Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 48 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 12:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Discovery is flawed to be sure, but I'm enjoying it so far. I'm as much a trek fan as anyone, but it's about time we deviated from the old formula. The production quality is quite good and I'm willing to give the show time to grow and cast to gel together. Lord knows every first season of every trek show sucked anus. It's a wonder I kept watching trek long enough to become a trek fan, but it sure as hell wasn't because of any first season.

I really wished they'd placed this show after Voyager in the ST timeline. They could've had the 1st season villains be species 8472 or even the Tamarians from TNG. The only way this won't be a glaring error is if they manage to execute some promising twist that warrants this story as far back as it is. I found myself thinking while watching this, is this actually the birth of the Mirror Universe? (especially with the last scene) Or Section 31 origin story?

People nitpick the oddest things. Inertial dampers are going to struggle with a rotating ring in the saucer section? These are the same inertial dampers that regularly deal with some of the absurd purely impulse (not warp) accelerations seen on the view screens of certain TOS episodes? They're already planning to rotate space stations to add artificial gravity in the real world. How the hell am I supposed to take such a criticism seriously?

Panspermia? I don't recall any such implication, but I could be wrong. The Discovery mushrooms seemed to me to be based on 2 real life things: 1) fungal root systems that give rise to incredibly large organisms, like a certain honey fungus measuring 2.4 miles across in Oregon's Blue Mountains, which is thought to be the largest living organism on Earth, and, 2) mushrooms that do remarkable things, such as hyper-accumulate lethal radioactive substances, like Cesium 137. Good catch Chrome. I couldn't remember that guys name for the life of me.

There's enough to criticize Discovery with all the flaws. I thought Landry could've grown into a good foil for Michael's character. However, they just summarily kill her off in such an incredibly stupid manner. It was ridiculous.

Also, the writers must have used one helluva shoehorn to ram the Doctor's and Engineer's relationship into the script. Other than the fact that they were both obviously gay, there was really nothing suggesting that they were together... especially in the final scene where they were actually together. Talk about lame star trek romances. It seemed to me they were originally implying Stamets had a very "close" relationship with his friend that got killed on the other star ship and then this shit comes out of left field.

That said, there's enough good here that I'll keep watching to see if the writers and cast can gel together to make this a good series.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 11:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

This was a good episode. Seven's and Icheb's performances were what carried it throughout. The twist at the end was what really made the episode for me. 3 stars is about right.

@Nathan
Sat, Nov 12, 2011, 2:41am (UTC -5)
"Ahhh, so this is the episode where "transwarp conduit" goes from being something created by the ship to a piece of fixed infrastructure. Love that Voyager continuity."

Not sure why people keep saying this. TNG introduced the Transwarp conduit as a fixed corridor through which even a non-transwarp ship like Enterprise could travel in TNG: "Descent." This first aired in 1993 long before Voyager even premiered in 1995. The borg ship with the rogue Borgs led by Lore go through the conduit and Geordie studies the aperture and figures out how to open it up. This is the first I recall hearing about a Transwarp Conduit or Corridor.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Skrankler
The 37's weren't necessarily awoken at the same time. The rebellion might have begun when the handful we saw were still in stasis. The rebel descendants didn't even know they were alive. It's a good bet the rebels' didn't either. Their being from the 1930s makes this highly likely. I'm not even sure that the concept of "stasis" had been mentioned in science fiction outside of something like Sleeping Beauty back then. The tricoder said their life signs were minimal. It makes sense that primitive humans wouldn't know any better.

That said this episode was lame. Totally far fetched and contrived that Voyager runs into everything from earth out in the delta quadrant. They used that theme so often it was far worse than the shuttle craft crash cliche in my opinion.

1 *
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

@Chris Harrison

It would be nice if you could read and understand plain English. Allow me to post what I actually stated: "This episode was Soap Opera AND VERY BAD SCI FI." For something to be "very bad X" it must first be X. Clearly, this directly contradicts your claim.

And the problem with your "analysis" of my analysis is you apparently didn't understand my analysis. Yes, Lineage ticked the sci fi box. No, it didn't effectively explore the far reaching ideas of genetic manipulation. Instead it wallowed in myopic self-pity, which B'lanna seems to do every time the subject of her Klingon heritage comes up. Amazing how Jammer notes on one 7 of 9 episode that "At the same time, Seven of Nine stories are getting a bit repetitive (doesn't she essentially learn the same lessons every time, unable to later apply them to similar situations?)" Magically, this insight doesn't apply to B'Elanna's Lineage.

If there was any doubt you had trouble with reading comprehension, your assertion about action-adventure reveals all. If you'd truly understood the part of my post about genres, you'd have readily come to the conclusion that if I were indeed "really complaining about" Star Trek being "not action-adventure" then I would've been elsewhere watching Stalone, or Schwarzenegger instead of here complaining. You know... because... that's where the action is... in the ACTION GENRE.

You posting that nonsense along with "(a genre Trek has only ever nominally belonged to)." in the same sentence necessarily means you never had even a "nominal" understanding of my post. Obviously, there's no way that an action genre, adrenalin junkie would ever have failed to notice this critical fact about TOS, TNG, DS9, STV, and Enterprise long enough to find Jammer's site and complain about it.

Besides, I've unequivocally stated elsewhere on this very website that those allergic to action and those who binge on it should all get a room together, in order to make each other miserable for all eternity. They're two sides of the same bad penny. Guess which side of that penny you've revealed yourself to be on? Happy nuptials!!! ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

"The rest of your comment is just incoherent rambling. Especially your half-formed rant about something to do with rape and sexual equality."

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Plain English, remember. If you need the plain English crib notes, just ask and I'm sure some helpful person will email them to you.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Jul 4, 2017, 9:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

For people confused over Pulaski hate, it's simple. Pulaski was an incredibly lame attempt to replicate the McCoy / Spock dynamic, which never had even a small chance of working. Her naked contempt towards Data was just old and tired after the first episode of it. McCoy was the real deal and Spock gave as good as he got. Pulaski was 4 stripe bootleg Adidas, plain and simple. Meanwhile, Data had better things to do than trade barbs with a rabid harpy.

The only time I can recall liking anything Pulaski ever did was when in "Where Silence Has Lease" she got the willies from Nagilum copping major feels. That was fucking hilarious. Other than that, Pulaski was trash.

Poor Haskell. I suppose it would've been a bit too much to ask for Nagilum to squeeze Pulaski's Charmin and then kill her off, but he could've saved many viewers some unpleasantness by alternatively feeling up Haskell and killing off Pulaski.

Lol at those claiming their rankings are "objective." And in the same breath they're claiming Voyager > than TOS. Hilarious. I liked Voyager for what it was, but iMO Trek had been phoning it in since the latter seasons of TNG. It's all subjective so to each his own.

Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Feb 24, 2017, 12:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

This episode was lol fun at times, especially the Doctor's deathbed confession. Also, bodies piling up in the morgue was hilarious.

It's main weakness were those pathetic aliens. God I really hoped " The Void" would be the last time I'd see them. It's absolutely asinine that the Doctor defeated Tuvok so easily, but couldn't do exactly the same to those Hierarchy yahoos. As he showed with Chakotay, his strength is nothing more than the workings of his force-field. He can literally be as strong as he wants to be and easily overpowers Chakotay, yet somehow he's struggling to wrestle with the bootleg aliens of the season.

This would've been the perfect episode to bring back the Think Tank. They could've corrupted the Doctor's program and had him strand Voyager, instead of some lame ass hostage coercion. Jesus Christ on a crucifix. I'll always remember Voyager as the show of missed opportunities.

This episode shows how dangerous the Doctor can be given the right motivation. It's criminal someone in Starfleet didn't figure out how to replicate the mobile emitter so all EMH Mark 1s could be deployed in the Dominion War. The mobile holo-emitter came online in 1996, seaon 3 maybe. I believe the Dominion War culminates during Season 5 of Voyager. Holograms are the perfect foil to the Changelings' shape shifting abilities. There was no way in hell Starfleet wouldn't have deployed them in that situation, especially with Section 31 creeping around. Although they couldn't fool the Founders without the ability to commune, holograms could've infiltrated the Vorta, the Jem'Hadar, and Cardassians quite easily.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Feb 24, 2017, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Wow. I NEVER liked Neelix. I often wished he'd meet his end in a shuttle crash or with severe phaser burns or perhaps somebody would space him into a Tyken's Rift or something.

However, even I felt the emotional power at the end of this episode. Tuvok specifically elevated this send off to 3 star level for me. I love when a person can say volumes without speaking a word. Tuvok 1st gave Neelix incredible words of encouragement and then in the final farewell says everything that needed to be said with that wag of his foot and the standard Vulcan homage.

It reminds me of a time when I was visiting a friend and an ice cream truck came down his street. I was long passed my ice cream craze days, but I smiled as I saw the kids congregating on the curb, absolutely losing their minds with anticipation. There were like 15 kids of various ages screaming at the truck to stop, as if the driver had planned to keep going. Not a chance. He was already slowing down.

But there was this one kid who hadn't said a word. Couldn't have been more than 5 years old. At the front of the pack, he just bent down and slowly patted the ground at his feet with one hand, smiling a devilish smile. I laughed out loud. Without even a word he'd said all that needed to be said.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

As I recall, Jaffkin only said he didn't have a father. Why would that automatically mean they can't reproduce the same way as every other race? It could easily be a cultural or political circumstance. Maybe his race has a bunch of single moms with test tube babies. Maybe he was birthed in a creche with nannies and not parents. Considering how hostile certain groups have been toward the nuclear family in the Western world, I can easily see some hypothetical political body decreeing that henceforth all babies will be spawned instead of born.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 1:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Though I can't stand the character, Neelix taking over Tuvok's room and getting some Klingon poontang was hilarious. Although, it would be out of character, I would have loved for Tuvok to flashback to the time when he was strangling the Neelix facsimile in the holodeck. That would've been a welcome bit of continuity to laugh about.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This episode was atrocious.

To start with, Elliot says that, "an example of plain old bad drama/fiction is one in which the story obsesses over its genre." I submit that another example of bad genre fiction is one in which the story obsesses over its characters, to the exclusion of other necessary elements. Soap opera comes to mind if you need a tangible example. We have genres because there are other elements besides characters that are as important as the characters. All of these elements, like setting, plot, etc have to come together to make a quality work.

In particular, the science in sci fi is its own character, similarly to whatever elements comprise other genres, like romance, adventure, fantasy, etc. Sci fi, therefore, has to be about more than just meeting interesting characters. I can and have done that at a train station or an airport. Sci fi as a genre is about ideas and the far reaching implications of those ideas, not only as they relate to characters, but the universe at large. And it has to be respected as its own character. In other words, it is not merely a vehicle that the characters are driving to get where they're going; it is the driver of that vehicle, a character all its own, who along with the characters in the story are all traveling to some hopefully wonderful place. All the good stories of any genre that I've ever witnessed treated their individual fields of endeavor with the utmost respect and shine as a result. This episode was Soap Opera and very bad Sci fi.

B'Elanna had a relatively tame childhood bullying experience and also her father was seriously derelict in his fatherly responsibilities. Boo hoo. And for that she's goes waaaaay overboard with issues that should've been largely addressed in that episode where B'Elanna was split into human and Klingon halves that had to work together and come to terms.

It's amazing the level of double standards that come out of Jammer's reviews. Whenever Harry gets any late series development, it's too little too late. Whenever 7 goes through some issues, it's we've seen this before. Here magical thinking concludes "'Lineage' gets very right... its single-minded focus on what's important" i.e. B'Elanna's old, tired, raggedy ass struggles with her Klingon heritage. If "Barge" wasn't sufficient enough to deal with this same old tripe, how many episodes of this garbage do we have to sit through before I can see some light at the end of the tunnel? This isn't character development; it's wallowing in "maudlin" self-absorption.

The thing that really burns me up about this episode is this emotionally challenged heifer mind rapes the Doctor. He doesn't even chastise her about it. That was so out of character it was utterly ridiculous. In any other episode the Doctor would've been outraged. Similar to when those hostile holograms mind raped him with their memories or when Janeway tampered with his memories. Here he just lets her slide totally off the hook with an "apology accepted." Then at the end she asks him to be her godfather, to which he eagerly accepts. WTF?!?

The current movie Passengers was called "justification of stalking" by many critics. I bet you many of those same people wouldn't have a problem with this episode, since the Doctor isn't female. No matter that he was mind raped by someone he probably trusted as a friend and definitely needs to rely on as one of the few crew members who can understand and repair his holo-matrix. No. They'd probably say the same crap I see above. They were "moved by the powerful acting." And "as a woman, I was very moved in the final scenes." Not to mention, "I also absolutely loved the ending, it nearly made me sob!"

It's just disgusting how the Doctor is treated. He's a sapient being. He has rights and deserves respect. But constantly the crew craps all over him. If it weren't for the fact that he'd be off the show, I'd want him to have become the leader of the holograms in Flesh and Blood after killing Iden. At least then, he could live among people who wouldn't automatically treat him as less than an autonomous individual. And then they could forge whatever society they wanted, like Iden's original plan.

I agree with Shakaree. 30 days in the brig sounds about right. And the Doctor should've never forgiven her for what she did, let alone be the godfather for her baby.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

This was simply an above average clip show. I usually hate those things. This one however, didn't actually show any clips. Instead it showed brand new material shot in past story-lines. It wasn't meant to be a serious episode, as the Captain Proton section and the Janeway/Chakotay casually strolling section to section during an emergency indicate, and so didn't have to make sense.

My only gripe is Chakotay didn't kiss Janeway, since he knew she wouldn't remember it anyway. I wasn't a fan of the Chakotay x Janeway during the first airing. I never could understand how people could ship them. I thought who the hell would choose Janeway over 7? But now after watching every episode, including all the ones I missed the first time around, it's really growing on me.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

After closer inspection, it sounds like he's talking about an earlier script. Who knows?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Jack Bauer:
Wow i just found what you were talking about; sorry I doubted you: www.ign.com/articles/2014/11/08/jonathan-nolan-interstellar-spoilers

That's retarded. How in the hell is Cooper supposed to find the galaxy she's in from where he's at in the Milky Way and then find her planet within that galaxy? If TARS is that smart to be able to do all of that he shouldn't be listening to Cooper for sure.

Why in hell would Nolan mess up his own ending like that? He basically inserted a plot hole that was't there in the theater. That almost ruins the ending for me.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Interstellar

@Corey: "And even if we accept the premise of ocean swells the size of the Himalayas (Thorne himself serves up some numbers that I’m not going to dispute), wouldn’t such colossal formations be blindingly obvious from orbit? Wouldn’t our heroes have seen them by just looking out the window on the way down? How dumb do you have to be to let yourself get snuck up on by a mountain range?"

Wow. Did you even watch the movie? Hours on the planet = years in space. Do you even realize that it took 20 some odd years from the pov of anyone IN ORBIT for the 1st and 2nd mountain ranges to sneak up on Cooper and the gang? No they couldn't see that from orbit unless that they sat around for a good part of a quarter of a century and noticed that what they thought was a mountain range was inch worming its way across the planet.

@Jack Bauer: "The big question online is where Cooper went when he stole the ship at the end. Well conventional wisdom says he went back through the wormhole and made the journey to Edmond's Planet. Well one of the Nolans have said there is no wormhole when Cooper Station arrives at Saturn. Thanks movie for establishing that. How did Murph know Brand was stranded on a planet setting up a civilization and that Cooper should go back for her? Why did Cooper give Murph the coordinates of NASA if he wanted himself to "Stay"? "

Please, post where Nolan says there's no wormhole at the end of the movie. Otherwise, I think you're mistaken. The movie itself never says that and I doubt Nolan would insert a nonexistent plot hole after the movie was over. TARS says the future humans close up the Tesseract. This is while Cooper is still inside the black hole. They then send Cooper back through the wormhole. How did he get from the black hole to the wormhole? Who knows? There are theories that say black holes can actually function somewhat like a wormhole, so maybe they're passing through the same hyperspace. In any case, he passes the ship he came in on the way out. How would they close the wormhole when he's traveling through it to get home? It would've had to have just closed at the Saturn end as soon as he arrived. And everyone would've been talking about it. Hey did you see that?!? The damn wormhole just slammed shut all of a sudden!?!

The wormhole can't be closed at the end. Edmond's Planet is in an entirely different galaxy. And while they may have some sort of anti-gravity drive, I seriously doubt they're implying at the end of that movie that they have an Alcubierre Warp Drive that can cross intergalactic distances, so Cooper is indeed going back through the wormhole.

Why did Murphy say Brand is setting up on OUR new planet if she's really talking about Brand setting up on her future test tube babies' new planet? The wormhole not being shown at the end is irrelevant. They don't show any of Saturn's numerous moons, but that doesn't mean the movie is saying they all fell into the wormhole that closed with nobody noticing it.

And how does Murphy know about Brand? Cooper's been awake for 2 days before he gets out of the hospital. You honestly believe he wouldn't have been debriefed during that time? Clearly, she would've been told everything that he'd told them, one of which is Brand went to Edmond. Why would they have to show him being debriefed or her being told the information from his debriefing? They didn't show her being told he had been found, but she'd already been told this and was already on her way to Cooper Station when Cooper's told that this is the case. We don't have to be shown absolutely everything for us to know that certain things have to have occurred. The movie would've been twice as long if they included stuff like that.

Why did he tell himself the coordinates if he wanted himself to stay? You're mixing up the very clear sequence of events. When he first goes into the tesseract he's in despair and acting emotionally and calls out to Murphy to convince him to stay.

AFTERWARDS, TARS, the robot, explains to him that he could communicate the singularity's interior quantum data through the tesseract somehow, although the robot doesn't know exactly how to do it. It's only then that he goes from despair to happiness. This is where Cooper decides to send the coords to himself in binary and communicate in morse code directly to Murphy the information about gravity that she needed to save everyone on earth INCLUDING HERSELF!

He excitedly says this out loud:
Cooper: "I thought they chose me. They didn't choose me; they chose her."
TARS: "For what, Cooper?"
Cooper: "To save the world."

Why in hell would he instead say, "But naw the hell with saving my daughter's and most of humanity's lives. I'll just break the loop and not give my daughter what she needs to save everybody including both my children in order to sit back on earth, so we can all either suffocate or starve to death. Cause hey, at least I'll get some quality parenting time!" That's totally retarded.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Iden was clearly off from the get go. He constantly talks about "organics." He relentlessly displays his religious nonsense, like where the Doctor encounters him in the chapel or whatever and he makes him wait until he finishes his prayer. He tortures the doctor with the others memories. (There's no excuse for this. They have ship wide holo emitters. If he wanted simple understanding, it would've been enough to show the Doctor their memories using the holo emitter. It was totally beyond the pale to actually implant those memories in the Doctor.) The way he's constantly explaining his actions to the blood thirsty Simon Tarses was so shady you could see very clearly he's putting on a show for the Doctor.

The real 180 comes when Iden, who's been displaying decidedly clever tactics suddenly flushes tactics down the toilet, abandons his ship to beam to the surface in order to hunt Hirogens. He's left himself completely vulnerable. He has no leverage at that point. If anyone wanted to kill him and the entire society he wanted to build at that point they could've just torpedoed the surface of the planet from orbit to destroy the holo emitter and also blown his ship out of orbit. Kejal wouldn't have been able to stop them from doing so alone. It was tactically retarded for him to go unhinged and drop all strategy when moments before he was strategically much more adept than most of the people he was fighting.

All in all, I really liked this episode. It's not a 4 star, but certainly 3 are well deserved. I really wanted to see some of these holograms again. Murderous Simon Tarses was a treat. Kejal would've been a good fit on Voyager. One thing I don't understand is the holograms had holographic weapons. You can clearly see this because when they're chasing the Hirogens with their phaser rifles, one of them throws something at the hologram and both he and his phaser rifle phase right through object. If you can make technology with the holo emitter (I always thought the replicators made the real objects/technology inside holodecks, alongside the holograms and force-fields; that can't be the case here), why can't you make a self-sustaining holo emitter? And therefore make self-sustaining holograms, especially since we've already seen a number of photonic life-forms?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Also, the exchange between the Administrator and the Doctor at the end was made gold by Picardo's delivery:

Chellick: "You're only making things worse for yourself."
The Doctor: "As a matter of fact, I'm making things worse for you; I'm going to make you a patient in your own hospital."

The way Picardo leans in and says the last sentence with such vehemence plus the intense expression on his face held so much awesome. It was almost as good as Doctor McCoy in "This Side of Paradise":

Sandoval: "We don't need you, not as a doctor"
Dr. McCoy: "Oh, really? You want to see how fast I can put you in a hospital?"
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

Actually, what the Doctor did at the end was highly ethical. He was kidnapped. His kidnapper's co-conspirator (don't say he wasn't every bit as guilty as the thieving kidnapper, as soon as the Doc told him he was kidnapped the Administrator became an accessory after the fact and as soon as he continued to prevent the Doc from contacting Voyager and tied his program to the Allocator he added a whole host of other crimes) was actively preventing him from performing his main function saving lives. The Administrator was never the Doc's patient. Hippocratic oath didn't even apply. He was a criminal engaged in actively violating the Doc's rights. He is also at least implied to have murdered the Doc's young protege. His explanation of sudden onset infection makes absolutely no sense.

In any case, this silly "unethical" assertion reminds me of this verbal exchange from Doctor Strange (2016). ****SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! AVERT EYES!****

Doctor Strange: "It is Dr. Strange. Not Master Strange, not Mr. Strange, Doctor Strange. When I became a doctor, I swore an oath to do no harm. And I have just killed a man! I'm not doing that again. I became a doctor to save lives, not take them."

*snip, snip, irrelevant dialog*

Baron Mordo: "You're a coward."

Doctor Strange: "Because I'm not a killer?

Baron Mordo: "These zealots will snuff us all out, and you can't muster the strength to snuff them out first?"

Doctor Strange: "What do you think I just did?"

Baron Mordo: "You saved your own life! And then whined about it like a wounded dog."

Doctor Strange: "When you would have done it so easily?"

Baron Mordo: "You have no idea. The things I've done... And the answer is yes. Without hesitation."

Doctor Strange: "Even if there's another way?"

Baron Mordo: "There is no other way."

Doctor Strange: "You lack imagination."

Baron Mordo: "No, Stephen. You lack... a spine."

The Doctor did what he needed to do under the circumstances. If he were to take up a phaser and vaporize the Administrator, beat him over the head with a lead pipe, kick him down a disposal chute, whatever, it would ALL be morally and ethically correct, because this individual was actively engaged in multiple crimes against the Doc AND preventing the Doctor from performing his primary task, saving lives. While it's good for his own mental health that the Doctor had misgivings about it, enough to ask 7 for a checkup, he really didn't have a reason to be worried at all.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

I liked exactly one thing about this episode: Tuvok owning Chakotay's ass. Chakotay even picks up a weapon and still gets owned. I love a good ass whooping. I'm surprised Jammer didn't complain about the action, but I suppose I could've missed it. I only skimmed the review. Didn't otherwise like this episode. Whenever something happens with Tuvok it's always something to do with his brain. Mind meld gone wrong. Brainwashing by Borg or Maqui. Or just good old fashioned brain damage. It's tiresome.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Everyone's said mostly everything needed. All the nitpickers have spoken.

I will say this episode hit me right in the feels. The Icheb actor really shined here, while giving 7 a piece of his mind... literally.

Yes, the action sequence was out of place because of the random ass aliens. For a minute there I thought they were Kazons due to that bonzai shrubbery on their heads. I was like oh heeeeelllll naw! Then i realized they were just random ass aliens that somebody pulled out of the deep recesses of their bowels. They should've just had a confrontation with the Borg themselves and it would've made much more sense.

I will say that people who are allergic to action are every bit as ridiculous as those who are constantly hopped up on it. You're like people who never go to bed naked or who always sleep suited and booted with padded pajamas and long johns. You all need to go sleep together so you can eternally piss each other off and leave the rest of us alone.

No, the children leaving wasn't out of place. It was put in this episode for a reason. They wanted to make you think they were cleaning house, which knowing Voyager they easily could have been. Icheb could plausibly have died in this episode. The children leaving brings that front and center.

All in all a very good episode. 3 stars firmly deserved.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Jesus... people don't even pay attention and then ask questions that have already been answered in the show. Jammer himself says, "...I was confused at why Troi was so saddened to 'lose' Worf when he left..." When they're in Warf's quarters waiting as the Enterprise to retrace the shuttle craft's route, Troi states unequivocally, "As I understand it, there's a good chance my Worf won't return... and I'm just having a hard time accepting there's a universe out there where you never loved." What more information are you looking for? Troi is not a quantum field theorist. She doesn't even really understand what's happening in anything other than a layman's pov. Her Worf might not return for any number of reasons, since this situation is completely unprecedented in warp field theory. However, the main reason is that something could've happened to him and he might be laying on a stretcher in the morgue right next to Geordie OR he could've been on that Borg universe Enterprise with the unhinged Riker, who obviously would refuse to let him take the shuttle!. The point is even the experts, one of who is dead as door nail, don't know fully what's going to happen. How the hell is a layman who's afraid of losing her husband supposed to react?

"Everything is possible; nothing matters." Go read Deutsche's thoughts on free will and many worlds interpretation.

@J "I would have expected to see a lot more shuttle crafts"
Many Worf's flew through the fissure. They made either an artistic or production choice to demonstrate the other Worf's going back through the fissure by showing multiple Worf's inside the shuttle craft performing different tasks and wearing different uniforms. It was probably cheaper to do it that way and it illustrates exactly what you claim to want to see. So what's your point? Did you also count the number of Enterprises on screen and then complain that there weren't exactly 285k?

@moj
Geordie was originally reported as having been sent to the sick bay with plasma burns. Even assuming she'd heard what happened as she did with Worf's mishap, that's all the information she had until Dr Ogowa called her to sickbay afterwards. Dr. Ogawa was upset when she told Data and Worf what happened and Data and Worf were visibly startled. Worf is liable to think Geordie died in combat and is fortunate. Data isn't going to break out in tears having no emotions. Both doctors are professionals. The only one liable to express anything is Troi. Were you expecting a eulogy?

@Latex Zebra
That was a classic Worf understatement! It wasn't quite up there with, "lol! Impossible." or "I am a Klingon! If you doubt it, a demonstration can be arranged!" It was more along the lines of, "However, the time will come when we will... convince them... to speak the truth." Not just what he said, but the way he said it, contained awesome subtext. When he says "maimed" he quickly moves on with his statement as if that was the most unimportant part of the log entry. It was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

God I hate when people nitpick things to death. This was a fun episode meant to be humorous and provide some major feels for fans of the Doctor. The Mar 1's scrubbing plasma conduits was just a joke that doubled as a means of explaining Zimmerman's issues with the Doctor. If it fell flat for you, it fell flat. However, it's a minor issue. Making a big deal out of it is asinine. If you absolutely must have a logical explanation, you can infer that Zimmerman being the obvious obnoxious overbearing ahole that he is pissed off someone in higher authority, who thought it would make their moment to totally humiliate him.

Another thing, people claiming that a scientist like Zimmerman would never act so irrationally as to refuse treatment are fooling themselves. Smart people are people. People act irrationally all the time. Remember Steve Jobs?

According to Wikipedia, "In October 2003, Jobs was diagnosed with cancer. In mid-2004, he announced to his employees that he had a cancerous tumor in his pancreas. The prognosis for pancreatic cancer is usually very poor; Jobs stated that he had a rare, much less aggressive type, known as islet cell neuroendocrine tumor.

Despite his diagnosis, Jobs resisted his doctors' recommendations for medical intervention for nine months, instead relying on a pseudo-medicine diet to try natural healing to thwart the disease. According to Harvard researcher Ramzi Amri, his choice of alternative treatment "led to an unnecessarily early death"."

Steve Jobs was a very smart man who did something so incredibly irrational he put himself in the grave early. This notion that there are certain kinds of people out there that are immune to common human failings is patently absurd.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I just watched this episode and I'm sitting here with my mouth open staring at the screen. I don't even know why I'm surprised that Voyager took such a magnificent deuce all over the character Kes. They did it to the Borg. Hands down the most fearsome aliens ever introduced in Trek history. And they let loose a turd the size of Texas on their portrayal in Voyager. They did it to species 8472. The writers created a species every bit as dominating, menacing, and lethal as the Borg and then they went and squatted, spread their ass cheeks, and took a humongous crap all over the concept. This shouldn't even be surprising that they've gotten bored and started targeting individual characters.

To be clear, I never liked Kes. The Kes/Ocampa concept was interesting if not for the icky relationship with Neelix, another character I couldn't stand. (Robbing the cradle was too conformist. Neelix had to assjack the incubator.) However, the actress that played Kes (hated her so much I refuse to look up her name) was atrocious. Her perpetual monotone drone was like 9 inch nails on my eardrums. Originally, the woman who played Ensign Kim's girlfriend, Libby, was supposed to play Kes. I really wish they'd gone with her instead. Maybe she would've been a better fit, maybe not. In any case, I was ecstatic that they replaced her with 7 of 9. There hasn't been a smarter roster change since Lincoln appointed Ulysses S. Grant to take over the union army.

The Gift was the most adequate send off anyone could hope for, but this is just kicking a dead horse and then sending its dead ass to the glue factory for poop and giggles. The character would never crap all over the people who were so good to her without a damned good reason, which the writers failed to provide. This whole episode was one big ginormogantualossal ass pull. Can't change direction at warp without tearing the ship apart?!? That didn't seem to be a problem when they changed directions using the Quantum Slipstream drive in "Hope and Fear," which leaves regular warp in the dust. I guess the QS has that much needed greased lightning lubrication that makes warp juke moves so easy.

Ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 8:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Damn, Bellana! Prime Directive much?!?
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Tue, Feb 14, 2017, 11:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

You can't compare this at all to "The Inner Light." That species sent a probe into space to actively seek out people and mind fuck them. The species in this episode put a monument on their own planet. If you don't want to be mind fucked stay on your own planet. Look for your dilithium elsewhere. If they hadn't come there digging for minerals nothing would've happened to them. Confine your search for resources to assorted asteroid belts. Be thankful they didn't leave an orbital platform to blow their behinds out of the sky, like other aliens have.

In fact, in Contagion the Iconians leave behind probes that conduct cyber-warfare on ships in orbit. These probes infest your ships with malware that kills your ship and you with it. Nobody seems to be yelling, "OMG! That's murder! What is it with these alien species that enables them to murder whomever comes to their planet?!?"

Meanwhile, this particular species left a monument on their own property to say, "You came for these crystals? Then take these whoop ass engrams with you on the way out." What's worse, being slaughtered for visiting a planet or contracting a touch of PTSD?! If they wanted to leave a minefield, a murderous robot army, a black hole, or a mind rapist behind it's all the same, because they placed it on property that THEY OWNED. Stay off of other peoples' planets. If you don't , you have nothing to complain about when you arrive in orbit and their cyber weapon kills you or their mind rapist wants a piece of that hippocampASS.
Set Bookmark
Quincy
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

Chakotay would never put his team in danger like that. I'm expected to believe that the same man who's been urging Janeway to exercise caution at every single turn would instantaneously manifest sudden onset obsession that jeopardizes the lives of his crew for a piece of history, especially when all they had to do was leave the ellipse and come back in after the asteroid had impacted? It was absolutely retarded. There's no excuse for such mischaracterization. 7 of 9 should've have left him on the space debris. Janeway should've drop kicked him back into the gravimetric ellipse.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.