Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 112 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Apr 29, 2011, 12:18am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Watching this again, I got a real kick out of some moments that just had me say "Inception." The whole am-I-dreaming stuff was the best part of the episode... and 10 years later Inception comes to fully exploit it.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Apr 20, 2011, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Just rewatched. Normally I don't mind the bad Ferengi episodes- there's something mildly entertaining in watching such cheesy, cliched, bad trainwrecks- a sort of "Only star trek..." reaction. But I've got to say I really hated this episode and couldn't enjoy it really on any level. So much of it was just cringe-inducing (chanting "union! union!") while the rest was just kind of bad. I grew to like Rom a bit later in the show once he showed some engineering skill and some believable backbone in standing up to the Dominion in early season 6.... but here I just couldn't stand him. And the backbone he grew standing up to Quark just didn't seem believable or in character. I also thought that, while the sudden cut to Worf/O'Brien/Bashir in jail was a legitimate laugh, the whole notion of them getting into a fight seemed wildly out of character and beyond the stakes which these characters seemed involved.

In short, it's an episode like this that makes me embarrassed for the show... not something that usually happens.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Dec 20, 2009, 3:41am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Not to sound like a nag, but is a review of The Plan on its way? It's been long enough that I'm starting to doubt. If it's coming and it's just a delay, I'm sure you've got your reasons.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jul 23, 2009, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I just noticed on the Main Page that DS9 ran from 93-99 and BSG from 03-09 and yet DS9 had 7 seasons and about 170 episodes while BSG had 4 seasons and about 70 episodes. Made me smile, hoorah for the huge stretch out of BSG's final season!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Jun 25, 2009, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I just read a couple reviews for Transformers (it was fun to see it torn apart given how much I hated it) and looked at the comments after each. The unifying element? Attacks on the reviewer and claims that the reviewer is simple-minded for trashing it and all that sort of thing.

And then I come on here, and there's none of that. If people disagree with Jammer, they disagree. That's all. I think it's pretty special to have a site where the reviewer is so respected. That both speaks to the quality of the reviews and the types of people who read them. Warm and fuzzy moment.: )
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, Jun 7, 2009, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Yay for Virtuality airing the 26th! Now I can see it before I get out of town!

It sounds like such an awesome show.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, Jun 1, 2009, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

I wish there were more review sites out there that went into as much depth and analysis as Jammer does. It'd be nice to get this kind of review for all movies, not just Star Trek ones.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 30, 2009, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

As usual, Jammer, we're on the exact same wavelength. Everything you praised, even the little things like Scotty's creature, was something I really liked while all the problems you identified, specifically Nero's uninspired history and motivation that doesn't really justify his actions, were also what I saw as the weaknesses. I think it's definitely the best First Movie for a cast, so on that note... I really look forward to some more great stuff!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 29, 2009, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

WakeMed- I know Jammer started doing reviews for DS9 around season 3 or 4... so It's been like 13 years at least I think. Congrats on that, Jammer, by the way.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 26, 2009, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

V... there is a Cylon Plan... and I'm sure you'll find out about it in, well, "The Plan" this fall... just thought I'd point that out.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, May 19, 2009, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I disagree that it would have been more effective if it was clear that they knew they needed to go to CIC. They were drawn there without realizing it, pulled by the same greater force that has always pulled them, and once they are there... THAT is the moment of revelation.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, May 15, 2009, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Such a shame that it's not going anywhere. It sounded great.

But then again... this might mean RDM will be more involved in Caprica, which will be a boon to that show.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, May 11, 2009, 7:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Latex Zebra- watch Sometimes a Great Notion! As far as I'm concerned, it's the best episode in the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 9, 2009, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I don't think Starbuck was ever said to be the Harbinger of Doom... it was always Harbinger of Death I think. And, well, she lead them to the death of the human race.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 9, 2009, 12:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Good film, the new one. Lookin' forward to the review!
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sat, May 2, 2009, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I don't actually mind the wait for the review. Just as with the delay in deliver season 4.5, I look it as just that much longer that I have a new episode or review to look forward to.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Apr 30, 2009, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I just watched the finale again, expecting that this time I'd be more bothered by flaws... but I came out of it feeling even more satisfied. It's just beautiful. There are some qualms, some things that could have been done better... but nothing was wrong... and there was just SO MUCH right with it that the other things don't seem to matter.

Now for the decision to settle on Earth. It's a little shaky, yes. But I believe that it COULD happen. I'm sure there was some dissent, but, ultimately... I don't think they had a choice and the few people who were against it... well, they don't have a ship left to live on. There is stuff that probably happened off screen. But, really, I found myself just so in love with everything that happened as a result of that choice and the send offs the characters got that I'll grant the show that conceit. It might not be the most realistic, but it's certainly possible... and it just feels right. It's hard to villainize that choice when it brings such beauty and poignancy.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Mon, Apr 27, 2009, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Regarding the point of the New Caprica Arc, it defined the entire third season. Characters were not the same after that and it took the entire season up through crossroads to bring resolution to it. New Caprica more or less stands alone (though it does connect to the gradual shift in how the Cylons choose to see humans as well as confirming how desperate the humans are to settle down-- good stuff to know for the series finale-- and a number of smaller thread) as a story told throughout season three. Then again, the same can be said of all the show's arcs. New Caprica is my personal favorite (I don't count any arc in season 4 other than the mutiny as its own arc) period of the show and I think its resonation throughout season 3 kept the show from sinking a bit in quality during a season with generally lesser episodic qualities. It's a fascinating piece that stands on its own, and that in no way makes it pointless.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Wed, Apr 22, 2009, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Sorry, Jammer. That was supposed to be just "I hope you review Caprica," but... I got caught up in the excitement. Tried my best not to spoil anything, though.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Tue, Apr 21, 2009, 7:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Gosh, I really hope Jammer reviews Caprica. I really loved it and thought it was almost as good as BSG's Miniseries (* * * 1/2 rating, definitely). The first hour was compelling, but the second... well, that was a fascinating, well-written and well-told depiction of dealing with grief in the long term once the initial depressed mourning period is over. I went into the show expecting to be disappointed, and I've come out excited. More Moore, please.
Set Bookmark
occuprice
Fri, Apr 3, 2009, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

"It's like the authors might as well be saying, "GOD GOOOOD!!! TECHNOLOGY BAAAAD!!!" It just seemed so anti-intellectual, and anti-progress."

That's not at all the message. The message was "be careful with technology. Treat it well, and the world keeps spinning." That's what came across to me, and it's what RDM says his message was in writing the final scene. It's a caution, not a condemnation.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 6:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

They probably survived on Earth just as well as they would have survived on any other planet, and at least there they had a new injection of DNA and new possibilities to breed to keep their race going.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Mar 26, 2009, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I could have been down with a failed city (not Atlantis though- that's too wink wink nudge nudge), but I don't have a problem with people reaching the promise land and saying "ok, I'm down with a fresh start."

Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Mar 26, 2009, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I thought the mythology brought many of the show's finest moments and was a nice series-long thread the connected all the various arcs. I personally loved it.
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Thu, Mar 26, 2009, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Grumble- that would actually have been a good scene. : D
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.