Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 117 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Yanks... Great point! I don't understand all the criticism of the spore drive as being fake science. No one ever had an issue with the transporter, which is probably the least plausible technology in all of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

For those of you who are not liking the show but seem to be open-minded, give it some time. I remember when TNG first came out (I was 16), and there were many naysayers as well. Now mind you, there was no Internet, but I would pick up the sci-fi mags at my local book store and read the reviews, many of which were negative. They were upset because there was no Spock, Picard was too old and way too cautious, Riker was too much like Al Gore with a stick rammed up his ass (well, I kinda agreed with that one... he got better though!), Troi was Miss Butt-in-ski, the android was stupid, and Wesley needed thrown out an airlock (yeah, agreed with that one, and he NEVER got better). It didn't help that the writing was more often than not utterly atrocious. Remember Code of Honor, Justice, Angel One, Haven ("oh, you're the one who wants to be a starship captain"... ugh, made me puke), When the Bough Breaks, and Skin of Evil ("you have my pity"... ugh, if I were Armus I would have killed her right then and there)? Horrible writing to say the least. But there were bright spots here and there: The Last Outpost, The Battle, 11001001, and Heart of Glory... I'm the first to admit that Discovery got off to a shaky start, but they are finding their footing and telling better stories, all within a main story arc. These last 3 episodes have been solid... Try re-watching them together one night.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 10:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

First off, all the haters on this blog seriously need to go find another show to watch. You just don't like it, you feel it's not really Star Trek. Fine, you are entitled to your opinion. But there are many more of us that are loving the direction the producers are taking this show... This episode was terrific, 4 stars all the way. Lisa Randolph wrote a very human script that explores how our characters are dealing with the beyond strenuous, dangerous situation in which they find themselves. One wrong move and death would be assured, so watching these characters navigating this proverbial mind field was very entertaining. And I love how they brought back Michelle Yeoh as the savage emperor. Looking forward to next week. As for Tyler/Voq, now that we know the secret (something we all suspected), I'm very curious where they take the character. Which personality will prevail, and why... Still not a fan of the Klingon look, but love what they did with the Andorians. Looks great!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Excellent review, Jammer! And you are spot on, it's not about the Tyler/Voq reveal (we already had suspected that), it's about the aftermath of that knowledge. BSG did a fantastic job with the Boomer character. Even after learning she was a Cylon, she resisted it. It took several years of brainwashing from Cavil to convince her to see herself as a machine. Even then she turned on Cavil at the very end to save Herra... I digress... I'm looking forward to Tyler's journal as he learns more about who he truly is.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Great episode, I would give it 3.5 stars. Yes, the Ash/Voq thing was kind of obvious, but there is still a mystery as to exactly what happened. Even the Klingon female seemed confused that he wasn't behaving as she thought he would. Perhaps something went wrong with whatever she did to him.

@Rahul, I don't see the mirror universe plot as a gimmick, not if the writers focus on our universe's characters and how they deal with the situation. That's what made the original series episode so good, and it would seem this show is going down that same route, except they are doing it as a multiple episode arc. I really liked it, and am looking forward to the upcoming episodes. I still think the captain may be somehow linked to what's happening, but who knows. That's what makes it fun to watch!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 12:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I think we are getting two concepts confused here, faith and religion. I felt the episode was more of an allegory on how the latter can be corrupted and perverted due to sinister motives, like power. No one can deny that throughout our history religion has been twisted by those seeking power in order to control the masses. In medieval times the Pope had more power than kings, because all he had to do was excommunicate an uncooperative king and that king all of the sudden found himself out of power, or worse yet dead. We see that same behavior today in Islam, whereby there are those perverting that religion to kill others in the name of Allah... There is nothing wrong with having faith in God and believing in the core tenets of Christianity, or whatever your faith may be. It's when humans with nefarious motives get involved that religion gets its bad reputation. MacFarlane shows that when the Kelly religion "priest" sees the errors of his people's ways and wants to tell the people, but is killed by a power-hungry surrogate who wants to continue using the religion to control people.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Dec 4, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Good episode, and nice to see the writers continue with the character development (in this case Ed and John) by telling a good story. The jokes and gags were kept to an appropriate minimum, allowing for the story regarding John's unknown high intelligence to be played out. The "sci-fi" part of the show dealing with 2-dimensional space was a bit odd, but I don't take that stuff seriously on this show. It was just a plot setup to get John in the Chief Engineer's chair... One of the better outings of the season, I'd give it 3.5 starts.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Picard

Wow, surprised to hear you say that about BSG. That show was all about character development. I didn't watch it until it came out on Hulu, and after watching the mini-series, I ended up binge watching the entire 4-year series over the next two months. It was like an 80 chapter book that I just couldn't put down.

Anyway, I just got caught up on The Orville after a fellow Trekker at work told me I should watch it. I like the series so far, but some of the shows have been duds, which is typical for a first season. I like this one though, as it had me guessing up until the very end as to what the heck was going on. Best episode of the season so far, and Halston Sage is starting to get a good feel for her character. I'd give it 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Nov 20, 2017, 10:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Skorch, @Cosmic

The left/right debate started with someone (I can't even remember who) comparing the Klingons to Trump supporters, and implying that all of them were anti-immigration racists. But I agree, let's keep the discussion to Star Trek and leave politics out of it. I will fully admit that I allowed myself to get drawn into the debate, but probably should have refrained. It's not worth it. When someone starts throwing so-called statistics at you that are published by a very biased fringe organization, then one needs to realize it's time to stop arguing with the wall.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 11:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Trent

I completely disagree with all of the points you made, but I do appreciate the civil manner in which you conveyed your arguments. It's refreshing, thank you.

The comparison of the Klingons to Trump supporters has been based on a statement that one of the show runners, Aaron Haberts, said during an interview. But CBS was quick to reach out to media outlets to vehemently deny that he was making that type of allegory. But let's look at what Haberts actually said:

"The allegory is that we really started working on the show in earnest around the time the election was happening. The Klingons are going to help us really look at certain sides of ourselves and our country. Isolationism is a big theme. Racial purity is a big theme. The Klingons are not the enemy, but they do have a different view on things. It raises big questions: Should we let people in? Do we want to change? There’s also the question of just because you reach your hand out to someone, do they have to take it? Sometimes, they don’t want to take it. It’s been interesting to see how the times have become more of a mirror than we even thought they were going to be.”

That being said, Trent, I won't deny that there are some extremist Trump supporters that want to end immigration and have racist attitudes. But like I said, BOTH political parties have their extremist elements. There are some on the far left that want totally open borders, expansion of welfare and other entitlements, 75% tax rates, the banning of private schools, and suppression of conservative thought. Oh yes, that last one is very true, they actively campaign to silence those who don't think like them. Btw, all dictatorships throughout history, especially the most notorious ones like Stalin and Hitler, made sure to silence all dissent.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 6:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Your argument is so illogical that it is no longer amusing. You have been consistently lambasting a show that you don't watch, yet feel justified in your arguments. I would hate to have you as a boss, as you would think it's totally appropriate to conduct my annual review without examining any of my actual work or ever having been in the office to observe me.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@kinematic

Your comparisons of the Klingons to ISIS and the Vulcan extremists to the Western right-wing are spot on. Nice post! Right-wing doesn't imply conservatives, as there are many of us that have no problem whatsoever with legal immigration in the United States. My fore-bearers came from Italy and Ireland back in the early 1900's. But you are correct, there are extremists on my side of the political aisle that fear multiculturalism. As Picard shrewdly pointed out once, there is a tendency to fear what one does not understand. So it's up to the rest of us to isolate those extremist voices... But as I said earlier, there are extremists in both political parties, and the 80% of us that are in between need to make our more moderate voices heard more often.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 11:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Marcus

Do you seriously need to be making political statements on this blog? Over the past decade it hasn't been right-wing Americans driving vans through crowds of people or blowing up bombs at marathons. The Las Vegas mass murderer was a left-wing nutcase that supported Bernie. There are extremists on both sides of the political aisle... I enjoy this blog because we discuss the show itself and for the most part leave partisan politics out of it. There are many conservatives who enjoy Star Trek, so for you to put them in the same box as Klingons is pathetic.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Jammer

Excellent review, thank you! I'm jazzed up about the possibilities now that the writers and producers have put together a near perfect episode. Trek is back!

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Seriously, dude, get over yourself already. Jammer is 100% correct that it's ridiculous to so vociferously criticize something you don't watch. And if you're so wound tight that you can't take a joke, then move on already.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Peter G
"Overall an entertaining episode and I was only aggravated a few times, so I will definitely not quit watching when they air the next season. It left me asking questions which is a good thing."

Great post, and you are absolutely right, when a series has you asking questions and wanting to know where it's heading, then it's working. Has it been a rough road getting to this point? Sure. But let's not forget that Season 1-TNG was mostly bad episodes, so I'm hoping the next group of episodes display some Season 2-TNG traction and actually start telling great stories.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 8:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Best episode of the season, hands down! And what a great mid-season cliffhanger, while at the same time tying up some loose ends from the first 8 episodes.

Lorca continues to fascinate me, as I just can't read him. It's not like he's going from one extreme to the other, as the writers are doing a nice job of keeping him shrouded just enough in a cloak of mystery. Stamets is such a great character, and you can't help but get drawn into his plight. Btw, great scene towards the end between Lorca and Stamets! As for Burnham, I noticed some on here have criticized her actions on the Klingon ship, but I thought she handled herself quite well. She needed to by Discovery time to analyze the data from the 2 sensors, so she quite logically used Klingon honor against Kol to achieve her objective.

I would give this episode 3.5 stars! The L'Rell stuff is still confusing, but hopefully they will start clearing up that storyline this winter.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 12:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Ubik

I 100% agree with your post about the changing nature of diversity, and how DIS is actually more in-line with how diversity is viewed today (or at least should be viewed) then during times that earlier series were produced. You could also through diversity of thought in there. It shouldn't just be about skin color or nationality.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 9:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Steve
"But a recurring concern is that Starfleet seems to be run in a way that doesn't seem sustainable. There's no respect for chain of command; insubordination is barely punished..."

I think that's the point of the show, Steve, is that war is hell. We've heard hints that Starfleet was mainly an exploratory, scientific organization prior to the war, and now every ship is being utilized towards the war effort. Imagine a modern day military unit of engineers. Would you want their Colonel/General who is also an engineer leading them into battle if they had to fight? No, you would replace that guy with a General Patton type who understands how to win a war.

Recall the Voyager episode where green-around-the-gills Ensign Kim lamented to Janeway that he couldn't understand how captains like Kirk and Sulu were allowed to get away with the things that they did. Janeway very correctly pointed out to him that "it was a different time, where Klingons were lurking behind every nebula". I like that the producers are taking that angle here.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Nov 6, 2017, 9:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

I enjoyed the A plot with the landing party on the planet. Definitely felt like classic Trek, and it was nice to see the director/producers actually allow time for meaningful conversation, which brings these characters out in the open more. I also like the fact that this time around Discovery was not able to swoop in and save the day. War is hell, and we see that here. Hard to judge the other plots because much of this episode is set up for the fall finale next week, and the storyline with the Klingons is still puzzling. Hoping that it all comes together next week. But overall I liked the show, and would give it 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Mertov

One of the best posts I've ever read on here, as you addressed Omicron and PeterG in a very thoughtful and civil manner. Thank you!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 1:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Why do you feel justified criticizing an episode that you have NOT watched? You claim that Peter G. made convincing arguments to that effect, but the point Jammer was trying to make is that they are HIS arguments based on HIS perspective. I was skeptical about this episode based solely on the previews, but after watching it I found that it exceeded my expectations and I enjoyed the show.

So by your logic, you can have an informed opinion about a show without ever having watched it by simply reading what OTHERS have to say about it? Sorry, but Jammer was spot on in his post to you, and it's your reasoning that is silly.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@wolfstar

There's a difference between criticizing a show's plot/direction and acting like a spoiled brat who isn't getting his way. If you are THAT upset with the show, then stop watching it.

@Sven

Thank you for making my point! Perhaps you can educate @wolfstar. You are absolutely right, every week we keep reading the same posts about how bad the show is and how they are never watching it again. It's like they are stuck in their own weekly time loop!!!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 11:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@11001001 The "sensible people"? So anyone who agrees with you is sensible and those who disagree with you are idiots, is that how your small mind works? If you don't like the show, then STOP WATCHING IT! I have no problem with constructive criticism, but you "critics" who are acting as though you have 5 academy awards for writing sitting on your shelf really need to get a grip. Stop looking for a blend of TOS, TNG, and DS9. I like that they have modernized the show, and young officers and crewman having a party is great. Do you think 250 years from now young people will be mind-numb robots strumming their violins alone in their quarters? I like this take on Trek, and the stories are getting better, as is the acting... Please feel free to post again when you've won your 6th academy award!
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I'll admit, I was concerned whether or not they could pull off a recurring time loop episode (Cause and Effect was one of my favorite TNG episodes), and I'm happy to say they exceeded my expectations. The plot works on many levels. Mudd is after wealth, pure and simple, and the time loop technology is a means to an end for him. Getting to kill Lorca over and over is just a side benefit of the technology in his mind. Fun story, which you need in the middle of a serious arc like the war, and it was well acted. We get more flushing out of Burnham, Ash, and Stamets. Even a bit of Lilly as well... I liked it, would give it 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Shannon
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi ... If you hate the show so much, then stop watching it. As for your theory on the passion being generated having to do with "Star Trek" being in the title, the facts don't support you. I have read every posting of Jammer's for every Start Trek episode, and even the best episodes of DS9 for instance didn't have 222 comments posted (the number as of this posting). You seem to cast yourself as some sort of Trek expert, as your arrogance comes through loud and clear in your posts and your criticisms of other posters. Maybe it's time to move out of your parents' basement and get a real life... As for your troll comment, it just shows how downright pathetic you are.

@Jason ... I'm glad I'm not the only old Trekker that is enjoying the show. I agree wit you that it's edgy, mysterious, enjoyable to watch, but still rooted in Trek. This past episode had some issues, but I'm still intrigued and looking forward to more.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.