Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 14,512 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 581
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, May 27, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

"My problem with this episode is the conclusion that rape victims should be responsible for any resulting child. "

Rape victims are responsible for their children the same as any parents. You cannot legally abandon your child just because it is the product of rape, although I suppose you could give it up for adoption (as one could if the child was born of a consensual relationship).

The key point here is that the child is a fait accompli. We are not talk about person's right to abort a pregnancy not of their choosing. The father's example (of children borne of rape by whites being accepted by the tribe) is similar as the tribes were facing the choice of what to do with children that were already born - they could either accept them or reject them and they chose the former.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 27, 2017, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Hello Everyone!

Ensign Vorik. Right off the bat, I knew I recognized him but could not remember exactly from where. Ah, the Enterprise, yes, that was it. Thanks Jammer. And, since he was playing a Vulcan the exact same way here, with the same rank, I'd say it's the same character as well. And I kind of like him. *I just did some minor searching and it has been suggested Taurik and Vorik were twins. But, they didn't put that in the show, so your mileage may vary.*

But... as I've slowly moved along during my re-watch, I don't recall seeing any Vulcans apart from Tuvok. There might have been some, somewhere, but I don't recall them. It seems to me if there was more than one Vulcan on board, they would hang out together sometimes, just as the Earthlings do. Like in the mess hall, sipping Vulcan tea and quietly reading at the same table, or playing Vulcan brain games together. Perhaps when Tuvok was losing his marbles after melding with the serial killer, Ensign Vorik could have helped him with his mental discipline (seems logical to me).

We've seen the engine room plenty of times, but this is the first time we see him? We give a pass to new Earthers we see, because many in the background are faceless uniforms, and if they bring one of them to the fore, well, we just didn't really notice them before. But with a specific race where there are only a few on board, it seems we'd remember them and they would interact. But maybe Ensign Vorik wasn't ever seen because he was on the Lower Decks. :D

I don't know, if they were home, I'd figure he was just a new crew member. But he's been on the ship at least two years, and probably longer, and they give him lines to speak that could have been given to anyone. He doesn't do anything particularly Vulcan-ish, he just seems to suddenly appear. That... seemed off to me...

Enjoy the Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

@DLPB: I agree. Granted they had to get the exposition out of the way quickly for newcomers, but it still seemed more of a ripoff than anything else.

Myself, I'm not sure what I would have done in the writers' place. Maybe just cut it altogether and leave the rest of the ep alone?
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, May 26, 2017, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace

Hello Everyone

It has been years since I watched this, but that is mostly because I cannot see it on Netflix or Hulu. :)

My thought was this: They said something about bringing 'balance' to the force, as if it would tilt the odds in their favor. But they seemed to be tilted that way already. There were dozens of Jedi, but seemingly only one Sith (maybe, since they didn't believe he existed originally), with an apprentice. So wouldn't bringing balance to the two sides 'balance' the force? Perhaps they somewhat mis-interpreted the prophecy, because when *spoiler alert* Anakin helps to wipe out the good guys, what was left was more balanced. One Sith (with apprentice) and a couple of Jedi.

That was just my take on it anyway. Your mileage may vary...

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
Trudy Kockenlocker
Fri, May 26, 2017, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

This is an excellent episode. This is not an anti-capitalist episode. The point is that the bar is run like a racket, or a sweatshop. In this case, a union is justified. But that's not the point. The writing is really good, the acting is terrific. And Levar Burton did a great job directing it.
Set Bookmark
Benny
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

In pathfinder, Janeway said they wer sending through their log entries. Yet here we have the admiral asking about casualties, the Borg and the maquis. Are we to believe that either a) not a single crew member made a passing reference to any of those things or b) no one at starfleet bothered to read the logs?
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, May 26, 2017, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Even as a fan of the Star Trek universe, I unfortunately have not had time to always catch every episode out there. So recently via the Heroes and Icons Network running all of the series, I just saw this episode. It was fantastic and timely. I had just been to a symposium led by a historian whose research spans revisionism and censorship to paint a different story of ancestoral piety. So what was interesting was the faceoff between truth and present-day body-politic. So for many like myself, truth is extremely important and I want to engage that path. For others, it is ironically not always about truth, it's about a quasi-Orwellian world for which they want to live in to manage their notions of truth not subject to scrutiny. What was interesting was that the doctor's desire not to be responsible for the fight, ie. be decompiled, in order that some cold-war would persist. And perhaps his sincerity at the end is what maybe convinced the curator that he wasn't lying for even a split-second. He was of an open mind but maybe not convinced.

I think a show like this is good for people to see to understand what it means to have an open-mind because in today's political climate everyone thinks they have the corner on the truth. Truth is it's somewhere in the middle. And we need to be able to have some flexibility or openness that new evidence will shed light or even turn things 180degrees.
Set Bookmark
John Drake
Fri, May 26, 2017, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I'd caught the tail end of this one a couple of years ago, so I knew how it resolved going in, but it was somewhat better than I'd expected. Agree that it's a mashup of "I, Borg" and "The Offspring", and that it combines three whiz-bang improbable, problem-spewing Treknologies (transporters, Borg nanoprobes and the mobile emitter) into a single ridiculous result (One), but they *almost* pull the thing off, and Jeri Ryan is dynamite as 7 (once again).

The biggest problem with the episode is there just isn't enough time for One to become enough of a part of the crew for his actions - or 7's reaction - to make much sense. They probably should have skipped the silliness with the nebula and began the episode with 7 trying to fix the Doctor's malfunctioning mobile emitter with nanoprobes. It would have appeared to have been a success, and 7 would have left it overnight in the science lab for a full diagnostic - right before the credits rolled we'd have seen it do its Borg thing...

Either that or expand "Drone" to a two parter, or even a loosely-connected set of "One" themed episodes. They could have been in the process of slowly removing what implants they could as they tried to make One more human, somewhere along the line triggering the regeneration of his signaling apparatus. Or maybe they'd have just encountered the Borg in some other unrelated circumstance and One could have sacrificed himself as part of an attempt to defeat them...

The final bit with One's death and Jeri Ryan's last scene was excellent - really powerful stuff - but it's unfortunate the process of getting there was somewhat unoriginal, uneven and terribly rushed. Unfortunately that describes most of the better Voyager episodes - this franchise really needed new blood, and instead Paramount let the same tired hacks run it straight into the ground.
Set Bookmark
Cinnamon
Thu, May 25, 2017, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

The Romulon's were reallllllly good in tricking Picard into thinking he was responsible for a death by transporter. THIS ONE IS ANOTHER ONE THAT MAKES SO DARN MAD!!!!!!! What are the Romulon's always doing in the Neutral Zone anyway? Hey! Looking for a fight with the Federation and trying to kill humans.

This ep is one that proves Miles and Keiko should never have married. If I had been carry on the way she did, I NEVER would gotten married EVER.

And Data writing to that god awful Maddox that wanted to pull him apart in THE MEASURE OF A MAN.......well, Data will never understand how to be human because he can't run from danger.






Set Bookmark
Ravenna
Thu, May 25, 2017, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

@the sisko:

I tend not to agree with DLPB - in fact I generally find him/her lacking in basic reasoning skills.

However, when I see you simplify complex issues down to preschool-level rules, and see you call your adversary a "monster" for having opinions you disagree with, I am inclined to roll my eyes.

As far as the episode: I like it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, May 25, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Peter along your point I always thought of humans as the Mary Sue of the galaxy, prancing around titans and Gods and always somehow coming out winners.

I was watching Peak Performance yesterday and the part where Data notes the Zackdorn were renowned in the galaxy as master strategists for FIVE THOUSAND years. So basically they were intergalactic celebrities at a time when earth was still marvelling the wonder of agrigulture and written language. And yet these guys are just some aliens that belongs to a Federation run by humans from Earth...

Even in Encounter at Farpoint (and certainly in subsequent episodes like Hide and Q) we get this sense that the Gods themselves must be weary of mighty mankind.

Q Who is the first episode to my mind that really takes seriously the idea that man is not the centre of the universe. Even previous episodes (like EAF) which SAY this never quite SHOW it or convince us that the story really believes it. Part of this is just due to the conventions of TV at the time and maybe part of it is due to Rodenberry's influence? I can't rightly say.
Set Bookmark
Jason
Wed, May 24, 2017, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

What gets me is that no one questions Kwan jumping through a force field to his death. Typically, things bounce off /people are blocked from passing through force fields, except for those in the shuttle bays. Seems odd that such a dangerous area would have a passable force field.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

That and you can only hit about a square foot of the QB and then only for a couple split seconds... it's gonna be flag football before you know it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Chuck,

"One need go no further than the "Alien Nation" series of mid-1990s to find this exact concept, even down to the Binnaum (the Tenktonese version of the cogenitor) who was also saddled with what appeared to be an under-educated or under-appreciated image. The only real difference between the cogenitor of ENT vs. the Binnaum of AN fame was that the Binnaum, while relatively "dumb" in appearance (Albert was at a menial job with the police department) was in fact a revered figure in the religious rites of the Tenktonese."

I wasn't aware. I keep tellng myself to watch that series.

That said, nothing is new on TV. Nothing. Just wrapped differently.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Don't agree Real Human Robot.

On a couple fronts...

#1, this isn't a US asylumn issue.

#2. None of these exist buy any information we know other than "I can read now" from "it".

"refugees fleeing persecution have the right to be granted asylum. That Charles' predicament constitutes persecution is quite clear, given its definition within, for example, the United States' court system, which lists numerous types of harm that apply here: forced labor (and possibly sexual abuse), slavery, unlawful detention, intimidation, interference with privacy, deliberate deprivation of employment and other life essentials, and restrictions on access to education."

You, as so many do, are making HUMAN assumptions based on human values learn from human experiences on Earth.

You can't do that. You have no evidence that this "it" was abused or persecuted at all.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 24, 2017, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Gooz,

I agree with you here concerning Bashir Gooz. I still can't really believe this got past anyone in charge of DS9.

Now I can't say I'm with you concerning Lauren... what's to dislike? .. a brilliant sexy woman? :-)
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, May 23, 2017, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

What’s so bad about feeling good? The colonists had purpose enough to farm and cultivate food to live. Their health improved to a perfect condition. And they now knew the cure for it. (I would like to know what happened to the animals they’d brought with them. The answer given to that question was evasive.) It seems like the planet possibly could be developed for a recovery facility, under certain conditions. And it was good seeing Jill Ireland again.
Set Bookmark
Real Human Robot
Tue, May 23, 2017, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I think the reason that this episode has resulted in such divisive (not to mention lengthy) commentary is because not one, but two officers can be seen as dropping the ball in the way that they relate to the Vissians.

Although I empathize with Trip's desire to help the Cogenitor (Charles from now on), I can also understand how many commenters here believe he was wrong to interfere. After all, considering the likely practical consequences of Trip's actions, he wasn't ultimately doing a very good job of advancing the cause of the Cogenitors. The establishing of normalized diplomatic and cultural relations would have gone a long way towards allowing the two species to understand and influence one another. And that relationship would have allowed for the human concept of individual rights – for all – to permeate the Vissian society and hopefully help to liberate the three percent of their race being currently oppressed. But Trip severely damaged what could have been an otherwise successful first contact through duplicitous meddling (including lying about where he was and visiting the quarters of the chief engineer without permission). As a result, the Vissians, fearing and mistrusting the influence of humanity, may go to great lengths to avoid them in the future. And since Charles is dead, it's not as though they – I think that's the best pronoun to refer to the Cogenitor sex – will be able to inspire any revolutions at home. So if Trip really wanted to help these people, he's not done so in a very effective way, and he probably should have just kept his nose out of their business. It also wasn't as though anyone had come to him asking for help. Not to mention, rushing off to play the White Knight can often be dangerous. Oftentimes a person can become emotionally invested in a cause about which he knows just enough to be dangerous.

However, once Trip had interfered and had opened Charles' eyes to the possibilities of life, Archer absolutely had an obligation to honor their request for asylum, whether it was politically inconvenient or not. I understand his confusion about what was “right” at this point. He's enjoyed his time with the Vissian captain. He wants to try to salvage what he can of a first contact which, up unto this point, had been one of the shining stars of their mission. He's hearing T'Pol argue strongly for Charles' return. But all of that is made irrelevant by the very clear path which millennia of human international law and tradition have laid out for him regarding asylum. As far back as ancient Greece, slaves had the acknowledged right to flee abusive masters and, reaching a temple or altar, demand to be transferred to a more benevolent person. And our own twentieth and twenty-first century law lays out the framework for asylum quite distinctly: refugees fleeing persecution have the right to be granted asylum. That Charles' predicament constitutes persecution is quite clear, given its definition within, for example, the United States' court system, which lists numerous types of harm that apply here: forced labor (and possibly sexual abuse), slavery, unlawful detention, intimidation, interference with privacy, deliberate deprivation of employment and other life essentials, and restrictions on access to education. The United Nations definition of a refugee (from the Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees amended by the 1967 Protocol) specifically mentions membership in a caste or social group as one of the protected grounds – and Charles' Cogenitor status obviously qualifies. Finally, what completes the UN definition of a refugee is that he is outside the country of his nationality. Once Charles is on board Enterprise (a ship flying the flag of Earth, so to speak), they are no longer in Vissian territory. Archer can ream out Trip all he wants for getting him into this predicament, but his failure to accept the asylum claim flies in the face of every legal and moral human tradition he claims to uphold. In fact, returning Charles is a violation of the central doctrine of refugee protection: non-refoulement.

Archer seems stuck in the sort of emotionally-based logic common to borderline personality, rather than dealing with the situation as it is now. He wishes Trip had never interfered. Sending back Charles is an attempt to make it as though Trip had never interfered. Ergo he sends them back. But that's not the reality. Charles is a different person now. Charles is asking for his help now. And in my opinion, it's far more wrong for him to deny Charles their right to self-determination than it ever was for Trip to stick his nose in where it didn't belong. What matters here is that Charles is a person with desires and rights – and seeing not only their own culture willing to trample on them but also this new alien one would be more than many people could take: it might just seem like the whole universe was unjust.

I don't think Picard would have answered the question this way. In “The Outcast,” although he can't officially sanction Riker's rescue of Soren, he doesn't stop him from acting independently, and it's hard to believe that Riker would have made the attempt if he didn't believe that, once Soren was liberated from detention, her request for asylum from the Federation would have been granted.
Set Bookmark
Linda
Tue, May 23, 2017, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

So a few episodes ago, most of the crew was getting letters from home. Paris hadn’t gotten such a letter and if he would get one, he wasn’t sure it’d be something he’d want to read. So maybe he had that in his head and it affected him.

But even given that, this episode wasn’t at all compelling. There wasn’t even good techno-babble. And the alien may have also been a pilot, but didn’t Paris have to log into the computer with his own password at some point? How would the alien know that? And it doesn’t even matter. Time’s up, episode’s over. Doc’s fixes all off-camera and the reset button is hit. Hopefully we’re due for a better episode soon.

But I’ve got to agree with whoever about the comment about Paris’ duties in sickbay. It was one thing when he helped out because he had some basic first-aid knowledge. But the stuff Doc wants to teach now, I have to believe there’d be a better candidate than the ace pilot of the ship.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 23, 2017, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

Ratings is commonly used to justify a series "success". By the end of BSG, they had an all out campaign in an attempt to find new viewership. Not that I hated the series, (I bought it) had they continued what they started in seasons 1 & 2 I would have put it up there with Firefly. Too many unanswered big questions in the finale. They had no idea what they were doing during seasons's 3 & 4.

Enterprise suffered from what I call "B&B fatigue". They had just done too much trek over the years. Coto brought new life in but it was too late. Now, a new series is coming out, trying to be different and getting pummeled for it.... and not one episode has even aired yet. I swear, there is no fan-base harder to please than trek. Coto gave them exactly what they were clammoring for and they didn't come back and watch.

Jammer's right, we should compair apple to apples. The problem is, the Apples for ENT S1&2 weren't fresh and new so it took unjust criticism for that while BSG was ALL new and folks loved it for that. The wrting on BSG early was outstanding too. What's funny is, even though we think BSG was so good, especially early on, it still didn't pull really good numbers. One has to wonder why.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 23, 2017, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Gooz,

"First, to expect anyone other than a fringe of humans wasting hours on a game where nothing happens for hours is one thing (I mean look at soccer and Cricket), because you can attribute it to cultural baggage from back in the days when there was nothing more interesting to do than sit through 9 innings. But, to expect logical vulcans to do this is just beyond the pale. "

First, it's boring because you don't understand it. There's more going on during every pitch than you can shake a stick at.

Baseball will survive longer than American football... they've already made too many changes to football and there will be so many more coming that the game might as well not exist.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, May 23, 2017, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

RMM I think it safe to say that Picard would never voluntarily remind anyone of the Borg incident.

But it is a little curious that Jellico never mentions it in passing, given that it's almost certainly a central item in Riker's CV.

Indeed, if I may speculate a little outside the four corners of the story, I think that Riker would have to be something of a celebrity in Starfleet due to his defeating the Borg. Knowing what I know about Jellico, his disdain for Riker could be driven by a degree of professional jealosy, which would be made worse by Riker's loose obeisance to Starfleet protocal and his personal charisma.

In other words, Jellico may perceive Riker as someone who feels above the chain of command (and the rules) who feels his special status gives him license to do his own thing.

As I said it is speculative but certainly plausible given what we know about Riker and Jellico.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, May 22, 2017, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

Hello Everyone!

@Ben S.

I'd thought about that a time or two. I always figured the machine destroyed the Drake. And since they found no wreckage, I can only surmise the machine also cleans up after itself, using whatever it finds in the wreckage to further the machine. Heh, I have to think that, since it was never mentioned.

A good point though, and it should have been addressed.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
Ben S.
Mon, May 22, 2017, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

As much as I enjoyed this episode, the gaping plot hole in the center of the story must be obvious only to me, given that no one else has mentioned it.

The Enterprise went to the planet to find out about the missing ship, the USS Drake, and Riker even seemed enthusiastic that the ship might still be around after encountering a fake version of his friend.

By the end of the episode, however, this plot point seems to have been completely forgotten. There is no mention of trying to find the USS Drake or ever returning to see what happened to them. In the end, it served as nothing more than a convenient carrot to lure the crew into the plot.

A good episode, but some closure to all the given plot pieces might have been nice.
Set Bookmark
Martin
Mon, May 22, 2017, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

Good episode overall but the sheer size of the cortical node cracks me up every time. Seven must be missing quite a chunk of brain to be able to fit that thing in her head. I'm surprised she wasn't hired as a Voyager writer...

So when Janeway, Tuvok and Torres were assimilated, not only did none of them lose an eye or arm as most new drones do, but they seemingly weren't fitted with this oh-so important brain node? Let's not forget they were fully Borg, armour and all, and we even saw Janeway getting extra stuff bolted on (onto and into her head too) but the Borg didn't give them one of those at the same time?

Speaking of "Unimatrix Zero", couldn't there have been some call back to that episode? Not with Seven's emotions as Axum was a bore, but with the Borg civil war. The convienient Borg debris field they passed a week ago could have been from the fighting between the Collective and the freed drones. Or even one of the ones the Queen self destructed. And it would have only required a line or two of dialogue. They had Janeway say they passed the debris a week ago in an expanse with an actual name (that she knew somehow). Why not have her say "Harry, the Borg Queen blew up a cube a few light years from here, scan for it". Still would have been contrived, but a nice call back at least. It's that kind of thing that would have made a nice difference to those of us that care about that sort of thing, but lazy writing trumps actual effort.

As for the new Delta Flyer, it didn't bother me. They've been building shuttles out of nothing since start. Hell, they built the first Flyer from nothing in a rush. Hopefully they also solved the problem of how to fit the Flyer, Baxial and assorted Type-6/8/9 shuttles into Shuttlebay 2 (it's Voyager's one and only shuttlebay, so of course it's name wouldn't make sense. I assume Shuttlebay 1 is a police box that the shuttles fly into on their way in).
Next ►Page 1 of 581
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.