Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14,962 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 599
Set Bookmark
Quarkissnyder
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

No! Don't marry him! If he really wanted to marry you he would have asked you BEFORE he bought the house. He would have 1. Proposed 2. If you said yes, said, "I'd like to buy some retirement property on Bajor. What do you think of that?" 3. Had a discussion about whether you both want to live on Bajor, and, if so, where, and once that's figured out, what if anything you want to grow on that property.

Also, if your reaction to a proposal is an incredibly surprised "Really? You're sure about this?" don't marry him.

Also, Kassidy, this is not you. You are not a soft lit feminine supporting character. You are a tough freighter captain. As a man once said, Don't go on changing just to try to please him.

The prophet is right -- that marriage can bring only pain.

Sisko's desire to live on Bajor continues to be stupid. It would be like John Lennon at the height of Beatlemania buying a sweet single family house in some midwestern suburb. Yeah, it's nice for the first couple of days but not so great when people find out you live there and are constantly walking into your house because you're a celebrity and the public owns your xxx.

Worf is going to eat a wolf? Will he at least skin it first?

Set Bookmark
Glen
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

This episode was so boring. Thank goodness I was watching it on my computer so I could fast forward through the booring plodding predictable dialogue between Odo and that stupid woman that was so bland and unimaginative. It was just awful. It wasn't Odo revealing another side of his character. It was Odo acting completely out of character in order to accommodate this stupid derivative plot. Two thumbs down!
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

Maybe it's in part because I saw this first but this felt like a much better version of Seven getting interested in and exploring the idea of romance than was "Someone to Watch Over Me".

Maybe this episode didn't go as far as it could or should have this late in the show but it still felt pretty intense and with a lot more real growth, and associated, believable fear of growth, than Seven had had in a long time.
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

Also, am I correct in thinking that Data was in fact recognized as the ship's "second officer" who would automatically be in command if anything ever happened to both Picard and Riker? There didn't seem to be any question about it in the Gambit 2-parter - while Worf grumbled about Data's decisions, it seemed like he was just disagreeing rather than implying that he should have been chosen instead.
Set Bookmark
FlyingSquirrel
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

IMO, Voyager does not really have a "jump the shark" moment. It was consistently inconsistent - fantastic one week, awful the next, and usually somewhere in between. If anything, I'd say it was a little better on average in the later seasons.
Set Bookmark
Thunderchild
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

A real shame that Ro wasn't brought in as regular character; afterall there was definitely room in the cast after Wil Wheaton left and it would have been nice to have a regular helmsman.

I always found it ironic that the stronger female characters in TNG weren't part of the main cast - Ro, Guinan, Pulaski - even Shelby! Yar could have been great but Crusher was woefully underused and Troi was just a waste of space until they gave her a uniform.
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Good episode. Not great. The pacing was weird because we were away from the Delta Flyer haps for like 25 minutes and you're kind of wondering what's going on with them. I liked Flotter & Co. I really enjoyed them when I was a kid and still like them now, haha.

I feel like this is the Neelix we should have had the whole time. Someone who is crushed on the inside and copes by being bubbly and silly on the outside. Someone who doesn't have the skills of a Starfleet officer but is still sincere and really cares about those around him. Not the jealous, annoying, childish guy we had for the first 3 seasons. Neelix should be child-like, not childish.

Wildman should have died for the reasons Jammer said above.
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I really enjoyed this episode, but only for entertainment reasons. I can't say I agreed with the show "neutering" 8472 as Justin pointed out, and the concept of them being just as scared of us as we are of them was a bit...old. And why did they give them the nanoprobe technology? Isn't that kind of a bad idea?

Anyways, the old guy made me laugh a lot, and I really liked watching Chakotay going under cover.

3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

The first officer of any ship really has a great incentive to wish their Captain dead don't they?
Makes you understand why Riker never wanted his own command - just waiting for Picard to frickin die so he gets the flagship.

I also like how, when Riker is choosing a first officer, he says sorry to Worf (L) and Data (LC) but just ignores Crusher (Com) Geordi (LC) and Troi (LC).

Set Bookmark
Nate
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

The best delivered line of the episode:

"It's psychologically valid."

Love it.
Set Bookmark
Dbrandodd@sbcglobal.net
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

3 stars. Finally a decent involving episode

This episode really highlighted how pitiful and underwhelming most of season two was. This first episode in quite a while that I actually took notice of and actually enjoyed with no hesitation.

All those earlier episodes that frustrated me by toying with the Kazon capturing the ship in retrospect was seemingly done to build up to actually going through with it here thankfully

I enjoyed the hour with its action and tension and the cliffhangers
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

If tossing the garbage ship into the sun was always a viable option, why didn't the people who made the garbage just find a sun and do it. Duh.

And seriously? Drinking whiskey in 50 degree heat under direct sun without water? There's raging alcoholic and then there's this guy.
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

@Chrome

You make a good point. It just seemed to me that although Satie boasts about her prowess she lets her 'team' do all the legal heavy lifting.

There seems to be a lot of precedent in Starfleet (in all series) for putting officers into a courtroom and expecting them to perform as legal officers. I didn't see Satie as being any different- just rather better at raising her profile as a result.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Especially in light of the events of In the Pale Moonlight. "The Ends don't justify the Means" has to be one of those idioms that is universally agreed with in theory but almost never in practice. There is no question Section 31 saved the Alpha Quadrant, none. And given the chance to rectify their evil act the Federation unequivocally stood by it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Robert,

I don't know that that's true for RO. Just why isn't it "Star Wars"? Evil empire, the rebels, the force, Darth Vader, weird aliens, Star Wars spacecraft... quite honestly, aside from not being "the story", it did Star Wars better than Star Wars did in many ways. No Jar Jar, no Ewoks swinging from trees, no midichlorians... what's not to like? At the very least, it didn't copy a previous movies' story and call itself a success.
Set Bookmark
vn
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

@Quarkissnyder

re: detective fiction, we shouldn't be surprised that detective fiction appeals to Odo as a genre -- he is, after all, the de facto crime-solving-head on DS9.

As to why earth detective fiction instead of Bajor? Bajor doesn't strike me as a culture that would tend to produce such novels -- instead they'd be writing loads of crap about the Prophets. I'm not sure many of the other races would be huge producers of such novels either. Except perhaps the Cardassians, but their crime novels take a very different flavor that wouldn't appeal to Odo.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 6:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Get Real Ric.

RO is better than episodes 4 and 6.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 6:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

I guess you need nostalgia to rate this 3 stars.

Just saw it for the first time - all the plot holes listed above and the tedious inevitability of it all..

I also like how Riker just learns that someone tried to kill him, and only failed out of blind, techno-babbly luck, and doesn't bat an eyelid. Phew, glad they didn't get me on that (dodgy) murder or (univestigated) sexual assault charge.
Set Bookmark
Darrin
Tue, Jul 25, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Everything in this episode is a metaphor for TNG ending, laying the foundation and giving birth to a new series...Voyager. It starts brilliantly with Captain Picard explaining Shakespeare's Tempest. The next episode starts the makis. Re-watch it knowing everything you see and hear represents the entire series...not just the enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Klovis Mann
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

IT'S ALIVE ! ....... ALIVE ! ......
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

People who are saying that Jammer is being harder on Voyager because he just likes DS9 better, instead of judging Voyager episodes based on their own merits, here me out on this:

I watched DS9 and Voyager side by side from ages 8 to 12. I LOVED Voyager, and I thought DS9 was ok.

Now I'm 30 and watching them all, and I went in saying, "seriously, Voyager is the best series. I love how they get put through the ringer, and they meet all these new species, etc etc"

But now I find, Voyager episodes almost always have the same problem: They usually start with a good idea, but then it's got too many flaws to take seriously, or they don't explore the good idea enough, or they skip over interesting possibilities, or the execution just makes no sense. The not making sense thing has been a big problem for me. I pause it several times an episode to say, "wait a minute, how did they accomplish x if they just said y like, last episode." or things like that.

And I always want to get into it because I like the good idea it started with! But it rarely goes anywhere that I care about.

With the exception of Seven of Nine and the Doctor (and Kes during her time on the show), Voyager hasn't really developed its characters and their backstories. This episode, I didn't mind it, but wow they only spent 2 minutes on Janeway's depression. The show is too scared to commit to anything.

I was immediately caught off guard watching the second episode in the series, and noticing that no one seemed to consider it a big deal that they were 70 years from home. The second episode was about whether it would be a good idea to make B'Elanna the chief engineer or not. I actually really enjoyed this episode, funny enough. But again, the lack of impact that this event had on the crew, not only threw me off, but it set the tone for the entire series: Voyager would not be about feelings.

And this is why I defend Jammer's continued comparisons to DS9 because while it is not perfect, DS9 gives generous amounts of time to developing its characters and their feelings. And as a person who went in thinking Voyager was great and DS9 was just ok, I can say it's not bias that makes me so disappointed in Voyager. It's the constant lack of character development, repercussions and normal cause & effect.

I really want to see people's inner struggles. That's what I'm in it for most of the time when I watch a series. So DS9 wins.

Interesting sidenote: While Jammer and I are of the same mind re: Voyager vs DS9, I don't agree with a lot of the points he talks about in his DS9 reviews. Haha!

PS: Whenever ST does deal with personal repercussions, I call it a "crying in the mud" scene, because of the absolutely fantastic TNG episode "Family." All shows need to have episodes like this once in awhile, where a character has to take some reflective time to accept what has happened to them.
Set Bookmark
Trajan
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

For those who found Satie's rant difficult to believe, I was once in a real court and saw something similar happen. The accused was defending in person and when his theatrical case was derailed with derision by a (grizzled store detective) witness, he lost the plot. It was hugely entertaining.

Incidentally, has anyone ever had qualms about serving on board with a Betazoid? They don't seem to have any code of ethics about reading your mind as and when it suits them. Is there no general expectation of privacy in Starfleet?
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

This episode made a concerted effort to be boring.
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

This is how I believe the pitch went for this episode.

"Guys, I have a great new idea for an episode:

Picture this: it's Tom and Bulldog from Frasier, right, two bros working on mechanics together, bro-ing out for the first three quarters of the episode. Tom is getting really angsty with B'Elanna (uh oh, trouble in paradise, am I right!!), but he's not really telling her why, nor he is talking about it with his new bro, either. He won't confide in anyone, so the audience to say, "I should stay tuned to find out what's happening with Tom!"

Of course, we won't get too 'in depth' with this, because it's boring and sad feelings would make the audience sad, so we will make sure to interrupt any moments of personal reflection with some unrelated shenanigans.

The ironic thing is, ok, get this, Tom doesn't want to be tied down to a settled life, even though he is on the other side of the galaxy running into new and life-threatening adventures every week! Get it?!

So Bulldog is a body snatcher, right. He hops from body to body, but he is also doing the hopping really often, like every few days. He's not even in the new body long enough to do anything interesting with it, before he ditches it for the next body! Because get this, he has DELTA ADHD!

But even though he ditched some chick's body at the last stop he made, he keeps transforming into this chick by accident and trying to hide it from Tom. We obviously won't have the time to explain why this is happening, but it will make the viewers go, 'hey, what's going on around here?' and that means they won't change the channel. Genius, right?!

Then Bulldog steals Tom's body and keeps angsting out, in the same way Tom was before, only slightly more exaggerated. Chilling!

In the end, when the crew finds out what's going on and catches Bulldog, he will have nothing to say for himself. He won't say, "I did it because of blank," or "I care about blank" or "I've always wanted to blank someone else's girlfriend while I was in their body." No, he just shuts up and is quietly led away by authorities. And you know why? Because the episode was really about Tom and how much he has learned to appreciate B'Elanna. Awww!!

Good, right?!"
Set Bookmark
CinYin
Mon, Jul 24, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Wow, that awful ending, though.

If the writers wanted to keep the truth "ambiguous", then they shouldn't have had the Doc and Seven talking to each other about how wrong they were, followed by another convo between the Doc and Janeway about how wrong they were, again!

If the episode was supposed to have a question mark at the end, then the crew should have acknowledged that the investigation was unfinished and the best they could do know was to help figure out what was going on with Seven.

If it wasn't because of Kovin, then what caused Seven's PTSD? And how could it be treated? Would Seven recover soon?

Apparently the only message the show wanted to get across was that the Doc could be wrong sometimes, and he would have to learn how to deal with that.

These nutty writers.
Next ►Page 1 of 599
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.