Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 122 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Consider the Following
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Hank

I think it's fair to many people on the internet have delusions of grandeur when it comes to their internet comments.
Set Bookmark
Consider the Following
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Brian

at a certain point verbose complaints over minute details simply become boring and people are expressing that. there's also the misconception that long winded complaining is constructive beyond simply nerd ranting - which it rarely is. there isn't much here that rises above a Cinemasins video.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

This episode was surprisingly tame for a Seth McFarlane piece dealing with religion. The head guy was portrayed as being dedicated to truth, even when it was unpleasant, and the people even claimed religion was a necessary part of their planet's evolution. Wow.

I'm pretty sick of seeing militant atheists circle jerk it in the comments of any episode of anything on this site that portrays religious people in a negative light. We get it, you hate people who have different beliefs than you. Shut up already. You're worse than the fundies. At least they're trying to do right by others in their own worldview. You're just spreading hate and bigotry and claiming those people are inferior animals or even suggesting genocide in some of the comments I've seen. I'm not sure what standards you're going by, but you are definitely not superior to anyone. Star Trek, mass media as a whole, is for EVERYONE, it's not some exclusive club that's militants only and everyone else needs to be constantly bashed because how dare they watch my precious sci fi when it's not for them those dirty animals. I know a lot of people who enjoy Trek, many of them religious, and their interpretations and opinions are not any less valid for it. Stop constantly derailing the conversation with your own bigotry.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 7:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Dougie
I just want to point out the "first year is the hardest" wasn't indicating a year had passed, it was Claire telling Bortus that the first year is the hardest for new parents.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 6:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

People are taking this episode way too seriously. And I'm not sure how blue guy is a rapist, considering he only seemed to figure out what was going on after Mercer fell for him and his species is so casual with sex it would actually be rude for him to have turned them down. If he was purposefully affecting them so he could get his way with them that would be one thing, but he wasn't doing that. Sure he just went with it when stuff happened but that's how his species is. And yes the thing with Yaphit and Clara was gross and demeaning to both characters. Maybe Seth thought it would've been funny like the redshirt guy and the tentacle monster in Galaxy Quest but it wasn't.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I didn't think it was that bad. Wasn't super impressed, but wasn't bored to tears either. I did hope it would decide whether it was a straight parody or an homage, right now it just feels like a Trek ripoff with dick jokes.
Set Bookmark
Sid
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I re-watched this one twice in the last week. The premise is great and both Dourif and Russ give solid performances. I would have liked to see more of Suder prior and more of the rest of the crew in general since it is one lone Federation ship with a relatively sparse crew. The filler in this episode could have been scripted to feature another crew member we'd see later down the warp trail.

Oh, and imagine if Tuvok had assaulted the real Neelix? Or if Neelix had discovered Tuvok's desire to kill him?

Set Bookmark
Sidney
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Now we're getting somewhere. This could have been the pilot. The characters, like the overall plot, are interesting if not lighthearted and friendly. Even the dark interior gets an explanation (Lorca's eyes. They like zooming in on eyeballs don't they). Is it Trek? Should it look and sound like every other Trek before it? It would have been nice to have costumes that looked similar to those worn by Pike and co, but again, just because we didn't see it before doesn't mean it couldn't have been these blue and gold/silver outfits. I think the one major difference this show brings is that it's truly serialized and therefore there will be no fuzzy and warm wrap up at the end of each episode. There are some logic gaffes (one pilot for four prisoners? did the pilot die? No one even asked about her). But overall I don't know what's going to happen next, and that at least I find interesting.
Set Bookmark
Sidney
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Rewatching Trek a lot this past year. I'm still wondering what the rest of the crew was doing in the contorted parts of the ship - going insane perhaps? And all that data they received to my knowledge was never mentioned again.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

That rainbow pipe thing the Enterprise created looks like an old Windows screensaver. Seeing the characters stare at it in amazement is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

The whole set up is pretty implausible. That Ferengi guy really went to the trouble of making a fake son for his enemy?

I thought Picard was sterile? Didn't he tell Wesley that having children wasn't possible for him or something along those lines? I guess not, given this episode, but that just makes some of his previous comments lose any weight they had. He does know men can have children up into the later years, making all his "that bridge is burned" statements false, right? He chose his career, but we've seen other captains with children.

As much of a cop-out as it was, I'm relieved the guy wasnt actually his son. I can't really see Picard truly having a secret love child out there. Sure, Kirk might have a handful, Riker dozens... But Picard? Nah, just doesn't seem like him.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I understand not wanting to have your home taken away, especially if you have some sort of spiritual connection to it, but those people are pretty stupid if they think the Cardassians wouldn't turn them into Bajor 2.0 if they felt like it. I'd take wandering over being enslaved by one of the ugliest races seen so far in the Trekverse.

Wait, didn't Picard say these people were nomadic? They have buildings and stuff. So, not nomadic.

This was a pretty poor ending to Wes' story. We knew he was going to join the Traveler and "ascend to a higher plane" or whatever, but he acts so out of character throughout this, and the Traveler only shows up near the end. It's like his story was shoehorned into a completely unrelated plot.

It seems really weird how they call Native Americans "Indians". Locally yes they are still called that even today but Picard as a Briti- er, Frenchman should at least be calling them Native Americans or by their tribe(s). It seems preposterous that they'd be referred to that way on another planet in the future, they're not from India! (It would be only a little less weird to call them "Native Americans" on a planet so far removed from Earth but at least it'd be more accurate.)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Yet another episode where Data almost single-handedly saves the day. If this was a season one episode he probably would have "de-evolved" into a toaster or a commodore 64 or something. ;P

Star Trek is science fiction in that any "science" they portray is almost always fiction.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Zero stars. Never expected to turn on Trek and be forced to watch multiple scenes of a middle-aged woman being molested/pleasured by and having invisi-sex with her grandmother's lover who is also a ghost. Grossssss. Did some office aid accidentally drop fan mail in the script pile? Who greenlit this? They should have been summarily sacked and blacklisted from being hired on all future franchise endeavors.

How can it pass down through the Howard women? They change their name when they marry, there would be no line of Howard women after the first one married, unless it hopped onto spinsters and passed down to nieces or something, but it sounded like it went down through mothers mostly. Odd.

Patrick Stewart did a good job of conveying how horribly uncomfortable some scenes are for Picard while simultaneously appearing disgusted to be acting in them. You can kind of tell some of the actors are embarrassed to be in this one, ha. Some of McFadden's acting was truly cringe-worthy, but this episode doesn't deserve better.

I don't see why aliens couldn't perform human religious ceremonies, so long as they were also members of said religion (or even if they weren't, depending on the religion). This being TNG I don't think the funeral shown was religious in nature so much as a generic "you died" ceremony so the guy presiding over it was probably just someone important to the community or whatever.

Since Beverly has no daughters, would Ronin go after Wes when she finally kicked the bucket?
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 2:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Ah c'mon, this episode was entertainingly weird. I actually prefer Spiner's performance here to previous times he's acted like a loon. He doesn't have that creepy Robin Williams vibe here, the one Lore or even Soong gives off.

Shouldn't Data know what abstract art is by now? He's done quite a few paintings that are pretty abstract and they could have done the treble clef joke without backsliding his character.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

Fun episode. Yeah, like all TNG it has holes, but I was entertained and in the end that's the point, isnt it? I'm pleased the writers remembered Data's fake pulse (heartbeat? Whatever, close enough), I recently complained how pointless it was for him to have one since he'd never have to use it to convince aliens he's alive, but I now retract that statement, because that's exactly what he did.

I don't mind Troi getting bridge certification. Ensigns serve on the bridge and take over crucial posts when the main characters leave the room all the time. Really, she should have been from the start, as should all the main characters, since they sat on the bridge.

And yeah, Data contradicting the teacher wasn't the scientific method at work, but him having knowledge of things she didn't. If he would have tested what she was saying and proven it false she would have believed him, but she had no reason to believe an amnesiac spouting off what was probably gibberish to her.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

What I don't think is right is Beverly hiding a medical option from him and declaring she will hold him captive indefinitely to prevent him from his ritual suicide.

This is his life, and if he's willing to risk it to try an experimental procedure, that is his choice. Beverly's job was to tell him ALL the options, as well as the risks. You could argue that she thought the risk was too great, or that it would violate "do no harm". However, Worf is entitled to a second opinion, and to getting another doctor. Trying to keep him from knowing about the option or talking to the other doctor in order to manipulate him into doing what she wanted him to do was despicable. In fact, trying to prevent him from getting a second opinion was probably criminal.

Riker almost goes through with the ritual with Worf, indicating that it is not illegal, meaning Beverly has no authority or right to imprison him in sick bay. Even if she did have a legal grounds for keeping him there, she has no right to impose her will on him, to force her decisions and opinions on him, as she wanted to.

Writing this out made me realize why I detest Beverly. Well, in addition to her being insipidly bland, a horribly incompetent doctor who blatantly disregards patient rights, and the boyfriend talk with Troi. I hate Beverly because she's self-absorbed and manipulative. She's always trying to get her way, often through deception or coercion. Worf refuses to give blood to his sworn enemy? She runs to Picard, trying to use Picard's authority to force Worf into violating his own morals. And this despite the intended recipient vehemently saying he'd rather die than receive a transfusion. A family forbids her to perform an autopsy on their deceased son, but she really wants to? She does anyway, and runs to Picard. AGAIN. He basically shakes his head and says "I can't help you now." How many times has he gotten her out of trouble in the past?

There's something so horribly conniving and disgusting about the way she uses her friendship with Picard to her own gain, and the way she nags him when she doesn't get her way.

It's never, never about medical ethics with her, and always about her own desires and opinions. Her arguments are almost never rational or coherent, but always impassioned pleas based on her own ignorant standing. She never has a leg to stand on and isn't convincing even when she's right. She has no care for other people's cultures or circumstance, only her own ideas of what should be done. And she violates patients' desires, cultures, and morals left and right and declares them "stupid" without even attempting to understand them.

She's a weak, stupid character and an insulting two dimensional stereotype consisting of various "feminine" traits but no redeeming qualities. Weak, stupid, incompetent, emotional, irrational, ignorant, nagging, manipulative. These are all negative female stereotypes and they all describe her behavior. I've finally pinpointed why her very existence makes me angry. I find her extremely offensive.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Blue-eyed Data weirds me out. I'm so used to the jaundiced contacts. And the alternate bridge was a great improvement over the usual, I wish it was the actual design, the normal one looks ridiculous.

I'm all onboard for Doctor Ogawa. She looks pretty snazzy in that blue coat thing.

Good to see Wes again. I miss him, it's a shame he got put on a bus after being one of the few characters to get actual character development. I'd even take his season 1 nonsense of being the only intelligent character over his mom's blank stare, malpractice, and discussions of her sex life with Troi.

I suppose LaForge could have been there when Worf first docked or passed him in the halls. It's weird that we didn't see him during the first shift but maybe the initial one happened on its own?

I find it hilarious that the present Troi gives Worf at the end is all pink and sparkly. Very befitting of a manly warrior.

@Skywalker
"I just noticed the reality around 22 min where Troi and Worf are married — why would Troi have moved into Worf's tiny, windowless LT-and-below quarters? Troi has a nice place with a window.

And why don't Data and Geordi get nice quarters with windows? They're both LCDRs."

Geordi is blind. Data is a robot. Neither probably get much out of looking out a window. Worf is from a proud patriarchal society and probably insisted on his wife moving in with him, rather than the other way around, sort of like how Peter Parker feels bad when his wife does stuff like buy furniture for their apartment even though she makes a lot more money than he does and doesn't have a problem with being the one paying for stuff. Men are traditionally the ones who provide, and a lot of them, especially in fiction, have had that role so ingrained in them they have trouble letting it go and feel guilty or inadequate if they're not the ones providing, even if it would be more logical to let the wife do some or even all of the providing. Or maybe it's just a convenience of the plot, but I like my rationalization better.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 3:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Picard un-phasing in front of the Romulan ship was sheer stupidity. Deal with Federation internal affairs as you see fit, but don't reveal to your enemy that somewhere along the line you violated a treaty and hope they'll take a "oh sorry it was just these few guys who did it, I'm showing it to you now in good faith please don't go to war with us". The Romulans aren't that reasonable, especially not the one who trapped them in an asteroid!

Though well acted, I didn't care at all about the drama in this one, because once again it showed how hypocritical the federation and our main characters are.

Pressman didn't invent or decide to test the phase device on his own; it was an order from a higher-up. Blaming him for the death of the Pegasus crew because they mutinied during a potentially dangerous experimental test is stupid. It's their own fault. Once he was no longer in control of the ship, there was nothing he could have done to prevent what would happen to it. And the crew weren't just refusing, they were apparently actively trying to stun or kill him and the few loyal officers.

Everyone's got their Starfleet regulation undies in a wad over a phasing device not because it could get them into war with the Romulans but because "it's unethical". After all the hand-wringing I thought the reveal was going to be some planet-shattering super-weapon, bio-weapon, federation cover-up of genocide or something big like that, not some secret experiment that violates a treaty. Yeah, violating a treaty is bad, but there wasn't anything unethical about the phase thingy itself, yet it's treated like some big evil secret. The Romulans aren't trustworthy, why am I supposed to be horrified that the Federation is willing to lie right back to them? I find it hard to believe almost an entire crew would mutiny over something like this.

It was completely inappropriate for Picard to threaten Riker for following orders from higher-up. He may not like being in the dark, but for him to threaten dismissing Riker for respecting the chain-of-command was way out there and should get Picard in trouble. If people went off left and right disobeying orders Starfleet would fall apart overnight.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 2:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Dull as dirt, and unnecessary. We already know Data's backstory, and this episode added nothing to it.

Having her turn out to be an android replica of the real Juliana just lessened the already nonexistent impact her character had. So it's not even the real "mother" but a cheap knockoff that believes she is the real thing? Why should I care about her relationship with Data or even her existence beyond the novelty of it? She provides the reactions the real Juliana would have in those situations, but because she's not the real thing I couldn't care less.

Also, shouldn't her existence as an android capable of emotion while not dying from it or being (too) crazy from it be of interest to Data? Shouldn't he have extensively studied her neural net so he could replicate the ability in himself? That's always been his goal but I don't recall him saying anything along these lines, just closing the hatch and sending her on her merry way.

And personally, I find it very unethical to continue to let her husband believe he's married to a real person when it's just an android programmed to act like one, but in TNG androids are "real people" (or maybe only Data is, like others said it's kind of fuzzy) so I guess it's not by their standards. Still seems very wrong to me. I'd feel very lied to and violated if my spouse turned out to be a machine pretending to be a person.

Another Data retcon shows up in this one: apparently he now appears to age. Can they just make up their minds already? His hair doesn't grow; it can grow. He's virtually indistinguishable from a human without a medical scan and is essentially an artificial version of a man; his head is full of Christmas lights, his limbs come off, and he has an off-switch somewhere near his posterior. Oh but he does "breath" and has a pulse for some reason, both of which are completely useless, given Lore survived months in space and even in places where Data was passing as biological no one in the history of ever has needed to check his fake pulse to be convinced he's alive. Did the writers really think anyone was watching the show and asked themselves "huh, why does Data appear older now than he did six seasons ago?" No one was asking that, no one was wondering, no one cared. Even children understand the concept of "actors get older" so why they felt the need to add that I'm not sure.

Crusher always violates medical ethics, it happens so frequently that I wasn't going to comment on it until I noticed someone else did. It's not a Starfleet medical thing so much as a "doctor" Beverly Crusher thing. She's in good with the captain so she gets to do what she likes, just as all the other main characters are allowed to go variously break the rules and usually get off without even a slap on the wrist.

This episode reminds me of that TOS episode where Nurse Chapel's fiancé turned out to be a robotic duplicate. Except that episode was better. Keep the fembot drama and give me Kirk trying to duke it out with robotic Lurch any day.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

How many times has Picard or some other crew member violated the prime directive, yet now he's mad someone else has? The hypocrisy of the Enterprise crew really annoys me. And I'm tired of the season seven staple of introducing an important family member never before seen or mentioned and probably never going to be seen or mentioned again just to create fake drama.

I love how Picard et al are horrified at the possibility of the culture being violated but scandalized by attempts to save it. How can they justify using a rule meant to protect pre-warp cultures as an excuse to let them die? I really hate TNG's reinterpretation of the prime directive.

Pretty much every character acts idiotic this episode, no surprise there. Lock the holodeck door, idiots. The chronicler's death is entirely on the shoulders of the imcompetent crew. And why did Picard pretend to be so remorseful over the suicide of a guy he wanted to let die a few days ago? Hey writers, quit making your captain a psychopath. Either he has compassion for other life forms or he's utilitarian to the extreme, having him flip flop, especially in the same episode, just makes him seem deranged.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, May 19, 2017, 12:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Why do I get the feeling the "warp speed damages space" thing will be ignored in subsequent episodes and series of Star Trek?

I didn't mind the Spot subplot, but it did abruptly end after Data realized that Spot was the one training him. Kudos to the animal trainers for the show, that look Spot gave him after he suggested she might not be smart enough to be trained clearly showed otherwise. (Also, apparently Data only now realized Spot was female? Seems like an odd mistake for him to have made this whole time, especially since she's not spayed and would periodically go into heat (you will never not notice the calling out of a queen on the prowl), or need to be given some sort of supplement to prevent her from doing so.)

The sister character was completely unlikeable, I was actually glad she died, to be honest, so we didn't have to see her onscreen anymore. And then everyone was all "why didn't we listen" but as Luke pointed out - they DID listen, her actions actually worsened things for her world, when even if the Federation had taken a few years to come to the same conclusion, her world would still be better off.

I appreciate some of the meta comments on "Trekkies". I do notice they tend to think they are somehow more intellectually or morally superior than the general population because of their enjoyment of a science fiction television series, and it seems like a very odd thing to believe. Just because I watch the same shows as Stephen Hawkings doesn't mean I'm suddenly a genius ;) As far as fandoms go, though, there are worse out there.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, May 18, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

I don't know if it's just because it's been so long since we've gotten an episode where they go planet-side instead of having drama onboard the Enterprise, but for me this was a step up from the last two episodes. And that's in spite of it being a Beverly and Picard episode.

I felt bad for the Kes. They were doing their best to save Picard and Bev and Riker was completely ungrateful. Sure their planet may not be perfect but if the other side insists on no contact whatsoever what do you want them to do, force it anyway? I can't see that going too well.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, May 17, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

I normally like Deanna Troi, but she was awful in this. Everybody was telling her how to do her job. Isn't she the ship's resident psychologist? And this episode just shows how wasted her empathic powers and refusal to grow them are. Another "meh" episode to me. I never had a lot of fondness for this series, but it's really winding down for me.

On a final note, Majel is a great actress, I actually felt bad for her. But it's hard to get emotionally invested in a comic relief character.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I've heard USENET mentioned before, but I can't recall where or when.

I prefer Picard as a space pirate. Much cooler and less stuffy.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.