Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 77 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
TB
Thu, Nov 23, 2017, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

Very good episode but I have a bone to pick with the producers.

If you're going to give Kes different wigs during the show to signify what time period she is in, don't choose this episode to change her hairstyle! At the end it wasn't clear whether we were seeing future Kes (relative to the previous/next episodes) or present day Kes. What stupid timing that was. I'd assumed the ending it was in the future because we hadn't seen kes with hair like that before and it would have taken a long time to grow it that long.

Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Remember

> The Regressives are different because they don't like to use technology as much as the Enarans do, so in effect it's like Americans slaughtering Amish people or Mennonites. Why would we? I don't understand why the Enaran's want to kill all of the Regressives in the first place. Oh yeah, because they don't wash their hands. Seriously? What writer came up with that pathetic reason to slaughter an entire group of people? If they are that ultra-paranoid about sanitation, why not just do what they were pretending to do and move them to some isolated colony instead of killing all of them? The whole basis of this episode, to me, is idiotic.

But you could say the same thing about Nazi's killing Jews or Stalin have to target Jehovas Witnesses, Jews or most of the groups that went to the gulag? For the most part it was just a different heritage/way of life! Unfortunately it's not as unbelievable as it looks.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Honestly, I quite liked this episode.

The wormhole stuff was all a bit daft but the Ferengi on the planet worked for what it was until the "Grand Proxy" showed up.

I like that they managed to tie it in to the TNG episode and it does make sense that the ferengi would be viewed as gods of sorts. After all, they can make anything out of thin air. Though it does make me wonder: Can a replciator create gold? If so, why do the ferengi need the suspiciously human looking aliens to pay them anything?

Ignoring the replicator issue, the ferengi being greedy and wanting to be treated like gods does work and fit with the canon and with superior technology it's hardly surprising the bronze age civilisation saw them as superior beings.

The set up is fine but the episode goes down hill as soon as the "grand proxy" shows up. Even if we assume the doctor can make Neelix look like a ferengi, how did Neelix get up to speed on Frengi customs, traditions and philosophy so fast, given he's never even heard of a Ferengi until an hour before?

The ending is cliche. Of course the wormhole didn't work, it would have been better if they just used it to introduce the Ferengi/planet and kept it at "This end is unstable". Of course then they'd have to do something else with the Ferengi at the end.

Plot convenience aside, I did enjoy the episode and would give it 2/4. Not great but not terrible either.

And this goes for Star Trek in general. Can people not tell when a Universal Translator is in use? The Ferengi would expect the Grand Proxy to speak a Ferengi language, not Telaxian via translator. Any time I see a character pretending to be another race I wonder this.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Jammer

You questioned why Kol was on the Sarcophagus ship. Did he not steal it from Voq several episodes ago? After they got the Shenzou part...Where else has he been? Maybe I missed something.
Set Bookmark
TB
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Swarm

What the hell, Janeway?

So they violate the prime directive by interfering. They had a warning and obviously understood it, chose to ignore it, tried to sneak through alien space without making sure the aliens knew they meant no harm and ended up killing dozens of people who probably thought they were protecting their home?

Think of it from the alien's perspective. They gave a warning, then they see voyager, a ship with advanced weaponry, sneaking past their defences heading deeper into their territory at high speed. They don't know if voyager is peaceful. Janeway made no attempt to make sure their message and intentions was clear and understood.

How would the federation react if they told a romulan warbird not to enter its space, then found it cloaked and heading at high speed into the middle of federation space?

Janeway is completely in the wrong here and committed a crime by killing those aliens who were defending their home.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 2:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Re: Turler (Burner...whatever)

It is less that it is not believable or that it is forced. They just seem to have ZERO chemistry. It is not just solemn awkwardness (as a PTSD/former POW and a Vulcan-raised human). It has pseudo-relationship beats, but none of the pathos or feeling. I'd feel more if we saw them having a date, rather than blandly being a couple on an away mission (it's no "Change of Heart" for example).

At least with say Kira/Odo, you bought his feelings for her, and they had known each other for YEARS.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 10:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Interesting take from Ex Astris: "Tyler and Burnham are the perhaps most believable lovers in the history of Star Trek. The chemistry between them is wonderful; the romance doesn't feel contrived at all."

Unless he means it sarcastically (which he doesn't seem to imply elsewhere), it is a wonder he is watching the same show.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Despite enjoying it more than now, this was easily the least engaging episode for me so far.

Too much happening. Everything was rushed and truncated.

Likes:

- Burnham is expecting prison after the war and sees Disco as a temporary assignment.

- Opening battle was very well done. Lorca tried so hard to save the other ship.

- L'Rell has some sort of plan (who knows what?). Classic House of Mokai.

Dislikes:

- Burler (Tyham?) does nothing for me. I was afraid they were going to bang in the tent. Glad they didn't.

- Saru filled the all-too-common role of being influenced by the aliens of the week (but yes, they will be back it seems). The prey stuff with him is very weak to start, and this fit in with it, I guess, but it just isn't great characterization...yet.

Other:

- Stamets part did a lot in only a few minutes, but why didn't we see him "flying" the ship sooner? Will Tilly tell Burnham about Stamets' issues?
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

Scratch that above comment! I was thinking Voyager was 75 lightyears from Earth, they are 75 years at maximum warp.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Maneuvers

I blame Tuvok.

We can imagine that once Seska joined the Kazon her "command codes" were changed, but we know she was close to the rest of the crew. It's possible that she had stolen Torres or other engineers command codes previously and used those which hadn't been changed. Then presumably, after the first attack they change all the codes.

Why then, when Chakotay is captured wouldn't they change the codes? It seems like an incredibly simple security precaution that should apply to anyone in starfleet.

Tuvok clearly didn't implement a very stringent security regime, which is a shame because it makes it look like he's terrible at his job and goes against what they've set up so far.

In response to Skimpy's comments, a couple of the plot holes are briefly mentioned in the episode. They can't go to warp because of the ship lodged in the hull (Though as my girlfriend immediately noticed, the exterior shots show zero damage, where's the big hole in the hull?).

Oh and we also learnt that they can get home a lot faster than they're letting on.

2 billion kilometres a second is their warp speed. A light year is roughly 10 trillion kilometers. It would take them 5000 seconds (less than an hour and a half) to cover 1 light year. They should be able to get back to earth in under a week! Even if we assume a British trillion (a million billion instead of a thousand billion) it would only take them just over a year to get back home...

Some very poor writing there. "2 billion" sounds great, but it wouldn't have been difficult for the writers to have checked how it fit with the canon.


Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 10:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

0 stars. Honestly, ridiculous

There was a warp capable alien tribe living in jungles on earth since the dawn of man and nobody noticed?

That's not my main issue with the episode though. Why does Chakotay's irrational spiritualism get treated with such undue respect? We saw it in previous episodes with his "spirit guide". It's the 24th century and nobody says "What the hell are you talking about? You talk to an imaginary eagle? Please report to sickbay." In context, if he was spouting off about Jesus instead of "spirits" it (rightfully) wouldn't have been in the show or would have been handled as "*roll eyes*, he's talking abut jesus again". Why do equally irrational native american beliefs get a free pass? The white guilt in this and most other Chakotay episodes is cringeworthy.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Jammer I too was surprised we didn't get some acknowledgement of Lorca finding out the tardigrade had been freed. But honestly, the more I pondered it, it wasn't needed.

When everyone is there with Stamets after the jump, he acknowledges ("once you get used to the needles") that he is now the navigator. For Lorca's bit, the ship can still jump, so no harm no foul.

Presumably the consequences of Stamets being the navigator will be borne out beyond him acting high.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 12:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Jammer I have had zero issues with CBSAA, and I have watched all but one episode just after it is first released.

I was really surprised to see the issues with CBSAA streaming hiccups. I have seen numerous streaming complaints in different Trek places, so it is definitely a widespread issue. I suppose I am due to run into some problems myself eventually.

I have heard of difficulties on the CBSAA App. I use my laptop for streaming it via the CBSAA website, so maybe that is part of my escaping the issues.

Either way, I hate to hear others are having issues accessing a PAY service, and this was one of the pitfalls of making the series AA only (rather than broadcast).
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Michael

"It makes sense for Enterprise to come immediately to her mind if her 'brother' Spock is serving there."

At first blush, I question whether she would even know that. She doesn't seem close to Spock and her and Sarek are sort of distant too. How well know are non-captains on various starships?

Of course, in 2017, she would just creep his Facebook to find out his business. No reason she couldn't look him up in a database or something for funsies.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

This show is really finding itself. Loved nearly every minute. I like the more episodic feel of the last two eps. Larger stories are moving, but the in-episode machinations and character moments are getting strong.

Some thoughts:

- Lorca is so damn fascinating. It seemed Kat (the Admiral) was going to drop some Buran exposition, but all we got was Gabe beating the psych evals. I still there is more to the "I killed my crew" story. I want more details (like how he escaped).

- More Lorca: he didn't save Sarek for Sarek but sort of FOR Michael. He plays it as loyalty to an individual he sees as useful, but there were moments he seemed genuinely concerned for her (see his words to Ash before the shuttle leaves). Like Kat sort of said, we can't tell if it is REALLY him. Is he a magnificent bastard or the ultimate user? Is he this way because of PTSD/Buran or was he always like this? How does a phaser in bed help you get over the fact you sacrificed your former crew? Again, I want more backstory.

- Tilly was by far the least annoying and forced she's ever been. She is endearing and her burgeoning friendship with Michael seems good for both of them. "Green juice. Extra Green." HAHA

- Burnham was the most relatable she's been so far. Lots of moments of humanity, as opposed to woodenness (which I guess is her version of Vulcan imitation).

- Ash was fine. Not enough info to decide either way on the big theory. The last scene wants to push us toward some Burash (Turnham?) vibes. That's fine, I guess. If the big theory is true, then it has a Dukat/Winn feel (though maybe not as purposefully vile).

- As for Kat, her acting is sort of meh. Her outburst after the bed/gun incident was very poorly realized. I like her role in the show, but I wish she was better. Tough break getting kidnapped (lucky for Sarek he was attacked earlier). I did not see the trap coming (maybe I/they/Sarek should have?).

- Sarek was very good. Interesting backstory vis a vis he and Burnham. I really like James Frain in the role. Exciting to she Amanda played by Mia Kirshner! Haven't seen her in anything for over a decade, but was always fond. Vulcan looked amazing (as did the Nebula - aka the disco rave dance party Nebula).

- Very little of Doctor. Why is he always treating everyone? Where is the CMO?

- Stamets acting high/mellow was funny but was unneeded in this episode. Nothing else was done with it. On that note, was he used to jump to the Nebula? Apparently, they weren't too worried after he nearly died last time? (He did say, "once you get used to the needles" or some such.) That felt glossed over, like they cut a Stamets scene. Next week looks Stamets/time jump/loop focused, so hopefully that thread can move some.

- Crew is becoming teamy and closer. Other than Ash and Burnham, weren't the rest all on Discovery all this time? Why haven't others risen to important ship positions or made friends with Stamets/Tilly/etc or earned some of Lorca/Saru's confidence? I guess it is just part of Michael's plot contribution. Everyone was just lost/uninteresting before she showed up. I just accept that as part of the plot contrivance, but on the heels of the Shenzhou crew (esp. Saru/Michael) seeming like near-strangers after 7(!) years, it feel like Disco crew is socializing at a lightning pace.

- Easter egg: Nice to see Connies mentioned (not sure if Burnham had to mention the Enterprise - there are others, right?).

- Hologram battle training: A little too holodecky, but I read elsewhere that TAS played with the idea of holodecks (or similiar tech) this early in the timeline. I can buy the notion that the holograms are not up to future TNG/DS9/VOY level of sophistication.

Probably forgot some stuff. Eager for others' (and Jammer's) thoughts.
Set Bookmark
TB
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Lots of unanswered questions but overall I enjoyed this episode.

My biggest complaint is that Amelia Earheart, someone we know to be incredibly adventurous and loved challenging herself would never have chosen to stay on the planet. Does anyone really think she would give up the opportunity to see the stars and potentially learn to fly a starship in order to stay on a planet which, from her perspective, she's known about for a couple of hours and on which she knows nobody?

The script called for her to not be in the next episode and it stood out a mile away. I'd rather have had a silly technobabble explanation of why she couldn't leave the planet (that argon atmosphere she's got used to in stasis or something) or better yet, have her and her navigator take a shuttle (or even an alien ship!) and go off and explore the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Having read up more on the Ash = Voq stuff, it is pretty damning (some of the real-world evidence). But, what about how it would work in universe?

If Ash is Voq, it sure seems like he was mindwiped and given this Tyler persona (presumably based on an actual either former prisoner or just death at the BotBS). That anger when he was punching her was very visceral. If he isn't aware he is formerly Voq, then In this case, giving up everything for Voq was giving up everything Voq. How then will he be useful as the mindwiped former Voq? Maybe they (LRell and co.) will retrieve him later? Maybe he will be activated (or is subtly programmed) somehow?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Yanks I watched the first and most recent After Treks. It is really shoddy. The interviews add nothing and it feels so forced and superficial. The host is so annoying. (Who is this guy anyway?) I am not a Walking Dead viewer, so I don't know if Talking Dead (which is what AT obviously is trying to be) is actually any good. Who asked for aftershows in the first place?
Set Bookmark
TB
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

So the crew have replicator rations because ordering a coffee uses up too much reserve power, but the holodeck, which must use an order of magnitude more is allowed?
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Omicron "So this is the Mudd episode, eh?"

Not sure if you meant THE episode as in the ONE episode. It certainly seems like Mudd was set up to come back. I have heard as few as 2 eps total and possibly many more. How will he escape though? Time will tell, I guess.
Set Bookmark
TB
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

There are a lot of things to criticise about this episode but I'd still give it a solid 3 stars.

There are some interesting concepts, unfortunately most go ignored or unexplored.

Harry basically breaks the prime directive by showing/telling a society that all their beliefs are nonsense and they just rot in a cave. It would have been better to show the society wide repercussions of that and how ridiculous it was that people were choosing to die for their blind faith.

Instead, we see this touched upon slightly but mostly ignored. The episode could have explored what it meant for the prime directive: Should Harry lie to them to avoid breaking the prime directive? Is lying to them about their religious beliefs moral? Alternatively it could have gone down the route of showing what happens when people realise what they had believed their whole life is wrong.

Either of these would have been more interesting than what we got. My biggest gripe, however, is the religious pandering at the end with "neural energy swirling". It would have been far more powerful if the episode had made it clear they they just decomposed in the cave and the society would need to deal with that.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 3:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Brian "We have a gay couple just copy-pasted into the show...It feels like it was forced into the show by some committee."

Every pre-existing couple in any media is copy-pasted/forced under this definition. Your "challenge to writing romance" argument might work if it wasn't couched in a larger bullshit argument.

The previous 100% of pre-existing couples on Star Trek were Straight. Why wasn't it a problem for them? Why aren't they forced by a committee?

If anything, the inclusion of a gay relationship in this manner is more normalizing and accepting. Why do the writers have to justify a gay relationship by bringing you along slowly?

This is the same bullshit argument against any diversity in casting/characters. Oh, Michael is a black woman, must be copy-pasted/forced. Phillipa was Asian, must be copy-pasted/forced. Lorca is a white man...no copy pasting there. Nothing forced about a white male captain.

"Honestly as a gay man, I would think you'd be offended by their portrayal."

Give me a fucking break...own your prejudice. You couldn't sound more ignorant if you tried.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 11:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@snitch "I am surprised some Americans are uncomfortable with cussing or nudity."

For the record, I am uncomfortable with neither. America has nothing to do with it.

The "fucks" felt gratuitous because we have hundred of hours of Starfleet crews interacting (many in life and death scenarios) and no one ever said "fuck." Leaving out the movies (and Picard's French muttering), no one ever said "shit" either.I curse more in an afternoon than Star Trek ever has. It just feels weird so far. As time goes on, it won't. But right now, noncursing Starfleet is ahead 4000 hours (or whatever) to 5.

That being said, this usage was more organic than most (an excited utterance).

I have seen the argument elsewhere that cursing (and potential nudity - since you brought it up) makes it a show people cannot watch with their kids. I don't really but that words themselves are "bad" (aside from slurs), but that doesn't mean there are no consequences for using them in the wrong place (school, job interview, court, etc.).

I do, however, not want to alienate part of the audience, because the use of unnecessary f-bombs turns them away.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

also @startrekwatcher

"The whole subplot in the Klingon ship was utter filler. Nothing happened. No plot development, no adding to the arc. "

We got some of Lorca's backstory. We added Ash Tyler. We met Harry Mudd. We saw L'Rell has a ship now. We didn't see Voq. (And without the need to go after Lorca, the tardigrade/Saru plots don't move in the same ways.)

This is one of the issues with the serialization. All these pieces add to the overall framework, but may be largely unsatisfying until they pay off.

I rather enjoy this change (toward serialization). It is more DS9 than Voyager. I like things to pay off and have many layers. Voyager was the king (queen?) of leaving plots unreturned to.

I understand that some viewers do not enjoy this change. They are not wrong to not enjoy it. To each his own. I, for my two cents, enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
WTBA
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@startrekwatcher

" The characters have no chemistry, they barely interact, they’re insufferable people."

I really thought they worked well together this episode. Stamets, the Doc, Michael, and Tilly.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.