Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Sep 10, 2016, 10:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

2 Stars.

Frankly, halfway through the episode I no longer cared what was real and what wasn't.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Great episode and one of my favorites. One little nick pick: When they're discussing what to do about the time loop and Geordi suggests reversing course, he's overruled and they decide to act as everything is normal.

But that would have been what they were doing the FIRST time into the loop! They should have said: "well, let's do something completely unpredictable. Reverse course. Set course for Earth. Stop dead in space and have a ship-wide barn dance.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Tue, Aug 9, 2016, 3:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Great episode. My only suggestion is that they should have had twins playing the temporal investigators, one made up to look a little older than the other, with the implication that they were the same man at different ages.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Tue, Aug 9, 2016, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

When you come right down to it, I don't know that there was a more purely evil race in ST than the Founders . Both in this episode and in their actions in the war, they show absolutely no hesitation in committing genocide and callously sentencing generations born and unborn to death and suffering.

And I think it is a serious flaw in DS9 that the writers often blurred the fundamental evil of the Founders with Odo's desire to return home and join the great link, as if partaking in shape-shifting orgasms would mitigate killing 800 million people on Cardassia or torturing babies and children for generation upon generation w/out end.

It would be like saying, "well Hitler wasn't such a bad guy 'cause he really loved Eva." All he really needs is a hug.

Bah. The worst most evil Nazi running a WWII concentration camp is a saint compared to the Founders.

Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 8, 2016, 9:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

You might want to read up on whether the Geneva Convention covers those who commit atrocities not to mention the fates of people like Hermann Goering.

At any rate the Founder had it coming a lot more than Wyoun did.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 8, 2016, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I was disappointed that the writers dropped the ball on the fate of the founder. He/She committed a war atrocity, ordering the killing of 800 million civilians, that made Adolph Hitler look like a Sunday school teacher. But for that, she get's taken into "custody" and is cured by Odo. Garak should have melted her right after taking out Weyoun.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sun, Aug 7, 2016, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

An unfortunate episode where the writers went too far and forgot the basic humanity of their characters.

1 out of 4
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Sat, Aug 6, 2016, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Nice episode hampered only by the sophomoric dialog given to Bashir, O'Brien, Worf, and Dax in the first half of the story.

3.5/4
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Fri, Aug 5, 2016, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

The scene with Ross revealing the whole plot was stupid and downgrades this episode to 2.5 stars. What's Ross's motivation for spilling secrets to Bashir other than a lazy writer's crutch to do the "big reveal".

Here's a better way to handle it : Bashir returns to DS9, confused and thinking that he had missed something, but he's not sure what. He has lunch with Garrick and tells him the whole story.

" forgive me doctor," says Garrick, " but I don't think it was that way at all. You have to always remember in these things that knowing who benefits when all of it is over is the best way to untangle the inscrutable. Now, of course I only speak as an amateur, but here's what I think happened..."

Garrick then lays out the entire plot including Ross's involvement. We're left with no easy answers. Is Sloan alive? Was Ross involved? And the episode ends with Bashir sleeping uneasily, not knowing who he can trust.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

As bad as this episode is --- and it IS BAD --- it does have the quality of remaining in one's "brain" long after episodes like "The Cloud Minders" or "That Witch Survives" have long faded due to their complete banality.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Okay ... okay ... it's silly and all that but really, how can you hate an episode with the line:

"Scotty! Scotty's dead! He had too much happiness; but now he's happier because he's dead!"

I give it 3 out of 4 just for that.


Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

Any ST episode involving Alexander which does not end with Alexander lying dead in a pool of his own blood and vomit cannot by definition get higher than 1 star.

1/4
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 4:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

I've always been disappointed that we didn't get a chance to watch them put the US Constitution into action.

"Let's see. The Kirk says we have to make these words have meaning. State? What's a state? Uh ... let's skip that ... Each House shall be the Judge of the Elections, Returns and Qualifications of its own Members, and a Majority of each shall constitute a Quorum to do Business... wtf's a quorum? wtf??? Let's skip that too ... uh ... The Privilege of the Writ of Habeas Corpus shall not be suspended, unless when in Cases of Rebellion or Invasion the public Safety may require it. WTF is a Writ of Habeas Corpeous?????

eff this.

I saw screw the e plebs neesta. Things much better when all we worry about is to kill the khomms!!!"
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Aug 1, 2016, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Middle of the road TOS episode that gets inflated ratings b/c of the movie.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Jul 20, 2016, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Any episode that takes place on Risa is almost certainly a loser. The Risa episodes are specifically written to appeal to the sex fantasies of virginal teenage boys.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Jul 20, 2016, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

As others have pointed out this is a fundamentally stupid episode in which the stars of the show who are completely ill equipped to pull off an Espionage mission are none the less chosen to do it.

You might think the scenes in which they try to learn how to imitate Klingons are funny, but in being funny they also undermine the story's basic premise. I guess that's okay for a kiddie's show, but shouldn't Star Trek aim for something higher and better?


2/4
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Wed, Jul 20, 2016, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Regarding the Klingon's preference for hand to hand combat as to reason why they don't beam into the bridge with disruptures a blazing:

A nice Theory, except that Elsewhere on the station we do see Klingons with disruptors. So are those the Klingons without honor? The bottom line is that the producers decided that hand-to-hand battles with people punching each other was more "exciting" then the alternative.

And that's fine. But it does mean that you have to shut your brain off for substantial parts of the episode's climax.
Set Bookmark
SouthofNorth
Mon, Jul 18, 2016, 11:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

An absurd episode and one that marked the beginning of dissatisfaction with DS9. Probably double-so for the all hype this episode got.

The low point was the discussion among the senior staff after getting orders from the Federation not to get involved. The staff pretty much ignores their orders and starts to formulate their plans to handle the crisis. Wow. So the senior staff on DS9 is now in charge of Federation foreign policy?

The episode should have ended with Sisko & company getting cashiered for disobeying direct orders. Sisko relegated to a ceremonial role on Bajor, cutting the ribbons at the opening of shopping malls, Kira overseeing a waste refinement plant on a cold Bajoran moon, O'Brien doing oil changes 24/7 in a federation motor pool, and Bashir reassigned to colonoscopy and rectal exam duty on the Gorn homeworld.

And why do the Klingons beam onto the bridge of DS9 with no disrupters? Instead we get the absurdity of hand-to-hand combat on a 25th century station filled with high tech equipment and weapons. That's really exciting if you're 10 years old. In fact why even beam over your warriors at all? Just beam over a couple of bombs. Boom. Problem solved.

Lot's of fun pyrotechnics, if you're into that kind of thing. But ultimately stupid, insultingly so.

2/4


Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.