Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 232 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

I think I'm going to watch "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light" on Blu ray and mournfully remember what Star Trek used to be...
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The Mirror Universe has become a new crutch for Star Trek. I'm so glad TNG avoided the MU during its 7 year/4 movie run. (and the TNG MU comic book miniseries is non-canon so it doesn't count)
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 12:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

At 3:05 in the episode Warf mentions the time-code of the bombing as 5-9-11. This makes my head hurt.

Anyone else pickup on this?
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

The feeling of this show is close to the Battlestar Galactica reboot Trek. At least BG had some awesome space battles and I like to forget the later seasons. Whiskey anyone? I've had enough of dark grim tv series thats apparently o so hip the last couple of years.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

This ain't Star Trek. It's dark, gritty and the crew do not get along. They look like bullying teenagers. No likeable characters. One character driven.

The Klingon speak is terrible (and its not the subtitles, I'm used to those), inside mouth gorgeling tikh tokh oh. Just terrible. And the thick masks mean NO facial expressions. They really didnt do anything in this episode.

Then the spore drive... do the writers not know implications of introducing unbelievable way too powerful features (just as in those reboot movies)?

Then the unbelievably stupid dead of crew member whatshername. Yeah lower the force field and let him out. I'm gonna cut his feet. Waaat? We barely got to know anyone and already cast members run away ;

For all trying hard to make characters look 'deep' they are just 1 dimensional stereotypes.

the CGI of the ships look sooo video game like. Way too smooth. And the washing machine saucer section uhmmm OK.

No scifi, but action fantasy in space. I'm really interested in The Orville. Not on Netflix here (yeah at least I don't have to subscribe to some niche stream service and I wouldn't too for what I saw. It gets worse instead of better). From what I hear they do a much better job at making a new Trek after few bumps.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

The classic Rob Grant/ Doug Naylor years of Red Dwarf (the first 6 seasons) could school The Orville on how to successfully mix comedy and drama without them counteracting each other. Episodes like "Holoship" and "Out of Time" are prime examples of this. The other major difference between Red Dwarf and The Orville was that Red Dwarf took the science fiction seriously and came up with original ideas for its episodes.

By the way: Red Dwarf returns this week with its 12th season!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Woof. I thought ENT's "Broken Bow" was unappealing. But at least "Broken Bow" had some humor and took a little time to establish the characters. Here, the characters are 100% at service to the unimaginative storyline. Star Trek used to have time travel, parallel universe travel, god beings, and strange aliens that would teach us about ourselves. Here: it's...the Klingons...again. And the whole story is about a stand-off in a sector of the galaxy. That's it.

I hope this show gets better. I won't know because I'm not plunking down money to rent a whole new streaming platform to watch it. (I'll always have my TOS, TNG, DS9 DVDS and TOS and TNG Blu rays to get my fix).
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Also, it would be smarter for Paramount to work with Netflix and have the new series released through them--it worked for "Stranger Things"!
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Oct 29, 2016, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

So...that sucks. Have they even casted this yet? Wasn't this supposed to come out January of 2017? This looks like one big bungle.

Say what one will about Rick Berman, but he got things done! He ran 4 Trek shows all together; 2 Star Trek series at the same time for 7 years *and* put out Trek feature films on top of it. And one of the shows was the most mold-breaking of all: Deep Space Nine! Imagine them trying to do something like DS9 today. Good luck with that. ("It's Star Trek set on a SPACE STATION? There's no Enterprise? Uh, well get back to you.") These guys can't even get 1 show to launch! And you can't even watch it on regular TV. In the end, it would probably just be Battlestar Galactica with Pointed Ears anyway. Screw this.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Now that we're heading into the five-year mission with Star Trek Beyond, maybe we'll see Trek turn back toward exploration of sci-fi ideas." -- Jammer

Uh, I hate to break it to you...well, you'll see.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

This is easily one of the best episodes of season 3. "SotG" bears a striking resemblance in its basic structure to season 1's "Arena" right down to the ending. And, you know what? It's beats the pants off of it! The "showing mercy to your enemy while impressing the super alien" denouement works infinitely better here.

As stated by an online reviewer named, Linkara, this episode is about problem solving. Kirk and Co. act like scientists and diplomats to solve their problems all the while the Melkotians are throwing up new barriers. Kirk, Spock and Co. have rarely been more resourceful than in "Spectre".

P.S.--It's also Eddie Murphy's favorite Star Trek episode (as stated in his Playboy interview). He found the 'mind over matter' theme at the end inspiring.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

So, I'm a professional film editor, and I made a fan edit of this episode that I think SUBSTANTIALLY improves it. The episode suffers from a few main problems. First, Apollo's backstory is absolute nonsense that doesn't fit in the show, and it makes the Shevon story pointless. Second, Fisk's killer is given away right away, when it really should be a mystery noir and the noir should be built up more.

So, I made a fan edit that addresses these issues. Here is my list of changes.

1) Instead of the woman from the past, Lee is thinking of Starbuck and of how Zack died. Basically, he loves Starbuck but doesn't know if he can ever be with her. Shevon is Kara's replacement. When she doesn't work out, basically Dee is next in line.
2) Fisk's killer is not revealed in the opening. This makes the questioning scenes far more compelling, because we're not sure where we're going now.
3) In the end, it's a twist, and not only is Zarek the head of the black market (last scene with him with henchman) but flashbacks show HE, not Phalen, was the one in the room when Fisk died. It's because Fisk was keeping shipments from the Astral Queen, in attempt to get him to renegotiate. I would bet this was their original intention too, given all the info in the episode.
4) The Dee scene welcoming Lee on board, and saying sometimes she wishes she'd been back on Caprica instead of here, is back in. This builds up the Dee relationship SO WELL.
5) The Pegasus Tremmel introduction scene is back in (But the head slam bit is not. It's trimmed down). It builds the noir tone really well, and sets up that Pegasus is still at odds a bit with Galactica and wants to do things their own way.
6) Scene in the middle of Colonel Tigh scene, where we cut to Shevon's daughter coughing, is DELETED. It's more compelling to stay with Tigh, and this just gives us no new info that the previous Shevon scene didn't. Also, in this cut, Shevon is just replacing Kara. So emphasis is taken off the daughter.
7) Scene with guy in black market telling Lee where Phalen is, is now back in. It's cut down (Lee trades his gun and guy accepts, instead of trading necklace). This builds the noir tone more.
8) Scene with Lee fighting Phalen's guards before being taken in to meet him is back in. It builds the noir and sense of dread more.

The result still clocks in right at the 44 minute mark.

And I think it is very compelling. It's a cool noir mystery with a cool tone. It has a great twist ending reveal. And Lee's backstory now carry's the show forward (Lee loving Kara and thinking of here streams right into the next episode of Scar extremely well). It's imo WORLDS above the cut they released. Please let me know if any of you would like to check it out!
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Apr 28, 2016, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 1

@battlestar

The occupation takes place AFTER the 1 year time jump. This episode is 4 month after the 1 year jump.

Yes you are missing quite a bit.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Apr 28, 2016, 6:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Mikey, no one is taking you seriously.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Tue, Apr 19, 2016, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

ES,

I agree that it makes sense for them to abandon tech. I just wish they would have given Lee some lines to explain it better. "Galactica isn't the only ship falling apart."
"Galactica wouldn't even make it through the Earth's atmosphere without burning up. Neither would most of the other ships."
"We're out of fuel, food (algae), resources."
"All of our tents and vehicles were abandoned on New Caprica."

Just to explain the logic a bit better. That is one of my only complaints with the finale.

My other complaint is that Athena and Helo should have died, and Baltar and Six should have adopted Hera, as was hinted at the entire show since the episode "33".

I actually have a fan edit to solve these problems, if anyone would like to check it out.
I also have a fan edit of the miniseries that adds in more music cues (most of them were actually originally composed for the mini series but never used)
And another one for Black Market, in which Lee remembers KARA/STARBUCK, not some random chick, and is wishing he could have a family with her.
And another than combines Woman King and Day in the Life into 1 episode, and edits out the crap, which makes the end of Season 3 much stronger.

These were my only problems with the show as a whole. So now I have the perfect show for me to watch, haha.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Fri, Mar 25, 2016, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@Ben

You're right: money talks. And in a way that's what makes the original Star Trek films so commendable. They could have gone full Star Wars and Indiana Jones back in the day and what have you back in the day...but they didn't. For the most part they stuck to their roots and we got 6 memorable TOS movies (and at least 1 memorable TNG film). That demonstrates some artistic integrity on Trek's part.
I'll put it like this: do think Abrams or Lin would ever put out anything as gentle and sublime like Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home?

I remember all the fanfare for the 25th Anniversary of Trek. Now the public doesn't care about the 50th despite these high grossing films. Coincidence?
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Feb 16, 2016, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

What the new Star Trek *DESPERATELY* needs is "smart optimism".

When Gene Roddenberry died 25 years ago and when TNG went off the air 22 years ago, a big hole in Trekdom had opened up. When I was watching it for all those years I noticed that the world of TOS and TNG got ripped up into a dichotomy where Deep Space Nine got the brains and Voyager had received wide-eyed optimism--and thus, neither show had the cultural impact of its predecessors. (Enterprise? I could never make myself watch it all the way through--and I've really tried).

But, anyway, there seems to be two major wings in modern television as I see it: the dark, gritty path that's smart prestige television. Or there's the dumbed-down, play-to-the-cheap seats fare but will make people have "good feels". What TOS and TNG excelled at was straddling that abyss and making two series that made people feel good without insulting their intelligence (for the most part). Star Trek guru, Mark A. Altman basically said years ago that Trek needs to have a little "West Wing" influence to get it back on the right track--and frankly, I think he's right.

I hope Bryan Fuller can bring back the "smart optimism" to Trek that's been missing for the last several decades. If he does, I'll watch it religiously.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sat, Feb 13, 2016, 6:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Fuller wrote VGR's "Living Witness"--my favorite episode of the Trekkian canon. Maybe this will be better than I thought. Kurtzman as a part of this still makes me hesitant.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@ Matthew

It might seem quaint and naive. But, on the flip side it could be refreshing escapism. I, personally, get worn down by the constant gritty, downbeat tone of modern pop entertainment. There's got to be others who feel the same way.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I can bet any amount of money you want that the new Trek series will either be a hardcore, gritty, violent nuBSG-style affair or it's going to be in the lobotomized violent style of the JJ Trek movies.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Wed, Jan 6, 2016, 12:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

^^
Without shows like Star Trek (and The Twilight Zone), there would be no B5 period. Strazynski's even said so.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 1:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Someone had pointed this out on another message board that Star Trek is finally beginning to resemble Galaxy Quest. I concur.
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 26, 2015, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

^^
Get rid of the transporters? They're one of the most iconic things about Star Trek? And why does Star Trek have to be like EVERYTHING else? Can it eschew the mainstream ethos of hate/revenge/violence and be its own thing?

Star Trek was a special phenomenon that appealed to a broad base of people. (I actually said "was"--thanks for ruining the magic, J.J.)
Set Bookmark
Patrick D
Thu, Nov 5, 2015, 7:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Kurtzman is the show runner of this? I'll pass.

I highly doubt they'll be episodes like "The City on the Edge of Forever" or "The Measure of a Man" or "The Inner Light". It will most likely be a combination of dumbed down action/adventure and/or fanwank. Basically, anything remotely thoughtful will be jettisoned.

If this was run by someone of the caliber of J. Michael Stracynzki or Joss Whedon, I'd be all over this.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Mon, Jun 22, 2015, 9:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

MisterBenn, SlackerInc

I will avoid any spoilers after Resurrection ship part 2.

I agree that the show declines in quality, but I would put the start of that around early season 3. I still think it's worth watching all the way.

The first two seasons are great, and Pegasus is probably the single best episode (or maybe 33). The core of the show is the character drama, but there are also interesting events events that occur, such as finding Kobol, meeting Pegasus, etc. Early in season 3 these events become rarer. The fleet kind of cruises on autopilot. With no plot to react to, the characters get stuck in bickering and angst. The mythology and Cylon history, which never really are compelling or even make that much sense,, become a bigger focus.

I don't think it's ever unwatchable (though there's a notorious boxing episode that comes close) but it loses something along the way.

Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.