Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 276 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Satie's pet betazoid was able to to tell that the Klingon spy was telling the truth about not sabotaging the engines. She then jumped to the conclusion that he must have had assistance. Why did she not just ask the Klingon if he acted alone? Her betazoid would have been able to tell there and then that there was no conspiracy.

Apart from that point, I don't think this story fits into the trek world at all. We're constantly shown how society has evolved into something close to utopia, yet they expect us to believe this kind of rubbish could still occur. I call bs.

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 7:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Thanks Jammer. After the yawnfest of part 1, I came here first before going for the second episode. Now I can just skip it and move on. You've saved me from another hour of tedium.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Sep 4, 2017, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

@Luke: glad someone else noticed worf's bad behaviour. He threatened to kill the Yridian if he didn't take him to the prison. Very un-starfleet.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 7:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I just can't take sirtis seriously anymore. I can't agree with those above who applaud her acting in this episode. She really only varies between playing a victim, and shouting at someone, with very little in between. Just comes across as whiny imo.



Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

On another note:

Picard has the enterprise perform a caesarean on the dead alien and birth an infant. Then he just wants to fly away and leave a newborn to its own devices? I find this incredibly hard to believe.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Geordie should have gotten the hint long before Leah had to tell him she was married. Simple.

There's nothing wrong with showing interest in someone (although in the workplace it should be handled with caution) but when the other person shows no interest that's when the game is over. If you push it further you are entering the realm of creepiness.

Leah absolutely did not owe Geordie an apology.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Aug 22, 2017, 7:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

This is a good episode. But...

What the hell is going on with the phoenix? Where's the doctor to relieve him of duty? Where's the counsellor to prevent him cracking up in the first place?

I can't believe that starfleet wouldn't have strict protocols to prevent exactly this kind of situation.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Fri, Aug 18, 2017, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Awful, just awful.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Why does Picard want to return to his original age? I can understand the others, being relatively young, but Picard is not far from old age. I'm 45, and I would jump at the chance to be young again. OK maybe not 12yo, but I would have liked him to ask the doctor if she could shave a few years off...

Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Aug 16, 2017, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

Speaking for those of us who don't find Troi physically attractive (I think she's actually quite ugly), this is an insufferable episode. I wish I could find her attractive, then maybe I could overlook what a whiny, know it all bitch she really is.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, May 3, 2017, 6:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

@Ildaf
I think the main problem is continuity. 8472 were first depicted as an invasive species intent on wiping out life in the universe. They were later shown to be victims who just wanted to be left alone. I think the writers are at fault here.

Set Bookmark
Mike Satirano
Mon, Apr 3, 2017, 2:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

I'm a pretty big fan of DS9, and saw this episode a few years ago when it came on Netflix, and remember liking it. I'm sorry to leave such a negative comment. I'm sure there are a lot of fans of this ep.

1. Premise-
I'm really confused as to what's going on here. Why is each side transporting company sized elements down to an asteroid/moon? I understand why Starfleet people would be there on the ground, but any battle should happen above. If the Dominion wins that, then they would go down and wipe out the ground personnel. Conversely, The defiant just watches a transport unload a bunch of Jem Hadar. The Defiant has enough firepower alone, to wipe out every living thing on a planet. I watched the first few minutes again, but no reason is given

2.Cliche
This is what really got to me. The whole episode is one giant cliche, made up of dozens of smaller clich├ęs. Literally everything is standard fare war movie. There's a guy sharpening his "non SF issued knife." There's the crazy guy who not only pulls a gun on a SF officer and Doctor, he's responsible for a friendly fire incident! What the hell? And when he talks about his bandage, it's a cliche of cliche "I hated him. He was always talking. Then he was dead, and wasn't talking no more." There are many more. OMIGOSH, it was too too much.

3: Contrivances
Why is Quark there? Would the president of a foreign nation send his son in law to this place? For??? I think he's just there to call the Feds hypocrites. He does that a lot now. Why is Nog so contemptuous of Quark all of the sudden? And why is Ezri there? Oddly enough, her and Engineer dude are the only moments I enjoyed. Even though Ezri came with Expo dumps about her past. Which is I guess what this episode truly lacks: Any form of subtlety.

Lastly, I like Vic, but the opening scene with Rom took me straight back to the 90's. Like back when I used to watch TV... I seriously got that feeling in my stomach. Let's call it "acute temporal effasia."

P.S. There's a little known Voyager episode called "Nemesis" That handles this subject Much better. It has a really ambiguous ending(in a good way), and doesn't slap us over the with "World War II: Star Trek Version: Hollywood Edition.
Set Bookmark
biochemikerin
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Glad that others have pointed out the hypocrisy in Kellin's lack of repentance and awareness regarding her former profession and subsequent 180. I love Virginia Madsen, but this character really creeped me out. I mean Kellin came back to Voyager knowing full well that Chakotay wouldn't remember her, yet she did very little to anticipate or allay his initial discomfort and confusion. Instead of letting the re-introduction happen organically, she engages in what appears to be gaslighting, recounting stories and intimate details he can't possibly recall sharing with her. I don't know what healthy adult would respond well to that. This episode gets hard to watch in places.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

It was cool to see Janeway demonstrating real courage during the rescue mission. She is great in this episode. Really liked B'Elana in her boots. Tuvok is badass.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 4:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

@Latex Zebra: that's what holo-janitors are for. "clean up on aisle 5".
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Dec 31, 2016, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I have an alternative theory about the end. The Admiral realized he wasn't going win, so he sabatoged Lal, and caused the "cascade failure." It was literally the first thing that popped into my head when he walked out of the room and said "His hands.....moved..so..fast..etc, etc" I
He looked guilty and disingenuous. I don't know what he did, but he DID something.

2.899999-3.122222 stars
Set Bookmark
Mike
Fri, Dec 16, 2016, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I loved the film as well.
To me it was my most enjoyable Star Wars experience since Empire. I am a fan who saw Star Wars in 1977 when I was 8 years old and have been a fan ever since. I found Jedi and the prequels to be disappointing. I did think TFA was a good start for the new trilogy but Rogue One brought back that feeling from the 1st two movies. Maybe it was seeing Darth Vader (in his prime) again but I really felt like this film captured the spirit of the early films. I have also seen some complaints about the CGI, but I loved that Tarkin was back and it did not take me out of the film like it did for others. I did not look at it like "that actor has been dead for 20 years", but rather that this was a character that was integral to this story line, and made it feel more like the movie was taking place in that time period.
Set Bookmark
Mike Satirano
Thu, Dec 15, 2016, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

I thought this was a very good Episode. I think it's pretty clear that Tolaris was just a creep. Every Society has them, and This group of heterodox Vulcans might be prone to attract a few. To someone like Tolaris, T'Pol would be quite vulnerable. He probes her and makes calculated risks throughout the episode, getting past her defenses. In fact, we know he's a creep because the episode tells us.

Archer: "Hey Trip, what's up with that Vulcan dude that T'Pol is all of the sudden spending so much time with?"

Trip: "I dunno, he's quiet, sullen, kinda weird. You Jealous, bro?"
(Paraphrase)

We see that Kov and the Vulcaptain are quite balanced, and Kov is just a likeable guy(to contrast the creep) Archer tries to persuade him to call his Dad BECAUSE HE WAS ASKED TO by his boss. Trip does the same because He was asked to by HIS boss, and Trip is a caring guy.

Finally, the scene with Tolaris near the end. I think you guys are reading to much into his comment "You planned this." Archer was doing his job, that is, confronting the "Son of a *****" that assaulted his science officer. He wanted to know what happened and why...quite understandable, and realistic. After a few questions Archer realizes Tolaris is dangerous man and warns him to stay away from T'Pol. Tolaris, unstable as he is, can't handle this, and loses his temper.

The episode ends on a happy note with Kov calling his pops, and a nice closing scene with Archer and T'Pol coming to a greater understanding of each other.

Set Bookmark
Mike
Wed, Dec 14, 2016, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I'm having trouble why this episode keeps getting compared to Voyager? I don't remember any episodes with this premise except for TNG's "Genesis" Before anyone says "Threshold", that was nothing like this episode, nor was it something Voyager ever did twice.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 5:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Skeptical: I absolutely agree with you. It's not that voyager isn't good, it's just that it should have been so much better.

I've railed at the writers many (many) times over the course of this rewatch (3rd or 4th - not sure). I've found myself wondering at the cause. We know that they can produce excellence but sadly, that it was all too seldom. Is this because of time constraints? Were they under too much pressure to produce scripts on time, and couldn't allocate enough resources to ensure good work? Did they not have enough budget to have an employee cross-checking previous episodes to ensure that they weren't contradicting themselves?

I know I'll probably never have the answers I seek. I just can't escape the feeling that the producers took a "near enough is good enough" approach. It seems to me that quantity was far more important than quality. I guess that's business though.

I could go on but what's the point. It's done and dusted and you either like it or you don't. :(

Thanks to anyone who has actually read my postings. I know they're more often than not the ramblings of a disaffected (deranged?) aging Sci Fi fan, but I've enjoyed reading everyone's thoughts here, and hopefully even given someone else some enjoyment (or a laugh).

Goodbye all. I'll start another Trek series soon so maybe see you there...
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 5:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Like a lot of people here, I'm left feeling a little flat. It wasn't a bad ending, but wasn't great either. Can be said for the whole series really.

I've watched all 7 seasons over about 6 weeks, and honestly I'm not sure if I'll do it again.

So much lost potential. What could have been great, was merely mediocre. Alas.

2.5 stars is my rating for the entire voyager series.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

This is the penultimate episode?

2 stars. Very middle-of-the-road stuff.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Not much to add. Just a nice, heartfelt goodbye to Neelix.

3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Tue, Nov 22, 2016, 4:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Has no-one here read Asimov? This is Not a rip-off of Measure of a Man, they are both rip-offs of Bicentennial Man. Asimov was contemplating the nuances of AI rights in the 1970s.

I didn't like the docs holo-novel. He's not an idiot. Either he portrayed the characters that way because he honestly feels oppressed, or we're to believe that he had no idea that his friends would be offended. I don't believe either of those to be true. I believe the Doc is grateful to have the chance to improve himself, and is proud of his accomplishments.

That aside I still enjoyed it: 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Mikey
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I didn't mind it. I've liked all the Q episodes to some degree, mainly for John deLancie. He's just got such great comic delivery. Pity his son doesn't rise to his standard...

"kitchen rat" cracked me up. It was "Bar rodent" in one of the other voyager Q episodes. Both great Neelix insults.

2 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.