Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 450 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Hello Everyone!

I'll probably catch some flak for this, but I have said American Indians since the 80's, especially after I found out they were named for the folks in India, which is where that very, very lost explorer thought he was...

I was actually quite progressive at the time.

I seldom say Native Americans because, heh, if we go back far enough, maybe there was another civilization before them that crashed and disappeared into dust, and they were the natives. Really, after a few billion years, it could have happened. Heck, go back just a few hundred million years, and dinosaurs ruled that area I believe.

Why don't folks get mad at the North American state of Indiana? Indian(a). No one ever, Ever, ever sees that? Are we hiding it under a rug somewhere?

Of course, it might be a very nice rug...

Just some musings... and no offense meant to anyone, and I mean ANYONE!

RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

That rainbow pipe thing the Enterprise created looks like an old Windows screensaver. Seeing the characters stare at it in amazement is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

The whole set up is pretty implausible. That Ferengi guy really went to the trouble of making a fake son for his enemy?

I thought Picard was sterile? Didn't he tell Wesley that having children wasn't possible for him or something along those lines? I guess not, given this episode, but that just makes some of his previous comments lose any weight they had. He does know men can have children up into the later years, making all his "that bridge is burned" statements false, right? He chose his career, but we've seen other captains with children.

As much of a cop-out as it was, I'm relieved the guy wasnt actually his son. I can't really see Picard truly having a secret love child out there. Sure, Kirk might have a handful, Riker dozens... But Picard? Nah, just doesn't seem like him.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I understand not wanting to have your home taken away, especially if you have some sort of spiritual connection to it, but those people are pretty stupid if they think the Cardassians wouldn't turn them into Bajor 2.0 if they felt like it. I'd take wandering over being enslaved by one of the ugliest races seen so far in the Trekverse.

Wait, didn't Picard say these people were nomadic? They have buildings and stuff. So, not nomadic.

This was a pretty poor ending to Wes' story. We knew he was going to join the Traveler and "ascend to a higher plane" or whatever, but he acts so out of character throughout this, and the Traveler only shows up near the end. It's like his story was shoehorned into a completely unrelated plot.

It seems really weird how they call Native Americans "Indians". Locally yes they are still called that even today but Picard as a Briti- er, Frenchman should at least be calling them Native Americans or by their tribe(s). It seems preposterous that they'd be referred to that way on another planet in the future, they're not from India! (It would be only a little less weird to call them "Native Americans" on a planet so far removed from Earth but at least it'd be more accurate.)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Yet another episode where Data almost single-handedly saves the day. If this was a season one episode he probably would have "de-evolved" into a toaster or a commodore 64 or something. ;P

Star Trek is science fiction in that any "science" they portray is almost always fiction.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jun 16, 2017, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Hello Everyone!

@Frank

Great question! And considering how big that ship was, we could've had a whole FLEET of timeships trying to stuff that thing back down the rabbit hole... (so to speak).

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Planet of Hats
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

I didn't mind this episode at all, but it definitely didn't feel like a spiritual successor to Lower Decks once I watched it again. Lower Decks was laser-focused on the extras. This one used the extras well but the focus was mostly on Janeway.

I really like the Harren character and I wish we'd been introduced to him earlier or seen more of him later. There's a ton the story could've done with him - here you've got a guy who's basically Richard Dawkins but doesn't want anything to do with the ship, but takes a step at the end of the episode. Would've been nice to see him pop up as an extra now and then and continue to come out of his shell.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

Hello Everyone!

When Sklar fell out of the mag-lev, I just had to laugh. I watched the scene twice, and it seemed as if he was about 12 feet from the open door, and after he was hit he just kept shuffling his feet backwards until he was gone. I think if he'd just stopped moving his feet, and let his momentum keep going, he'd have fallen over about three feet away.

After coming in from the cold, perhaps Tuvok was having a problem with not having proper air to breathe. But after showing that one fellow just how strong he was (he caught his punch and took him to his knees), he could not overwhelm the stodgy scientist, and only won the fight because the scientist shuffled out the door.

Yes, I also noticed the beaming scene and had a problem with it:
*Janeway tells Tuvok standby to transport*
*Shot of ship shooting Voyager, hitting shields*
*Tuvok on bridge, using pad to save the day*
These three shots were bang, bang, bang, seeming to take less time than even a normal beaming would take. And it didn't look like Tuvok had just arrived, he looked like he'd been there for a few moments.

I really, really wished Neelix had actually worked on tether systems before. Finding out he lied just to get them over to the tether was a disservice. It would have been much better to find out he really did know what he was doing. Having a homage to another show is great, but only do it if it helps the show. This simply made me think he was the same, old Neelix. Doesn't know how to do anything really well, and lies about his prowess so often I don't ever believe a word he says. Then he compounded his lie by saying they always named their mag-lev craft. Did they really? Or did he just name his models? And if they did, how would he know? He never worked on them.

It never worked for me that the scientist fellow would completely lose his cool and try to launch the darned thing before it was ready. He knows there is a traitor, but does not know who it is or if they are near him or not.

HEheheh... yes, I also laughed at Tuvok not noticing the pad was held in place by a simple turn lock. He fought with it so hard... hehahahah... then, the baddie just twists the knob... hehahdhdh... the one who shouldn't be able to breathe... heheheh... stupid funny.

Have a great day Everyone!...RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Zero stars. Never expected to turn on Trek and be forced to watch multiple scenes of a middle-aged woman being molested/pleasured by and having invisi-sex with her grandmother's lover who is also a ghost. Grossssss. Did some office aid accidentally drop fan mail in the script pile? Who greenlit this? They should have been summarily sacked and blacklisted from being hired on all future franchise endeavors.

How can it pass down through the Howard women? They change their name when they marry, there would be no line of Howard women after the first one married, unless it hopped onto spinsters and passed down to nieces or something, but it sounded like it went down through mothers mostly. Odd.

Patrick Stewart did a good job of conveying how horribly uncomfortable some scenes are for Picard while simultaneously appearing disgusted to be acting in them. You can kind of tell some of the actors are embarrassed to be in this one, ha. Some of McFadden's acting was truly cringe-worthy, but this episode doesn't deserve better.

I don't see why aliens couldn't perform human religious ceremonies, so long as they were also members of said religion (or even if they weren't, depending on the religion). This being TNG I don't think the funeral shown was religious in nature so much as a generic "you died" ceremony so the guy presiding over it was probably just someone important to the community or whatever.

Since Beverly has no daughters, would Ronin go after Wes when she finally kicked the bucket?
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 2:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Ah c'mon, this episode was entertainingly weird. I actually prefer Spiner's performance here to previous times he's acted like a loon. He doesn't have that creepy Robin Williams vibe here, the one Lore or even Soong gives off.

Shouldn't Data know what abstract art is by now? He's done quite a few paintings that are pretty abstract and they could have done the treble clef joke without backsliding his character.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

Fun episode. Yeah, like all TNG it has holes, but I was entertained and in the end that's the point, isnt it? I'm pleased the writers remembered Data's fake pulse (heartbeat? Whatever, close enough), I recently complained how pointless it was for him to have one since he'd never have to use it to convince aliens he's alive, but I now retract that statement, because that's exactly what he did.

I don't mind Troi getting bridge certification. Ensigns serve on the bridge and take over crucial posts when the main characters leave the room all the time. Really, she should have been from the start, as should all the main characters, since they sat on the bridge.

And yeah, Data contradicting the teacher wasn't the scientific method at work, but him having knowledge of things she didn't. If he would have tested what she was saying and proven it false she would have believed him, but she had no reason to believe an amnesiac spouting off what was probably gibberish to her.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Hello Everyone!

@Rahul

Yep, it was a pilot for another show. And what you wrote got me to thinking...

I read recently that the original series never broke the top 50 in ratings, and of course we know NBC tried to cancel it after each of its first two years. Now, taking all of that into consideration, why in the world were they using it as step-stone for a new show? If they did not believe many people were watching, how was this going to help the new one get off the ground?

That just seems weird to me...

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Hello Everyone!

One of the things I noticed was, and maybe it was just me, Kes was talking in a somewhat lower, huskier tone in this episode. Not quite to the level of when she was possessed, but lower than the higher-pitched voice she normally used. I thought she must have done that on purpose.

She was with Neelix for 2 1/2 years. For her, that's 25% of her normal lifespan. I believe she had a bit of a mid-life crisis. Also, the writers were hopefully trying to (finally) get her to grow.

Kes wasn't wearing the little dress thingy she wore for most of the first 2 1/2 years. Actually, I didn't understand why she wore the same thing all the time anyway. But, while I didn't really notice until a bit later, she seemed to wear at least two different sets of clothes in this one. I was astonished!

Just some musings and have a great day... RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

What I don't think is right is Beverly hiding a medical option from him and declaring she will hold him captive indefinitely to prevent him from his ritual suicide.

This is his life, and if he's willing to risk it to try an experimental procedure, that is his choice. Beverly's job was to tell him ALL the options, as well as the risks. You could argue that she thought the risk was too great, or that it would violate "do no harm". However, Worf is entitled to a second opinion, and to getting another doctor. Trying to keep him from knowing about the option or talking to the other doctor in order to manipulate him into doing what she wanted him to do was despicable. In fact, trying to prevent him from getting a second opinion was probably criminal.

Riker almost goes through with the ritual with Worf, indicating that it is not illegal, meaning Beverly has no authority or right to imprison him in sick bay. Even if she did have a legal grounds for keeping him there, she has no right to impose her will on him, to force her decisions and opinions on him, as she wanted to.

Writing this out made me realize why I detest Beverly. Well, in addition to her being insipidly bland, a horribly incompetent doctor who blatantly disregards patient rights, and the boyfriend talk with Troi. I hate Beverly because she's self-absorbed and manipulative. She's always trying to get her way, often through deception or coercion. Worf refuses to give blood to his sworn enemy? She runs to Picard, trying to use Picard's authority to force Worf into violating his own morals. And this despite the intended recipient vehemently saying he'd rather die than receive a transfusion. A family forbids her to perform an autopsy on their deceased son, but she really wants to? She does anyway, and runs to Picard. AGAIN. He basically shakes his head and says "I can't help you now." How many times has he gotten her out of trouble in the past?

There's something so horribly conniving and disgusting about the way she uses her friendship with Picard to her own gain, and the way she nags him when she doesn't get her way.

It's never, never about medical ethics with her, and always about her own desires and opinions. Her arguments are almost never rational or coherent, but always impassioned pleas based on her own ignorant standing. She never has a leg to stand on and isn't convincing even when she's right. She has no care for other people's cultures or circumstance, only her own ideas of what should be done. And she violates patients' desires, cultures, and morals left and right and declares them "stupid" without even attempting to understand them.

She's a weak, stupid character and an insulting two dimensional stereotype consisting of various "feminine" traits but no redeeming qualities. Weak, stupid, incompetent, emotional, irrational, ignorant, nagging, manipulative. These are all negative female stereotypes and they all describe her behavior. I've finally pinpointed why her very existence makes me angry. I find her extremely offensive.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Blue-eyed Data weirds me out. I'm so used to the jaundiced contacts. And the alternate bridge was a great improvement over the usual, I wish it was the actual design, the normal one looks ridiculous.

I'm all onboard for Doctor Ogawa. She looks pretty snazzy in that blue coat thing.

Good to see Wes again. I miss him, it's a shame he got put on a bus after being one of the few characters to get actual character development. I'd even take his season 1 nonsense of being the only intelligent character over his mom's blank stare, malpractice, and discussions of her sex life with Troi.

I suppose LaForge could have been there when Worf first docked or passed him in the halls. It's weird that we didn't see him during the first shift but maybe the initial one happened on its own?

I find it hilarious that the present Troi gives Worf at the end is all pink and sparkly. Very befitting of a manly warrior.

@Skywalker
"I just noticed the reality around 22 min where Troi and Worf are married — why would Troi have moved into Worf's tiny, windowless LT-and-below quarters? Troi has a nice place with a window.

And why don't Data and Geordi get nice quarters with windows? They're both LCDRs."

Geordi is blind. Data is a robot. Neither probably get much out of looking out a window. Worf is from a proud patriarchal society and probably insisted on his wife moving in with him, rather than the other way around, sort of like how Peter Parker feels bad when his wife does stuff like buy furniture for their apartment even though she makes a lot more money than he does and doesn't have a problem with being the one paying for stuff. Men are traditionally the ones who provide, and a lot of them, especially in fiction, have had that role so ingrained in them they have trouble letting it go and feel guilty or inadequate if they're not the ones providing, even if it would be more logical to let the wife do some or even all of the providing. Or maybe it's just a convenience of the plot, but I like my rationalization better.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Picard un-phasing in front of the Romulan ship was sheer stupidity. Deal with Federation internal affairs as you see fit, but don't reveal to your enemy that somewhere along the line you violated a treaty and hope they'll take a "oh sorry it was just these few guys who did it, I'm showing it to you now in good faith please don't go to war with us". The Romulans aren't that reasonable, especially not the one who trapped them in an asteroid!

Though well acted, I didn't care at all about the drama in this one, because once again it showed how hypocritical the federation and our main characters are.

Pressman didn't invent or decide to test the phase device on his own; it was an order from a higher-up. Blaming him for the death of the Pegasus crew because they mutinied during a potentially dangerous experimental test is stupid. It's their own fault. Once he was no longer in control of the ship, there was nothing he could have done to prevent what would happen to it. And the crew weren't just refusing, they were apparently actively trying to stun or kill him and the few loyal officers.

Everyone's got their Starfleet regulation undies in a wad over a phasing device not because it could get them into war with the Romulans but because "it's unethical". After all the hand-wringing I thought the reveal was going to be some planet-shattering super-weapon, bio-weapon, federation cover-up of genocide or something big like that, not some secret experiment that violates a treaty. Yeah, violating a treaty is bad, but there wasn't anything unethical about the phase thingy itself, yet it's treated like some big evil secret. The Romulans aren't trustworthy, why am I supposed to be horrified that the Federation is willing to lie right back to them? I find it hard to believe almost an entire crew would mutiny over something like this.

It was completely inappropriate for Picard to threaten Riker for following orders from higher-up. He may not like being in the dark, but for him to threaten dismissing Riker for respecting the chain-of-command was way out there and should get Picard in trouble. If people went off left and right disobeying orders Starfleet would fall apart overnight.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Dull as dirt, and unnecessary. We already know Data's backstory, and this episode added nothing to it.

Having her turn out to be an android replica of the real Juliana just lessened the already nonexistent impact her character had. So it's not even the real "mother" but a cheap knockoff that believes she is the real thing? Why should I care about her relationship with Data or even her existence beyond the novelty of it? She provides the reactions the real Juliana would have in those situations, but because she's not the real thing I couldn't care less.

Also, shouldn't her existence as an android capable of emotion while not dying from it or being (too) crazy from it be of interest to Data? Shouldn't he have extensively studied her neural net so he could replicate the ability in himself? That's always been his goal but I don't recall him saying anything along these lines, just closing the hatch and sending her on her merry way.

And personally, I find it very unethical to continue to let her husband believe he's married to a real person when it's just an android programmed to act like one, but in TNG androids are "real people" (or maybe only Data is, like others said it's kind of fuzzy) so I guess it's not by their standards. Still seems very wrong to me. I'd feel very lied to and violated if my spouse turned out to be a machine pretending to be a person.

Another Data retcon shows up in this one: apparently he now appears to age. Can they just make up their minds already? His hair doesn't grow; it can grow. He's virtually indistinguishable from a human without a medical scan and is essentially an artificial version of a man; his head is full of Christmas lights, his limbs come off, and he has an off-switch somewhere near his posterior. Oh but he does "breath" and has a pulse for some reason, both of which are completely useless, given Lore survived months in space and even in places where Data was passing as biological no one in the history of ever has needed to check his fake pulse to be convinced he's alive. Did the writers really think anyone was watching the show and asked themselves "huh, why does Data appear older now than he did six seasons ago?" No one was asking that, no one was wondering, no one cared. Even children understand the concept of "actors get older" so why they felt the need to add that I'm not sure.

Crusher always violates medical ethics, it happens so frequently that I wasn't going to comment on it until I noticed someone else did. It's not a Starfleet medical thing so much as a "doctor" Beverly Crusher thing. She's in good with the captain so she gets to do what she likes, just as all the other main characters are allowed to go variously break the rules and usually get off without even a slap on the wrist.

This episode reminds me of that TOS episode where Nurse Chapel's fiancé turned out to be a robotic duplicate. Except that episode was better. Keep the fembot drama and give me Kirk trying to duke it out with robotic Lurch any day.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

How many times has Picard or some other crew member violated the prime directive, yet now he's mad someone else has? The hypocrisy of the Enterprise crew really annoys me. And I'm tired of the season seven staple of introducing an important family member never before seen or mentioned and probably never going to be seen or mentioned again just to create fake drama.

I love how Picard et al are horrified at the possibility of the culture being violated but scandalized by attempts to save it. How can they justify using a rule meant to protect pre-warp cultures as an excuse to let them die? I really hate TNG's reinterpretation of the prime directive.

Pretty much every character acts idiotic this episode, no surprise there. Lock the holodeck door, idiots. The chronicler's death is entirely on the shoulders of the imcompetent crew. And why did Picard pretend to be so remorseful over the suicide of a guy he wanted to let die a few days ago? Hey writers, quit making your captain a psychopath. Either he has compassion for other life forms or he's utilitarian to the extreme, having him flip flop, especially in the same episode, just makes him seem deranged.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Jun 7, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Hello Everyone!

@Witney Seibold

@Garret Mathany

Thanks for these....

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Jun 6, 2017, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Hello Everyone!

Silly things that stood out for me...

I liked the assassins. Just another day at the office for them. "I thought it was on stun", checks weapon and turns the dial. Later, when they are getting ready for the meeting with Arissa, he pulls out the weapon and thoughtfully changes the setting...

When Odo is above the bad guys, I was wondering what he would change into? Oh. Just Odo. Part of the fun with him is he can turn into anything during a fight. Otherwise, why have the ability? I figure stay liquid, wrap one up with a python arm, punch the other in the face with a sledgehammer. Nope. We got Odo. Okay, that's fine, but the baddies are knocked down/surprised, and I'm thinking she needs to jump on the guy with the gun. Nope. She starts to punch the Other one, while guy-with-gun stands up and starts to take aim. Yes, Odo was there to take him out with a non-sledgehammer punch, but I really wondered why she didn't go after the biggest threat.

Odo standing outside of the moving car was funny. And Bashir being upset Falcon got the drop on him was good too.

Everything else was pretty much mentioned. :)

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Jun 5, 2017, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

Hello Everyone!

Heh, I'd completely forgotten they showed a Borg body at the end. I actually sat up and took notice. And as for the first go round in the '90s, I mentioned on the Cause and Effect (TNG) page that I stopped watching the teasers after the one for CaE gave away the premise. I'd have been very disappointed to see the teaser and have them show a Borg, because it was so great not knowing it was going to be there. Then and now. :)

Perhaps the hologram helped Vorik out for a bit physically. Heck, the doctor said his levels were coming down to normal. But since there wasn't a telepathic bond, his brain went and wound itself back up again after he left sickbay. Oh, and I didn't see anyone mention the bit of Pon Farr we witnessed in Star Trek III: The Search for Spock.

Hmmm... I wonder how many Vulcans are in Starfleet? There seemed to be two or three on this ship, and I'd figure there are some on most ships. If they are on a deep space mission, do they need to make certain their Pon Farr cycle is lined up for after they return? Do some plan ahead and take a vacation? Do others have to suddenly request a shuttle craft from their Captain, and do they explain why? Even for something so intensely private, shouldn't they have a rule for this? And to keep the required knowledge out of the medical database seems rather absurd (perhaps it should be there for "need to know" situations, maybe pass protected?). While the Vulcans are seemingly one of the top sentient races in the fleet, are there any other species that just suddenly, you know, go nuts out of the blue? If there were, would you want one on your ship?

Enjoy the day Everyone! RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Hello Everyone!

@Del_Duio

Yes indeed, it would have been better in another type of series, or at the very least, somewhere close to the Homeworlds. Not that we ever saw anything Close to this before in TOS. Vulcan dissolves and they decide to make huge (HUGE) circular space stations on the edge of nowhere? When did this happen? Was Vulcan the voice of reason behind not making something like this? Or is it more sinister? Something from just after the time shift made them pour resources into weird and strange things, even before Vulcan vanished?

I thank you for the reply. I was hoping to change the track away from the discussion that had gone before, if only a little bit. It seems even a mention from Jammer could not stop the course this thread has taken. That is a first for me.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Hello Everyone!

I've thought this episode over in my head a few times, and now it comes to this: I must make a comment! :)

If Voyager had caught Chakotay's ship in the Alpha quadrant, the members of the crew would be put in a penal colony (maybe New Zealand). Some of them are former Starfleet. Would they be considered traitors, since they had at one time given an oath to Starfleet to uphold its ideals? Or would the fact they resigned before joining make a difference? I'm not going on what happened later, just what has happened up to this point in the various series.

It seems the Maquis were given a free pass because, hey, they needed bodies on the ship to hopefully take the place of those that have been killed. That's fine. But were they given a choice on whether they wanted to be in Starfleet or were they drafted? I don't know that they really told us. I'd have liked a scene, somewhere, showing them being given a choice. If they chose to join the crew as Starfleet members, they would have an orientation, so they would know how to act and what to do in their respective fields, with perhaps some extra classes on the holodeck with a fake instructor (that seems very do-able), to hone their skills. There could even have been mention in episodes about how the training was going, or that someone was just cleared by Tuvok (who would run it) to be at the helm.

If they chose to not join as a regular part of the crew, they'd have the option to have a civilian job, perhaps in the galley or hydroponics, but something to help the crew as they tried to get home that wasn't a part of anything involving a security clearance. This could also have been shown in parts of various episodes, especially if one grabbed a phaser if/when they were boarded, or something as mundane as helping Neelix with a new hybrid food source.

If they completely hated Starfleet so much they didn't want to to have anything to do with them (and I'd figure there would be at least one), then they'd have limited access to the ship, limited rations for the replicator, no holodeck privileges, etcetera. These could also have been mentioned in B or C stories, trying to convince them to do something that might help get them home.

But instead, it seems that Chakotay spoke for his entire crew (and now a Commander, nice), and since he joined up, so did they. Yesterday, you were on a Maquis ship, manning weapons. Now you are given a Starfleet uniform and will be... cleaning some injectors, or something that isn't as important (unless you are Chakotay or Torres). What if you were good at weapons on their ship, but were a farmer before? No true clue about regulations and protocol? Well, here is your uniform. Now, you'd best fit in and do it the Starfleet way (which you may have no clue about), or you'll get a punch in the nose if you refuse. Or have to run laps with Tuvok. No orientation was even implied. And that would have been, quite simply, stupid.

I believe they had Years of stories that could have been C's, or B's, maybe even an A when they needed some filler. But nope. You've been drafted. You're in the Starfleet now.

It seems that part of the outline for episode one was: Maquis and Voyager are fighting. They get pulled into the Delta quadrant together. Maquis members are integrated into the Voyager crew after the crisis is over. Bliss results (because, you know, Starfleet). And we might do a couple of episodes about how some are not acclimating... later...

I once worked for a store owner who, upon finding out that a business opportunity had been missed, would take a long drag on his Barclay, then tell someone "You missed the boat" while slowly shaking his head as he exhaled. I believe the Voyager writers "Missed the boat" on the opportunities they had here, by having everyone (and I mean Everyone) get on board with wearing the uniform right from the get-go.

As with anything, your mileage may vary... RT

P.S.: Yes, this was mostly about the general state of Voyager, and not this particular episode, but I think it is relevant under the circumstances. I cannot put it under episode one, as it'd have spoilers. :)

P.P.S: It was never mentioned, but why were the former Maquis members given a different badge to show their past allegiance to the Maquis? If they were integrated, then they should have been Fully integrated with pips. But here is a constant reminder they were not a part of the original crew... (perhaps to show, if one was acting up, well, it's the Maquis?). A part of the crew is a part of the crew. To make them "different" was a disservice, in my humble opinion...
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 3, 2017, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Hello Everyone!

@Strejda

So we are on opposite sides on the issue? That's cool. But, for someone who cannot believe anyone would find it a worthy topic, then replies to it twice, well, that makes me smile. :D

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Hello Everyone!

Well, did anyone else feel that a huge (HUGE) space station out there for seemingly no reason took them somewhat out of their immersion, as I mentioned in Aug of '16?

And with all the time it took to build it, no one went towards that spot in space until they were done? I mean, I liked the movie well enough, but shoot, they just stayed in their little pocket the Whole time?

I still wonder what that station's use would have been, if they had no knowledge of what was Beyond... :D

Regards Everyone... RT
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.