Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

@Gooz I see your point, but I also see some logic on Paxton's plan (being a mother myself, my worst nightmare is the death of a child). I mean:

The baby was designed by Paxton to die, in order to destroy or at least interfere with any dreams of "happy future" for any hybrid couple. Such a symbol of death really spoils the fun.
And of course it would be more effective using DNA from Enterprise staff, not random, because:
1) For humans, Enterprise staff were heroes, celebrities (even signing autographs on the "Home" episode). And her captain was behind the Coalition conferences on tv news on that exact moment, on the spotlight.
2) For Vulcans, T'Pol was a revolution: the first case to break all ties to vulcan high command and fully join the human Starfleet. So T'Pol was the logical choice for Paxton's attack.

Concerning future... onboard the Enterprise their former careers were stuck: Trip brought warp2 to warp5 from paper to reality, and he could have developed warp6/7 and become the next Cochrane/Henry Archer... but what was he doing instead? Only maintenance of the same warp 5 engine for years! And T'Pol was becoming his assistant, instead of doing her real science research.
Perhaps a couple of years on Earth with the child might have been good to retake their science careers. And they could still take part on a few good Enterprise's missions occasionally (Trip had still family left for babysitting).

But well, it would never happen: Romulan wars were coming, the child died and the show got cancelled. A pity, I was really looking forward to the Romulan Wars.

I'm really thankful to people of this site who recommended me "The good that men do": a perfect closure for the Enterprise show, and besides with Romulans. Loved it!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@plain simple:
I recall commander "Trip" Tucker was called "Captain" at ENT in a couple of episodes, when he was in command as "acting captain", although his real rank was still a commander.

I guess the same applies to Saru at the MU episodes. A pity Saru wasn't promoted to real captain rank, he really earned it.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

P.s.: sorry, writing from my mobile... please excuse my typos!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@blazzano
I love what you wrote!
I also wished some scene of this kind, to show believably why L'Rell could be trusted to accept the deal and end the war, instead of doing it off-screen (as it's such an important plot twist).

On the other hand, I love action episodes and I would have enjoyed more fights and less nightclub / street market. I also found last episode's "instant-terraforming" lame.
Other weak points of the season: secondary character developement, at least the ones on yhe bridge (even ENT s1 gave them more time to each one).
I wish we had more time of Detmer and other bridge mute staff's , and please specially of mirror versions of Sarek/Voq/Saru.

Not a masterpiece, due to this.
But anyway I quite enjoyed Discovery (although I prefer TNG and even ENT s4).


Good points in my (of course arguable) opinion:

I love action.
Awesome CGI
I'm now almost ok with the mycellial network, as I compare it to Ygdrassil, the etgereal "tree" which interconnects Asgard/Midgaard/etc. somehow).

Along the season, I loved Tilly, Saru (I want hom as Captain), and Stammets: he really rocks on the Mudd episode.
I even loved Lorca (he was 3-dimensional and interesting enough, until chapter 10. A pity his 2-dimensional and rushed end).

I don't usually like Shazad Latif as a plain good guy (handsome, but please why always keeping his mouth open????). But when he awoke as Voq he was great, and also at the finale as an empathic human-klingon hybrid. He's a good symbol for the show: understanding the enemy as a way for peace.

2.5 stars to the finale / 3 to the season from me
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 5:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Brian1: I feel your pain, you're describing the interviews/extra contents of any dvd of classic Doctor Who. I love the show, but on interviews I expect more info and less patting on each others' shoulders. With one glorious exception: Peter Davison (the 5th Doctor), a sarcastic sharp mind full of evil jokes, I love him!
And on After Trek the feeling is the same, except the silly jokes. But sometimes there is some real piece of info on those interviews, so I still watch it sometimes. Not often anyway, I would need more contents for that...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Sorry: "having", "phisically", "everybody". Damn typos...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Feb 9, 2018, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Agreed with Chrome. The episode doesn't suggest that mind-meld is normal for the Federation. It rather shows the opposite: that Federation is desperate, full of spies (hence the distrust) and dying not only phisically, but also ethically. It shows that the mirror universe is not cartoonish, but what we might become in extremely hostile situations.

In fact, MU Lorca saved citizens on ep4 and didn't leave Tyler behind when he fled the Klingon prison (despite being told to do so): he was evil but with interesting grey/good moments. A very bad day in PU is like a normal day on MU (with Sarek's mind-meld on both universes). And that's the prelude to accepting MU Georgiou as a last-resort solution. PU is haveng a bad day a la MU

Discovery has returned from MU phisicallt. Now it will have the job of returning metaphorically their dark PU to standard PU again.
I bet my money on Tilly. She is EDUCATING Tyler into being human again (she didn't befriend him for fun, but for shaping him, or so she said). And I believe she will be busy doing the same on evetybody else...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Feb 7, 2018, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

At home we felt that Sarek's mind-melding was intended to detect any disguised "Manchurian" human-klingon spies at the Discovery.

I mean,Voq/Tyler have been out for 9 months, but his creators (the Mokai klingons) have had enoug time to repeat the experiment planting more human-klingon spies anywhere. A good choice of spies might change a lot of things and explain some of the klingon success.

Of course, humans disappearing and returning as spies can't go unnoticed for too long, hence the new mind-melding "welcome": Discovery disappeared long enough to be suspicious.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 3:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I prefer to believe that MU Lorca didn't "need" PU Burnham in prison: there are many other ways to get a science officer like Burnham transferred to a science ship like Discovery, specially after losing so many other ships at the battle of binary stars.

completely agree with everything else on the review. We just guessed hints already planted by showrunners, but internet's hive mind guesses too much for our own good.

Thanks for your brilliant and well-worked reviews, Jammer
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 1:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Now I can finally talk: my husband is a journalist and he travelled to Toronto last summer for a visit to the sets. He told me this (privately. Obviously he can't publish everything, at least not too soon):
"I expect something weird about Lorca, because Jason Isaacs is the most secretive actor: his answers were vague. He refused to talk openly even about typical questions (i.e: What's your character's opinion about others such as Georgiou?)".

So when I read some of your ideas about Lorca being from MU, it made a lot of sense to me. I believe the show was planting hints to let us guess the mistery anyway, ala Agatha Christie!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 5:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

@HawgWyld:
I also found unbelievable to see MU Lorca pose as PU Lorca... until I remembered the Defiant files.
If MU Lorca has been so close to the Emperor's daughter, he may have read the classified Defiant files about PU. His liar talent and a good PU Klingon war did the rest of the work. But without the Defiant files he would have been detected and imprisoned immediately. Just my own opinion anyway.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Jan 19, 2018, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

At first I didn't see the point of space-mushroom-highways.. until I remembered the legend of Yggdrassil "the tree of worlds", which is some ethereal living structure connecting Asgard&Earth&etc.
Now in real science I've recently heard about Laniakea (a tree-shaped accumulation of all known galaxies...)
Well, if I can understand Yggdrassil, I can live with the mushroom network of highways now. Not a big fan of "plant/fungus" highways, but not annoying for me anymore.

Nr.1 looked impressed when Burnham brought the data module from the rebels: she seemed tp take good notes for future plans. I guess nr.1 wants to learn a few more tricks before taking command and thats why she doesn't kill Burnham yet. Besides nr.1 can say the module was her own idea and let the emperor kill Burnham and give nr.1 the captain's seat.

Burnham wanted to meet mirror Voq, not to know his reasons to ally with other species (a common enemy is a reason good enough), but to know how a klingon would put the idea in words, as a resource for sweet-talking the klingons of her home universe. But Tyler's reaction shows that such mirror-klingon-talking doesn't sound convincing to a home-universe-klingon anyway.

Btw, I feel Tyler/Voq attacked the rebels by stupid instinct, while he attacked Burnham at her quarters with a calculated plan to take command somehow.

Shazad Latif was awesome as Voq, like some kind of Hyde (well, he plays Doctor Jekyll at Penny Dreadful).

I found mirror Saru and mirror Voq really interesting! They portray a subtle unspoken story of hidden pain somehow.

SMG may look dull, but I finally loved her performance of atonishment and horror when the Emperor crashes the party.

Stamets' words about someone in the forest...sound to me like his final mind-encounter with mirror stammets.

And I love the MU. Either at Enterprise and at Discovery shows. Georgiou and Sato might be related or not, Lorca may be a MU man with a plan to meet the Emperor and take her place. I love action and it may have flaws, but it's fun!

I'm no expert but it quite works for me. Just my own opinion.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Charming episode, despite a few plot holes and the "women suck in command" moment.

The homecoming felt so real, all of us have met old job pals with the same feeling, and the T'Pol/Archer connection felt so sweet!

Just a note about the log: in real life, it doesn't work too well on such patients. A log does help, but it can't replace a careful explanation from a real person.
Because the patients alone can't reliably keep track of all proper moments to write/read each entry (either they write the same info over and over, or they leave the log for the night and then they forget it, or they forget to reread as often as needed).
This happens because the disease doesn't keep the memory tidily arranged in 1-day periods: memories fail after actual random periods of a few hours or sometimes minutes (depending on attention, pauses etc), and this makes difficult for the patient to keep a perfect log without help.

A good log must be done with the help of somebody else.
And the patient may forget to read it, so it's easier and friendlier to explain the log in a meeting as T'Pol does. In fact, Trip and T'Pol do so for a few weeks, until the technical details of command/engineering change too much to keep a proper track efficiently.
Archer's intelligence is sharp anyway, so he can still cope with sudden emergencies (as he does in the end), but emergencies aren't everything in a captain's job: management, planning and tech is involved as well, and after too many log meetings Trip finally learns this part of the job and take charge. Sadly, it's more efficient than doing all the same job for meetings with someone who won't remember...
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 5:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I'm going to rewatch "choose your pain", then the groundhog-day episode and then this one. They make a terrific 3-parter, to show how Lorca, Burnham, Tyler and Stamets work as a team. Btw, both adults and my 9&11-year-old kids enjoyed the last two episodes mentioned.

Plus, Lorca's eye drops to get ready to watch and enjoy the dead-ship exposion (we laughed a lot!).
The gay kiss and the "last jump" moment had such a good plot reason-ominous disaster prediction! (the good old narrative tools "my last day and I'll retire" or "he shows the bride's photo", so of course he's going to die).

I just missed an earth&sword logo of the Terran empire on the shipwreck debris of the alternate universe, lol!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 3:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

And now a mafia boss owes one to the Starfleet! That's better than the opposite, LOL XDD
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 1:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

I found the dance bit boring. But I loved watching Stamets doing some useful with his extradimensional powers, and recovering his old clever self when he realized he was the only one who could remember. He's finally efficient and less groggy again, and he learns how to make the crew trust him and cooperate (great, as he used to be socially awkward like Burnham). Good Stamets episode, and Michael/Tyler/Lorca/Tilly were well used. Light episode, but good plot and funny (my kids loved it!). 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I was told ENT was lame, specially this ending.
Maybe that's why I was surprised to find good episodes (Cogenitor, Dawn, the ending Xindi chapters, Home, Forge/Awakening/Kir'Shara, Demons/Terra Prime, In a Mirror Darkly, even Unexpected). I love ENT.
And I even see the point of this episode: it's like a consolidation of the prequel in canon, the message is "we won't forget you in the next centuries to come". Some real action with Sran was actually good.

I just miss something: the Archer speech, but please I don't mean the typical one. I mean a touching moment: when he sadly admits something like "now he's dead and I must tell everyone that it was worth it".

The perfect answer came to me in a memory: Tripp's words, on Dawn (aka the "Enemy Mine").
The touching moment when Trip reviews his life to Hoshi or to himself: he's lived wonderful things, even if this is the end, the journey has been worth it.

Yes. Tripp would have answered "yes" to Archer. A life of wonders, even at the cost of being shorter, is worth it.

I can't help this thought since I just watched the ending. And I missed so dearly to see it on screen.
I'll miss ENT. And this sentence means and feels more than it seems. Just like T'Pol meant a lot more when she said: " I'll miss you".



Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

When I was told "this is like Enemy of Mine" I wasn't sure whether I would enjoy it.
But I did!
An enemy takes Trip's ship down and makes him a prisoner, which slows down the urgent repairs needed to get help.
And brilliantly, this time we don't have the typical Star Trek's lazy-writer's deus-ex-machinas: "well-intentioned understanding alien, magical universal translator, teleporting devices".

Trip is in a more realistic sci-fi situation, from my non-Trekkie point of view: words and even hand gestures don't work, the alien mind doesn't magically share the human instinct of cooperation, and he needs to work hard.
He learns words (shabala=ship), he learns gestures (i.e. "yes" is not a vertical nod,neither horizontal, but a diagonal mix), he teaches swearwords, and he earns respect the only way these aliens understand: with a good fight. When they finally cooperate, they do the job, send the distress call, manage to talk and joke and they really care for each other in the end.

Ships would be a good shelter if they knew about the noon temperature, but they don't, and when they realize it's too late to walk all the way down: Zho-Kaan is already staggered. Lizards can't sweat, but this means their temperature will rise like a lethal fever sooner than Trip's. Teleporting water is not done on-screen, but probably because Trip can wait a few minutes yet, while Zho-Kaan can't.

The touching moment? When Trip reviews his life to Hoshi or to himself: he's lived wonderful things, even if this is the end, the journey has been worth it.

After watching the last episode 98, I remember this a lot. When Archer prepares to sign the first Federation regulations and sadly confesses: "now he's dead and I am suppossed to say it was worth it"...

Yes. Tripp would have agreed. A life of wonders, even at the cost of being shorter, is worth it.
3 stars for me. And not 4 because Enemy of mine already exists.

Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

The bad point: Too repetitive.
The good point: correct portrayal of pathological perseveration (obsesive but increasingly defective repetition of routine work) which is typical at dementiae such as Alzheimer, so it was all well portrayed. And part of the work of Phlox and Reed turned out useful (not all, of course, just the part developed before their condition became too serious), which actually happens in the first stages of dementiae as well.
In fact, I always wondered "why can't certain shields and weapons get ready automatically if the ship is hit?", so this made my day.
A pity the duration: this plot was ok for a 30-minutes episode, not for about 45.
2,5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 12:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

The Prime Directive (and the like) had a reason, and this episode just shows why: because just exploring and improvising is risky and unwise (but not impossible: I'm not optimistic about humans forgetting this someday, in fact I'm not optimistic about anything anymore).
And I admit I've done/said fool things while improvising sometimes (specially on social situations. I'm better at tech. Aw, I'm Malcolm. Lol!). I enjoyed that, and also watching Archer/Reed ready to die to stop doing further damage, plus the shooting scenes.
On the other hand, I hate that they forgot the transporter, and the repeated beating scenes which became monotonous.
2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I love Enterprise. I really love more than 70% of its episodes, which is approx. my feeling on all shows I love, btw.
But I fail to see why we needed this episode at all.
Zero stars!
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

I loved when Archer yells at both Tripp and Reed...just to admit that he wants to know what they've seen, a few seconds later. I laughed a lot!

And I found clever something I also felt on Silent Enemy: when Reed &Trip skip a bit of the captain's orders, they're actually right. They aren't dumb rulebreakers, but senior officers, because: a) they are very skilled on their duty, and b) if they break their duty it's only to face the right questions.
This explains why they are senior officers: because they never disobey without a really good reason. Good touch.
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I expected a terrible episode, but I found it interesting, specially because it shows that not all Vulcans are boring-some love exploring, otherwise why should they develop spacecrafts at all.
2,5 stars for me.

Btw, if Vulcan lifespan is 200 years, and the Vulcan remaining on Earth looked not old (rather in the middle of his life), he might well live a few years after the First Contact, and therefore his ears wouldn't be so amazing to anyone after death.

(Or he might just self-inflict damage at the top of his ears and get rid of hats, that's another option, a wound is not so difficult to explain)
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 9:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

I am a woman and I see no problem with the shirt- boys show their body a lot in this show (great!).
I loved Hoshi overcoming her claustrophobia, Tripp getting them all in touch, and Reed volunteering for torture in order to give convincing disinformation to the Suliban (a touch of Bond spy movies, specially fitting being English and a tactical officer, and a nice hint of his "other job" on season 4's "Affliction")
Set Bookmark
Nievesg
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 7:57am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I liked to see Reed &Trip making a good team (good point, as there's always so much tech involved on modern war). And specially, that whenever they skip a bit of the captain's orders, they're actually right (same as will happen again on the automatized repair station). This explains why they are senior officers: because they never disobey without a really good reason. Good touch.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.