Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 828 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 34
Set Bookmark
PatrickD
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 1:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Jammer,

If you are considering doing a limited reviewing project in the interim, may I suggest Joss Whedon's "Firefly": it's only 12 episodes long and considered one of the greatest SF shows of all time. It's well worth your time and we'd love to hear your reviews of it. I think it's on Netflix, Hulu, and such.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

The war storyline should have continued into season 2, and we should have had more of captain Georgiou, with the inevitable confrontation being put off for later. An episode ends with Burnham saying "You're not Georgiou", and stabbing her.

They should have definitely committed some terrorism on Quonos, and on other worlds, just not to the scale that they were describing. Idealism's great and everything, but sometimes it needs to be challenged, and it shouldn't always win.

Also, if you're going to have someone give a corny speech, at least have them face the crowd, for god's sake!

Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Del_Duio

I found Season 1-2 of DS9 to be boring and cheesy, but to each his own I guess. 3-4 duds would be considered a lot these days, wouldn't it? Imagine DSC had 4 duds? CANCELLED!

I don't even remember "The Defector"...maybe I didn't see that one? You're making me want to go back and watch some TNG...
Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

"I watched TNG's "The Enemy" last night and Picard just kills it in that one"

Patrick Stewart was a Shakespearean actor before he did Star Trek. Those actors are of a higher calibre than others, since Shakespeare acting is so challenging, so it's not really fair to compare Sonequa Martin Green to him.

Her acting would be considered wooden if it weren't for her "raised by vulcans" back-story. Which makes me wonder how casual watchers who don't know what a Vulcan is will receive this show.
Set Bookmark
RickBrant
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Opening quote was correct the first time - "this is ridiculous".
Set Bookmark
Ricky C
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

I loved the post earlier about the “wrath of Armus” it would be an Armusgedden!
Set Bookmark
Ric
Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 2:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Just another good quality but non-Trek episode in a non-Trek show.

Also, I laughed at Jammer's sentence "But nope; he's a broad xenophobic caricature, showing the writers taking the laziest bad-guy route possible". Because, you know, there's a shortage of broad xenophobic figures to talk about in our days.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

When I was 10 episodes or so into the show, I thought of my ranking of worst to best captains. My list went as so:

6.) Janeway
5.) Archer
4.) Lorca
3.) Kirk
2.) Picard
1.) Sisko

A character from the Mirror Universe has more interesting aspects and elements about himself to me than actual Starfleet captains.

I'm kind of upset that this ultimately was the way his character was going. A man who was originally seen as a no-nonsense militaristic captain of a warship who struggled with regret and PTSD is actually just an eeeeeeeeevil Mirror character. I really hope they find Prime Lorca and that Michael doesn't become the captain, because I'm sick of this show trying to get me to continuously like a character by forcing her into every episode, scene and conflict.

The Georgio plotline was kind of head-scratching to me too. Why would the Emperor of the Mirror Universe put so much faith and interest in Michael and potentially damage her entire empire with Lorca running around?

The Stamets plotline was heartbreaking and interesting though, and it makes a lot of tidbits makes sense now, like how Lorca hit that override key on the DASH drive jump and why Lorca ordered Stamets to develop the DASH drive on his own.

2 and a half stars for Vaulting Ambition for me. The progressing storyline for the Mirror Universe Arc is hitting a snag in terms of developing the story and characters at a good enough pace without complete character assassination (like Lorca). I hope that this is the same case with Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum, in which that it's a smaller build-up episode for a story arc finale.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Where the hell is Admiral Cornwell!? They rescued her before entering the MU, why don't we see her at all?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think I'm going to watch "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light" on Blu ray and mournfully remember what Star Trek used to be...
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Ben Sisko,

I just got done watching all seasons of Voyager and it is easily the weakest of the shows with the exception of Enterprise. Character development was poor, most of the shows had no long-term impact on the story arc and the seasons felt less inspired as time went on. Even the chemistry on the set seemed to go backward by the end. And instead of building to some type of climax, we get a two-hour finale that appears to come out of nowhere.

Sorry, Ben, but I agree that Voyager was a disappointment.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The Mirror Universe has become a new crutch for Star Trek. I'm so glad TNG avoided the MU during its 7 year/4 movie run. (and the TNG MU comic book miniseries is non-canon so it doesn't count)
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

OK SO THE SHOW IS JUST NOT HOLDING BACK THE PUNCHES WITH ITS SAVAGENESS AT ALL. COOL.

That aside, today's episode was an amazing entrance into the new arc that I'm glad is taking place (the Klingon War got a little too ridiculous and quickly resolved). After watching shows like Arrow and The Flash, it's always fun to see what characters do and how they act in a "mirror" or "alternative" universe, this case with Tilly being the captain.

3.5/4 for me. Keep the hotstreak going from the last episode as well Discovery. #FuckTheHaters
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

This final episode looked to me like they decided, since they had to put it together quickly and weren't sure where they were going, and as Jammer pointed out, to take All Good Things and redo many elements of that ending episode adapted to Voyager.

In All Good Things you have the three Picards from each of the different time periods as compared to the two Janeways in this episode. The difference is that while the three Picards are all sharing the same thoughts and never meet, the two Janeways meet but aren't sharing thoughts the way the Picards did.

In All Good Things you get an idea of what happened to the crew of the Enterprise decades in the future, but it turns out that what you see may not happen. At the poker game at the end it is pointed out that since the Picards were successful, that they are not locked into the future as we saw it and their Picard told the crew about. In this Voyager episode we are shown what happens to the crew in the future that is shown, but then it is clear that the future as shown will not happen.

In All Good Things a major antagonist from the series is brought back, in that case Q. In this Voyager episode, the major antagonist that is brought back is the Borg. And since in The Next Generation it was Q who originally introduced the Enterprise to the Borg, the entire thing sort of comes full circle.

In All Good Things, the one particular missing character in the future is Deanna Troi. They point out that she was somehow killed and that Riker and Worf had a feud that was ongoing because of it. In this Voyager episode Chakotay and Seven were somehow going to be killed in the future.

And the final action resolution in All Good Things was the three Enterprises coming together in a blaze of glory to resolve the problem. In this Voyager episode we have Voyager coming through in a blaze of explosive glory to come back to the Alpha Quadrant and destroy the transwarp hub.

And finally, you have Janeway saying, "We did it," which was kind of analogous to Picard saying, "The skies the limit."

In the end, for me, I think this ending to Voyager was not satisfying because, unlike All Good Things, the crew of Voyager could not return to normal. Their time as this family on Voyager was coming to an end. Maybe if the transwarp hub had deposited them so that they still had a year to go before getting home, they would have had time to celebrate on the ship and get mentally prepared to arrive home rather, than, all of a sudden being there. In All Good Things, what happens is that they do go back to normal. In fact, the only difference is that Picard has now joined the poker game. I liked Troi's line that he was always welcome. Perhaps if they could have had some sort of analogous final scene in this final Voyager episode, the ending would have been more satisfying.
Set Bookmark
Rick
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

It does seem strange to me, that given the multi-ethnicity and multi-species acceptance that drives much of the narrative for this show, that of all the children taken were all white. No blacks, no Aisians, no one of color. I’m not saying that there was a racist intent but it does seem odd.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

As someone who used to be in the navy, I can't make sense of Lamarr being given the CHENG position. In a navy, you have these things called trades: There's engineers, navigators, people who work in comms/ops, etc.. Now I know that a sci-fi navy might work differently, but the 'trades' idea would be the same. The doctor is trained as a doctor, the navigator would have to go back and retrain if he wanted to become an engineer. Also: Isn't Lamarr a department head already? I don't understand that either: How is that under-achieving, and in getting him to fill the chief engineer position, aren't they losing another department head in the process?
Set Bookmark
Rich
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

I always loved Spock's electric gizmo for playing back
his tricorder (couldn't he have hit the slow play
Button) but the Jacobs ladder was a bit much.
Come on -- this isn't Frankenstein.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

At 3:05 in the episode Warf mentions the time-code of the bombing as 5-9-11. This makes my head hurt.

Anyone else pickup on this?
Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Why would a species that reproduces by mitosis have sexual desires? Why am I nitpicking a comedy show?
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lorca and Stammets discussed the network spanning across multiple universes and they did a botched jump to an unknown location.

We goin' to the Mirror Universe bois. 3.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 9:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I just don't buy that having control of the ship means you unlock "god mode", where force-fields erect around you whenever someone tries to shoot you, and you can just beam people away with a wave of your hand. If it worked like that, why would boarding parties ever succeed?

I don't buy that if it does work like that, that there's no easy manual override around, on the bridge, just a button you can press to turn that off.

I can't believe that Mudd could even hack the ship like that to begin with, no matter how many tries he had.

There's just too many things that this episode is selling that I just can't buy!
Set Bookmark
Rick Berman
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 11:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

The strategema discussion is one of my favorites on this board along with the holodeck discussion in “Take Me Out to the Holosuite”.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Starttekwatcher "Now discovery has holodecks when a century later Riker is amazed by them in TNG pilot."

@Dobber "Sigh. Now they have holodecks. Ffs. "

Clearly, the holodeck that they have isn't nearly as sophisticated as the TNG holodecks. They're stuck in the center of the room: They can't move around, and as far as we know, the holograms aren't really touchable.
If you look at any impressive technology we have today, there was usually a low-tech version of that in the past. Like movie editing tech. With computers today, you can edit scenes together with ease. Well, there were analog versions of that in the 70's, it was just that the machine used up a whole room.

So anyway, it makes sense that they would have holodecks of some sort, just not as advanced.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 3:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Just looking at the comments, I think Trekkies are extremely picky, conservative and/or jaded. Maybe even entitled. I don't know if this is applies to "nerddom" in general, or if it's specifically Trekkie thing, There's just no pleasing them. Instead of enjoying a good show, they pick it apart and look for anything wrong they can find, even finding stuff that isn't really there.
For example, some people are complaining that the Klingons are dishonourable. Guess what? They were like that in the original series! They must have gone through a profound social change between the original series and the Star Trek movies. They didn't talk about honour at all in TOS. In this show, it looks like the only ones that talk about that are the members of T'kuvma's cult. Also, not all Klingons are the same, etc..

Do anything different than what's been done before in Trek, and it's: "Well that's so not Trek-like, it's not in the spirit of Trek.". Stick to what's been done and "Well now they're just retreading old ground, been there done that.".
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I'm confused about Stamets; I thought he was in a relationship with the guy that died on the sister ship? How did he get over him so quickly and start dating another guy, even living with him?
Next ►Page 1 of 34
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.