Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 152 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

I almost never comment on these things, but I feel I must. Ok, I do get the Wesley hate when he is portrayed as the boy wonder superchild and all the regulars just look to him with awe. But this episode has none of that!

I remember watching it when it first came out-I was 13, and to me, it was a perfect episode! Granted, the girls I had crushes on were far younger (not just younger than the 27 year old actress, but younger than the 16 year old she was playing-I was 13, and I crushed on 11 to 13 year old girls at the time) but this is basically how I acted! Someone said that they couldn't believe Wes would ask advice of the crew-it is PRECISELY what I did! And the whole "she's perfect" is pretty much what I said of the girls I crushed on! We all need to stop being so jaded here-I truly think this works well.

Ironically, what I didn't like was the Guinan/Riker moment. It is funny that most here do. Actually, I thought the girl was a shapeshifter too, but that reveal took my older brother totally by surprise! (*He thought that it would turn out the the girl Wesley kissed would be the old woman trying to come on too fast to turn Wesley away)

You also have to remember that a lot of kids my age watched Star Trek, and to be honest, it is always a thrill for tweens and early teens to have someone close to their age on a TV show and for them to be the brilliant one whilst the adults are hopeless. Granted, some episodes went to far with that with Wesley. It might have worked better if he outsmarted the villians, but not our heroes of the show.

Anyway, that's just my take-I can recall these episodes from my childhood, and I honestly feel that as adults, and also, as a generation of internet users, and such, we can not see that a lot of things that annoy us (or some of us here) were actually perfect for teens/tweens of the '80s

And, just to give you an idea of the type of girls I liked, the only girl from Star Trek TNG that I can remember offhand that I thought was cute at the time was the girl in the episode where Picard was stuck in the turbolift that he called "Number One" She was probably about 12-14, but again, that was my age too

Although, I was honestly surprised to discover that the actress who played Wesley's love interest was so old!
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 4:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

Oddly enough this may be my favorite Next Generation episode. I empathize with the character quite a bit, though he's the most exaggerated version of my own insecurities I could imagine. I actually like all of the writing in this episode including the jeopardy plot but really it's the character that makes me love this (and every Barclay episode).
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sun, May 28, 2017, 11:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Did the probe have inertial dampeners? A good Worf episode even if it didn't make much sense.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I have to say this, I really did like this episode when it aired. Also, (now I was 21 when it aired), I thought the 2 girls (the chief and first officer) were INCREDIBLY attractive! I am shocked no one else did-seriously, I thought they were prettier than anyone on DS9 before or after. I guess that's a minority opinion
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Isn't there some kind of Federation legal mumbo jumbo about using real life images for characters on the holodeck? On the plus side, gave the actors more to do on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Mar 17, 2017, 8:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

So let me get this straight. After all that I've put up wiht on this show we don't even learn who future guy was? What a gip!

My theory is it's that cheese guy dude from buffy.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Mar 16, 2017, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Why are commodores in star trek always such major dicks? I really enjoyed the scene between McCoy and Kirk where Kirk feels at odds with his ship. And this is my main gripe with Star Trek Continues - the fan made show...when they introduced the counselor they eliminated the need to have any meaningful scenes with McCoy in that particular show - but that's just my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Mar 14, 2017, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

Why is Data eating eggs? Do androids eat? Apparently, that's all I got from this show.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

Finally, a Torres story that doesn't suck. The only wierd gripe I have, is that star trek is talking about genetic manipulation and not once do they mention Kahn, like every other time star trek talks about genetic manipulation.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 11:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

For some reason the scene that bugged me is when Troi calls herself Barclay's therapist instead of his friend. Not sure why that bugged me, but it did. Also, it bugs me that after "All Good Things" it's like these characters suddenly changed from what we've seen before. But that could just be my opinion. I don't have any facts to back this up, just a feeling when I see them on screen via Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Feb 3, 2017, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

For some reason, the first time around when I saw this I thought they were really saving the virus only to use it on the enemy trying to destroy them and thus they would have their ending for season three. Maybe that's what they were thinking with this episode? Maybe not. Maybe they weren't thinking much at all.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Jan 31, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

This is the problem I have with Voyager - when it scores it scores big. I loved maybe a third of the episodes in season six - and when it fails, it fails big. I don't know yet what the response will be to next episodes from Jammer - but I personally hated that episode, what a bad way but consistent way to end the season
Set Bookmark
Sean
Mon, Jan 30, 2017, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

DIdn't we just have a flashback episode style story with T'Pol as the narrator? Feels like it anyway. That being said - I always love seeing Keith Carradine in anything. Just too bad it was a one shot.
Not sure I would have given this a three star rating myself, but still better than some of the season two garbage I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 6:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

I loved this episode. Why? Because Seven of Nine had only line. I can't stress enough how much I hate her.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Oh, look - the BORG - "yawn".
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

This would have been better had they used the crewmen from equinox. And Seven was extremely annoying this episode. I would have given this two stars butcwatchable.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Jan 26, 2017, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I'd like to say that this is as bad as Next Generation gets - but it isn't. It isn't even the worst episode I can think of.
Why would a doctor be afraid of dead bodies? For some reason, that bothered me more than the hydrogen thing.
I loved Guinan pulling out the big gun behind the bar.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Jan 26, 2017, 10:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

I started hating Voyager when it became clear that it was now Seven of NIne's show. Man, I hate Jeri Ryan. But this was a good episode. I don't hate her as much if the show is at least passable.
My only real question - is how come we never see Samantha Wildman. It was a little wierd seeing Neelix with Naomi at the science fair. Neelix is another character I can't stand.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Wed, Jan 25, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Wow - continuity errors abound this episode - but I have a theory. This isn't the starfleet vessel from the first season - nope. It's a parallel universe Voyager. In fact, every episode is a parallel Voyager ship. There ya go. Just explained seven seasons of why the hell didn't this make any sense?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Jan 24, 2017, 3:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

As much as I hated this episode, I'd rather see Klingons every week than Borg. But this is the problem with Enterprise - it was all supposed to be brand new stuff, but I've seen all this stuff before.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 11:00am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Whenever I see BORG stories now I always have to ask myself who in their right minds decided that it was a good idea to make the Delta Quadrant BORG space. Why would the BORG have a Home territory at all?
Also, I've always hated the idea of the BORG queen. She was always there but we just didn't see her plot never worked for me.
I also just hate Jeri Ryan being added to Voyager, so yes - for me the whole BORG plot has been done, by this point done to death.
I know I'm the lone Trek fan who hates First Contact and Jeri Ryan - but there it is.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Fri, Jan 20, 2017, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I jjst realized the way you described the ship - it's the TARDIS from Doctor Who. Wait, what?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 12:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Star Trek for me will always be TOS, TNG, and those six movies with Kirk and crew. I've seen every other incarnation of Trek - and while each had moments worth watching, none of it felt memoable. That might be a bit harsh, but it's how I feel. Sorry Mr. Berman.
This episode would have been better if it had actually been about the Enterprise crew, and not about Riker. For some reason Berman believed this would be the end of all Star Trek - was he wrong...
By the way, did we ever learn who was sending messages from the future?
Set Bookmark
Sean
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Authenticty? Ha. Ireland looks like a backyard studio lot at paramount to me.
As soon as they start marketing holodecks I'm getting one - that's all there is to it.
Set Bookmark
Sean
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Sidenote:
Why does Admiral Paris have a photo of Nicolas Lacarno on his desk? I know I'm a TNG fan, but still it seems wierd that they would use a stock photo from The First Duty.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.