Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 17,950 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 718
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oh, for the Discovery folks.

I very much prefer Michael's hair at the beginning of the show.

Drop the volcano head look please.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 9:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 8:51am (UTC -6)
"I forget but did we ever get a real answer on why that Discovery-class ship (that wasn't the Discovery) had all those twisted and messed up dead people on it?

Or are we just assuming it was a failed attempt to get to the Mirror Universe?"

My take on that is it was a failed attempt at using the spore drive. This miscue actually produced the tardigrade.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 9:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I've finished Orville's first season, and think it's pretty much beyond criticism.

Orville is what it is; a light comedy, light drama, with loving homages to Trek and classic scifi, which is unpretentious, simple, aims low, has a few bone-throwing jokes to frat boy audiences, a lot of bone-throwing jokes to Trekkies, and which never tries to be cutting edge (dramatically or science fictionally), hip or modern. At its best, it lets you hang out with cute, friendly people on a bright, fancy starship, and taps into the camraderie, optimism and cheeriness of Trek at its most utopian.

Set Bookmark
Rinzwind
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Quite simple: The Orville is the new Star Trek. Discovery is one dark grim one person mess.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 12:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

Rahul said: "Believe me, I understand what atheism is (it is a communist notion). "

Atheism is not a "communist notion". This sounds like something a 1950s era Mccarthyite would say.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Here's a video where Shatner and Seth talk:

https://streamable.com/ry1db

He's obviously a huge Trek fan.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 6:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Nobody - nobody - who comes aboard a Federation Starfleet ship can be trusted. They are always antagonstic, treacherous, often dangerous. Rude, obnoxious, placed against the crew. If I were a Starfleet captain I'd be flying around with shields up not communicating with anyone or allowing anyone on board!
Set Bookmark
Debra Petersen
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 7:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

I'm feeling like Bashir's role in this situation and his effort to save Jadzia are not getting the proper attention. This is only one of a number of episodes where he really comes through for her. He (along with Sisko) was there for her when the violent previous host emerged and the the experience threatened to destroy her. He did his best to try to help her when she decided she wanted to stay on the disappearing planet Meridian with the guy she had just met...and he was the one who comforted her when that didn't work out.

Forgive me, but I have to bring up my major DS9 "pet peeve" here. Jadzia fell for the guy on Meridian awfully fast. Worf turned up on the station and started flexing his muscles and Jadzia immediately went gaga over him. But she never gave Julian, the guy who behaved the best toward her, a real chance. I've often wondered why the writers never allowed that to happen. Instead, they put her together with Worf. I've never understood what people saw in that relationship. The pattern in that pairing seemed to be that Worf would act controlling toward Jadzia, wanting her to behave according to some Klingon norm, Jadzia would object quite strongly, and Worf would grudgingly back down. Also, Julian,with his enhanced intellect and other abilities, as well as his medical knowledge of Trill physiology might have been a better match for her in many ways. IMHO Julian and Jadzia were the ones who belonged together.














Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

No female captainsin Star Fleet? That's very hard to believe.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I can appreciate childhood sentimentality, but this episode is an epic turd. Let's get the most obvious problem out of the way. Asking the Data character to put on this minstrel show in a way that doesn't contribute to his overall arc of becoming more emotional is just a travesty.

The silent red alert bridge scenes is some of the worst writing I've seen on TNG. "I'm not going to permit this ship to be turned into an alien city!" Yikes. And it's true, it looks like they ran out of money to pay the extras.

I don't mind Picard as an archaeologist, but in the other episodes where this interest has come up, there is a very explicit tension between that way of life and the one he leads as Captain of a starship. Which makes for interesting television. Here he is clicking buttons and materializing unknown objects on a hunch, inserting himself into an alien mythology on a hunch (wtf), and overruling very sensible objections from his crew. At one point he literally says, "Anybody got any better ideas?"

Also, a killer archive. Come on. For a split second, Ihat looked like he had the makings of an arch-nemesis, sitting on the warp core and all, but it's a steep downhill from there.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Also, I like Porthos. I think he's the best thing about Enterprise, and the Porthos aspects of this episode did not bother me one bit. Humans, particularly those with no children, tend to bond to dogs as if they were children. We all know that bond can be very deep and emotional, so while Archer definitely took it a bit too far, it is not unbelievable for me (as a dog owner with no children).
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

The whole sexual frustration angle in this episode is so disappointingly unnecessary and embarrassing. Did they have such a lack of confidence in their show that they felt the need to constantly just make T'Pol objectified eye candy with so little substance as a character?
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 7:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Baron Samedi

"The worst thing I can say about Discovery is that it not only doesn't make me think very hard, but it punishes me for doing so."

To be fair, Trek hardly always made sense. I'm close to finishing my VOY marathon, and that series also taught me early on to not think too much about it, it rarely makes a lot of sense and is full of plot holes like Emmentaler cheese. And the other series aren't innocent either.

But yes, it is worse in DSC than in the other series. Where VOY is nonsensical, DSC is just mental. It's like an entire season of Threshold-level insanity.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

We doing season ratings now? \o/

Let's see... I'll be using Jammer's 4-star rating.

The Vulcan Hello - 1.5 stars
Battle of the Binary Stars - 1.5
Context is for Kings - 1.0
The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry - 1.0
Choose Your Pain - 1.5
Lethe - 1.5
Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad - 2.0
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum - 2.0
Into the Forest I Go - 1.5
Despite Yourself - 3.0
The Wolf Inside - 3.5
Vaulting Ambition - 2.5
What's Past Is Prologue - 2.0
The War Without, the War Within - 2.5
Will You Take My Hand? - 1.5

Average: 1.9 - sounds about right
Set Bookmark
Trent
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 1:40am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Yeah, Piller's original idea (Heart of Darkness in reverse) was great, but I think Patrick Stewart and Spiner stepped in and vetoed alot of stuff. Once the "thing needed on the planet" was changed to a Fountain of Youth, decisions were also made to make a more comedic film. Everyone was looking to repeat the success of Star Trek 4.

Nemesis' core philosophical message (nature vs nurture; how sympathetic should we be to those warped by environmental factors, and how much freedom do we have to rise above our station?) is good too, with its Picard and Mirror Picard conflict. There's something very utopian about it (to infinity and beyond! Be like Picard!) and also horrifically chilling (you are a product of sheer, fleshy causal chains: no amount of morality and attempts at righteousness will overcome a nature inscribed and programmed into you by the universe!). But like Insurrection, all the interesting stuff just gets suffocated by action-movie demands.
Set Bookmark
Nic
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 9:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I read on the Internet that "Discovery is fun, as long as you don’t think too much about it afterwards". Well, that’s too bad for me, because I like stories that make me think. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a show that is so all over the place (thematically, tonally, etc.) and yet doesn’t feel like it’s going anywhere interesting.

This particular episode wasn’t the worst of the season, nor was it the best. It had its moments that worked and many more that didn’t, including, surprisingly, the totally unearned "We are Starfleet" moment where Burnham decides and easily convinces everyone that they shouldn’t commit genocide. You’d think that would be one of the first things you learn as a Starfleet cadet. And why does no one have a problem with L’Rell using the THREAT of genocide to force the Klingon houses to unite against their will? And what if they were to discover that the bomb was designed by Starfleet? Don’t you think they’d be a little bit angry? Burnham’s speech at the end was nicely performed, but it was filled with platitudes that had nothing to do with what has happened to these characters over the course of the season.

As Jammer rightfully said, what has this season been about?

The show definitely works better when you forget it’s Star Trek and just pretend it’s set in a completely new universe. Which is why, when they get the distress call from Pike’s Enterprise, I was disappointed. Not because the idea is bad per se, but because I know that the writers will somehow find a hundred ways to screw it up.

For the record, here’s my completely subjective ranking of each Trek series’ first season.

TOS 7.0/10
VOY 6.9/10
DS9 6.6/10
ENT 6.5/10
TNG 5.5/10
DIS 5.5/10

So, overall, I’ve found this season to be about equal in quality to TNG’s first season (which until now was the single worst season of Trek I'd seen). It’s interesting to compare the two, because they were both the first Trek series to air in over ten years, and they both had a revolving door of writers (I’m sure Bryan Fuller’s departure as creater/showrunner before the show even premiered didn’t help). TNG had lower lows and higher highs; Discovery hasn’t had episodes as bad as "Code of Honor" or "When the Bough Breaks" (though certain individual scenes have been that bad), but it also hasn’t done anything as good as "11001001" and, for some reason, I don't expect it ever will.
Set Bookmark
Robin
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 7:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

Doesn't anyone just want to go to the holodeck to relax on a tropical beach?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

L'rell: I HAVE A BOMB THAT WILL DETSROY Q'ONOS! SO I'M NOW THE LEADER OF THE EMPRE!

Klingons: Nope. *shoots L'rell*

God this whole resolution the war is just complete and utter garbage. LIke the new Klingon designs so I guess it's fitting that way.
Set Bookmark
Trent
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

This is the only TNG film I like.

Someone recently started a post berating Insurrection's "terrible moral message". The film is stupid, they claim, because "600 Baku hippies prevent the Federation from using a planet with healing properties to save all lives in the Universe."

People seem to forget the film carefully parcels information out to Picard. At various points, he doesn't know the planet has healing properties, he doesn't know what the Admiralty is up to, he doesn't know what the Son'a want (they want to essentially nuke the planet to steal its healing radiation), and he doesn't know the relationship between the Sona and the Baku. Repeatedly throughout the film, Picard makes decisions based on partial information, and his ultimate aim throughout the film is always to simply "slow things down" so that proper decisions can be made. Picard isn't looking to solve the ethical dilemma Insurrection proposes. He's simply hoping to stop others making that decision behind closed doors. He's hoping to stall things so that others can gather information and weigh in on this problem. He's stopping others from hastily playing God.

One can easily envision Picard's success at stalling the Sona leading to a Federation outpost permanently above the planet, working in collaboration with the Baku below, and further studying its properties. Picard in the episode is simply arguing for time, deliberation and reasoned action.

One must also remember that the healing planet is not a member of the Federation (and so the Feds have no legal right to relocate the Baku), that the Baku die if removed from the planet, that the Sona work with the Dominion (they make ketracel while), and that the Sona selfishly want to nuke the planet because of their own existential problems.

The film is also careful to point out that Sona are simply impatient. Only their older leaders are at risk of death, and even then, most may survive the roughly ten years of radiation exposure needed to reverse their condition. In short, a small group of impatient Sona simply want the fountain of youth NOW, everyone else be damned. Their manic urgency is contrasted with the Baku and Picard, who want to slow things right down. Indeed, the Baku culture implicitly hinges upon the slowing of time.

And of course the Sona's means of collecting the metaphasic radiation is revealed to be a one-time burst which would render that planet uninhabitable, and would kill the planet's ability to give future generations seemingly limitless lifespans. To paraphrase William B above, this suggests that the Sona procedure may not even be the best method to take advantage of the radiation even if the Baku weren't there. If the needs of the Federation outweighs the needs of the Baku, it also outweighs the needs of the Sona.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just throwing out how I would rate the episodes this season:

The Vulcan Hello - 8/10
Battle of the Binary Stars - 8/10
Context is for Kings - 6/10
The Butcher's Knife - 4/10
Choose Your Pain - 7/10
Lethe - 5/10
Magic to Make the Sanest... - 9/10
Si Vis Pacem - 1/10
Into the Forest - 7/10
Despite Yourself - 7/10
The Wolf Inside - 7/10
Vaulting Ambition - 9/10
What's Past... - 9/10
The War Without - 3/10
Will You Take My Hand? - 2/10

I feel like I enjoyed the season more than most people here. It was better than the first season of all post-TOS shows, although most of those first seasons had a couple better episodes than any of Discovery's. I'm also pessimistic that the writers will be capable of righting the wrongs inherent in their current approach. Jammer's review of the finale here does a pretty good job capturing how I feel about the series at the moment.

The worst thing I can say about Discovery is that it not only doesn't make me think very hard, but it punishes me for doing so. Pretty much every major storyline collapses upon the slightest examination (the L'Rell/Voq/Tyler scheme, the end of the Klingon war, the Federation going along with Mirror Georgiou's plan). This resulted in the finale, though not insultingly terrible (faint praise I know), not working on any significant level.

On the other hand, the acting is really good (I'm baffled by the critics of Michael/Sonequa Martin-Green's performances here) all-around and the show managed to be tons of goofy fun. I didn't even mind the evil caricature Lorca turned out to be - it was a reasonably satisfying payoff and I don't think the show needed to deliver anything more.

If the writers can focus on delivering a smaller amount of plot in a satisfying manner, then Discovery could end up being a great show. My primary worry is that some CBS ratings data analysts have resolutely determined that Discovery will lose a significant portion of its audience if the plot isn't always moving at a breakneck pace, so these changes won't actually happen.
Set Bookmark
Adonis
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Rewatched “Balance of Terror” last night and was reminded that Spock surprises Kirk by recommending they attack the Romulans first. A nice bookend with “The Vulcan Hello.”
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Little Brother
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 1:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

Love this episode. Does so many things well:

-- One of Riker's best episodes and elevates the character. Perfect one for the exchange.

-- The Klingon mess hall scene is some of the best Trek of any show or movie.

-- This was an important episode in fleshing out the Klingons more.

-- Excellent blending of two story threads both in terms of plot and thematically (the Benzite on the Enterprise; Riker on the Klingon ship).

While not in my top 5, I consider this essential "Next Gen" viewing.
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I laughed out loud at the Captain warning them (when searching for the clown) to watch out for balloon animals.

The humour seemed less forced in this one.
Set Bookmark
Henson
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Wouter Verheist

Does that now mean we need to insert a character from Discovery into the pilot for TOS?

*trollface*
Set Bookmark
Jian Zhang
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 9:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

This story worths at most 2 stars, no more. It mentioned Internment of Japanese Americans, and also questioned the captain's actions in the end, that's why it worths 2 stars. All others are just junks.

First of all, who gives authorities for the Enterprise to break into other country's territory and even fire at their ships? Just because Enterprise is strong? Well, in that case, Klingon empire can send 100 bird-of-pray to earth and do anything they want. Earth has no power to defend, thus it is right. I know a phrase for that: might is right.

Second, why the Enterprise crews always think legislations in other countries are unjustice, uneven, and cruel? Because it gives them excuses to interfere with other legislations. So that they can do anything they want and go freely without being punished. It happens in Star Trek series many times.

Third, what the captain did really helping? I highly doubt that. He "freed" 89 persons, that's right. Then, where would they go? Moreover, there were thousands of persons in other concentrate camps, what kinds of "treatments" would they receive after this?

Stupid writers, stupid story.
Next ►Page 1 of 718
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.