Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 145 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
longtime Trekkie
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 10:58am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@Omicron -- actually, I thought that Finn looked liked she was very scared to be so high up on the ledge. I saw that and wondered, "is she afraid of heights?" having forgotten that this was actually established in an earlier episode.
Set Bookmark
Timothy
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Not understanding all the hate on the Sela character. It was an obvious conceit, to get Crosby back on the show, but so what? My hate is reserved for the writers, who wasted a character that could have been more fully explored (particularly in the movies, Nemesis should have resembled The Undiscovered Country and Sela/Crosby should have been front and center) and whom they turned into a one dimensional Scooby-Doo villain in her next installment (Reunification).

Anyhow, I digress. Came here to say that I've always felt the ending here was a bit ham ended, where Worf decides to spare Toral while giving a "This is why we're better than you" Kirk/Picard speech to the assembled Klingons. I would have done the scene with Worf taking the knife, looking at Toral, who is ready to die, looking at Kern, who is impatiently waiting for him to do it, then looking at Picard and seeing the disapproval on his face, and an idea comes to mind....

"No! I will not kill him. He does not deserve that honor. Let him live with the shame of his dishonor, as I was forced to do. I can think of no worse punishment."

*drops the knife, slaps Toral across the face, looks at Picard who gives an almost imperceptible nod, looks at Kern who grins with approval*

Gowron, "Very well." *turns his back on Toral, as do the other assembled Klingons in turn*

Seems like that would have been more in-character for Worf than to give a Federation lecture to his fellow Klingons.
Set Bookmark
Tim Miller
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

I don't understand why this "Planetary Union" would allow such a misogynistic race to even join them if their fundamental values as a society were so opposed to the ethics and morals of the Union as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Thu, Aug 24, 2017, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Flawed, plot holes, ludicrous science, and yet enjoyable fun. Solid 3 stars. Star Trek isn't just about realism and believability, it's an entertainment show and it delivers on that here.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

Janeway Borg reaction at the end is pure comedy :D

It's like Muppets Beaker.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 5:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Stock story, told from the point of view of kid's scary story. Nothing wrong with that. Enjoyable and exactly the sort of scary story you'd love at a young age. The narration actually adds tension, if you can open your mind to visualising from narration, as kid's do. Nothing perfect, but a good 3+ story, told in a different way.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sat, Aug 12, 2017, 2:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I have no real problem with this episode. It seems those that do just can't cope with taking a "nice" but dull character and making something more interesting.

The Bitch Kes I recall thinking on airing that I wasn't happy for reasons above, in that it's not the Kes I knew. Having re-watched it many times I appreciate it far more. Though I feel the ending could have killed her off. Disappearing off to a higher form of existence in The Gift was a rubbish ending for Kes.

It's not perfect, but it's a fun bit of sci-fi entertainment. Paradox flaws, but Star Trek is full of them.

Time travel, mystery and powerful person wanting to alter history. If that person wasn't Kes and it hadn't "insulted" people's memories of her (dull) character ;) , then I wonder if people would feel so bad about it.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

"Mr. Plow
Nutshell: The Silence of the Trills"

This.

It's okay. Derivative, but okay.

Could do without the spiritual ceremony stuff to bring out the repressed memories. Joran doesn't seem dark enough here either.

Would have been far better to have a twist where Joran is actually the killer through Ezri.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

I think people here have a sense of humour bypass.

It's Ferengi silliness, it's Mirror Universe silliness, cast get to have fun in different characters.

It's not a work of art, it's not high drama. It's just a bit of fun.

2 stars, pushing 3. For me, because it's watchable and fun.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Wed, Jun 21, 2017, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Excellent episode. Better than "The Siege of...". That was a strong episode though let down slightly by the cliches and cheap set. It's "war is hell" which is fine but this is a more powerful episode on mental health and coping with adversity. Brilliantly done, even though I'd normally tire of Vic Fontaine, he's perfect for this story. Aron Eisenberg puts in his best performance here.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Zzzzz

I have zero interest in baseball and even if I did, if I wanted to watch a baseball game I'd, well I wouldn't want to.

Add in a B story or some Trek, and it may be good. This is just actors we know from Star Trek playing a game of baseball. It's also so forced. It's like watching a corporate team building exercise. Yuck!

1 star though, or maybe 0.5. Just for the few chuckles.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Harry Kim screws up, time paradox garbage, and another story disjointed from the rest of the show.

But it's a bit harsh. It's enjoyable. Could have been a two parter. However it's still massively flawed and still I come to rewatching and think meh because it's just an alternate timeline that never happens, reset at the end.

3 star.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, May 30, 2017, 6:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

@Josh - "What does this episode have to do with "Eye of the Needle", "

Simple. They are both about conversing with someone unknowingly in a different time and ultimately their attempts are hopeless, with the time difference in a big reveal at the end.

On seeing this I immediately thought this has been done before and a bit obvious. But they are done differently. This one I feel is better as there's more of an emotional element and sadness.

As for some saying why the time element at all, well if they'd just got there late it would mean they failed in their mission and let her down (although that would have made for a nicer darker ending). This ending means it wasn't really their fault. At least if we ignore that they could have easily worked out she's out of time up front, but then the same could be said of "Eye of the Needle".

Anyway, nothing amazing. A gentle episode, with bit of Trek scifi, bit of humour in the B story, bit of emotion in both.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Mon, May 29, 2017, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Bollocks!

Made me chuckle as a Brit :D

Many flaws, especially on the paradox front. Frustrating reset button ending. However on rewatching I see it more as an episode about parenthood and the challenges involved. Not perfectly done, but a mix of serious and light hearted. Doesn't progress anything though.

(for non-Brits, bollocks is both a swear word and used to describe something as rubbish).
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sun, May 28, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I can understand a possible reasoning for this episode being that by introducing an alien species that is worse than the Borg, they've diminished the Borg and just created "yet another really bad guy". I suppose also continuing with a CG race would have been costly.

However on first watch it really was very frustrating as species 8472 was finally a truly alien non-humanoid species and something to fear, then suddenly they've been humanised, turns out they're not so bad after all and they all end up having a hug. Hated it because of that. Re-watched and still find it frustrating. It wouldn't be so bad if they were developed further as a species infiltrating the Federation and other worlds. Though is derivative.

In actual story and delivery, it worked well until the happy ending. That and the frustration of ruining a good alien wrecks the episode. Could have been a 4 star, more like 1.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Wed, May 10, 2017, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

It's nicely done, but it's another I struggle with wanting to watch as it's just way detached from the 'now' events in Voyager. I resist as I'm really not interested in something hundreds of years in the future that has zero impact on the now. Interesting and enjoyable once I watch it, but feel so detached at the end. Best Voyager ever? Hardly. 3 stars maybe.

Still I'm ultimately happy to watch it once I'm past my initial reservation. Unlike "11:59".
Set Bookmark
Tim
Wed, May 3, 2017, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

"So they were vastly different from the Jean Luc Jones of Captain's Holiday, Gambit or The Chase? Or John McClane himself from Starship Mine?"

Yes, they were.

"Look, you may not like that particularly aspect of his personality, but they flirted with the Captain being an action hero off and on for the final FIVE YEARS of TNG. It wasn't a new thing."

No they didn't. They never reduced Picard to a shallow one dimensional character like that. There was no, "Data, this is something I have to do" moment on the TV series, where Picard picks up a phaser and single-handily dispatches a few dozen bad guys.

"That said, TNG's bombs were, in my opinion, not nearly as painful as the TOS movies that sucked."

Only if you're viewing them in a vacuum. Yes, Nemesis > STV, but Nemesis killed TNG. We never got an "Undiscovered Country" for TNG. If STV had been the final TOS installment I think TOS fans would be justifiably bitter. First Contact is basically the best TNG movie, "best" in this case being a dumbed down action movie, with the only real "Trek" moments occurring toward the end of the Earth plot.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Rewatch and puzzled by the zero stars as don't remember much about the episode and don't remember it being anything I'd hate. Was almost going to skip it given the opinions here but on watching it, no way it's zero stars. 1.5 or 2.

Reason being. It's daft, full of holes maybe, but it's watchable and a bit of fun in places. Doesn't quite work but it's harmless.

There are a number of episodes that are more highly regarded but I struggle to watch, especially when they don't serve any function like flash back episodes (bloody vision quests) or fillers like 11:59 that have nothing to do with Star Trek (okay, both Voyager). 11:59 in fact I'd give a zero for a Star Trek episode.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Sat, Jan 7, 2017, 5:29am (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Rogue One isn't very good. I didn't care about any of the characters and was bored for 50% of the running time. Damn shame.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Fri, Oct 28, 2016, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

0 for me. I always skip it now. It's daytime telly stuff and while it may be a reasonable story and production it has absolutely *zero* to do with Star Trek. This is like someone stuck the wrong tape in when broadcasting. Even accepting that it's filler material I don't find the story that interesting anyway.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Fri, Oct 28, 2016, 3:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Was going to post exactly what Mikey posted. This is a stinker of an episode for being just plain stupid, but I find it more watchable than stuff like Tattoo. I'm doing a rerun now and I skipped Tattoo. Bloody vision quests do my head in (and I'm sure are an insult to Native Americans) and pan pipes every time, worse with flashbacks of no relevance and then the spirits are actually aliens, yeah right. I can't bring myself to watch that. Threshold I struggle with but I can watch it for a laugh. I get no laughs from Tattoo, just irritation.
Set Bookmark
Timothy
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 2:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

Wait, why is Archer concerned about sex slavery now? Just recently he condemned an entire gender of an alien race to sex slavery, even refusing asylum to a refugee who was so distraught by their captivity that they killed themselves.
Set Bookmark
Tim
Tue, Sep 13, 2016, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

This was a terrible episode. I found this website searching for controversy surrounding this episode and found little other than user comments here.

There is no way that kid should have been given back.

Not sure how this played in whatever year it was originally released but after 3 seasons this is the first episode I really disliked.
Set Bookmark
Red Tim
Wed, Sep 7, 2016, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Reading these comments, I'm glad I'm not the only one left disturbed and angry by this episode. I think the worst part is how everyone acts as though the whole thing was Seven's fault, when she's either
a) A woman who's been assaulted and violated, and then blamed for her attacker's death because she had the temerity to accuse him; or
b) A woman who's been convinced by a trusted medical professional that she experienced a horribly traumatic event, and reacted accordingly.
Which she is depdends on whether Kovin is guilty or innocent (and the evidence is by no means conclusive either way), but in neither case is she at fault - she wasn't making up the allegations for fun, she really believed that Kovin had "violated" her. At least the Doctor partly acknowledges that if Kovin really was innocent, then he (the Doc) is the one mainly to blame for Kovin's death (although, to be honest, the person mainly to blame is the one who opened fire on a much bigger starship and overloaded his own weapons in the process).

The other thing that really bugs me is the investigation. In previous Trek incarnations, it's been established that by scanning someone's "memory engrams" it's sometimes possible to detect whether memories have been implanted or suppressed using some kind of psychic powers or alien tech. No-one ever even mentions engrams as far as I can recall. No-one tries to find the woman that Seven remembers assisting Kovin, no-one tries to find the alleged new-born Borg drone (which would be a serious security threat, right?), no-one even mentions the possibility of memory-altering technologies being used, even though if what Seven 'remembers' really happened, Kovin must have suppressed the memory somehow. For that matter, maybe someone else stole the nanoprobes and altered Seven's memory to make her *think* it was Kovin (I never did trust that Magistrate...). The possibility is never mentioned. it's almost like the writers had decided that Kovin was innocent, so they didn't bother writing a proper investigation.

Oh, and what's the final scene of the episode - Seven coming to terms with her traumatic experience? Seven reflecting on her vulnerability and (misplaced) remorse? No - the Doctor, making it all about him. Almost as though the writers were just using the Seven's analogous-to-rape experience as a convenient plot point to tell a story about so-called 'recovered memories'. Almost as though a woman being effectively raped (or believing that she had been effectively raped) wasn't really that important to them.

Well, never mind. I'm sure this episode hasn't added to the widespread, incorrect and highly damaging perception that false rape accusations are a common occurrence. Nah. Probably nothing to worry about.
Set Bookmark
Timeship
Mon, Aug 29, 2016, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I just finished watching "Voyager" on Netflix this past weekend. I remembered why I was so irritated with this show at that time.
They use time travel as a fast way to get a plot point across without using any logic. (Not to sound Vulcan) Paradox after paradox, returns to the point, that once you create a new timeline, it will loop to the point of it's beginning. And start again. And repeat.
Janeway's solution was to go back in time, and give high tech equipment to her prior self, and bring them home earlier. Coming home earlier, erases everything, including the need to be brought back. So, by not doing this, they are not brought back and they stay, until, They once again are brought back, which eliminates their need...
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.