Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Good episode. The twist elevated it.

Good points made about the lack of background on the TNG characters. Then again, we don't have a lot of background on the TOS characters either imho. It doesn't seem like background details weren't really worked on until DS9.

The book "The Buried Age" does a good job of exploring the post-Stargazer era. Picard does some teaching and commands a Miranda-class vessel on an archeological mission. He meets Data, who still has under-developed social skills because Starfleet has basically kept him out of the way and everyone avoids him.

They had a whole Stargazer book series going for awhile. Unfortunately, the first several installments were pretty bad and the series was discontinued just as it was starting to get better. I do wish more thought had gone into developing Picard's back story. The idea that he commanded one starship for two decades like Kirk did makes me feel like we're missing a lot.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Loved this episode! Great work by Stewart, Frakes and of course Terry O'Quinn.

Perhaps it was the darker story popping up in TNG, but I found the story refreshing. And hey, you can just retcon the Pegasus mission as a Section 31 operation. ;) Loved the misdirecting and lighthearted opening scene. Genuinely hilarious and then meant to contrast Riker and Picard's friendship against the later scenes.

The visuals were great. Loved the Enterprise going into the asteroid. The mystery was well played and kept me riveted. The Enterprise engaging a cloaking device is a rare "cool" moment on TNG. In the books, the Romulans have perfected the phase cloak, which is kind of terrifying.

The only thing that felt a little hollow was how Riker was going to face some "hard questions" and of course he never does and it never comes up again. Not even in the books.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Nov 23, 2012, 2:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Great premise. Great episode. I especially liked how it put Worf in the center of a very un-Worf-like episode (nothing much on combat and honor etc.).

I have never thought of the episode as cheap looking. I would say TNG was not going for spectacle in its final season. It seemed they were going for quieter character episodes. It must have worked because it netted them a Best Drama Emmy nod (I wonder what episodes were submitted to the academy?). They had started to work CGI into the show in its final season, but it seems they never felt the need to really go nuts. Yet the Maquis attack on the Cardassian ship in the penultimate episode was well done and of course AGT looked fantastic.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

TNG doing DS9. That has always been my take on this two-parter. You have the usually prim and proper TNG crew getting down and dirty (Riker punches Picard right in the face!). Everyone is dabbling in deception.

The shoot-out in the forest was cool (actual location shooting!) and I liked the guest characters and actors. Richard Lynch! I wanted Picard to tell him, "Time to die." Love the moment when the one mercenary refers to Galen as "captain" and Picard has to reign in his reaction.

I loved the Vulcan weapon revealed at the end.

I also loved the ending scene. I always imagined Riker screaming Data's name in that final shot as the ship flies away and Data hauls Riker to the brig.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

@ Nick P.: I'm pretty sure this was the only Trek episode ever to do the episode credits before the regular opening credits.

As I always assumed, I think they moved the onscreen credits because they didn't want them playing over the big shoot-out. If they had waited until after the shoot-out, the credits would have run pretty late in the episode.

Then again, they could have held the arrival at the starbase until after the opening credits sequence.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Thu, Sep 13, 2012, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

I was always disappointed that we never saw more of the interior of the runabouts.

Clearing away the transporter from the cockpit was a good idea to give it more space, but then we never saw where the transporters went. Just somewhere in the back.

Supposedly the middle and aft were modular. Once years ago I found a website where someone designed all these different modules for the runabouts. There was one that functioned as a medical rescue ship, another was a transport and another had a balanced suite of quarters, medical bay, science lab and armory. Essentially since the runabouts were actual starships with a class and name designations, it only made sense.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 3:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I always wanted to see Die Hard on Trek, so this was basically aimed straight at me.

However, at that point in my life I was frankly looking for a little more carnage and action. I could usually depend on DS9 for that (we never saw any kind of "automatic" weapon in Trek until we were introduced to the Jem'Hadar rifle). It was a big reason I loved it so much at the time. And this episode promised much, but did not deliver what I had hoped.

I mean, it WAS interesting to see Action Picard every now and then. As we saw, he was more prone to that when he was young. But his character always seemed better suited to brief bursts of violence. Perhaps like a samurai. His charging right at the terrorist in The High Ground is more of what I'm thinking.

What was always kind of hard to reconcile with this episode was the seriousness of what was happening on the ship with the almost sitcom-like set up on the planet (it was a similar problem with First Contact). Picard running from the reception is one of the funniest bits we've ever seen with the captain.

And his last line in the episode is worthy of any 80s action film one liner.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

I always appreciated the visceral and brutal shoot-out at the starbase in the opening. A nice change for TNG. It was a mostly effective season finale, but it kind of petered out before the cliffhanger.

Data's attempt to recreate what happened was strangely hilarious. The confused look on his face when he tossed the drone always got a big laugh from me. Anyone else think that particular drone was actually an elderly drone?

By the way, this was the only episode ever to have its credits in the teaser. I figured it was that they didn't want the credits all over the shoot-out.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 2:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

A very enjoyable episode. Loved the humor, especially in the teaser (Picard impersonating someone and Data's reaction) and it was just a great idea.

Also loved the continuity with the Devidians as well as the TNG crew using a runabout (never did get its name).

It's also interesting to note that this was the only time we ever saw the aft section of a runabout.

Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Jun 22, 2012, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

To me the best part is Madred's plea of "Help me!" as Lemec comes in to free Picard. All the more important by how he's marginalized the moment Lemec enters the room. His plea pathetically comes from off-screen.

He was just as dependent on having a victim to give him purpose on his backwater planet.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Jun 1, 2012, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

The conversation between Scotty and Picard in the holodeck is one of the all-time best scenes in Trek.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, May 13, 2011, 3:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

This was an interesting "Age of Innocence"-esque episode.

Lots of interesting subtext:

-I think this was Famke Janssen's debut and then eight years later her and Patrick Stewart team up again for the X-Men films.

-Love the hilarious holodeck line, which was the one time it was pretty explicitly stated that the holodecks were used for sex, but that Riker uses it for that purpose was an interesting quirk.

-Geordi's throwaway line later references the dolphins that the TNG Manual said were onboard.
Set Bookmark
Sxottlan
Fri, Apr 1, 2011, 4:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

The thing that took me some years to realize is how silly the whole unification concept was. I mean, a rift develops in cultures all the time and there are parting of ways. It happens all the time. Why was it such a big deal to have these two societies merge?

And what measures are being taken on Vulcan to prepare them for this merger? Nothing. There's this under-current of not so much a coming together, but of trying to make the Romulans behave like Vulcans.

Even though the recent book "Rough Beasts of Empire" wasn't that great, at least there was finally someone in the Trek universe telling Spock that the whole idea was just flat out naive.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.