Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

2.5 stars

Wow, an episode that actually has direct references to another episode (the Inner Light). For the most part, this is an entertaining one to watch. The high-point is Picard sitting in his quarters by himself not knowing if his girlfriend is going to survive. That moment is ruined a little later when he is talking to her again and reveals to her what he was thinking during that moment in his quarters. It sounds a lot less emotional when described in words.

Then we have the fast breakup at the end, as we've seen many, many times on TNG. Heaven forbid we have a long term relationship on the show. Well, I guess we have Riker and Troi, but still.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

2 stars

Worf is often portrayed as more human than Klingon, but in this case he is the Klingon expert, trying to teach the traditional ways to the other. That's interesting in itself, but this whole episode just seems uneventful. The characters just aren't that interesting, though I feel sorry for them all. It would have been better if Worf led an overthrow of the facility. N
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

3 Stars

The whole episode is one big, psychotic breakdown, which is both good and bad. Frakes is a good physical actor due to how he "lumbers" around. How cool would it have been if his character still suffered the effects of his mental illness for the rest of the series?
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

I saw this one when it originally aired, and did not like it. Now that I've seen it in 2017 in all it's heavenly HD glory, I have to say that I still don't like it. The pacing is too fast. Yeah, I know it's a "race" but too much happens too quickly; this would have been a great two-parter, especially considering the implications of what is going on.

That ending is the worst part because it's too unbelievable that a DNA algorithm is going to be compatible with a tricorder, let alone reprogram the device to project an image. It would have been better if they had found an ancient projector or something.

Oh yeah, that Klingon was a caricature.

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Dec 24, 2017, 8:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Just watch this one in 2017 on Blu-Ray. It was a lot better than I remember, at least Part 1 was.

Things I liked:
-The scene where Worf is giving Data advice about his vision. Worf talks about the importance of one's father. This is one of the most moving scenes in the series, with the way the camera pans around and the music plays.
-Picard saying that Data is a "culture of one." I never thought about it that way.
-The thought of Worf's father possibly being alive. It's quite a revelation.
-The dark side of Worf emerging.
-The elder Klingon sharing his memories of Worf as a child. It's adds another piece to Worf's background. His life before his foster parents was never discussed before, to my knowledge.

Things I didn't like:
-WAY too much time is spent on Data trying to find meaning from his initial dream.
-It was never revealed what the medical device was used for.
-The crew of the Enterprise on board Deep Space Nine acting like replicated food and holodecks are some new thing

3 Stars
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

Just re-watched in 2017.

1.5 stars

A holodeck within a holodeck within a holodeck? It might be clever, but it's not very entertaining. For the final act, how did Picard, Data, and Barclay program such a vast illusion in such a short period of time? Too unbelievable, even for sci-fi.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Only two stars for me. Just rewatched in 2017. Doohan just isn't that fun to watch (in this episode). It's easy to get warm feelings toward him based strictly on nostalgia. I just think he is "off." You can see him reading from cards when he is walking in the hallway, and he gets suddenly annoying when working with Geordi in engineering. Then he's suddenly sad.

The Dysonsphere should have been it's own episode. I would love to have seen an away mission down on the surface.

All that being said, the holodeck recreation scene is remarkable.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 6:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Four stars for me. I just watched this again in 2017. It's the creepiness which makes it enjoyable. Such as when Picard asks the computer if any of the crew is unaccounted for, or when the victims just together on the holodeck and recreate their experiences. Seeing Geordi's reactions in that scene make it believable. At one point he touches Riker because he's a little scared, then when they add the clicking, Geordi puts his ownhand over his mouth in horror. Those little touches go a long way. A sleepy Riker is fun to watch.

Unintentionally funny parts:
-In the group therapy session, there's a woman in the scene who was given some very bad lines, including "yeah, it was cold."
-In that same scene, Worf says "I had a similar reaction to a pair of scissors." It comes across as very unwarrior-like.
-Data walking into sickbay to announce he was not on the Enterprise for an hour. He just barges in and interrupts the conversation going on.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I thought a lot about why Part 1 and Part 2 fails to entertain me, and I think I know what it is. I think they crammed too many things together. The concept of aliens traveling back in time to commit murder should have been enough to fill the episodes, but then they crammed in Guinan and Mark Twain. Then they made Mark Twain the center of it all. There's no time to think about what's going on because there's too much going on. Compare that to the Inner Light, which is the exact opposite. I wanted to learn more about the aliens, but sadly we never hear about them again. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 6:07am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Definitely the worst episode I've seen so far. The first few "odd occurrences" were interesting, but when it continued on and on I found myself looking at the clock on the wall. I get it, people's fears are coming alive. How many more sequences do we need to drive the point home. I was able to guess the ending and just waited for it to happen. This is the second episode centered around Alara being unsure of herself; hopefully the last.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 10:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

I rewatch all of TNG every 8 years or so, and I always feel dread when I get to this one. However, after watching it yesterday, it's not as bad as I remember. It's alright for a kid-centered episode. The Enterprise seems to have a recurring problem of aliens being able to fly through the hull. I've lost count of how many times it has happened.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

I think this may be my favorite episode so far. It's goofy, and despite the high stakes of war, should not be taken seriously. Some notable things:
-The makeup (is it CGI makeup?) was extraordinary. I'm talking both of the warring aliens, the guy running the karaoke, and the guy on the elevator.
-Kelly's facial expressions when Ed interrupted her and Darulio. It's too hard to describe, so go back and watch it again. She's got some comedic skills, and I can't wait to see more of them come out as the series continues.
-Rob Lowe, though playing the same character as he did on Parks and Rec, was a great guest star. I bet we'll see more of him.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I just watched this in 2017. It feels a little slow in the beginning, but moves along nicely after that. It says what it needs to say and has no problem doing it. Geordi with a beard looks badazz. Overall it's a descent episode.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

Best episode so far. Some of the things they were doing on the Krill ship were far fetched, but the episode was entertaining from beginning to end.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 7:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I used to hate this episode because I thought it was too talky and it's obvious Worf is going get to get cured, but I just rewatched it and I think it's great. The medical ethics arguments going on between Crusher and the other doctor are thought provoking. Both of them have good points. I felt emotional when Worf was asking Deanna to be the kid's mother if some thing bad should happen. The only thing a little "off" was Picard's full support behind the idea that Worf's life is over. By the way when did Riker and Worf become good friend? It seemed to come out of nowhere. I don't remember them being together. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

I liked this episode because I think the actors are starting to get more comfortable with each other. I sense that the show is going to get VERY funny later on. Also, we get to see a lot more of the ship. It's the first time we've seen the engine room (I think). Some of the actors needs a lot more work though, including Seth and the Doctor.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

I just watch it again in 2017 on Blu-Ray. The part where the shuttle craft was going down really stood out visually thanks to high def. I'd rate this episode 2 stars. Troi is believable in this one , but in the end it's just a hostage drama with all the cliches.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Why combine two episodes onto one page? Many of us are waiting to see the second episode, so we can't read everything. There were credits at the end of the first one, so it's it's not like this was a movie.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

The whole entire time I was watching this first episode, I was thinking how great it would have been to have this show take place in the future, beyond Voyager. After all, the technology shown would have been great for such a time period: holographic communication, people on the bridge with electronics embedded in their heads, etc.

Instead, we get more re-treads of early Federation history. The show will always be in a "box," where everything that happens has to conform to the already established timeline. There will likely be continuity errors aplenty. Each one on it's own would be innocuous, but all of them together can further erode the stories we've come to love in the past 50 years.

The overseers of Trek are literally stuck in the past, and I fear that the franchise has missed it biggest opportunity ever.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Two stars for me. The scenes aboard the ship just felt like retreads of Star Trek plots, say for the egg (although the egg story is vaguely similar to when Alexander came aboard the Enterprise to stay with Worf). When it got to the zoo stuff, it felt like I was watching something "new" and interesting. It was actually exploring a moral issue. I hope they go back one day and free the animals/prisoners!

By the way, did anyone notice the soundtrack? I though it was amazing; very DS9 like)
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Sep 11, 2017, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I wasn't that entertained, but it's the first show. Hopefully one day I'll read this comment, and feel happy that the show lasted 7 seasons.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jul 10, 2017, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Good:
-The opening scene with Data interrupting and unaware.
-Some believable romantic scenes done better than in other episodes
-The concept of personality versus looks
-Crusher being open and honest in the last scene when she was explaining her human failings
-Troi calling out Crusher and her secret romance.
-Data asking if Crusher had helped with the headache.

Bad:
-Why would Crusher put in her log that she is "in love"?
-How does Riker's intestines not get smashed?
-Some cringe-worthy romantic scenes
-The fact that you can't beam a Trill. Probably made up to justify a shuttlecraft attack scene.
Set Bookmark
Tempeh
Mon, Jul 10, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Good:
-The camerawork. Lot's of different angles and closeups. Effective at keeping the viewer aware that something was going on inside Geordi's mind.
-Scary Romulans
-Geordi's scream during the teaser
-Klingon backstories, regarding Worf, the home planet, and colonial politics
-The face of a dead Chief O'Brien

Bad:
-Some of the camera shots where a little over the top, like when they show Geordi walking down the corridor at the end.
-Having a phaser continuously fire inside main engineering. Couldn't this be done somewhere else where it has less of a change of vaporizing someone?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.