Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 189 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 8
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Dec 6, 2017, 3:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@Jammer

Just catching up a bit and I saw your note from Nov. 5th.

Thanks!

It's the little things. You didn't HAVE to change it, but you took the time to do it, and now it's better. Much appreciated. :D

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 1:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

Hello Everyone

It was silly when the two of them showed up with the wigs and flintlocks, and I thought it was cute and sort of true to how time on the simulator might work. But it was a perfect set-up for... Bortus. I laughed so hard when he asked if he was early I had to stop my recording. Tears flowed. I was entertained.

Was it a good story? Well, it was different, at least to my eyes. Not horrible but not fantastic. The star rating is probably on the nose, but so close to a three I can taste it. As I'd had a strange day at work, I was not trying to figure it out, although I thought it'd be something that wasn't real (I was thinking aliens at work, doing something weird, based on old TNG memories). Honestly, Kitan isn't my favorite because, well, I don't like the makeup. It just looks like plastic to me, much more than the Bortus makeup. It pulls me out of the immersion a bit. But seeing her parents (heh, nice) and getting a bit of backstory was decent. And that she was on the simulator, but not knowing it, my work-melted brain thought it was... well... decent enough. I really think the laugh I got towards the beginning skewed me towards a higher rating. But that isn't all bad to me.

@Skoply I really, mostly, dislike Family Guy, but I know the characters and when I read your note I truly laughed out loud, as that is one of the few things I've seen from that show. Thanks!

I hope the series does well, as it seems to have steered away from the d**k jokes a bit, which is a plus for me. There are many kinds of humor, and if it veers away from the Family Guy type towards more of the types of humor TNG could have done, but didn't, I'll continue to enjoy it.

Lastly... I know this show is nowhere near the level of Babylon 5, but I recall JM Straczynski mentioned that he always wanted his show to have at least one funny moment you could laugh at, even during the darkest episodes. While they didn't always pan out, they usually did. If The Orville can be semi-serious and have a stupid funny moment or two in it, well, I'll keep watching until the thing ends...

Thank you for your time and thank you Jammer... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Nov 29, 2017, 1:00am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

@Brontodon

I think that every episode. I also get a weird vibe of the voicebox/character Tiki wore around its neck on Buck Rogers from the late 70's.

I have not bothered to look at the voice credits, or if the person in the suit does the voice, but I've wondered every time if that isn't Mr. Spiner using an alias. :)

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Nov 29, 2017, 12:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Hello Everyone

Yeah, I'll say it, I was surprised the first comment spoiler was allowed to remain. Yes, I've seen the series before and know what comes later, but there have been instances (Galactica comes to mind) where a spoiler is removed or blacked out, and a comment is placed to please only talk about this episode, and not anything that happens later.

All that being said (since the cat is out of the bag), it struck me that since she did know she was leaving, perhaps her acting had a bit more emotion to it as she was realizing the end was near, and as she was saying goodbye to Worf, she was able to put some of that in her performance. I really thought her pain and anguish were very nicely done.

Boy, there was one thing that just really bothered me though, first-run and now, and it is something @JC touched on: He carried her 17 klicks back to the ship, but didn't originally think to put her on his back and carry her 23? They were only 3 away. Carry her there, find the spy, run back out. We could have even had some exchanges where the Cardassian tells him to leave her, and Worf could tell him that if she dies so does he. I know the point they were trying to make, but darned if it just didn't seem... wrong. Yes, we were surprised (woo-hoo?), but the reason we were surprised is because we all know Worf, know what he is about and have a reasonable expectation about his actions. Pulling a rabbit out of a hat just so there can be a 'gotcha' moment was a dis-service to him, in my humble opinion.

No-one seems to be on the fence with this one, you either agree or disagree with his decision. I am in the disagree camp.

Regards... RT

P.S.: About them serving together. I agree they should not be on missions like this as a team, but saying they should not be at the same posting seems a bit silly, since we've seen whole families on Starships for a few years now (which was probably a mistake). Sisko did have to be pulled away from his dead wife once, as I recall. Since Starfleet lets couples serve together, I'd bet they'd get this type of situation more often than we hear about.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

Hello Everyone

I liked this one, but wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again. Sort of like when you see a good movie, but once you see the end, you're done with it.

I was able do suspend disbelief enough to figure O'Brien had been there for a bit. Bilby mentioned how he'd seen him around for the past few weeks, and I figure there was some other time compression, regardless of the stardates.

I sort of liked the other two baddies. The one reminded me of a Klingon from TOS. Now that would have been a neat story, a Klingon exiled because he was one of the few remaining ones that looked too human.

Yes, the Orion Syndicate would be an organization the Dominion might use. Then, when they ruled the Alpha quadrant, they would have been among the first to be obliterated (whether they reminded a Vorta of the Jem-Hadar or not). I think a Founder would listen to how they had helped them, nodded, then said "Destroy them", because they would ultimately be uncontrollable.

O'BRIEN: There's a Klingon Ambassador here? Gowron mustn't like him too much.

They did such a good job of making this planet look like a backwater that no-one wanted to be on, it left me wondering why there would be a Klingon Ambassador here? Farius? It just didn't seem that important of a place to need one. Is it part of the Federation, or is it non-aligned? It just seemed it was on-par with the Planet of Galactic Peace, and any Ambassador stationed here wouldn't be nearly important enough to be a game-changer, no matter who killed him. And Bilby, being on this backwater (and somewhat low on the chain of command), just happened to know where the Starfleet source had been previously stationed?

As much as I liked the episode, that was in the back of my brain, telling me this was an important story set on an unimportant planet, and that made my brain hurt...

Your mileage may vary... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

Hello Everyone

I generally liked this episode, but as I'm watching them with a different eye than I did during first run, some things stood out to me:

I nodded in agreement with @William B when he mentioned thinking of fast forwarding during the Hirogen scenes. They were almost painful to watch.

Tuvok launched a buoy as they were captured, and we see it fire off. Then, I'm expecting Voyager to mention it, but instead we get Kim stating the shuttle is empty. Did the writers want to let us know they really didn't lose another one, and forgot about the buoy? I'm picturing it hurtling through space, in the wrong direction...

I am in agreement with @Stingray-j about the singularities. We'd known Romulans used them for years in their engines, so it wouldn't be a stretch to think someone might want to use one in a relay station that was supposed to last a really, really long time.

Eh, Neelix didn't bother me that much. He acts as he is written. And with Tuvok, I thought he was just reminding him that hey, you can let that work wait a while. Read your letter. He knew Tuvok would probably wait, even though he really wanted to see it, and at the end of the scene, he did stop and look.

Things are going all sideways, the ship might be destroyed, and Torres is in... astrometrics. I was rather surprised to see she was still working on the letters when her place was in the engine room. My thought was, tell the computer to keep working on them, and go do your job.

They keep saying 60,000 light years. I thought they started at around 70k light years, Kes sent them 10k and they found a few other shortcuts here and there, as well as simply flying in that general direction. Shouldn't it be closer to 50k? Maybe 45k? 60k would imply they'd been standing still the whole time, before and after the Kes fling.

I really thought Chakotay was off a bit when talking with Janeway, though I didn't really blame the actor. Yes, he had to deliver the lines, but they made him sound like Counselor Troi. "How do you feel about that?". A Chakotay response would have been more along the lines of "I am so sorry, and feel your pain. Would you like to vision-quest?" or something. He isn't a counselor, don't give him counselor lines...

I didn't need to hear Kim talk about a letter after the first time. I think it would have been better if he'd just have a hopeful look, then a dashed one when none arrived. It just seemed to keep going. Also, shouldn't Kim have been promoted by now? At least to Lieutenant-junior grade? Hmm...*Janeway to Chakotay: "I'd love to promote Harry, but he can never seem to get a lock...". *

I did think it was neat to see the array fall in on itself when the shielding stopped working. That's how Romulan ships should die when they are defeated, not in a flash like the rest.

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Nov 28, 2017, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

Hello Everyone

I always liked this episode and was glad to see it come up in my re-watch. A few thoughts:

Romulans: It's in their nature. I was reminded of Chakotay's story about the Fox and the Scorpion... They will always try to get a leg up if they see an opportunity.

Janeway had a hair helmet on. She dropped her head at one point in the episode, and nothing came close to moving.

Heh, Torres and her "Cloak of Belanna". When she was walking, they shot it dark, and the cloak was dark in the middle, and you almost couldn't see the bump.

My favorite little bit was when Doctor pulled the unconscious Romulan off of the console, and as they fell they would have hit a raised section of the floor, so she had to discreetly move and lay down next to it.

Yeah, it could have been better, but it was pretty good as it was. A big thumbs up from me...

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

That was new to me. Thanks @Hunter :)

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Hello Everyone!

Well, I'm somewhat ambivalent about this episode. Some good scenes, some not so good ones. Middle of the road. My thought was, if the aliens didn't invade their sleep, wouldn't they have just flown by without knowing they were there? It didn't seem like they were on their way to that planet or anything, and with them being in caverns, Voyager might not have even noticed them at all. They seemed to be trying to defend themselves from a threat that did not exist...

Perhaps I missed something...

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

Hello Everyone!

@digitaurus

Yes, once a male wore a weird, white spandex suit that left little to the imagination, in Transfigurations (season 3).

While many outfits were racy or form fitting, you couldn't see much of anything in the old 480. Now with them on Blu-Ray/HD, you can see much that was previously hidden. For example, in the season 6 episode Man of the People, you can potentially see right through Troi's top in HD, but not in the old SD.

Your mileage may vary, of course. :)

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Hello Everyone!

Years ago, a friend of mine and I went to see Mark Allan Shephard at a, well, it wasn't a convention really, just some time with him up on stage. And I really enjoyed it. It was very personal and cozy, with around 60 or 70 of us there.

While I don't remember the exact things he said any longer, it was nice to get a different perspective on the show from one of the other characters, instead of one of the stars. He seemed a genuinely likable fellow.

I think this show had just aired recently, and I asked him his thoughts about it, especially how it showcased his character, though he was actually in a very small part of it (beginning and end). He said with a smile that he was very happy they'd done a show about Morn, but appreciated the irony that he'd been in the episode for only a few moments.

He'd said he was hoping for a line of dialogue before the series ended, and they had been seeing about that, but his prosthetic was pretty much a single piece, and not made with a mouth intended for talking. He never did get to say anything.

And yes, that was Mark taking Morn's seat, and they didn't let him talk either! :)

Have a great day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Hello Everyone!

We got to see Dukat sink to the lowest depths of his madness, and when folks go mad, sometimes they say insane things. But also, we saw Sisko going in somewhat the opposite direction, saying in essence there is no gray area, only good and evil. And he would fear... no... evil...

We've seen obsessive Sisko before, and many have mentioned how... wrong and out of place the ending seemed to be. Perhaps they were showing Sisko being a little "mad" as well.
-----------------
Now for other things. No matter what they said, I find it hard to believe the Defiant was the only war ship in the area that could escort that convoy. And weren't there other ships searching for survivors? Might they have found them?

I didn't see anyone else mention this, but when Sisko clubs him in the head and runs outside, why didn't he grab the phaser?

Dukat said there was a bone regenerator in the medkit, but he wasn't much of a doctor, so he just put on a splint. Assuming the regenerator is still there, wouldn't Sisko ask for it and see if he could get it to work properly?

Enjoy the day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 7:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Hello Everyone!

I liked the scenes with Seven and Doctor.

I found it interesting that Da Vinci's programming required him to get winded when running up hills (and needing help from Katarina).

Did Voyager lower their shields to beam them up, while being fired upon by 15 or so ships? Honestly, I always thought that while the shield emitters work together, it would be possible to shut one set off so they could beam through. This time, it'd be one of the lower emitters, because they were not being fired upon from the bottom. And I think this is not totally unreasonable, as they often have "aft shields are down/gone", so they turn the ship around. Turn off a set, beam, done. VoilĂ !

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Hello Everyone!

@digitaurus

I believe she Did want to sleep with him: *don't you want me to give you pleasure?*, or something along those lines. When he replied yes, but he wanted to give her pleasure in return, as equals, she said she could never feel pleasure again. They talk a bit more and then the ship is under attack and it is left at that.

She didn't refuse, quite the opposite.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Hello Everyone!

The only, only thing I liked about this episode was the translator having problems to begin with. It was sort of neat to watch them talk and then a recognized word would pop in from time to time, until it was sort of normal(ish).
--------------------------

Well, this is your world, but since we just traversed a whole lot of space through a wormhole (and we have a story), it must be Our World Too!

Naaah... I don't buy it. Darned if I didn't cringe through most of it, waiting for it to end when I first saw it (and again now). I mean, don't tell a completely different race that their world is your home and that you intend to live there even if they don't want you to. Perhaps they learned the wrong lessons from the Dominion...

Just some quick thoughts... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

Hello Everyone!

It's been two years since I saw this one, but I've probably watched it 20 times over the decades. There was something about it that really struck a chord with me.

The more I think about it, the more I think it would have been better without the Romulans, but I suppose there had to be some URGENCY to it.

The creature was so, so alone, and finally found someone to whom it could talk to. And Tam was so, so alone because he had to isolate himself since he could not shut out the voices.

Symmetry...

I would have loved to see them again, either just passing through, or helping the Feds with a crisis that needed a badazz ally. When the fat hits the fan in later years, where are all of these allies they've helped? :D

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 10:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Hello Everyone!

@borusa

Hmm... That sort of scenario didn't happen during TOS, as I recall, but while I think Bones might have had more sense, he'd have gone to the person that was hurt the most and made them beam them both up to sickbay. Even if they said "NO", he'd grab the arm of the injured person, since we've seen that makes the whole party of two beam up. He'd certainly have been doing triage as Crusher was. IMHO of course.

I figure Crusher was with the most injured person, so they should have just beamed them both aboard. It wasn't as if they were new to beaming or more advanced races.

Eh, we can pick it apart, but in my humble opinion again, it was a fairly decent story and I liked it. Even if Crusher had beamed aboard, they could have kidnapped her from there with the technology they were using, as it seemed they staged the entire event to find their Doctor. I believe Crusher would have been taken no matter what they did, once she was on the planet to begin with.

There was never a time I and my friends (and there were many who watched Trek), when watching the shows during their original runs, ever said we didn't like so-and-so, or hoped a character would be gone. We just accepted them as they were and as they were written. *shrugs*. So it's hard for me to look at a character and deem them unworthy. If they have a fault it is the writers. I believe all the characters played them as they were intended to.

Just my random thoughts on the episode... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Hello Everyone!

@Brian
@Peter G.

I always thought Kirk meant Spock (half human) lived up to human ideals even better than the full humans normally do. I believe other races, knowing his lineage and the context, would understand what he meant by that and appreciate it.

Regarding color for the analogy, this is about species and not race. Apples and oranges. I do understand the concept of the thought, but I do not believe it applies here (in my humble opinion).

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 11:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Yanks

Fantastic! It was good to see that classic skit again. :)

RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Sep 2, 2017, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

Hello Everyone

@Alex

I've wondered about that before. My Star Trek answer is that the Vulcans demanded and received a ship of their own, because, you know, Vulcans. After it was destroyed, perhaps all parties realized that was a bad move.

My regular answer is that they just wanted Spock to "feel" the ship die, and that the crew felt "astonishment". And from that we got the Intrepid.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Hello Everyone!

@Eric Stillwell

Neat! I am glad you stopped by and it'd be cool if you posted some thoughts on other episodes as well, though not to nitpick of course. :)

Oh, and I always have held this episode in the highest regard.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Hello Everyone!

Some, including Jammer, mentioned something about the spokesperson of the Cataai sounding off. If I am not mistaken (and I didn't look the name up), it is the same actor who was on TNG Birthright, as the thumbless alien who gave Worf the information on his Father. And allso on another episode, Gambit, where he tells them Picard had been vaporized. He played this character exactly the same way, with the same inflections, and it was distracting to me (just a little bit), since I kept thinking about the other episodes.

Now that I'm finally to the Seven episodes, I will mention again what I thought of Seven's outfit. As a former Borg, she might like the catsuit because it isn't bulky or in the way, and is simply functional. I don't see a handy zipper though, for bio breaks. But her shoes seemed to be a form of high heel. I doubt she would wear those, as it would not be helpful for much of anything, and figure she'd wear a comfortable, sturdy, shoe or boot.

As for the prurient interest in her outfit, well, in the 90's I had a nice 32" teevee, and watched the episodes on tape. Watching today, the shows are still 480, but on my rather large widescreen (and Netflix) I did notice her backside quite a few times, much more than when I originally saw them. I don't believe it distracted me, but I did have to watch the scenes twice to make certain it didn't bother me. And while I did notice the ribs of her catsuit originally, I did not realize they were a girdle that sometimes made her short of breath, or faint. I just thought they were raised parts for some decorative reason. Easier to see on the larger teevee that they don't really move. I honestly don't like them all that well.

They needed a reason to get Torres and Paris alone together in space suits, so they made a core problem, then a fetching mission with them, then the shuttle had to have a problem (Let's blow it up! That'll be different!), then they have to come up with a reason it blows up, so they have a new species that does just that, so they can float in space with nearly no air. I've heard that some write novels backwards from the ending, and I somewhat feel this episode was written that way, more than most. Not a horrible episode, but not the greatest. 2 1/2 is about right to me, with a single thumb up. IMHO, of course.

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Aug 2, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

Hello Everyone!

@Brian

I believe they mentioned something about transporting heaters or something to the surface, but they duplicated and would not work. On the other hand, tents might still work duplicated, or 100 blankets might still work if they were duplicated. Oh, I found the heater lines:

KIRK: Isn't there any way we can help them?
SPOCK: Thermal heaters were transported down. They duplicated. They won't operate.

But I'm fairly certain blankets would work. Heck, they should be able to burn them as well. :)

Perhaps take the warhead out of a photon torpedo, fill it with heaters, and find a way for it to make a soft landing...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 1:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Hello Everyone!

Upon first-run viewing, I'd been doing my best to not look for spoilers, and to not watch the trailers for the next episodes. So I was rather surprised to see Seven stay on the ship after all was said-and-done, when usually they'd just have a Captain's Log saying how they sent someone back to their home planet (or something) when the show ended. But I'd also seen Kes as a guest star, instead of in the regular spot she'd been in. I was a bit surprised. But at least it hadn't been spoiled for me. Mild Spoilers Ahead...

After I'd recently done some minor research into why Kes left, I'd found out it was supposed to be Kim who was written out of the show. From what I read, even he thinks his inclusion in the 50 sexiest men issue had something to do with it, because now even those that didn't watch the show knew who he was. I think that is why he had comparatively little to do with the episode. He wasn't supposed to be in it in his normal capacity, and they hadn't written anything for him. Yes, they could have given him more to do, but I figure they had their outline, and just left it as it was, except instead of dying, he lived.

I liked Chakotay going his own way when the Captain was disabled. It showed a spark from him that had been lacking, imho. Janeway said she would have probably gone backwards as the Borg wanted them to, but I agree with Chakotay that it was a step in the wrong direction. Heck, just slow down a bit and have the cube catch up with them.

I also wondered how Seven talked to them when the air was out of the cargo bay. Perhaps their personal force fields help with that. I also figured the Borg helped them out with the torpedoes hitting the 8472 ships. But when it took a few moments for them to die, as it were, I was surprised the high-yield torpedo simply blew the following ships up right away. It should have taken a few moments with them starting to shudder and shake before blowing up.

Some compared the visual of Species 8472 with the Shadows of Babylon 5. I didn't see the resemblance (although the sound they made reminded me of the scream of Shadow vessels). What I did see were planet killers that reminded me immediately of the Vorlon's, and the living ships as well. When they fired at that planet in the previous episode, as the beams came together I didn't think Star Wars, the type and style had me thinking B5.

Just some musings...

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 2:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Hello Everyone!

@Rahul

I could not agree more with regards to Scotty. For some reason, they had him lose his marbles more than once over a "girl". "Who Mourns for Adonais?" comes to mind, and saying he'd had a distrust of women in "Wolf in the Fold" because he'd been damaged in an accident by one.

Scotty was the perfect third in Command, level-headed and able to think outside the box during a crisis. He was done a dis-service with the episodes where he's an unthinking Neanderthal when there is a lady involved.

I just never understood that...

Regards... RT
Next ►Page 1 of 8
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.