Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 328 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 3:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

One of the weak points of the story, for me, is Snoke. He feels pulled out of thin air to be a copy of the Emperor and not an organic character in any way. I mean, seriously, where the frak did he come from? What hole was he living in during the original trilogy? "Snoke" just *sounds* like a phony name to me.

He'd better be someone we know or have heard of (please let him be Darth Plagueis, please let him be Darth Plagueis). Heck, I'd even accept him being a horribly mutated version of Jar Jar. (Kidding - I'm not that desperate.)]

But seriously, where the FRAK did Snoke come from? Hope we'll get the answer in VIII and IX.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Apr 11, 2017, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

I'm starting to think that Starfleet tech should be fitted with self-destruct mechanisms. Surely the tech exists to completely vaporize, say, a left-behind communicator upon transmitting a coded signal to the general area.

Or at least lock onto it and beam it back up.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 1:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"rawer and grittier"

I'll just quote from my comment from back in January as I don't feel like writing the same thing with different words:

"...I would personally call it Trek's "sense of wonder", that feeling that this is a huge universe where anything can happen. This is just my opinion, but TOS and TNG had it ... Phaser battles have a purpose but without a driving purpose beyond action it's a very thin reed to be leaning on in the long run.... Enough of the dark cynical shows. Give me optimism again. I'm sure there's a market for that but the top execs keep feeding us "edgy" depressing stuff."

There are very few things that will make me quit this show halfway through season 1, but a "rawer and grittier" feel will be one of them. Let Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Breaking Bad have all the dark depressing beatdowns that leave viewers traumatized. Be different. Give us that Trekkian optimism about the future again.

Is that too much to ask?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Apr 5, 2017, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Not a fan of "Mudd's Women" either but it did give us the infinitely better "I Mudd" later. I remember laughing my head off at "I Mudd" when I first watched it as a kid and, well, I still find it funny today.

"Mudd's Women" at the very least also gave us some classic TOS music (read: the music that plays whenever a woman shows up).

And I would LOVE to see an episode about Kodos. I hope that's one of the surprises they have in store for us.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

For Kirk, yes - Kirk doesn't meet him until ten years or so later. But that doesn't mean they can't have him encounter a different Starfleet crew, much like an episode of Enterprise featured a very young T'Pau from TOS "Amok Time" interacting with Archer and co.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Mar 26, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: An Affirming Flame

Harper reminds me a lot of Wash from Firefly. Blond guy with wisecracking attitude, a bit on the whimsical side, technical genius of the ship (*) - they have similar manners although Harper is a lot more hyperactive than Wash I feel.

Of course, Firefly was light-years ahead of Andromeda on every level possible. Why did that show get cancelled after a season, while Andromeda ran for three and a half seasons past its expiration date...grumble grumble.

Firefly deserved at least three more seasons. Andromeda should have been put out of its misery at the end of season 2.



(*) In Wash's case, one of the technical geniuses of the ship - Firefly also had Kaylee, another hilarious character.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Mar 16, 2017, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@Section 31: BAAHAHAHAHAHA! Great take!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Mar 11, 2017, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Same here, Del Duio. I'm a big TOS fan (I grew up on it and came to TNG and post-TNG later) but there are certain episodes I haven't watched in years, "Whom Gods Destroy" being one of them. As such I don't remember much about Garth; I just remember not liking that episode much back when I was like nine.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Mar 11, 2017, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I think that Isaacs will get killed off at some point in the show and Martin-Green's character will get the captains chair.

Never considered the possibility that Isaacs is playing Garth and "Captain Lorca" is just an alias. That would be cool! (It would also explain certain lawsuits filed by CBS.)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Given that this whole episode was indirectly Quark's fault, shouldn't Sisko have given him a talking to at the very least once they got back to the station?
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Wow, did not know Kip helped out on Contact too! That's news to me!

Glad to have one scientist out there bringing his work to the masses!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Feb 23, 2017, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

Seeing the Odyssey get blown up must have been really terrifying to watch when this ep first aired back in the day, basically making the statement "If that had been Picard instead of Keogh, and the Enterprise-D instead of Odyssey, the ship still would have been lost with all hands" and establishing the Jem'Hadar as a credible threat without having to explicitly say much. Showing, not telling.

Yeah, that was definitely a well-done starship destruction scene. If it had to be done, do it like that. Star Trek Discovery, take note.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Just re-watched this; have to agree with every word of this review. This movie blows Contact out of the water on a giant wave as far as I'm concerned. I also appreciate that this movie is based on real science most of the time (thanks, Kip Thorne and Caltech!) and stays as realistic as possible in that regard, especially the black hole and wormhole moving away from traditional depictions of such as a funnel in space. Some of the visuals - the giant waves, the black hole, the docking scene - man it just blows me away every time I rewatch!

Soundtrack deserves special mention here - Hans Zimmer blows it away again. Especially during the giant wave scene - that scene was my favorite of the entire movie thanks in part to just the soundtrack!!

When I watched it with my dad, he liked all of it except for the bootstrap paradox of Cooper manipulating his own timestream bit which he didn't understand. I told him, "Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey. Just go with it."
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Peremensoe: "How I wish there was a really thoughtful, well-done Best of Voyager bluray set, to rescue the stand-alone gems of that series."

If they did that, they'd probably never sell another complete boxset of Voyager ever again, because no one would want to buy it if one could pay for just the best episodes and skip all the mediocre/unmemorable ones. (See cable industry - cord cutters, a la carte)

On another subject, I'm not so sure those are Klingons. This is after all an unofficial leaked photo, whoever leaked it might be mistaken or the makeup people might not have finished with them.

If those turn out to be full Klingons I will be hopping mad. (I'm trying my best to give this show the benefit of the doubt, but it's becoming increasingly hard...)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Mon, Jan 30, 2017, 3:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

That's true. It all does seem to boil down to the strength of the writing. Which is more often than not the Achilles heel for too many shows today, like it was the Achilles heel for too many episodes of VOY and ENT.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sun, Jan 29, 2017, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Loved the arc, but there should have been more signs of lasting consequences from Sisko and co's actions during the last few episodes. Just a couple of lines here and there would have made a difference, for instance:
"Our Torros III shipyards are still being rebuilt, so we're a bit short on ships right now" or
"Our supply lines in sector 4747 are stretched thanks to Sisko blowing up our ketracel-white facility" or
"Thanks to the Defiant blowing up our sensor array we've lost track of the 5th fleet"
etc.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Clarify: "One can jump right in to the revival like I did without having to watch the 1963-1989 series (although I would like to, someday)"
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

The "continuity baggage" can be dealt with quite easily - set the next Trek series a century after Picard. Be to TNG what TNG was to TOS - occasional references to the past every now and then (e.g. diverting from the archaeological dig at Camus II) but if they fly over most new viewers' heads, it's not a big deal.

That's what the Doctor Who revival did. One can jump right in at the beginning without having to watch the 1963-1989 series like I did (although I would like to, someday); plus as an added bonus every time the Doctor regenerates/a companion leaves/both it's a fresh chance to start over! There are quite a few in-jokes to the classic series, but it doesn't distract from the viewing at all and it's not necessary to "get" them to enjoy the show. This is the approach any future Trek series should take.

True, Trek has been around for 50+ years. But so has Doctor Who, and it's still going strong! Compare the fanfare for the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who to the virtually non-existent fanfare for Trek from CBS, and you have an argument for a changing of the guard ASAP. (And don't get me started on the fan film rules)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

Never thought of that - goes to show how much tech changes, especially considering that flip phones are now out of date!

I was watching this in the dentist waiting room about a month ago. Just as funny as I remembered!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

That ending when Picard completely owns the Sheliak was hilarious - well worth the 45 minutes! Goes to show that you don't always have to end an episode with a full phaser barrage to be satisfying!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jan 27, 2017, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Alex: You described my feelings perfectly. I would personally call it Trek's "sense of wonder", that feeling that this is a huge universe where anything can happen. This is just my opinion, but TOS and TNG had it, while DS9 had it in the beginning but lost it after choosing to focus on political intrigue and war. (Don't get me wrong, I love DS9 but I feel that it sacrificed what made Trek unique in favor of action) VOY and ENT never really had that sense of wonder; they felt too much like TNG rehashes and most episodes focused on how to battle the enemy of the week. Phaser battles have a purpose but without a driving purpose beyond action it's a very thin reed to be leaning on in the long run.

It is hard to describe in words I'll freely admit. But the only other show I feel has successfully recreates Trek's sense of wonder (as I describe it) is the Doctor Who revival. Sure the effects are cheap and the writing isn't always on point, but I love the feeling of being excited to tune in every week to see when/where the Doctor will end up next. One week might be killer shadows, another week might be a planet wide traffic jam, the next week might be an outpost orbiting a black hole, you get the idea. Anything can happen.

Enough of the dark cynical shows. Give me optimism again. I'm sure there's a market for that but the top execs keep feeding us "edgy" depressing stuff.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I've said this before, but for the sake of perspective:

I am disappointed by how CBS has been handling this series thus far. They may yet pleasantly surprise us in fall or whenever. But no matter how badly CBS screws up, no matter how much they milk the cow till it's dead, no matter how many Romulan saboteurs wreak havoc behind the scenes, Star Trek will always live on in our hearts and nothing can take that away from us.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

This particular trope of Kirk convincing Ruk to destroy himself is what Jammer calls Kirk Outsmarts the Computer ;) It's a proud Trekkian tradition!
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

I have a feeling that Section 31 has a few ships with cloaking devices that no one knows about... ;)

Hey, it's what I would do if I were them!

(I remember hearing that the expanded universe novels say that the Pegasus experiment was sponsored by Section 31).
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

And the show got delayed. Again. Are we ever going to actually get to watch this?

Seriously, I feel like no one at CBS knows what they're doing. How do you screw up something as iconic as Star Trek?
[remembers the bulk of Star Trek Enterprise and the series finale]
...Oh. Never mind.
But seriously, are Romulan spies trying to sabotage this behind the scenes? Because that's what it feels like!
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.