Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 8:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

It occurred to me long ago that these people were probably not called the Children of Tamah or Tamarians at all. That name probably came from a metaphorical statement made during the first contact that the Feds misunderstood.

"Greetings. We are from the United Federation of Planets."
"Tamah, his children in red pajamas. Sukkoth, when the walls fell."
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

I was watching the TOS episode "The Enemy Within" the other day, in which Sulu is left freezing to death on a planet because the transporter is broken, and it reminded me that, even as a little kid in the 60s, I was thinking that they could have beamed down some extra blankets and hot coffee to him, or a heater, or some of those cool shower curtain space suits from The Naked Time.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

It took me at least ten minutes to realize that the DISCO shirts referred to Discovery. Apparently, there is at least one person on that ship with a sense of humor.

People in the 22nd century have really bad skin.

If that Ash guy is not a Klingon, I'll be very disappointed.

The so-called holodeck in Lethe was rudimentary compared to the 24th century models, in which you could fall into a creek and get wet. Considering that VR is going to be taking over the gaming industry in a year or two, it makes perfect sense for them to have what they showed in the episode.

The exterior of the starship Discovery looks like a flat cartoon model. I guess because it is.

If I had recently been abducted out of a Starfleet shuttle by the Klingons, imprisoned, and tortured, I would probably sleep with a phaser under my pillow too.

Was the whole abduction of Lorca intended to introduce him to the infiltrator Ash?

Lorca is by far the most (and maybe only) interesting character on the show. I hope they are able to maintain his ambiguity.

Six episodes in and there is still no compelling reason why this should be a prequel.

Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 5:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Actually, it isn't really cannibalism, since Klingons are a different species.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

When you pitch a tv show to a studio these days, you have to be able to say "It's just like (insert previously successful show), except different!" So, the answer to every question about this series is: so it can be different.

Picture the writers' room:
Characters talking to viewscreens is boring. How can we make it different? Holograms!

Every series had a heroic, righteous star who was the captain. How can we make it different? Make the star a misunderstood hero and the captain an amoral warmonger!

Everybody on these shows always loved and respected the captain. How can we make it different? Make everyone (especially the engineer) insubordinate!

The security chief has always been a valiant warrior. How can we make it different? Make her a Nazi.

Ron Moore doesn't work here anymore, and we're tired of Klingons . How can we make it different? Subtitles! Religious fanaticism! Cannibalism! Even more prosthetics!

All the ships have always looked the same. How can we make it different? Rotating hulls! A giant, dark bridge full of cyborgs!

Kinda makes you wish for a sarcastic bartender, doesn't it?
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I was surprised to find out in the second episode that Burnham had been on that ship for seven years. The way the crew behaved in the first episode, I thought it was her first day. I didn't get the sense that they knew each other's moves at all. Remember the intensity with which Data said "drop the shields," and Picard recognized that and trusted him? I saw nothing like that here.

By the way, Burnham just doesn't seem that good to me. Don't you think that, if he wanted to, Riker could lock out the bridge controls and get a shot off before anyone could stop him? We know Data could do it. Could LaForge? Or Dax? Or Tuvok? Or Trip? Or even Lt. Kevin Riley? I think so.

I liked the redesign of the Klingons, but the way the head guy…spoke…as…if…he…was……read…ing…syl…la…bles……from…a…script …was incredibly irritating. Of course, that's exactly what the actor was doing. I also think they should have showed the Klingons doing something other than standing around sermonizing. Show them flying the ship, shooting the weapons, eating gagh, anything. Instead of drinking and shouting and butting heads, these Klingons are religious zealots trying to repel the infidels advancing on their territory. Hmm, that sounds familiar.

Why did this have to be a prequel? This could easily have taken place 100 years after Voyager, and maybe the design of the ship would have started to make sense. Also, I love that the Shenzhou was considered to be an old ship. What do the new ones look like? Do they have even more space on the bridge for the officers to stroll around and emote?

My prediction is that the third episode is going to be very very different from what we've seen so far.

So, we're all here bitching about one thing or another, especially about CBS. There's no way I'm going to pay for another service, just to watch this show. However, I do have to admit that it was kinda nice looking forward to a new Trek episode again.

Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 12:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I'm immensely entertained by "The Way to Eden." I groove on the music, especially the songs by Charles Napier (lead singer and driver of the Winnebago). I also laugh at how Kirk and Scott, despite being on a mission to seek out new life, display nothing but revulsion for a bunch of space hippies. And Kirk sulks at being called Herbert. Spock, meanwhile, is down with the scene entirely. I also find Spock's acknowledgment of his mixed background to be so poignant: "They regard themselves as aliens in their own worlds – a condition with which I am somewhat familiar."
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Thu, Sep 14, 2017, 7:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

From a military standpoint, I imagine that Spock would be considered derelict in his duty when he failed to impose proper discipline on the junior officers at the first sign of insubordination. Failure to obey the order of a superior officer is pretty much the worst crime you can commit in the real military. Without that, the whole system would fall apart. For what Boma did, in boot camp, you'd probably get your ass kicked; in active duty, you'd be in the brig; in combat, you'd probably be shot. Spock took a lot of guff from that navigator in Balance of Terror, also.

Spock is, of course, a fine Science Officer in TOS, but he's not much of a First Officer. The traditional role of the First Officer is that of disciplinarian to the junior officers. We saw Riker fill that role rather well in The Lower Decks. The Captain was a distant figure to those Ensigns and Lieutenants; it was Riker who would chew you out when you screwed up.

Of course, the TOS Enterprise does seem pretty short on senior officers.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Wed, Jun 29, 2016, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

If Pulaski was still here, the memory wipe would have worked, and we wouldn't be in this mess.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Tue, Jun 28, 2016, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

I've always enjoyed this episode, actually. My big complaint is that it perpetuates the ridiculous belief that clones somehow emerge from the gestation process as full-grown adults. What Riker should have found in the lab would be at most fertilized eggs, not body snatcher pod people.

Also, there are presumably thousands of Mariposans (since they have cities). Why couldn't the Bringloidi males (and the Enterprise males, for that matter) donate sperm to inseminate the clone women? Riker didn't seem too reluctant to donate his DNA to the Bringloidi genome.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Tue, May 31, 2016, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Standard Trek plot elements, such as humanoid aliens and world government, are concessions to television. It would not be possible to create a unique alien species for every episode in a weekly series, nor would it be practical to portray the government bureaucracy needed to make the decision the chancellor makes unilaterally.

Patrick Stewart is particularly excellent in double scenes when he has a good actor to play to. Replacing that great scene of him and George Coe with speeches before a UN-like decision-making body would diminish the show substantially.

The comedic rape scene looks to me like a last minute insert they threw in when a well-known TV actor requested to be in a show. It had no effect on the plot, and probably would not have existed except for the presence of Bebe Whatshername.

The Trek writers have often said that they were constrained from addressing issues in depth by the schedule they had to keep. The same is true with all of the production people, I'm sure. Makeup artists couldn't possibly create an effective non-humanoid appearance for each alien species week after week. The result would be more of the rubber-masked lizard and fish people from season 1. Why do all Romulans have the same haircut?

We can take our time discussing these issues over several years, but a TV crew has to do everything in a week.

Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sat, Dec 12, 2015, 5:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

Also, in "The Lights of Zetar," Spock says that no known natural phenomenon can travel faster than the speed of light.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Thu, Jan 2, 2014, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

So, I guess the whole ship of exploration thing is out now, right. Archer and company are now space cops.

"For people without emotions, you guys sure have a flair for the dramatic."
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sat, Apr 23, 2011, 8:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

And would someone care to explain how LaForge got taken in by this?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.