Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@jrpl: The streaming service you're looking for in Canada is Crave TV - that's how I've watched Discovery. The good news for you: you can sign up for a free 1-month trial and watch the whole thing so you can see what all the kvetching here on the Jam Jam has been about. In case you're interested in my opinion, it's worth the ride, despite a final episode that I found disappointing. (I've been a supporter of the show on here, although I acknowledge it has flaaaaws aplenty.)
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 1:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I also thought this was a great episode. It scored very high on the Trek-o-meter for reasons others have outlined above. I found the slow pacing very appealing. I found the Ash/Burnham scene not only necessary - but great. (Not perfect, but definitely great.)

Characters were true to themselves. The music was fantastic. The ship almost lovingly shot. The spore terraforming scene was high on the Trek values many have been pining for: exploration, wonder, possibility.

I find I am less and less interested in questions of canon as time goes by, despite having been a pedantic nitpicker about them when TNG and DS9 first aired. I think this has made me a happier Star Trek fan.

I felt that any flaws to be found in this episode directly relate to flaws from other episodes. From where I'm sitting now, it might just be my favourite of the series so far. It left me with that Trekky feeling, y'know? But Jammer's persuasive, so I look forward to hearing what he has to say....
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Bang-on review, Jammer. You nailed it. Thank you. I needed that.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Rapp and Cruz light up the screen. Their chemistry is fantastic. Too bad that's probably it for Rapp-Cruz scenes.

I could watch Rapp for hours. He's so good.


Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

Knowing the reputation of this episode probably harmed my experience of watching it for the first time, as I have just done (yes I grew up a TNG kid). I realize it is regarded as a classic but I didn't find it as compelling as a whole as many have enthusiastically outlined here. There were many masterful moments. But as a whole it didn't impress me as much as I was expecting it to. (Pesky expectations) Spock saving Stiles for instance - too tidy for my liking. One of the young couple being the only casualties - eminently predictable. But it's easy to criticize with hindsight and I wish I could have seen this as people viewed it in the 60s. Loved Kirk and McCoy performances though. outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

*refreshes page yet again eagerly awaiting Jammer's review*

Some fascinating discussions on here, thanks lads & lasses

+1 to Shannon & WTBA's posts
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 1:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Troy G:
"For anyone who cares, I don't readily compare Discovery to previous Trek series. I compare it to the recent JJ Abrams Trek films. I find DSC to be more satisfying."

Yes, agreed, +1000000

Got a real charge out of this episode. Very satisfying.

Also, the music was outstanding.


Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I'm just chiming in here to go on record as saying I really enjoyed this episode. It entertained me. It had good internal momentum.

Discovery has won me over to the point where I've decided I'm not interested in parsing every last plot point to find all the flaws, or to pick apart the show for violations of canon. Of course, I'm not saying people shouldn't do that - go nuts! Knock yourselves out! I just wanted to add a little positive note here in support of an entertaining episode of Star Trek. And to add that I started enjoying Discovery a lot more, for its own merits, when I stopped worrying so much about all that stuff.

I'm just happy Star Trek is on the teevee again, just like it was in the old days, a new episode every week. Yes, there have been some stinker episodes and sloppy storytelling this season. But what a thrill when good-to-great episodes like these last two hit the airwaves.

Thanks, Jammer, for the consistently excellent reviews.

Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 1:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Hilarious - both the episode, and the reviews, some of which are so entertainingly biting.

My two cents: I'm always fascinated by how expectations alter one's viewing experience.

I didn't see this episode the first time round (or perhaps I blocked the memory, lol, although I don't think it's a 0-star episode i'f I'm honest). Now that I'm re-watching the first couple of seasons on my way to finally watching Voyager, I ended up watching this episode loaded with the expectation that it would be terrible, the worst, beyond awful.

Had I watched it without those expectations, I might have actually hated it.

But I found myself bracing for something much worse. As others have pointed out, the first couple of acts have a fair amount of merit. By the time it started to get weird, I was entertained enough to appreciate it as camp - especially the (yes, wonderfully ridiculous) ending, which gave me hope that perhaps Star Trek doesn't always have to take itself seriously, and that that's OK.

As I watched, all I could think of was its reputation. I was watching it through that filter, and that probably made me feel a little...sympathetic to its flaws. I was thinking, yeah, it's not a great episode, sure, yes, lots of inconsistencies, yes, lots to criticize here, but it's not *the worst ever*

Funny how expectations change things.

Unfortunately it works the other way too, sometimes. When you hear something is "the best ever", and then it disappoints. Not because it wasn't great, but because it couldn't possibly live up to the expectations.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

I have to agree with the previous two commenters. Re-watching this weak season now, so many years later, this episode felt full of holes and glaring inconsistencies, as laid out by many commenters. If this were today placed under the kind of scrutiny every episode of Discovery has faced thus far, I don't think it would hold up very well. (I did enjoy most of Season Two the first time, if I think about it. Perhaps I'm the one that's changed...)

Also, the music was terrible, and that didn't help.

To me, the robot episode was a bit stronger than this one.

1 star. OK, 1.5 for effort, however misguided, to make a relevant episode that has consequences.

Oh boy, on to Threshold, yippee!!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.