Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 39 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

"...The result feels like homework that was turned in half-finished".

Perfect way to put it and entirely sums up my feelings for the episode.

Not to be mean but I hope Braga doesn't pen too many scripts for The Orville. I know he's friends with Seth MacFarlane so he'll probably stick around for the duration. Maybe team him up with someone who can smooth out the rough edges? (Wouldn't be Andre Bormanis it seems)

Still, this being season one, I think the show is doing just fine!
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 12:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

As has been said above I'm conflicted. I enjoyed the character development with Isaac and it was nice to see Claire featured. But I did not like Claire killing two people right before teaching her older son the value of life. Also, shuttle crash, ugh. Give this episode another run through the writers room and I think it'd be improved immensely.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 2:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

I agree with most of the comments above, and certainly Jammer's review.

However! As a depression sufferer, I feel Dawson's performance was riveting. The writing hit all the right personal notes for me. Her portrayal was believable and relatable. I saw my own presentation in her performance.

I'm not concerned with the delay between cause ('Hunter') and effect. Depression sufferers understand that their condition can present years after a stimulus/trigger event. And sometimes there is no such event. It just happens. And often you soldier on in a manner where nobody around you would suspect that anything was 'wrong' until the straw breaks the proverbial camel's back. So to it was with Torres. That's how I choose to see it anyway - and I respect that others find it a bit tough to swallow.

I give top marks for the episode as the only entry in the Trek canon where a series regular (or anyone?) has openly been diagnosed with depression. O'Brien's one-time PTSD in Hard Time is not quite the same thing (though it's in the ballpark), nor is T'Pol's substance abuse in Enterprise season 3. Torres' struggles were more rooted in the context of everyday shitty things life throws at us - loved ones dying etc - and was thus a bit more relatable.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Mon, Apr 6, 2015, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

My goodness I hate it when TNG uses those TOS film era uniforms without the collar and belt. They just look so cheap and lazy.
Set Bookmark
Shane B
Sat, Sep 20, 2014, 7:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

Let me just summarize my feelings by saying this:

When Starbuck showed up at the end of the episode I said out loud, "Oh, f*** you show."
Set Bookmark
Shane
Mon, Jul 21, 2014, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This episode is profoundly stupid. I found myself constantly shaking my head every time a character said something or some element of the plot was revealed.

Here we have a crew too stupid to conserve energy until the tank is on empty. Just a few weeks earlier we had Tom Paris playing with his Camaro on the holodeck. The crew should've been aware of their dwindling power supply at that time.

Since they found themselves out of gas in the middle of nowhere they move all the crew to one area to conserve energy. That's a good idea, but Tuvok won't let Neelix bring a blanket and small book for comfort? That was irritating. The book and blanket take up no more room than Neelix himself really, and they will serve to improve his morale slightly. Screw you Tuvok.

Janeway intends to crawl along at 1/4 impulse power. Do the writers have any clue how large space is? Speaking in interstellar terms they won't get anywhere at impulse speed in the week before their fuel runs out. (Not that they need the engines running constantly in the first place, but Trek always screws up the physics of space travel).

Why doesn't Starfleet have any robotic probes that can be used to "mine" deuterium? If a shuttle and environmental suits can survive the environment (even briefly) then Starfleet must have robotic probes that are more capable. The Soviets landed probes on Venus in the 70s and were able to acquire photographs and scientific data. Venus is incredibly hostile, surely humanity in the 24th century would be much more advanced. (Another thing that bothered me able Trek in general -- where are the robots?)

Tom and Harry land the shuttle a good distance away from the deuterium. Why would they wander so far from the shuttle in such a hostile place? And why only a crew of two? Why do they leave the shuttle door open? Wouldn't the "hostile" environment damage the interior of the shuttle? I'd hate to see what exposure to Venus' would do to the interior of my car!

Janeway again opts to land Voyager in a dangerous situation that really doesn't warrant it. She has a penchant for doing that.

And finally, looks like the whole crew opted to be duplicated. I wouldn't go through with that. I doubt most of the crew would either.

What did I like? Harry's little bit at the beginning of taking the initiative and voicing his opinion. He really has gained a lot of experience and did deserve promotion. Too bad the writers and producers were assholes and liked to punk Harry on every possible occasion.

This episode is definitely a 1-star or less for me. Not so bad it's good, just so bad as to be maddening.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Thu, May 15, 2014, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Makes the Enterprise-E crew look even more stupid. Leaving all that Borg wreckage on 21st century Earth. Oy vey
Set Bookmark
Shane
Sun, Mar 30, 2014, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

How freakin' creepy is that when Kes boils Tuvok's blood?!
Set Bookmark
Shane
Wed, Mar 12, 2014, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

You might be able to enjoy the episode more if you put yourself in pseudo-O'Brien's shoes at the end and think about how he feels upon discovering what he is. Because for all intents and purposes, that was O'Brien, just his consciousness duplicated in another body, and he died there.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Wed, Mar 12, 2014, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Of DS9, I've only seen mostly up to this episode, and while it's not perfect (some logical fallacies do come into play, such as why they didn't just jail him if they knew), it offers something that most of DS9 so far, meaning S1 and S2 episodes for me, don't in that the plot is actually interesting. There have only been a few other episodes so far with a really gripping narrative ("Duet" comes to mind), so "Whispers" was appreciated in that regard. One of the more standout episodes so far.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Sun, Feb 23, 2014, 5:39am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

"If you don't comply, I have permission to destroy Enterprise."

"How do I know you won't destroy Enterprise anyway?"

"Captain Archer is no longer aboard Enterprise."

Ugh. I HATE that clunky dialog. The writer's insistence that everyone to refer to it solely as Enterprise no matter what is so damned annoying to me.

Toss in an occasional "the Enterprise", "the ship", or "my ship" dammit!
Set Bookmark
Shane
Wed, Aug 28, 2013, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

Why didn't Archer have the Xindi listening post personnel beamed aboard? The Enterprise crew have used the transporter plenty by this time, they know it's safe (not that they particularly care about the well being of the Xindi).
Set Bookmark
Shane
Thu, Aug 1, 2013, 7:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Actually the string has a force of 100 stars. Not unreasonable I think, especially compared to a blackhole.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Sun, Jul 7, 2013, 12:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

LOL, there's a Harry Kim corpse floating around in space. Could've been a wonderfully macabre moment if Voyager starts heading home again and then Kim's dead body smashes into the viewscreen.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Thu, Jul 4, 2013, 2:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

To store the transporter pattern of a person takes an enormous amount of computer memory. DS9 had an episode called "Our Man Bashir" where Security Officer Michael Eddington had to dump virtually all the computer memory on Deep Space Nine to store the patterns for 5 people. Given that fact, I'd say that a transporter system cannot store all the information for the entire crew. That's why the transporter isn't frequently used to heal crew members or bring people back from the dead.

On the other hand, TNG and the other series used the transporter plenty of times to restore people from various condition, like Doctor Pulaski in "Unnatural Selection" (albeit with the help of a hair follicle).
Set Bookmark
Shane
Thu, Jul 4, 2013, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Amazing how quickly Voyager abandoned its premise. This is only the second episode of the series and if it weren't for the plot thread of B'Elanna Torres and Joe Carey duking it out for chief engineer you could drop this episode at any almost point in the series and it would fit.

With TNG it's rather easy to differentiate a season 1 episode from a season 7 episode but in Voyager's case you could put "Parallax" right next to "Nightingale" in the schedule and not notice a difference in the characters. (Unless of course Janeway's hairstyle counts!)
Set Bookmark
Shane
Thu, Jul 4, 2013, 12:13am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Always interesting to come back to a series' pilot to see what the potential of a show could've been.

Unfortunately with Voyager I think this pilot shows a good deal of promise and also the unfortunate lack of thought on the part of the writers. I think the premise of Voyager is fantastic, it's just a shame they didn't have better writers. The show quickly settled into a safe and dull status quo.

If I were to do a rewrite of "Caretaker" I'd have the crew place timed explosives on the array so that they could attempt a return to the Alpha Quadrant. They generate a displacement wave and get pushed away but unfortunately with the Caretaker entity dead the wave dissipates quickly and sends Voyager only a short distance away. The ship turns back to try and disable the explosives but is unable to do so in time. Voyager is still a good distance from the array as we see it on the view screen exploding. The spirits of the crew Starfleet and Maquis alike are crushed as the reality of their situation takes hold. 70 years from home.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Jun 28, 2013, 5:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

I enjoyed this episode immensely when it first aired. Time travel was always fun (even though now I tend dislike it because of the massive flaws in logic often brought about). I've also been to the Santa Monica pier and it's fun seeing the sites on the show. There's plenty of fun stuff. Plenty of flaws. At the very least it's one of Voyager's more memorable two-parters.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Jun 28, 2013, 5:51am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

This episode could've been much better. I like the idea of continuity with TNG's "The Price". (Even though the chances of Voyager running into two Ferengi in the entire Delta Quadrant is slim). Then again Voyager's writers don't seem to grasp a sliver of logic.

Janeway really is a terrible Captain though. It'd have been fun if they revealed she was infected or under the influence of something that causes her to intentionally miss opportunities to get home quickly and safely. And for the finale I'd have liked very much to see her Court Marshal a la Seinfeld's finale with the final moment being Janeway sent off to a jail cell! :-)
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Jun 28, 2013, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

This episode is so screwed up. Apparently the writers confused Tim Russ' human character on the Enterprise B for Tuvok on the Excelsior. They missed the fact that the Excelsior had been in Beta Quadrant for 3 years (Tuvok said he was new to Starfleet) They missed the fact that Praxis exploded two months before the Khitomer Conference in 2293. And finally, Voyager killed Fontaine but we freakin' see him alive at the end of Star Trek VI when Sulu says goodbye to Kirk! Oh, and there's no Tuvok/Tim Russ on the Excelsior in that same shot!

If they HAD to put Tuvok on the Excelsior it would have been better for him to tell a story about some unseen adventure rather than trying to jam it into the continuity of Star Trek VI. It's just sloppy. Braga does this again with Enterprise's finale trying to shoehorn itself into TNG's Pegasus episode. It just doesn't fit!
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Jun 28, 2013, 4:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Hey folks, the reason Janeway didn't know or didn't mention the Equinox is because the writers don't think that far ahead!

If they had been on the ball Janeway could've mentioned the Hera (La Forge's mother's ship) and that would've been a nice touch for Trekkies. Lost opportunity as so much of Voyager was.

As for the rest of the episode, I didn't find myself captivated by Seska's lying. I knew for a fact she was indeed lying because I saw this episode well after the fact. I guess if I had caught it during the original run I'd have liked it better. Unfortunately it just came off as a waste of time waiting for the truth to come out.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

I was actually bored with the sickbay scenes in this episode and downright disliked the climbing stuff. I get sick and tired of the hard-headed unreasonable forehead aliens from Voyager and Enterprise and this one had a doozy with the patient spewing constant hatred while Phlox tried to save his life. Just sedate the mofo and get on with the treatment.

The climbing was annoying because, as had been mentioned by others, the creators don't seem to know a thing about modern climbing let alone what the future potentially holds. I'll give a pass to older Trek series for their limited budgets and time, but Enterprise could've done better with CGI or something. Or perhaps it's just further proof the writers have no imagination?
Set Bookmark
Shane
Mon, Apr 1, 2013, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

What is the point of the malevolent aliens leaving the hydraulic machines and the dead crew on their own ship adrift in space where a human ship commanded by an idiot can stumble across them? If the bad aliens are processing the blood for their own uses why not just take the bodies with them and do the work on the go? No need to come back, no chance of your meal or whatever being scavenged. Plot convenience = TV suck.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Dec 28, 2012, 8:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Yes, this is an absolutely ridiculous episode but I still love it and it was one of my favorites as a kid. Whenever a rerun of TNG came on I usually hoped for a bizarre episode like Masks, Genesis, or Phantasms over the more famous episodes such as Tapestry, Best of Both Worlds, or Measure of a Man.

So here we have an ANCIENT computer system inhabiting Data while the alien archive transforms the Enterprise. Even as a kid I found this premise to be somewhat flawed and wondered how the Enterprise held together and remained inhabitable while being transformed. Not to mention the far fetched idea of a multi-million year old computer system yet alone one that could interface with and cause changes to the Enterprise. But being that Contagion had a touch of that I guess the writers saw no problem doing it here.

As a kid I found this episode somewhat creepy and Osaka scary but as an adult I think Spiner's performances are a bit goofy. I always thought Picard dawning the mask was goofy.

Lots of folks like to suggest TNG was out of gas and it was time to end but Season 7 was planned to be the last so I think that contributed to more unusual ideas making it to production. Maybe the actors were getting fatigued but I'm thinking the "weaker" storytelling was simply due to the a-team writers giving additional attention to DS9, while other staff were starting work on the forthcoming TNG film, and Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Shane
Fri, Dec 28, 2012, 8:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

I actually really enjoyed this episode during TNG's original run and still do today. I felt it was a decent lesson about using empirical evidence over blind theory (at a time when many of my friends still believed in Santa Claus and the boogeyman -- I was 7 years old when this first aired). Data was one of my favorite characters at the time so I always enjoyed watching him, and this episode featured him heavily of course.

As for Troi and her story, yes it's goofy to jam it into a single episode -- or more correctly a fraction of an episode. Realistically, if they did it at all, it should have been spread throughout the season or several seasons, something like Nog's Starfleet career in DS9. Pretty ridiculous that one of the least qualified crewmembers could earn a promotion to commander in a single episode. I always thought Deanna shouldn't have been a Starfleet officer at all, especially since she didn't wear a uniform for much of the series. Oh well...
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.