Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 413 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 21, 2017, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Hello Everyone!

@Lupe

At least Gates didn't ask out during the season. Only being shown as a Doctor? While playing a Doctor? Perish the thought.

And What's Hername asking out of the show because they are writing the Security Chief as a.... Security Chief? The temerity! How awful!

If only these folks would have realized in season one how lucky and fortunate they were... At least Gates was able to wise up, not being dead and all...

On the other hand, I'd stopped watching TNG for being so awful, and this was one of the first episodes I recorded for posterity. I'd seen one of the Klingon shows and was impressed with the direction the show had taken. While it's not one of the best outings, I watched it over and over again because I only had a few of season one, and a few of season three (I did get the rest in re-runs before BOBW). So I never judge it harshly.

And I know how someone can fall for someone quickly, as Troi did. I once fell for a lady that came into my favorite bar. I asked no questions and we had a great time, until her husband came in one night... Gimmee three steps indeed...

But I digress. He was a cool negotiator, and oozed calm and kindness towards her. I felt sorry for Troi when she had to tell the Captain she'd been in a relationship with him, when normally it wouldn't be anyones' business.

Lastly, I always loved the look on the faces of the Ferengi, with the sharp intake of breath, as the wormhole sped away...

Just some random thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, May 19, 2017, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Why do I get the feeling the "warp speed damages space" thing will be ignored in subsequent episodes and series of Star Trek?

I didn't mind the Spot subplot, but it did abruptly end after Data realized that Spot was the one training him. Kudos to the animal trainers for the show, that look Spot gave him after he suggested she might not be smart enough to be trained clearly showed otherwise. (Also, apparently Data only now realized Spot was female? Seems like an odd mistake for him to have made this whole time, especially since she's not spayed and would periodically go into heat (you will never not notice the calling out of a queen on the prowl), or need to be given some sort of supplement to prevent her from doing so.)

The sister character was completely unlikeable, I was actually glad she died, to be honest, so we didn't have to see her onscreen anymore. And then everyone was all "why didn't we listen" but as Luke pointed out - they DID listen, her actions actually worsened things for her world, when even if the Federation had taken a few years to come to the same conclusion, her world would still be better off.

I appreciate some of the meta comments on "Trekkies". I do notice they tend to think they are somehow more intellectually or morally superior than the general population because of their enjoyment of a science fiction television series, and it seems like a very odd thing to believe. Just because I watch the same shows as Stephen Hawkings doesn't mean I'm suddenly a genius ;) As far as fandoms go, though, there are worse out there.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, May 18, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

I don't know if it's just because it's been so long since we've gotten an episode where they go planet-side instead of having drama onboard the Enterprise, but for me this was a step up from the last two episodes. And that's in spite of it being a Beverly and Picard episode.

I felt bad for the Kes. They were doing their best to save Picard and Bev and Riker was completely ungrateful. Sure their planet may not be perfect but if the other side insists on no contact whatsoever what do you want them to do, force it anyway? I can't see that going too well.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, May 17, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

I normally like Deanna Troi, but she was awful in this. Everybody was telling her how to do her job. Isn't she the ship's resident psychologist? And this episode just shows how wasted her empathic powers and refusal to grow them are. Another "meh" episode to me. I never had a lot of fondness for this series, but it's really winding down for me.

On a final note, Majel is a great actress, I actually felt bad for her. But it's hard to get emotionally invested in a comic relief character.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, May 17, 2017, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Hello Everyone

@karatasiospa, thank you for the link. :)

The look and feel of this trailer reminded me of a movie. Quick shots here and there, a little dialog, then show us the bad guys. If I was unaware, and you told me this was for a movie, I'd have believed it.

I know there are only so many settings you can have, but when they started in a desert, I thought ST:V.

When they showed the bald baddies, I thought ST:Nem.

On the other hand, I didn't mind the trailer, and it somewhat piqued my interest. I didn't find it horrible, just different.

Enjoy the day... RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I've heard USENET mentioned before, but I can't recall where or when.

I prefer Picard as a space pirate. Much cooler and less stuffy.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Alexander exists again. I thought Worf had quietly killed him off since we hadn't seen or even heard of him in, what, like two seasons? (Maybe not quite that long, but it feels like it.) What was the point of establishing that character only to do nothing with him and then forget he exists and have Worf go off doing whatever for weeks as though he doesn't have a small child dependent on him back on the Enterprise? Somebody call Interplanetary Child Services.

Geordi being disinterested when a real woman is attracted to him is hilariously ridiculous. And entirely hypocritical for him to find her annoying, seeing how downright creepy he gets towards women he's pursuing. But he's a flawed character, and it fits with what we've seen of his social awkwardness and occasions of being unable to look at things objectively. It's still really hard to believe, given how desperate he normally is. Maybe his mom's death shook him more than we thought. Or maybe this is just a badly written episode where almost everyone is out of character.

Data seems to exhibit mental illness... But it's just because his subconscious is making him react that way.... .. .? Uh-uh. Data can't notice something without noticing it. He's a machine, he has a perfect memory and is constantly multitasking. Either he knows about it, or he doesn't. Even if there was a hidden part of him that could know something or notice something without him knowing, he notices everything so it would never know something he didn't just based off of observed data. It just doesn't fit with what we've been told about how he works, and it's too late in the series to be trying to reinterpret things the way this episode did.

Why is Starfleet fine with Data stabbing Troi because he "felt compelled to"? If I kill someone because I'm sleep-driving I still get in trouble for it. If I kill someone and claim it's because the voices told me to I still get institutionalized. Temporary insanity or not, there should have been some sort of followup on it.

There's no way Riker and Worf could take down Data on their own the way they did, given how strong Data's been shown to be. He would have eviscerated them both in under two seconds, or at least thrown them halfway down the hall. The only way that scene makes sense is if it was part of a dream sequence. Having one of them come from the front (and take a few broken ribs for their trouble) while the other hit his off switch would have been more believable.

Troi is surprisingly vengeful at the end with that Data cake. She knows he didn't intentionally stab her or dream about harming/eating her, and since they recently entered into a patient-therapist relationship it's grossly inappropriate for her to bring a cake mocking his bouts of psychosis. Actually, that seems out of character for Troi, I know a lot of people don't like her, but she's never been shown to be that petty, especially with Data.

This is another of those episodes that is mostly random creepy stuff happening that doesn't fit Trek. I can't believe I'm saying this about a Data-centric episode, but not even he could turn this into more than a "meh" from me. It felt like I was stuck in a weird dream myself.
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Mon, May 15, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Agreed with previous commenters that some years under one's belt adds a great deal of emotional weight to re-watching this, as opposed to originally having viewed it as a much younger person.

In addition to the great acting by the leads and guests, I'd like to add that I thought Marina Sirtis was absolutely wonderful in her scenes with Picard and B. Crusher. So much warmth and genuine caring... a long way from the earlier 'Counselor' in Season One who would stand on the bridge and give vague pronouncements about the motivation of every alien race encountered.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, May 10, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Hello Everyone

My take on it was always this. His was not a new soul. There were two souls mixed together in Tuvix, and they shared a body together for a while, so intertwined they didn't know where one started and the other finished. So while I felt badly for Tuvix, and thought someone should have walked with him to sickbay and whatnot, those two souls were going to be separated into individuals once again. Two went in, two came out.

Secondly (and probably mentioned above, but I'm not reading 'em all again to see), I would have liked to see this have consequences over at least the next few episodes. Now I was never on the Neelix bashing bandwagon, and actually never talked to anyone who hated him when the show was running. I didn't like or dislike him, he simply WAS, as he was written. But it would have been interesting to see him be more thoughtful and contemplative, instead of impulsive and goofy. Maybe have an interest in meditation or something. And Tuvok, while still keeping his emotionless exterior, would start to try new things, just to experience them. Take up parasailing on the holodeck (for exercise, of course), or actually say yes to a new soup without a sour expression.

And they could have been shown dealing with their experiences together. Perhaps a few mind melds to help them put things in perspective, or re-live some of the things Tuvix did. Hopefully, the memory engrams of Tuvix would have gone to both of them equally. As far as I recall, nothing like that ever happened.

But most of that would have taken forethought, and asking the next set of writers to know what happened here must have been too much. Like him or hate him, J. Michael Straczynski would have had that happen, or something close to it, because on his show he did almost all of the writing. Maybe it's the downside of too many writers, and not enough imagination on the part of the folks giving the outlines of scripts...

Just some thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, May 9, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

Hello Everyone

I wasn't looking forward to seeing this one again, but figured I'd watch the performances and see how they were. Mostly, I liked them.

The one bad guy, that Tieran/Kes made bleed early on and who became higher-ranking, was the same actor who played the Klingon lawyer trying to take Worf down in Rules of Engagement. Ron Canada. I thought he was much better on DS9. Perhaps he was more familiar with how a Klingon might act, but was a bit lost with this new race and just sort of plowed through it as best he could.

Yep, I liked Jennifer in this one. Yes, I did notice the leather outfit that looks so much better than the potato sack she normally wears. It really suited her. I wonder if that helped her get into character, because I thought she was right on, playing the somewhat insane former Leader with flair.

Another thought on the Kes head battle between the two. The picture on the wall showed us the best vision of Tieran. I figure in Kes's head, he'd look very good, a General, styled, a perfect picture of health in his minds eye (Kes looked her normal, potato-sack good). But Tieran looked haggard, like he just stepped off the battlefield and had a heavy weight on his back. That look, along with the changing scene behind him, really worked to show how hard he was having to work to keep it together.

In conclusion, not a big thumbs up, but a small one. I wouldn't cringe if I had to watch it again, but I probably wouldn't look it up on purpose.

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, May 8, 2017, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Hello Everyone!

I hate to say it, but I've not seen this yet, so I'm still waiting to read the reviews and whatnot.

But I saw a B5 reference, and had to glance at them for a moment.

There were eventually two Star Trek series going on during Babylon 5's run. If all three had an episode during any given week, I'd sort of hurry through the ST, then watch B5 slowly and carefully, even letting the commercials play on my tape, so I could digest what happened/make the experience last longer. I liked the ST's, but I savored B5. Not every episode was a hit of course, and the 1st season was a little wobbly from time-to-time, but what a show it was...

I now return you to your regularly scheduled Star Wars discussions...

Enjoy the day Everyone... RT

P.S.: As far as Jammer not wanting to get into it, I understand. But even my wife (who originally was not inclined to want to watch it), upon viewing my tapes back in '06, would often ask if we could watch another. :)
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, May 8, 2017, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Hello Everyone!

@ChristineNotChapel

Welcome aboard! :D

And... I'd not thought of that. Lying like a Ferengi, scheming like a Romulan. Yes, not very Klingon-like at all.

Have a great day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 7, 2017, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

Hello Everyone!

I liked this episode a great deal. But one of my favorite moments was never discussed:

Banner unfurls...

Worf: Welcome Klingons?

I just thought that was a nice Quark moment. :)

Now what is he going to do with all that root beer?...

Have a great day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 7, 2017, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Hello Everyone!

@Gooz

Heh, kazoo. I had to laugh at/with that one. :)

*might be a TNG spoiler for season 5*

Miles having to be somewhat reminded about his tools and whatnot, that is realistic(ish). TNG The Inner Light, where Picard comes out of 30-50 years of a life and is still the Captain of the Enterprise, nope.

*spoiler should be ended*

Oh, and the comparison with O'Brien at war (in some truly horrific battles) with 20+ years of captivity and deprivation... well... that is very apples and oranges to me. He survived the war, and had some pretty unpleasant memories, but that would have been a relatively short period of time. He was able to get back to the Rutledge after all was said and done and move on with his life. But 20+ straight years of that jail cell might just drive anyone to madness over a scrap of food...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, May 7, 2017, 12:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Hello Everyone!

Maybe Kelsey was truly confused. Both Mott and Picard are bald after all...

Some never look past the hair... *sigh*

On a totally unrelated note from baldness, of course a mercenary team heading toward the Flagship of the entirety of Starfleet should/would have been shown some photos of the command staff, or would have known what the Captain of said starship looked like. These weren't rank amateurs looting a freighter, they were professionals with their own area of expertise in a carefully selected group, or they wouldn't have gotten in to begin with. In the Today of this episode, they don't have to know what the top Admiral looks like, just the Flagship Captain of this ship.

On the other hand, if the Commandant of the Marine Corps had been holding a saddle...

Just a bit of levity and whatnot, where needed, hopefully taken as intended... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 6, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Hello Everyone!

@SlackerInc

Wow. What a very thought-out response. I hope to see more of your thoughts in the future....

Heh, my thought was how could he start to do the day-to-day he'd done before, after being in another 'world' for perhaps 30 to 50 years.

If I came back after living another life for 30+ or so years in my mind, and went back to what I'd been doing before, would I still remember everything? I think back 30 years, and I remember Mike, who worked for the Post Office and couldn't stop smoking two packs of Camels a day, perhaps a few co-workers, some of the police officers, the quarterback who liked Copenhagen, the clerk I really liked but couldn't tell her because I was the Manager, how to make coffee. But ask me to run that register again in a heartbeat? Nope. Remember everyone who worked under me? Nope, no clue. How to run the phone? heheh. Faces would be familiar, and I would have things come back to me... but be a Starship Captain in a few minutes? Nope. Not possible.

I'd be very nearly clueless trying to get back to that day when I was a manager of a convenience store near that big university, who knew everything about it then, but would be clueless now because I'd not done it for so long. Heh, and I think it is a Nail Salon now...

Just some random thoughts...

Take care Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 6, 2017, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Hello Everyone!

Rain(e), Paris and Tuvok are standing together (and... They Have a Plan...)

Anyway, Rain calls Starling and tells him she really, really needs him to come rescue her. Then, as the plan unfolds, we find out that it all hinged on Starling going to her van. Her... van...

STARLING: Let's go.
RAIN: Oh, my van is this way.
STARLING: We're taking my car.

Now, they think multi-millionaire Henry Starling is going to show up to rescue/kidnap Raine MaybewithanE, then he'd just walk over to her van since she wanted him to, because that is where they have the coordinates for beaming him up set up? And they were shocked, surprised, that he decided they were going to go to his luxury car instead? What? THAT WAS THEIR PLAN?!?!

Apologies, I'd just forgotten how stupid that part of the show was, and I just had to shake my head at it, to get the stupid out.

Finding out this one was originally a three or four parter, I can see how some things ended up disjointed. It was like part one was the actual part one (which was why it was so good), and parts two, three and four ended up smooshed into part two.

As with many others, I wondered where the survivalists came from. Chakotay and Torres just happen to crash-land into an armed compound? Hey, all you folks from the rest of the world, some Americans can and will defend their property with firearms (raises hand), but armed compounds are not so prevalent that you'd randomly drop out of the sky and land in one.

I really liked part one, part two not so much. My biggest beef of part one was they couldn't use the main transporter, and had to drop down in the atmosphere to do so. Why cannot they visit the shuttle bay and just use one or two of those?

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 6, 2017, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Hello Everyone!

My first thoughts on seeing this one again were good, as I'd kind of liked it first run. This time around, as soon as the fellow mentioned that this was a sanctuary that honored their Ancestral Spirits, I wondered where Chakotay was. As has been mentioned above, he's the one that is big on spiritual things, and perhaps they didn't want to further typecast his role, but it seemed to me he'd be very interested in their tour.

I somewhat thought that towards the end, Chakotay was out of character a bit, talking about science when he is the one who would normally be talking about faith. Perhaps the episode would have been too easy to wrap up if Chakotay had been on point instead of Janeway, because he might have just rolled with it, whereas Janeway needed to be convinced.

For myself, I liked the ritual, and that she only had to go through so many trials and tribulations because that is what she expected (what she needed to expect was she had to sleep on fluffy clouds, but I suppose that would have been too boring). And I liked how she ended up with the three again, sitting in the little room, after zooming past them initially. It also worked for me that her guide was the person working on the light bulbs.

The look on Janeway's face was perfect as Doctor was explaining to Kes what he thought had happened, in a seemingly endless stream of techo-babble. She seemed to have felt she had done something purley on faith, perhaps nearly spiritual, and listening to Doctor try to dissect it was disquieting to her. Oh, and I believe they had Doctor go on for so long on purpose to show us the lengths they had to go through to attempt to explain what had happened, while giving Mulgrew the time to put on a 'thousand-yard stare' and zone out a bit as Janeway looked at things from her own perspective.

In conclusion, I was actually pleased this one was next in the queue. It is not a blockbuster, but is good enough for a small thumbs-up from me...

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, May 5, 2017, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Geordi's a main character, right? So how come, 7 seasons in, this is the first we've seen his family? We've seen every other main character's family, even the robot's.

I hated how after it became clear Geordi was really seeing something Picard was still against saving 300 humans, but when it turned out they were actually saving an unspecified number of space-beings that had already killed seven humans and were manipulating and hurting Geordi, he seemed more okay with it. Is Picard meant to come off as psychotic in some of these episodes? Because he does.

Data's already a robot, why couldn't he interface with the probe? Or why couldn't the probe be operated by remote control, without the need to tie it into someone? Yet another conveniently arbitrary plot point meant to induce drama.

I don't know why Picard's so against checking the possibility of the Hera being there when he's normally so in favor of checking out every little "probably nothing" thing and there are potentially lives at stake.

Geordi's belief that his mother is still out there isn't as crazy as everyone makes it out to be. The Enterprise has gotten out of worse and more mysterious circumstances. Geordi just fails to take into account that he's stationed on the Enterprise, aka the ship where all the main characters are, meaning nothing bad will ever have a lasting effect on it. Other ships aren't so lucky. They're pretty much the redshirts of TNG.

I found Riker's "just cry all night about it and you'll feel better" advice hilarious. Gross oversimplification at its finest. And Data's "do you require comforting?" and invitation to stare at a blank screen together. I find it interesting that in all their interactions so far Geordi never gets truly upset with Data and is always quick to apologize, but has no such qualms when it comes to his human friends. I'm not sure if it's because of Geordi seeing Data differently than other people, Geordi just never having a real problem with Data because Data's just a really nice guy (who occasionally commits horribly atrocities against his will), or the writers just not wanting to write any real conflict between the two. It's, well, kind of strange how Geordi doesn't seem resentful or angry that Data initially opposes him, but then again you can't really get mad at a machine for doing its job. Well, you can but that's kind of pointless. I guess what I'm saying is maybe a bit of actual conflict would have been interesting, if only because it would have given us a little more about Geordi and we all know he could use any additional characterization they can give us.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, May 4, 2017, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

The Picard segment was actually very creepy. The guy picking on Worf just came off as a racist who hates Klingons. At the end when all was revealed, the aliens still seemed like they took it too far. At least Troi got paired with a nice alien for once and wasn't raped. Too bad Picard almost was.

I actually didn't mind this episode too much, it was mildly entertaining. I don't mind occasional fluff as long as it's with characters I like, and there were some funny moments.

I have to express my discomfort with the Picard segment a little more, however. "Anna" was pretty horrifying. She fitted Picard with a device to keep him in pain/unable to escape, locked him inside, and sabotaged their means of escape. Then she tried to rape him, and threatened suicide when she failed. I know people tend to dismiss cases of abuse of men by women, but how is this behavior given a pass? I just can't get over this disturbing sequence of events to enjoy the corniness of it. The "twist" at the end where it turned out "Anna" was the ambassador all along was initially a relief but in retrospect deeply troubling. On the one hand the thoroughly deranged "Anna" wasn't a real person, but on the other hand the ambassador didn't seem to think his actions were wrong at all. I'd leave these guys off the list of potential future federation members if I were you, Picard.

Is it just me or is Picard less horrified by all the stuff "Anna" did to him and the fact that the ambassador did/staged it all than he is by the fact that the ambassador's ostensibly a dude? What a time to be alive.
Set Bookmark
Matsu
Thu, May 4, 2017, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

"You people are way too serious. I had fun the entire way through. "

Seconded. But that was only expected on this site. Utterly hilarious episode.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

Hello Everyone!

After doing a bit of research a few years ago, I found out William Windom was known as "The Crier". It seems if you needed an actor to have a scene with crying, or breaking down, you went and hired him (mostly for Westerns).

This heralded one of the most perfect castings we've had in the wide world of Trek. When he says "On the third planet.", it's pitch perfect. And when he later says "Don't you think I know that? There was, but not anymore. They called me. They begged me for help, four hundred of them. I couldn't. I couldn't..." I cannot think of an actor who could have conveyed the anguish he felt at the loss of his crew any more effectively then he did.

I really believe he was a great actor. When on the Enterprise, he truly looked like he was someone who was just barely holding it together, using only his will and training to keep from going mad on the bridge. And I believe that takes some talent, especially when you figure he was going from Westerns to imagining himself on the bridge of a Starship.

His acting set the stage for the whole episode...

Just some random thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Hello Everyone!

I also used to wonder why Commodore Wesley immediately thought it was Captain Kirk going rogue with his 20 crew members (What the devil is Kirk doing?). Kirk would need to convince the remainder of his crew to let the M5 attack the little fleet, and I somewhat doubt that would happen or that Wesley would believe it would/could happen.

And, why just have 20 crew for this mission? Let's wait until it has proved itself in all phases, then cut the crew down. Taking them out right from the get-go and giving them shore leave would serve no purpose, except to make it harder to take control if things went wrong.

I still love this episode. I can pick at the nits, but darned if it didn't excite me, and make me think, when I first saw it completely in the late 70's. And I still enjoy it...

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Still casting and recasting? Really? I'm not even somebody who's looking forward to this series and even I think this is beyond ridiculous. STD had better be perfect by the time it gets out after all this time in production. (It'll probably be the opposite though...)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I was disappointed that at no point during this two-parter did the robotic duo engage in some maniacal laughter. You can't set out to destroy the whole federation without some good old fashioned cackling. No wonder the plan didn't succeed.

That reset button is sure getting more and more use as TNG drags on. No consequences, back to same old same old next week guys. Geordi isn't the least bit traumatized by his best friend almost killing him in a horrific fashion. Why is it Data gets to work through his problems but most human characters don't? Even if Geordi understood that Data wasn't in control of his actions and regretted them as much as he was capable, he'd still need time to recover and come to terms with the fact his friend was so easily made to cheerfully torture him, that maybe his friend really was just a very convincing machine after all. Geordi will be having nightmares for months but instead it's HIM who's comforting Data, rather than Data apologizing to him. I feel the last scene would have been more meaningful if it had let Geordi be shaken by events too, shown their relationship won't ever be exactly the same even if both try to act like it will.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.