Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 345 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

*checks on Star Trek Discovery*
*finds out that they're now dropping f-bombs gratuitously for no discernible purpose other than to sound "hip" or "grown-up" or something like that*
*feels very glad that I quit watching after ep 2*
*watches Star Wars Rebels instead*
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 1:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

Not a super serious episode but certainly fun to watch over and over again. I love watching Kirk out-logic Nomad in the end - my dad and I loved to act that part out together when I was a kid. Good memories!

"A mass of conflicting impulses" - Nomad describing Uhura
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

[*****SPOILER FOR EPISODE 2 BELOW*****]


(Maybe Jammer can move this to the proper discussion board afterward)



I'm going to tackle one part of Ep 2 HISHE-style:

Georgiou: "Great job, we've disabled the Klingon flagship! Now Burnham and I are going over there to capture T'Kumva!"
Saru: "Uh, Captain, I don't think that's a good idea."
Georgiou: "This is how Trek works. Officers do everything themselves with no backup whatsoever. We must face him alone!"
Saru: "First, that's Darth Vader's line. And second, since you'll probably hit heavy resistance, can't you at least bring, like, a squad of MACOs with you?"
Georgiou: "Oh, my gosh, you're totally right!"

[Transporter room]
(A squad of MACOs, plus one red-shirted ensign, are present)
Georgiou: "Okay! Now the one thing we DON'T want to do is kill T'Kumva and make him a martyr! So before we beam over, I'm going to double check each of your phasers to make sure they are set to STUN! Got it?"
MACOs, redshirt, and Burnham: "Got it!"

[Transporter room - a few minutes later]
(Georgiou, Burnham, the MACOs and a tied-and-gagged T'Kumva beam back, plus the redshirt who has a bat'leth through his chest)
T'Kumva: (says something angry and muffled in Klingon)
Georgiou: Oh, shut up. (to MACOs) You two, take Ensign Ricky's body to the morgue. The rest, take T'Kumva to the brig.
Burham: Well, that could have gone a lot worse.
Georgiou: Can you imagine if just the two of us have gone? One of us might have died! We can't have that this early in the series, now can we?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Sigh...

I tried, tried, tried not to prejudge this. I went in with an open mind and really tried to give this show a chance. I really wanted to like it, and I was willing to let some of the continuity issues slide if they told a good story (e.g. Burham related to Sarek somehow).

Sadly, I didn't like the first ep. Not one bit.

The Klingons are boring cardboard villains, the acting and dialogue is terrible, and the visuals are just too dark for my liking. If I want dark corridors, I'll tune into BSG.

Given the disappointment that Orville turned out to be (I didn't watch past ep 1), not to mention certain real-life commitments that take up a lot of my time now, I can't imagine myself paying good money to see the rest of DSC. I'll tune back in if I hear good things from my friends, but other than that, I'm out for now.

Then again, I said similar things about Star Wars Rebels when it first came out. Rebels changed things for the better two-thirds of the way into season 1, and I got back into it at the start of season 2; here's hoping DSC does the same.

I guess I have to fall back on Star Trek Continues for anything resembling Trek as it was. Sadly, they're wrapping things up this year (their last ep comes out in two parts in October and November, I believe). ST Continues isn't always on point, but at least they try to shoot for the stars. There's at least an attempt at the cerebral high-mindedness that defined TOS and TNG. (And John de Lancie guest starred in their last ep!!!)

I also have Star Wars Rebels for pure "escapist" entertainment, although sadly that's in its last season too.

Best wishes to DSC and those tagging along on the train. I genuinely hope it gets better and justifies my tuning back in, I really do. But if they want my money and time, they're going to have to earn it.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Easily one of my favorite Trek movies - it's different but not in a bad way. Maybe not #1 on my list but definitely up there.

That transporter malfunction scene is probably one of the most horrifying things in all of Trek. Suddenly McCoy's fear of the transporter isn't so funny anymore...
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Sep 21, 2017, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

"You know another series besides TOS that was really into long and literary episode titles? Andromeda."

I hope that's not a bad omen.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

That episode 4 title....

This is going to be interesting.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Case in point: When I first saw "Trials and Tribble-ations" in high school I thought it was stupid. That was before I knew it was intended as a tongue-in-cheek tribute. Rewatching it with that in mind, I now consider it one of my favorite DS9 episodes.

Context can help, but it's not a complete free pass. If the final product simply isn't entertaining ... *plop*
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Cosmic: "Ironically, some of the Orville fans seem eager to nail Discovery down for every little detail, but when it comes to discussing Orville's faults they just wave it off and say "Whatever man, it was fun". OK then."

Well, Orville was marketed as a parody while Discovery is the "real thing". One would probably judge Airplane! or DS9's "Trials and Tribble-ations" differently if one were viewing it as a serious movie/episode vs a light hearted parody. However, I see your point - just because something is a parody doesn't give it a free pass if it's a bad product and just not funny.

I've kept going back and forth on this ep. I really wanted to like it, but the humor just felt too juvenile for me overall. Still not ready to call it a "failure" though.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: General Discussion

I'm not going to be put off by the tepid reviews. I plan to completely ignore the critics pre-reviews, watch the show, come to my own opinions, then read all the reviews (good and bad) afterward.

Honestly, sometimes I feel that a lot of the professional full-time critics are way out of touch. While I don't dismiss them entirely, I do take them with a grain of salt. Obviously I don't expect I'll agree with any one critic all of the time, but if I start fiercely disagreeing more often than not, well...
(Obviously I don't feel this way about this site or I wouldn't keep coming back ;) )
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Okay, honest question, how did this episode even get one star?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 6, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

Rewatching DS9 season 1, and I really enjoyed this ep a lot more than I thought I would- it's not a classic but it's well worth my time. I especially love how Odo plays both sides to resolve the greater threat once he realizes what's going on - great character development there.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

mefive: Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey...just go with it ;)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Re-watching this episode for the first time in many years while on a bit of a TOS nostalgia tour, I found the similarities between Trelane and Q from TNG to be very uncanny. Perhaps the writers of TNG were, ahem, inspired by this episode when they wrote "Encounter at Farpoint" and "Hide and Q"? I seem to remember hearing about an expanded universe Trek novel confirming that Trelane was an infant Q. It would certainly explain a lot!

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode on second viewing - William Campbell was great! I feel that Jammer sometimes takes TOS eps too seriously - some eps are just supposed to be pure fun and not meant to be overanalyzed. Then again, I guess everyone has that one series they view through rose-colored glasses. For me it's TOS (I was born in the 90s and was hooked on TOS via my dad, who grew up watching TOS in 70s reruns), and for Jammer it's TNG/DS9. I don't mean this as a criticism - it's inherently subjective, and everyone brings their own perspectives and biases to the party - that's part of the fun!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

@DLPB: I agree. Granted they had to get the exposition out of the way quickly for newcomers, but it still seemed more of a ripoff than anything else.

Myself, I'm not sure what I would have done in the writers' place. Maybe just cut it altogether and leave the rest of the ep alone?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 22, 2017, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Lupe: They apparently forgot about circuit breakers and surge protectors in the future too.

I seem to remember hearing about a Trek parody where the ship throws one of their exploding consoles at the enemy to take it out. I forgot what it was.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, May 22, 2017, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

I rewatched this ep the other day. The last time I saw it, I must have been eight - all I remembered was the blade-disk thingy killing the guard at the beginning (who didn't even make it past the opening credits!) and Kirk using his communicator to set off a rockslide - very clever idea, that last one - I hope we see this again in Star Trek Discovery.

Now that I'm an adult, I see this ep a lot differently. Still a fun way to pass the time, with some hilarious lines and interactions between the characters but not very noteworthy overall.

-Scotty: "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me." Chekov: "I know that saying. It was invented in Russia."
-McCoy: "I'm a doctor, not an escalator!"
-Spock: "Fortunately, this bark has suitable tensile cohesion." Kirk: "You mean it makes a good bowstring?" Spock: "I believe I said that."
-Spock: [sarcastically] "I think you're both going to be insufferably pleased with yourselves for at least a month. Sir!"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

One of the weak points of the story, for me, is Snoke. He feels pulled out of thin air to be a copy of the Emperor and not an organic character in any way. I mean, seriously, where the frak did he come from? What hole was he living in during the original trilogy? "Snoke" just *sounds* like a phony name to me.

He'd better be someone we know or have heard of (please let him be Darth Plagueis, please let him be Darth Plagueis). Heck, I'd even accept him being a horribly mutated version of Jar Jar. (Kidding - I'm not that desperate.)]

But seriously, where the FRAK did Snoke come from? Hope we'll get the answer in VIII and IX.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

I'm starting to think that Starfleet tech should be fitted with self-destruct mechanisms. Surely the tech exists to completely vaporize, say, a left-behind communicator upon transmitting a coded signal to the general area.

Or at least lock onto it and beam it back up.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"rawer and grittier"

I'll just quote from my comment from back in January as I don't feel like writing the same thing with different words:

"...I would personally call it Trek's "sense of wonder", that feeling that this is a huge universe where anything can happen. This is just my opinion, but TOS and TNG had it ... Phaser battles have a purpose but without a driving purpose beyond action it's a very thin reed to be leaning on in the long run.... Enough of the dark cynical shows. Give me optimism again. I'm sure there's a market for that but the top execs keep feeding us "edgy" depressing stuff."

There are very few things that will make me quit this show halfway through season 1, but a "rawer and grittier" feel will be one of them. Let Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Breaking Bad have all the dark depressing beatdowns that leave viewers traumatized. Be different. Give us that Trekkian optimism about the future again.

Is that too much to ask?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Not a fan of "Mudd's Women" either but it did give us the infinitely better "I Mudd" later. I remember laughing my head off at "I Mudd" when I first watched it as a kid and, well, I still find it funny today.

"Mudd's Women" at the very least also gave us some classic TOS music (read: the music that plays whenever a woman shows up).

And I would LOVE to see an episode about Kodos. I hope that's one of the surprises they have in store for us.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

For Kirk, yes - Kirk doesn't meet him until ten years or so later. But that doesn't mean they can't have him encounter a different Starfleet crew, much like an episode of Enterprise featured a very young T'Pau from TOS "Amok Time" interacting with Archer and co.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Mar 26, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: An Affirming Flame

Harper reminds me a lot of Wash from Firefly. Blond guy with wisecracking attitude, a bit on the whimsical side, technical genius of the ship (*) - they have similar manners although Harper is a lot more hyperactive than Wash I feel.

Of course, Firefly was light-years ahead of Andromeda on every level possible. Why did that show get cancelled after a season, while Andromeda ran for three and a half seasons past its expiration date...grumble grumble.

Firefly deserved at least three more seasons. Andromeda should have been put out of its misery at the end of season 2.



(*) In Wash's case, one of the technical geniuses of the ship - Firefly also had Kaylee, another hilarious character.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Mar 16, 2017, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@Section 31: BAAHAHAHAHAHA! Great take!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Mar 11, 2017, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Same here, Del Duio. I'm a big TOS fan (I grew up on it and came to TNG and post-TNG later) but there are certain episodes I haven't watched in years, "Whom Gods Destroy" being one of them. As such I don't remember much about Garth; I just remember not liking that episode much back when I was like nine.
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.