Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Straha
Tue, Mar 3, 2009, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

It's amazing that this episode, which in a way is quite derivative of TNG's "I, Borg", still somehow manages to be a masterpiece in its own right.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Feb 13, 2009, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Bit strange. Because of all the bad press "These are the voyages" got, I avoided watching it until just now.
The effect was that while I surely do agree with all the points of critique posted here, I in fact didn't find the episode half as bas as I *expected* it to be. Maybe if it isn't seen as "the episode that ended Enterprise" or "the episode that ended 18 years of continuous Treck", Jammer's two points go ok.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Thu, Feb 12, 2009, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

IMHO the only weak spot in this 2-parter was the slow beginning of part II with the hunt for the Gorn. Otherwise it was great fun.
Until this episode, I never thought Hoshi was hot - now I do. OTOH this is beside the point, though. I really think Linda Park`s acting as "evil Hoshi" was much better than usual, so it seems her regular character simply didn't give her too much room.
Anyway, I'm glad they did these episodes before "the lights went out". :)
Set Bookmark
Straha
Thu, Feb 12, 2009, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

I for one liked the female uniforms, though. :)
Set Bookmark
Straha
Tue, Feb 10, 2009, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Well, at least they managed to do what everyone thought was impossible: to come up with a believable idea to account for the human looking Klingons of TOS - hats off!
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sun, Feb 1, 2009, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

"At one point, Trip and Hoshi are suddenly paid a visit by Archer and T'Pol ... except that it's not really Archer and T'Pol, but the aliens."

Minor slip here: They are visited by (aliens) Phlox and T'Pol, later (real) Phlox gets a visit by (aliens) Archer and T'Pol.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Tue, Dec 23, 2008, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

This episode severely suffered from the comedy part not fitting in with the other story strands. I could have done without seeing Zek, Brunt and Moogie one more time. Or at least (Rob is right about that) they should have been given a more serious storyline for ending Quark's character arc.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sun, Dec 21, 2008, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I have to admit that I was bored to tears by this episode. Hasn't the "Odo-in-self-doubt has to consider whether to rejoin his people or stay with the humanoids" premise grown rather stale by now? While the review convinced me that the episode is not a total loser (it has its merits regarding the Odo/Kira-relationship, and yes, it's ok that Laas does not turn out to have "evil intentions") I still cannot find it gripping. Don't get me wrong. I like character shows. But I would chose Vic's lounge over "Chimera" anytime.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sun, Dec 21, 2008, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I absolutely love this episode.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sun, Dec 21, 2008, 4:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

While some of the criticisms (especially Brian's) are definitely right, I think the episode, as seen on its own, still deserved the three stars it originally got.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sat, Dec 20, 2008, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

It all depends on how high your expectations were. If you were hoping for a dramatic closure to the mirror universe arc with Sisko in it, then this episode is of course disappointing.
I however think it was a fun episode (quite good for a Ferengi outing too) which got more and more entertaining as it went. It also kinda served the goal to bring the mirror universe arc to an end.
So maybe this was not a great episode, but it was ok. I'd give it 2 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Wed, Dec 17, 2008, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I'm with R.D.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Nov 28, 2008, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Here it is: The worst episode of Trek ever, the absolute low. Actually, you'll never believe just HOW bad this episode is unless you watched it...
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Nov 28, 2008, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Reading all the comments, I came to the conclusion that this actually IS a great episode, and the main reason for this is that it spawns some decent controversy - which, all in all, is rather rare. I would rate it 3 1/2 stars. Regarding my own stance on the content: I think that Jhoh & Viper basically got it right (even though I think Mauddib succeeds in pointing out some weaknesses).
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Nov 28, 2008, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

It`s a good episode alright, and to be sure, it was not on Trip to force some issue here, especially not in a "first contact" situation. I still can't bring myself to think of the episode as an outstanding one because I simply wasn't very convinced by the premise. Like Jammer said: If the cogenitors are so mentally capable, they all by themselves would have sought a minimum of rights during the last 1000 years or so. What Trip achieves in just one day of interference only makes that point of critique stronger. And considering that the Vissians seem just so enlightened in all other respects (treating aliens as their equals for example), it's not quite credible that they would not even show so much as a glimpse of doubt regarding their treatment of the cogenitors. What IS the criterion according to which someone is to be treated as a person IF NOT their mental (cognitive, motivational and emotional) potential allowing them to think, act and feel like one?
Set Bookmark
Straha
Tue, Nov 18, 2008, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

I'm sorry, but I couldn't warm up to this episode. It's a ripoff rather than an homage, and the story is going through the motions in utter predictability. What finally ruined it for me was the writer's ridiculous idea to have the DEFENSE ATTORNEY sentenced to death (for all intents and purposes, one year on Rura Penthe is a death sentence)for "showing disrespect to the court".
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sun, Nov 16, 2008, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

"Darmok" has nothing to do with this. It's a most blatant "Enemy Mine" ripoff alright.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Thu, Nov 13, 2008, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I just began watching Season 5 and it actually feels kinda strange without Jammer's reviews ...
Set Bookmark
Straha
Tue, Nov 4, 2008, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

Sorry, but this episode didnt`t work for me at all - seeing the tiny Runabout flying through all these rooms made me cringe.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sat, Sep 13, 2008, 5:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Well, illogical or not, I for one enjoyed this episode. I was especially taken by the great atmosphere being on the dark rogue planet conveyed.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Mon, Sep 1, 2008, 5:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I don't think this was a good script. There's much ado about the "that's one", "that's two" etc mystery, but then its investigation does not lead to any real clue about who the assassin is. This is instead later resolved totally arbitrarily. I also couldn't suspend disbelief in all the technical means the script conjures out of nowhere just so that the assassin is unstoppable. I never like it when writers do that. By these rules, the dominion (or anyone else for that matter)could have easily blown up DS9 long ago.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Sat, Aug 9, 2008, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

What an awful, awful episode.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Aug 1, 2008, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I have to agree with everyone. This show practically raped the *character* Kes just for the sake of a few gratuitous action scenes. I so hate it when writers produce utterly uncaring scripts like this one.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Fri, Aug 1, 2008, 4:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

I strongly disagree with the three-star-rating for the season opener "evolution". Wesley's school experiment lets two nanobots with allegedly only the simplest of capabilities "interact". They "escape" and - whoosh - they evolve to a "civilization" in no time. I simply couldn't suspend disbelief in this ridiculous premise and found myself extremely annoyed at the beginning of third season. If not for the somewhat redeeming storyline about Dr. Stubbs, this would have gotten a "half-star-rating" (max) in my book. Fortunately the season *really* picked up later on.
Set Bookmark
Straha
Thu, Jul 31, 2008, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Indeed this could have been a great (maybe one of the best) shows if only the ending wouldn't have been botched. The whole business of reintroducing a caste system into a modern society should have provoked civil war all by itself, even without Sisko challenging Akorem's claim. I would have liked to see an ending where Akorem eventually realized that and stepped aside willingly ...
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.