to the next episodes with trepidation...
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Wed, Jun 24, 2015, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Better than curve for Enterprise, and actually felt like Trek for a change. Bakula doesn't do mean very well, he just looks like too much of a nice guy. I agree with everyone else that the more upbeat opening theme song belies the dark turn that the series took. Never really liked the theme song, but it's worse now and inappropriate to the feel of the series.
The action scene with the drones was unnecessary and I would have liked more time with Gralik on the ethics of profit and weapons production instead. Oh well...
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Mon, Jun 22, 2015, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

Linda Park was strong again as Hoshi. Jammer gets it right on the money that Park's down-to-earth portrayal of Hoshi makes her one of the series most popular and likable characters... though ultimately underused. I was expecting Tarquin to tell her not to go outside because it's forbidden a la the beast. The first half had strong elements of B&B but eventually headed down another path. Made no sense to have Hoshi wear skimpy clothing when the character would have known it would be dangerous to do so in such a precarious and solitary situation. I don't think Archer should have left her down there alone in any case, and that's even if it were a male crew member. Security protocols for landing parties are there for a reason, you can't just through away a crew member, especially one as critical to the mission as Hoshi, because they might get information from an alien.

I agree with Jammer that if the 50 spheres revelation leads to a master artificial design of the Expanse that gets dismantled conclusion, then I'll be happy for continuity's sake and it would make sense then that we had never heard of it before. Let's see what happens...
2.25 stars for this episode.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Sun, Jun 21, 2015, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

Vulcan zombies... how does these ideas make it out of the writers' room? I remember an interview with Michael Pillar where he pitched to Gene Roddenberry a story about Q taking the Enterprise crew and Picard on a crazy romp through the galaxy. And Gene responded, but what's it about? Meaning Star Trek stories should have greater meaning and value than just a fun romp. Pillar at that moment got that Trek was different and meant to have higher-minded storytelling. This episode had nice production values, but a hollow story with little resonance. Why didn't the Vulcans just kill each other if they all had paranoia? Making them into Romero zombies just made no sense. All those asteroids pounding the hull should have destroyed the ship in short order. Star Trek should be better than this trite and cliche storytelling.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Thu, Jun 18, 2015, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Please, please stop with the Vulcan massages. Is there any good reason why Trip can't sleep well? Just a ridiculous excuse for faux sexual tension.
Having a military unit on the ship just feels so un-Trek, please stop with that too.
I can see season three is going to be hard to get through. Such a shame as season one wasn't that bad and held some promise.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Wed, Jun 17, 2015, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Just preposterous science that even a junior high school student would scoff at. Calling it a bad Voyager episode hits the nail on the head. The only upsides were a pretty good soundtrack and Park's acting (she was truly underutilized on the show). Phlox should have destroyed the virus at the end. The powers that be slickly added the words "Star Trek" to the show's name, but that doesn't necessarily make the show feel like Trek, because it doesn't.
I just feel like I'm slogging through season 3 to get to the well-thought-of season 4.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Tue, Jun 16, 2015, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

This was where I stopped watching Enterprise when it originally aired. The torture scene would have Roddenberry very upset. First, it was horrific that Archer would resort to torture. Second, it was lazy writing that the torture would work. The prisoner had no reason to tell the truth. Archer couldn't test right away if the codes would work. And by giving working codes, the prisoner signed his own death sentence upon return to his people. The prisoner seemed relatively rational in his conversations with Archer, therefore had no rational reason for him to tell the truth under torture, except the writers wanted torture to work. That made me puke and stop watching the show. It seemed so un-Trek, and is even worse in hindsight in 2015.
And please stop with the undressing/dressing scenes and massage jokes/innuendo. Why so puerile? These are the reasons why they lost the Trek audience.
Set Bookmark
W Smith
Mon, Jun 15, 2015, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

To the poster complaining that the Korean-American actor Daniel Dae Kim plays a Chinese colonel on the show: actually Chang can be a Korean surname, though it is more commonly associated as a Chinese family name.
The T'pol/Trip pseudo-sex scenes were just awful, please stop it now with this stupidity.
The new opening music is even worse than before.
The show reeked of the time period of Operation Iraqi Freedom with the military team on board and taking down the "baddies." Roddenberry's ashes must have ejected from his space capsule.
The insect alien was most interesting but evidently it's the one we'll see the least amount of.
Middling entertaining at best with the trademark Archer in prison plot/Archer escapes prison plot, no wonder the audience (especially Trekkies) abandoned the show.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.