Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 116 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Indeed...

Telling the truth, my exact words on the line "My name is Khan" were silently mouthed, so as not to disturb movie patrons who might be enjoying the film...

"Oh come on."

But it's a solid movie, I think...not the greatest there ever was, but certainly not the shit show that Star Trek V was.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

...Is this real life? Have I just read Jammer's STID review?

And he says it's good???

...There is a lot wrong with the movie, but my main gist of conversation back when was that we, as a fanbase, have learned how to pick apart a Hollywood Movie since we started watching Star Trek with our parents as children. :)

Of course we're going to notice the seams eventually.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

@Eric

"Also, I think Star Trek Beyond is going to perform similarly to this at the box office. The Fanbase just is not energized and nothing I've seen suggests that it will draw in a big mainstream crowd even with that Rihanna song. I hope the movie is good and I am wrong, but I'm quite skeptical."

I agree...with the new Trek Series on the horizon, written by freaking Nick Meyer and set back in the Prime Universe, this is likely the final NuTrek outing.

Shame, it started with such promise, and then STID happened...
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

www.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertainment/actor-anton-yelchin-killed/index.html

This is bad news indeed. Anton Yelchin has been killed in an accident.

How terrible.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, May 11, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@Ivanov

Indeed, your hopes are answered, it is set back in the Prime universe.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

moviepilot.com/posts/3874185

This was posted about 5 hours ago. It seems like the buzz is that the show is going to both start off after Undiscovered Country *and* be an anthology show, with each season being a different setting.

The first season will be set after Undiscovered Country. Then subsequent seasons will change settings.

Also, it seems that this show will not involve an Enterprise. To be fair, Wild and Willy Shakespeare himself said, "What's in a name?" There will be spaceships, presumably, or there's no show.

And lastly, I wanted to say something to you guys, relate a bit of an anecdote: Nick Meyer is the guy who came up with a way to "un-leak" Spock's death in Wrath of Khan by (or in the process of) inventing the Kobiyashi Maru training simulation.

In other words, Meyer was born at night, but not last night. He knows how to keep his cards close to the chest, but seem like he's dishing.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Apr 11, 2016, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I highly doubt Mr. Meyer is going to let anything go out the door without feeling like he's done his due diligence on it. I'm stoked as all get out.

2017, the year Nick Meyer saves Star Trek again! :D
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Feb 29, 2016, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Nick freaking Meyer whaaaaaat!!!

I suppose that Fuller looked at the writers who'd done Star Trek and decided he wanted the one who kicked the most butt. :D

I am quite pleased! This is fortuitous.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jan 20, 2016, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope

Guess that kind of settles things for the STID review.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Dec 15, 2015, 2:53am (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

Haven't seen the trailer, but from what I gather, this is more of the same that we got with ST2009 and STID.

What a shame. I quoth the Joker:

"What happened? Did your balls drop off?!"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 6:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I agree that a familiar cast of characters that recur from episode to episode is an element of television viewing that I hadn't considered fully.

But Star Trek has mined that vein of storytelling pretty hard over the last 50 years it's been in existence...I'd be interested to see them try something different this time.

If they are going to "boldly go where no one has gone before," they need to back it up with stories that are different than the ones they've made. We've all seen all the series multiple times at this point (do I exaggerate? possibly).

What can they show me that's new and interesting?
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Nov 9, 2015, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

Exactly why I say an "Anthology" style series could work.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Nov 8, 2015, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I've seen more than one mention of making this new show "more serialized," by which I'm taking it to mean "stronger, more persistent story arcs in the seasons, a la DS9."

Trek has already done that...DS9 is like that.

What about an "anthology" style series? From episode to episode, you could tell various space exploration stories with NEW characters every week, like The Twilight Zone.

The only difference is that you would always want it to have something to do with a known Star Trek setting. The Twilight Zone could set the story wherever and whenever it wanted, but preferably with a 'Star Trek Anthology' series, the settings would be space, and the characters and vessels Federation, Romulan, Klingon, Bajoran, Cardassian...you could try different things with each new episode.

And here's the real kicker...you could kill characters for a change, because the nature of such a show would require hiring a new set of actors every week anyway. So permanent character deaths could become a thing. It's something that Star Trek has usually shied away from in the past, perhaps it would be an interesting experiment? The viewer would never know who was going to live or die.

One episode could be about the Enterprise, maybe. Another about the Saratoga. Another about a Vuclan ship that has a run-in with a Romulan ship. A story about Klingons just waging freaking war like they enjoy so much.

An anthology series would be able to break out of the ordinary, routine tropes that Trek has beaten to death on TV over the years.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Movie reviewers have a job where they get paid to write about movies. They liked this film.

You are posting a comment on a comment board because you're angry at Hollywood for making movies the same way they have always done.

STID isn't a bad movie. You are bored with life. It does have many weak points, but altogether it's quite a spectacle and an entertaining watch. It's not the dross that Nemesis was, for sure, and not nearly as predictable (some might say strictly pat) as The Search for Spock, even. It tries its best to keep a highly intelligent and scrutinizing fanbase guessing.

I give it 2 and 1/2 stars for Trekking like nobody's Trekked yet. It's different, and at times kind of clunky, but far from a bad film.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jul 24, 2015, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

The absence of Deanna's telepathy (or what have you) is a conceit many episodes have. It's like the Prime Directive: it's cool on paper but when you get into the nuts and bolts of telling the story in a 45 minute TV episode it just messes up the pacing.

I'm willing to allow the conceits this episode has, including the other one stated about how the Fajo's deception is a little thin and easily dismissed, and the conceit of "Why not Lore instead," too.

The situational potential for good acting is worth it. There's a real menace to the episode, as the layers of sanity and redeeming qualities of Fajo peel away, and Data's perceived weakness in Fajo's eyes (that he is a machine and incapable of emotion) turns out to be not such a weakness as Fajo thought.

The way the exchange between Riker and Data plays out is slyly written. Riker says "Mr. O'Brien said the weapon was in a state of discharge." Data has the perfect mathematician's answer lined up: "Perhaps something occurred during transport, Sir." (Data's not lying: the thing that occurred was that he tried to kill Fajo.)

The final scene between the two, with Fajo in the Enterprise brig, is one of Sci-Fi's defining moments on TV. Gives me goose bumps just thinking about it.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jul 16, 2015, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I wasn't at all fond of this movie. It starts moderately promising, but the moment you start to see the chinks in its armor is when Worf is brought in for absolutely no reason, and they just throw the teased explanation out the window by having Dorn be interrupted in the middle of it.

It's like they're saying to you "we know you don't care why Worf's here, wink wink Star Trek fans!"

I DO care why Worf is in the movie. Things that happen in a story should make sense, or be thrown out of the story.

It just starts falling apart from there. That affront to any intelligent moviegoers may as well be The Moment It All Came Crashing Down.

The borderline moronic plot has been rightfully excoriated by STD and others. "Save the Space Amish!! Pay no attention to the bland script that glosses over the story details in favor of dumb ass computer effects and dad-ish, imbecilic humor, just Save the Space Amish!!"

If there's anyone now who cares whether this franchise sinks or swims, they must learn from the mistakes the franchise has committed, one of them being "don't start making the movie until the script is ready." That would seem an obvious and prudent movie-making strategy, but in Hollywood, the script may as well be 200 pages of fart jokes with the Star Trek fanfare on top. They don't give a crap whether the movie's any good; they rely on the huge name recognition the series has to sell tickets.

I don't appreciate a movie that insults my intelligence. Less so when it's a Star Trek movie, Star Trek being the standard-bearer for thought-provoking fiction as it is.

This movie take my intelligence and wipes it's ass with it, then hands it back to me saying "throw that in the garbage would you? There's a good Trekkie!!"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jun 12, 2015, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

"Unless of course they...can't run."

WESLEY
"Can't run!? Of course we can run!! Right, commander!?"

THAT is the line that I remember from this episode.

I pushed STOP on the VCR, man. Fast forward to the next episode!!

It's that bad. I am nowhere near kidding. One star is waaaay generous. Maybe give it a half star for having a cute blonde in it or something but ugh.

This episode is drivel, plain and simple. Badly acted drivel, at that.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 11, 2015, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhh
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Feb 28, 2015, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

This man was one of my personal heroes and Jammer ought to do a write up post-haste.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Dec 23, 2014, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I officially join the hater campaign

Justin Lin, scoff. Trek is dead.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Dec 13, 2014, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I can't read this many comments, so here's my unabashed take on this thing.

If the movie didn't have Decker it would be alright. He slows the plot waaaay down, and it's more or less his only function, other than to merge with Ilia at the end and leave the Enterprise conspicuously un-Captained.

Without Decker, or by making him less of a central character, this movie would move along a lot faster.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Because my review is likely to be delayed a bit"

This statement from when you first opened up the comments on this movie is now hilarious.

What is this, a crisis of faith for you? Just write the dang thing and punt it out the door! Your opinion is your opinion.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Nov 21, 2014, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

"...Get away from that launcher!!"

Come on, Jammer. Finish the stinkin' STID review already.

Unless you're...chicken!!
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Oct 11, 2014, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=REOjxvQPQNQ

Thought y'all'd get a kick outta that! :D

Here's hoping they get Nick Meyer back to rewrite Star Trek 3
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

obvious sock puppet is obvious
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.