Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 102 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Very disappointing finale - but having read the comments and understanding there was a writers' strike helps explain this disaster. Still, I think zero stars is harsh from Jammer - for me, this episode is a bit better than "Manhunt" and isn't as bad as (from ENT "A Night in Sickbay" or "Precious Cargo" or from TOS "Spock's Brain").
The actual plot is very basic - and how Riker is cured all of a sudden at the end is a mystery since the parasite's growth rate stops but it never (as I recall) went negative. It was as if a few steps were skipped. So some of his nerves should still be impaired.
I actually didn't mind the flashbacks until about half-way through them. I've seen most but not all of S1 and S2 and didn't mind seeing the ones that would have Riker go through the appropriate emotions.
The early part of the episode (before the treatment/memories begin) isn't half bad but when considering the overall episode as being very simplistic, I'd rate it 1 star out of 4.

That being said, TNG S2 is pretty weak -- seems most people are of that opinion -- of course it gets much better, but it has its strong episodes too. Would be good to see more consistency in quality of episodes.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

This was a fun episode - I liked the character Kolrami though I find it amusing that his race is considered the greatest tacticians and they've never been tested.
The premise of a war games simulation is a valid one and given the Borg threat and how the Federation is about exploration and not battle, it makes sense.
Nice to see the Ferengi as a real threat here and not - as they've become thought of by me like the clowns of the cosmos. Their appearance is convenient so we don't have to live with either Riker or Picard winning although had the story ended in Picard winning, that would have been perfectly acceptable given that he has the superior ship and would not diminish Riker at all.
The Stratagema game is also a nice subplot and its clever that Data doesn't try to beat Kolrami - but pisses him off greatly, which was nice to see. Data's line at the end "I busted him up" is great too.
It's a good but not excellent episode - 3 stars / 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

This is a hit-and-miss episode and I think Jammer's review reflects how I feel about it and where it falls short. The premise is kind of ridiculous that a Klingon warship will "thaw" and just start kicking ass on Federation colonies - but that is the B-plot. Worf getting the Klingon battlecruiser to lower its shields if threatened with phasers also is hardly believable.
What is good about the episode is getting to see Worf's traditional beliefs - but that he is not just rigid. K'Ehleyr is a good character - quite an impressive woman - a good balance that pushes Worf.
One thing that cracks me up is in Worf's calisthenics routine, one of the bad guys he battles is Skeletor!
Anyhow, lots of dancing around Klingon sex - but ultimately (and of course it would) things are left off in a reasonable way between Worf and K'Ehleyr. I rate this 2.5/4 stars - can't say it's a strong episode but the character of K'Ehleyr adds a lot of spice in a much better way than, say, Laxwana.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 23, 2017, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Some scenes were truly kind of funny - Lwaxana is an comedic character, no doubt and her making Picard uncomfortable was funny at first but then got tiring quickly. Data remains the one character with the most comedic potential in TNG.
The fish creatures were silly - the time in the holodeck was supposed to be humorous but I wasn't amused.
This is one of the weakest TNG episodes - just no plot, slow paced - overall boring.
Majel Barrett is a great actress - really enjoyed her roles in TOS "Amok Time" and "What Are Little Girls Made Of?" Her role as a comic figure in TNG I suppose is one way to include her in the series - she plays the role well, although it doesn't make for great episodes overall to say the least.
When I noticed Mick Fleetwood's name at the start I then started wondering what his role was - didn't see it stated in the credits after the episode. And so he's one of those fish assassins?? What a waste.
This one only gets 0.5 star -- 60 mins. of my life I'll never get back.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, May 21, 2017, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

@Peter G.,

Thanks for your comment - sorry I didn't notice it until now. I can see where you're coming from re. Festival. I think you're right in that it has a significance for what it says about the society under Landru's control, but it didn't seem to factor into Kirk & Co.'s plans for freeing the society and the Enterprise. Once it was done, it was done and it seems to just be treated as another bizarre aspect of the computer-controlled society.

What I think about is, if Festival is a period when the people are not under Landru's control, wouldn't they try to do what Kirk & Co. are trying to do i.e. figure out how to "unplug" Landru rather than destroying and going bananas? Or maybe they've simply lost the ability to think independently and can only rebel mindlessly.



Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 19, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

Some interesting ideas in this episode - Riva speaking with a chorus, even his ideas on negotiating made logical sense to me. But to be honest, this was a boring episode: spent far too much time understanding Riva and his chorus and how he operates, and then his breakdown. I think you really have to appreciate psychological episodes to like "Loud as a Whisper". And I think there are much better psychological episodes in TNG.
For me, the best part of the episode is Data describing sign language to Picard. All that "here is the sun, here is the ocean, here are 2 people walking on the beach..." That was LOL funny. And what was the point of Pulaski saying she can give Geordi his sight back?
Anyhow, at the end I couldn't believe the episode ends with Riva all alone on the planet with an idea to teach both sides sign language after the incident when his chorus got zapped. Highly optimistic in my opinion. I'm with Jammer on that one.
This was just a poorly designed episode that didn't make the best of some interesting ideas. Sounds like an oxymoron but I rate it a strong 1.5 stars out of 4. Perhaps harsh but a lot more bad than good without a doubt IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 19, 2017, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Wholeheartedly agree with Jammer's review - this episode really shows how very special the original TOS cast was. No Trek series comes close to being able to pull off that charm, humor, the inter-relationships with each one bringing something unique to the table. TOS will always be the best of all Trek series.
The plot is quite well thought out too. That a Klingon agent is uncovered via the tribbles works nicely. They are good for something after all. I also liked the way Spock got under their effect after stroking one and then slowing down his speech in a relaxed way.
The bartender was great - his skepticism/frustration with Cyrano Jones was fun to see. Basically all the supporting actors were excellent in bringing a light-hearted humor - including the Klingons.
I've seen "The Trouble With Tribbles" highly ranked on many TOS episode rankings and can see why. It's a very different kind of episode - it does a vastly superior job of humor than "I, Mudd".
In terms of my rating, it's hard to rate because I don't consider it one of my absolute favorite TOS episodes although it would probably be just outside my top 10-15. But given the writing, acting, clever plot and charm, it's 3.5/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 19, 2017, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

Trek's take on Jack the Ripper is interesting given the enduring mystery about the murders in London. Other shows have also used this piece of history for their own purposes.
Plenty of comments here about sexism - I didn't get the sense of being bombarded with that given the nature of Jack the Ripper's murders and staying true to that story.
I thought the ending was a bit of a letdown when the entity gets into the computer and then goes back into Hengist who was declared dead. The entity possesses the head Argelian but it doesn't do the blackout thing to try and kill somebody and generate terror. It seems to act differently from how it did on the planet.
The murder investigation on the ship was interesting - thought it was acceptable how it led to the entity.
Other than that - pretty much in agreement with Jammer's review here. Could have been a deeper examination of evil. Good episode that I remember from my childhood - not a classic by any means but certainly not one of TOS's duds. "Wolf in the Fold" just gets up to 3 stars our of 4 IMHO.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 19, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Obsession

Great episode that combines the portrayal of guilt/obsession and some good, credible action. It's a compelling tale that shows the power of the Big 3 when McCoy/Spock confront Kirk over his obsession. Well written, well executed.
We do get to see Kirk's obsessive side like in "Operation -- Annihilate!" -- it's well-done. And a junior redshirt Garrovick getting to play an important role was good to see for a change - the episode also gives us the chance to understand well his frustration and desire to get things right.
I just question right at the start of the episode - if Kirk's so sure of what he's dealing with and he sends 3 redshirts to go check out the monster, doesn't he realize they will likely get killed? I guess he hopes they get a chance to fire a phaser at it.
And flushing radioactive waste through the ventilation system? Isn't that hazardous to the crew? Does the cloud creature need to be able to travel at high warp?
I did like hearing the Doomsday Machine score at the end - that is classic tune. Really emphasizes the impending danger.
Some very minor nitpicks for a terrific episode - shows how good TOS can be with the Big 3 at their best and compelling contributions from 2ndary actors.
3.5/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Fri, May 19, 2017, 2:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I thought this was a poignant episode - the aging was well acted. Kirk's aging reminded me of how Brando talked in the Godfather Part I. His mannerisms as an old man were great.
I agree with Cyaptain Kyirk's comments and must say Jammer's review and rating are off the mark.
The pacing is a bit slow at times and going over Kirk's incompetence in the hearing could have been sped up - but the counter-argument is to show (albeit in an exaggerated way) the challenges of dealing with the elderly.
The issue I have is Stocker taking command and going straight into the Neutral Zone. He should know better.
Kirks' corbomite maneuver is clever but shouldn't the ship have suffered heavy damage and had the warp engines affected? Instead they're able to reach warp 8 immediately.
Also - sort of like in "Operation -- Annihilate" - the crew miss the obvious for the cure until it's almost too late. Chekov's adrenalin ramping up because of his fright and the light from the Denevan sun killing the parasites - both should have been obvious.
But these are relatively minor nitpicks in what is a good episode. For me 3 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, May 18, 2017, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

This was a better episode than "Crossover" which I just watched.
The character and emotions here are great along with the twists and turns this episode follows. Winn plays an important part -- not sure if she's deceptive initially or what her motives are. Good that this episode is unpredictable, but in a sensible way.
Jammer writes: "Odo makes a keen observation when he notes that in extreme circumstances everybody is capable of terrible things. (Was he referring to Kira's murder in "Necessary Evil"?)" - I liked Odo's part in this episode - making this observation here and also his reaction when Kira professes her love for Bareil. Great acting.
I don't think it should be the case that Odo/Kira come to ask Quark to get past the Bajoran code - it's ridiculous that the security chief has to ask a conman of a bartender for this. Couldn't they have figured out some other way.
The Bajoran story of the treachery to save more lives does paint the collaborator in a different light -- all is not what it seems at the surface.
Intriguing episode - I'd also rate it 3 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, May 18, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

The episode on its own is ok - but certainly not worthy of 4 stars -- Jammer's review is overly positive. Yes there are some good technical aspects but this episode is hardly on the same level as TOS "Mirror, Mirror". TOS's version is a classic - this new twist fails where the TOS episode succeeded.
Intendant Kira is ridiculous - she's a contradiction in herself. How could she possibly be the leader of the station showing so much mercy, fear etc.
Sisko's character does feel odd - one just can't take him seriously as a pirate or any kind of dishonorable person. His acting does feel forced.
O'Brien is the one person in the alternate/mirror who adds value to the story - showing the hopelessness of the situation and wondering how history could have different - that scene with Bashir and him was good - but too short.
Yes it is a somewhat fun episode but a poor version of TOS' "Mirror, Mirror".
The solution of escape to the vessel with the warp problem and going through the wormhole is too easy. TOS MM had a much better plot to plan the escape. I gave MM 3.5/4 stars. "Crossover" gets 2.5/4 stars for me.
I really enjoy reading Jammer's reviews - most of them I agree with but I couldn't disagree more here and with his rating.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, May 17, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

As a big fan of TOS and having found "The Undiscovered Country" half-decent, I enjoyed this episode. Great to see Sulu with Tuvok jammed into the Excelsior - even if there are some issues with the timeline (the less-discerning won't care). Also nice to see GLW again - thought she had a bright career ahead of her with her roles in early TOS...
The episode does require a fair bit of suspension of belief -- I admit I haven't seen much of VOY or DS9 -- but has there ever been another instance of the person you do the mind meld with joining in your memory and being able to provide play-by-play as you go about reliving the past? That was a bit of a stretch.
I actually think the memory virus is a pretty clever way of creating the problem and how it jumped to Janeway briefly.
As others have mentioned, it is great to hear Janeway's take on 23rd century Trek and how the Federation has evolved. Of course DS9, VOY are weaker series because they lack the characters TOS had. Just how dry is the Dr. on VOY??
But bringing in Sulu/Rand/Kang upped this episode from the usual standard of VOY. For me, 3/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 16, 2017, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Weird episode - not a great one by any stretch. The best part of it is Picard/Wesley in the shuttle and the character development there. But the main part about the Pakleds is ridiculous. Have to agree with Jammer about the unlikely fact that this species got to where they did by playing their ruse on Romulans/Klingons. And RIker looks like the big time idiot here for disregarding Worf/Troi.
It started to bug me with the Pakleds' stupid dialogue. In no way should Geordi or anybody go aboard their ship all alone. Somebody should accompany Geordi to protect him while he works. Just seems some basic security measures were not observed - making the Enterprise crew look stupid.
And the cliche of the routine heart surgery that goes wrong...come on man...
This episode gets 2 stars out of 4. It was dull, slow and had 2 unrelated plots just thrown together - not a good recipe. Another race should have blown the Pakleds out of existence years ago. Can't have such a stupid race be in space.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 16, 2017, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Great episode and the foreboding of doom that comes in BOBW is one of the things that made TNG great. The Borg are truly a scary adversary and their relentlessness is well thought out / created.
However, I'm not a fan of Q. To have an alien with the power to do whatever he wants gives a convenient solution when needed. He does prove to be an interesting character though.
The episode makes a great point about the smugness/arrogance of Picard and the Enterprise and the encounter with the Borg does instill some humility in the crew which is much-needed. For this purpose, Q's role is useful.
Great Trek episodes sometimes get the added boost from a great soundtrack - this episode gets that added benefit. I'll have to watch this one a few more times and see how it measures up with some of the great TOS soundtracks.
The early part of the episode with "Selena" Gomez was wasteful - an annoying ensign who had no bearing on the rest of the episode other than being annoying. Could have done without that. How about some more background on Q/Guinan to kick off the episode? Didn't realize she had some power to fend off Q...
This is one of the very important TNG episodes - the Borg are a terrific creation. Seeing the baby getting implants was...interesting.
I give this a strong 3.5 stars out of 4. Almost perfect episode.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 16, 2017, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

This episode didn't do it for me. Thought it was very slow, somewhat boring and scattered (especially for the 1st half hour).
Never a fan of a character acting totally out of the norm - especially considering it's an android. What got into Data such that he had to eventually apologize etc.?
The Wesley B-plot was ok - it does seem odd that he'd be put in charge of leading a team at this stage. Thought it was odd that the blue-shirt who initially was doubtful of his decision him just obeyed his command when he gave it. That seems highly unrealistic.
Of course the episode is about the Prime Directive - thought it was well acted with the senior officers but Picard just changing his decision based on hearing a helpless little girl's voice is unprofessional.
If they know up front they can cleanse a memory, why not immediately make a plan for saving whoever and then erasing the memory?
The sappy part about the child and Data would have been a nice touch except that it is Data who is acting out of character as an android.
Overall, really slow-paced initially and one can easily lose interest. Was surprised that all of a sudden it seemed 8 weeks had passed since Data heard the first message.For me, this episode gets 2 stars out of 4. The only really worthy part is the analysis of the PD.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, May 15, 2017, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

This is a cool episode. Seeing the Tholians back (I recall a line about their world being like 200 degrees and them being non-humanoid) is great and watching them kick the Suliban was pretty cool.
More of this Temporal Cold War -- just seems to create some interesting stories but without any answers. Not sure how much longer that can go on. It's fine to leave some things hanging for 1 or 2 episodes but we should get some more clarity.
I don't know what purpose the little time loops were for. I did do a double-take with Trip and Malcolm the first time. For now, it seem almost a non-sequitur.
But the writers have been getting away with this TCW and conveniently ending episodes with stuff disappearing (corpse and ship in this case at the end).
But one of the things Trek is missing is more non-humanoid aliens - which would up the sci-fi factor. Good to bring back the Tholians. Wonder what role they'll play going forward, if any. Did they disable the Vulcan ship?
I too don't understand why T'Pol and the Vulcans are so narrow-minded about time travel.
A pretty interesting episode from start to finish, but would like more answers on the TCW. Still, 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, May 15, 2017, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

A good episode but I agree with Jammer's points about the action scenes. After watching many episodes of ENT, I do feel they seem kind of blah. Nothing special about them anymore - just different colors of light beams zipping here and there in some sketchy place.
The good parts about this episode are the "philosophical" debates between Soval/T'Pol and Shran/Tarah. Also thought it was good how Tripp handled the situation in space between the Andorians and Vulcans.
It was a nice ending with the uncomfortable compromise and uneasiness between all parties and also good to see Archer be well-regarded by the Andorians.
While there was some element of predictability, it is a well-paced episode that keeps one interested - although some of the action scenes went on for a bit longer than they should have.
Not a fan of the Vulcans being portrayed as jerks given how they would come to be understood but that's not particular to just this episode. Nevertheless, it's a good episode and worthy of a decent 3 stars rating.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, May 10, 2017, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

It's funny but the ending really saved this episode for me. Part of my agrees with Jammer's review, part of me doesn't. I think he's too harsh on the plodding nature of it -- I think it gives a good chance to see a different side of Tuvok who portrays a Vulcan with terrific integrity (much better than T'Pol or any of the other Vulcans on ENT).
I think the writers did a good job in tying the 2 stories together -- obviously many episodes have an A & B plot but this one nicely ties them together. The ending is well done and adds a good twist (reverse aging) -- so many endings in Trek come off as weak, disappointing etc.
I don't think the 2 cliches Jammer mentions (crash landing on moon, can't use transporters) are a problem at all - I think they're perfectly reasonable.
With Tuvok spending the kid's final night with her and a peaceful agreement arrived at somewhat naturally after seeing the misunderstanding, the ending works well enough for me.
I'd give it 2.5/4 stars. Good but not great story - maybe a little slow to develop.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 9, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

One of these father-son episodes that pretty much bored me. Absolutely ridiculous that Riker and his dad try and settle thing through some stupid blind jiu-jitsu - and I don't get what his dad cheated at. And then all of a sudden, they hug and make up?
It is good to spend an episode (or part of one) on Riker's background/childhood and try and get an idea of how it shapes him as a commander, but I don't think it was well handled here.
Worf's moodiness / Wes's curiosity / war ritual is an OK B-story. It fills in the time adequately but doesn't tell us anything that we don't already know. The TNG crew is like family - they will look out for each other and Worf the Klingon is a warrior at heart and they need to do some dumb rituals for "honor".
I actually think the star of this episode (I use "star" in a relative way) is Pulaski. Her character is rounding out nicely as a compassionate doctor who is eager to get involved with the crew. The relationship with dad Riker is nothing noteworthy. And it's good that she's stopped belittling Data.
The whole thing with Riker and command of the Ares -- everybody knows he's not going to take it, but it was good to hear Picard's thoughts on being in command.
Overall a mediocre episode - definitely weaker than "Contagion" and "Time Squared". For me, 2/4 stars - the ending cliche with Riker and dad in that stupid blind jiu-jitsu was so dumb.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 9, 2017, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

An interesting sci-fi-ish episode that I enjoyed. No issues with some questions being unanswered. Yes, some can blame that on poor (or lack of) writing or writing that tries to explain everything making things worse. I think it's about the effect an episode has - and that is clearly different for different people.
The early part of the episode is pretty solid - with future Picard as a harbinger as Jammer says.
One of the things that stands out in certain episodes is the musical score and in this episode, it is great. The whole first 30-40 mins. does build a creepy, impending doom atmosphere.
As far as Picard's role - got to see a different side, one dealing with doubt, frustration. Some may say it's out of character but I'd put it on confronting the future Picard in such a strange state.
I also didn't see or like the need for Picard to kill future Picard or why the future shuttle needs to work on reverse power etc. How does that jive with time shifts? Some small points that could have been sorted out to make the episode marginally better. But overall, a good episode - 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Tue, May 9, 2017, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

"Contagion" is a solid episode - good pacing, enough tension and until the "reboot", it wasn't clear how the Enterprise would solve the problem. The interaction with the Romulans was effective and they seem, so far, as credible adversaries. Picard beaming aboard the Romulan ship was an unexpected twist at the end. The episode also started out with a bang - compelling from the start.
I would agree with those who say that the "reboot" solution should have been obvious and that this episode has gotten dated given when it was made and how computer viruses are dealt with etc. But that's not a flaw on this episode - it's a function of what year it is that we're watching it.
Plenty of good scenes - I liked the one with Pulaski talking about the splint, as well as Riker going toe-to-toe with the Romulan captain as both their ships go on the fritz.
Some good background development for Picard who is a very interesting character.
Enjoyed this one - a good, solid episode, however nothing groundbreaking or extraordinary to go beyond 3 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, May 8, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I never made that connection between this episode and the gay/AIDS allegory when watching the film. I did think of prejudice/bigotry in general as the main allegory for this episode.

The episode does exaggerate the bigotry of the Vulcans toward the mind-melters - but that’s fine - it’s fiction and meant to show how narrow-minded their culture is. But as it’s fiction, we take it that the majority of Vulcans are this way, and it makes for a decent social commentary episode. It is disappointing that the Vulcans are portrayed repeatedly in ENT as being pig-headed - in TOS, they weren't this way.
I agree with Jammer here: “By wearing its message on its sleeve, it at least can spark some renewed discussion and awareness of an important topic. That alone is worth something.” It follows along well with "Fusion" although the willingness of T'Pol to the mind-meld may be blurred here. What is good about the episode is that it draws on “Fusion” from Season 1. (I wish TOS had continuity between episodes — but they didn’t do that back then.)
I guess somehow between ENT and TOS (in the timeline) mind-melds shed their taboo as Spock used it now and then.

I didn’t care much for the B-story - I don’t care for polygamists; but again, it is fiction and if you want a story, it’s turns out to be convenient. And at least it has some relation with the A-story in that some type of intimacy is what’s at play.
I wonder why it had to be Travis setting up the microscope? He’s an engineer not a medical person. Clearly the writers realize they have something special in him as an actor. He has really taken on a dominant role in Season 2.

T’Pol is portrayed really well here - kind of like a rape victim. That made the episode compelling and added a human touch to her acting which is normally very stoic. I struggle to understand though why she didn’t want to say how she got involved in the mind-meld — maybe again this is Vulcan psyche and so harder for a human to fathom.

Not a bad episode - some decent performances from Archer, Trip, T'Pol, Phlox. For me, a solid 2.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, May 8, 2017, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Familiar story as others have mentioned but I thought it was a decent hour of ENT. The Arkonian has hostile intentions to begin with so that makes it hard for much of a rapport to be established - I thought the treachery was something that gave a little bit of the unexpected as the episode wore on. Then when they start to wear down, they start to cooperate. That much is ok.
I did like the bit about Trip looking out for the Arkonian toward the end as well as doing a bit of reflecting on his own time with the Enterprise.
And also, finally Archer comes out looking good after getting better relations with the Arkonians than the Vulcans did. Probably one of the better ENT episodes of Season 2 so far, which is not saying much for the series overall.
I also rate this 2.5 stars out of 4.

Set Bookmark
Rahul
Mon, May 8, 2017, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

The premise for this episode started out in a promising manner - thought it was just going to be a character development episode with the whole crew crammed in the catwalk. I agree with the others who say it was an opportunity missed to not have something like T'Pol fraternize with the crew or for us to learn more about the crewmembers.
The plot twist with the aliens trying to take over Enterprise was a weaker choice and the resulting action scenes were nothing special and are becoming quite frequent for ENT. The 3 fugitives weren't particularly interesting - not really an original story.
Nothing really suspenseful about how it was all going to end up.
As Jammer says: "The Problem and then The Solution and then Some Aliens and then The Twist and then some Alien Invaders and then The Action, all of which are executed adequately."
I can see how many will find this episode decent - I think it's pretty ordinary and what is turning out to be standard fare for ENT on one of its good days.
For me 2 stars out of 4. ENT shouldn't miss opportunities for taking the better twist with its stories.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.