Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 331 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

When I originally watched it I didn’t much care for it but I’ve warmed up to it ever so slightly over the years. Kate Mulgrew really felt comfortable in her role as Shannon O’Donnell who made me feel sorry for her and her plight in life —and the story has that comfort food feel to it. I could have done without the Paris, Neelix, Harry parts. Quite annoying but the ending was sweet

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I don’t get the appeal of this episode. I tune in to watch the tng cast not essentially a whole new cast of characters like are featured in this episode. TNG isn’t the only show I’ve seen do that and I never liked it when it was done. I’m also not a Trek fan who clamors for stories featuring lower ranked crewmen—I wasn’t crazy about VOY’s “Good Shepard” for similar reasons
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Oh and pressmans threat of “I made you mister I can break you” was AWFUL
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

2.5 stars

I think this is overrated

The best things about this episode personally was the action and jeopardy but the rest I was pretty much lukewarm to

A phasing cloak as big mystery reveal?!? Meh. I didn’t know originally that this was meant to answer why the Federation had not developed a cloak. Frankly not something in my opinion needed an answer to.

Pressman was absolute asshole. I couldn’t stand him any time he appeared onscreen. Little did I know that Pressman would not be the last time Moore would inflict insufferable characters upon us

Also I’ve never been crazy about the whole honor and duty schtick. Frankly it is trite.

I also don’t like seeing the crew not getting along

But like I said the episode did a good job with the action side of things Like the cat n mouse in asteroid field
The episode generated Tension with regards to whether the Enterprise can flood the asteroid before Romulans arrive and that was a clever manuever to throw the Romulans off and then another smart move was to continue to pretend scanning asteroid field to not alert the Romulans

It was neat seeing enterprise with search lights on inside asteroid and felt tension waiting for Ent running into the asteroid cause such an irregular passageway. Then when the Romulans notice enterprise gone sealing them in and could easily destroy them trapped inside



Tension on whether phasing cloak will hold and not give out before safely through the asteroid


Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

3 stars

I enjoyedthis one. Liked myth of Aldea
Felt for aldeans
Genuine helplessness for the crew with Aldeans upper hand with shields and cloak

Neat idea in 24th century younger kids already studying calculus. Really appealed to me
Just an sllsround entertaining hour
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

⭐️ ⭐️ 💫

2.5 stars

Everything but the Picard/Crusher sucked. The. kespritt were annoying. I’m not big on trek romances but the only ones I enjoyed were Sisko/Yates in the later years, Riker/Troi and Picard/Crusher. They had a genuine chemistry and I always rooted for them.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

* a la carte

II’m also tired of passes people give writers like Lynch by suggesting it’s artistic or some other such high-minded principle for the narrative messes their series are. It just comes off as rather pretentious.

Lynch’s Twin Peaks revival was NOT some brilliant artistic product and it was NOT that many fans’ were too provincial to appreciate what he was doing. It was a hotness that came across as of it was written by someone sitting down at the computer after having partaken in pharmaceuticals
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 8:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I prefer my entertainment to be a satisfying coherent cohesive whole as a viewing experience

More and more with shows like Lost or BSG they come across as a bunch of stitched together pieces and very uneven as a viewing experience

Yes, you can enjoy or appreciate isolated moments but that doesn’t mean you walk away satisfied from the whole. And a single likeable moment isn’t going to make me personally forgive all the other junk I had to sit through for that one or two moment(s)

It may be just me but television used to be more consistently good week in and week out with episodes solid from teaser to credits. Nowadays it is like an a la carry buffet where they try to be everything to everyone inevitably leading to a very choppy and uneven frustrating viewing experience

At least with a show like Voyager if an episode was bad it went all in on it’s badness from start to finish but a show like Lost has ups and downs in an episode and throughout the narrative arc.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@SlackerInc

Totally agree. It’s a cheap, lazy way of doing things. You can do or say whatever you want and don’t have to make it make sense because anything happens in a dream

I’m a big fan of Michael Piller and one reason is he told the TNG writing staff no dream endings. Originally Remember Me and Future Imperfect were dream episodes but he said that’s unsatisfying so he worked on both and that’s why we got much better payoffs.

You could see once he stepped back from TNG In the last two seasons the writers becoming lazy and Jeri Taylor allowing dream endings in Frame of Mind and Eye of the Beholder which I’m certain he wouldn’t have allowed. And convoluted mythologies like The X files conspiracy and LOST are no better
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

⭐️ ⭐️ 💫

Pretty good idea and Brannon didvgreat job nailing the mannerisms and characterization of someone suffering from a phobia and generalized anxiety. He really nailed the details from Barclay freaking out as moment of transport nearing to The embarrassment he has for flaking out when the rest of the away team managed to beam like no big deal to suffering internally and mind mulling all sorts of worst case scenarios. That all was realistic and well done
I also Liked Riker’s act of kindness telling Barclay that he was glad Barclay joined them.

I also thought fresh to finally see what it is like to transport from the transportee’s point of view.

The mystery was intriguing as to what Barclay saw on beam, the reaction from the dead crewman and Barclays glowing arm. BUT the payoff was really really underwhelming and not very satisfying. The whole “the Yosemite crew looked like monster worms was due to distorted spatial relationship” I didn’t buy and felt similar to it was all a Dream.

If the payoff had been better—cause it is the weakest part of a solid episode of have given it 3 or 3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Picard

Totally agree LOST was a mess and unnecessarily complex This was the point I would argue where tv writers got lazy. Gone were the days of careful thoughtful approach to writing and instead LOST ushered in an era where the writers believed they could throw mysteries and teases along with the kitchen sink at the audience and fan theorizing. It became more about structure and gimmicks. Everything centered around the weekly cliffhanger or gotcha! Moment. Scenes got shorter so more could be crammed in or certain things strategically kept offscreen to keep up the long con The audience had to fill in the blanks of things that should have been dramatized onscreen and were back in earlier decades. The mythology got so convoluted that audience had to check Wikipedia to keep track. Holes had to be filled in by writers/producers in Q and As or podcasts.

It was also LOST that for pure ambition sake bean growing the character roster to ridiculous levels. And Lost started the fad of killing off main characters for shock value

And when it came time to provide answers the writers got cute and said “ oh, it was never sboutbthe mysteries—it was about the characters”. Even though they had encouraged fans to chew on the mysteries.

And ever since then shows have adopted wholesale that Lost format or huge parts of it. Even shoes like Desperate Housewives

BSG followed that Lost format with its ongoing series spanning mythology and itbtoo never panned out but unlike LOST, BSG didn’t go as all-in on it. BSG though felt like an academic exercise. It wasn’t entertaining. It felt like a course in pure academic character studies of insufferable human beings—guinea pigs of Ron Moore as a big F U to Star Trek. It was poorly plotted, at times choppy because of poor editing and came across as little more than a stitched together string of isolated scenes

Frankly I keep hoping television will get back to basics and solid storytelling. I’m tired of the flashback gimmick, the long con, holding back on the audience as to generate an aura of mystery surrounding characters or their motives for some distant aha moment. But right now it doesn’t seem like they’re going back to the basics anytime soon

I guess I should applaud Seth MacFarlane for hardening back to that earlier time in television but the horrible comedy and recycled storylines torpedo Orville for me

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

DS9 was awful. I just recently rewatched it and most of that season I’d give 2 stars or less with tripe like The Storyteller, Dramatis Personae, move along home, the forsaken, the battle etc

There’s less than a handful of watchable ds9 hours mainly the pilot and season finale

DIS though gets the award for worst season. I bailed after 6 episodes

I think TNG and ENT have the best first seasons.
TNG really did a good job of capturing sense of awe and wonder. The cast gelled right out the gate. And there were a lot of solid entertaining episodes like Encounter at Farpoint, Naked Now, The Last Outpost, Datalore, When the Bough Breaks, Skin of Evil, The Neutral Zone, Where No One has Gone Before, Conspiracy, Hide and Q

ENT was pretty solid in season one with Broken Bow, Fight Or Floght, Strange New World, The Andorran Incident, Breaking the Ice, Civilization, Fusion, Fortunate Son, Fallen Hero, Shockwave wasn’t th some stinkers like Sleeping Dogs, Silent Enemy, two days two nights, oasis, rogue planet and some mediocre like unexpected-which first half pretty good til Trip gets knocked up comedy takes over—, Terra nova, acquisition, vox sola

Voyager little harder to judge. It had fewer episodes but you could definitely see a lot of promise with Caretaker, Phage, Time and Again, Parallax, State of Flux, Cathexisand obviously clunkers like Emanations, Heroes and Demons, jetrel and Learning Curve
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

2 stars

This one was kinda boring. Lots of space in this episode and slow. I do applaud the casting of an age appropriate love interest in Darren but this kinda spin it’s wheels
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

2 stars. Quite tedious and not at all entertaining. Lisa Klink was one of the worst writers
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

2 stars. Neelix sucked. Tuvok was boring so Biller had the brilliant idea to merge them in a very by the numbers outing. No thanks
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

1.5 stars

Dumb campy stupid boring. Unfunny lame

I prefer my Star Trek to be more serious and not Giligans island
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 7:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I also completed a recent rewatch of Voyager hoping I might enjoy it more all these years later and maybe nostalgia could even enhance my opinion of it this time but alas no change.

In fact a few episodes I originally enjoyed went down this go around and everything else remained the same as my original opinions meaning I didn’t care for most of the episodes except a handful across as the series, seasons three five and seven were just as awful, seasons 4/6 were its strongest even though highly uneven, Janeway and seven were the only characters I was invested in, the show’s problem wasn’t the lack of maquis tension or not being like nuBSG or not being serialized but it’s problem really was just poor writing that sunk it.

Tng still is my favorite series and one of the best tv shows ever. Then DS9 and I think Ent May actually be better than Voy although both VOY and ENT had a lot of problems.

But as mediocre as Voyager was it still did enough right that I watched it all the way through to the end if for no other reason to see what it would add to Trek unlike DIS which is the first Trek series I dumped and six episode dew into its first season no less. DIS was just utter garbage. Forget it being Awful Trek it was awful tv
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

1.5 stars. Awful

The transwarp stuff over the course of the series just kept mushrooming leading to now out of the blue a massive transwarp hub that could drop a Borg vessel or fleet at aearth’s doorstop at any moment which opens its own can of worms

The character payoffs were awful

- Chakotay’s dead and had an unearned romance with Seven
/the emh after seven years is now Joe?!?!? Talk about lame and being too cute by half and of course is married too a younger hotter wife ugh

Paris is a holo programmer yawn

Kim thinks now?!?!? The journey is more important than the destination

The Borg are even more of a mess. You have the Collective suggest assimilating Voyager and the Queen vetoes it. So much for idea sge is the Collective mind physically realized

And if you bring back the Borg in the finale you’d think that the writers could have brought in the Unimatrix zero rebels. In fact, they should have just saved that story idea for this outing honestly. I think it would have been more interesting here for the crew to learn of UZ and start a civil war with rebels that spanned the entire galaxy making for a smoother more plausible way to bring in the Federation. And you could have the some rebels seize a cube and bring voyager back home to the Alpha Quadrant

You could also bring in species 8472 and other races on other fronts in a multi galactic pronged attack on the Collective. Seeing the Collective fall via the rebellion would have been far more satisfying than a neurolytic pathogen and instead of future Janeway sacrificing herself we could have had the assimilated Janeway part of UZ end uo sacrificing herself so there was a genuine loss

You could tell no one had their heart in this whole affair. Brannon and rick were already onto ENT so they couldn’t be bothered with writing the finale so they just handed it off to Doherty and Biller who admitted he had no idea what to do with the finale and asked Brannon for suggestions hence Brannon’s story credit.

In fact the whole final season was a hot mess. Easily the worst up there with voyager season 3. What they should have done is mapped out an arc even only six or so episodes and each subsequent episode jumped forward in real time marking the passage of time and chronicling where the crew were in that time frame leading up to them getting home a decade or fifteen years or two decades or what have you in the third to last episode so the remaining two or three hours could deal with the fallout and homecomings forbtge crew
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 6:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

3 stars

This is one of my favorite Voyager episodes. It’s pretty much just an excuse to show off the Borg in all their intimidating glory. The two hour film also had great atmosphere and creepy mood. It also managed to pull together various little pieces over last two years and fill in blanks surrounding Seven and her background such as how the Raven wound up all the way in the Delta Quadrant

Originally I was absolutely confused when the episodevrevealed the Hansens were aware and f the Borg even having a model of a cube ten years before “Q who?” But I reflected on it and realized maybe they had heard about the Borg from the El Aurian refugees but it would have been nice had that the writers taken just a minute to include a line or two to that effect

I did like the way the episode approached the Hansen’s as researchers studying the Borg in pure scientific terms with their assortment of improvised tech gadgets

I also liked how Naomi symbolized Seven as a child

The Borg Queen is as big of a headache here as in First Contact. The writers of both try to play coy with what exactly she is instead of just coming right out and say she is an individual with emotions and the drones are her mindless slaves. The FC writers and Dark Frontier choose to play it vague. Is she an avatar for the Hive Mind? is she an individual? This episodes de was the perfect opportunity to really delve into who she is especially since Seven seems unaware of her existence until the queen appears before her

Not only that but the writers had asked Alice Kruge to play the queen in this episode but couldn’t because of scheduling. Yet we saw the Queen in FC played by Krige be destroyed and all the drones self destruct as a result/-which totally goes against the idea of having things decentralized. Her death should have had zero effect if she were just merely a specialized drone who can be replaced with a clone or another female drone.
But then in more confusion this DF Queen perishes st end of the hour but she returns in Unimatrix Zero and the Collective is still around so the DF Queen dying didn’t have the FC effect of drones dying when she died. Then Alice Krige returns in Endgame and ends up arguing and overriding the Collective furthering the confusion

I did expect more from this outing but it was still enjoyable on its own terms Seven seemed to finally have a breakthrough in unimatrix one once confronted by her assimilated father and the queen and I thought after this episode she would reclaim her human name based on her outburst but it didn’t play out that way

I also had an issue with the crew believing they could use the Hansen gadgets since knowledge of that tech would have been assimilated when they were and the Borg adapt from that point on to resist it. I also had a hard time believing the Delta flyer and Janeway could do easily waltz into the heart of Borgdom and surrounded by trillions of drones as Tuvok states. It also wasnt too bright to bring the Doc along with his mobile emitter. If it was assimilated the Collective would jump forward five centuries in technological progress Paris was already on board and could provide assistance if necessary
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

2.25 stars

It’s okay if uneven The best part was the last act which was sad and I liked the revelation Lwaxana had another daughter who drowned. It’s not a great episode or even a good episode. And it is one I don’t watch every time I do a rewatch of TNG but it is also one that I don’t avoid all the time like Force of Nature or Bloodlines or the Outrageous Okona—so it must have it’s charms to some degree
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

2-2.5 stars

I didn’t think much of this one

A 29th century drone was intriguing but it really wasn’t put to much use and I didn’t feel much of anything even though the episode tried hard at pulling at the heartstrings. This was a poor rehash Of the much better TNG” The Offspring”
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

1 Star. I long since lost interest in Chakotay and these two had no chemistry. The plot was anemic. At first in the teaser for a brief moment given her familiarity with the crew it might have been Kes.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

2 stars. Boring and season four managed to totally turn me off the character of Paris
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This one was so so

Like In the Flesh, I thought the plot would have worked better with DS9 with the Dominion War. The parallels were stronger. I also really didn’t buy the Hirogen reasoning for using the holodecks. They have the upper hand by knowing the prey are the crew. The crew are oblivious. And the Hirogen already knows how the program plays out. Not much fun in that I would think. I did really like the parallel explicitly drawn between the Borg and the Nazis. I also thought it was cute idea having Torres’ character be pregnant with a holographic baby so Dawson could not have to hide her pregnancy. I actually though liked Bryan Fuller’s idea that he suggested but was rejected of having B’Elanna be pregnant as part of a Vidiian plot to give birth to a baby who could cure the Phage—ultimately the basic idea in part was later incorporated in “Prophecy”

It all just felt a little too mechanical. 2 stars
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 2:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I didn’t care for this. It is basically “it all happened in your head “episode with a bunch of metaphysical Mumbo jumbo coupled with your standard Klingon honor schtick. The only worthwhile thing was the fact it meant a breakthrough in the character of B’elanna Getting some inner peace but honestly the path to that payoff was uninspired and boring
2 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.