Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 488 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Hello Everyone!

Years ago, a friend of mine and I went to see Mark Allan Shephard at a, well, it wasn't a convention really, just some time with him up on stage. And I really enjoyed it. It was very personal and cozy, with around 60 or 70 of us there.

While I don't remember the exact things he said any longer, it was nice to get a different perspective on the show from one of the other characters, instead of one of the stars. He seemed a genuinely likable fellow.

I think this show had just aired recently, and I asked him his thoughts about it, especially how it showcased his character, though he was actually in a very small part of it (beginning and end). He said with a smile that he was very happy they'd done a show about Morn, but appreciated the irony that he'd been in the episode for only a few moments.

He'd said he was hoping for a line of dialogue before the series ended, and they had been seeing about that, but his prosthetic was pretty much a single piece, and not made with a mouth intended for talking. He never did get to say anything.

And yes, that was Mark taking Morn's seat, and they didn't let him talk either! :)

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Hello Everyone!

We got to see Dukat sink to the lowest depths of his madness, and when folks go mad, sometimes they say insane things. But also, we saw Sisko going in somewhat the opposite direction, saying in essence there is no gray area, only good and evil. And he would fear... no... evil...

We've seen obsessive Sisko before, and many have mentioned how... wrong and out of place the ending seemed to be. Perhaps they were showing Sisko being a little "mad" as well.
-----------------
Now for other things. No matter what they said, I find it hard to believe the Defiant was the only war ship in the area that could escort that convoy. And weren't there other ships searching for survivors? Might they have found them?

I didn't see anyone else mention this, but when Sisko clubs him in the head and runs outside, why didn't he grab the phaser?

Dukat said there was a bone regenerator in the medkit, but he wasn't much of a doctor, so he just put on a splint. Assuming the regenerator is still there, wouldn't Sisko ask for it and see if he could get it to work properly?

Enjoy the day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Hello Everyone!

I liked the scenes with Seven and Doctor.

I found it interesting that Da Vinci's programming required him to get winded when running up hills (and needing help from Katarina).

Did Voyager lower their shields to beam them up, while being fired upon by 15 or so ships? Honestly, I always thought that while the shield emitters work together, it would be possible to shut one set off so they could beam through. This time, it'd be one of the lower emitters, because they were not being fired upon from the bottom. And I think this is not totally unreasonable, as they often have "aft shields are down/gone", so they turn the ship around. Turn off a set, beam, done. VoilĂ !

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Pforts
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

One of the details I noticed in this episode was the return of the classic trek double punch! As Kira demonstrated in DS9, it's very effective against Klingons!
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Hello Everyone!

@digitaurus

I believe she Did want to sleep with him: *don't you want me to give you pleasure?*, or something along those lines. When he replied yes, but he wanted to give her pleasure in return, as equals, she said she could never feel pleasure again. They talk a bit more and then the ship is under attack and it is left at that.

She didn't refuse, quite the opposite.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

You can surround actors with all the flashy CGI and colorful lens flares you want, but you're telling me after all the development time, you can't figure out a more elegant way to do an 'exposition dump' than two characters walking along in the desert, delivering said exposition? During the opening scene?? Naturally, they have to repeat each other's names and ranks several times for our benefit, JUST like people who have known each other for years typically do.

I laughed during this scene and it didn't get any better for me, either. Dull, obvious dialogue and endlessly pretty lighting. The artistic striving of a Thomas Kinkade painting. Product.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Hello Everyone!

The only, only thing I liked about this episode was the translator having problems to begin with. It was sort of neat to watch them talk and then a recognized word would pop in from time to time, until it was sort of normal(ish).
--------------------------

Well, this is your world, but since we just traversed a whole lot of space through a wormhole (and we have a story), it must be Our World Too!

Naaah... I don't buy it. Darned if I didn't cringe through most of it, waiting for it to end when I first saw it (and again now). I mean, don't tell a completely different race that their world is your home and that you intend to live there even if they don't want you to. Perhaps they learned the wrong lessons from the Dominion...

Just some quick thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Hello Everyone!

It's been two years since I saw this one, but I've probably watched it 20 times over the decades. There was something about it that really struck a chord with me.

The more I think about it, the more I think it would have been better without the Romulans, but I suppose there had to be some URGENCY to it.

The creature was so, so alone, and finally found someone to whom it could talk to. And Tam was so, so alone because he had to isolate himself since he could not shut out the voices.

Symmetry...

I would have loved to see them again, either just passing through, or helping the Feds with a crisis that needed a badazz ally. When the fat hits the fan in later years, where are all of these allies they've helped? :D

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Hello Everyone!

@borusa

Hmm... That sort of scenario didn't happen during TOS, as I recall, but while I think Bones might have had more sense, he'd have gone to the person that was hurt the most and made them beam them both up to sickbay. Even if they said "NO", he'd grab the arm of the injured person, since we've seen that makes the whole party of two beam up. He'd certainly have been doing triage as Crusher was. IMHO of course.

I figure Crusher was with the most injured person, so they should have just beamed them both aboard. It wasn't as if they were new to beaming or more advanced races.

Eh, we can pick it apart, but in my humble opinion again, it was a fairly decent story and I liked it. Even if Crusher had beamed aboard, they could have kidnapped her from there with the technology they were using, as it seemed they staged the entire event to find their Doctor. I believe Crusher would have been taken no matter what they did, once she was on the planet to begin with.

There was never a time I and my friends (and there were many who watched Trek), when watching the shows during their original runs, ever said we didn't like so-and-so, or hoped a character would be gone. We just accepted them as they were and as they were written. *shrugs*. So it's hard for me to look at a character and deem them unworthy. If they have a fault it is the writers. I believe all the characters played them as they were intended to.

Just my random thoughts on the episode... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Hello Everyone!

@Brian
@Peter G.

I always thought Kirk meant Spock (half human) lived up to human ideals even better than the full humans normally do. I believe other races, knowing his lineage and the context, would understand what he meant by that and appreciate it.

Regarding color for the analogy, this is about species and not race. Apples and oranges. I do understand the concept of the thought, but I do not believe it applies here (in my humble opinion).

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Yanks

Fantastic! It was good to see that classic skit again. :)

RT
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Sun, Sep 10, 2017, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I watched the premiere...

My only reaction is that I am baffled as to how this got made. It evoked absolutely no emotional reaction in me whatsoever. I think I chuckled once, so no-go on the comedy either.

I have nothing against Seth MacFarlane... I'm grateful for the sincere work and the financial commitment he made to the remake of 'Cosmos,' which I thoroughly enjoyed.

I will remain baffled. I won't be watching any more of them, because... well, just NOTHING. I felt afterwards like I feel after eating an Egg McMuffin. Not sick, not upset, not impressed, not really anything.
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

What a masterpiece of hour-long drama and action. With the updated effects, it stands up with anything being produced today. Echo the comments previous on Windom's performance... a man barely holding it together, crushed in defeat, loss and shame. Doohan's performance was memorable here too, especially his obvious and constant irritation with the finicky transporter tech. I also love Spock's quiet, grave condolence to Kirk on Deckard's death. Tense, exciting, perfectly paced... it's just great.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

Hello Everyone

@Alex

I've wondered about that before. My Star Trek answer is that the Vulcans demanded and received a ship of their own, because, you know, Vulcans. After it was destroyed, perhaps all parties realized that was a bad move.

My regular answer is that they just wanted Spock to "feel" the ship die, and that the crew felt "astonishment". And from that we got the Intrepid.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Matsu
Mon, Aug 21, 2017, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Absolutely hideous episode that made no sense whatsoever. I'd watch Profit and Lace over this anytime.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Hello Everyone!

@Eric Stillwell

Neat! I am glad you stopped by and it'd be cool if you posted some thoughts on other episodes as well, though not to nitpick of course. :)

Oh, and I always have held this episode in the highest regard.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Matsu
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Absolutely hilarious episode. I laughed all the time.
Anyone who rates this as zero stars doesn't have any sense of humor whatsoever.
Set Bookmark
RedSportsCar
Mon, Aug 14, 2017, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Just saw this one for the first time, after missing it every time in original run and syndication.

The planet-side part with "Anna" was indeed tedious in the extreme. However, I must say that the second-to-last scene between The Ambassador and Picard was extremely well done... I think it was the combination of the eerie wind/sound effects, the rather effective music (some interesting melodic detail actually snuck through the usual background dirge of latter seasons!), and the excellent acting by both Stewart and Pierpoint.
Set Bookmark
Planet of Hats
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

The pacing of this episode is just so bad. The episode just spends a bunch of time characterizing all these meaningless characters who don't do anything compelling. The dialogue's pretty rotten and the point of the episode is lost among all the constant overly-rapid deluge of minor plot points. It's just bing-bing-bing-bing-bing-bing and nothing sits long enough to register.
Set Bookmark
TS
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

After having not seen this movie in it's entirety for roughly 8-10 years, I finally sat down and watched it again.... and wow! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed seeing this film again. I remember when I watched it back in my younger years, I thought to myself "The guy from Back to the Future is a Klingon?" and "This film is pretty poor compared to the others.", etc. My older self definitely doesn't feel that way about it now... funny how that works.

Christopher Lloyd's Kruge is an effective movie villain, not as good as Chang or Khan or the Queen, but I really enjoyed his performance. He flat out shoots the gunner after he destroys the science vessel and then threatens his first officer -
"Say the wrong thing!". Great stuff.

Plus it's crazy to think about the fact that this movie is the big re-introduction to TNG/Post-TOS Klingons that we will see for the rest of the franchise.

I also love that the supporting characters get their moments to shine - like Sulu getting the upper hand on the security guard who belittled him or Uhura locking Mr. Adventure into the closet. I always appreciate when TOS (or any Trek) utilizes their entire cast in effective ways.

The only sore spot for me, which has been mentioned by others on numerous occasions, is Robin Curtis' Saavik. She doesn't hold a candle to Kirstie Alley's presence/performance.

Overall, Search for Spock is underloved and I think it's proof that the odd-even number rule is a bunch of malarkey.

I would actually give it a 3.5 on the Jammer scale and put it ahead of Voyage Home (which I also re-watched recently and I feel doesn't hold up quite as well as I remember).
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Hello Everyone!

Some, including Jammer, mentioned something about the spokesperson of the Cataai sounding off. If I am not mistaken (and I didn't look the name up), it is the same actor who was on TNG Birthright, as the thumbless alien who gave Worf the information on his Father. And allso on another episode, Gambit, where he tells them Picard had been vaporized. He played this character exactly the same way, with the same inflections, and it was distracting to me (just a little bit), since I kept thinking about the other episodes.

Now that I'm finally to the Seven episodes, I will mention again what I thought of Seven's outfit. As a former Borg, she might like the catsuit because it isn't bulky or in the way, and is simply functional. I don't see a handy zipper though, for bio breaks. But her shoes seemed to be a form of high heel. I doubt she would wear those, as it would not be helpful for much of anything, and figure she'd wear a comfortable, sturdy, shoe or boot.

As for the prurient interest in her outfit, well, in the 90's I had a nice 32" teevee, and watched the episodes on tape. Watching today, the shows are still 480, but on my rather large widescreen (and Netflix) I did notice her backside quite a few times, much more than when I originally saw them. I don't believe it distracted me, but I did have to watch the scenes twice to make certain it didn't bother me. And while I did notice the ribs of her catsuit originally, I did not realize they were a girdle that sometimes made her short of breath, or faint. I just thought they were raised parts for some decorative reason. Easier to see on the larger teevee that they don't really move. I honestly don't like them all that well.

They needed a reason to get Torres and Paris alone together in space suits, so they made a core problem, then a fetching mission with them, then the shuttle had to have a problem (Let's blow it up! That'll be different!), then they have to come up with a reason it blows up, so they have a new species that does just that, so they can float in space with nearly no air. I've heard that some write novels backwards from the ending, and I somewhat feel this episode was written that way, more than most. Not a horrible episode, but not the greatest. 2 1/2 is about right to me, with a single thumb up. IMHO, of course.

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Hello Everyone!

@Brian

I believe they mentioned something about transporting heaters or something to the surface, but they duplicated and would not work. On the other hand, tents might still work duplicated, or 100 blankets might still work if they were duplicated. Oh, I found the heater lines:

KIRK: Isn't there any way we can help them?
SPOCK: Thermal heaters were transported down. They duplicated. They won't operate.

But I'm fairly certain blankets would work. Heck, they should be able to burn them as well. :)

Perhaps take the warhead out of a photon torpedo, fill it with heaters, and find a way for it to make a soft landing...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
TS
Sat, Jul 22, 2017, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Confessions of a Closet Trekkie

Very entertaining and sort of relatable in places, but I gotta say, Star Trek fans need to chill out and stop trying to "hide" their interests. Life is too short and too fragile to wring your hands over what other people think about your hobbies/interests.

Consider these examples: Imagine a Star Wars fan cringing over their SW DVD/Blu ray collection being out in the open when people come over. Or... a sports fan freaking out over their favorite team's flag/memorablia being seen. Lol, same sort of "situation", but for whatever silly reason Star Trek is the one that carries a "negative" context. If those situations are something that a person honestly worries about, then I'd suggest that you need to stop being brittle/insecure and just live your life!

Cripes. I've had conversations with people in the past where they've said "Yeah, I watched TNG on a regular basis and really enjoyed it... b-but I'm not like a fan or anything!" I rolled my eyes. Hopefully we'll all outgrow these insecurities at some point in the very near future.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Hello Everyone!

Upon first-run viewing, I'd been doing my best to not look for spoilers, and to not watch the trailers for the next episodes. So I was rather surprised to see Seven stay on the ship after all was said-and-done, when usually they'd just have a Captain's Log saying how they sent someone back to their home planet (or something) when the show ended. But I'd also seen Kes as a guest star, instead of in the regular spot she'd been in. I was a bit surprised. But at least it hadn't been spoiled for me. Mild Spoilers Ahead...

After I'd recently done some minor research into why Kes left, I'd found out it was supposed to be Kim who was written out of the show. From what I read, even he thinks his inclusion in the 50 sexiest men issue had something to do with it, because now even those that didn't watch the show knew who he was. I think that is why he had comparatively little to do with the episode. He wasn't supposed to be in it in his normal capacity, and they hadn't written anything for him. Yes, they could have given him more to do, but I figure they had their outline, and just left it as it was, except instead of dying, he lived.

I liked Chakotay going his own way when the Captain was disabled. It showed a spark from him that had been lacking, imho. Janeway said she would have probably gone backwards as the Borg wanted them to, but I agree with Chakotay that it was a step in the wrong direction. Heck, just slow down a bit and have the cube catch up with them.

I also wondered how Seven talked to them when the air was out of the cargo bay. Perhaps their personal force fields help with that. I also figured the Borg helped them out with the torpedoes hitting the 8472 ships. But when it took a few moments for them to die, as it were, I was surprised the high-yield torpedo simply blew the following ships up right away. It should have taken a few moments with them starting to shudder and shake before blowing up.

Some compared the visual of Species 8472 with the Shadows of Babylon 5. I didn't see the resemblance (although the sound they made reminded me of the scream of Shadow vessels). What I did see were planet killers that reminded me immediately of the Vorlon's, and the living ships as well. When they fired at that planet in the previous episode, as the beams came together I didn't think Star Wars, the type and style had me thinking B5.

Just some musings...

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Hello Everyone!

@Rahul

I could not agree more with regards to Scotty. For some reason, they had him lose his marbles more than once over a "girl". "Who Mourns for Adonais?" comes to mind, and saying he'd had a distrust of women in "Wolf in the Fold" because he'd been damaged in an accident by one.

Scotty was the perfect third in Command, level-headed and able to think outside the box during a crisis. He was done a dis-service with the episodes where he's an unthinking Neanderthal when there is a lady involved.

I just never understood that...

Regards... RT
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.