Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

@Trent:

I really don't think this episode was a bust on religion or God (if it was, I wouldn't watch it). Rather on the charlentons that try to take advantage of people's faith. Besides which, Andra was saying she was their devil, not God
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Mon, Apr 16, 2018, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

@Peter

Well, the age one is old enough to date is found at 1 Cor 7:36: " But if anyone thinks he is behaving improperly by remaining unmarried,* and if he is past the bloom of youth, then this is what should take place: Let him do what he wants; he does not sin. Let them marry" So, Dating is only for those old enough for marriage. Such ones are “past the bloom of youth,” or have passed the peak surge of sexual desire.

1 Cor 7:39: "A wife is bound as long as her husband is alive. But if her husband should fall asleep in death, she is free to be married to whomever she wants, only in the Lord" So, we only marry fellow Witnesses. Jehovah’s Witnesses view this command as referring not merely to a person who respects our beliefs but to one who shares and practices those beliefs as a baptized Witness. (2 Corinthians 6:14) God has always directed his worshippers to marry only those of the same faith. (Genesis 24:3; Malachi 2:11) This command is also practical, as modern researchers have found.

Many practices commonly associated with dating are actually serious sins. For example, the Bible commands us to avoid sexual immorality. This includes not only intercourse but also other unclean acts between unmarried people, such as fondling the genitals of another person or engaging in oral or anal sex. (1 Corinthians 6:9-11) Even premarital passion-arousing behavior that stops short of sexual immorality is “uncleanness” that displeases God. (Galatians 5:19-21) Immoral conversations consisting of “obscene talk” are also condemned in the Bible.—Colossians 3:8.

The heart, or inner person, is treacherous. (Jeremiah 17:9) It can lead a person to do things that he knows are wrong. To prevent their hearts from misleading them, couples who are dating can avoid being alone in tempting situations. They may choose to take such reasonable precautions as staying in the company of a wholesome group or a suitable chaperone. (Proverbs 28:26) Single Christians who are looking for a marriage mate recognize the risks of online dating sites, especially the risk of developing a relationship with a person whom one knows very little about.—Psalm 26:4.

I hope this clears things up, but please feel free to ask me any questions you wish
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

@Space Cadet

Actually, that is something my friend Mike used to laugh about through the entire run of the show. A bad guy would shoot Enterprise half a dozen times whilst Picard looks up from his Earl Grey tea to ask for casualities and shield strength until finally mustering up the energy to return fire!

(We used hyperbole quite a bit, but seriously, it is kind of amusing. Not that I condone bloodthirstiness or use of weapons, but in the context of the show, it never made sense)
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

@Peter

My apologies. Rereading this, I realise how confusing I sounded. I am a Jehovah's Witness. By "we", I meant Jehovah's Witnesses. I actually do not think the writers were thinking about online dating, but this also applies to "blind dates" which we (again, we as Jehovah's Witnesses) do not do. I think this is what the writers had in mind. But in this age of internet, online dating is common. We have a very good system of dating and courtship. Our very low divorce rate I think is a good indication of this. But I am not saying this to pat a human on the back. We use the bible's principals in how we date, court and behave as married couples. So, I should say our system of dating is scriptural, which makes it very good as we get God's view of how we behave
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Dr Lazarus

Or they could not engage in relations outside of marriage. That would be the healthiest solution!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

@ Chrome & Peter:

I guess we took different things from this show. I believe in marrying people who are fellow Christians only. This is one reason we do not date online. Also, compatibility is a complete factor-marrying for money or status is totally wrong as well, so I so agree with your point too
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

I REALLY enjoyed this episode! Always have. I don't have any deep thing to share about it though

@Elliott: I can see why I disagree with almost every comment you make. Your outlook on life and mine are TOTALLY different! I am a deeply religious person, and you seem to go out of your way to not be
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

I see I am in the minority here, but I really like this episode! The child actor's seem believable to me. Clara hits all the right notes, and Isabella is wooden because she's an alien! Her impressions and emotions are totally different than ours! I can buy that-I actually think the child actress was directed to act this way, it's no reflection on her talents.

Also, I truly don't know why everyone hates Alexander. He didn't seem unbelievable here-he was making a pottery cup, met a little girl and was annoyed when his project was spoiled. He didn't believe her story about an imaginary friend doing it. So far so good

Also, everyone seems to think that the adults were dumb in not believing Clara. She ALREADY had an imaginary friend that everyone knew wasn't real! It would be different I guess if this came up suddenly, but we know her dad was already concerned about her, so thinking her acting up was a part of it made sense to me!

I too enjoyed Data's bunny rabbit comment. He is understanding more of what it means to be humaniod every day!

I think that the places banned to children is on the honour system-it may seem unbelievable in our wicked world, but I think that in the Star Trek universe, people (even children) are supposed to be generally law-abiding, so locks do not need to be put on areas. And even Worf was much less stern than usual when talking to the girls

I like this episode much better than the last one for instance (The Perfect Mate) where to me the whole situation could have been easily avoided if Picard stayed away from the metamorph! Data worked very well as chaperone, and he should have been the only male to interact with her. In fact, that would have been a perfect occasion to use Counselor Troi as companion for her until they reached their destination! Problem solved!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 5:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Another thing: Why did they not send Data to be the liason for Kamala, and LEAVE HER IN HER QUARTERS? That is something that I thought of at the very beginning. This entire situation is absurd! She should have been confined to quarters-it is obvious that she is a temptation to the men on the ship! It's honestly crazy how Picard doesn't see this
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 5:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

I have to agree with Bill on this one. I hated this episode when it came out, and rewatching it now, my opinion hasn't changed.

Also, as I have said before in reviews on this website, my taste in girls is vastly different than most people here. I do not find Kamala attractive at all! I didn't in X-Men and I didn't here. But that truly is besides the point-I can't abide the plot here. It's just not enjoyable to me
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

@Elliott-I actually agree with Pviateur: the nudity was completely inappropriate

The only good thing I take from this episode is that even before the internet came out, it shows the folly of online dating. Luxana and her beau were COMPLETELY incompatible!

@Jay-the real reason why Worf is neck deep is because it was probably a lot cheaper than doing makeup for his Klingon bone structure on his chest (I assume Alexander doesn't have it because he is still a child)
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

@Matt

Sorry, I have to say this-it's Jack London! Not Jack Frost! LOL!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

@TH I agree!

@Jay Again, I agree! No offence to Michelle Forbes, but I've always seen her as quite ugly! I have some idea that sometimes my tastes vary from the norm though. *(actually, I don't really see any of the regulars (Troi, Guinan, Tasha, Crusher) as particularly attractive.

I seriously see MacDuff as the Mule from Isaac Asimov's Foundation series. Even without physical (technological) powers, he can just twist minds (or make them forget) and turn his enemies against themselves. For instance, they could believe that they just signed a treaty with his race, and are going to destroy their weapons! But as Shawn Davis said, the rest of the episode is so interesting and fun, that I will forgive this and still enjoy the show

@Moegreen & JJ I just read your comment(s). As a high school chess coach myself, that plot hole bothers me more than anything else about this episode! Poker, yes, chess no!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

Please note: I am writing this before reading any comments, so excuse me if I repeat something someone else said.

I do like this episode, but the real Conundrum is how Troi can beat Data in chess!!!

That aside, if these aliens can wipe minds and penetrate shields, do they really need the Enterprise to fight their battles? Just wipe their opponent's minds!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Now, I want to say that I read no comments here before I left mine.

That said, this has always been my absolute favourite TNG episode (or at least one of them). But one thing always stuck out-if these aliens are going back to the 19th century, what are the chances that they came from the 24th? Why not the 25th? Or 23rd, or some other time. I mean Picard & co go to their planet, and there they are (well, out of phase, but still in their time!) That is an unbelievable coincidence!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

This is one of maybe 3 or 4 episodes that I wasn't allowed to watch when I was younger, but seeing it now, I can definitely understand why
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I really liked this episode when it came out, and I still do! But we all have our opinions.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 12:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

I agree completely with Dr Bob. Alexander could REALLY have used a good spanking. *(I disagree with whomever earlier said to "knock him around" Just a spanking-nothing abusive

Ari, I don't know what you mean about the teacher. She seemed reasonable and caring to me
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Thu, Mar 8, 2018, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

My honest opinion is that this episode is embarrassing. Not in a bad way towards the episode, but in that it shows how desperate some people can be. I feel bad that some people can not find a mate (like poor Jenna here who seems to go after the wrong guy a lot and can't find a husband) and so will look anywhere. She already knows that Data is an android. It would be like falling in love with a computer. I can see it happening, but it is still embarrassing all around. I also do not understand why the senior crew members didn't try to talk him out of it knowing that Data would not be able to provide the emotional support and love a woman needs. There is no way that Data and Jenna could be a successful husband and wife, and this should be obvious
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Mar 7, 2018, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Everyone seems to feel that the Admiral's blowup at the end came out of nowhere. I think (as also Charles did) that Picard's mention of her father was the touchpoint. She wasn't some raving maniac, but there are some things that will set people off and seeing how much this Admiral idolized her dad, it would make sense that anyone she views as suspect hiding behind her father's words (in her opinion) would set her off.

As far as the Federation being racist, I don't see that as a stretch. Remember only 80 years ago in TOS, a crewman who served on the Enterprise with Spock for years (presumably) suddenly turns on him when he sees that the Romulans look like Vulcans. It's highly possible that the Romulan-Federation war of the early 23rd century is still a touchpoint to the average citizen. Whilst the Klingons are now established allies, the Romulans never were. And also since they just came out of the shadows again, this means that so little is known of them. It is easy to be racist against a "boogyman" like that.

As far as politics, I am completely neutral-I watch Star Trek for entertainment, not to relate it to anything else.
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Mar 7, 2018, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

Something I forgot to mention:

This may have been unintentional on the writers part, but to me it always seems as if El-Aurians (Guinan's race) don't sleep like humans or maybe need less REM sleep. She seemed VERY coherent in this episode unlike everyone else! I actually thought that they would mention that in the episode, but they didn't. I could see Guinan as backup counselor permanently, and in this episode, acting first officer to Data's acting Captain as everyone else descends into madness and anarchy!
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Wed, Mar 7, 2018, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

I don't know why everyone hates this episode, but I REALLY liked it as a kid. This one scared me (in a good way-I mean the tingles up my spine when I watched it with my friends (we would all get together to watch the latest episode)) and was so memorable! A few episodes caused that thrill tingle-this one and the one with Data dreaming and Freud saying "Kill them before it's too late!" to name a few

I remember once staying up for 6 days, and yes, I began hallucinating too! (Not something I'd recommend)

Another thing, someone here said that the crew (senior officers) weren't being annoyed enough at each other. While that may be true, no one mentioned Riker's look when Picard told him to take a rest and releave him 4 hours later-he looked SERIOUSLY ticked (I thought it was odd until I realised he was irritable from lack of sleep)

As far as the aliens go, I think it is true that they are so...well, alien compared to other aliens that they couldn't communicate without symbols. At the end when their ship flies away, it seems to be made of just light unlike the other metal ships one sees on Star Trek. That clued me in to the fact that they are completely unlike anything else. What surprised me is that after our heroes left the danger zone, they didn't try to communicate with those aliens. At least to thank them

Ok, those are my random thoughts

Sean
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I have to be honest-I really don't see that Geordi did anything wrong with the hologram. Even his using "inside knowledge" with Leah Brahms was...unwise and immature, but not wrong. People are using the "creep" and "stalker" titles too freely. If he genuinely used the hologram in an inappropriate way, that would be different. It seems that Lt Barclay did do that with Troi (and possibly the doctor). There is a BIG difference
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Sat, Feb 24, 2018, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I did like this episode, but it kind of bothers me that no one but Data knows the truth about this new alien race. I guess I feel it makes the good guys "lose" somehow.

Either way, it really was an exciting and fun episode
Set Bookmark
Sean Hagins
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

This has always been one of my favourite episodes! There's something touching at the end with the little insect boy. I always pictured as a kid the enemies that wiped out his race as being spider people! (But I'm a weird one)

Anyway, it was neat seeing the cast as a bit older
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.