Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 116 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Thu, Nov 12, 2015, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

This was terrible.

And people complain that "new movies" aren't Star Trek?

This wasn't Star Trek either.

I'm disgusted. I've never been so angry at a TV screen, not even when watching Enterprise's "Dear Doctor" or the TNG episode where they basically pressure a man to accept being euthanized at 60.

Awful, awful.

And I really got into VOY. To me it's the most like TOS, so I'm not anti-VOY at all. Quite the contrary.

Sometimes you just wanna smack those writers left and right. Sad to say, that IMO Star Trek as a whole could have been a whole lot better with better writers. Sometimes I feel like it's become such a success despite so much poor writing and poor realization of great ideas. It's almost a miracle it survived as long as it did.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Mon, Nov 3, 2014, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

I just don't care about Bajorans. And even less so about Bajoran farming communities.

Boring.



Set Bookmark
Moonie
Thu, May 15, 2014, 9:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

Strangely I liked this one a lot better than All our yesterdays even though it included yet another instant love story.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, May 14, 2014, 11:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Honestly at this point I am just about fed up with those instant love stories that make the captain, the doctor and now the science officer want to leave their lives, their centuries, their friends behind for a scantily-clad woman they've known all of two hours. Too bad none of TOS' main crew ever got to have a healthy normal romantic relationship with a member of the opposite sex - maybe this is why they hooked Spock up with Uhura in the new movies. Those men act like they've never seen a woman before, much less been in an actual relationship with one.

No, I didn't like this episode. But maybe that's because I just want to be done with the disaster that is TOS season 3.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, May 10, 2014, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

Two stars?? This must be the TOS bonus.

Awful, boring, terrible.

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

For me the best part of this episode was Quark's speech to Sisko. I realized Quark was right! When I started watching DS9 after TNG, I thought I would have to at best "tolerate" the Quark-episodes... but now I find I'm looking forward to them and I like that he's such a major character in the show. I saw him and Rene Auberjonois at a convention recently and they have wonderful chemistry between them.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 1:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

I liked this episode a lot. Time travel stories always require even more suspension of disblief than other stories. I thought this was a good one, but I'm a big fan of time travel and parallel universes.

With two exceptions:

Old T'Pol was terrible (at least I thought so) and I'm getting really tired of Acher's unkempt, grim, unshaven look. Next episode should be "Archer takes a shower - Finally". I understand he carries the weight of the world, the fate of the earth on his shoulders... but everyone else still manages to look somehow civilized.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

Boring.

I find the glorification of archaic warrior cultures just as annoying as the glorification of the "simple life".

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 10:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

Hmmm I would give this at least 3 stars. I always like episodes that deal with "what is the nature of life?" questions.

Also, it was an Odo-centric episode!! He's by far my favorite charctr, maybe in all of Star Trek.

I don't understand why this gets a worse rating than the terrible "Paradise".
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 4:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

And yet another episode wherein Star Trek glorifies the simple life.

I can't find the words to express how much I hate those kind of episodes. I really wish this stupid idea, that primitive simple life is in some way superior, could finally be erased from human consciousness. Oh how I wish I could send all those delusional idiots back in time to the 1600s or 1700s or even just the 1920s...

At least it wasn't as bad as Insurrection or This side of Paradise.

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Tue, Mar 25, 2014, 2:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Strangely I liked this episode much better than TOS' Spectre of the gun or TNG's Fistful of Datas (really disliked both of those).

I think ENT season 3 is pretty good so far.
Set Bookmark
moonie
Wed, Mar 19, 2014, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

Terrible.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sun, Feb 16, 2014, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Ye, the way the Vulcans were portrayed, really pissed me off. I wasn't going to let that stop me because I more or less want to watch everything Star Trek. So I try to ignore what I don't like - portrayal of the Vulcans, the occasional continuity blunder or Archer's behavior. I still find enough things I like. I like Trip, Phlox and Hoshi, and at this point in my ENT adventure, I've just seen three great episodes in a row (Jammer gave them 3,5 and 4 stars so it's not just me ;-)), so it's definitely growing on me. I've just finished season 7 of TNG, and that really wasn't all that great either.

The relationship between Archer and T'Pol gains more depth as the series goes on.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sun, Feb 16, 2014, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Wow, three great ENT episodes in a row! I'm really beginning to love ENT at this point. This is exactly what I expected more of - Starfleet history. Well done.

Admiral Forrest's office looked like straight out of a TOS episode, nicely done.

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sun, Feb 16, 2014, 6:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

The first time I watched Emissary yesterday, I thought it was too log and a bit boring. I liked the characters - Odo, Sisko and Kira in particular. And Quark's bar sure seems much lively than Ten-Forward ever was. Today, I rewatched the key scenes - I mean the plot key scenes, not the character key scenes - discovery of the wormhole, Sisko's dialogue with the Aliens, mostly - and while yesterday, it was still behind Broken Bow in my ratings of Trek pilot episodes, it's now ranked first for me. I think the 3,5 stars sound about right. Farpoint was not a good pilot - yes it had a "spark", and it was the beginning of my favorite series, but as an episode, it really wasn't that strong IMO. And "Where no man has gone before" almost turned me off TOS completely. (I haven't seen Caretaker yet.) It made me look forward to watching the series and that is what a pilot is supposed to do.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, Feb 15, 2014, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

@ NoPoet, this s exactly why I'm having so much trouble with season 3 of TOS. I've seen too many of the same plots and at this point, they just leave me cold.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, Feb 15, 2014, 6:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I think this was my favorite episode so far. A good plot, and Trip-centered (my favorite character).

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, Feb 12, 2014, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

@ NoPoet, I thought the first season had a few episodes that were based on really good ideas, and even the second wasn't all that bad, but the third.....I have a really hard time making it through it. This one is next, and I'm dreading it. I love the Spock/Kirk dynamic/relationship, but as far as the shows go, I'm with you, TOS is my least favorite. I think it has not aged well. Then again I remember even from back when I was a kid in the 70s, that a lot of it seemed pretty ridiculous to me. When I decided to rewatch, I dreaded revisiting all those Earth-like plants because I had vivid memores of those. The only one of those episodes I enjoy, is A Piece of the Action, because it was such great comedy.

Ok, I'll watch this one now. I'm too OCD to skip episodes in my Watch-all-of-Trek-marathon.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Wed, Feb 12, 2014, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

Cute. The Enterprise comes alive and creates life. Not a bad idea.

Could have been really good. Sadly, it was not.

Set Bookmark
moonie
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

God how I hate the Klingons and their culture.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 12:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Space Indians. Ugh.

Same issue I've had with Insurrection.

Also selfish, selfish people. But of course they are "noble savages". Ugh again.

Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sun, Feb 9, 2014, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Well. Masks, Sub Rosa and Genesis - could it get any worse?? What were they thinking? I hope I've made it through the really terrible episodes of TNG season 7 by now.

I'd hate to think what someone new to Trek would think of it if their introduction to it was any of those three episodes. At least Spock's brain has the excuse of being made in the 1960s. But this is 1990s TV?? Doesn't look like it. Terrible.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, Feb 8, 2014, 4:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Wow, how utterly disappointing. Agree with Jammer, the opening scenes with that huge ship swallowing the Enterprise, were quite promising. And then it just went downhills. At the end, I was waiting for the conclusion - you know, actually communicating with the lifeforms, trying to find a way to save them, which is what both Kirk and Picard would have done - and then they just blew the whole ship up. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, Feb 8, 2014, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I thought this was a pretty ok episode. I'm not a fan of the prime directive though.
Set Bookmark
Moonie
Sat, Feb 8, 2014, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Ummm. Hard to believe this was made in 1994.

Awkward.

Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.