Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 60 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

That wasn't a bad episode. In a good way it made me think about several different Trek episodes. I feel like the music for this episode was straight Voyager and I could be wrong. but did Brannon Braga direct this episode.
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Sun, Apr 23, 2017, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

After rewatching season three I have to say I enjoyed it. Extinction and that episode where Archer and Tpol went back in time were the only episodes I hated. I did have a problem with them reusing episodes of DS9 and Voyager with Doctor's Order and Ez. I understand people have a problem with bad science, but the writers did a pretty good job on not making a big deal about the science to some of the episodes.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Mar 26, 2015, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

My top Ten

The Caretaker - I understand that people have a problem with Janeway decision at the end which is understandable, but this episode was a great introduction. Voyager probably had the best pilot out of all of Trek.

Parallax - The character drama is good in this episode. It probably would had been better if they replaced the special analomy (excuse spelling) with something more fitting to it's premise like being attacked by space Pirate or something like that or they debate how much resources they can afford to share. Only the second episode in and the cast comes off likeable.

The Phage - A great introduction to a new bad guy. I personally place the vidiian under the Borg as the most terrifying villians into the franchise.

The Cloud - Go drama that goes into the premise. The Cloud being actually being a life form is to TNG for my taste, but it's work.

Eye Of the Needle.
Prime Factors
State of Flux.
Horoes and Demon - A nice stand alone character episode.
Faces.
Learning Curves - It's not on the same level of Lower Deck and Good Sheppard, but still an effective episode.
Honorable mention goes to Emantion.

Seska, Durst and Carey made great recurring characters for season one.

Janeway - I like this version of Janeway better instead of the Mel Gibson type they will make her later on.
Chakotay - A nice mix of Riker and Kira.
Tuvok - Effective Character. I like his friendship with Janeway.
Tom Paris - One of my favorite character who they don't do much with in season one. I like his friendship with Harry.
Neelix - A like the idea of having a guide, but some of the comedic element is force.
Kes - Made a great nurse.
The Doctor - Break out star.
Torres - Another break out star.

Despite knowing that some of them will go on to be undeveloped I have to say the main cast came off well.
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Thu, Mar 26, 2015, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Second Season Recap

My Top Ten for Season 2.

Alliance - They should had opened the season with this one.
Deadlock - This would had been a good episode to come on after Alliance.
Projection - A nice character episode and Robert Picardo is just a great actor.
Resistance - A nice stand alone episode to lighten things up.
Meld - A good Tuvok episode that also goes with the theme of the show.
Dreadnought - another nice standalone episode that features Torres.
Death Wish -
Parturition - A nice standalone light episode. Tom Paris is another one of my favorite character. It's just a shame they took away his edge to quickly.
Tuvix - A nice moral debate episode.
Life Sign - A nice way to somewhat humanize the vidiian.

Like I said before the Kazon and Vidiian made effective bad guys for season 2. Hogan, Sudar, and Jonas made effective recurring character. It's a shame they got rid of Joe Carey. They probably could had been used a little bit better and I love that moment when Hogan snapped on Janeway. I liked Seska more in season 1.

Honorable mention
I'm giving these episodes honorable mention for touching on Element to goes into Voyager premise and for showcasing my favorite characters even.

ColdFire - For meeting another Caretaker.
Elogium - for the element of introducing a pregnant crewmember.
The 37's - For the subplot of the crew finding an ideal planet that they can settle in.
Prototype - Torres is my favorite character.
Investigation - I like the idea of the Jonas arc, but not exactly all of the execution.
Resolution - The theme of Voyager having to go out it alone without Janeway and Chakotay.
Basic - I like the idea of the Voyager crew being stranded on a planet. I wish it was a three parter with all of part being being about The Voyager crew being stranded on the planet with part 3 being about Paris retaking Voyager.

If season 2 consist of these episodes and themes.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Mar 26, 2015, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Second Season Recap

Voyager is an interesting series. With the exception of Elogium, Threshold, and innocence I don't mind most of the episodes of Season 2. Season 2 had so great stand alone episodes that pretty much had nothing to do with Voyager premise like Meld, Resistance, Death wish, Projection, and Dreadnought.

It would had been better if season 2 opened up with Alliances and was more like that episode. The episode is not perfect, but he did a good job dealing with it themes. The Kazon and Vidiian made great villians.

Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Jan 8, 2015, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

One thing I'll say about Brannon Braga he does a good job at writing stand alone episodes and big two parters. I love the episodes he wrote with Ronald Moore, Joe Menosky, and Rick Berman. With episodes like All Good Things, Year of Hell, Broken Bow, he could easily write a big epic stand alone Trek movie that would appeal to Trek fans and non Trek fans.

Considering how hard it must had been to produce 24 episodes a season I'm surprised the creative staff didn't attempt to expand theme in this episode and other episodes such as Parallax, The Cloud, Basics, The Swarm, Year of Hell, The Void and etc into more than one episodes.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Jan 8, 2015, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I get the sense that the creative off both Voyager and DS9 ignored each other. UPN probably would had been oppose to it, but Voyager could had brought up some more stuff that happened on DS9 and even had a few cameos.

The hunting special isn't exactly a new concept for Trek and sci fi, but at least they fleshed out the Hirogen. With it's seven year run I'm glad Voyager was able to touch on theme that went great with it's premise.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Jan 8, 2015, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

It's funny to take a look back at the Trek franchise. In away it was a Marvel universe before marvel. I wish they would had done more, but DS9 actually had quite a bit of character crossover. They had Picard, Thomas Riker, Worf (who became a main character)Robert Zimmerman, Tuvok, The whole cast of TOS. Not only that, but Bashir, Morn, and Quark appeared on other trek shows.

It's a shame the writer staff split up while working on different Trek shows. I feel like Robert Hewitt Wolfe, Ira Steven Behr, and Ronald Moore would have had a great time working on Voyager and Enterprise from the very beginning.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

It took until season two for the the staff to figure out Jadzia character and race and I feel like they were able to figure out Ezir character straight off the bat. It's pretty obvious in season one of DS9 Jadzia was a spock like character.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I actually feel like Ezri benefitted by coming after Jadzia Dax. It's pretty obvious the writers understand the whole thrill concept and they did a great job writing it. I like the idea of an episode dealing with an unprepared thrill being joined. In away this kind of remind me of the Doctor regerating and a new doctor taking over.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

A weak season that represent a dark side of Star Trek with Gene Roddenberry abandoning it due to network politic. It's a shame to because a lot of these episodes had some good concept and ideas.

Top Five

The Enterprise Incident.
Day of the Dove
Tholian Web
All our Yesterday
Light of Zeter - Would had been perfect if it an Uhura episode.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A strong season, but I got a little bit ahead of myself with my top five list.

Top five Season.

The Corbomite Manuever.
The City On The Edge of Forever.
Balance of Terror.
The Enemy within
Tomorrow is Yesterday.
Honorable mention goes out to The Naked Time and Shore Leave.
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Tue, Nov 18, 2014, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

I enjoyed season two, but one thing that hurt it was that they had to many parallel earth. Not only that, but these parallel earth episodes were aired to close together. Ironically this is what Gene Roddenberry wanted to do with Trek is time parallel earth stories that mirrored problem of the present or past.

I love that fact that Scotty and Uhura got a lot more to do this season. Chekov was a great addition to the cast and I'm glad he didn't turn into boy wonder the wiz kid. I feel bad for George Takei who lost out on a lot of great moment for his Sulu character due to filming the Green Beret. It's pretty obvious a lot of great moments that he could have had went to Scotty and Chekov. Takei likes to blame Shatner for his shortcoming on Trek, but he obviously lost out on a chunk of good material because of Green Beret.

Top 5 episodes.

Amok Time
Doomsday Machine
Mirror, Mirror,
The Trouble With Tribbles.
Journey to Babel
Honorable mention goes out to Obsession.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I remember watching this season being in high school and loving it. After watching it twelve year I still enjoyed it. The only episodes I skipped where Concerning Flight, The Killng Game, Vis A Vis and Demon. My favorite episode for this season are Living Witness, Prey, Message in a Bottle, Year of Hell, Hunter, Scorpion, and the Gift.

I can understand the complaints people have like Voyager running into another object from federation space, how arturis was able to find voyager and etc, but I was still able to enjoy season 4 as a whole. Tom and Torres as two of my favorite characters and I enjoyed their story arc. I also enjoyed the Doctor and Seven relationship.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Fri, Oct 31, 2014, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

I agree with William. This is probably the only episode of TOS or at least one of a few that focused on the Federation. This was a great politic episode. It's a shame that they weren't able to show more alien crewmember besides Spock. It was also great to see different alien races. This is truly TV ahead of it's time. The only thing Star Wars had on Trek is that they were able to do it on a better budget. Tough break the fans have to wait until Enterprise to see a good episodes featuring Andorians and Tellerites. The other trek shows did a good job of defining things introduce on TOS.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Fri, Oct 31, 2014, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I really enjoyed this film, but I kind of wish they stuck more with Kirk and Spock moving through Starfleet instead of adding the first mission of the enterprise. They should had ended the movie with Kirk and Spock being assigned to the enterprise. I also feel like the canon for TOS wouldn't make it to hard for them to do a movie to fit in the current timeline.

1. The only thing we really know about George Kirk was his name.

2. I can see the way Kirk met Uhura, Scotty, Spock, and McCoy happening in this film happen in the original timeline. Sulu and Checkov also had good introduction in the film.

3. We knew Kirk moved through the ranks on two ships before becoming Captain of the Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Oct 7, 2014, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

I know a lot of fans complain about how dark DS9 is, but after over 700 episodes of Trek I have no problem with them during a couple of seven episode arc dealing with war. It wasn't like every episode of season 6 and 7 were about the Dominion war. They managed some great stand alone adventures not dealing with the war.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Oct 7, 2014, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

I feel like fans are a little bit harsh on Enterprise. It's interesting to look at TV today where a lot of successful shows are producing, 10,13, or 16 episodes a season. Maybe Enterprise would had been better if it was just 16 episodes a season. I don't mind new aliens like the Suliban and Denobulan, but it would had been cool if they used a races like the Andorian, Tholians, Tellarite, Orion Syndicate, and Axanar a little bit more in season one.

Season one would had been better if it only consist of 16 episodes:

Broken Bow
Fight or Flight
Strange New World
Unexpected - the first half is good.
The Andorian Incident
Breaking The Ice
Fortunate son
Cold front
Silent enemy
Dear doctor
Shuttle Pod One
Detained
Shadows of P'jem
Vox Sola
Fallen Hero
Shockwave
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Sep 9, 2014, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

It's pretty obvious with this episode Brannon Braga wanted to tell a story on how Voyager would handle a TNG problem. It probably would had been better if he picked something more in tune to Voyager lost in space premise. He did a good job with the character drama. Some will argue that they won't flesh out enough, but the characters really do come off likeable in this episode.

I feel like Jammer would like a lot of episodes of Voyager and Enterprise more (Night, Hunter, Parallax, Worst Case Scenairo, Void, Catwalk) if they dropped the spacial anomaly or hard headed forehead alien angle.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Tue, Sep 9, 2014, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

It's interesting to see that by season 3 Voyager, Deep Space Nine, and Enterprise were all force to shake up their shows. They obviously decided just like Deep Space nine did to move a more stand alone adventure show. Maybe Trek would had been a lot more easier on the creative staff if they had to produce 13 episodes a season instead of 24. After completing Battlestar Galatica Ronald Moore did comment on how grueling is was doing TNG to produce over twenty episodes a season. Manny Coto did comment on how tough it was on Brannon Braga to produce season worth of episodes.

With the exception of Darkling, Rise and a few more epsidoes I don't mind season 3. I understand how upset fans when Voyager abanadon 80% of it's lost in space premise.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

To me this episode feels like the true pilot for Star Trek. I get the sense that the crew are only a few days into their five year mission. The crew seems like regular, relatable, and professional people instead of highly evolved human incapable of normal human impulses. The big reveal at the end does give it a Twilight Zone feel. If Twilight Zone had a sense of mystery than Star Trek had a sense of adventure while Next Generation was more of a drama.

My favorite scene was the Bailey freak out. It's not often you see something like that on Trek. He is kind of like Lt Barclay. I did enjoy the whole cast, but Doctor McCoy, Spock, and Kirk are the break out stars in this episode.

Only the second episode of the series and it didn't take them long to move most of the pieces in the right place like changing the communication officer to a woman, moving Sulu to helm, and making the Doctor younger. I love the international flavor of the crew. I'm glad they were able to remaster the special effects, but it's a shame they couldn't show more alien crewmembers. Despite the fact they were able to produce a few episodes with many different alien races in one that is one of the few things Star Wars had over Trek that made it endearing.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

I enjoyed this episode a lot more than I enjoyed the Star Trek the motionless I mean the motion picture. It would had been funny if Nomad was a Dalek. It would had been better if McCoy discovered the effect on Uhura was only temporarily due to Scotty interrupting the process.

Great use of the cast with a few exception.

1. I wish they replaced Mr. Singer with Chekov or transporter chief kyle.

2. Replace Scott with Sulu for the last act when they grabbed the anti grab.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Fri, Aug 29, 2014, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Dagger of the Mind

This was a great episode. I feel like this episode and what are little girls made of are James Bondish. Kirk goes on a mission with an attractive crewmember and must stop a scientist well in this case doctor. The only thing that was missing in the episode was Kirk having a bedroom scene with Dr. Noel at the end giving her a performance review.

A missed opportunity for this episode is not making this a Kirk and Uhura episode. It would had been a great way to flesh out here character. They could had easily added a line saying Uhura spent time working at one of these places. Of course the love plot would had to been deleted.
Set Bookmark
stallion
Sat, Jul 5, 2014, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

I remember watching this episode with my family when it aired. I was only 11 years old at the time. My mom was a big trek fan, but wasn't sold on DS9. She gave it a chance with season 4. I was one of those people that became a fan of DS9 starting with season 4. What attracted me to the show was the sense of adventure, characters, alien, and ships. After watching so many episodes of TOS, TNG, and VOY I didn't mind Trek telling war stories and I never felt it was dark.

Deep Space Nine had it rough with it's time slot. It got moved several times. The time slot for season seven in my neck of the wood was Sunday night at 10:30. It was never a rating success as TNG, but Deep Space nine did benefit by coming after TNG.
Set Bookmark
Stallion
Thu, May 22, 2014, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

I enjoyed this episode. Great use of the cast. I know he was off filming the green beret, but this episode would had been perfect if it was sulu instead of garavick
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.