Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Charming episode, despite a few plot holes and the "women suck in command" moment.

The homecoming felt so real, all of us have met old job pals with the same feeling, and the T'Pol/Archer connection felt so sweet!

Just a note about the log: in real life, it doesn't work too well on such patients. A log does help, but it can't replace a careful explanation from a real person.
Because the patients alone can't reliably keep track of all proper moments to write/read each entry (either they write the same info over and over, or they leave the log for the night and then they forget it, or they forget to reread as often as needed).
This happens because the disease doesn't keep the memory tidily arranged in 1-day periods: memories fail after actual random periods of a few hours or sometimes minutes (depending on attention, pauses etc), and this makes difficult for the patient to keep a perfect log without help.

A good log must be done with the help of somebody else.
And the patient may forget to read it, so it's easier and friendlier to explain the log in a meeting as T'Pol does. In fact, Trip and T'Pol do so for a few weeks, until the technical details of command/engineering change too much to keep a proper track efficiently.
Archer's intelligence is sharp anyway, so he can still cope with sudden emergencies (as he does in the end), but emergencies aren't everything in a captain's job: management, planning and tech is involved as well, and after too many log meetings Trip finally learns this part of the job and take charge. Sadly, it's more efficient than doing all the same job for meetings with someone who won't remember...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I'm going to rewatch "choose your pain", then the groundhog-day episode and then this one. They make a terrific 3-parter, to show how Lorca, Burnham, Tyler and Stamets work as a team. Btw, both adults and my 9&11-year-old kids enjoyed the last two episodes mentioned.

Plus, Lorca's eye drops to get ready to watch and enjoy the dead-ship exposion (we laughed a lot!).
The gay kiss and the "last jump" moment had such a good plot reason-ominous disaster prediction! (the good old narrative tools "my last day and I'll retire" or "he shows the bride's photo", so of course he's going to die).

I just missed an earth&sword logo of the Terran empire on the shipwreck debris of the alternate universe, lol!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

And now a mafia boss owes one to the Starfleet! That's better than the opposite, LOL XDD
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 1:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I found the dance bit boring. But I loved watching Stamets doing some useful with his extradimensional powers, and recovering his old clever self when he realized he was the only one who could remember. He's finally efficient and less groggy again, and he learns how to make the crew trust him and cooperate (great, as he used to be socially awkward like Burnham). Good Stamets episode, and Michael/Tyler/Lorca/Tilly were well used. Light episode, but good plot and funny (my kids loved it!). 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I was told ENT was lame, specially this ending.
Maybe that's why I was surprised to find good episodes (Cogenitor, Dawn, the ending Xindi chapters, Home, Forge/Awakening/Kir'Shara, Demons/Terra Prime, In a Mirror Darkly, even Unexpected). I love ENT.
And I even see the point of this episode: it's like a consolidation of the prequel in canon, the message is "we won't forget you in the next centuries to come". Some real action with Sran was actually good.

I just miss something: the Archer speech, but please I don't mean the typical one. I mean a touching moment: when he sadly admits something like "now he's dead and I must tell everyone that it was worth it".

The perfect answer came to me in a memory: Tripp's words, on Dawn (aka the "Enemy Mine").
The touching moment when Trip reviews his life to Hoshi or to himself: he's lived wonderful things, even if this is the end, the journey has been worth it.

Yes. Tripp would have answered "yes" to Archer. A life of wonders, even at the cost of being shorter, is worth it.

I can't help this thought since I just watched the ending. And I missed so dearly to see it on screen.
I'll miss ENT. And this sentence means and feels more than it seems. Just like T'Pol meant a lot more when she said: " I'll miss you".



Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

When I was told "this is like Enemy of Mine" I wasn't sure whether I would enjoy it.
But I did!
An enemy takes Trip's ship down and makes him a prisoner, which slows down the urgent repairs needed to get help.
And brilliantly, this time we don't have the typical Star Trek's lazy-writer's deus-ex-machinas: "well-intentioned understanding alien, magical universal translator, teleporting devices".

Trip is in a more realistic sci-fi situation, from my non-Trekkie point of view: words and even hand gestures don't work, the alien mind doesn't magically share the human instinct of cooperation, and he needs to work hard.
He learns words (shabala=ship), he learns gestures (i.e. "yes" is not a vertical nod,neither horizontal, but a diagonal mix), he teaches swearwords, and he earns respect the only way these aliens understand: with a good fight. When they finally cooperate, they do the job, send the distress call, manage to talk and joke and they really care for each other in the end.

Ships would be a good shelter if they knew about the noon temperature, but they don't, and when they realize it's too late to walk all the way down: Zho-Kaan is already staggered. Lizards can't sweat, but this means their temperature will rise like a lethal fever sooner than Trip's. Teleporting water is not done on-screen, but probably because Trip can wait a few minutes yet, while Zho-Kaan can't.

The touching moment? When Trip reviews his life to Hoshi or to himself: he's lived wonderful things, even if this is the end, the journey has been worth it.

After watching the last episode 98, I remember this a lot. When Archer prepares to sign the first Federation regulations and sadly confesses: "now he's dead and I am suppossed to say it was worth it"...

Yes. Tripp would have agreed. A life of wonders, even at the cost of being shorter, is worth it.
3 stars for me. And not 4 because Enemy of mine already exists.

Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

The bad point: Too repetitive.
The good point: correct portrayal of pathological perseveration (obsesive but increasingly defective repetition of routine work) which is typical at dementiae such as Alzheimer, so it was all well portrayed. And part of the work of Phlox and Reed turned out useful (not all, of course, just the part developed before their condition became too serious), which actually happens in the first stages of dementiae as well.
In fact, I always wondered "why can't certain shields and weapons get ready automatically if the ship is hit?", so this made my day.
A pity the duration: this plot was ok for a 30-minutes episode, not for about 45.
2,5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 12:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

The Prime Directive (and the like) had a reason, and this episode just shows why: because just exploring and improvising is risky and unwise (but not impossible: I'm not optimistic about humans forgetting this someday, in fact I'm not optimistic about anything anymore).
And I admit I've done/said fool things while improvising sometimes (specially on social situations. I'm better at tech. Aw, I'm Malcolm. Lol!). I enjoyed that, and also watching Archer/Reed ready to die to stop doing further damage, plus the shooting scenes.
On the other hand, I hate that they forgot the transporter, and the repeated beating scenes which became monotonous.
2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I love Enterprise. I really love more than 70% of its episodes, which is approx. my feeling on all shows I love, btw.
But I fail to see why we needed this episode at all.
Zero stars!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

I loved when Archer yells at both Tripp and Reed...just to admit that he wants to know what they've seen, a few seconds later. I laughed a lot!

And I found clever something I also felt on Silent Enemy: when Reed &Trip skip a bit of the captain's orders, they're actually right. They aren't dumb rulebreakers, but senior officers, because: a) they are very skilled on their duty, and b) if they break their duty it's only to face the right questions.
This explains why they are senior officers: because they never disobey without a really good reason. Good touch.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I expected a terrible episode, but I found it interesting, specially because it shows that not all Vulcans are boring-some love exploring, otherwise why should they develop spacecrafts at all.
2,5 stars for me.

Btw, if Vulcan lifespan is 200 years, and the Vulcan remaining on Earth looked not old (rather in the middle of his life), he might well live a few years after the First Contact, and therefore his ears wouldn't be so amazing to anyone after death.

(Or he might just self-inflict damage at the top of his ears and get rid of hats, that's another option, a wound is not so difficult to explain)
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

I am a woman and I see no problem with the shirt- boys show their body a lot in this show (great!).
I loved Hoshi overcoming her claustrophobia, Tripp getting them all in touch, and Reed volunteering for torture in order to give convincing disinformation to the Suliban (a touch of Bond spy movies, specially fitting being English and a tactical officer, and a nice hint of his "other job" on season 4's "Affliction")
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I liked to see Reed &Trip making a good team (good point, as there's always so much tech involved on modern war). And specially, that whenever they skip a bit of the captain's orders, they're actually right (same as will happen again on the automatized repair station). This explains why they are senior officers: because they never disobey without a really good reason. Good touch.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 4:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Not a great episode. I found just one detail touching: when Tripp is told something like "how far would YOU go the day you lose a son?". Because it will happen on the finale...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 2:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Kir'Shara

After the Forge/Awakening = explosions, csi and philosophic travel (which I love, being a fan of cops movies and kung fu series), could this get even better? It seemed difficult but...
OH YES!!!
Shran! And not out of the blue/laughable, but the really dangerous (and in the end honest) Shran of the first season!
Soval, honest at no matter the cost, for his planet and for his debt with Forrest. He might have been a jerk in the past, but he was never corrupt and his world is at stake, so his change makes sense.
Trip risking his career (and maybe his home planet, if thins go wrong), just like Soval: on a really tough decision to prevent a war between Vulcano and Andoria. And he's not moving anymore out of anger like at season 3, but for peace. He's a commander, but he's starting to think like a real captain of something bigger than his world - a real captain of the Federation!
Surak as a Buddhist-like but understandable wiseman.
Archer as someone not posessed, but wise and open to toughtful ideas.
T'Pau as a brave and understanding leader with the rare quality of overcoming her initial fanatism.
T'Pol so tender and protective towards Archer - he is her true love, and not sexualized, just best friends - so brilliant!
Koss, such a good guy, ready to help when Archer exits the Forge and contacts him.
Corrupt government ala Game of Thrones, not too well portrayed but still enjoyable.
And ROMULANS!!!
The end of the Xindi arc was great. But the Forge/Awakening/Kir'shara is pure genius!
Best Enterprise arc ever !!!!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

Explosions, csi by Reed/Mayweather.
Heroism by Forrest, Soval paying his debt to him by risking his career for the sake of truth.
A good Vulcan background with intelligent criticism towards our own myths.
Conspirators on high levels of power.
Action and philosophy!
What's not to love????
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

I loved Trip in kamikaze mode, ready to risk his skin -literally- even beyond anybody else's advice, to shoot and destroy the sphere. This tastes like war! Cool!
I loved Phlox at the tactical officer's desk and doing actually a good replacement of Reed, by using his medical knowledge to adapt phaser settings against the sphere creators. Surprising and effective. Refreshing!
I always love a good fight (specially if Reed/Archer are involved) and the hero running from a burst of flames. And Shran! I just wish Shran's appearance had fitted better, not out of the blue.
And the last scene - sorry, it's my guilty pleasure, I know it's too kitsch but I LOVE world war II...!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Countdown

I loved so many things!
-Hoshi being brave and resisting intimidation, until her attackers accept that fear won't work and accept drugs (which is not their best option because it affects intelligence, but she leaves them no choice).
-Hoshi as a hacker: no, this is not a jack-of-all-trades nonsense, but a basical trait of telecomm.engineers, along with languages. For such a job you need technical knowledge too. I'm an electrical engineer, not a pure 100% programmer, but even so I speak seven human languages and I can program in a few computer languages, and I see a link: all are languages, after all. Boy I love to see a show understand this!
-The destruction of the aquatic Xindi: majestic, heroic, beautiful, tragic.
-Reed and Hayes finally respecting each other. Reed clearly thinking "Hoshi was my duty, I should have gone to retrieve her, I should be dead, not Hayes"
-Macos: all volunteering, even in the very face of the worst news. I just miss Reed assigning the command to the maco mentioned by Hayes on his last wish.
-Battle! I love battles, and we are having a good lot of them on this excellent batch of episodes. Finally, the Xindi arc goes where I always wanted to see!

Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Is it just me, or at least this would have made sense if Archer ever remembered to give the babies to the Xindi later? (I. e. as a goodwill/bargaining tool, on the future episode when Archer enters the Xindi council). Wouldn't have been the best way to show that humans are no monsters and respect civilians/babies? Why forget the babies after they are stored on stasis here? Aww
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

It's not my favourite, but it had interesting points, even touching.
DNA memory is not good science, but it doesn't bother me more than teleport, warp motors or instant phone calls between people separated several light-years apart.

I expected the clone to be flat-minded or disrespected, but he turned out to be tender, a genius (like the real Trip, I guess) and treated by all like a family. I loved this, and how he actuallt became a good engineer and saved the ship once.

I hated the "I'll kill you even against your will" speech from Archer, but I guess he thought twice later and wouldn't have done it without Sim's permission. He actually waits until Sim decides, in the end.
This is harder than classic Trek, but I like it because it shows evolution: 23rd century standards aren't ready yet, and they can't appear out of the blue, there must be initial doubts.
It's clever to show how Archer (and Enterprise) evolve from their era (close to our G.Bush time and a world war) towards a better future: the 23rd century Trek standards.
This moral development sounds to me more interesting than an immobilistic saint approach:
Archer starts the Xindy arc and the Sim episode really darkly, but he becomes more understanding (and more Star Trek) in the end. This is what a prequel should be

I expected Sim to volunteer, in fact: he's brave just like Trip is. And I expect Trip to disagree with such an experiment happening without his consent.

One personal touch: two years ago, I attended a medical meeting where my father was told his cancer had no cure, chemo was not an option and only strong painkillers were available. He behaved basically calm, but his skin went gray and his gaze and voice changed nervously, like looking for a way out and not finding it.
The scene where Sim requests a treatment to extend his life, portrayed the same situation perfectly. Good job by the actor (Connor/Trip/Sim) and by makeup department. It twisted my guts.

I loved Sim overcoming this horror to become a hero, his engineering skills (not just a spareparts container), and T'Pol being sweet to him.
I just missed some serious research to extend his life, and some kindness from Malcolm.

Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 7:21am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Well, let's admite that refusing even to consider allowing intellectual pleasures to the Cogenitor, at least now that this one enjoyed them, was injustice. Let's note that this was the main point and it would't have interferred with the job, it would have meant just spending free time reading/watching movies instead of sleeping.
In fact, the cogenitor never complained too much about the job, neither Trip: the point was intellectual leisure instead. The visians could have at least considered that. The injustice is, they didn't.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 4:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Thanks to your advices, I watched yesterday TOS' Tholian Web & Mirror Mirror first, and then both mirror episodes of ENT. All in a row. It doubles the fun!
It's hilarious when you get on ENT the same details as TOS' evil guys: the salute, the lack of fabric on girls' uniforms, the sword&planet logo, the positions of dead Defiant's crew, the well-done Tholian, even the bearded Vulcans!
And then ENT's mirror has the twist about First Contact and special credits, what's not to love?

Thanks again for your warning about lowering my expectations, the script was just average.
But once you are ready for thar... watching such a game of thrones story with humour touches is pure joy!

Trip's bitter jokes, Archer as Macbeth but with exxagerated bed scenes, Hoshi as evil mastermind, Reed and Tucker still faithful to their jobs somehow, and the end twist... it was so much fun!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

This episode starts as excellent portrayal of race/gender discrimination (btw, to the main questions on the review: yes, you can brainwash women/indian/black slaves into believing they ARE inferior, it actually used to happen centuries ago, and it's unfair and it's the first main point of the story).

The first part displays beautifully the joy of bringing a life to its full potential, the sorrow and injustice of a society that doesn't allow it, and the loneliness of the few ones who try to help (i.e. Trip).
Besides it displays bravely how stupid discrimination is: what harm would do if you allow reading/movies instead of just sleep, at the spare time of cogenitors? (or university for women/black people of XIX century, which is the subtext? And yet it was forbidden).

But then comes the second point: this society believes in slavery for all jobs/genders, not just cogenitors.
Even Archer tries to help the cogenitor on a meeting, until he gets the question about forced workers (i.e. waiters) and becomes overhelmed. He can't change the mind of an entire society on a simple meeting, and he surrenders. Visians are not ready to join the human alliance yet, due to their views about slavery.

I can see why Trip tried: it was like freeing all those Suliban prisoners on season 1, after all.
The difference is, Visians seem open to learn and understand, given the chance. They might change with time. They're just not ready yet.

So this time Archer doesn't confront them, probably for the sake of future cogenitors/slaves to be freed in future alliance negotiations. Even if this means abandoning this cogenitor now. The needs of the many. Here starts the understandable but dark change of Archer towards the Xindi war.

Then comes the tragedy, and yet I feel, like Trip and Charles, that one day standing in full life is brighter than one lifetime on your knees.

I just wish an "intermediate agreement" had been done, i.e. return the cogenitor to Visians to her former sex job, but enabling her all rights to intellectual leisure: read,movies,music, and a chance to retire to Earth when her fertile years are over.
Charles' suicide is not Trip's fault: it's the fault of a society that forbids unnecessarily all that intellectual life.

And Archer's sorrow at the end doesn't necessarily mean he's right. In fact, his sorrow suggests to me that he thinks exactly the opposite he says: he sees the injustice too, he can't just say it aloud because it would involve no more future deals with Visians. And those deals wil be needed, in order to remove slavery from them someday.
The needs of the many.

I fully sympathize with the Cogenitor and Trip. I just missed the intermediate agreement.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 3:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

I'm loving your excellent reviews, and the fact that comments are well tought and interesting, too!
I didn't watch ENT until 2017 and I love it.

Being a Doctor Who fan, I enjoyed the TCW, I can buy the paradoxes and even make some sense out of them: Daniels took them there because that's where Vosk started his timechanging career.
This means, stopping this Nazi timeconduit will correct all the Vosk-related timewar (I assume this American-Resistance timeline is started in the past of our world, but in the future of Vosk). Vosk must have been the main timewar enemy, according to Daniels, but not the only one.
This would explain why most timewar events are erased by destroying the Nazi timeconduit, but not all (i.e. the Xindi war still happened, and all Silik/Daniels encounters of the first ENT season remain unchanged, as Vosk wasn't involved).

Character construction is deeper at the next story "home" (specially the rare adult message "you can't always win, but you can stay strong and become an admirable man" just before and during the wedding).

Battlefront wasn't so deep, but it was enjoyable.
I loved the calm and solid charactee of Vosk, the alliance with Silik, and I am absolute fan of timetravel, WW II and mobster stories, so I found this episode fun!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.