Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 191 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

So the next month the civilization will be gone, at the rate it evolves. So who cares? The plot contrivance is a pointless excuse to make religion a strawman. Yaaaaaaaaaaawn...
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Trite and unoriginal writing. Orville does its worst when Seth tries to wrestle with theology. Such a shame, since the episode had potential.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

LaMarr should never have been promoted to engineering. Two words to explain why: majority rule. One more word: statue.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 11:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

So, why didn’t the statue thing come up later when LaMarr is up for promotion to engineering? ::balldrop::
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

I just finished Enterprise and have how seen every Trek episode made so far! (Assuming you don't count The Orville or the Animated Series.)

Compared to Jammer, I liked Seasons 1 and 2 of Enterprise a lot less, Season 3 about the same, and Season 4 a lot more. Botched finale aside, Season 4 really worked for me - it had so much world-building, developed a few of the characters (and put the others in plot-driven stories that at least didn't bring out their underdevelopment as characters), and had the delightful "In a Mirror Darkly..." two-parter, which I had an absolute blast with (Mirror Universe Porthos being a Rottweiler gave me a big laugh).

If Enterprise had 7 seasons, I could see the first two being looked at as the bad ones, three as the transition where it got good, and four as the beginning of its peak. Unfortunately, the show's cancellation and the terrible "These Are the Voyages" (seriously, nothing happened to these characters in six years?) prevented that from happening, and we're left with a failed show that only got consistently good right before the ending.

That said, I'm glad I watched it. Compared especially to Star Trek Discovery so far, Enterprise episodes have a lot of breathing room and are more pleasant to watch. It's fun and relaxing to watch the shows take their time presenting a new conflict every week. Too often, these conflicts were resolved with silly firefights, and the first two seasons hugely overplayed the crew's inexperience and drew heavily on cliche, but it was OK overall. The Xindi Arc worked; the Temporal Cold War didn't. I enjoyed all the two and three parters in Season 4, as they all provided a lot of insight to the Trek universe.

Enterprise's biggest weakness is in its characters. Jeffrey Combs was always a blast to watch but among the regular cast, Reed, Hoshi and Phlox were all only mildly interesting and the rest just bored me. At least Archer grew as a result of the Xindi Arc, but he was never hugely compelling and is definitely the weakest of the Trek main protagonists.

Looking at the number of episodes I gave a positive rating (a 7 or higher on the 10-scale I use on IMDb, which correlates with a 3/4 star rating here), I gave 5 episodes a positive rating in Season 1, 9 in Season 2, 15 in Season 3, and 15 in Season 4. So that's a lot of improvement!

My picks for the best episodes:
1. Cogenitor
2. Twilight
3. Damage
4. In a Mirror Darkly Part I
5. The Council
6. In a Mirror Darkly Part II
7. Shockwave Part I
8. Carbon Creek
9. Stratagem
10. Vox Sola

Thanks as always, Jammer, for running this site, and I'm glad you're continuing writing reviews for Discovery!
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 6:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

The loss of the data here had more of an emotional impact on me than the loss of most of these characters (aside from Porthos) would have had.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sat, Oct 28, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Having just rewatched this episode, I continue to be blown away by it. It comes close to justifying the whole first two seasons of Enterprise. For once, it acknowledges the pitfalls of Archer & Co.'s approach to space exploration and meeting other cultures in a way that feels believable and non-contrived, all in the context of a fascinating issue.

The way the Vissians treat the cogenitors seems unequivocally awful and unacceptable; yet, the episode doesn't fall into the pitfall of blind cultural relativism in indicting Trip's decision to enforce his own values onto them while knowing very little about them. Archer's admission that his own bad example had a role in inspiring Trip to act the way he did - setting in motion the events that led to the cogenitor's suicide - is as close as Enterprise gets to acknowledging how the writers had written Archer as excessively foolish and simplistic in his handling of exploration up to this point in the show. And the subplot with Reed and the Vissian female was funny and added some light-hearted texture to the story.

I'd even put it on my all-time Top 10 episodes list which, off the top of my head, would be:
1. In the Pale Moonlight (DS9)
2. Duet (DS9)
3. Scorpion (VOY)
4. The Enterprise Incident (TOS)
5. Mirror, Mirror (TOS)
6. Tapestry (TNG)
7. Cogenitor (ENT)
8. Q Who (TNG)
9. The Thaw (VOY)
10. All Good Things...(TNG)
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

It was nice to see Major Hayes from Enterprise show up as the PR guy for John.

Prior to this episode, I was concerned that the Union is really a Terran Empire. Think about it: the ship has already been involved in a dispute that disrespected one crew member's cultural convictions and also invading a ship/world in which the crew overthrew the government and its religious system. This is imperialism of the worst sort, invading and ruining cultures as it goes.

But this episode demonstrates that the Union has some sort of code or doctrine such as the prime directive that deals with non-interference. But where was this code in the previous episodes? The multiculturalism of TNG is dead as a doornail in Orville.

But at least this episode offers the hope of infusion by good episodes of Sliders and the neat scifi elements from that show.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Since the rise of YouTube came, it is more realistic to think someone would fall for another by watching video blogs. This episodes works better now because of this.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

This episode has so much heart. Probably my biggest disagreement with Jammer since "Balance of Terror". Strong 3.5 from me.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Neely,

It’s a prototype ship with a technical problem. But it’s a partially functioning vessel.

This episode is symptomatic of Voyager’s pathology: too quickly hitting the reset button, and little risk in characters evolving over the course of an episode or the series. Arcs are stalled.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 8:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

There’s a low key Star Wars reference early in the episode. The Dyson Sphere looks like a Death Star, and the dialogue talks about something being “impacted on the surface,” a callback to the assault by X-wings by the rebels.
Set Bookmark
NeoMasamune
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Just watched this episode and really enjoyed it. I’m pretty shocked to see so many people that hated it to be quite honest.

One point I’d like to make is how everybody assumes that it was just Archer and Phlox that made the call and that’s that....they file their reports, the information on the cure would be in the database. Basically Starfleet would get the information, and if they disagreed with the outcome they could dispatch envoys no problem.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

They got the Governor from Walking Dead to be the captain now? Heh? Parallel actions, keeping a minster in his quarters...
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Man—who taught her how to Vulcan nerve pinch? It was not super effective. Maybe MB missed that day at Vulcan school. Somebody, quick, page Admiral Archer! We need a Vulcan nerve pinch here—stat!
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Love the episode. But one small flaw: how did Odo know exactly how the female changeling looked while she was decomposing on stage? Having him appear as her in somewhat good health would have been more expected. But, it's a small point.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Sep 13, 2017, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

Here it is: Kasidy Yates' family practices Christianity. Not only that, but Kasidy never converts to the Bajoran faith. If you're surprised that religion exists in DS9 after watching to the final season, you haven't been paying attention. There are references to relgion--respectful references--throughout all the Trek series, including TOS. Besides, the greatest Trek film, Star Trek V, was all about religion. :-D
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

The writers gave Sisko a blank check to make bad choices to win the war: the plot of Pale Moon Light, Worf killing Gowron, and here sending Ezri to Fix Garak so he'll break codes. It's a plot contrivance hushed so as to demonstrate desperation. But it's about Sisko here too.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

@mathtans I just saw this and will give your blog page a read! I hope you found the journey through the whole series to be worthwhile.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Jul 31, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

So, this episode follows the pattern of the book of Joel in the Old Testament. Here is a citation of the locusts metaphor (which represents a prophecy of an invading nation in both cases): Joel 1:1-7: 1 The word of the Lord that came to Joel the son of Pethuel.

2 Hear this, ye old men, and give ear, all ye inhabitants of the land. Hath this been in your days, or even in the days of your fathers?

3 Tell ye your children of it, and let your children tell their children, and their children another generation.

4 That which the palmerworm hath left hath the locust eaten; and that which the locust hath left hath the cankerworm eaten; and that which the cankerworm hath left hath the caterpiller eaten.

5 Awake, ye drunkards, and weep; and howl, all ye drinkers of wine, because of the new wine; for it is cut off from your mouth.

6 For a nation is come up upon my land, strong, and without number, whose teeth are the teeth of a lion, and he hath the cheek teeth of a great lion.

7 He hath laid my vine waste, and barked my fig tree: he hath made it clean bare, and cast it away; the branches thereof are made white.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

So, the title on Netflix is Bar Associate instead of Bar Association. The real title always reminds me if the Garth Brooks song America pun Honky Tonk Bar Aasociation.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Jammer, I think you're being too hard in the writers. If they had left breadcrumbs to point to the subterfuge of Kassidy and Eddington, it would have defeated the surprise element. It's not far fetched, as was Lee and the black market on BSG since all the pieces were already in the DS nine Lore.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 12:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

...all of this said, how would Miles be starving yet have the strength to kill another person?
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 7:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@chris

That's quite a journey! Congrats!
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Jul 5, 2017, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

The aliens aren't nameless--they're kitary (rimes with atari, get it?).
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.