Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 277 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think I'm going to watch "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light" on Blu ray and mournfully remember what Star Trek used to be...
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The Mirror Universe has become a new crutch for Star Trek. I'm so glad TNG avoided the MU during its 7 year/4 movie run. (and the TNG MU comic book miniseries is non-canon so it doesn't count)
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

OK SO THE SHOW IS JUST NOT HOLDING BACK THE PUNCHES WITH ITS SAVAGENESS AT ALL. COOL.

That aside, today's episode was an amazing entrance into the new arc that I'm glad is taking place (the Klingon War got a little too ridiculous and quickly resolved). After watching shows like Arrow and The Flash, it's always fun to see what characters do and how they act in a "mirror" or "alternative" universe, this case with Tilly being the captain.

3.5/4 for me. Keep the hotstreak going from the last episode as well Discovery. #FuckTheHaters
Set Bookmark
Rick
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

It does seem strange to me, that given the multi-ethnicity and multi-species acceptance that drives much of the narrative for this show, that of all the children taken were all white. No blacks, no Aisians, no one of color. I’m not saying that there was a racist intent but it does seem odd.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

At 3:05 in the episode Warf mentions the time-code of the bombing as 5-9-11. This makes my head hurt.

Anyone else pickup on this?
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lorca and Stammets discussed the network spanning across multiple universes and they did a botched jump to an unknown location.

We goin' to the Mirror Universe bois. 3.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Rick Berman
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

The strategema discussion is one of my favorites on this board along with the holodeck discussion in “Take Me Out to the Holosuite”.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode is definitely centered around the characters and their development.

*We get into Lorca and see more of his dark disposition and backstory. In a dark twisted way he does care for his crew despite constantly arguing and lashing out as we've seen in the past two episodes.
*Saru is feeling conflicted and concerned about his skills and place on the ship. It's hard to imagine how it must feel when a mutineer is seem to be held to a higher standard then a First Officer.
*Stamets was the GOAT this episode with the self sacrifice. I'm starting to feel another mutiny building up between the "We Must Do What's Right" and "The Ends Justify the Means" groups.

Ultimately this was the most Star Trek structred episode so far, with an introduced A plot, touched upon B-plots and character development and it's all nicely wrapped up within the last 5-10 minutes with a slight cliffhanger for the next episode. My only gripes were:

*How did the Klingons know Lorca was even on that transport in the beginning?
*How is Lorca able to see and fight after that light torture?
*The F-bombs really threw me off and took me out of the scene. I know CBS is loving their MA rating but there's no need to go super vulgar.

3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

The feeling of this show is close to the Battlestar Galactica reboot Trek. At least BG had some awesome space battles and I like to forget the later seasons. Whiskey anyone? I've had enough of dark grim tv series thats apparently o so hip the last couple of years.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

This ain't Star Trek. It's dark, gritty and the crew do not get along. They look like bullying teenagers. No likeable characters. One character driven.

The Klingon speak is terrible (and its not the subtitles, I'm used to those), inside mouth gorgeling tikh tokh oh. Just terrible. And the thick masks mean NO facial expressions. They really didnt do anything in this episode.

Then the spore drive... do the writers not know implications of introducing unbelievable way too powerful features (just as in those reboot movies)?

Then the unbelievably stupid dead of crew member whatshername. Yeah lower the force field and let him out. I'm gonna cut his feet. Waaat? We barely got to know anyone and already cast members run away ;

For all trying hard to make characters look 'deep' they are just 1 dimensional stereotypes.

the CGI of the ships look sooo video game like. Way too smooth. And the washing machine saucer section uhmmm OK.

No scifi, but action fantasy in space. I'm really interested in The Orville. Not on Netflix here (yeah at least I don't have to subscribe to some niche stream service and I wouldn't too for what I saw. It gets worse instead of better). From what I hear they do a much better job at making a new Trek after few bumps.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

The classic Rob Grant/ Doug Naylor years of Red Dwarf (the first 6 seasons) could school The Orville on how to successfully mix comedy and drama without them counteracting each other. Episodes like "Holoship" and "Out of Time" are prime examples of this. The other major difference between Red Dwarf and The Orville was that Red Dwarf took the science fiction seriously and came up with original ideas for its episodes.

By the way: Red Dwarf returns this week with its 12th season!
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I just finished watching the new Alien movie, i mean, third episode of DSC... so far, nothing... it still worries me that all we gonna get is generic current sci-fi cliches.
I think i've finally got the idea CBS have when they greenlit this show.
This must actually had started as a generic sci-fi show, but somewhere along the way, the executives realized that that wasnt enough to sell their new streaming channel. So, they rebranded it as Star Trek, toss just enough reference to actually be worth calling Star Trek and gave the same "modern sci-fi" treatment as any other ordinary show over the last 10 years.
This dark joyless mood never was the core of any Trek shows... maybe Enterprise came close with the Xindi arc, but that was crap also.
They really shouldn't made it a prequel. Trying to fit the 60's idea of the future in 2017 would be laughable, so we have all this new technology 10 years before the original story that end up feeling anachronistic to the TOS show.
To be fair, i didn't watch the whole episode... I stoped at that ridiculous Alice citations as my mind starting to wander away to the news on my cellphone. But I'll get the rest later tonight, and i'm bet i'm not gonna be surprised (in a good way).
I'm sorry, but this is not Star Trek, this is Generic Moody New Millenial "Can't Go 5 Minutes Without Intense Action or Forced Conflict" Trek.
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Hahaha... don't remind me! :P
I had forgoten about that steaming pile...
But now that you brouth up TNG... in a kind of way, The Vulcan Hello/Battle was their modern version of Encounter at Farpoint. Lacking interesting story and character development but with some good eye candy. What i best remeber of Farpoint is that long and unnecessary saucer section separation sequence. Useless to the story, unless to show the awesomeness of the new special effects possibilities. Although, I think that Q had a better introduction as a villain than the Klingons. I really didn't buy much of the "keep the klingon pure" motivation.
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Wow… 3 stars? I'll bet if this show was called Voyager, Jammers woudn't give it more than two.
It's only value was the production value… otherwise, very few character development and interesting storyline.
To me, the Klingons were the worst. I know that people probably lost their shit too when the Klingons became magically different on the Feature Films, but that was at least an improvement over the original ones (granted that, decades later, Enterprise gave an explanation for the change). This guys just seem more wooden than ever. It was painfull too watch them talk. As for the improvements on the technologies and set designs, thats ok… I didn't expect a wooden board full of push buttons and blinking lights or purple/lime green background lighting.
Anyway, nothing much but mindless bang bang boom bom action. This could easily be the fourth film on the JJ reboot sequence and nobody would bat an eye.
I know this wont happen here, but I would love to see some interesting episodes dealing with human and/or current debateable dilemmas. Some of the best Trek episodes i've seen were grounded on that territory (Measure of a Man, In the Pale Moonlight, etc…). Not heavy action or special effects oriented shows, but greeeeat storytelling.
I'll keep on watching at least for now. Orville started even more shitty than DSC and by the third episode has already been much improved.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Woof. I thought ENT's "Broken Bow" was unappealing. But at least "Broken Bow" had some humor and took a little time to establish the characters. Here, the characters are 100% at service to the unimaginative storyline. Star Trek used to have time travel, parallel universe travel, god beings, and strange aliens that would teach us about ourselves. Here: it's...the Klingons...again. And the whole story is about a stand-off in a sector of the galaxy. That's it.

I hope this show gets better. I won't know because I'm not plunking down money to rent a whole new streaming platform to watch it. (I'll always have my TOS, TNG, DS9 DVDS and TOS and TNG Blu rays to get my fix).
Set Bookmark
Rick Taylor
Sun, Apr 30, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

"And I STILL am not sure if the writers of the show meant for the audience to be angry with the crew, or angry with Jellico."

I think the writers were leaving it open, allowing the viewers to come to their own conclusions. If so, this board is evidence they did a great job.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Skeptical, it seems you're draining the enjoyment of it by trying to rewrite the episode. The first I do is remember that these were quickly produced shows..and even so said more than 99% of series since. having Chekov be the "rapist" is just convenience - There's no character development from show to show. For instance sometimes Spock's a hard ass, sometimes he's easygoing. The flow is not there, and the there were different writers from week to week.

So taking this on it's own merits, it's an excellent episode. Kang and his wife were well cast and had a chemistry. Of course Kirk is less affected. He always is the last to pass out, the first to wake up...annoying as hell I agree but that's the way it is. Spock is supposed to be superior physically and mentally but only is when the story demands it.

"Trek fan" has it right in the analysis.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

I think it's a great theme but they way Kirk was written in is really condescending. He seems to rebuff any talk of conversation other than his attempts to flirt with Miranda. I found ti annoying and a detriment to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I was surprised to see the low rating on this one. I disagree with the "cost" of the set. While supposedly "outside" you really only see a few places on the planet. it wasn't that expensive.

Every TOS episode had issues with disbelief and inconsistencies. To me, it's a waste of brainpower to determine when the Gorn people settled into the area, who is right etc. I will agree that having the fight on the bridge screen was silly. But that was only done to fill the hour. Having Spock say "Coal" and things like that put in the 10 minutes or so needed to make a full show.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Great episode, but as Lal mentioned, that last line by Spock was completely out of line. Whoever added that should be taken out and shot.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Having the Organians be non-Human is the right way to go. Humans are not capable of completely being without any emotion or suspending desires. The important part is the story - That it's ultimately senseless to fight. It never solves anything in the long run.

The quibbling about the intent of the Federation is missing the point. Deep down, we only go after what is advantageous. Of course they involve themselves where they are not wanted. Organia is of "strategic importance". That give the Federation carte blanche to be involved when they are not invited.

The only think I disliked about this episode was the flip attitude of Spock and Kirk when they were fighting the Klingons. there was no real "danger" that they would be killed. Otherwise the writing and acting was off the charts.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

If the episode entertains and is well written, and has something to say, it's not really worth looking too deep into it. I agree with the vast majority of the ratings but this one's a top 5 and should be 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

I think Tracey was the only human to consistently beat up Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 9:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I am very forgiving in letting go continuity errors such as using meters and miles interchangeably, or suspending belief in things like beaming people anywhere, anytime. I am a big fan of the story over the science fiction. But asking a viewer to think that the only way for this virus to spread is to have Kirk have sex with the daughter of the high official is just plain stupid. And then what does she do, have sex with everyone else? From the standpoint of dialogue, sure it is entertaining in spots. (And that's why I like the show so much). But please, don't give this crappy episode, clearly the worst of the series, any merit.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Sat, Mar 18, 2017, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

This is my favorite episode. I've seen each episode hundreds of times, and my favorite ones are those that have something to say, or have personal interplay. Sure there are many holes (Not including the holes in the amoeba!) - But the important part is the story. As always there are continuity errors out the wazoo - switching for meters to miles was particularly annoying - But I overlook that as I usually overlook "believability". With of course exceptions like Spock's Brain.

What made this story remarkable was that I think the only sets were the ship and the shuttlecraft. No guests, little other characters. Just the story. Of course we know that no one ever dies who is important - Even Spock lived in ST III, which kind of made his awesome dying scene in ST II a bit bogus. I just loved the character interplay and storyline.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.