Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Great episode.

I tend to believe that any AI advanced enough to pass the "Turing test" is not just simulating sentience, but experiencing it. (Therefore, I completely reject the basic premise of the "Chinese room" thought experiment.) However, there's really no way to know for sure. And Data really does not even pass the test, at least if we limit it to behaving just like a human. If we leave open the possibility that one might be communicating with an alien, then maybe he does pass.

In any event, I instinctively like the notion of saying that if we aren't quite sure if he's conscious, but it can't be disproven, then he should be treated as such. But then you get to the ship's computer. (And then, later, the issue of holoprojected beings like the Doctor on Voyager.) Thorny stuff!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Wow, did Denise Crosby look amazing in that outfit. I always thought she was attractive, but I wouldn't have guessed she was quite...that. Sorry for the shallow observation!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Apr 8, 2017, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

I agree with Nic's review. This was good fun. Aaron is right though: why would Riker start with "We damand--" on a sensitive diplomatic mission?

Three stars.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Apr 7, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

I too would like to know what Gregor was hinting at there.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Nov 20, 2016, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I tend to mostly agree with this review, except to sort of add ten percent to everything (everything positive, that is). I liked it fairly well, certainly more than STID but less than Trek '09. (I do find it strange that you, or anyone, would like STID better than this one.) It's about on a par with the best TNG movie, "First Contact".

But was Sulu's being gay really confirmed on screen? If so, it sailed over my head. I would not have known except for mentions in the media.

I definitely agree that doomsday scenarios are played out. Are they afraid to just do a movie in which only the crew of the Enterprise is at risk?

Some observations and questions I wrote down while watching:

--Why are there trains in a space station that also has transporter bays?
--Ambassador Spock is dead at 33? What did they base his age on?
--The escape pod made an airtight dock with the enemy fighter when they crashed? Really?
--I hope the lady with the crab legs on her head gets court-martialed for giving up that weapon just to (presumably temporarily) save Sulu.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 4:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Huh, I took a look at Rotten Tomatoes and wasn't too impressed with what I saw from the critics I usually trust. But reaction here seems more positive so far. Maybe if I see a lot more of that, I'll see it in the theatre rather than just waiting to watch on Blu-ray from Netflix.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I think it's awesome and kind of hilarious that this review "became your Waterloo". I am a procrastinator too and I totally understand. You have nothing to apologize for. I just feel lucky that I happened to arrive here only hours after you posted it, given that it's probably been a month or two since I last visited.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 29, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

I agree about the suit and especially the heels.

Anyone else notice the nifty tracking shot early on, from when Tuvok stops talking to when the distress call comes in? Pretty sophisticated!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 1, 2016, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Yes, the closing shot was great. I don't always agree with Jammer, but he nailed it in every aspect of this review.

The material with Seven was very well done. But I don't see why Lien had to leave. And it comes across as especially obvious and clumsy that Kes went kablooey, and then the very next scene, Seven's stabilized, human look (with hair and two eyes) is unveiled for the first time. Why couldn't they have both been on the show for a few more episodes, to help make it not look so blatant and obvious?

Agree with Bryan and Nancy that skipping the Doctor's goodbye was especially uncool. Particularly since that scene of unveiling Seven heavily features the Doc, crowing about what a great job he did with her look. Jarring to see no reaction from him, given how close they had been.

And although I'm not a woman, I agree with Nancy that the interaction between Kes and Neelix was handled well (so I guess I do disagree with Jammer on that one point). That was very realistic, I think. She is struggling to explain "it was just..." and Neelix inserted the joke about his cooking, I think, as almost a hint that he didn't really want her to spell out how it was exactly that he didn't cut it for her.

And Nancy, I do think Voyager gets unfairly panned. I'm finding it's quite good to go through selectively, watching roughly half the episodes based on ratings here and on other sites, as well as a friend's recommendation. I imagine you've probably finished by now (three years later), and I look forward to reading your feedback on subsequent episodes. :)

FlyingSquirrel is absolutely right that you can't find a "shark jump" moment in this show, because it was so uneven all the way through.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Feb 21, 2016, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Going through this series again with my wife and daughter, I was surprised how long it took for Seven of Nine to finally arrive. She became such an iconic cast member (love or hate her), that in retrospect I figured she must have come along a lot earlier.

One thing I always thought was irrefutible, no matter how people felt about the character, was that she had revitalized the franchise by increasing viewership. It even says exactly this in the Wiki article about her. But looking over the audience numbers on Wikipedia, they actually look somewhat lower after she was introduced. Is this just an amazing job by Jeri Ryan's PR team of somehow fooling us all?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Feb 21, 2016, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

I think Chris Harrison and I are on the same page. I too disagreed with Janeway at several points, and was more sympathetic to Chakotay. To me, approaching the destroyed Borg cubes, and then boarding them, was madness--particularly once they discovered the other species' ship attached. My orders would have been to head at maximum warp in the most perpendicular direction from the whole mess, for a good long while, before even considering colonizing a planet somewhere.

Still a great episode though.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Jammer's review is spot-on. The first half of the episode IS better than the second; yet there are some very enjoyable moments in the latter half as well.

I thought it was interesting how much repetition they did with Paris when he went through the beginning again. Also that Chakotay was more initially reluctant to trust him than with B'Elanna (which makes sense) and then, hilariously, very reluctant after Paris switched sides a second (third?) time.

One of the characters said they wanted to see if Janeway got the ship back. Is it that determinative? I thought it would depend on what the "reader" of the novel did to help or hinder.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Dec 29, 2015, 3:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

I'm with the super enthusiastic crowd. I just watched this earlier for the first time and was blown away. Fantastic episode, definitely the best Voyager I've seen and one of the best Trek.

And yes: Piller was quoted, per Wikipedia, as saying this was the "best episode yet" at the time it aired. Piller wrote some of my previous favorites, so that carries serious weight.

Navamske, I noted the same irony you did, and wondered if that was purposeful in the script.

Peremensoe, I have to disagree with you somewhat. Where this becomes a problem is when scientists find very ancient skeletons, especially on the West Coast, and the tribe that was located there at the time of post-Columbian contact (conquest) insists that it is one of their ancestors and must be buried and not studied. They tend to win these cases, even though in the study that is done before scientists are forced to surrender the remains, there are clear signs of ethnic differences from the modern Native Americans who live there.

But since these tribes insist they have always been there and did not have ancestors who crossed the Bering Strait, they won't hear anything of it. It's unfortunate and gets in the way of potentially fascinating scientific discovery, just as in this episode.

A couple things I noticed that I haven't seen others comment on:

--The observations of Paris and B'elanna's flirting behavior, including her feints at indignation, were sophisticated and priceless.

--As even Jammer in his lukewarm review agreed, the central character in the story was really well done. Has this actor been in anything else I would know? (Not like I'd recognize him, of course.)

--A nice, subtle touch in showing the scientists falsely over-assuming about human culture based on a small sample size. Janeway is the captain, so ipso facto, matriarchal culture. (This even though their own leader appeared to be female, which I didn't sense was necessarily due to her gender, although I could be wrong.)

--Speaking of the saurons' leader, she was written and played with nuance one would not expect from a genre show like this (or from most things on TV). She was to be sure a fearsome foe, who ultimately prevailed in forcing the "hero" of the story to sublimate his wish to insist on the correctness of his discoveries by threatening the entire Voyager crew with imprisonment. But unlike with Galileo's case, she did not threaten torture, and I'm not even sure if she would have followed through in destroying Voyager and so on, or if that was a bluff. Also, she repeatedly gave him the opportunity for only a very partial recantation--that he "might" be wrong.

--The eating of the flies swarming around the light was a nice touch.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

I love this episode: I would give it four stars as well. But it's interesting that in this episode and then in the "whales movie", a new timeline is not created. But in the JJ Abrams reboot that is exactly what happens. Now, a lot of people would probably complain but this is an example of Abrams messing things up ; but I actually think a new timeline makes more sense.

Also, instead of just getting the hell out of there, shouldn't they have posted guards to keep others from wandering into the portal?
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Dec 1, 2015, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

I just checked out a little of "Star Trek Continues" and Googled to find if Jammer had anything on it. Maybe he could make a thread to discuss the show, even if he doesn't have tim to review it...
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Nov 27, 2015, 1:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I emphatically cosign the last two comments. What the people who hate this are looking for, I don't know. I would be curious to know what they would submit as an example of a very strong episode.

As a side note, it was genius to have the rebellious son hanging out with Klingons and trying to emulate them. Kind of like a white suburban teen who identifies with inner-city black culture.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Nov 8, 2015, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I have only been able to get through about a third of the thread so far, but so far I like the visions of Robert, methane, and Nic.

I am a cordcutter and I already pay for Netflix and Amazon Prime, as well as three months a year of HBO and three of Showtime. I will probably do one or two months a year of CBS to binge watch this show, timed to expire shortly after each season's finale.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I am with the majority: great episode, and Lien did some fantastic acting. It's hard to understand both why they fired her, and why she didn't go on to acting success after Voyager. The only thing I can speculate, after what happened to her recently, is that she began to develop psychological problems during her tenure on the show, and that this answers both questions.

Getting back to this episode, though, the writers also deserve credit. Part of what makes the nice acting job possible is that they really presented Kes as a well rounded character. It was especially enjoyable how, after her initial disorientation, she grabbed ahold of the reins and became such an active agent in helping to solve her own issues. And as she started to understand what was happening, she would play along more and more, at least at first (blowing out candles, holding the baby), rather than instantly freaking out in each new scenario.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

LOST and BSG had clunkers aplenty after their first seasons . Six Feet Under never did, and Breaking Bad had only one, for my money ("Fly", which a lot of people really love) although the "berries" plot was a groaner.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Oct 18, 2015, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I liked the character building moments early on between Kirk and Spock and Kirk and Bones.

The crew members in the corridor when Kirk addressed them were walking around way too calmly.

Bones bringing up his plans to enter a complaint about Bailey in his medical logs when they had three minutes left was bizarre. Same with Scotty smiling at two minutes left, and Yeoman Rand bringing coffee. Bailey was right: everyone was way too calm and casual.

What were those belts for, that they put on just before transporting over?

Some cool directorial/camera effects in this episode.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, Oct 4, 2015, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Unity

Good episode, good review, good comments section. :)

Like Yanks, I was sad to see Kaplan go. She seemed to have more personality than the average redshirt, and she did a nice job of protecting her commander from harm when it started to get violent.

Nice to see Chakotay getting him some a la Kirk. :)

There were some nitpicks both from Jammer and the peanut gallery that were on point. A couple I'd add:

@ 9:50 I love how Harry said there was no response to his hails (the second one especially) IMMEDIATELY after sending them, allowing absolutely no time for them to respond. I know, the show's got to move along; but couldn't they have some other dialogue from Tuvok or something and then come back to him saying there was no response?

@ 37:03, Chakotay's hand is huge or that lady's head is tiny!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jul 11, 2015, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Like you, Eli, I liked this episode a lot more than Jammer did. Some specific points of disagreement:

--I thought it was really interesting to bring in '90s politics (which have come around again, with people like rancher Bundy), even if it wasn't fundamental to the overall plot.

--I loved the Tom/Raine romance (like Justin, I'm a Sarah Silverman fan and was really impressed by how well she did outside her usual comfort zone), so I was all in for the farewell kiss.

KoshNaranek, you complained about "awful modern day stereotypes (courtesy of plucky white science girl and the conveniently paranoid, racist redneck militia men". I'm a bit older than you, Kosh, and I remember the mid-'90s. There were a lot of those types around, especially out West (I lived in Colorado and remember one guy who refused to get a drivers license and spouted some constitutional claim about a "right to travel" if he got pulled over by the cops). For that matter, we've seen a resurgence in such nutters in recent years. That rancher Bundy and all the people who came to his aid, f'rinstance; oh, and the people who are convinced Obama's using military maneuvers in Texas as a cover for a takeover and martial law.

P.S. Kind of wild how they totally killed Starling's bodyguard/truck driver.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Jul 11, 2015, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

"Sarah Silverman as Rain Robinson. Her charisma and attitude really lit up the screen! Her on-screen chemistry with Paris worked realy well, as far as I'm concerned."

I totally agree with Caine (and disagree with Jammer). She was great, and learning from Wikipedia that she impressed Braga so much he almost made her part of the crew, I was retroactively disappointed he decided against it.

"Plus isn't 1996 around when the Eugenics Wars was supposed to be taking place? I hardly doubt that life during something that major would be business as usual. Maybe it would be in some places, but there's not even a mention of it."

Vylora, are you joking with this? Surely you're not expecting them to hold to the same timeline of events from the TOS when the actual time period arrives with no Eugenics Wars.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 17, 2015, 7:26am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

MisterBenn, I enjoyed reading your comment and I can understand how it would be difficult to stop. I almost feel like I am a soothsayer who is cursed by being able to warn people how to avoid disaster but will never be believed.

It's too bad this site does not have email notifications so we could carry on more of an interactive conversation. If anyone wants to provide feedback, disagree with me, or describe how my warning was ignored but in retrospect looks good, tweet at me: I use the same handle on Twitter.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sun, May 17, 2015, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Final Cut

I can't believe neither Jammer nor anyone in the comments mentioned the use of the original Battlestar Galactica theme music in the documentary! I loved that even if the episode overall wasn't that great.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.