Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 2,103 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 85
Set Bookmark
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

I agree with everyone who says the scenes with the baby were powerful.

Otherwise, I mostly agree with Jammer; this has the ingredients of a very strong story, but never reaches its full potential. The speeches don't quite come off as naturally as I'd like them to. There's several details that leap out at you if you think about the script a little bit (like why a mining base on the moon would have a warp drive, or why a defense system against asteroids & comets would need much firepower). While I applaud the attempt to give Travis more characterization, he had no chemistry with his ex.

That all probably makes it sound like I'm more down on these episodes than I really am. I'll give the two-parter 3 stars. Not a classic pair of episodes, but more solid work from Enterprise's final season.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Another one I haven't seen in forever. ON FIRE.

I liked even better than I remembered. Excellent direction. Q at his best. Great script and lines for Q and Picard. Yeah, the Sonya Gomez thing could have been better, but still, a Next Gen classic.

The episode that introduces the Borg has to be!
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

This was my first viewing since the original airing. Somehow kept missing it.

I actually liked that they tried it. And it started out promising. But the ends of both stories just fell flat for me.

Still, I liked it more than I expected. Decent, middle-of-the-road character episode.
Set Bookmark
Matthew Davisson
Wed, Mar 14, 2018, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Can someone tell me why Harry didn't receive punishment yet Tom was locked up for 30 days and got demoted? Harry also disobeyed Janeway and stole a shuttle.
Set Bookmark
Tue, Mar 13, 2018, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

How did the Klingon fleet manage to beat the Defiant back to DS9?
Set Bookmark
Nathan B.
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Cellphone autocorrect error: "Dislodge" was supposed to be "Sisko."
Set Bookmark
Nathan B.
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Autod, you need to see "Rocks and Shoals." Keeven sent his Jem'hadar to be pointlessly slaughtered just so that he could save his own skin, which he did by surrendering to Dislodge as a prisoner of war. In that context, he's not sympathetic at all.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Mar 7, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

@John: "P.S. What the fuck is wrong with Paris? You don't admit that you made a bet with the Doctor in front of Seven! Are you an idiot?"

Paris wasn't an idiot; he was losing that bet and by making Seven get upset and leave he turned the tides and ended up winning!
Set Bookmark
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

I actually liked this episode! I felt chemistry between Harry and the alien chick (who was damn attractive--to put it mildly) and both directing (e.g., movement of the camera during few scenes instead of using regular cuts from one camera angle to another) and acting were handled pretty well in this episode. Anyway, the very ending was dissappointing and I'll use quotes from previous comments to prove my point:

@K'Elvis: "And why doesn't Kim leave with Tal, or why doesn't Tal stay with Kim? They are so supposedly deeply in love, but break it off so easily. Tal's breaking away from her society, why not come along with Kim on Voyager? If this biochemical bond is so strong, would they really have left each other? It's the usual Trek thing that the relationship has to end by the end of the episode one way or another."

@Kristi R: "And, oh, I just met the man of my dreams, but I'm not going with him. Riiight."

@Mazra: "And why didn't Tal join Voyager? She was obviously romantically involved with Kim, and she wanted to explore the galaxy. Any reason why she couldn't become Harry's girl? I'd give it 2 stars."

WTF, indeed...
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Nievesg "IAMD" is In A Mirror Darkly, the Mirrorverse two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

Hello Everyone!

Wow, what a great recent discussion!

My somewhat disjointed thoughts are that Jedi are trained to resist a Sith wherever they find them, no matter the cost. If it isn't a law, it's a rule the Jedi are taught from the beginning, since the Sith delve into things that are best left un-delved, and get power from areas that are better left untapped (dark side). And over the many years, they figure that is bad enough to override common sense and *light up* on the ruler of the entire known galaxy.

But when the Jedi power up before the bad guy does, they fall right into his trap. Heck, he's found a way to turn a stupid trade agreement dispute into full power for himself, and they don't think he is still working the long game? Even holding their saber *unlit* would be enough to convince that they were attempting to grab control of the government. Now, this was all manipulated of course, but they weren't bright enough to realize how they were being used?

What I don't quite get is why does Palpatine do all of this? He has a thirst for power, but once he gets it, what can he do with it? Conquer the outer rim planets? Okay, fine. But Star Wars never mentions an outside power or area to control. It seems the Republic had pretty much every planet within their sphere of influence already in the group. That's why they didn't really have an army, because there were no bad guys. He needed an army to back him up when he took control, and he got it (after inventing some bad guys). But what then? If he was looking for ultimate power, I think he'd already gotten that from the Dark Side, so now he just sits on the throne, with no one else to defeat? I'd think he'd get bored.

I'm reminded of that fantastic Robot Chicken skit where, in the middle of finding out the Death Star has been destroyed, someone calls him for a sandwich order. He'd hate running the galaxy, and the tedium that comes with it. While he probably *saw* a rebellion coming, he'd probably relish it because it would give him a reason to flex his muscles. And after it would be put down, once again, then what would he do? Now, if they'd even mentioned another portion of the galaxy that had different rulers (other than the Hutts *squish*), or even another galaxy to move into and put under his influence... maybe.

*I don't know... cole slaw... what is everyone else getting?... I'm not going to eat it anyway...*

And my ramblings are over... for now... :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Wed, Feb 21, 2018, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Hello Everyone!

Well, it wasn't quite as bad I remembered, but it still wasn't good. And Neelix ended up in Sickbay, on a spacious bio-bed. His book and blankie would have been just fine. I wonder where Tuvok threw his stuff?

I did like this exchange though:
CHAKOTAY: Looks like they went this way.
SEVEN: My tricorder isn't picking up any lifesigns. How did you reach that conclusion?
CHAKOTAY: Footprints. I guess you never assimilated any Indian scouts.

That did make me smile.

Enjoy the day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

Love this episode. Does so many things well:

-- One of Riker's best episodes and elevates the character. Perfect one for the exchange.

-- The Klingon mess hall scene is some of the best Trek of any show or movie.

-- This was an important episode in fleshing out the Klingons more.

-- Excellent blending of two story threads both in terms of plot and thematically (the Benzite on the Enterprise; Riker on the Klingon ship).

While not in my top 5, I consider this essential "Next Gen" viewing.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 2:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

Hello Everyone!


I noticed. But it isn't the only reason Tallman was (maybe) in the episode. She was Dr. Crusher's stunt double on TNG as well.

Oh, and I loved, loved Babylon 5.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Hello Everyone!


I always figured Quark kept playing with Dax, even it it often showed him losing, because he liked her, she probably brought a different perspective on how to play, and learning how to beat here could only make Quark better at defeating everyone else. I think the rest play because, to be the best, you have to try to beat the best.

Just a thought... RT
Set Bookmark
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

For this limited review project, I would have to agree TAS is a good idea - solely for completionism and given that it (deservedly) had such a short run. In terms of the site as a whole, as far as space sci-fi goes the only remaining "must see" shows left are Farscape and B5 (no, I don't regard Firefly as essential). But they are big projects and would take a lot more effort.
Set Bookmark
Other Robert
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Ed: "The show could have easily made it clear that at least a few years peace was in the interest of both sides. This is one of many things where the basic scenario is great and a good story is just sitting there waiting to be written and they don't go all the way with it."

Yeah, this would have been way better than wasting a bunch of time in MU.

Maybe in an alternate universe, the writers decided:

En route to penal colony, Michael gets rescued from a Klingon attack by Discovery. Saru becomes acting captain after the captain dies during the mission. Saru gets the exact same arc.

Michael gets stuck on DISCO because war. A bunch of people got killed rescuing her so now they need people in engineering, so she has something to do, and she feels double-guilty.

There is no Lorca, meaning we don't have to go to MU at all. We get to spend that time on getting to know the Klingons as real people/culture instead of props standing in circles in the pilot. (Don't get me wrong, Lorca was great but since he was thrown in the garbage why not just delete him altogether?) Through L'Rell's eyes we see the toll of war and feel them coming to the brink of internal collapse. Maybe the Orion Syndicate has been using the Federation/Klingon conflict as a way to take over Klingon Empire, so Clint Howard still gets his green cameo.

Stamets just deteriorates throughout the season, and the mycelial network weakens due to our misunderstanding and misuse of the it. (If this was supposed to be DISCO's environmental allegory, blaming it all on the evil MU was a serious cop out.) Now we can't make more spore ships and magically beat the Klingons with magic. (Though if you still want to make the MU sojourn for the purpose of showing Burnham a glimpse of !Voq then this could have been handled in a single-episode spore drive malfunction.)

Saru's Kelpian fear of predators and general distaste for mutiny predispose him to agree with Starfleet's plan to nuke Kronos, a plan that gets hatched immediately after the midseason break, because the cloak breaking schemes fail in the time-honored "Mr. Worf, fire" fashion. We spend the whole second half working on the bomb. We get to explore Saru's inner demons and see his struggle with fear vs. Starfleet ideals. Maybe we even have time to for EVERYONE on DISCO to weigh in (Lol, jk).

Michael and crew have to convince Saru there's another way. They hatch a plan with L'Rell, who has spent the season not in the brig, but on Kronos where she has witnessed firsthand that the current path is destroying her people too. It would have been actually interesting to see a fundamentalist revise her views over the course of the season based on her actual interactions with humans. Rather than magically changing because she's been in a cage for months.

All zero-sum Michael/Lorca stuff and Michael/!Georgiou stuff is now replaced with Michael/Saru stuff, which was genuinely interesting in the first few eps and had great potential before being reset. (Think of the friendship we got from Bashir/O'Brien S1 conflict.) It still gets to be a redemption arc for her finally at the end of the season earning Saru's trust and forgiveness. She still loses Tyler, but she has gained a friend or two--not unlike the end of Casablanca (though I realize Casablanca is not a TOS episode).

She waits til the end of the last episode to give the telescope to Saru, at which point it would have been genuinely touching and a visual symbol of the ship getting back to its mission of "discovery".

This route would have been more coherent, told the same story, and requires zero twists (though Tyler/Voq could remain unchanged).

Aside: has anyone noticed when review sites with a white background scatter screenshots of this episode throughout the article, you literally can't see what's in the picture because it's all so dark? The light levels in this episode were insanely low.
Set Bookmark
James Smith
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 6:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?


So, we've got Burnham as a full-on Mary Sue. The one true saviour of the Federation's moral code. We've got the whole war arc essentially resolved instantly by handing control of a Big F***ing Bomb™ to one of the enemy. We've got MU Georgiou still in play somewhere for no good reason. And then they cap the episode by showing something that's referred to as the Enterprise but it sure don't look like the Enterprise...

Nope. Sorry. This whole season has been one mis-step after another, and now it's fallen over entirely and faceplanted the ground.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Basically the evil, sadistic Lorca, while posing as a Starfleet captain, was winning the Klingon war, and the moment he left (first back to the mirror universe and then to death) Starfleet started losing the War. So what is Starfleet's solution? They go out of their way to recruit another mirror universe character; they seek out another evil, sadistic person to help them win the war. Because winning, even if it means throwing away your principles, is all that matters.

If that's seems like Star Trek to you, then you and I have different understandings of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
The Tower
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Felt like a Berman/Braga Trek episode, circa 2000. Let's see:

Contrived stakes: Check!
Cheap McGuffin to move things along: Check!
Quick resolution to a complex problem: Check!
Main character self-fellating over morals at the end: Check!

This is the same stuff that killed Trek on TV for a decade+.

I wonder if B&B ghost-wrote this one.

On the plus side, the Enterprise shown was what the Abramsverse ship should have been.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.

The opening teaser establishes the theme of this episode: Michael vs Philippa...or more precisely Michael vs an immoral and ideal-abandoning Federation willing to not only work with a Terran Empire warlord but give her command of a Starship and send her to nuke a planet.

Does that sound like Starfleet to you? I know the conflict allows Michael to give a big, grandiose speech about "Federation values" and she's right on, but it doesn't change the fact that the mission Michael opposes was ordered by Starfleet. It shouldn't take a commander-ranked, ex-con mutineer to put admirals in their place and remind them that WE'RE NOT SUPPOSED TO GO AROUND NUKING PLANETS!

I mean MY GOSH did you HEAR Admiral Lisp Lady's argument?

"We were losing the war, we had to do something."

I'm going to type this very slowly because I want to get it right and because it highlights not only what makes Star Trek so attractive and so unique among other sci-fi show, but also illustrates (by contrast) what has persistently irked me about Discovery...

Ideals cast aside for self preservation is the literal-opposite of Starfleet's mission in the show, and is the literal-opposite of Star Trek's idealism as a show!

Starfleet was Gene Roddenberry's in-show conduit, to show the viewers of the Star Trek TV-show what kind of a future we could have, if we stopped being so selfish. The idea of bombing each other into the stone age under the guise of self-preservation and the (very subjective) "greater good" is EXACTLY THE KIND OF 1960'S COLD WAR STUFF RODDENBERRY WAS ARGUING AGAINST WHEN HE MADE STAR TREK!

And here we see Starfleet using that logic to justify their actions.

For an episode that, plot-wise, was incredibly boring and uneventful, that realization (that Starfleet as Discovery's writers have made it, is the exactly what Gene Roddenberry was writing against in 1967) elicited the biggest emotional reaction of the whole season: And it was a reaction of profound sadness.

Oh but I guess it's all forgiven because the Enterprise showed up.
Set Bookmark
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

There are 2 types of solo B'Elanna episodes: "I can't control my Klingon temper" and these engineering ones. I would take "Prototypes" and "Dreadnaught" over "Day of Honor," (tho I love the spacewalk) "Extreme Risk," "Juggernaut," "Barge of Dead," etc. Except "Faces"—that was great, and that episode came way too early in her character progression. Would have been awesome in season 5 or 6.

I'm oversimplifying, but B'Elanna is way more fun when her Klingonness isn't the main focus; it's done so broadly t/out VOY, which is a shame.
Set Bookmark
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Just wanted to add a thank you to Baron Samdi for giving his reviews of Andromeda. I will finish watching season 5 and then probably thank my stars that it is over. I couldn't put the effort into watching, much less writing about, the series that he does.
Set Bookmark
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Just dropped by to see if Jammer had any insights into Andromeda. I've been watching the last few weeks and have finally reached season 5 and cannot figure out what the heck is going on! I'd hoped that Jammer had reviewed the series and could explain. Oh well. I certainly can't blame him for not continuing the reviews (did he even try to watch later seasons, I wonder). I must be a masochist because I'm determined to see it through to the bitter end but have given up any hope, based on the comments above, of it getting any better.

In any event, I've always enjoyed Jammer's reviews of SF programs/movies and thank him for his time.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

@ Peter G.

Excellent analysis. I never really thought about how sexually flippant they were in these first two seasons. All that Prime Directive talk, but the crew is apparently free to screw across the Alpha Quadrant.

And they thought it was quaint that the dad from the planet was upset about his pregnant daughter.
Next ►Page 1 of 85
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.