Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 50 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Richard Wadd
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 10:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

I actually didn't think this episode was that bad but like Jammer said, the ending was predictable. We all knew that there was no way Voyager would blow up nor would the planet be destroyed. We knew that Torres was going to find a way to destroy the missile so Voyager couldn't even use the technology. The ending was ok with Torres using her phaser to take out the core but honestly, I thought a more smarter ending would have been cooler (Like Janeway did to the clown). Would have been smart for Torres to trick the missile's logic somehow. I agree, there were some plot holes. Like the set up of Paris which went no where. Also, what happened to the turn coat crew member who was trying to reach Seska? He was telling the Kazon about it. You'd think the Kazon would have been there to try and take the missile but that never happened.

However, it was still a enjoyable episode. I agree with the other reviewer who said that he prefers these type of engineering episodes of Torres compared to her "I can't control my Klingon rage" type episodes. I prefer smart episodes with engineering ingenuity than pure physical, weapons blazing, violence only solution type (obviously not all the time though, space battles and fist fights are always cool). So I rather enjoyed the hypothetical games Torres tried playing etc.

I also liked that Janeway was willing to sacrifice the Voyager for the planet and her self destruct commencement reminded me of Star Trek III: The search for Spock when Kirk did the same thing. My dad made a good comment. Shouldn't Tuvok have been with Torres? I get that he's security but as a Vulcan he had to go through rigorous logic training. She could have found a way for him to be there. Like my Dad said, Spock would have been there. Or Torres should have at least had a discussion with Tuvok. I know this is a side note but shouldn't 90% of Star Fleet Vulcans be science or Engineering officers? Security never made too much sense for me with Tuvok but whatever.

Regardless I thought it was a solid episode. Like Jammer said very neutral not great but not terrible.
Regardless still a fun
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 11:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

To continue from above:

One thing I have always liked about this episode is lee Bergere's potrayal of LIncoln.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

I just re-watched this episode. While I still don't think think it is great, it was better than I remember, of course, sometimes when you see something again that you did not particularly care for, it seems better since you aren't expecting much.

One thing about this episode I always liked was lee
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

I think Jammer's rating is a little low - I'd go 3.5 stars. Normally, I would say 3.0 stars since they are so many changed premises between this episode and all the other episodes of Star Trek TOS. However, this is a pilot, so a certain amount of inconsistency is be expected and allowed.

I find it interesting that among the very 1st words spoken on Star Trek is Captain Kirk's statement "The impossible has happened". This is a recurring theme - the "impossible" keeps happening over and over again. I know this is dramatic, but it would make more sense to say "the seemingly impossible" of the "supposedly impossible has happened". The reason I don't give this episode 4 stars is because no effort is made to explain how the ship from 2 centuries ago got this far out.

One thing I found amusing is when Captain Kirk refers to "normal ESP". Isn't normal ESP a contradiction in terms?
Set Bookmark
Richard
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

On further reflection, I think my previous comment was in error.

After all, they are trying to get off the ship as quickly as possible. So Nog doesn't have time to give Jake a detailed explanation about what happened.

"We failed" is concise and to the point.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

One thing I found amusing about this episode is the scene toward the end where Nog and the female survivor go to release Jake from his cell. Jake asks "What happened?" Nog's response "We failed". Gee Nog, don't you think Jake has figured out that much?
Set Bookmark
Richard
Fri, Jul 14, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

I agree with Jammer's rating.

Of course, the whole thing about feet not going through the floor is totally illogical, but artistic license has to be allowed sometimes.

As another example of artistic license, there is a movie called "The Three Stooges meet Hercules". Basically a kid's movie, but I liked it (and I usually don't care for the Stooges, there are too violent for my taste). The Stooges meet a scientist with a time machine, go back to ancient Greece, and ... meet Hercules (surprise!) However, conveniently enough, everyone in ancient Greece happens to speak 20th century American English. Of course, if they didn't, how could we understand what they are saying? So, you just chalk up to artistic license and you let it slide.

In this episode, Geordi mention not having eaten for 2 days. After the Stooges arrive in ancient Greece, one of them says "I'm really hungry. I haven't eaten in over 2,000 years".
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, Jul 13, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

I like this episode, but I think there is a problem with it.

Although it turns out Sargon and his wife are benevolent, Dr. McCoy rightly points out that the aliens wanting the bodies of the two highest ranking officers seems suspicious. Kirk gives a lame explanation about him and Spock being the best matches (maybe so, but surely somebody else would have been an okay match). Of course, the real reason Kirk and Spock are chosen for the mind transfer is because this a TV show, and they are the stars of the show. So I guess a certain amount of artistic license has to be allowed.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I agree with Jammer's rating.

Yes, the premise that an alien race could communicate in this fashion does seem far fetched. However, once you put that aside, this is an entertaining episode. However, this type of episode - trying to establish communication with an alien race - will probably work only one time.

My biggest problem with this episode is this: Picard shows no anger at being kidnapped and placed in mortal danger. At the end of the episode "Allegiance", the aliens in that episode who kidnapped Picard said they did not injure or harm him in any way. PIcard rightly states that imprisonment is harm in and of itself. But in this episode, he's fine with Darmok's race kidnapping him. Why the difference?
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sat, Jun 24, 2017, 9:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I think the rating is low - I say 3.0 stars.

Craig and Skeptical do raise valid points. However, this is still an entertaining episode. Also, one thing I will say in defense in Star Trek in general is that every episode has now been seen literally many times by millions of people. Therefore, it is not surprising that people will notice that some episodes have plot holes, inconsistencies, continuity errors, etc.

I read the short story on which this story is based (supposedly), and it is a classic science fiction story. (I say supposedly based, because there are conflicting stories regarding the origin of this episode. One story is that the writers wrote this episode, without realizing there was a similar story already written by Frederic Brown.) The Outer Limits episode "Fun and Games" is similar to this episode. Indeed, even Star Trek's own The Savage Curtain and The Gamesters of Triskelion are similar.

I read the story adaption by James Blish (spoiler alert), and he had an interesting twist. In his story, the Metrons would destroy the winner of the contest, as they thought that race posed a greater threat.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I agree this episode is really bad.

However, I don't think it is the worst Star Trek episode. To me, that dubious honor goes to The Alternative Factor (which, to my surprise, Jammer gave 2 stars), as it is the only truly boring episode of Star Trek TOS. I think the next worst are The Lights of Zetar and That Which Survives, both of which are somewhat boring.

While this episode is absurd, at least it isn't boring. A show can be good or bad (preferably good obviously), but one thing it cannot be is boring.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I agree with the post above that this episode is "slightly overrated".

This is still a good episode, worth at least 3.0 stars or maybe 3.5 stars. My main problem with this story is the implausibility. Granted, a certain amount of artistic license has to be allowed. However, I agree with the previous comments that it is doubtful an alien race with 1950s space level technology would have such advanced computer technology. (I suppose this is possible, but very unlikely.) It is true that different fields of technology may advance at different rates, but usually technology in various fields will be at the same approximate level.

In Jammer's review of "Conundrum", he rightly points out that is doubtful that an alien race as advanced as "Commander MacDuff's" would be so far behind in weapons technology. Yet here, he makes no comment regarding the incongruity of this alien race having extremely advanced computer technology, while having only 1950s space technology.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

I think Jammer's rating is low.

I agree this is a bad episode - probably 1.0 star. However, at least it is not boring, unlike The Alternative Factor (which Jammer to my surprise gave me two stars). I also think it is better than That Which Survives and The Lights of Zetar.

My main problem with this episode is the implausibility, which James Doohan discussed in his book "Beam Me Up, Scotty". Doohan said you could respect bad guys like Khan and his crew (at least for their abilities, if not for their morals). But a bunch of space hippies taking over a starship? Also, as Doohan pointed out, how much patience would Kirk have with this bunch of fools? The 1st time they shouted "Herbert", he should have thrown them in the brig and been done with it. Doohan correctly stated that Kirk had no trouble telling ambassadors where to go, much the less the obnoxious son of an ambassador.

Doohan originally did not want to appear in this episode. However, the producers changed his mind. Doohan said he should have gone with his original instincts.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I think this episode is pretty good (probably 2.5 stars).

As others have pointed out, the "duplicate earth" thing is probably unnecessary and no attempt is made to explain it. Also, I too found it implausible that 300 year olds would still act like children, even if they are in the bodies of children. Of course, we are dealing with an alien race (even though they look just look humans on a duplicate Earth) so their psychology may be somewhat different. Even Kirk contradicts himself in this episode, saying at one point that children need guidance and that they were dealing with children - immensely old children perhaps, but still children. Then at the end of the episode, when Rand expresses concern leaving the alien "children" to fend for themselves, Kirk says there are "children - hundreds of years old. They'll be fine." (I'm paraphrasing, I don't recall Kirk's exact words, but I'm sure my point is made.)

Interesting bit of trivia: Two of the guest actors in this show are Grace Lee Whitney's sons, and as mentioned by a poster above, Shatner's daughter appears in this episode. She's the little girl Kirk is carrying toward the end of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

@PeterG,

You are entitled to your opinion, as I am entitled to mine.

I wouldn't want to live in a world where everyone agreed with me all the time - that would be boring. I definitely enjoy Jammer's reviews, and the related comments. (I suppose this would be an appropriate time to thank Jammer for hosting this web site, which enhances my (and presume others') enjoyment of the Star Trek experience.)

However, I must respectfully disagree with you that GLW did not understand the point this episode was trying to make. The book I am referring to is "The Longest Trek: My Tour of the Galaxy" (which, btw, I have read and highly recommend). The relevant discussion is on page 94 of this book. You can read it and decide for yourself if GLW understood but disagreed with the basic premise of "The Enemy Within". (I thought about reproducing her narrative here, however, that might be a copyright infringement. Also, it is a little long - six paragraphs.)
Set Bookmark
Richard
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

@Linda,

You raise an excellent point, which I had not considered.

Yes, the crew should know that Kirk is not perfect (after all, who is?), and both Kirk and Spock should know this. However, a certain amount of artistic license has to be allowed for these shows to work. Attempting to keep the crew uninformed of the real nature of the "impostor" makes for a more entertaining episode. (Even though, as I stated in my previous post, it don't think his real nature actually could have been kept hidden for very long.)
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

This is an entertaining episode, but there are some problems with it.

Spock states that thermal heaters were beamed down to Sulu & party, but they were duplicated and inoperable. So, Kirk and a canine-like animal, complex biological organisms, can be duplicated and still function (albeit not perfectly), but a fairly simple piece of equipment cannot function?

Also, Spock says that the real nature of the evil Kirk must be kept hidden from the crew. By the end of the episode, at least 3 people (Spock, McCoy, and Rand) besides Kirk himself, know what happened to Kirk. As the old saying goes, 3 men can keep a secret if 2 of them are dead. And while not 100% certain, it appears Scotty know what happens when refers to beaming up Sulu & Company, when he says "they might be duplicated...like this animal" (referring to the dog like animal, but obviously hesitating to mention Kirk). Also, wouldn't Sulu & the landing party figure this out, after the aforementioned heaters duplicated? Finally, toward the end of the episode, good Kirk says to evil Kirk, "Can half a man survive?" Wouldn't the members of the bridge crew then understand what happened? (Not all the bridge crew would be close enough to hear this, but at least some of them should be.)

However, my main problem with this episode is the same as Grace Lee Whitney's. In a book she wrote, she stated the central premise of this episode, that we need our evil half, is just plain wrong. I totally agree with her. What kind of message does this episode send, especially to impressionable young children. That being evil is just part of being human, and not something we should try to eliminate?
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, May 30, 2017, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

There is a wide range of opinion regarding Tom's actions and Janeway's response, which is a good thing. Shades of grey open up interesting discussion, black and white does not.

There is a fine line between being benevolent and being a busybody. I feel Paris crosses that line. Give the aliens all information, then let them decide. As Xylar pointed out, Voyager has been there for 3 days. It's their planet, let them decide.

I do feel Tom's punishment was a little harsh. Perhaps demote him to Ensign, but only for the length of his confinement, with the understanding that once his confinement is up he will be returned to his old rank (or maybe to Lt J.G.).
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, May 30, 2017, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

This is an enjoyable episode, even if a lot of O'Brien's time jumps don't make sense.

A certain amount of artistic license has to be allowed for those shows to work. Would you rather watch a show with no plot holes, no inconsistencies, 100% accurate scientifically, but is boring, or a show like this? Bottom line, this is intended as entertainment, and this is an entertaining episode.

One thing I found a little surprising is the comments that Keiko must now adjust to the "new" Miles O'Brien. I could understand this if the "new" Miles was from 2 or 3 years (or even 6 months) in the future. However, as one poster mentioned above, he's only a few hours older than the "old" Miles O'Brien. So, basically he's the same person.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Tue, May 30, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

This is basically just a "monster of the week" show. However, for such a show it is well done.

There are some plot holes. Uhura says she doesn't recognize the crewmen that the salt creature pretends to be. However, the entire crew of the Enterprise is 435. Granted, we don't know how long they've been out of space dock and how much interaction there is among the various departments. Still, the Enterprise is essentially a small village in space. Wouldn't everybody on the ship get to know everybody else pretty quickly?

Vanessa raises an interesting point I had not considered. Why would the salt creature kill its only ally?

Finally, in "The Devil in the Dark", Spock comments that as the Horta is the last of its kind, killing it would be "a crime against science". (Although he eventually relents and agrees with Kirk.) Here, Spock makes no comment saving this creature because it is the last of its kind.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

An enjoyable episode, but one aspect strikes me as implausible.

I find it hard to believe that people would voluntary walk into a disintegration chamber. Granted, we are dealing with an alien race (even though they look just like Earthlings), and we don't know the psychology of this race. However, I would imagine that self-preservation is a pretty strong instinct throughout the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Re the question about beloved episodes that you hate and hated episodes that you loved.

I can't think of any beloved episodes that I hate. I do think "Mirror, Mirror" and "The City on the Edge of Forever" are slightly overrated, but still very good episodes.

Two episodes that most people think are really bad are "Spock's Brain" and "Move Along Home". I don't love these episodes, but I do think they are better than most people give them credit for.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I have to join the chorus, and feel that Jammer underrated this episode. (I do enjoy Jammer's reviews, and it is interesting to see comments from other people giving their opinions on various episodes.)

I think this is one of the best Star Trek TOS episodes. A lot of drama, and excellent acting from Mark Lenard. I would give it 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Thu, May 25, 2017, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

I am obviously in the minority, but I don't think this episode is worth 4.0 stars.

I agree with Rahul that it is a "tad overrated". I still think this is very good episode, worth 3.0 or maybe 3.5 stars. Nothing against this episode, but to me 4.0 stars has to be really, really good (The Doomsday Machine, The Immunity Syndrome, Balance of Terror). Still, a very good episode definitely worth one hour of your time.
Set Bookmark
Richard
Mon, May 22, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

I think this is one of the two best episodes of Star Trek TOS. (The other one being "The Immunity Syndrome".)

A lot of drama, and superb acting. William Windom, in my opinion, gives the best performance of any guest actor on Star Trek TOS.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.