Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 100 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

I really dislike the "it's in their nature" conclusion. For one, the story contradicts that by Smike (even without superpowers, he is said to be basically like them) and Seniel. It basically absorbs Arik of any responsibility for how they turned out, we have seen him telling them about how they are the master race since childhood after all. And I think it in a way undermines Khan as a character, to say he's just been engineered to be what he is. Like, I saw the "superior ability breeds superior ambition" from the original episode as just statement about human nature in general. Also, yet more "your can't escape your nature" from Star Trek. Fuck off.

Also, AGAIN, complex sympathetic villain seeing the light and being replaced by the second bugfuck evil villain by the end. Is anybody else bothered by this? Am I the only one who even noticed this happening over and over again in Trek?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

For me, this episode solidified the main issue with Archer’s arc and the use of Vulcans on Enterprise in general: You can’t do a story about a a person overcoming their bigotry and still have all of their prejudiced assumptions proven correct anyway.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Consider: Purpose of TV teasers is to excite you for the episode and to give you some idea what it's going to be about this week, often with a dramatic cliffhanger. All that happens in this teaser, is that we see Mayweather sit on his favorite place and Archer calling him to meet him. Meaning that just doing a Mayweather story at all was a shocking twist. That's both hilarious and sad.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Okay, a lot of discussion about the episode revolves around to how sympathetic or unsympathetic Archer is. Let's just ignore that for a moment and look at the it on its own: Does it work aside from that?

Well, it's a comedy and not particularly highbrow one. But I don't think comedy really needs to be. Sometimes, even dumb humor can be funny. I do get a giggle at some of the stuff from Kung-Pow. But that's kinda because of just how dumb it is. I just don't think this one reaches that-partly because it doesn't really have much energy to it. I thought the fart gag at the beginning was little funny, and the scene where he tries to one up T'Pol gets a giggle. Otherwise, I thought it was mostly just embarrassing. Honestly, it's when the episode isn't trying to be funny, I had the most laugh, like Archer's Star Trek Captain speech about Kreetasans hurting his dog or him angrily watching water polo.

Writing wise, it's not too great. For one, what was the point the timer? What did that tell us? Archer bringing Porthos with him in the first place is very contrived. The sexual tension bit comes straight out of nowhere, not just series wide, but in the episode itself.

@skindles

1) I dunno about T'Pol, but Trip peeing on something sacred and getting sick from it does sound like on of his plots.

2) I'm not sure I buy Archer would care half as much.

"Never once complained to Kreetasans themselves". Later in the episode, he complains to Phlox about how they don't care about Porthos being sick. How would they know if Archer hadn't actually called them to tell them what assholes they are?

"didn't do anything drastic about it"

The first scene after the intro is him telling Trip they should just risk the ship and not bother anymore. And that's before he knows Porthos is sick.

As for "permission", he sent them his genetic profile. Even if they got from it that it's animal level intelligence, they likely figured out it was trained enough not to pee on random things because otherwise, why would anybody be so stupid as to bring it with them?

Also, asking somebody if they apologized like he told them to do and then literally thirty seconds later getting pissed off at them for apologizing goes beyond just being whiny, that's straight up crazy.

And the thing is, this all might be fine, if it was say, early or middle season 1. But this is Season 2. And this isn't a new situation, we have seen Archer being a stubborn ass unwilling to compromise. It's one thing for him to make mistakes and learn from it but you can't have him do the same mistakes over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

The year is 2001 and after 35 years over numerous movies and TV shows, with their archetype being explored and played with not just in Star Trek but many other works of sci-fi, here is Star Trek's take on Klingons for the modern era: Dumb one-dimensional thugs who want to die in battle and say honor a lot.

Couple of cute character interactions, but otherwise, I found this one just kinda boring.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 5:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Sorry, one more thing: I know there is a lot of discussion over whether Vulcans on Enterprise were written well or not. An argument has been made that they acted like assholes a lot in previous shows and fans were just romanticizing them. Speaking as somebody who is fine with asshole Vulcans on DS9 and thinks the original concept for the Insane Admiral from Insurrection to be a Vulcan taking "needs of the many outweights the needs of the few" to its extreme, was a interesting and fresh idea wasted for the sake of mediocrity, I was mostly agreeing-until now.

Yes, some Vulcans have been shown to be xenophobic, arrogant dicks. But they have repeatedly been shown to be pacifists. Now obviously, pacifism is not a racial trait and no matter how big a part of their culture and philosophy it is, individuals will have different ideas over how far they should go. I recall that one of the reasons Sarek resented Spock for joining Starfleet, was that it means he was sometimes forced to kill as a part of his duty, for instance. But here, direct assault is shown to be their standard procedure, while our human heroes are the ones offended they would not negotiate (right after they discussed negotiations won't work but whatever).
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shadows of P'Jem

Well, I sure am glad they abandoned that stupid “both sides have a point” crap and just go straightforward Humans=good Vulcans=Bad now. And hey, the guys who beat the shit out of an unarmed prisoners, one which threatened to rape one are treated as a preferable choice.

Also, even if Tucker is right and the Vulcan guy doesn’t give a crap if T’Pol and Archer get killed (I do wonder how come he’s a dick for trying an assault, when it’s later said Tucker’s plan would achieve nothing anyway and only got lucky Shran was there), what exactly is refusing to give them information supposed to achieve, except to make it even more likely Archer and T’Pol will die? It’s not like they wouldn’t go through their assault without it. Trip is just being a spiteful moron.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Look, I'm no fan of Ryan-either as a person, or a character. I think Eddington was a pretentious, self-righteous dickweeb, but Jesus, at least he had emotions beyond "GRRRR". But it would be nice if there was some indication Starfleet is actually doing something about the pirates because as the way it's handled here, it makes it look like Archer's position is basically that freighter workers should just suck it up and do jack shit, while they do jack shit to help them.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Well, here I am, after idiotically delaying it, hoping binge this whole dumb show before Discovery airs.

You know, given how desperately they tried to make this show accessible to wider audience, the pilot isn't all that friendly to newbies. It's not really hard to figure out what's going on, but I can see this being alienating to somebody new. It's only 17 minutes in they explain what is going and who are the pointy eared guys and it feels rather obligatory.

This has a bit of an opposite problem with Emissary. While the introductions to characters there could get unnatural and overwritten, here they instead struggle to make much of an impression. They do define their characters more over the ep-well, except Reed, who here just has a funny accent and likes boobs.

The tension between vulcans and humans is a good idea and probably response to dissatisfaction over how wasted the Maquis/Starfleet plot thread on Voyager was. Still, I found it really melodramatic here. I know, I know, this kind of thing is largely matter of personal opinion, somewhere else I would probably be telling somebody complaining about what an asshole my fave character was with "it's there for him to learn better, it's called character development", but there has to be something between being BFFs and barely restrained racial hatred.

Everybody either complains about show's aesthetics either not being enough like TOS or DARING to even slightly emulate them instead of trying to look more "futuristic" (read: exactly as dated in few years), but I like the way stuff looks. I think they found good balance between staying true to Star Trek style, while still looking modern. Honestly, this actually makes the show look a lot less dated than if they made everything look like a freaking iPod.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

It's a shame they never had the Equinox crew reappear. They even could have used them for another shot at the Starfleet-Maquis story. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Okay, what kind of bullshit is this?
"I'm not taking any sides. Anyway, let's strip this one side of sapience or way to defend themselves."

I can understand not wanting to give them the technology, but if Janeway was truly not taking any sides, she would just leave. Not helping one or the other is not taking sides, not only sorta helping one side over the other-especially when the latter's position is "just let us go and leave us alone".

I do like they didn't do that lame shit where a semi-sympathetic main villain sees the light and gets replaced by flatly evil secondary villain, as Star Trek did before and will do again. Still, the whole "I AM THE GOD OF THE NEW WORLD" just doesn't work for me. I'm not saying they shouldn't have ultimately treat him as a bad person, but this comes off as trying way too hard to not make Janeway look bad for siding with Hirogen.

@skibble These "murderers" were killing actual murderers (as in, people who run around and literally murder people for sport) in self-defense and Janeway should have immediately brainwash them all? Even with what happens later (which they had no way of knowing and as far as we know, wouldn't happen if it wasn't for them), they are at worst just as bad as the Hirogen.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Okay seriously now, can anybody explain to me how does this make sense? "You are already involved, therefore you have to help them!" Why? As far as Harry knew, he was helping doctors delivering vaccines, not means to fight their enemies. They lied to them and as Harry points out, they have no way of knowing they are telling the truth now. Why does the show so often treats interference as all or nothing sort of thing?

Regarding comparisons with Nog... Honestly? To me, Nog is three-dimensionally flawed and entertaining character, to others he's an annoying jackass. But even if you hate him, there is at least something there to even hate. Unlike Harry, who's entire character revolves around being miserable buttmuch.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

While you could dismiss the episode as a simple ratings gimmick, I think it actually has a very valid purpose. At this point, DS9 was cancelled and Voyager was going to be the only airing Trek show till the end of its run. And unlike DS9, Voyager is rather disconnected with the rest of the Trek universe, taking place far away with only Tuvok representing something familiar. This episode not only continues to give the show a sense of progression but it also helps to give it more of a place in the fictional world it is set in. i also think telling the story almost entirely from Barclay's perspective was a necessity, you really need to have it take place on Earth for it to work and to have the final act have all the more impact. The holo Voyager was a good enough compromise for me.

A bit derivative of Barclay's previous stories, but they are all basically variations of the same story-people have doubts about Barclay's abilities, Barclay turns out to be right. A good episode.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sat, Aug 26, 2017, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

I noticed how Seven is written and acted as bit more sociable and easy going. You really get the sense she has grown over the years.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Okay, I think I am kinder to Voyager than a lot of people. So far, I liked most episodes this season. But to me, this one is a failiure.

Kim Rhodes does a give a good performance, but even ignoring the continuity errors or the questionable backstory, the story is just incredibly forced and predictable. Ballard never being mentioned before wouldn't that much of a problem-although I still don't get why they couldn't just make her the woman from Latent Image (who would have an actual reason to not be mentioned) or set it up with making her a goldshirt in some episode-if it wasn't for the forced Romance of the Week with Harry. As I said, since we know it's not gonna workout at the end, you need to either tell it in an interesting way or make it about more than just that. This doesn't do it. It doesn't say anything about Harry, nor does it change him in some way. And taken on its own, while the idea of getting a second chance is at least something and their interactions aren't really bad, it really does feel forced to say she has all that history with Harry. It's especially weird how the episode doesn't at all mention his fiance and it makes Harry look like bit of a douchebag. Okay, I guess maybe he fell for her before he got together with Libby, but he says to Tom he still considered pursuing her and stopped once they got on Voyager. Uhm, why? He would consider getting together while his FIANCE was around, but when he's unlikely to ever see her again, or at least in years, then he musts stay faithful? But he still went after Seven?

You know, people talk about "O'Brien must suffer" episodes, but those are at least about something happening outside the norm and getting back to his loving family, while Harry's episodes are about something good happening him, only to go LOL NOPE at the end.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Servicable, but not too inspired. Really, you could this "children brainwashed to be fanatics" plot with just about anybody. Perhaps if they brought up the fear of loneliness (as seen in I Borg or The One), that would make this more specifically a Borg story and would add more dimension to rather one-note First.

And good thing they gave a reason the Borg Cube didn't just destroy The Delta Flyer and Voyager in seconds, I was worried there for a sec. Sure hope the show will keep the dstreak going won't do somethign really stupid, right? Right?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@SouthofNorth It's clear Ross felt terrible about what happened and it was clear to him that Bashir knew and he had no way of convincing him otherwise, so he might as well try to justify himself.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Regarding Sisko beign bothered by old-timy racism, am I the only one who sees the connection between Sisko's attitude and Far Beyond the Stars? I'm not saying it automatically justifies it for everybody, but I find it strange it's not even considered enough to be mentioned and dismissed.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I think I can safely say at this point... There is just something that makes Odo/Kira romantic scenes not work for me. Perhaps it is that they try way too hard to show how much they love each other, instead having it come out more naturally. And what's weird is that not only I like their scenes from before they got together a lot more, I think if you took a lot of them out of context and said they were together in them, they would work a lot better than the one's they get now.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Oh yeah, I do give one point for Ezri and Leeta ending. Say what you want about DS9, it's the least heteronormative of all Trek till then as remained until Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

If this was just another mirror episode, I would propably like it fine, but as the finale for the whole thing? Meh. I did enjoy it more than Ressurection, which I found predictable and boring. This is just predictable. I don't think it's TERRIBLE, but it only really works if you look at it as a comedy-and it's still not a great one at that.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 3, 2017, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Well, as somebody who happens to be an old sci-fi serials fan (as in, watched shitton of them because of this episode so I knew what is it making fan of) I found this one to be very fun outing. But I do agree with Jammer to extent. There is this feeling writers aren't terribly comfortable with what they are doing here. Which is understandable, this is a big risk in and of itself. Still, one thing that irks me is that for an affectionate parody, there seems to be a certain lack of affection? I mean, I don't hold old serials as sacred or anything, of course there are going to be jabs at them. But the thing that made people love Galaxy Quest was that it was made with love-even for the dumb bits. Here, Paris has a moments when he talks about how he's done with Captain Proton and anywhere else, this would be a set up for him to realize how fun it is again by the end, which never happens. While there is fun with them, there is also a sense of "we are so above this". Like, guys, you had characters shoot their way out of event horizon and your current reoccuring bad guys are evil polluters. Shut up.

Nit picks: The jab at cliffhangers is dumb. The thing about movie serial cliffhangers wasn't that the description lied about there being some, it was about them being resolved by changing the scene while showing in the next chapter, by having the hero suddenly jump out before the plane crashed or something. And where was the Friendly Scientist character? Come on, EVERY one of these had one. I thought Doctor was going to play one, but nope.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@Luke The episode does not say the story couldn't be published by anybody ever, Siddig's character suggests Benny to go to an independent publishers and it's dismissed because nobody would read it that way. Also, the inspiration may have been Samuel R. Delany's Nova, which was rejected by magazine Analog for having a black main character.

As for the police beating, dude, police brutality against black people (and people in general too, obviously, but specifically racially motivated) happens TODAY, it's really not that out of place in the 50's. Hell, the current prez of the USA encouraged it (for people of all colors of course-he's nice like that) few days before my comment.

Since I didn't comment on it when I first watched it, my thoughts on the episode: Certainly heavy-handed and unecessarily so IMO-a simple rewrite for few lines and it works much better. But the episode doesn't have a naivite a lot of these stories do. A man stands up against the system in his own humble way... And the system hands his ass to him. And just the sheer fun factor makes this an entertaining hour. BTW, of all the 50's DS9 characters, Lofton's is the only one who didn't work for me. He was just way too over the top and annoying-kind of a problem when I'm supposed to be all sad when gets shot.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Okay, Captain Proton is easily the best "holodeck reactional activity of the season" so far. I actually started watching few old serials to get what they are making fun of. Thanks Voyager.

Anyway, I agree with others have said, the first half is great, once we get to the aesop plot with the aliens it's meh. The problem isn't really that the episode has the need to add it, that's a matter of personal preferences and I don't want to whine that they didn't do what I wanted. Problem is that as Tmrn explained above, it's not very good. I think the garbage men aliens are actually a pretty good idea-at very least, they are a bit more original than just another xenophobic power-but they are once again, written as boringly one-dimensionally evil. You couldn't have the leader guy at least be skeptical of the solution, instead of just being a greedy bastard?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

While definitely recycling ideas from other episodes, I would say this one falls into "an old story well-told" category. Could be because I think I might have a soft spot for stories about weird motherhood. I was worried how were they going to handle the inevitable exit of One. We know he has to go and him heroically sacreficing himself would be particulary generic way to go and I was prepared to be disappointed when he blew up with the sphere. And then he beams back and comits suicide right before Seven. What a gut punch. I also give credit for bring back the Borg but keeping them extremely dangerous. Thank god they used a sphere and not a cube.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.