Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 99 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Tue, Dec 5, 2017, 12:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Reading over the comments, it looks like this episode should have been postponed until the ideas could have been worked out.
If this had to happen, the Enterprise was the perfect place for it. Capt. Picard is a trained archeologist, so he knew what was going on. And the archive possessed Data, instead of the computer. So it made much less damage than it could have. (Someone should have really pointed this out.) It needed more work, but not too bad within its limits. One important question, though. Why does the goddess Masaka's symbol look like a Chinese man?
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Has Star Trek forgotten its own history? They had the same situation a century ago (their time) in the Omega Glory! You had some Federation official find that the native inhabitants lived long, and tried to aid one side to get the secret. Didn't anyone remember that? According to one independent reference book, Omega IV joined the federation as "Reagan's World." You had a vaguely similar situation in "Miri."
For that matter, where the heck was Guinan? She's about 400 years old. She would know about long lives. (Though I am upset that we never saw Borg drones from her home planet. And did the Borg use the el-Aurians to extend their own lifespans?)
An old idea reused--and not well.
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Fri, Jul 28, 2017, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

It's always interesting to look at old episodes from the standpoint of the present. But the obvious question is: how did Stocker get to be a Commodore (and one of the few around)? We know now that everyone in Starfleet has to go to the Academy, as far as I know. So Stocker would have gone through the security training, and possibly the Kobayashi Maru test. He may not have been in battle, but he should have known what Starfleet protocols are about conflict with their adversaries. He didn't, but he was still promoted.
By the way, is the appearance of Kirk in this episode what the 85 year old Shatner really looks like?
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 12:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

If I was Worf, I'd suggest Danar defect to the Klingon Empire! He looks like a better soldier than them, and certainly smarter. He could teach them a lot. Or maybe he could get a job as an instructor at the Klingon Military Academy. Klingons are too willing to throw themselves into battle without a detailed plan. Danar plans. I'm just glad they're both on our side!
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 12:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Got a possible solution to history problems. Capt. Braxton isn't crazy. He has continuity fever!
He's monitoring the late 20th century. But the Eugenics Wars never happened.The computer revolution did. He tracks things down, and find it's all Voyager's fault! He rechecks the timeline, and also finds the solar system destruction. So he has to go back and destroy Voyager! Not only can't he do that, he's sent back 30 years too early. Being a time agent, he can't fix things, nor can he tell anybody. The strain of all this causes him to go insane!
He should have been able to say that Voyager changed history, as well as causing the explosion. That would have explained why the Eugenics Wars weren't mentioned. But it still makes more sense than the current Kelvin story line in the new movies in which Chekov is older than Kirk, and Spock had a romance. Probably why we need fan fiction.
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Wed, May 31, 2017, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Still one of my favorite episodes. They didn't just mention some sci-fi principle and ignore it. It became the premise of the whole show! Very good.
A few comments. Why didn't their super speed affect anybody? As they show on the Flash TV show, different dimensions vibrate at different rates of speed. So the astronauts were in a different dimension from the crew. Could they have evolved to the level of the Organians? They may have to. I have grave doubts they can leave the planet without dying or at least rapidly aging. But the old Trek story should affect this one. Can't anyone reinvent Scalosian water? Or would that not be fast enough? And we should have seen the Doctor on the planet.
Set Bookmark
Roger W Norris
Wed, May 31, 2017, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

I don't know about the supposed tractor beam, but I do have a suggestion for the tricobalt devices. They were to be used on Voyager's THIRD mission, which it never got to go on. Voyager was supposed to have a totally different history. How much of the unexplained information can be due to things that should have happened, but never got a chance to? Or are connected to crewmen who died because of the Caretaker's actions? One ( or is that Seven?) never knows.
Set Bookmark
notafrog
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 12:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

The only thing I had a problem with in this episode was who aboard Enterprise is the ultra-fast baby/kid outfitter? (I'll explain the feed bottle away as something Phlox uses in his zoo.)
I couldn't not think of Tuvix, which I liked a lot, and I do like Enterprise, which I find vastly superior to anything else since TOS, one big reason being the lack of wallpaper characters like Troi, Chakotay, or God forbid, Worf.
And I totally condone John G's outburst about not expecting impeccable Trek behaviour from characters who don't have at least 100 years of Trek hindsight to guide them.
Set Bookmark
notafrog
Sun, Dec 13, 2015, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Mark me down as being in the "This is outright the best story in the whole ST franchise" camp.

A fantastic episode on every level. It put me through every emotion I knew and more.

How anybody can prefer TNG and especially Space Mall 9 to ENT will forever remain a mystery to me.
Set Bookmark
notafrog
Wed, Oct 28, 2015, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

I'm watching DS9 for the first time. Or at least I was watching it, but this is as far as I go. I just can't see how they are going to rescue this series now. First Children of Time, then a laborious 7-episode arc full of false promises and ending in a DEM. Oh dear.
Set Bookmark
notafrog
Sun, Oct 25, 2015, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I'm a bit flabbergasted at people's conviction that the crew hated Tuvix. The scene near the end where the crew are unable to even look at Tuvix because of their discomfort or even shame, not their "hate" as suggested, surely has to be one of the most powerful in Star Trek. The very deliberate flatness of everybody's
behaviour following Tuvix's initial reaction to the assumption that the reversal was a no-brainer, "But Captain, I don't want to die", proved for me that here was a series prepared to swerve melodrama and shock the audience with the hard, unembellished truth. Contrary to the person who saw this as the death of VOY, I saw this as the moment the series grew a pair.
Set Bookmark
notafrog
Sun, Oct 25, 2015, 2:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

This episode stretched my willing suspension of disbelief to snapping point because of all the logic holes.
Moreover, I find that the similar moral dilemma in Voy:Tuvix absolutely wipes the floor with this one, both in its shunning of melodrama and in the near-perfection of the way it is acted.
I've been fast tracking the Star Treks that followed TOS as I wasn't able to watch them first time round, using various reviews as my skip guide. I took a time out to revisit some I'd skipped due to bad reviews. There were quite a few surprises and a good number of gems, any one of which I'd have traded for this one. (I've quit relying on reviews and letting the first 15 minutes be my skip/watch switch).
Set Bookmark
Roger
Fri, Oct 2, 2015, 2:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Too contrived. Crew breaks up neatly into pairs. And because four of them are created, there's not nearly enough time to really do something with them. We end up with ham-fisted dialogs.

Quark-Karemma is painful, Quark ripped off the Karemma and now paints it as some sort of big game and the Karemma just accepts it and basically goes 180 on his personality. Shouldn't it be Quark, the regular cast member, who get some character development out of situations like this? Maybe something along the lines of "if the Ferengi are just comically greedy all the time, nobody will do business with them and I use personal credibility and situations become more tense than they ought to be".

Kira-Sisko is painfully dull and not credible, as Kira hasn't really seemed too spiritual before and I never got the vibe that Sisko is the Emissary to her. They've tried to paint her more religious in recent episodes, so maybe this is akin to Siskos dad cheating death retroactively.

Bashir-Dax really just boils down to Julian telling her his crush story, which wasn't a secret to either Jadzia or the audience. Waste of time.

Worf-engineers is way too transparently set up as a learning-a-lesson bit. And I think I remember Worf having those "don't be a bone-headed judgemental hard-ass all the time" lessons before. With Alexander on the Enterprise, with Odo just a couple of episodes ago and I'm sure there were a couple more somewhere.

And then there's the whole contrived setup. How is the Karemma dealing with the Federation through the Ferengi any kind of cover? I'm fairly sure the Dominion forbade all Alpha Quadrant activity on their side of the wormhole. Not that they do anything proactively about it, such as, um, guarding the wormhole...

Then, as usual, a Federation vessel lets the enemy take the first shot. You can say it's in character, but it's plain stupid. There's a zero percent chance that the Jem Hadar are going to negotiate, but sure, let's hail them first.

And yeah, in every encounter before this, the Defiant has just ripped through Jem Hadar vessels like nothing - literally nothing, as no other Alpha Quadrant vessel has this kind of firepower. But here, they don't seem to get off one shot. The Jem Hadar go after the Karemma unimpeded. And while they were able to just annihilate state-of-the-art Cardassian and Romulan warships with single shots, the Karemma FREIGHTER takes a beating like Rocky. Just so they can decent into the hostile atmosphere of the planet and set up this episode.

1.5/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Roger
Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

So...uh....Crusher still did an unauthorized autopsy. What am I missing here? Why wasn't she disciplined?
Set Bookmark
Roger Dalton
Sat, Sep 27, 2014, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

@Elliott:

I'm happy there are better episodes coming down the pipe.

You make several good points. I've actually enjoyed some of the episodes this season much more than the average reviewer and commenter here, so I hold out hope that I'll enjoy the show more than average as well. Perhapse Janeway's principles will end up seeming endearing like Picard's, rather than stupid like they seem right now. It can be hard to enjoy a show where every time there is a big moral question of consequence, the implied "better choice" is contrary to one's opinion. If doing morality right were as easy as having simple, firm principles and sticking to them, that would be very nice, but out here in the real world, deontology is probably best thought of as a heuristic for consequentialism that works most of the time, but not all the time.

I have enjoyed your comments on the latter episodes of DS9, when I started following Jammer's reviews. Although I disagreed with you as often as not, your comments always had a rational basis and were well-argued.
Set Bookmark
Roger Dalton
Fri, Sep 26, 2014, 3:22am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I'm watching all the way through Voyager for the first time, essentially (I saw a handful of the episodes when it was airing, but not since), and I just finished a rewatch of TOS, TNG and DS9. It is very sad that this is apparently considered a high water mark for the series, because I found this episode really, really annoying. I may be an unusual Trek watcher, because I think the Prime Directive is morally bankrupt, but I found the position promoted by this episode to be pretty deplorable. If your crew is willing to do this, including the officer you use to act as a moral compass, doesn't that mean that you, Captain Janeway, might be in the wrong on this ethical issue? If the leader of the planet was Hitler, and there was a subjugated underclass of slaves, would Janeway be talking about how only dealing with the official power structures of this clearly warp-drive capable civilization is the appropriate form of action, because that's their law? Janeway isn't being "Lawful Good" she's being "Lawful Stupid" to crib some tabletop RPG terminology.

Between that and the meta-issue of me thinking "There's no way the authors are going to let this work" the entire time, I was annoyed through most of the episode so I can't say it was enjoyable.

So there's two issues of trust here. First, the crew didn't trust Janeway to make the right ethical choice in this situation (and this lack of trust was well-founded), and she doesn't even have enough ACTUAL introspection to think she might have been wrong, no matter how many scenes they show of her struggling over the issue. The struggling they showed is more of an indication of the pain she felt about being given two unpleasant choices rather than actually examining her choices and questioning them, which would have implied a real possibility of going either way (there was never a credible consideration of the choice she didn't like). She knew her bottom-line before she did the math, and she just didn't like what the bottom-line was.

And second, I didn't trust the authors to deal fairly with the issues at hand. That lack of trust was also well-founded.
Set Bookmark
Krog
Mon, Dec 23, 2013, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Nick P.,

Sociopaths often are confused by normal human emotions. The Vorta betrays his men, who he has promised to care for, in order to save himself. He did not seek any alternate solutions, even when given the opportunity by Sisko.

Sisko has empathy for the inherent dignity of all living creatures, even his enemies (a defining characteristic of the Star Trek ethos). Sisko sought to avoid conflict by seeking a solution that would allow for everyone to live. The Vorta, on the other hand, used violence (against both Sisko and his own men) to achieve his goals.

The real tragedy is that the Jem'hadar were bred and conditioned to be obedient killers. The inherent dignity of living creatures has been squashed in them, to the point where they refuse to save their own lives. It's heartbreaking.

This episode shows that the Dominion is truly evil. Bioengineering and indoctrinating sentient life forms to sacrifice themselves for your own gain is sickening.
Set Bookmark
Krog
Sun, Dec 15, 2013, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This is a very subtle comedy episode (no ferengi in drag!) and is slightly slowpaced which can make it seem boring, but the comedy is really top notch. The slow burn of discovering that Doctor Geiger is crazy is really well done, Odo's reactions to Nog and Jake's story is hilarious, and the finale is heartwarming. If Jammer hadn't given this episode four stars already I would have called it underrated.
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Sun, Sep 29, 2013, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

@Elnis, Worfelhoff! LOL!
Set Bookmark
RogSkjoldson
Wed, Aug 28, 2013, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S2: Second Season Recap

Shame you never reviewed the rest of the series. I wonder exactly how apoplectic season 5 would have made you ... if you thought season 2 was bad, you might have contemplated suicide by then.

Actually, I found the series quite enjoyable up until somewhere in season 3, when it started to get a little too ridiculous. That tone carried on through season 4, and season 5 was honestly .... I can't even describe it. Not only was the premise incredibly bad and basically threw out all character and plot development that ever happened, but it didn't make a lick of sense and was just hugely confusing in a very, very, VERY misguided attempt to appear mysterious and brainy.
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Mon, Aug 19, 2013, 6:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Paroxysmal sobbing. That is all I have to say. DS9 and TNG. They should be the watermarks by which all other Trek is measured. Especially DS9, though I may only be saying that because my eyes are still bloodshot from recent lacrimations. But DAMN, if they didn't know just when and how to manipulate my sentimental little black heart. "What You Leave Behind". What a fucking perfect title.

I guess the only place left to go from here is BSG. I've had a weird love-hate thing with that series since I finished watching it after its first run. That is, I loved it unashamedly... until season 4. Quite a few years have passed and I like to think I've matured somewhat since then. I hope this will therefore be a slightly newer experience... aided by Jammer's astute analyses as well, of course. :)
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I'm really not sure what the purpose of recasting Joran Dax from an effeminate late-20s creep to a 50-something Mitt Romney/Hannibal Lecter type was, but it didn't improve my impression of Nicole de Boer's Ezri Dax ONE. LITTLE. BIT. All this episode accomplished was to force me to compare Ms. de Boer to Jodie Foster and, if that was the intent, it was a really, really, REALLY bad idea. I'd bet serious money that Jodie Foster has had ingrown toenails excised that were more talented actors than Nicole de Boer.
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I was thinking after I watched this episode that if you told me in season 1 that Aron Eisenberg would, in season 7, cause tears to well up in my eyes, I would have laughed in your face and said you were nuts. I'm not laughing now. It's funny that Jammer says pretty much the same thing in this review. I leery of the Vic Fontaine character at first but a combination of smart writing and an astoundingly charismatic performance from James Darren has put those fears to rest. I find the idea that Nog found solace and healing in Vic's company to be very believable and at least some of that is because of James Darren. Hm, crazy. *shakes head*
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Thu, Aug 8, 2013, 4:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

@Nancy, if you browse comments via Jammer's comment browser page you can indeed "bump" a thread. I'm not saying whether it's a good or bad thing, just that it's possible. ;)

I also enjoyed this episode but I'm one of those annoying people who doesn't feel that a frivolous episode here and there detracts from the overall series. As long as it's enjoyable on its own terms, it's worth the 45 minutes.
Set Bookmark
ProgHead777
Wed, Aug 7, 2013, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

@JimmyDee, I'd say the crying scene is completely in line with the rest of her performance. She was pretty consistent with the whole "After School Special actress" routine.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.