Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 121 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Satie's pet betazoid was able to to tell that the Klingon spy was telling the truth about not sabotaging the engines. She then jumped to the conclusion that he must have had assistance. Why did she not just ask the Klingon if he acted alone? Her betazoid would have been able to tell there and then that there was no conspiracy.

Apart from that point, I don't think this story fits into the trek world at all. We're constantly shown how society has evolved into something close to utopia, yet they expect us to believe this kind of rubbish could still occur. I call bs.

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 7:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Thanks Jammer. After the yawnfest of part 1, I came here first before going for the second episode. Now I can just skip it and move on. You've saved me from another hour of tedium.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 6:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

@Luke: glad someone else noticed worf's bad behaviour. He threatened to kill the Yridian if he didn't take him to the prison. Very un-starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 7:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I just can't take sirtis seriously anymore. I can't agree with those above who applaud her acting in this episode. She really only varies between playing a victim, and shouting at someone, with very little in between. Just comes across as whiny imo.



Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

On another note:

Picard has the enterprise perform a caesarean on the dead alien and birth an infant. Then he just wants to fly away and leave a newborn to its own devices? I find this incredibly hard to believe.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Geordie should have gotten the hint long before Leah had to tell him she was married. Simple.

There's nothing wrong with showing interest in someone (although in the workplace it should be handled with caution) but when the other person shows no interest that's when the game is over. If you push it further you are entering the realm of creepiness.

Leah absolutely did not owe Geordie an apology.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

This is a good episode. But...

What the hell is going on with the phoenix? Where's the doctor to relieve him of duty? Where's the counsellor to prevent him cracking up in the first place?

I can't believe that starfleet wouldn't have strict protocols to prevent exactly this kind of situation.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Fri, Aug 18, 2017, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Awful, just awful.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 5:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Why does Picard want to return to his original age? I can understand the others, being relatively young, but Picard is not far from old age. I'm 45, and I would jump at the chance to be young again. OK maybe not 12yo, but I would have liked him to ask the doctor if she could shave a few years off...

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Speaking for those of us who don't find Troi physically attractive (I think she's actually quite ugly), this is an insufferable episode. I wish I could find her attractive, then maybe I could overlook what a whiny, know it all bitch she really is.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, May 3, 2017, 6:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

@Ildaf
I think the main problem is continuity. 8472 were first depicted as an invasive species intent on wiping out life in the universe. They were later shown to be victims who just wanted to be left alone. I think the writers are at fault here.

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 4:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

@Latex Zebra: that's what holo-janitors are for. "clean up on aisle 5".
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 5:59am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Skeptical: I absolutely agree with you. It's not that voyager isn't good, it's just that it should have been so much better.

I've railed at the writers many (many) times over the course of this rewatch (3rd or 4th - not sure). I've found myself wondering at the cause. We know that they can produce excellence but sadly, that it was all too seldom. Is this because of time constraints? Were they under too much pressure to produce scripts on time, and couldn't allocate enough resources to ensure good work? Did they not have enough budget to have an employee cross-checking previous episodes to ensure that they weren't contradicting themselves?

I know I'll probably never have the answers I seek. I just can't escape the feeling that the producers took a "near enough is good enough" approach. It seems to me that quantity was far more important than quality. I guess that's business though.

I could go on but what's the point. It's done and dusted and you either like it or you don't. :(

Thanks to anyone who has actually read my postings. I know they're more often than not the ramblings of a disaffected (deranged?) aging Sci Fi fan, but I've enjoyed reading everyone's thoughts here, and hopefully even given someone else some enjoyment (or a laugh).

Goodbye all. I'll start another Trek series soon so maybe see you there...
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 5:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Like a lot of people here, I'm left feeling a little flat. It wasn't a bad ending, but wasn't great either. Can be said for the whole series really.

I've watched all 7 seasons over about 6 weeks, and honestly I'm not sure if I'll do it again.

So much lost potential. What could have been great, was merely mediocre. Alas.

2.5 stars is my rating for the entire voyager series.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 7:36am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

This is the penultimate episode?

2 stars. Very middle-of-the-road stuff.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Not much to add. Just a nice, heartfelt goodbye to Neelix.

3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 4:05am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Has no-one here read Asimov? This is Not a rip-off of Measure of a Man, they are both rip-offs of Bicentennial Man. Asimov was contemplating the nuances of AI rights in the 1970s.

I didn't like the docs holo-novel. He's not an idiot. Either he portrayed the characters that way because he honestly feels oppressed, or we're to believe that he had no idea that his friends would be offended. I don't believe either of those to be true. I believe the Doc is grateful to have the chance to improve himself, and is proud of his accomplishments.

That aside I still enjoyed it: 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 7:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I didn't mind it. I've liked all the Q episodes to some degree, mainly for John deLancie. He's just got such great comic delivery. Pity his son doesn't rise to his standard...

"kitchen rat" cracked me up. It was "Bar rodent" in one of the other voyager Q episodes. Both great Neelix insults.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 6:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

@Yanks: I agree with you here. The writers definitely have a lot to answer for, but I don't see this as one of their screw-ups. Yes, the ending could have been handled better, but overall a pretty good effort.

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 5:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

@Skeptical: I had to laugh at your first line "I don't have much to say about this episode", since it was the prelude to a lengthy post! But once again I find myself in agreement. I thought this dragged a little, and could definitely have been a better single episode.

I knew I'd seen that Kaden character before, but I never would have picked him for Ralph Malph from Happy Days! And directed by Potsie no less.

3 stars
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 1:40am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

@John: I'm with you buddy. Jacks post is typical of the far left pc crowd. Basically if anybody doesn't agree with them its because they're intellectually inferior or morally corrupt. What a fuckwit. At least he has the decency to admit he "might be self-righteous". I would also add arrogant.

In Australia we executed our last criminal in the late 60s. Personally I would like to see it reinstated for the most extreme cases. What I would like more though, is mandatory chemical (or physical) castration for rapists and paedophiles. I would be interested to hear what jack thinks of that...

Did enjoy the episode though. 3 stars sounds about right.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 12:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

To quote the great Mephyve: "ugh. Another hospital episode."

I normally like medical episodes but I didn't think much of this one. This could have been a reasonable B story, but a whole episode... No thanks.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sun, Nov 20, 2016, 8:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Is it just me or was that swamp at the beginning the same one Paris and Janeway slithered out of in "Threshold"?

@Trip: couldn't agree more about your comments re Technological Singularity. This is fast approaching and not enough people are concerned about it. As you're probably aware the US is now spending up big on AI weapon development. Thankfully a large portion of the scientific community has expressed their concern over this, but, as with pretty much all scientific endeavour, if it can be done it will be done.

@Skeptical: I agree with everything you said with one exception: whilst there were hints that Iden was presenting a false impression for the doctor, I thought his God complex still came out of left field. Up to that point his actions (whilst somewhat extreme) could be justified.

Overall I really enjoyed this episode but I'm disappointed that they made Iden into a villain. I think this would have been much better if they had kept the morally ambiguous tone, rather than the black and white scenario that it became towards the end.

These episodes that highlight the nature of sentience and the rights of holograms remind me of "Bicentennial Man" (robin williams). Whilst its wasn't the best movie, it still did a great job of exploring the possibilities. Personally I'm a firm believer in AI rights. I think Asimov is going to turn out to be an extremely accurate prophet regarding the nature of artificial life.

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sun, Nov 20, 2016, 6:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Whilst I agree with most people about the ham-fistedness of the writers in dealing with Harry, I think his micro-managing as captain can at least be partially excused by the fact that his crew didn't know how to pilot the ship. The guy he had on the helm had only piloted shuttles and basically said he had no clue. Still made me cringe though.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sun, Nov 20, 2016, 5:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

@Skeptical: whilst I normally agree with your posts, I gotta go with yanks on this one.

I've always enjoyed the doctor. Sure he's a narcissistic jerk, but to me it seems that he's totally oblivious of his jerkdom. George Costanza was similar but he's still one of my all time favourite characters.

But we all have characters that piss us off. It's a shame for you that yours gets so much screen time.

Jeri Ryan = amazing.

3.5 stars
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.