Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 28 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Wed, Apr 12, 2017, 1:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

The only reason they didn't kill Kim in season 2 was that the actor was included in People's 1997 sexiest people alive list.

Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Apr 2, 2017, 6:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I wish they could have built this out as an arc, over a few episodes. As it is, Bilby seems awfully stupid.

Also, why is a highly valuable engineer non-com being sent on Star Fleet intelligence missions?
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 9:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

HipsterDoofus,

I know you will probably never see this, but what the heck :P

The problem with your theory is that Dukat isn't human. His behavior could be—and from what we've seen may well be—normal for his people. They don't seem to have the same moral compass that we do. They seem to feel fine with acts of violence as long as they can justify them to themselves.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Jason R.,

Yeah, imo, unless we assume that Sisko subconsciously knew that the wormhole aliens would help, his flight to the wormhole is just desperation and a bit crazy. I think it's possible he knew they would help since, you know.... his origins. But it's just speculation. The cannon is very murky on all of this.

"I could be wrong, but I don't think a ship needs to be travelling at warp speed in order to have a "warp signature."

Yeah, I think you're right about that. Makes sense.




Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

For those wondering why Sisko is leading the fleet--there used to be a rank above captain for times of war. It was Commodor. A commodor was in the field, a rank below admiral. They commanded battle wings. It can be assumed that Sisko is filling this role within Star Fleet in a time of war.

Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Also... how do you get 'warp signatures in a wormhole? Careless writing.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 12:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

So what was Sisko's plan exactly up to the point where he thought, "Huh, I'll just ask the wormhole aliens?"

Unless that was his plan all along once they were the only ones to break through the lines? I guess that makes more sense. The Emissary thing had to pay off at some point, I guess.

Good episode nonetheless, but weird.

Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Mar 15, 2017, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Elliott,

Come on, man. Just because you think something is awful doesn't mean you're right. You seem to think that your opinion is gold or something. Consider the possibility that your preconceived notions prevent you from enjoying the show.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Mar 14, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

Eddington is a tiresome character, but this is a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

For those bickering about Picard's experience, keep in mind that he had already been taken over by the Borg and was able to return to duty. Clearly he has exceptional mental fortitude.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 5:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Jammer has a pretty clear bias against Ferengi-centric episodes.

This is a great episode. Watch it.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Fri, Mar 3, 2017, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

So I guess they decided Sisko's dad was alive afterall.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Mar 1, 2017, 5:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Great ep, but two things really bother me:

1. Odo was arguably the deadliest melee fighter they had on the station, and he was absolutely useless. Definitely underutilized here, and I wonder if it's beacuse they spend the whole budget on the space battle scenes (which were great, I admit)

2. The Star Fleet Ops crew defeating the Klingons with hand-to-hand while the Klingons were armed was totally unbelievable. Just total cartoonsville. I wish they'd come up with something more believable or creative.

Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Mar 1, 2017, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Why is an ambassador briefing a Captain on his orders? This should have been an admiral.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Dirk Hartmann,

Ugh, I wish this was more like Reddit, because you will never read this...but....

*Odo* has trouble mimicking the humanoid face. The founders are centuries old; I doubt they have such troubles. Odo is a child compared to them.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Also noteworthy is that this is the episode that gives Rom some uses other than comic relief.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 8:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Came here just to say that this character was annoying AF.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 12:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I feel this episode should have come a few seasons earlier.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Aug 23, 2015, 5:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

It's just lazy writing.

Tuvoc is being an ass, but he's also being inefficient. Wasting time. And what if Neelix actually does ask the Doctor for those medications (he would)? Even if the doctor doesn't have to replicate them, it's deminishing their stock.

This is another potentially interesting concept bogged down by Voyager's ho-hum writers.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Aug 5, 2014, 7:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I think your star rating is right on. As an episode, I would give this 3 stars. As a series finale? 2 stars.

It's like they couldn't think of anything, so they said, "I know! Let's destroy the borg!"

Considering what the borg were for most of TNG, this is pretty sad.

Maybe they already knew that the next Star Trek series was to be a prequel, so they wouldn't need the blog anymore anyway. Not until Enterprise got desperate for ideas, that is.

I think this—and Voyager as a whole—was the beginning of the end of Trek. They started something really great in Pathfinder. Why couldn't they build on that? I'm not saying they just get to fly through a wormhole and cross to the alpha quadrant, but come on...give me anything but another weak as water time travel story.

Even old Janeway remarks about how tiresome time travel is.

I did enjoy seeing the crew in their older years, but that doesn't make up for the steaming mess of improbabilities that was End Game.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Aug 5, 2014, 7:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Oh, and of course Year Of Hell is included in that list. Can't forget Year of Hell.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Aug 5, 2014, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

IMHO, this, Pathfinder and that episode where Chakotay and Kim go back to save Voyager are the best episodes of the series.

I remember being blown away by these three stories 15 years ago, when I was 15 years old. They ignited my love for science fiction. Sad to say, the rest of Voyager is just meh. Mating amphibians, anyone?
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Aug 5, 2014, 7:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Easily one of the best episodes of Voyager. Makes me sad for what could have been had they tried harder.

@Latex Zebra

This is "Utopia" Earth you're talking about here. The most he would have gotten is 3-6 months in "rehabilitation." He probably wouldn't have even lost his rank.

Even the Maquis were forgiven.

Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Aug 4, 2014, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

This episode is a mess, as is typical with early-season Star Trek.

So the alien proposes to kill half the crew and Picard's reasonable answer is to threaten to destroy the ship? It doesn't seem to me that he was bluffing. Picard and Riker ponder the self-destruct delay at some leangth.

Oh...and what's with Q-lite?
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Aug 3, 2014, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

The "implosion" wasn't an implosion.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.