Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 230 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I myself am not quite sure of this show yet. Storytelling and plot have to improve, especially when compared to mindblowing sci-fi shows like The Expanse. That said, it's very difficult to have a productive argument with people whose primary motive for watching Discovery, when all is said and done, is to relive their youth. Trek as comfort food... I guess I can see it, but it's hardly a compelling starting position.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

"This isnt Star Trek at all. It is just some random-generic Sci-Fi-series which happens to have Star Trek in name."

Google defines generic as "characteristic of or relating to a class or group of things; not specific". Regardless of whether we consider DIS good, bad, or in between, I'd like to know to what Sci-Fi "genericness" in your mind this series compares to. For example, we could say that various CSI spin-offs are generic in that they bear striking similarities to numerous other TV shows. We could say the same about a lot of court dramas or police dramas or hospital dramas.

I am having a tough time thinking of TV shows that look and feel like Discovery so I am not entirely sure how one call it "generic", whataver its failings may be.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

So let me get this straight: Omicron still hasn't watched Discovery and continues with the hate? This keeps getting better and better.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Or BSG... Clearly an awful show for rebooting/reimagining the original...

I dunno. The amount of focus hardcore fans, be it Star Trek, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, BSG, GoT/ASoIaF etc put on canon to the exclusion of so much else has always been so strange to me. But to each his own I guess.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

"I wonder what the "don't prejudge the series" folks are going to say now. Are we finally allowed to state with confidence that Discovery is a sneaky reboot of the TOS era? Are we now allowed to state with confidence that the creators of this show have zero regard to continuity?

I mean, it was BLINDINGLY OBVIOUS from the moment the very first trailer came out. Actually, it was blindingly obvious from the moment the very first promotion pics began circulating a year ago. I called it all the way back in November 2016, and I was right on every count.

So, are we finally allowed to say the obvious now? I hope so."

I don't want to be rude, but... who the f*** cares about canon? ;) Okay, okay, I'm being a bit silly here, but not really. I am a hardcore Trekkie that watched TNG as a kid when it premiered so I'm far from new kid on the block. TNG and DS9 are by far my favorite TV Trek. Movies 2-4 are probably the best Trek movies taken together. But this fixation on continuity and canon is baffling to me. I mean, I like it just fine, hey cool, respecting finer points of what came before. But the heart and soul of Trek has always been in its themes and writing, not whether Galaxy class Type X phaser array emits enough power to blast a Bird of Prey in 7 or 23 blasts or if Klingon have ridges or if Warp scale makes any damn sense.

Yes, this is obviously a soft reboot, but so the eff what? It was always going to be a soft reboot because frankly there was no other way to justify the new aesthetics. And there WERE going to be new aesthetics no matter what. Even if this show was set in 25th century, anyone who thinks old races and earlier history would remain untouched is very much in error.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

"And my point it that "red carpet screening impression" are completely meaningless. It's 100% aritifical hype (have you ever heard of a negative red carpet reaction for anything?) which means absolutely nothing. "

Of course I have. Plenty of times early reviews or first impressions of various TV shows have been mixed or negative. That doesn't mean that we should put absolute faith in those, but it's neither stupid nor naive to be enthused by positive news. I will most definitely wait to see the show for myself before I form my own opinion, but that doesn't mean I can't welcome encouraging early words.

That is completely different from what you've been doing on this site for months: incessantly hating and dissing a TV show based on practically nothing that is indicative of the final's product quality. I mean, I get that you might not be overly happy with this continued prequelitis syndrome or that you might not like the Klingon redesign from a purely aesthetic or canonical perspective or that you are uncertain about the implied "darkness" of the setting. But those things, while certainly legitimate things to worry about from a subjective standpoint, stand in no direct correlation with Discovery's level of quality.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

"Funny how the same people who accused some of us of "prejudging discovery without seeing a single episode" are now arriving at far-reaching conclusions based on things like "long episode titles" and reactions from red carpet screenings (which mean absolutely nothing)."

Le sigh. Le yawning sigh of the tonsils-revealing type.

I trust it's not that hard to notice the difference between:
(a) Huh, these long unusual titles seems cool. Hey, first red carpet impressions are positive. Hope these things bode well for the show!
(b) Prequel! Hate! Dark'n'edgy! Hate! Swearing! Hate! New Klingon design! Hate!

Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I can't take almost any of the conversation in this thread seriously. Really, I can't. There are literally dozens of negative comments here about Discovery, a TV show WE HAVEN'T SEEN YET! We know NOTHING about it except that it seems to be darker in tone and has redesigned Klingons. Oh, and USS Discovery has holes in her saucer. We don't know A SINGLE THING about the quality of the scripts, directing, and editing. We don't know what it's about except that Klingons will be prominent. WE. DON'T. KNOW. SHIT!

And here we are, writing and reading comment after comment about how unTrek this whole thing is. It's disgusting. More than disgusting, actually. And sooooo effing unoriginal. I have to witness the same drivel regarding every single sequel/prequel/reboot/adaptation. There are always hordes of CoreFans(TM) carrying torches and pitchforks who are out in force to safeguard the Purity of the Holy Flame and smite the Heathens who would desecrate the The One True Thing. It's so trite and old and seen a million times before. Where do these people get the strength and perseverance to so endlessly twist and hate and prejudge that which they supposedly cherish the most? I will never ever understand this mindset.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Can't say I'm surprised. Brannon Braga's name should have set off all the alarms the moment his involvement was announced. Everything I watched with him at or close to the helm was terribad: Voyager, Enterprise, that Dinosaur thing a few years back, Salem...

He's probably a good organizer and gets things done no matter what, which is Number One quality to have in Hollywood. It's all about moving things along.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: General Discussion

Orville seems to be getting rather tepid reviews...
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

"The other is a question--the Cardassians have been off Bajor only about a year, right? Because wow did their city look incredibly pristine! I had assumed Bajor had been pretty well ravaged by the invaders--perhaps not."

Well, Paris looked OK right after the German occupation. I imagine Cardassians strived for nice Orwellian public face of peace and contentment while they plundered and butchered behind the scenes. It is not unexpected to see big cities relatively untouched while the countryside suffered.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Jul 29, 2017, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Rahul, my main problem with this episode stems from the fact that I can't ignore real world politics analyzing it, especially considering its on-the-nose allegory of the Cold War. Frankly, the very same vomit-inducing sentiment is alive and well in this day.

I DESPISE beyond words the fake self-proclaimed liberal and neoliberal human rights and democracy chest-thumping while "crying" about necessary evils of supporting vilest scum and reducing whole regions to ash.

We love life and human dignity so much that we simply must, in order to defend it!, napalm and agentorange everything, arm Pinochet's death squads, support medieval headchoppers in Saudi Arabia and so on and so forth.

This ep wants to cry over evils of war and basically supports it at the same time without stopping for a second to consider alternatives. It's an awful thinly veiled imperialist BS we can see in contemporary geopolitics all the time.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Jun 1, 2017, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Damyen, how about you take a chill pill? Every single post of yours, and I do mean every single one, is full to bursting with barely contained rage, defensiveness, and constant belittling misrepresentation of other posters' positions. It's frankly insulting not only to the people you converse with but also to intelligence of bystanders like me. Please come off your self-imposed pedestal and try to engage others with some goddamn good faith.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, May 28, 2017, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Truth be told, Trek has been way too conservative in its casting for a long long time. The diversity of The Expanse's cast, for example, puts Trek to shame. And it's not only the cast, but characters too. The overwhelming "anglo-saxon-ness + other assorted Germanic peoples-ness" of Trek is grating to say the least.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, May 28, 2017, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Luke,

I shared a similar sentiment on other threads here. Funny how no one ever finds it curious when white people only date other white people. For example, every single one of Picard's love interests were white (that I am aware of). Huge majority of white characters on various Star Trek shows dated or were romantically interested in other white characters and everyone is apparently OK with it. But the moment a black character shows what appears to be exclusive interest in other black people, we get remarks about that.

I agree that it's somewhat strange that 24th century humans still seems to think in racial terms, but that goes for ALL humans, black or white.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Mon, Apr 10, 2017, 4:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Hey, glad you got the early copies of Discovery! Having watched the first season, could you tell me why you think it's not Star Trek, but 'something else entirely'? I am sorry you didn't like new series, but I hope I'll still enjoy it!

Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Wed, Feb 15, 2017, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

"It honestly made no sense to have a bridge officer, who went on dozens and dozens of life threatening away missions, did have his fair share of creative ideas to solve their problems, and was in senior meetings week after week, to never be promoted."

Speaking of which, it actually made no sense to make a fresh Academy graduate on his first posting a senior officer on Voyager. Maybe on some small escort ship or unimportant shore facility... On a state-of-the-art vessel with a crew of 150, he'd probably be training under a division head for a year or two before getting a promotion and assuming more responsibilities.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sun, Oct 30, 2016, 5:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

karatasiospa,

I am afraid Fuller pretty much *is* gone. The exec producer credits are a standard way of acknowledging significant contributions to the making of the show. There are multiple examples of TV shows with a bunch of guys who have this title that are barely if at all involved with the show after a certain point. I don't doubt that Fuller will be available to chime in with advice from time to time, but as I understand it he's no longer seriously involved with Discovery. Disconcerting news.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Thu, Oct 27, 2016, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Technically, I guess. But wasn't Nero basically "dormant" and did nothing of consequence (in the theatrical cut at least) until the events of ST09? For all intents and purposes, ST:D doesn't need to bother with acknowledging this or that timeline.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Liya,
"If that were really the case, then why even bother setting Discovery in the prime universe rather than the reboot universe? The audience is going to be fragmented by default."

Because CBS doesn't have rights to the rebooted universe. They can't set their show there as that's Paramount's playground. If they are worried about confusing audiences with alternate universes (which honestly they shouldn't be, because... who cares except a few hardcore fans), one option is to pick a time before the split occurred -- and that's shortly before Kirk's time.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 15, 2016, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

CBS owns the series, Paramount the movie franchise. I guess one of the reasons that the Discovery is set before Kirk might be that CBS doesn't want to risk fragmenting the audience between these two alternate universes. By placing the show before the movie reboot, they avoid all the talk about competing canons.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Oct 14, 2016, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Robert,

You are right that ENT writers shot themselves in the foot by not sticking to their premise, introducing time travel garbage and being generally lousy in a variety of ways. Hopefully Discovery doesn't have the same problem. For one, I don't believe the prequel concept was forced on them. If I am not mistaken, it is something Fuller and his crew are fully on board with. Secondly, good stories can be told within the constraints of an established canon.

Take FX's The Americans, for instance. A fantastic show I wholeheartedly recommend. It follows the secret lives of embedded KGB agents in 80's America. We obviously know that USSR lost the Cold War; we know that a nuke won't unexpectedly destroy downtown New York in Season XYZ finale. Although big earth-shaking revelations and huge political plot twists are never gonna happen, there is more than enough narrative space left in exploring crazy faux-lives of the KGB agents as well as taking a look at the 80's America from a somewhat different perspective.

I see no reason why STD (what an acronym!) shouldn't be able to do the same.
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Fri, Oct 14, 2016, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Eh, I think some of you guys give the prequel concept way too much weight. Discovery will live or die on the strength of its writing and overall quality, just like Enterprise lived and ultimately died because of its quality (or lack thereof).

Would I love to see the new show set in the future? Sure. Am I a bit confused by all this prequelitis Trek seems to be suffering from for the last 15 years? Yeah. But at the end of the day, writing, characters, and artistic vision are all that really matters. I have no reason to doubt Fuller and Meyer on that front. I expect to see a pretty big departure from NextGen-era Trek (TNG, DS9, VOY, ENT). Fans too stuck in their mindsets on what "Trek is supposed to be" should be wary not to have their hopes dashed. That's my interpretation anyway. Can't wait to watch!
Set Bookmark
Paul M.
Sat, Oct 8, 2016, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The High Ground

Eh, let's not go so far and proclaim Israel to be a democracy. They are an apartheid state, pure and simple. Doesn't mean they deserve to be wiped off the face of the Earth, but c'mon. They are as far from liberal and human rights-loving as you can get.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.