Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 213 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Oct 30, 2016, 5:38am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

karatasiospa,

I am afraid Fuller pretty much *is* gone. The exec producer credits are a standard way of acknowledging significant contributions to the making of the show. There are multiple examples of TV shows with a bunch of guys who have this title that are barely if at all involved with the show after a certain point. I don't doubt that Fuller will be available to chime in with advice from time to time, but as I understand it he's no longer seriously involved with Discovery. Disconcerting news.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Oct 27, 2016, 4:28am (UTC -6)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 6:36am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Technically, I guess. But wasn't Nero basically "dormant" and did nothing of consequence (in the theatrical cut at least) until the events of ST09? For all intents and purposes, ST:D doesn't need to bother with acknowledging this or that timeline.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 7:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Liya,
"If that were really the case, then why even bother setting Discovery in the prime universe rather than the reboot universe? The audience is going to be fragmented by default."

Because CBS doesn't have rights to the rebooted universe. They can't set their show there as that's Paramount's playground. If they are worried about confusing audiences with alternate universes (which honestly they shouldn't be, because... who cares except a few hardcore fans), one option is to pick a time before the split occurred -- and that's shortly before Kirk's time.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 5:11am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

CBS owns the series, Paramount the movie franchise. I guess one of the reasons that the Discovery is set before Kirk might be that CBS doesn't want to risk fragmenting the audience between these two alternate universes. By placing the show before the movie reboot, they avoid all the talk about competing canons.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Oct 14, 2016, 11:57am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Robert,

You are right that ENT writers shot themselves in the foot by not sticking to their premise, introducing time travel garbage and being generally lousy in a variety of ways. Hopefully Discovery doesn't have the same problem. For one, I don't believe the prequel concept was forced on them. If I am not mistaken, it is something Fuller and his crew are fully on board with. Secondly, good stories can be told within the constraints of an established canon.

Take FX's The Americans, for instance. A fantastic show I wholeheartedly recommend. It follows the secret lives of embedded KGB agents in 80's America. We obviously know that USSR lost the Cold War; we know that a nuke won't unexpectedly destroy downtown New York in Season XYZ finale. Although big earth-shaking revelations and huge political plot twists are never gonna happen, there is more than enough narrative space left in exploring crazy faux-lives of the KGB agents as well as taking a look at the 80's America from a somewhat different perspective.

I see no reason why STD (what an acronym!) shouldn't be able to do the same.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Oct 14, 2016, 7:42am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Eh, I think some of you guys give the prequel concept way too much weight. Discovery will live or die on the strength of its writing and overall quality, just like Enterprise lived and ultimately died because of its quality (or lack thereof).

Would I love to see the new show set in the future? Sure. Am I a bit confused by all this prequelitis Trek seems to be suffering from for the last 15 years? Yeah. But at the end of the day, writing, characters, and artistic vision are all that really matters. I have no reason to doubt Fuller and Meyer on that front. I expect to see a pretty big departure from NextGen-era Trek (TNG, DS9, VOY, ENT). Fans too stuck in their mindsets on what "Trek is supposed to be" should be wary not to have their hopes dashed. That's my interpretation anyway. Can't wait to watch!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 8, 2016, 3:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Eh, let's not go so far and proclaim Israel to be a democracy. They are an apartheid state, pure and simple. Doesn't mean they deserve to be wiped off the face of the Earth, but c'mon. They are as far from liberal and human rights-loving as you can get.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Sep 15, 2016, 3:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

@Yanks: "I still do not understand this.... 185 mill to make the movie, and how much on advertising? Seems a large spike to 350 million."

You need to factor in the cut that goes to theaters and distributors. Only a portion of the total box office income goes to the production company that financed the movie. So yeah, it's pretty much expected that a movie has to earn double or more its budget to turn profitable. Of course, in the long run there are also DVD/Blu-ray sales, TV rights, etc.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Aug 28, 2016, 5:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

Hey RT,

I guess if Nechayev was only in charge of the Cardassian situation, it's not too bad. For some reason, I was under the impression that she had a bigger presence than that.

That said, I generally dislike how Trek handles admirals. Those guys never DO anything! They show up, give some vague and absolutely useless orders and then go away. I worked at a firm where the management operated that way and let me tell you it was one painful experience.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 23, 2016, 5:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

Yeah, I have no problem with Troi becoming commander. It's the bridge officer part that drives me up the wall every time I think about it (and with Beverly too). Doctors and psychologists don't just get to pass a single test and become freaking bridge officers, just like you can't pass a test and jump careers in the other direction. It takes 4 years at the Academy and a dozen more of field experience to get there. The notion that a person can achieve the same thing via a silly holodeck test is preposterous.

And yeah, I'm taking this way too seriously for my health! :)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 23, 2016, 8:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

RandomThoughts,

I never liked Nechayev. She was way too rigid and one-dimensional as a character and had no redeeming qualities whatsoever. She was a stock boneheaded admiral ready to be inserted whenever plot required a higher-up to vex our gallant heroes. Also, it doesn't make much sense that in the vastness of the galaxy, dealing with a bunch of different species, she was always the one in charge. What, was she following Picard all the time?

In this episode she was especially insufferable, bordering on the caricature of a clueless bureaucrat.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Aug 19, 2016, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Yanks,

And then they made a massive warp breakthrough years before Starfleet, commissioned their own superfast revolutionary ship... and were forgotten by history in a couple of years. Nah! :)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Aug 17, 2016, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Robert,

Since this thread is obviously no place for esoteric arcana that is 22nd century Trek canon, I apologize.

ST: Enterprise established that NX-01 was the first Starfleet deep space high warp-capable vessel. Prior to her, ships in operational service were pretty much limited to Warp 2 which took months and years to get anywhere. There were experimental testbeds that were faster than that, but it's heavily implied that Archer's Enterprise represents a "revolution" in human space age with the advent of Warp 5 engine which is many times faster than previously possible. True, it doesn't directly contradict the existence of the Franklin, but if by the time NX-01 was launched, there had already been a very fast (for the standards of the time) deep space capable Warp 4 ship in service, the whole ST:E backstory doesn't make much sense.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Aug 17, 2016, 10:30am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Ah yes, Robert, sorry for not making myself clear. In Star Trek Beyond appears USS Franklin, first Earth Warp 4 capable vessel, which apparently predates NX-01. That is, of course, not really possible under the old canon.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Aug 17, 2016, 10:26am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Yanks,

Sure, but the point is the NX-01 was the first operational Earth deep space vessel capable of relatively high warp. No place for a Warp 4 USS Franklin in the canon, I'm afraid. As I said, I don't care about such things, just a fun thing to note.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Aug 17, 2016, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Robert, that may well be, but the whole story behind NX-01 aka Archer's Enterprise doesn't make much sense if Earth already had Warp 4 capable ships. Enterprise was supposedly the first ship to break the Warp 2 barrier which made it possible to venture out into deep space for the first time.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not the kind of fan that cares about inconsistencies like these, but they are there. I don't really view Abramsverse as a parallel timeline, but as a total reboot anyway.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Yeah, I checked out TNG Blu-ray reviews a long time ago and they really are beautiful. Staggering visual quality. Hard to believe it's been almost 30 years since TNG premiered...

Pity about the poor sales though. It's the reason DS9 will probably never get the remastered treatment.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Speaking of DVDs and such, Amazon.co.uk (don't know about US) has a great deal on the blu-rays of all 7 TNG seasons. I always wanted those, but they used to be insanely expensive for my tastes. Now I'll just have to buy those suckers and watch TNG in glorious remastered quality.

Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 6:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Zombies confirmed. Any rumors of other undead appearing? I'd like to see wraiths and liches myself. Gotta watch out for that level drain!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 16, 2016, 5:14am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Glad to see Jammer tentatively going forward with the reviews. This site has over the years (decades! man I'm getting old) become such an intrinsic part of my Trek experience that it's almost become one and the same to me. Trek without Jammer and his fine menagerie of regular posters and commenters almost doesn't feel like Trek anymore!

So here's to another 20 years of this fine site!

On a side note, NCC-1701-Z, I can already tell you you're gonna lose those $70. Fuller confirmed the show would not be about Axanar. I still think Kodos the Executioner might make sense, even if it's 20 years before Kirk, not 10.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Aug 12, 2016, 6:01am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Del_Duio, what do you mean by "the same guy who watered down the Borg on VOY at the helm of this too?" Fuller wasn't at the helm of Voyager, that was the responsibility of Taylor, Braga and Biller. And Berman I guess. Fuller was just one of the stuff writers operating under the abovementioned guys and gals. Ron Moore in his (in)famous interview even mentions that Fuller, together with some other writers, was treated very shabbily just so the guys at the top would feel better about themselves.

Fuller's later body of work speaks for itself. Hannibal is a goddamn masterpiece, and while I haven't watched Pushing Daisies and Heroes, quite a few people said that the former was brilliant and the latter's best episodes were also Fuller's. Apparently, Heroes took a nosedive when he left the show.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Aug 12, 2016, 5:51am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

No, Fuller said we won't be seeing any old characters for the time being.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Aug 12, 2016, 3:02am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Ivanov, I'm gonna say neither. TOS Klingons are pretty much humans. TNG obviously aren't, but I have a sneaking suspicion Fuller and his team would really like to update and reexamine the visual style of Trek, aliens included.

Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Aug 11, 2016, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

NCC, if you don't mind me asking, are you from US? I just ask because I noticed that Americans appear to be obsessed with food analogies! :-) Then again, Sisko did talk about souffles (either rising or not), so I guess food analogies are right at home on a Star Trek fan site!
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.