Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 106 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

That rainbow pipe thing the Enterprise created looks like an old Windows screensaver. Seeing the characters stare at it in amazement is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

The whole set up is pretty implausible. That Ferengi guy really went to the trouble of making a fake son for his enemy?

I thought Picard was sterile? Didn't he tell Wesley that having children wasn't possible for him or something along those lines? I guess not, given this episode, but that just makes some of his previous comments lose any weight they had. He does know men can have children up into the later years, making all his "that bridge is burned" statements false, right? He chose his career, but we've seen other captains with children.

As much of a cop-out as it was, I'm relieved the guy wasnt actually his son. I can't really see Picard truly having a secret love child out there. Sure, Kirk might have a handful, Riker dozens... But Picard? Nah, just doesn't seem like him.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I understand not wanting to have your home taken away, especially if you have some sort of spiritual connection to it, but those people are pretty stupid if they think the Cardassians wouldn't turn them into Bajor 2.0 if they felt like it. I'd take wandering over being enslaved by one of the ugliest races seen so far in the Trekverse.

Wait, didn't Picard say these people were nomadic? They have buildings and stuff. So, not nomadic.

This was a pretty poor ending to Wes' story. We knew he was going to join the Traveler and "ascend to a higher plane" or whatever, but he acts so out of character throughout this, and the Traveler only shows up near the end. It's like his story was shoehorned into a completely unrelated plot.

It seems really weird how they call Native Americans "Indians". Locally yes they are still called that even today but Picard as a Briti- er, Frenchman should at least be calling them Native Americans or by their tribe(s). It seems preposterous that they'd be referred to that way on another planet in the future, they're not from India! (It would be only a little less weird to call them "Native Americans" on a planet so far removed from Earth but at least it'd be more accurate.)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Yet another episode where Data almost single-handedly saves the day. If this was a season one episode he probably would have "de-evolved" into a toaster or a commodore 64 or something. ;P

Star Trek is science fiction in that any "science" they portray is almost always fiction.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Zero stars. Never expected to turn on Trek and be forced to watch multiple scenes of a middle-aged woman being molested/pleasured by and having invisi-sex with her grandmother's lover who is also a ghost. Grossssss. Did some office aid accidentally drop fan mail in the script pile? Who greenlit this? They should have been summarily sacked and blacklisted from being hired on all future franchise endeavors.

How can it pass down through the Howard women? They change their name when they marry, there would be no line of Howard women after the first one married, unless it hopped onto spinsters and passed down to nieces or something, but it sounded like it went down through mothers mostly. Odd.

Patrick Stewart did a good job of conveying how horribly uncomfortable some scenes are for Picard while simultaneously appearing disgusted to be acting in them. You can kind of tell some of the actors are embarrassed to be in this one, ha. Some of McFadden's acting was truly cringe-worthy, but this episode doesn't deserve better.

I don't see why aliens couldn't perform human religious ceremonies, so long as they were also members of said religion (or even if they weren't, depending on the religion). This being TNG I don't think the funeral shown was religious in nature so much as a generic "you died" ceremony so the guy presiding over it was probably just someone important to the community or whatever.

Since Beverly has no daughters, would Ronin go after Wes when she finally kicked the bucket?
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 2:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Ah c'mon, this episode was entertainingly weird. I actually prefer Spiner's performance here to previous times he's acted like a loon. He doesn't have that creepy Robin Williams vibe here, the one Lore or even Soong gives off.

Shouldn't Data know what abstract art is by now? He's done quite a few paintings that are pretty abstract and they could have done the treble clef joke without backsliding his character.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

Fun episode. Yeah, like all TNG it has holes, but I was entertained and in the end that's the point, isnt it? I'm pleased the writers remembered Data's fake pulse (heartbeat? Whatever, close enough), I recently complained how pointless it was for him to have one since he'd never have to use it to convince aliens he's alive, but I now retract that statement, because that's exactly what he did.

I don't mind Troi getting bridge certification. Ensigns serve on the bridge and take over crucial posts when the main characters leave the room all the time. Really, she should have been from the start, as should all the main characters, since they sat on the bridge.

And yeah, Data contradicting the teacher wasn't the scientific method at work, but him having knowledge of things she didn't. If he would have tested what she was saying and proven it false she would have believed him, but she had no reason to believe an amnesiac spouting off what was probably gibberish to her.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

What I don't think is right is Beverly hiding a medical option from him and declaring she will hold him captive indefinitely to prevent him from his ritual suicide.

This is his life, and if he's willing to risk it to try an experimental procedure, that is his choice. Beverly's job was to tell him ALL the options, as well as the risks. You could argue that she thought the risk was too great, or that it would violate "do no harm". However, Worf is entitled to a second opinion, and to getting another doctor. Trying to keep him from knowing about the option or talking to the other doctor in order to manipulate him into doing what she wanted him to do was despicable. In fact, trying to prevent him from getting a second opinion was probably criminal.

Riker almost goes through with the ritual with Worf, indicating that it is not illegal, meaning Beverly has no authority or right to imprison him in sick bay. Even if she did have a legal grounds for keeping him there, she has no right to impose her will on him, to force her decisions and opinions on him, as she wanted to.

Writing this out made me realize why I detest Beverly. Well, in addition to her being insipidly bland, a horribly incompetent doctor who blatantly disregards patient rights, and the boyfriend talk with Troi. I hate Beverly because she's self-absorbed and manipulative. She's always trying to get her way, often through deception or coercion. Worf refuses to give blood to his sworn enemy? She runs to Picard, trying to use Picard's authority to force Worf into violating his own morals. And this despite the intended recipient vehemently saying he'd rather die than receive a transfusion. A family forbids her to perform an autopsy on their deceased son, but she really wants to? She does anyway, and runs to Picard. AGAIN. He basically shakes his head and says "I can't help you now." How many times has he gotten her out of trouble in the past?

There's something so horribly conniving and disgusting about the way she uses her friendship with Picard to her own gain, and the way she nags him when she doesn't get her way.

It's never, never about medical ethics with her, and always about her own desires and opinions. Her arguments are almost never rational or coherent, but always impassioned pleas based on her own ignorant standing. She never has a leg to stand on and isn't convincing even when she's right. She has no care for other people's cultures or circumstance, only her own ideas of what should be done. And she violates patients' desires, cultures, and morals left and right and declares them "stupid" without even attempting to understand them.

She's a weak, stupid character and an insulting two dimensional stereotype consisting of various "feminine" traits but no redeeming qualities. Weak, stupid, incompetent, emotional, irrational, ignorant, nagging, manipulative. These are all negative female stereotypes and they all describe her behavior. I've finally pinpointed why her very existence makes me angry. I find her extremely offensive.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Blue-eyed Data weirds me out. I'm so used to the jaundiced contacts. And the alternate bridge was a great improvement over the usual, I wish it was the actual design, the normal one looks ridiculous.

I'm all onboard for Doctor Ogawa. She looks pretty snazzy in that blue coat thing.

Good to see Wes again. I miss him, it's a shame he got put on a bus after being one of the few characters to get actual character development. I'd even take his season 1 nonsense of being the only intelligent character over his mom's blank stare, malpractice, and discussions of her sex life with Troi.

I suppose LaForge could have been there when Worf first docked or passed him in the halls. It's weird that we didn't see him during the first shift but maybe the initial one happened on its own?

I find it hilarious that the present Troi gives Worf at the end is all pink and sparkly. Very befitting of a manly warrior.

@Skywalker
"I just noticed the reality around 22 min where Troi and Worf are married — why would Troi have moved into Worf's tiny, windowless LT-and-below quarters? Troi has a nice place with a window.

And why don't Data and Geordi get nice quarters with windows? They're both LCDRs."

Geordi is blind. Data is a robot. Neither probably get much out of looking out a window. Worf is from a proud patriarchal society and probably insisted on his wife moving in with him, rather than the other way around, sort of like how Peter Parker feels bad when his wife does stuff like buy furniture for their apartment even though she makes a lot more money than he does and doesn't have a problem with being the one paying for stuff. Men are traditionally the ones who provide, and a lot of them, especially in fiction, have had that role so ingrained in them they have trouble letting it go and feel guilty or inadequate if they're not the ones providing, even if it would be more logical to let the wife do some or even all of the providing. Or maybe it's just a convenience of the plot, but I like my rationalization better.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 3:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Picard un-phasing in front of the Romulan ship was sheer stupidity. Deal with Federation internal affairs as you see fit, but don't reveal to your enemy that somewhere along the line you violated a treaty and hope they'll take a "oh sorry it was just these few guys who did it, I'm showing it to you now in good faith please don't go to war with us". The Romulans aren't that reasonable, especially not the one who trapped them in an asteroid!

Though well acted, I didn't care at all about the drama in this one, because once again it showed how hypocritical the federation and our main characters are.

Pressman didn't invent or decide to test the phase device on his own; it was an order from a higher-up. Blaming him for the death of the Pegasus crew because they mutinied during a potentially dangerous experimental test is stupid. It's their own fault. Once he was no longer in control of the ship, there was nothing he could have done to prevent what would happen to it. And the crew weren't just refusing, they were apparently actively trying to stun or kill him and the few loyal officers.

Everyone's got their Starfleet regulation undies in a wad over a phasing device not because it could get them into war with the Romulans but because "it's unethical". After all the hand-wringing I thought the reveal was going to be some planet-shattering super-weapon, bio-weapon, federation cover-up of genocide or something big like that, not some secret experiment that violates a treaty. Yeah, violating a treaty is bad, but there wasn't anything unethical about the phase thingy itself, yet it's treated like some big evil secret. The Romulans aren't trustworthy, why am I supposed to be horrified that the Federation is willing to lie right back to them? I find it hard to believe almost an entire crew would mutiny over something like this.

It was completely inappropriate for Picard to threaten Riker for following orders from higher-up. He may not like being in the dark, but for him to threaten dismissing Riker for respecting the chain-of-command was way out there and should get Picard in trouble. If people went off left and right disobeying orders Starfleet would fall apart overnight.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Dull as dirt, and unnecessary. We already know Data's backstory, and this episode added nothing to it.

Having her turn out to be an android replica of the real Juliana just lessened the already nonexistent impact her character had. So it's not even the real "mother" but a cheap knockoff that believes she is the real thing? Why should I care about her relationship with Data or even her existence beyond the novelty of it? She provides the reactions the real Juliana would have in those situations, but because she's not the real thing I couldn't care less.

Also, shouldn't her existence as an android capable of emotion while not dying from it or being (too) crazy from it be of interest to Data? Shouldn't he have extensively studied her neural net so he could replicate the ability in himself? That's always been his goal but I don't recall him saying anything along these lines, just closing the hatch and sending her on her merry way.

And personally, I find it very unethical to continue to let her husband believe he's married to a real person when it's just an android programmed to act like one, but in TNG androids are "real people" (or maybe only Data is, like others said it's kind of fuzzy) so I guess it's not by their standards. Still seems very wrong to me. I'd feel very lied to and violated if my spouse turned out to be a machine pretending to be a person.

Another Data retcon shows up in this one: apparently he now appears to age. Can they just make up their minds already? His hair doesn't grow; it can grow. He's virtually indistinguishable from a human without a medical scan and is essentially an artificial version of a man; his head is full of Christmas lights, his limbs come off, and he has an off-switch somewhere near his posterior. Oh but he does "breath" and has a pulse for some reason, both of which are completely useless, given Lore survived months in space and even in places where Data was passing as biological no one in the history of ever has needed to check his fake pulse to be convinced he's alive. Did the writers really think anyone was watching the show and asked themselves "huh, why does Data appear older now than he did six seasons ago?" No one was asking that, no one was wondering, no one cared. Even children understand the concept of "actors get older" so why they felt the need to add that I'm not sure.

Crusher always violates medical ethics, it happens so frequently that I wasn't going to comment on it until I noticed someone else did. It's not a Starfleet medical thing so much as a "doctor" Beverly Crusher thing. She's in good with the captain so she gets to do what she likes, just as all the other main characters are allowed to go variously break the rules and usually get off without even a slap on the wrist.

This episode reminds me of that TOS episode where Nurse Chapel's fiancé turned out to be a robotic duplicate. Except that episode was better. Keep the fembot drama and give me Kirk trying to duke it out with robotic Lurch any day.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

How many times has Picard or some other crew member violated the prime directive, yet now he's mad someone else has? The hypocrisy of the Enterprise crew really annoys me. And I'm tired of the season seven staple of introducing an important family member never before seen or mentioned and probably never going to be seen or mentioned again just to create fake drama.

I love how Picard et al are horrified at the possibility of the culture being violated but scandalized by attempts to save it. How can they justify using a rule meant to protect pre-warp cultures as an excuse to let them die? I really hate TNG's reinterpretation of the prime directive.

Pretty much every character acts idiotic this episode, no surprise there. Lock the holodeck door, idiots. The chronicler's death is entirely on the shoulders of the imcompetent crew. And why did Picard pretend to be so remorseful over the suicide of a guy he wanted to let die a few days ago? Hey writers, quit making your captain a psychopath. Either he has compassion for other life forms or he's utilitarian to the extreme, having him flip flop, especially in the same episode, just makes him seem deranged.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, May 19, 2017, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Why do I get the feeling the "warp speed damages space" thing will be ignored in subsequent episodes and series of Star Trek?

I didn't mind the Spot subplot, but it did abruptly end after Data realized that Spot was the one training him. Kudos to the animal trainers for the show, that look Spot gave him after he suggested she might not be smart enough to be trained clearly showed otherwise. (Also, apparently Data only now realized Spot was female? Seems like an odd mistake for him to have made this whole time, especially since she's not spayed and would periodically go into heat (you will never not notice the calling out of a queen on the prowl), or need to be given some sort of supplement to prevent her from doing so.)

The sister character was completely unlikeable, I was actually glad she died, to be honest, so we didn't have to see her onscreen anymore. And then everyone was all "why didn't we listen" but as Luke pointed out - they DID listen, her actions actually worsened things for her world, when even if the Federation had taken a few years to come to the same conclusion, her world would still be better off.

I appreciate some of the meta comments on "Trekkies". I do notice they tend to think they are somehow more intellectually or morally superior than the general population because of their enjoyment of a science fiction television series, and it seems like a very odd thing to believe. Just because I watch the same shows as Stephen Hawkings doesn't mean I'm suddenly a genius ;) As far as fandoms go, though, there are worse out there.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, May 18, 2017, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

I don't know if it's just because it's been so long since we've gotten an episode where they go planet-side instead of having drama onboard the Enterprise, but for me this was a step up from the last two episodes. And that's in spite of it being a Beverly and Picard episode.

I felt bad for the Kes. They were doing their best to save Picard and Bev and Riker was completely ungrateful. Sure their planet may not be perfect but if the other side insists on no contact whatsoever what do you want them to do, force it anyway? I can't see that going too well.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, May 17, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

I normally like Deanna Troi, but she was awful in this. Everybody was telling her how to do her job. Isn't she the ship's resident psychologist? And this episode just shows how wasted her empathic powers and refusal to grow them are. Another "meh" episode to me. I never had a lot of fondness for this series, but it's really winding down for me.

On a final note, Majel is a great actress, I actually felt bad for her. But it's hard to get emotionally invested in a comic relief character.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I've heard USENET mentioned before, but I can't recall where or when.

I prefer Picard as a space pirate. Much cooler and less stuffy.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Tue, May 16, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Alexander exists again. I thought Worf had quietly killed him off since we hadn't seen or even heard of him in, what, like two seasons? (Maybe not quite that long, but it feels like it.) What was the point of establishing that character only to do nothing with him and then forget he exists and have Worf go off doing whatever for weeks as though he doesn't have a small child dependent on him back on the Enterprise? Somebody call Interplanetary Child Services.

Geordi being disinterested when a real woman is attracted to him is hilariously ridiculous. And entirely hypocritical for him to find her annoying, seeing how downright creepy he gets towards women he's pursuing. But he's a flawed character, and it fits with what we've seen of his social awkwardness and occasions of being unable to look at things objectively. It's still really hard to believe, given how desperate he normally is. Maybe his mom's death shook him more than we thought. Or maybe this is just a badly written episode where almost everyone is out of character.

Data seems to exhibit mental illness... But it's just because his subconscious is making him react that way.... .. .? Uh-uh. Data can't notice something without noticing it. He's a machine, he has a perfect memory and is constantly multitasking. Either he knows about it, or he doesn't. Even if there was a hidden part of him that could know something or notice something without him knowing, he notices everything so it would never know something he didn't just based off of observed data. It just doesn't fit with what we've been told about how he works, and it's too late in the series to be trying to reinterpret things the way this episode did.

Why is Starfleet fine with Data stabbing Troi because he "felt compelled to"? If I kill someone because I'm sleep-driving I still get in trouble for it. If I kill someone and claim it's because the voices told me to I still get institutionalized. Temporary insanity or not, there should have been some sort of followup on it.

There's no way Riker and Worf could take down Data on their own the way they did, given how strong Data's been shown to be. He would have eviscerated them both in under two seconds, or at least thrown them halfway down the hall. The only way that scene makes sense is if it was part of a dream sequence. Having one of them come from the front (and take a few broken ribs for their trouble) while the other hit his off switch would have been more believable.

Troi is surprisingly vengeful at the end with that Data cake. She knows he didn't intentionally stab her or dream about harming/eating her, and since they recently entered into a patient-therapist relationship it's grossly inappropriate for her to bring a cake mocking his bouts of psychosis. Actually, that seems out of character for Troi, I know a lot of people don't like her, but she's never been shown to be that petty, especially with Data.

This is another of those episodes that is mostly random creepy stuff happening that doesn't fit Trek. I can't believe I'm saying this about a Data-centric episode, but not even he could turn this into more than a "meh" from me. It felt like I was stuck in a weird dream myself.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, May 5, 2017, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Geordi's a main character, right? So how come, 7 seasons in, this is the first we've seen his family? We've seen every other main character's family, even the robot's.

I hated how after it became clear Geordi was really seeing something Picard was still against saving 300 humans, but when it turned out they were actually saving an unspecified number of space-beings that had already killed seven humans and were manipulating and hurting Geordi, he seemed more okay with it. Is Picard meant to come off as psychotic in some of these episodes? Because he does.

Data's already a robot, why couldn't he interface with the probe? Or why couldn't the probe be operated by remote control, without the need to tie it into someone? Yet another conveniently arbitrary plot point meant to induce drama.

I don't know why Picard's so against checking the possibility of the Hera being there when he's normally so in favor of checking out every little "probably nothing" thing and there are potentially lives at stake.

Geordi's belief that his mother is still out there isn't as crazy as everyone makes it out to be. The Enterprise has gotten out of worse and more mysterious circumstances. Geordi just fails to take into account that he's stationed on the Enterprise, aka the ship where all the main characters are, meaning nothing bad will ever have a lasting effect on it. Other ships aren't so lucky. They're pretty much the redshirts of TNG.

I found Riker's "just cry all night about it and you'll feel better" advice hilarious. Gross oversimplification at its finest. And Data's "do you require comforting?" and invitation to stare at a blank screen together. I find it interesting that in all their interactions so far Geordi never gets truly upset with Data and is always quick to apologize, but has no such qualms when it comes to his human friends. I'm not sure if it's because of Geordi seeing Data differently than other people, Geordi just never having a real problem with Data because Data's just a really nice guy (who occasionally commits horribly atrocities against his will), or the writers just not wanting to write any real conflict between the two. It's, well, kind of strange how Geordi doesn't seem resentful or angry that Data initially opposes him, but then again you can't really get mad at a machine for doing its job. Well, you can but that's kind of pointless. I guess what I'm saying is maybe a bit of actual conflict would have been interesting, if only because it would have given us a little more about Geordi and we all know he could use any additional characterization they can give us.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, May 4, 2017, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

The Picard segment was actually very creepy. The guy picking on Worf just came off as a racist who hates Klingons. At the end when all was revealed, the aliens still seemed like they took it too far. At least Troi got paired with a nice alien for once and wasn't raped. Too bad Picard almost was.

I actually didn't mind this episode too much, it was mildly entertaining. I don't mind occasional fluff as long as it's with characters I like, and there were some funny moments.

I have to express my discomfort with the Picard segment a little more, however. "Anna" was pretty horrifying. She fitted Picard with a device to keep him in pain/unable to escape, locked him inside, and sabotaged their means of escape. Then she tried to rape him, and threatened suicide when she failed. I know people tend to dismiss cases of abuse of men by women, but how is this behavior given a pass? I just can't get over this disturbing sequence of events to enjoy the corniness of it. The "twist" at the end where it turned out "Anna" was the ambassador all along was initially a relief but in retrospect deeply troubling. On the one hand the thoroughly deranged "Anna" wasn't a real person, but on the other hand the ambassador didn't seem to think his actions were wrong at all. I'd leave these guys off the list of potential future federation members if I were you, Picard.

Is it just me or is Picard less horrified by all the stuff "Anna" did to him and the fact that the ambassador did/staged it all than he is by the fact that the ambassador's ostensibly a dude? What a time to be alive.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Still casting and recasting? Really? I'm not even somebody who's looking forward to this series and even I think this is beyond ridiculous. STD had better be perfect by the time it gets out after all this time in production. (It'll probably be the opposite though...)
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

I was disappointed that at no point during this two-parter did the robotic duo engage in some maniacal laughter. You can't set out to destroy the whole federation without some good old fashioned cackling. No wonder the plan didn't succeed.

That reset button is sure getting more and more use as TNG drags on. No consequences, back to same old same old next week guys. Geordi isn't the least bit traumatized by his best friend almost killing him in a horrific fashion. Why is it Data gets to work through his problems but most human characters don't? Even if Geordi understood that Data wasn't in control of his actions and regretted them as much as he was capable, he'd still need time to recover and come to terms with the fact his friend was so easily made to cheerfully torture him, that maybe his friend really was just a very convincing machine after all. Geordi will be having nightmares for months but instead it's HIM who's comforting Data, rather than Data apologizing to him. I feel the last scene would have been more meaningful if it had let Geordi be shaken by events too, shown their relationship won't ever be exactly the same even if both try to act like it will.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

Seems like giving robots emotions is always a bad idea in Sci-fi. It almost always seems to end in a massacre, love triangle, or very embarrassingly stupid dialogue.

Why did the entire ship have to go planet-side to look for one MIA robot? Including the captain? In what alternate universe is Crusher ever qualified to captain the ship? Even if she was, given how dangerous Data can get shouldn't she be prepping sick bay for casualties? What about the Borg threat? Is one robot really more important than that?

As others stated above, first 2/3rds of the episode was good, but the final third just derailed. Data's admitting to feeling pleasure at killing an enemy was shocking and I wanted to see Data actually descend into evil, not suddenly flip the evil switch and become Lore's puppet.

I'll agree with what others have said about Bev being too "nagging", because she genuinely is. I know there's a lot of misogyny on some of these boards and that women have been stereotyped as nagging but blame the writers, not the commenters pointing it out. Bev's a terrible female character and just a poor character in general. To be honest even of she were male I'd still hate her character traits. But then again if she were male she'd probably be written better and would either not have those traits or have actual good traits to balance them out and make her actually likeable, or at least tolerable.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Fri, Apr 28, 2017, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

This one didn't do anything for me, and the aliens didn't even get blown up at the end after all the trouble they caused. Don't lay your eggs in someone else's engines, it's quite rude.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Thu, Apr 27, 2017, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

@Peter G.

They may not be the same ancient race, but the idea was still already established. The main problem I have with the episode is how badly they botch it. I'd be okay with them trying to re-reveal it as a new idea if they had done it well. They redid the "robot dies from emotions" idea and various other ones and I didn't mind.

Haven't watched DS9 yet, still working my way through TNG.
Set Bookmark
Outsider65
Wed, Apr 26, 2017, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

@Peter G.

That makes more sense. But the way Kahless was portrayed here was intentionally Christ-like, rather than just as an honored warrior like back in TOS. The visions were portrayed as them actually thinking he had appeared to them, and they expected supernatural phenomena of him, as well as a second coming.

Previously we saw a stature of two naked brothers wrestling on Worf's table, so I always thought Kahless was more of a "Romulus and Remus" kind of guy, so the savior portrayal was really odd to me.

I think at this point in time they hadn't really solidified Klingon belief yet, hence the back and forth portrayal of Kahless.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.