Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 306 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Hello Everyone!

I really enjoyed this episode back when it was first on, and still do today. Upon re-watching, something did bug me just a bit: How did D'Anna/3 end up in command of this batch of Cylons?

What I heard, seemingly over and over but probably just a few times, was that they wanted to unbox her so she could identify the final five for everyone. She'd be helping :). But the next thing I knew, after her talk with Roslin, she is the one giving the orders and the rest are standing around letting her. 3 has no concept of what has been going on recently, or of what has lead to the civil war. What she does know is she wants to Brute Force everything and get her way. It seems they... let her have her way because only she can identify the 5, and are worried if she gets mad, she won't tell them. That's the only reason I can think of.

So the 2's, 6's and 8's all stand around, letting her take things to the brink, even though she just woke up. Allows her to space some redshirt. Allows her to make the nukes hot. And none of them say much more than "uhh...". They had their own type of guts to stand up to Cavil/1, but just let 3 run amok. Always had a problem with that. Later, President Lee talks to her about a truce and starting peace over again, shaking her hand to seal the deal, but none of the others are included.

Great episode that had me on the edge of my seat for certain, but I figured they decided they needed some confrontation, and had everyone bow to D'Anna so they could get it.

Have a great day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

Hello Everyone!

@Dba

You mirrored most of my thoughts exactly. I'm re-watching the series, and had my thoughts mostly ready to put on the page, then found you'd done most of them. :D

I believe Lampkin saw Head Cat. When Apollo trips over the empty food bowl, I thought perhaps he hadn't seen any cat (seems to look around for it), while Lampkin had. So perhaps Lampkin was a bit unhinged.

But, I also thought he was manipulating Lee a bit, to make certain Lee would end up being President. He believes Lee won't want the position, so he forces Lee (at the point of a gun) to tell him why he'd make a good president. At that moment Lee convinces himself that he should take the position. Masterfully manipulated by someone who has gone a bit to the 'funny farm' side of things.

Heh, I didn't see anyone mention the dog Lee gives Lampkin towards the end. I thought it was touching.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Hello Everyone!

@Kned and others...

Yeah, the thing that bothered me about this episode (that I actually enjoy), is their communications between themselves. If one of them needs a "spanner" from another crewperson, to fix the engine, they'd have to come up with a metaphor for that eventually. And, there'd have to be millions of them for what they need to do. And what if they forget, or don't know a particular metaphor?

First Crewperson: Rigandalo, in the puddle, at Wizant.
Second Crewperson: Grabs sandwich, tries to give it to First.
First Crewperson: *annoyed* RIGANDALO, in the PUDDLE, at WIZANT! *points down at spanner*
Second Crewperson: *nods in comprehension* Takes off shoes.

If they mis-remembered even one time, it could be catastophic. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Brettsky
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 12:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

So I finally finished watching every episode of every Trek and I felt the need to talk about it. Seems like here's a good place as any.

So yeah, ending my long journey on the Enterprise finale is pretty depressing, but hey, at least there's a new show now to look forward to! (I know better than to get my hopes up too high.) I enjoyed the Xindi arc a lot, but it seemed out of place on a Stark Trek prequel show. Season 4 was the first time I felt like I was watching real Trek, and of course it gets cancelled. Oh well. It still wasn't that great of a series, but it had its moments.

It took me several years to get through this, taking breaks and watching other shows, but I finally did it. And I read many of the reviews, though I mostly skimmed through Voyager and Enterprise reviews since they seemed awfully negative and you appeared to just not like the shows (which I totally understand). Still read most of the comments, though I rarely said much myself.

Since I have a fascination with ranks and lists, I figured I'd make one of my own. So here we go, from favorite series to least favorite series:

Deep Space 9 (best reoccurring characters, most interesting storylines, SO many good characters, did I mention the characters?)
The Next Generation (best captain (yeah, I said it!), feels the most like what Trek should be.)
The Original Series (best crew (Spock, McCoy, Scotty, you can't beat 'em!), most 'charm')
Voyager (best first season, The Doctor)
The Animated Series (it was certainly... interesting! Trippy visuals, entertainingly bad animation)
Enterprise (it had Porthos)

I didn't hate any of the shows, and I'm glad I watched them all, but if I weren't such a completionist, I probably would have given up on Enterprise during season two, though interestingly, I also would have most likely given up during Deep Space 9 season two, and that ended up my favorite. That show definitely grew the most, and Voyager the least (it was consistently mediocre...so...yay?)

Thanks Jammer for all the reviews and giving us nerds a place to congregate. I'm hoping Battlestar Galactica gets put back on Netflix since it sounds like a show I'd like, but if not, I'm tempted to buy the series. If I do, then I'll certainly be back for the reviews. The original BG series is on there... I plan on watching that before the reboot. Gotta fill that Sci-FI void I now have.

And of course, I expect full lengthy reviews of the new show (OK, maybe not), assuming it doesn't keep getting delayed and actually gets made! Not that I'll be watching it on CBS access, but I'll probably get the blu-rays when they come out.

So yeah, it's been a long ride (I'd quote the Enterprise theme if I didn't hate it), and it wouldn't have been the same without this site and all the interesting characters here. Just felt the need to say all that.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Passenger

Hello Everyone

@Mertov

That... is so cool. :)

Thanks for sharing. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Feb 8, 2017, 9:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Hello Everyone

This has been an interesting discussion, and is what I hope for when I visit the site.

My sideways thoughts are this: While the Federation has high ideals, and Earth has been made quite a utopia, not every Earther is on board with their way of thinking. And I say this because they have Penal Colonies. The inmates cannot just be aliens who crossed the line, or folks who think themselves Patriots fighting against two larger bullies, but are also regular folks who have done something wrong along the way.

They never have a reason to tell us what the people in their jails have done, but I'd have to think there would be at least a few murderers, some guilty of assault, and a couple rapists. Now, they have made great inroads towards how they treat one another, but even Kirk mentioned something about killing and how we fight it, in A Taste of Armageddon: "All right. It's instinctive. But the instinct can be fought. We're human beings with the blood of a million savage years on our hands, but we can stop it. We can admit that we're killers, but we're not going to kill today. That's all it takes. Knowing that we won't kill... today."

I think the only way every Earther would be perfect would be with genetic tinkering, and they outlawed that after the Eugenics War. Yes, they are much more enlightened than we are, but there are always those that fall through the cracks, no matter how small they are. Heck, they have a Judge Advocate General office, with prosecutors. Wesley famously said "I'm with StarFleet; we don't lie", then he lied in a later episode.

Do most of us believe Riker to be a predator? Probably not. But in a different set of circumstances, in another life, who knows? And Manua is from a different culture. Riker's little smiles and voice tones might have scared her silly.

Perhaps they aren't all that different from us after all, they just think they are...

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Peremensoe

I'd thought about that, and this seemed to be a customized, private file. I'd have thought if Leah went in, or anyone, it would start at the beginning just as Geordi had seen it originally, with the Enterprise in the background and computer terminals. If Geordi used it again, it might just start up where he left off. And if she went in and wanted to see Geordi's version, then she'd need his permission.

Thanks for the input!

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 11:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Chrome

Okay, I might be able to get behind that. She was looking for what he had done, and how he had done it, by going through some logs of what was said. Then she saw some strange dialog, jumped to the end and had the computer run it (maybe not a true recording, but as best the computer could approximate). And then got quite miffed. Yes, I can see that. Then she had a moment of clarity where she realized how, well, strangely and familiar Geordi had been acting toward her and it went straight to ballistic. In that moment, she could not have cared less about context or how the program had gotten to that point.

And the Rule of Funny is that Geordi is destined to never get there in time to explain, because Geordi. :)

Thanks Chrome, I think that'll work as a most reasonable answer to my question.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 2:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@dave johnson

Ah, points taken. But Geordi did not set out to create Leah. He asked the computer for a more interactive way to help him, then turned around and she was standing there. He asked something along the lines of (paraphrase) "Did I ask for this?" and the computer basically tells him yes. When interacting with a computerized Fake Leah, he then asks the computer to rig up some personality for her (so he can communicate more readily), including from some debate, and the computer adds it into the mix. He did not set out to create a fantasy, as Barclay had done. He bounced ideas off of Fake, argued with her, and ended up thinking Fake was really neat. Went a bit too far? Perhaps. Did it hurt anything? Nah.

My Geordi comments are above, Nov '15.

Somehow, I doubt Fake Leah would know about her love of fungilli, but might take a moment to rub his shoulders to help remove tension. *shrugs*

Heh, it still doesn't answer my question about why there was a recording to watch in the first place. :)

With hopes of gentle discourse from all... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 2:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Hello All

@R.

Ahh, but Picard did not have to approve the transfer. If, even after her impassioned plea, he had told her "No, I'm not going to take the chance of polluting the timeline. We've fixed their ship the best we can, and it is the most we are going to do. You are staying.", then she would have stayed. But Picard approved the transfer. Though I thought Guinan basically telling him it was his fault seemed a bit much, as it Did happen in an alternate time and this Picard had nothing to do with it. Guinan did not have all of the alternate facts.

Heh, I totally agree on Sela being so high up the chain of command at such a young age (don't forget, her birth would not have been immediate, a period of time would have to pass before that happened), and she was also half human, which I don't believe would have helped her any.

--------------------

Crewperson: "They don't get me. Blah blah blah. They are mean to me."
Klingon Counselor: Writes on little pad, thoughtfully taps stylus against forhead ridge. "Please continue."
Crewperson: "Blah blah blah. I am so unhappy."
Klingon Counselor: Gently sets down pad. "JUST SUCK IT UP AND GET OUT OF HERE BEFORE I RIP OFF ONE OF YOUR ARMS AND BEAT YOU TO DEATH WITH IT!"
Klingon Counselor: Leans back, smiling. "I hope this session has been helpful for you. Do not come back."

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Hello Everyone

I think I'll just stick to Dukat for now.

I thought the reason he spoke very specifically and distinctly was because he was not just Arrogant Dukat, he was Imperious Dukat, believing he had the upper hand. He was in control again, and there wasn't anything anyone could do about it. So he strutted and pontificated, delighted that this Cardassian program was giving them so much trouble, rubbing it in their faces by getting a drink, then letting the weapon re-appear. Yep, he was pretty pleased with himself.

Then it all blew up in his face. :)

They way it was acted worked for me, and I find it a very enjoyable episode. Thumbs up.

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Feb 6, 2017, 12:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Heya Everyone

Going sideways from the most current comments, I still wonder about this, as I posted in Nov of '15:

*But... in Booby Trap, why was the holodeck program recorded? Do they always record the goings-on in there? Why was there a program to be found of them? It should have just been Utopia Planetia, same as when Geordi started the program. There was no reason for her to ever see anything, because there should't have been anything to see.*

And now I say that, even if it was an updated program that included Leah, it should simply have shown her standing there, right where she was when the program was ended. As I recall, he didn't say anything about "save everything that happened and end", he just said "end program" or some such thing. Real Leah then might have seen herself and asked the computer why her image was in it, and fake Leah should have simply stated she was helping Geordi with the engines.

I mean, if everything in the holodeck is recorded in total, someone would have a field day blackmailing someone like Barclay.

Once again, your mileage may vary... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Feb 4, 2017, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Howdy Gentle Sentients!

I always liked this episode, but it forever bothers me when they destroy the Battlecruiser.

I figure, put a beacon out to warn folks away, contact StarFleet, then let them figure out how to rescue the ship. Something from 1,000 years ago, (and from a society that no longer exists), would be a huge prize I'd think. Heck, you never know, they might even learn something from them that could be helpful.

Always bothered me when they blow it up...

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 11:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

Hello Everyone!

I liked that Dr. Bashir didn't come up with the cure/vaccine in just a day or two, as sometimes I believe Really Big Problems end up having a solution within a amount of time that is too short. In a way, it didn't feel like a month or so, to me, but the events of the story led me to believe time had passed (mostly because they said so). But that was better than a somewhat instant "Eureka!" moment I'd come to expect.

As far as him being gone for so long, I do believe that would present a problem on the station. They had no idea how long he was going to be gone. I'd think they'd get a replacement, at least a short-term one. He seems to have a good staff, but he is the Head of the Department and he would be missed for many different reasons.

Heh, I had to watch this over the course of two days, and had completely forgotten the beginning, with the catchy jingle of Quarks bar, by the time I got to the ending. I found it funny, especially when Worf walked in, but in retrospect, it was obvious to me it was just a way to get the other characters into a very Bashir-centric episode. Whether or not is was fair to Quark's character, well, it seems like something he'd try because *why not?*.

I big thumbs-up from me for the episode, though. It was better than I remembered it being.

Have a great day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jan 26, 2017, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

Hello Everyone

@Carson

Good points, in my humble opinion. I have thought something along those lines since it first aired, but you put pen to paper and set them out for me to agree with.

Now please get out of my head... :)

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Splendid Mtmjr. A great bit of insight. :)

That is the Betazoid way, after all. :D

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

Hello Everyone

For some reason, just for a moment, I was left wondering how often the Federation must visit the planet from "A Piece of the Action", to get their cut?

I had never thought about what Ardra was going to do if she grabbed the planet. The smart move would be to get the Enterprise to go on their merry way, and leave the planet to her, because it was internal. Then, she could just show up every so often for tribute. Or, if she stayed (a Whole Planet for her whims, why leave?), send the Enterprise away and leave the planet to her, because it was internal. Same result. Just let the starship Leave! She would be the Ruler.

The Leader of the planet was ready to turn it over to her, but she annexed the Enterprise for some reason (writers), and then they could not leave because they were a part of it. While the annexation was a part of the original contract for whatever was in orbit, it seems obvious this was about launched satellites (or the moon(s) if it was before spaceflight, and 1,000 years ago they weren't thinking about visiting aliens). I think it would have been a much better outcome to let her have it, then re-visit it a few episodes later (for some Star Trek reason).

I am ignoring the hostages because she made certain to give them back right from the get-go.

Lastly, if they hadn't figured out what was going on in time and Data had decided against the Enterprise, would he have gone all "Super Android" on them and put in codes to make the Enterprise stay there? While this might seem like a stupid thought, for a positronic brain, who knows? Would Data have said "I'm sorry Captain, but these were the parameters, and you lost.", before turning the ship over to Ardra? It wouldn't be the first time he took over the Enterprise with some nifty tricks... Allowing Data as the Judge might have been a trick from Ardra, knowing if Data ruled in her favor, he'd follow his programming to the n'th degree...

As usual, just some Thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Jan 10, 2017, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Heya Everyone

Yeah, I also like this episode and always have. It was light, with a little bit of mystery, a little bit of fun and a little bit of romance. Now, don't get me wrong, it's not great, but I always enjoy it. And, upon re-watches, it doesn't have any "Oh, I hate the scene coming up" moments in it for me.

Sometimes I like light and fluffy. :D

Have a great day all... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 9:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Hello Everyone

I really liked this episode, as it showcased the acting talents of Tim Russ and Brad Dourif. I sometimes wonder how TNG would have been different if Tim had come in first, instead of second, behind LeVar Burton. I really do like LeVar, but it's fun to think about. He did have some name recognition from Roots after all, and that series showed some of his range (I think) but I don't believe we'd have been steered wrong if Tim had been there instead.

It's something how a great actor like Brad was typecast, at least for a while, as a serial killer (or close to it), for a while. As was mentioned before, he was in an X-Files episode where he was one and was about to get his comeuppance (Beyond the Sea), then as Brother Edward in Babylon 5 (where he was a killer who was sentenced to "Death of Personality", and was made a priest/friar (Passing Through Gethsemane, great episode, highly recommended)), and then this episode where he again played a killer. I think Chatokay's description of him as someone who was This Close to killing him when he made him stand down, is a great description of what Brad is able to convey with his acting. Some people just have great eyes, and can show a great deal with just a twitch or narrowing of them. Heh, and I thought he was perfect in Lord of the Rings (extended version or nothing!). At least they (minor spoiler) brought him back later in Voyager. If you get the chance, watch those two episodes from the other series, you don't have to really know anything about those series to enjoy those two episodes. My humble opinion. :)

I believe I've come to the conclusion that sometimes, I just have to watch the actors portrayals and enjoy them, rather than worry too much about how they add to the overall series. I really do like long story arcs, even if they can be Excruciating while waiting for the eventual climax. For series that don't have as many arcs, with stories that seem to reset, I have found myself really watching the performers. My recent re-watch of all things Trek has me looking at things with a different eye, and TNG's Half a Life came to mind. I left my comments there a bit ago on the acting, in my humble opinion of course.

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 6:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Heya Everyone

Well, I'd like to think Chekov was on the ship then, just not important enough to be a part of the bridge crew. But there is a line in one of the episodes, Catspaw, where DeSalle is in charge, and he talks down to Checkov somewhat, who replies something along the lines of "...I'm not that green". I always thought that meant he was just recently on the ship.

Best to think that during Khan's initial visit, Chekov was down in waste extraction or some such thing. Via Memory Alpha: Koenig has joked many times that he believes Chekov accidentally made Khan wait an uncomfortable amount of time to use the bathroom. :)

Heh, I just had to chuckle at the memory of Chekov's so, so bad Beatles wig...

Your mileage may vary... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 1:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Hello Everyone

I just watched this again the other day, and I find myself looking at the episodes with a different eye than I did when they were first aired. I also attempt to watch them without thinking about what happens later, which is somewhat easier with the passage of time. I seem to remember the big points, but the minutia is almost new to me again.

So there I was, watching it play out, and my strongest thought was this: How did the Klingons know to have the civilian ship de-cloak right then? Not the series of attacks before, or the ones after? Perhaps they realized the Defiant had finally figured out the pattern (since they moved to the area where they thought the next attack would come from), but what was the guarantee that they'd actually fire on it? Somehow, they had to figure out that the Defiant had figured it out, then put their civilian ship in to get shot.

And how did they know Worf would be in command? Did they have this plan waiting in the wings, to be pulled out at the last minute when they found out? And was the extradition attempt a part of the plan? This seems like an awful, awful lot of work just to try to embarrass Worf. Would the Federation have stopped going on escort duty for the Cardassians, just because one Klingon non-combatant was destroyed during a Klingon attack? For the last question, I say no.

I watched Dreadnought from Voyager after this, and it got me thinking: What if the new ship was full of explosives, or was there to ram the Defiant? Sure, they can take the time to scan the new ship, and by that time... BOOM! During an attack by the Klingons, ANY Klingon ship is fair game if it suddenly appears within the field of battle... at least that's my take on it.

I don't know, but it also seemed weird to me that the four-star (!) Admiral didn't have any staff hanging around during the proceedings. *ting-ting*... *ting-ting*...

I must admit, I still somewhat liked the 'gotcha' moment at the end, but find I enjoyed them (gotcha's) more when they originally aired, before the passage of time made me think about things a bit differently. They're sort of like watching a murder mystery and trying to figure out whodunnit, only to discover it's the 2nd cousin of the wife who everyone thought was dead, revealed in the last five minutes.

I did like this episode, and still do. I liked the back-and-forth between the Lawyer and Sisko/Worf, although it did seem to play out about one act too long.

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
TS
Tue, Jan 3, 2017, 4:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

While I was going through the first two seasons of this show (particularly 2), I had a sinking feeling that this show would never get to anything that resembled the quality story-lines that DS9 pulled off on a regular basis.

Luckily with this "trilogy" of episodes - Azati/Damage and now The Forgotten, I'm glad I pushed through the first two lackluster seasons to get to this point. While the Xindi arc itself hasn't lit my world on fire, it is certainly a nice change of pace from the dull/redundant episodes that we got back in Season 2.

Connor did a terrific job capturing the sort of endless "denial" that a person goes through after the tragic loss of a loved one. Great stuff all around. Looking forward to finishing out this season, which has been a MUCH NEEDED improvement after the majority of 1 and 2's stories.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Jan 2, 2017, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Heya Everyone

I did something I rarely do while on my current re-watch, I skipped parts of it. Well, mostly everything past the 18 minute mark, when he says the new 'coffee' is undrinkable and Torres likes it.

Now the first 18 minutes, I watched that intently, to see if there were redeeming qualities that could have been a good starting point for, well, nearly anything. And I liked that first 18 minutes. Heh, "Wake UP!". And Neelix helping to change their train of thought when they were trying to figure out why the shuttle would keep losing it's engines. Yep, that first 18 minutes had promise, I think. While I did peek in at certain moments, I mostly skipped the rest. I am almost embarrassed to say that, but I think I'd have wanted that 27 minutes or so of my life back.

Your mileage may vary...

Take care, gentle sentients... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Dec 29, 2016, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

Hello Everyone

I liked this episode because it fleshed out the Kazon a bit, about their being repressed, that they revolted, then sending the Trabe into exile. Now we know more about why they don't seem to have a plan (at least to me), simply flying around growling at anyone and anything.

The only plan the Kazon ever had was to be out from under the Trabe. We don't know if they had a single Leader at the time, but it seems all the factions put their differences aside to cast them out. Now they have these somewhat powerful ships and after that, well, they didn't know much of what to do with them (aside from gaining personal power and pushing the Trabe around whenever they find them).

I'd imagine the Trabe had a great deal of space they controlled, with so many Kazon factions having their own piece of it, but it seems there are areas no sect really has dominion over. And, it's probably good that there isn't a true central Leader of the Kazon. If they stopped fighting each other and decided to have a focus, Voyager more than likely would have been in more trouble that it already was. Probably a large portion of the Delta quadrant would be as well. I think if the Trabe wait long enough, the Kazon will wipe themselves out through in-fighting and they will be able to move right back in.

And having the former Trabe space be somewhat huge would help to explain why Voyager keeps running into the Kazon (although some of them must do a great deal of traveling, to keep dealing with the Feds). But we know Voyager stops to look at every nook and cranny, so having Culluh/Seska keep popping up every so often isn't that big a deal for me.

I think if they'd told us some of this earlier in the series, I'd have had more interest in the Kazon. Probably, they just didn't think about it until later...

Now, one thing I didn't really care for. Chakotay talks to the Captain about making alliances in the Delta quadrant, maybe with some Kazon (hmm... former Trabe space really Must have been big for them to need a alliance to get across the rest of it, but I digress...). So he says hey, let's find someone, anyone, to form a temporary alliance with as we head home. It's dangerous out here, and we might need some friends (and a spacedock to repair the ship from time-to-time (my thoughts)). Great idea! Then the end made me feel like she was telling everyone Chakotay's idea was not worthwhile. They were already going to keep their principles with any alliance they made, and did that the best they could. Her speech came across to me as condescending towards Chakotay, and as his character just sits there, I felt really uncomfortable for him.

Oh, lastly, lower power on the phaser-type weapons as that Trabe leader was going to be in the next room, and lower yields on the torpedoes, so they don't wipe out half the city (just getting their attention).

Regards Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Hello Everyone!

Before Gaius knew he was being monitored, he said he knew Gaeta was passing information along to the resistance. Heh, then Gaeta says "No you Didn't!" and Gaius says "Yes I Did!", perhaps even implying he had a hand in making certain some important documents were left were Gaeta could get them. At least, that's how I took it. And those listening heard him say that as well.

Also, I tried to listen very carefully when Baltar whispers to him, and I thought he said "I will keep your secret". I think the occupation damaged Gaeta far more than we get to see. Of all the people who could, should or would want to kill Baltar, only Gaeta has tried (albeit in the spur of the moment), and Roslin mentioned she knew he wasn't going there late at night to ask him any questions, but to kill him. Maybe when he isn't in the CIC, he has too much time to think...

I watched the prior episode, where Baltar signed his name on the death list, very closely on my recent re-watch. It seemed to me that Baltar was saying "I cannot go on like this", and was sort of all right with being shot. But Imaginary 6 was telling him something along the lines of "They are going to Shoot you", then yelled "Sign the Paper!", or something close. That startled Gaius out of his reverie and he quickly signed, almost before he knew what he was doing. Upon that view, I felt he was going to let himself get killed, and Imaginary 6 tries to keep that from happening, no matter the cost.

Finding out the episode changed after the title was written, perhaps it was supposed to be more bar-centric originally, or more throughly show how everyone has the same or similar problems. I still have the theme from Cheers running through my brain...

Peace to Everyone... RT

...You want to be where you can see, your troubles are all the saaame... you want to go where everybody knooooows your naaaaame...
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.