Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 49 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

It was the best Discovery episode yet.

Discovery's strength seems to be more realistic interpersonal relations between flawed characters. The captain is PTSD damaged and guilt ridden with a lot of inner rage, Burnham is a social outcast and emotionally stunted, her roommate is hyperactive, and the doctor likes the spore-weed these days.

The personal interactions on TNG and Voyager always struck me as somewhat fake. DS-9 is a lot better in that regard.

The episode worked thanks to the excellent character development and slick slicing of the temporal bits that they presented, it never got boring.

The only weak point for me was the ending, weird they let Mudd go, was it for continuity sake? Maybe it would be better to ditch all the old stuff, and rewrite Star Trek as needed. It worked well for BSG and it did not hurt the new ST movies.

3 1/2 Stars on the Jammer scale.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Bad acting, lame social media critique, crew is unprofessional as can be.

The whole comedy angle is really holding back the show .

1 1/2 Stars from me.

Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This was the best Discovery episode yet. It helped they avoided long Klingon subtitles and the resulting boredom. Klingons are the worst part of the new show imo.

The show is a lot darker then I anticipated, but that is not a problem for me. The whole prison ship was just McGuffin to give the crew some more depth, it worked well in that respect.

I don't mind the cussing... I am surprised some Americans are uncomfortable with cussing or nudity. Normal humans cuss a lot, it has always been that way and I foresee no change in the future.

Character development finally happened this episode, which is a great plus. I start to get a sense of who those people are. More of that is needed.

Captain hardass crosses the line quite a lot. I wonder if that will set him up for another mutiny or if they will push the might makes right attitude even further.

The action and production value were all excellent. Makes old Trek look dated.

Michael's role is still weird, the whole mutiny, blamed for the war part is so over the top. I am not sure what they are going for. Her actions do not hold up to close scrutiny, so they might want to cut their losses and let it go.

But overall this was a good episode, 3*** out of 4 from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Wed, Nov 19, 2014, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

If you like this episode I would recommend "The Enemy below"

It illustrates the hide and seek game against submarines, and respecting the enemy and their skill.
Set Bookmark
snitch
Tue, Feb 18, 2014, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

the moral of the story is that in life you will make mistakes and learn from it and grow up to be a responsible adult. If you never take chances you might live a dull but average life.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

These kinds of problems with the religious Taliban is still prevalent even in the USA. With Winn they further detail Winn as a perfect villainous character that I always enjoyed.

3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This episode is a masterpiece, 4 stars all around.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I really like the episode. Odo, Kira and O'Brien make for a fun hour or political intrigue. At least they waited till the end of season on unless TNG to pull this stunt.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 8:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

I always liked Lwaxana on TNG, never got all the dislike from some fans. This episode works in the parts with her and Odo. Most of the other stuff is just filler.

2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

This episode was not able to bring out a true sense of wonder and or terror, the technobabble did its part to prevent that. Baseball is also terrible to convey anything to me, that game does not have world wide appeal. It was a daring concept but unfortunately it fell short.

1 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

This episode makes me miss Ensign Ro, well written but the Kira actress just annoys me and is more bitchy then a rebel. I love the story, and the problem of suddenly have to be the government and force people of the land. That must be hard for a true rebel at heart.

3 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

This new age mumbo jumbo episode with the children leader illogical subplot made me quit watching DS-9 in its original run. It can't be good. The apprentice tries to murder O'Brien and what, nothing. Overall total crap in my book, 1/2 a star.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Battle Lines

The whole idea of their immortality was full of plotholes. Kira is out of character. The good part is Kai Opaka, having her negotiate more between the sides would have been a better story.
2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

oh and 3 1/2 Stars from me
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

This is a great Odo episode, it worked well on that level, the little sister plot was a bit too cute but overall good suspense and entertainment. The irritable alien of the week got total cooperation from the Sisko, what was up with that?
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Nagus

It works well for a Ferengi story, what always puzzled me was the fact that Quark would just forgive his brother.

2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Mon, Oct 14, 2013, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

It's bad, like Voyager Thaw, 1 Star from me. I even skipped it on my rerun.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 13, 2013, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Passenger

Pretty standard body snatcher fare. Good guest stars but van Batten nailed the problems and highlights of this episodes. B-Plot was more interesting. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Sun, Oct 13, 2013, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dax

It was a good episode, the mystery was nice, the court scenes dragged a bit. The plight of the widows of military of political heroes was a niche touch but was not investigated enough 2 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

This episode, except for a few Q one liners was quite boring.

1 1/2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I liked the episode, it is O'Brien centric, which usually works.

The Tosk was interesting, but the sergeant neon sign guys were a bit tacky and overpowered.

O'Brien's humanity makes it very Trekky.

3 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

The first half was indeed quite entertaining O' Brien is excellent in his role.

Rom was redesigned from bumbling fool, to genius bumbling fool.

Quark is still up to no good, funny how the crew loves him so much.

The race against the clock scenario was lame. Keira's kidnapping of the doctor was a nice touch. Antidote found in one hour not so much.

2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

What surprised me most is that they start of the series by having the new captain being irrationally critical on the beloved Captain Picard. Not a good ploy to bring in goodwill for the new series.

They had a lot of ground to cover in their opening. So it feels sometimes disconnected

I would give it 2 Stars
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

I liked the episode, although Kira's acting is a bit off, her character seems a little too naive in this episode. Where is Ensign Roe when you need her.

I enjoyed seeing the Duras sisters in the continuity plot of the week.

Garak is setting up his reign of greatness in the series. "a new suit at 20:55 did I make myself clear?"


3 Stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Fri, Oct 4, 2013, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Neither Keiko O Brien nor the murder plot really are that interesting.

The mob mentality works though. Odo the Sheriff for the evil occupier got too much of a pass in the series most of the time.

Julian continues to come across to immature and dumb for a doctor. DNA testing was not that developed back then too ;-)

They set up the love/hate relationship between Odo and Quark, who even tries to gather info for the shapeshifter.

1 1/2 Stars from me.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.