Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 33 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee...I would prefer personally that Lorca wasn't an MU doppelgänger, but the writers have been laying clues since he first appeared...

(1) He sleeps with a phaser...normal for a starship captain who has to worry about assassination
(2) Mysterious scars on his back Admiral Cornwell didn't recognize
(3) When the admiral is reminiscing with Lorca about past times, he clearly doesn't know what she's talking about, but he tries to fake it
(4) He clearly sets the final jump in episode 9 and whispers LETS GO HOME right before Discovery jumps to the Terran Empire
(5) When Burnham wants to investigate the spore drive navigation records to try to find a way home, Lorca says no, let's find out where we are first, trying to distract her from learning he directed them there
(6) When Burnham completes her mission on the ISS Shenzhou and says ok lets go, Lorca resists returning to Discovery

There are numerous other clues (his protectiveness of Burnham, the mysterious circumstances of the end of his last command, etc.). If the writers don't intend Lorca to MU Lorca, they're certainly laying down a clever set of breadcrumbs that point that way.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Mitch S. Love your comments!! I don't agree with them, but love them anyway. Spot on valid criticisms of the show.

Regarding STD being fantasy, Star Trek has always been more fantasy than sci fi going way back.

Aliens that look like humans with makeup? Check.
Alien cultures that always speak English? Check.
Magic tech that serves whatever the plot needs (e.g., transporters, holodecks, etc.)? Triple check.
Alternate universes with vastly different histories and cultures, but somehow have identical twins of almost every single person? Yup.

I don't dispute that Discovery may not be what you were looking for (sounds like you'd have been happiest with Star Trek: The Next Next Generation). And fantasy it may be. But at least it is entertaining fantasy to this fan anyway.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gee, convoluted? Did you watch Lost? Or Fringe? Or Game of Thrones? Their plots make this theory look like it was scribbled in crayon by a 2 year old.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

As soon as the Discovery realized they were in a parallel universe, Burnham suggested they dive into the spore drive's navigation record to see what happened to them and Lorca immediately said no, we need to figure out where we are first, obviously trying to distract his crew from finding out he changed the coordinates of the jump.

Pretty clear he's Mirror Lorca...I believe the show will establish that he and mirror Burnham wanted to wrest the Empire from Georgiou, so they investigated the history of the Empire and found information on the USS Defiant. Realizing he and Burnham would have twins in the prime universe, they worked together to find a way there. Lorca went through, took his counterpart's place and got command of USS Discovery, intending to use the spore drive to (a) go home and (b) use it to defeat the emperor once there.

They faked mirror Burnham's death so they could successfully implant prime Burnham on the ISS Shenzhou, preserving Mirror Burnham's cover as a co conspirator and allowing them time to locate the emperor or lure her to them.

Convoluted and a long con. Like nothing Star Trek has done before. Suspect the final twist of the season will be Lorca's true intent and that he's mirror Burnham's lover. Discovery will be in the MU for a long while.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 12:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@LJ...they changed the Klingons appearance to make the Ash Tyler/Voq switch work. With previous Klingon iterations, such a move wouldn't have worked at all (e.g., Worf without makeup still looked like Worf, etc.). The makeup was changed to make this subplot possible.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 4:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Peter G Good point about Sarek's mind meld...in Mirror, Mirror, Spock mind melded with McCoy and immediately knew everything about the Federation and where this landing party was from. That was why he helped Kirk get back to the USS Enterprise.

I assume Sarek would know, but unlike Spock he's not a trained scientist...so his reaction might be more parallel what?

Imagine for a moment if someone you loved, a child, your spouse REALLY came here from an alternate reality and tried to tell you. How would you handle that? Might be a bit confusing.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I liked this episode and this storyline I think more than most of the commenters here.

One quibble I have...how did they go from Sarek being one of the leaders of the anti Imperial resistance to his son being the first officer on the ISS Enterprise a few years later?
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

What if this is Lorca's home universe? He escaped Captain Burnham (or killed her) and found a way into the prime universe to escape. Lorca's ship was destroyed (with him on it) so mirror-Lorca took his place, got command of the Discovery and used the spore drive to go home...with the benefit of having a Federation starship to fight the Empire.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Will say I thought this was a brilliant movie...the beginning did feel a bit chaotic and rushed, but I had no problem keeping up with who was who...and really appreciated the movie's overall theme of sacrifice and heroism for a greater good. The heroes in Rogue One will never see the Death Star destroyed and, even when the movie ends, can't know for certain if the plans they hand off to the Rebellion will do any good, but their noble sacrifice lays the groundwork for all that is to come.

Only real nitpick I have (and it's based on just some retconning), Darth Vader sees Leia's ship pull away during the heat of battle carrying the plans for the Death Star...chases after her and she claims she's on a diplomatic mission? Talk about chutzpah! Or just dramatic retconning of a 40 year old movie.
Set Bookmark
Todd Hooper
Fri, Apr 8, 2016, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Everyone forgets Enterprise 1 or whatever was a military ship on a military mission with a commander trained in military doctrine and I suppose engineering.

With the sole exception of Defiant/Sao Paolo, which weren't put into situations like this regularly.Medical ethics are shakier than we give them credit for. In a sense you could look as Sim as a facsimile of trip and nothing else. Of course it would behoove them to write more thought/rationale into audible dialogue.

The episode where he essentially left a ship with a full compliment of civilians derelict in an act of plunder, now that was a moral dilemma. This was too, and it affected me without thinking too much about the implications of ancestral memory (look up holonomic brain theory, apparently memory isn't even locally stored. I don't know much about it but it didn't ruin Dune for me.) I found the affection for this scion of Lt Cmdr was he? Tucker and it moved me deeply.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Dec 31, 2014, 11:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

And how do her pheremones and magic virus work on the holographic doctor? All aliens on the ship? Really dumb story. Five monkeys with a magic marker could have done better.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Aug 20, 2014, 5:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Skeptical, I disagree on the notion that DS9 suddenly made Gowron incompetent. For starters, we don't know if he was ever a particularly effective tactician to begin with, but that wasn't the problem on DS9. The problem was he was *intentionally* making Martok (who apparently WAS an effective tactician) look bad by sending him into hopeless battles to discredit him.

I do wish we'd seen more of what supposedly made Kahless great, emphasizing a sense of honor, but for an episode about faith, Worf's proposed compromise of having Kahless installed as emperor was the best possible compromise to avert division or even another civil war. Neither Gowron, nor Korath, seem particularly happy about it (maybe not even Worf, for that matter) but seem to understand it's the best solution there is.

All in all, despite being an agnostic myself, I really enjoyed this episode and what address, regarding faith and symbols.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

He can post his review of this movie when Star Trek XXX comes out :P
Set Bookmark
Todd
Sun, May 11, 2014, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Good catch on the relative closeness of this episodes release to Buttrick's death, Josh. It's too bad Merritt couldn't hold on a few more years for the much better medications that came out and of course for the endless revenue stream he would have found with his place in star trek lore.

In re-watching old trek episodes, one of my favorite things is seeing who the guest stars will be. I was too young to recognize a lot of them the first time through, and, of course, we didn't have imdb to quickly find out exactly who everyone was.

In any case, it was great seeing both of the "sons" from Wrath of Khan in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Fri, Feb 7, 2014, 9:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

I think this was at least a 3 star effort. The Tak Tak (or whatever) were a change from the standard humanoid of the week aliens. The macro viruses were truly originally and weird without being so implausible as to be laughable. The scenes were appropriately suspenseful for me.

One faulty criticism of Voyager is that we know the ship won't get home/be destroyed/whatever during each episode. That's true of any weekly show. That was true of Galactica during each Cylon attack on BSG. It's a limitation of the format.
Set Bookmark
Todd F.
Wed, Jan 29, 2014, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Even better story...turns out the rebels have had the real O'Brien in custody for some time...they replaced him as a setup to get the Defiant. Then could reveal, the O'Brien who spent 20 years in a virtual prison in Hard Time, was Smiley.

Since the episode was a giant reset button anyway, no retro impact to the character.
Set Bookmark
Todd F.
Wed, Jan 29, 2014, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Don't know why Sisko doesn't call security and lock Jennifer up the minute he sees her. Would have been my first, second and third reactions. Also, don't see how he doesn't end up on charges of violating the Prime Directive.

Further, the notion that these barely literate, semi civilized rebels could somehow put together an exact duplicate of the USS Defiant in something under a millennium stretches credibility beyond reason.

A MUCH better story would have had rebels sneak aboard DS9, steal the Defiant (they would have had Smiley's DNA to get past the security, aka Tom RIker), take it to the other universe and require Sisko to go get it back. Higher stakes for the regular characters and a much more plausible story.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Mon, Jul 9, 2012, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

This was first episode I caught on TV as a kid...I thought this was the show. About a ship where the captain had to constantly keep from being killed and the Asian character was the villain (as in all the Japanese monster movies I was also watching at the same time). The next ep. I watched of course had Sulu and Kirk working together. I decided at the time the show made no sense and didn't watch again for two years.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jun 6, 2012, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Overall great story (in unfair retrospect would have benefited from some more extreme set redressing to make the ISS Enterprise look more different from its counterpart...what are the odds two such wildly different societies would create almost identical ships, down to the control panels, signage and crews). Also, Kirk goes on a sensitive diplomatic mission and takes his doctor (in case he gets heartburn from the Halkans stubbornness); his ship's engineer (in case something needs fixing) and his comm officer (I guess to serve as a court reporter, taking notes). I guess the Federation couldn't afford diplomats...could you imagine the captain of a US battleship negotiating peace treaties with the Russians?
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Jun 6, 2012, 9:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

In rewatching this episode, thought for the most part, it was reasonably creative and interesting. It falls apart a little on production value (honestly, the Horta looks like little more than an actor crawling on the floor with a decorated blanket over his head) and some hokey dialog with Spock (ridiculously talking Kirk into taking him into danger by quoting some made up odds of them both being killed and later complaining about being insulted on the bridge in a sloppily written ending).
Set Bookmark
Todd F.
Tue, Apr 10, 2012, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: Site Version 6.0 (2012)

For what it's worth, while your reviews are usually very well written and sometimes thought provoking, at this point, don't feel any need to do any more reviews of a twenty year old tv show (aka Star Trek: TNG). If readers haven't formed their own opinions of seasons 6 and 7 by now, it's too late.
Set Bookmark
Todd
Fri, Sep 11, 2009, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

=karatasiospa=

Zarek never came across as socialist to me either. Though he eventually seemed to want power at nearly any cost (a failure of many), he was also portrayed as someone who wanted transparency in government, not quite believing what the hierarchy said. While he was somewhat of a villian eventually (trying to assassinate Lee earlier in the run, and then the rebellion), I liked how he tried to force "the state" to tell the people what "the state" was doing "for their own good". There always needs to be someone with another viewpoint, even if he is playing "devils advocate".

But of course, if he had gotten power, the way he was written, he would have been a man of great words, but sour deeds.

Just my humble opinion, as always... Todd

Set Bookmark
Todd
Thu, Apr 9, 2009, 1:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Cool thought opening up the comments before the review, Jammer.

I had to watch this episode the old fashioned way, live on television. I was stuck in a hospital room, with my wife by my side, waiting for the show to start. No video rewind, no DVR and the only potty breaks were during commercials (pulling my IV with me as I went).

Sure, a few nitpicks here and there, but I really enjoyed this episode.

I had been certain Baltar would go with Galactica during Daybreak, Part 1, after Lee took him to task for never doing anything that didn't benefit him in some way. I was glad he decided to do a selfless act that may have meant his death.

I was certain that at least some of the main characters would die during the assault. I mean, how lucky could those eight or ten people be? I was a little disappointed that they didn't end up with more that a few scratches, for the most part. Helo was shot, but survived.

I had a little bit of a problem figuring out which gun was shooting at which ship/base on the monitor at the hospital. Wasn't sure whether to cheer or groan when some of the big guns were firing, as I figured SOME of them had to be Galactica's.

"I've probably been in more battles than you have" (paraphrased). Caprica Six to Baltar. I liked that sequence. I thought James Callis had a perfect look of someone in way over his head while sitting there with his helmet on. When Head Six and Head Baltar showed up I remember saying "They were really there!". I thought it was cool they could both see them both. They, and we, realized they hadn't been a little nuts after all (for the most part).

I liked the older Cylons holding BIG guns and bracing for the recoil when firing. The new versions may have guns built in, but the older ones seemed able to use more firepower since they weren't locked into one sidearm (HA! sidearm :) ).

I wondered if EVERYONE was out of grenades. It seemed like there were some spots with people or machines in close quarters that they would have worked great in.

Roslin and Athena were running along those side corridors all that time just to get to a closed door? I felt something was lacking, at the time. But when Baltar and Six went through and I realized they seemed to have been the last line of defense for the CIC, I went "Wow". And I thought it was pretty cool when they started saying "I've been here before". CIC as the Opera House worked for me and I kept going "Oooo" as the pieces kept falling into place with the past visuals.

Did some of the enemy skinjobs seem to forget that they couldn't be reborn? One of the #5's walks out with a popgun (no cover) and starts firing at a much larger group of humans with bigger guns like he is a Terminator and cannot be injured. It looked sort of cool, but also sort of weird. Perhaps they weren't programmed for fighting, but at some point common sense and self preservation would take over, I'd think.

I really thought that things would end with a truce or something after the final five gave the information on resurrection and wondered what they would do with the final hour: go off to find a home or instead be attacked by Cavil again because he cannot keep his word about anything. Then Tory said something about how they might see things that were upsetting and to not be hasty after seeing them. And I noticed she was standing next to Tyrol, for some reason (I'd have moved). When the download was broken I wasn't certain why Cavil would see this as a trap or deception on the part of the humans/rebels/final 5, because he could see with his own eyes that one of them was attacking another, while everyone stood around watching. It was unexpected but I am skeptical that he would tell them to start shooting. I'd figure Cavil would have wounded Tyrol and then stuck them back into the tub to complete the transfer.

So Cavil tells them to start shooting, not realizing they are outnumbered so badly they cannot escape? He always struck me as a little smarter than that, but perhaps they weren't programmed for fighting, as I said. I didn't expect him to shoot himself, but I liked it. :)

The humans may have been saved by a floating, dead Raptor that just happens to launch its big missiles at just the right moment? Well, the hand of God was in the series all along, but while I thought it was cool, it also seemed contrived.

Kara is trying to figure out where to jump them and I looked at the wife and said "The musical notes that she converted to numbers!". Seconds later she was trying to remember what the sequence was and off they go. I personally loved it. The tune that kept smacking them in the face was in fact the key to their survival. That felt right to me. And then there was the moon. I was blown away because the writers had me thinking one thing and then pulled a switcheroo that took them from fighting to being at peace and harmony in one fell swoop. Almost made me feel like all the fighting had been a bad dream.

Even if they had the better Cylon FTL jump drives, they were only one jump away from where the Cylons were. If the base was destroyed, other Cylon base ships were still coming and going. I figured if they didn't hide the fleet, a random Cylon would find the ships and we have New Caprica all over again. Of course, I think they could have been hidden on the planet. But they were still pretty close to the Cylons and would have had to do something with the fleet to keep it from being discovered.

I liked the Centurions going off with the base ship. Obviously they didn't reveal the secret of the humans location. Might make an interesting novel or something to let us know what they did and where they went now that they could do anything they wanted.

Okay, did Lee really think the whole "Back to Nature" thing through? Starting over means going back to stone knives and bear skins? I doubt that all 38,000+ of them would agree to that. Hide/dismantle the ships and start over with the help of whatever technology they had left. No main city, perhaps, but I cannot see them throwing everything away. Sure, some would go and live completely off of the land, but others wouldn't. That's just the way I see it.

I really enjoyed this last episode. It was different than I expected it would be and while I had some small problem with parts of the ending, the unexpected was part of what made it great.

Take care everyone... Todd
Set Bookmark
Todd
Fri, Mar 6, 2009, 7:48am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

Perhaps what hurt it the most was that it showed Ellen being Ellen, and nobody seems to have wanted to see that, including me. I think Kate did an excellent job of acting, because I cringed anytime I saw Ellen, wondering what petty, manipulative thing she was going to do next.

It might have also hurt it that, while it was a decent show, it was nestled within some simply Great ones, so it ends up standing out like a sore thumb.

I thought that Saul would tell Ellen immediately, because there was a bigger picture. Yes, he was happy to see her, but I think too much had happened to simply have a quickie on the table. So that didn't work for me. He had stood up and told her hard truths in the past and it looked to me like he just didn't want to rock the boat. And when they were in the infirmary and I realized he hadn't said anything yet, I thought something along the lines of "Give me a Frakkin' break". Perhaps he just felt guilty for killing her...

Tyrol doesn't really have anything to keep him there, so I was only mildly surprised when he voted to leave.

"...And Guns. BIG GUNS!" (paraphrased). I had to laugh at that, but I didn't feel that it went along with his peace and love message. Felt a smidgen forced. Still funny though.

I had thought that while Caprica 6 and Saul had become really good friends, I didn't see that turning into love. At least not the be-all/end-all type that was shown here. Yes, they have been brought closer because of the child and there is some affection that has grown out of that, but the episodes didn't show much more that holding hands with an arm around her (with silly grins) when they were looking at the baby. I don't like that they are inferring they fell in love off-screen. Just my humble opinion, of course. And, at first, I didn't even realize it was Caprica 6 walking in one of the most dangerous areas of the ship, I thought it must be another 6 or something. My mind couldn't wrap itself around the fact that she would be there in the first place, doing what, looking for food?

Hmm, my comments seem to be more on the negative side as I reflect on the episode. I had no problem with Adama walking around his ship looking at the repairs, over and over. I thought it just showed his love and concern for the old girl. He is just so torn over what has happened to her and what needs to be done to try and repair her. If she is gone, he is in command of, what? From where?

I think it is neat that, as we wind down the series, the comments part of the page are longer than the review.


Take care everyone... Todd
Set Bookmark
Todd
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 5:01am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

Let's see, some thoughts...

It occurred to me during the episode that, after all of the talk of the "Final Five" among the Cylons, CAVIL ALWAYS KNEW! (obviously). No wonder he didn't want any talk of them and wanted D'Anna boxed. Now I wonder if the others know that he knew, or if he kept Ellen away from everyone else. I suppose Boomer could be silent... but the others might not like his manipulation of events, or of them, by his hidden agenda.

I think it was pretty obvious that SOMETHING was going to happen to Anders at the end. As soon as he said he had something he had to tell them NOW, I knew. So the end was a bit anti-climatic for me. I didn't mind the storytelling though, because I wanted to know too :).

I liked that there is a Daniel, as well. Mucking with his organic soup could very well make him a her, and Starbuck's mother seemed to know that something was up with her, telling her how important she was way back when.


Have a great day and thanks again...
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.