Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 182 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

This episode has so much heart. Probably my biggest disagreement with Jammer since "Balance of Terror". Strong 3.5 from me.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Neely,

It’s a prototype ship with a technical problem. But it’s a partially functioning vessel.

This episode is symptomatic of Voyager’s pathology: too quickly hitting the reset button, and little risk in characters evolving over the course of an episode or the series. Arcs are stalled.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 8:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

There’s a low key Star Wars reference early in the episode. The Dyson Sphere looks like a Death Star, and the dialogue talks about something being “impacted on the surface,” a callback to the assault by X-wings by the rebels.
Set Bookmark
NeoMasamune
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Just watched this episode and really enjoyed it. I’m pretty shocked to see so many people that hated it to be quite honest.

One point I’d like to make is how everybody assumes that it was just Archer and Phlox that made the call and that’s that....they file their reports, the information on the cure would be in the database. Basically Starfleet would get the information, and if they disagreed with the outcome they could dispatch envoys no problem.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

They got the Governor from Walking Dead to be the captain now? Heh? Parallel actions, keeping a minster in his quarters...
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Man—who taught her how to Vulcan nerve pinch? It was not super effective. Maybe MB missed that day at Vulcan school. Somebody, quick, page Admiral Archer! We need a Vulcan nerve pinch here—stat!
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Love the episode. But one small flaw: how did Odo know exactly how the female changeling looked while she was decomposing on stage? Having him appear as her in somewhat good health would have been more expected. But, it's a small point.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Here it is: Kasidy Yates' family practices Christianity. Not only that, but Kasidy never converts to the Bajoran faith. If you're surprised that religion exists in DS9 after watching to the final season, you haven't been paying attention. There are references to relgion--respectful references--throughout all the Trek series, including TOS. Besides, the greatest Trek film, Star Trek V, was all about religion. :-D
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

The writers gave Sisko a blank check to make bad choices to win the war: the plot of Pale Moon Light, Worf killing Gowron, and here sending Ezri to Fix Garak so he'll break codes. It's a plot contrivance hushed so as to demonstrate desperation. But it's about Sisko here too.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

@mathtans I just saw this and will give your blog page a read! I hope you found the journey through the whole series to be worthwhile.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

So, this episode follows the pattern of the book of Joel in the Old Testament. Here is a citation of the locusts metaphor (which represents a prophecy of an invading nation in both cases): Joel 1:1-7: 1 The word of the Lord that came to Joel the son of Pethuel.

2 Hear this, ye old men, and give ear, all ye inhabitants of the land. Hath this been in your days, or even in the days of your fathers?

3 Tell ye your children of it, and let your children tell their children, and their children another generation.

4 That which the palmerworm hath left hath the locust eaten; and that which the locust hath left hath the cankerworm eaten; and that which the cankerworm hath left hath the caterpiller eaten.

5 Awake, ye drunkards, and weep; and howl, all ye drinkers of wine, because of the new wine; for it is cut off from your mouth.

6 For a nation is come up upon my land, strong, and without number, whose teeth are the teeth of a lion, and he hath the cheek teeth of a great lion.

7 He hath laid my vine waste, and barked my fig tree: he hath made it clean bare, and cast it away; the branches thereof are made white.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

So, the title on Netflix is Bar Associate instead of Bar Association. The real title always reminds me if the Garth Brooks song America pun Honky Tonk Bar Aasociation.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Jammer, I think you're being too hard in the writers. If they had left breadcrumbs to point to the subterfuge of Kassidy and Eddington, it would have defeated the surprise element. It's not far fetched, as was Lee and the black market on BSG since all the pieces were already in the DS nine Lore.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

...all of this said, how would Miles be starving yet have the strength to kill another person?
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@chris

That's quite a journey! Congrats!
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Jul 5, 2017, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

The aliens aren't nameless--they're kitary (rimes with atari, get it?).
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Why didn't the R&C fleet just cloak when they were ambushed? The could have snuck away.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Jun 18, 2017, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

@matthans thanks as well for all the feedback! It's nice to hear from someone who knows the show so well.

My impression of the battle in "The Heart of the Journey" is that the Commonwealth was fighting the Nietzcheans, who were being controlled by the Abyss, which is basically what you are saying. The show provided so little insight into what was happening that I had to assume that the Magog World Ship being brought back and then never actually appearing on-screen was the result of script rewrites, perhaps motivated by time constraints and the budgetary issues entailed by producing new digital effects footage of the World Ship.

As to "Coda", I didn't read it until after finishing the series on the off-chance that it would spoil some of the story (it didn't), and It's a nice, poetic glimpse into what the story could have been. Seasons 2.5 onwards does have some great moments (season 3's "The Unconquerable Man", showing the alternate timeline with Rhade persevering in the pilot episode, really made an impression on me), but I didn't realize until I read "Coda" how much I missed Robert Hewitt Wolf's grasp of Andromeda's characters and the potential of the overarching story.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Thanks for the positive feedback @Trajan and @Ashton Withers! Glad at least a couple people read what I wrote. I kept searching for Andromesa Season 4 and 5 reviews and found nothing, and since I'm too lazy to start my own website, maybe my comments here can be helpful for anyone interested in how the show ended up.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I've never fully understood the debate about this episode. It always seemed to me like Picard's attitude was completely reasonable and basically can be described by three possibilities:

A) the entity cannot be communicated with/the attempts to communicate fail, in which case the Enterprise should immediately destroy it because of the immense destruction and loss of life it has caused and will continue to cause

B) the entity can be communicated with and the Enterprise learns that it is cognizant of its actions (and the significance of the loss of life it has caused) and/or that it cannot continue to exist without continuing to cause similar destruction, in which case the Enterprise should immediately destroy it

C) the entity can be communicated with and the Enterprise can figure out a way to get it to stop its destructive rampage and provide some morally-neutral way for it to continue to live, in which case it should not be destroyed. This option assumes that the entity was unaware of the harm it was causing (or, if it was aware, saw no other option). In this case, it is not morally culpable for surviving the only way it knows how to survive.

The mother is at fault, because she destroyed the entity before option C) could be ruled out (and at a time when nobody was in immediate danger), thus potentially destroying an entity that was not necessarily morally culpable and did not necessarily need to be destroyed. Maybe it did - but that hadn't determined that yet and nobody was in immediate danger.

Some of the comments here are portraying the episode as naive/preaching Picard defying common sense to allow the entity to continue killing people, but I think the episode handles that issue quite reasonably. To an extent, maybe there's some dialogue contradicting what I'm writing (it's been years since I've seen the episode) and I'm just filling in some blanks on my own, I don't know really.

Or maybe the episode should have been ABOUT whether an entity like this should be allowed to live, rather than placing the story of the grieving mother on that framework, as that foundation seems to be the main issue for a lot of people.

Personally, I found nothing in this episode objectionable. 3.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Thu, May 11, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I liked the PD debate. I think it's interesting that so many people here hate the PD - and I can understand why. And yet it's exactly those opinions which make me think the PD might actually make sense.
The only things I didn't really like about the episode is Data's bizarre behavior (though it makes some narrative sense) and, worse, that he didn't get a good tongue lashing from Picard. I spent the last 10 minutes of the episode hoping it'd have one of those rare, dynamite TNG endings where (usually) Picard tells the person off and they roll credits...
Set Bookmark
Sammy Gold
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Here's a line that deserves a little more:

"Let's find us a couple of low mileage pit wolfies and help em build a memory. "

Lol!
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Thanks for explaining. None of that bothers me because I always thought that the “diplomatic ship” thing in a New Hope was just a flimsy last-ditch cover story that nobody thought the Imperials would actually believe - the ship is fleeing from the Imperials and filled with uniformed Rebels who fire at the Stormtroopers, and Vader doesn’t seem to take it seriously when he interrogates Captain Antilles and Leia - but as many times as I’ve seen A New Hope, I haven’t watched it in a while, so I don’t remember all the dialogue from the beginning.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Caedus or @Connor, could you expand on that a bit? I've seen A New Hope a ton of times and Rogue One only once. I didn't notice anything at the end of Rogue One that was particularly problematic in terms of matching up with the beginning of A New Hope, and I'm genuinely curious as to what about it sticks out to you.

I had assumed that some amount of time (I have no idea how much) passed after the end of Rogue One before the start of A New Hope, during which the Devastator finds the Tantive IV and pursues it, ultimately catching up to it near Tatooine. Maybe the start of A New Hope is right after the end of Rogue One and everyone is close to Tatooine already, or maybe the rebels split up to make following them to Yavin IV more difficult and the Devastator ended up following Tantive IV. I dunno, and I don't really care.

Is the problem with the layout of the ship, continuity errors, character actions that don't make sense, or the series of events we see somehow being implausible or impossible?
Set Bookmark
SammyGold
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 6:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Great comments throughout on the pilot episode.

As for me, I can't help but watch it through the eyes that I had when it first aired when I was a college freshman. A group of us met weekly to drink and watch the latest episode - more drinking than watching if it was a repeat.

After a childhood of TOS reruns, it was a thrill to have a Star Trek of my own! We caught and loved every nod to the old series. My favorite was the first Red Alert - I had always hated the blaring horns and unending klaxons of TOS. All of us cheered when Picard yelled "Turn off that damned noise!"

It was and still is a campy episode. Part of it, I think, was that the actors were just starting to find their footing with the characters. By the second season the characters started to fill out better.
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.