Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 335 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Okay, honest question, how did this episode even get one star?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Rewatching DS9 season 1, and I really enjoyed this ep a lot more than I thought I would- it's not a classic but it's well worth my time. I especially love how Odo plays both sides to resolve the greater threat once he realizes what's going on - great character development there.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

mefive: Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey...just go with it ;)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Re-watching this episode for the first time in many years while on a bit of a TOS nostalgia tour, I found the similarities between Trelane and Q from TNG to be very uncanny. Perhaps the writers of TNG were, ahem, inspired by this episode when they wrote "Encounter at Farpoint" and "Hide and Q"? I seem to remember hearing about an expanded universe Trek novel confirming that Trelane was an infant Q. It would certainly explain a lot!

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode on second viewing - William Campbell was great! I feel that Jammer sometimes takes TOS eps too seriously - some eps are just supposed to be pure fun and not meant to be overanalyzed. Then again, I guess everyone has that one series they view through rose-colored glasses. For me it's TOS (I was born in the 90s and was hooked on TOS via my dad, who grew up watching TOS in 70s reruns), and for Jammer it's TNG/DS9. I don't mean this as a criticism - it's inherently subjective, and everyone brings their own perspectives and biases to the party - that's part of the fun!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

@DLPB: I agree. Granted they had to get the exposition out of the way quickly for newcomers, but it still seemed more of a ripoff than anything else.

Myself, I'm not sure what I would have done in the writers' place. Maybe just cut it altogether and leave the rest of the ep alone?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 22, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Lupe: They apparently forgot about circuit breakers and surge protectors in the future too.

I seem to remember hearing about a Trek parody where the ship throws one of their exploding consoles at the enemy to take it out. I forgot what it was.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 22, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

I rewatched this ep the other day. The last time I saw it, I must have been eight - all I remembered was the blade-disk thingy killing the guard at the beginning (who didn't even make it past the opening credits!) and Kirk using his communicator to set off a rockslide - very clever idea, that last one - I hope we see this again in Star Trek Discovery.

Now that I'm an adult, I see this ep a lot differently. Still a fun way to pass the time, with some hilarious lines and interactions between the characters but not very noteworthy overall.

-Scotty: "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me." Chekov: "I know that saying. It was invented in Russia."
-McCoy: "I'm a doctor, not an escalator!"
-Spock: "Fortunately, this bark has suitable tensile cohesion." Kirk: "You mean it makes a good bowstring?" Spock: "I believe I said that."
-Spock: [sarcastically] "I think you're both going to be insufferably pleased with yourselves for at least a month. Sir!"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

One of the weak points of the story, for me, is Snoke. He feels pulled out of thin air to be a copy of the Emperor and not an organic character in any way. I mean, seriously, where the frak did he come from? What hole was he living in during the original trilogy? "Snoke" just *sounds* like a phony name to me.

He'd better be someone we know or have heard of (please let him be Darth Plagueis, please let him be Darth Plagueis). Heck, I'd even accept him being a horribly mutated version of Jar Jar. (Kidding - I'm not that desperate.)]

But seriously, where the FRAK did Snoke come from? Hope we'll get the answer in VIII and IX.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

I'm starting to think that Starfleet tech should be fitted with self-destruct mechanisms. Surely the tech exists to completely vaporize, say, a left-behind communicator upon transmitting a coded signal to the general area.

Or at least lock onto it and beam it back up.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"rawer and grittier"

I'll just quote from my comment from back in January as I don't feel like writing the same thing with different words:

"...I would personally call it Trek's "sense of wonder", that feeling that this is a huge universe where anything can happen. This is just my opinion, but TOS and TNG had it ... Phaser battles have a purpose but without a driving purpose beyond action it's a very thin reed to be leaning on in the long run.... Enough of the dark cynical shows. Give me optimism again. I'm sure there's a market for that but the top execs keep feeding us "edgy" depressing stuff."

There are very few things that will make me quit this show halfway through season 1, but a "rawer and grittier" feel will be one of them. Let Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Breaking Bad have all the dark depressing beatdowns that leave viewers traumatized. Be different. Give us that Trekkian optimism about the future again.

Is that too much to ask?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Not a fan of "Mudd's Women" either but it did give us the infinitely better "I Mudd" later. I remember laughing my head off at "I Mudd" when I first watched it as a kid and, well, I still find it funny today.

"Mudd's Women" at the very least also gave us some classic TOS music (read: the music that plays whenever a woman shows up).

And I would LOVE to see an episode about Kodos. I hope that's one of the surprises they have in store for us.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

For Kirk, yes - Kirk doesn't meet him until ten years or so later. But that doesn't mean they can't have him encounter a different Starfleet crew, much like an episode of Enterprise featured a very young T'Pau from TOS "Amok Time" interacting with Archer and co.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Mar 26, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: An Affirming Flame

Harper reminds me a lot of Wash from Firefly. Blond guy with wisecracking attitude, a bit on the whimsical side, technical genius of the ship (*) - they have similar manners although Harper is a lot more hyperactive than Wash I feel.

Of course, Firefly was light-years ahead of Andromeda on every level possible. Why did that show get cancelled after a season, while Andromeda ran for three and a half seasons past its expiration date...grumble grumble.

Firefly deserved at least three more seasons. Andromeda should have been put out of its misery at the end of season 2.



(*) In Wash's case, one of the technical geniuses of the ship - Firefly also had Kaylee, another hilarious character.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Mar 16, 2017, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@Section 31: BAAHAHAHAHAHA! Great take!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Mar 11, 2017, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Same here, Del Duio. I'm a big TOS fan (I grew up on it and came to TNG and post-TNG later) but there are certain episodes I haven't watched in years, "Whom Gods Destroy" being one of them. As such I don't remember much about Garth; I just remember not liking that episode much back when I was like nine.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Mar 11, 2017, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I think that Isaacs will get killed off at some point in the show and Martin-Green's character will get the captains chair.

Never considered the possibility that Isaacs is playing Garth and "Captain Lorca" is just an alias. That would be cool! (It would also explain certain lawsuits filed by CBS.)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Given that this whole episode was indirectly Quark's fault, shouldn't Sisko have given him a talking to at the very least once they got back to the station?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Wow, did not know Kip helped out on Contact too! That's news to me!

Glad to have one scientist out there bringing his work to the masses!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Seeing the Odyssey get blown up must have been really terrifying to watch when this ep first aired back in the day, basically making the statement "If that had been Picard instead of Keogh, and the Enterprise-D instead of Odyssey, the ship still would have been lost with all hands" and establishing the Jem'Hadar as a credible threat without having to explicitly say much. Showing, not telling.

Yeah, that was definitely a well-done starship destruction scene. If it had to be done, do it like that. Star Trek Discovery, take note.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Just re-watched this; have to agree with every word of this review. This movie blows Contact out of the water on a giant wave as far as I'm concerned. I also appreciate that this movie is based on real science most of the time (thanks, Kip Thorne and Caltech!) and stays as realistic as possible in that regard, especially the black hole and wormhole moving away from traditional depictions of such as a funnel in space. Some of the visuals - the giant waves, the black hole, the docking scene - man it just blows me away every time I rewatch!

Soundtrack deserves special mention here - Hans Zimmer blows it away again. Especially during the giant wave scene - that scene was my favorite of the entire movie thanks in part to just the soundtrack!!

When I watched it with my dad, he liked all of it except for the bootstrap paradox of Cooper manipulating his own timestream bit which he didn't understand. I told him, "Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey. Just go with it."
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Peremensoe: "How I wish there was a really thoughtful, well-done Best of Voyager bluray set, to rescue the stand-alone gems of that series."

If they did that, they'd probably never sell another complete boxset of Voyager ever again, because no one would want to buy it if one could pay for just the best episodes and skip all the mediocre/unmemorable ones. (See cable industry - cord cutters, a la carte)

On another subject, I'm not so sure those are Klingons. This is after all an unofficial leaked photo, whoever leaked it might be mistaken or the makeup people might not have finished with them.

If those turn out to be full Klingons I will be hopping mad. (I'm trying my best to give this show the benefit of the doubt, but it's becoming increasingly hard...)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jan 30, 2017, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

That's true. It all does seem to boil down to the strength of the writing. Which is more often than not the Achilles heel for too many shows today, like it was the Achilles heel for too many episodes of VOY and ENT.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Loved the arc, but there should have been more signs of lasting consequences from Sisko and co's actions during the last few episodes. Just a couple of lines here and there would have made a difference, for instance:
"Our Torros III shipyards are still being rebuilt, so we're a bit short on ships right now" or
"Our supply lines in sector 4747 are stretched thanks to Sisko blowing up our ketracel-white facility" or
"Thanks to the Defiant blowing up our sensor array we've lost track of the 5th fleet"
etc.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Clarify: "One can jump right in to the revival like I did without having to watch the 1963-1989 series (although I would like to, someday)"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The "continuity baggage" can be dealt with quite easily - set the next Trek series a century after Picard. Be to TNG what TNG was to TOS - occasional references to the past every now and then (e.g. diverting from the archaeological dig at Camus II) but if they fly over most new viewers' heads, it's not a big deal.

That's what the Doctor Who revival did. One can jump right in at the beginning without having to watch the 1963-1989 series like I did (although I would like to, someday); plus as an added bonus every time the Doctor regenerates/a companion leaves/both it's a fresh chance to start over! There are quite a few in-jokes to the classic series, but it doesn't distract from the viewing at all and it's not necessary to "get" them to enjoy the show. This is the approach any future Trek series should take.

True, Trek has been around for 50+ years. But so has Doctor Who, and it's still going strong! Compare the fanfare for the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who to the virtually non-existent fanfare for Trek from CBS, and you have an argument for a changing of the guard ASAP. (And don't get me started on the fan film rules)
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.