Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 126 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 10:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Nipply boobs indeed. Send the kiddies to bed next season.

And danged if that didn't satisfy a lot of the building up questions of what this show is going to be about and deal with, and at the same time raise the most questions of any Star Trek cliffhanger to date. Where are they? Are they even in the same universe anymore?

Did this just turn into Sliders with a Starship?
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Jack

["This episode gets a solid 1 star out of 4 for me. This is lazy showmaking. Step it up much beyond this, Mr. Meyer. Come on."

Is Meyer even involved in day to day decisions on the show?]

The fact that we can't tell is troubling in itself.

This was a weak episode, is my point.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Tangential: It is a big wall-banger for me to watch such vehement nerds attack the romantic chemistry of Burnham and Tyler. :| You try writing convincing romance in this cynical as (insert anglosaxon monosyllable) world.

I do agree about:

- Open-ended Mysteries For Their Own Sake.

This isn't going to end well. What was always cool about the writing on Star Trek was that the mysteries had a lot of thought put into them. If you end up putting too many mysteries in play, resolving them becomes an utter HELLJOB for the writers, and we will end up getting explanations in the end which a Packlid wouldn't buy. Watch it, producer man.

- Magical Plot-Resolving Convenient Science

Enough of this. Your show has already done this too many times. Start doing some research. I don't even want to go into examples, it's getting too frustrating keeping track of all the hand-waving. You may as well bring Ian McKellen on the show as Gandalf the Grey if you go much farther with it.

- The Tone of DISCO

Someone has said "If you want that uplifting, inspiring, warmfuzzyfeeling Trek, those shows have been made and are streamable now." I agree. This show's tone is up to IT to set, and your obsession with the words 'Star Trek' being EXACTLY what you think it is (IDIC, people) is probably doing more to interfere with your enjoyment of the show than anything you're seeing.

- Sonequa Martin-Green's Acting

...She was shaky in the first ep, I said so. This hasn't improved. Ms. Martin-Green is either being over-directed or just wasn't paying attention in acting school. Her character, whatever plots are being thrown at her, seems static and unchanging. The plot says she has developed, but the actress is still doing exactly the same notes as before. Someone needs to have a talk with either her or the director. She just isn't varied enough in her emotional throughput...I dunno. It's hard to put my finger on it. I feel like this character could be being portrayed better.

- The Slipshod Plot Progression

CLUSTER ####. That is all. It's been covered by others. This is the worst plotted ep of the series so far. Stop making magic science excuses. Stop making disjointed scenes go one right after another just to have the 'shock and awe' element to them. You aren't making a story, you're making a fireworks display. Stop it. Make a story.

- 'Ash/Voq'

Saru read his mind using the mind crystal thing from 'Aquiel.' Uhm...shouldn't Saru have realized he was Voq at that point, if he is Voq? He clearly states that he was able to see Tyler's intention to keep him there, but was that all he saw? Telepathy grey areas abound, but if he were a spy, I don't think he would have submitted to the Aquiel (TNG Season...5?) mind crystal thingie, unless he is profoundly stupid, which he doesn't seem to be.

This episode gets a solid 1 star out of 4 for me. This is lazy showmaking. Step it up much beyond this, Mr. Meyer. Come on.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

[quote]MisterWooster
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
I've been cruising these comment threads for a few weeks now, silently...[/QUOTE]

Well I'm not going to repost the whole thing but I read through it and the blog post you linked.

I have felt this way, about the fan communities of all things nerdy, since about 2004 or so, and I'd add to it, that it has become a contest of who remembers the most trivia knowledge, and the idea that these are stories we are supposed to relate to and allow to inform our daily lives, help promote introspection and self-examination, has been cast to the side. It's about the neat sweatshop produced collectibles that you bought off Amazon, rather than the way a character's death made you feel. It's about the number of lines you have memorized, rather than about how those lines made you feel when you first heard them.

People are growing increasingly agitated, paranoid, and vicious in this world, and are becoming far less inclined to be honest or vulnerable in any way. It's like we're all suffering from the effects of Bendai Syndrome :D Hee hee.

This is the world in which DISCO finds us. We are at the end of a particularly frayed and precarious rope, and the thematic central element, Lewis Carol's "Alice In Wonderland" beckons to us.

"If you can't take a little bloody nose, maybe you ought to go back home and crawl under your bed. It's not safe out here. It's wondrous, with treasures to satiate desires both subtle and gross. But it's not for the timid."

One wonders how far through the looking glass we've already progressed, and what lies ahead. These are strange times, and we have a strange trek.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Lorca is a slime ball! Geez!

This guy is the most unStarfleet Captain in the history of Starfleet Captains. Selling out your commanding officer/bang friend to the Klingons to keep your ship...detestable behavior. He hasn't a shred of honor.

This is very different for Trek. Very very different. This does not seem like it will end well. People are moving around in position on this ship, joining the crew and getting offered positions, and forging relationships as a result. Those relationships don't just *not* have TNG Plot Armour(tm) coating all round them, they stand a likely chance of totally falling apart at any moment.

This show is full of possibilities for tense scenes between people who think they trust each other and find out otherwise. I can see the conflicts forming already.

In every Trek outing on TV in the past, you kind of knew the 6-7-x number of regulars were going to continue to be in the show, more or less. This show seems like it's about to go very very wrong in that regard.

These people aren't likely to get along if the stuff hits the fan.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I forget who I'm quoting, just finished skimming the thread.

"• Archer, Kirk, Picard, Sisko and Janeway — even if they didn't like the guy — would have never, ever left a human (or, indeed, any Federation member race) civilian to languish as a prisoner aboard a Klingon vessel to be tortured, even during wartime. Even if said civilian had sold them out. That civilian would have been rescued, then brought to justice. Disgusting, and further evidence of this show's overall moral bankruptcy."

Interesting bit of Star Trek Trivia: In the Starfleet Academy Bridge Simulator game for the SNES, one of your first missions involves pursuing and capturing Harry Mudd as he flees a ship intent on blowing him the $$$$ up, and when the ship demands his return so he can be executed, you fail the mission if you agree to it.

The reason given for this is that there is a Starfleet Regulation which states that Officers are to act in any and all ways to protect the lives of Federations Citizens. Mudd is one, whether Lorca likes him or not. This is a clear violation of the regulation in question.

Also, commenting on Culber+Stamets, I'm straight, liberal, and a rock musician who has worked with homosexual band members before, so I like to think that such a development would not be a problem for me. I believe in 'live and let live,' and didn't mind the scene at all...at first.

As it went on, and became more intimate, with Culber brushing Stamet's hair, I found myself growing uncomfortable with it, and I can't explain why. "Why shouldn't there be a gay couple on Trek?" I asked myself. "Why does this make you uncomfortable?" I don't really know why. I'm guessing it just flopped me out of my comfort zone a little too hard for my taste. I guess I still have a long way to go toward being an accepting human being. :(

There is either more to Lorca's story of blowing his crew the $$$$ up that somehow justifies the action (why wasn't he on the ship too? Did someone stuff him in an escape pod and push the button as he screamed 'NOOOOOO'? Why would he willingly leave the ship?), or we are meant to think that Lorca is just a jerk.

No preview for the next ep at the end of this one. Weird.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

:|

Discovery just doesn't seem to know what kind of Trek it wants to be. It bears the distinct mark of writing which is trying to please too many different kinds of people, and ends up simply alienating most.

...There's something a little mustache-twirly about having Harry Mudd scream the line "You haven't seen the last of me!!" ...Ehhh. Is this what Star Trek is supposed to be about? The episode goes off in 4 or 5 different thematic directions at once, never seeming to find its feet, even in the main plot concerning the 'ethical treatment of sentient life' angle, which itself comes off as forced and also well-trodden Trek territory. Am I supposed to be happy to have a familiar plot? Or does it represent the problem with making more Trek stories at this point? That most of what can be done with the world has been done already, so you're going to be riffing on it no matter what kind of plot you write.

This episode left me with kind of a patchy feel. 2 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Landry.

I mean, that really pushed home for me how bloodless and peaceful past Trek deaths have been. The thing throws her around like a rag doll, and unlike the previous three episodes, the editing and action blocking provide for a much clearer idea of what's going on.

That was...utterly graphic for Star Trek. Good Lord.

Landry is gone! Wow. This is something Trek hasn't ever drawn so quick on...

Eleventy-Six Point Two Stars out of 17? I dunno. This episode threw my rating meter for a loop.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Pros:

- The point of view of the immersion character or protagonist has shifted. This feels interesting to me, I have followed the exploits of 5 gung-ho, go-get-em Starfleet Captains who win all the time.

- SPOILERS. This is an episode of Star Trek where the Federation gets its bony butt handed to it, both physically in terms of the outcome of the Battle of the Binary Stars, and philosophically in terms of the "We're the good guys, we want everyone to get along," mentality that Trek seems to have (60's-Era 'Wholesome Family Values' that TV was comfy with, I'd bet). Basically, "The Vulcan Hello" and "Battle at the Binary Stars" take Federation principles and New Age Star Trekkian Peace Philosophy and take them over its knee. Just what I'd hoped, personally. The cotton candy-like "Everything's ok at the end of the episode" formula was wearing ultra thin for me. I've seen all 5 series multiple times and all the movies except for Beyond, which I didn't finish.

- Burnham is a neat character, but Sonequa Martin-Green is going to have to grow into the role. Still, her backstory (After Spock leaves to join Starfleet, Sarek adopts her after her parents are killed) and the later permutations of it which are played out in the climax of Episode 2 are hard hitting and gritty in ways that similar scenes in recent Trek offerings (I'm looking at you STID) have utterly fell flat for me. When Burnham is staring at the transporter pad after Saru beams her back against her wishes, it feels harsh, as it should.

- Echoing what everyone else said, production values on this are top notch.

Cons:

- As I stated above, Sonequa Martin-Green isn't quiiiiiite there in terms of her delivery and timing. You can taste the nerves a little. Not too bad.

- The Klingon remake, while interesting, also is overly loved by the camera a bit. Lots of scenes of speechifying by T'Kuvmah, and little interaction between Klingons or story about them...I'd beef up their characterization somehow if I were the writing staff. Cardboard Cut Out Villains aren't good enough for Trek, no matter how scary they look or act.

- As far as continuity, I am afraid all Trek fans will have to resign themselves at this point to it having been abandoned in the continuing quest to keep making new stories. The writers who write for Trek, since about the time Insurrection came out, have, in my opinion, started to thumb their nose at it somewhat more heartily with each passing year, and I don't think they are willing to cater to fans in this regard anymore. But yeah, there are 12+ plot holes in this thing being generated by the extensive backlog of continuity the series has; On the plus side, those who've never watched or liked Trek won't notice, and it doesn't affect the characterizations that badly.

I am not preferential for either the Prime or Abrams verse, I don't get into meta storytelling stuff when I think about what entertains me. I just wanna feel something, feel like these people having space adventures are saying something about the world we live in today. And if you look into "The Vulcan Hello" and "Battle at the Binary Stars," you do see a reflection of what we are today. Peace and cooperation are enduring an inquiry where they're being roasted alive, and I can only pray that the world will come to its senses.

But this is Trek for the world we live in now, and I'm on board for it. I wanna see where they take this, because they can't just make it all crap blowing up for 20 episodes or however many they're gonna do per season.

Note: CBS All Access has certain ads which disable your ability to mute the sound from within their player. I muted my TV instead, but thanks for demanding I listen to your giant overcompressed person's voice announcing the side effects of Lyrica which can kill me, CBS.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

Me, I loved it. I just finished. Hot take:

This is a great amalgamation of everything which makes the Star Trek Universe good. The Klingon Empire is well represented, and if someone wasn't familiar with them, these first 2 eps make you familiar with them. Captain Phillipa and Michael have a decent chemistry, though the peculiarities of Micheal's character did not become apparent for a while.

And therein lies the charm of this show, is how it slowly reveals to you what it's about, keeping you wondering what's going down until the reveal. Keeping you guessing.

It's dark too, but very colorful at the same time. I mean the lighting, it's got kind of a earthy vibe, very rich in values but the neon stuff and the lens flares are toned way down. The bridge looks almost cold on the Shenzhou.

I don't wanna reveal too much about what the story is like, but I will say this: get ready.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Indeed...

Telling the truth, my exact words on the line "My name is Khan" were silently mouthed, so as not to disturb movie patrons who might be enjoying the film...

"Oh come on."

But it's a solid movie, I think...not the greatest there ever was, but certainly not the shit show that Star Trek V was.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

...Is this real life? Have I just read Jammer's STID review?

And he says it's good???

...There is a lot wrong with the movie, but my main gist of conversation back when was that we, as a fanbase, have learned how to pick apart a Hollywood Movie since we started watching Star Trek with our parents as children. :)

Of course we're going to notice the seams eventually.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 2:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

@Eric

"Also, I think Star Trek Beyond is going to perform similarly to this at the box office. The Fanbase just is not energized and nothing I've seen suggests that it will draw in a big mainstream crowd even with that Rihanna song. I hope the movie is good and I am wrong, but I'm quite skeptical."

I agree...with the new Trek Series on the horizon, written by freaking Nick Meyer and set back in the Prime Universe, this is likely the final NuTrek outing.

Shame, it started with such promise, and then STID happened...
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 2:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

www.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertainment/actor-anton-yelchin-killed/index.html

This is bad news indeed. Anton Yelchin has been killed in an accident.

How terrible.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, May 11, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@Ivanov

Indeed, your hopes are answered, it is set back in the Prime universe.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 8:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

moviepilot.com/posts/3874185

This was posted about 5 hours ago. It seems like the buzz is that the show is going to both start off after Undiscovered Country *and* be an anthology show, with each season being a different setting.

The first season will be set after Undiscovered Country. Then subsequent seasons will change settings.

Also, it seems that this show will not involve an Enterprise. To be fair, Wild and Willy Shakespeare himself said, "What's in a name?" There will be spaceships, presumably, or there's no show.

And lastly, I wanted to say something to you guys, relate a bit of an anecdote: Nick Meyer is the guy who came up with a way to "un-leak" Spock's death in Wrath of Khan by (or in the process of) inventing the Kobiyashi Maru training simulation.

In other words, Meyer was born at night, but not last night. He knows how to keep his cards close to the chest, but seem like he's dishing.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Apr 11, 2016, 12:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I highly doubt Mr. Meyer is going to let anything go out the door without feeling like he's done his due diligence on it. I'm stoked as all get out.

2017, the year Nick Meyer saves Star Trek again! :D
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Feb 29, 2016, 11:39am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Nick freaking Meyer whaaaaaat!!!

I suppose that Fuller looked at the writers who'd done Star Trek and decided he wanted the one who kicked the most butt. :D

I am quite pleased! This is fortuitous.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jan 20, 2016, 11:27am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope

Guess that kind of settles things for the STID review.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 2:53am (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Haven't seen the trailer, but from what I gather, this is more of the same that we got with ST2009 and STID.

What a shame. I quoth the Joker:

"What happened? Did your balls drop off?!"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I agree that a familiar cast of characters that recur from episode to episode is an element of television viewing that I hadn't considered fully.

But Star Trek has mined that vein of storytelling pretty hard over the last 50 years it's been in existence...I'd be interested to see them try something different this time.

If they are going to "boldly go where no one has gone before," they need to back it up with stories that are different than the ones they've made. We've all seen all the series multiple times at this point (do I exaggerate? possibly).

What can they show me that's new and interesting?
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Exactly why I say an "Anthology" style series could work.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Nov 8, 2015, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I've seen more than one mention of making this new show "more serialized," by which I'm taking it to mean "stronger, more persistent story arcs in the seasons, a la DS9."

Trek has already done that...DS9 is like that.

What about an "anthology" style series? From episode to episode, you could tell various space exploration stories with NEW characters every week, like The Twilight Zone.

The only difference is that you would always want it to have something to do with a known Star Trek setting. The Twilight Zone could set the story wherever and whenever it wanted, but preferably with a 'Star Trek Anthology' series, the settings would be space, and the characters and vessels Federation, Romulan, Klingon, Bajoran, Cardassian...you could try different things with each new episode.

And here's the real kicker...you could kill characters for a change, because the nature of such a show would require hiring a new set of actors every week anyway. So permanent character deaths could become a thing. It's something that Star Trek has usually shied away from in the past, perhaps it would be an interesting experiment? The viewer would never know who was going to live or die.

One episode could be about the Enterprise, maybe. Another about the Saratoga. Another about a Vuclan ship that has a run-in with a Romulan ship. A story about Klingons just waging freaking war like they enjoy so much.

An anthology series would be able to break out of the ordinary, routine tropes that Trek has beaten to death on TV over the years.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 12:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Movie reviewers have a job where they get paid to write about movies. They liked this film.

You are posting a comment on a comment board because you're angry at Hollywood for making movies the same way they have always done.

STID isn't a bad movie. You are bored with life. It does have many weak points, but altogether it's quite a spectacle and an entertaining watch. It's not the dross that Nemesis was, for sure, and not nearly as predictable (some might say strictly pat) as The Search for Spock, even. It tries its best to keep a highly intelligent and scrutinizing fanbase guessing.

I give it 2 and 1/2 stars for Trekking like nobody's Trekked yet. It's different, and at times kind of clunky, but far from a bad film.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 24, 2015, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

The absence of Deanna's telepathy (or what have you) is a conceit many episodes have. It's like the Prime Directive: it's cool on paper but when you get into the nuts and bolts of telling the story in a 45 minute TV episode it just messes up the pacing.

I'm willing to allow the conceits this episode has, including the other one stated about how the Fajo's deception is a little thin and easily dismissed, and the conceit of "Why not Lore instead," too.

The situational potential for good acting is worth it. There's a real menace to the episode, as the layers of sanity and redeeming qualities of Fajo peel away, and Data's perceived weakness in Fajo's eyes (that he is a machine and incapable of emotion) turns out to be not such a weakness as Fajo thought.

The way the exchange between Riker and Data plays out is slyly written. Riker says "Mr. O'Brien said the weapon was in a state of discharge." Data has the perfect mathematician's answer lined up: "Perhaps something occurred during transport, Sir." (Data's not lying: the thing that occurred was that he tried to kill Fajo.)

The final scene between the two, with Fajo in the Enterprise brig, is one of Sci-Fi's defining moments on TV. Gives me goose bumps just thinking about it.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.