Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 134 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Other Robert

"[...]any random 4 minutes of Sins of the Father[...]"

Ok now I want to watch it just because you said that. And I'll probably go on from there to watch "Reunion" "Redemption" "Birthright" maaaaybe "Fistful of Datas," and probably even "Parallels" and "Firstborn" despite their respective bonkers/timey-wimey plotlines, just because you reminded me how bloody awesome Michael Dorn* is at being that character.

*Throw Stark Trek VI in there for the heck of it. He really only has 4 lines or something but still.

This brings me to examine what I've just typed and say, does anyone else have themed Episode Playlists they recommend, possibly even spanning separate Trek series? Like, you could watch everything that has the Borg in it if you tried.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Feb 22, 2018, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

... I remember when I made a Sonic the Hedgehog comic book in 5th or 6th grade, and stayed up so late that I just wrote 4 one word lines of dialogue between Sonic and Tails in a single frame and called it a night.

That's what this ending feels like to me. Eh.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Feb 7, 2018, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I was profoundly affected by this episode in ways I have not been since I watched TNG in its broadcast run as a child.

I have read a lot of the criticisms you all levy at it, and without getting into a discussion of specifics or playing the "explain why everyone is wrong" game, I just want to say that no piece of writing is ever going to be so perfect that it cannot be criticised in some form or another. I feel that yes, we've had to forgive Discovery for a lot. But I recall the experience of forgiving TOS and TNG for a lot. DS9 did not grab my attention right away either, as I was becoming more mature and discriminating in my entertainment choices, and developing the ability to think critically.

But I eventually found a lot to enjoy about DS9, and I've even gotten a kick out of a VOY episode here and there. I didn't like most of ENT, at all, really, but I have gone back and re-watched some of it. It can be compelling at times.

But Discovery, in my opinion, transcends Star Trek in a lot of ways that someone merely thinking about "is this show a good Star Trek show" is not really making themselves open to.

Everyone was fine with the fact that Klingons and Humans were sworn enemies in TOS, because back then, the Klingons were merely strawmen representing Russia in viewer's minds.

The fictional race has evolved into something much more as time and various writers have had their take on them, and for me, it's been a good progression, rubber masks and gratuitous early-season subtitles and all.

L'Rell explaining to Cornwell that Klingons basically just keep coming at you until they're cut to pieces, while horrid and dark, says quite a bit about what it means to be a Warrior Race, to me, in a very simple and easy to understand way. For me, this final episode of the season will solidify whether I think this show is well written depending on its strength of writing about what it means to be a Klingon. I want to learn something about them that finally seems like a definitive statement, as this storied bit of Trek History comes to its untying.

I noticed SMG doing some acting in this episode too, and the dialogue in the much-derided scene between them felt far from irrelevant.

So much of Trek is a bunch of people cruising along in their sweet Starfleet Careers [tm] and eating whatever they want from the handy replicators while they ponder their interesting and rewarding day.

Michael Burnam is an example of a character whose life seems to collapse like a house of cards in front of her everyday, all while still having to work in space which, if I may say so, seems quite a bit less comfy here than in previous trek iterations.

Something about this show just resonates with me, and I don't seem to be able to put my finger on it. It really does seem intent on upsetting the apple cart a bit, but its roots in classic Trek are also apparent.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

GET AWAY FROM THAT LAUNCHER

@Peter G.
"They come off similarly to that guy everyone knows who's totally incompetent and knows nothing and is always the first to volunteer to take charge of things and offer 'information'. The moment he opens his mouth you know you'll have no choice but to endure his chatter and there's nothing you can do about it. He'll probably be given the job, too, because no one has the guts to say out loud that he needs to just stop talking."

You mean he just keeps talking and talking in one long incredibly unbroken sentence so that no one would have a chance to interrupt it was really quite hypnotic?

"She's an unspeakably deep well of human compassion"

'Impossibly.' For their Universe, Sarek means, but I believe what is going on here is that he is not as proficient at melding as Spock was in "Mirror Mirror," and add into that that he is trying not to talk about the fact that he's just found out that this person is his surrogate daughter, and he is a Vulcan, and you can get him kind of flabbergasted I think. Perhaps the 'Alternate Universe' thing wasn't clear to him due to the emotional shock it delivers to a Vulcan to meet their child (?) for the first time, and see an entirely different past version of themselves in that person's memories. I don't find the dialogue to be bad, the way you do, but I get what you're saying...it's a little "Condensed Trek Speaky," and the talkiness of the scenes is bugging me. ...But somehow it never feels like they're TOO bogged down, as there's always some new event happening in a bit.

"PS, I should comment on something I neglected in my initial review, which is - why is there a need for this show to include material that belongs in films like Event Horizon or Seven? It's one thing to have adult themes and morally grey characters, but straight-up slasher gore and disgusting images? This not only has no place on Trek, but it makes it impossible for families to show this to their children. Just how stupid are the producers to think that making a Trek series rated R is a good thing? I suppose we could argue the same about Tarantino's proposal to write a Trek film, but at least parents would know in advance to leave the kiddies out of it."

Erm...they label the shows on CBS All Access with content warnings right? Don't they? Aren't they supposed to? Shouldn't you always screen something you think you want to show to your children anyway?

I get that you are saying you don't like the disturbing imagery, but you have to admit one thing about it, it isn't where Trek has been before. To truly fulfilll it's purpose, Trek has to move into uncharted territory as it has boasted about doing for it's entire existence. More on this in a bit.

"But I really do think that this concept is much closer to a fantasy premise than sci-fi. Most sci-fi isn't supposed to be 'real science' anyhow, but it's quite another thing to introduce what is basically magic and call it science. Frankly I think that's not only sloppy, but gives people a very bad impression of *what kinds* of concepts can be called scientific. "

I don't know about you, but I trust actual scientists to tell me what concepts can be called scientific, not science fiction writers. The point of writing fiction is to entertain people with a compelling experience. It always has been. That it can be thought provoking or not is one of the nice things about it, using your brain all the time for everything isn't always fun or productive. I like that DISCO loosens things up a little, without seeming like it's purposely crapping on the previous show, the way STID felt with it's technocrapple explanations for things.

@Gul Densho-Air
"Maybe having watched these series has made me indifferent to some extent. But just as VOY's outrageous violation of logic and common sense has taught me to take it for whatever it is, I guess I've learned to accept the ridiculous nonsense of DSC."

I wanted to comment on this...I am not a huge fan of late era DS9, I do not like how things went near the end of it. Up to about Season 5 I was alright, but eh...as for VOY and ENT, not really blowing up my skirt either. The intervening films underwhelmed me, with the exception of Star Trek 2009, which I was ok with for the most part. It got out of hand, I agree.

But Trek needs to reassert itself as a trendsetter, the way it began and the way I hope it continues to be. DISCO is daring to be different in the hopes of setting a trend in entertainment for others to follow, that you shouldn't be afraid to try something new.

That's what I like about the series so much. This episode handled the previous episodes' buildups well, and I enjoyed seeing the plot play out, and all the implications of those reveals which will continue to figure into future episodes. Who says Shazid Latif is done with this show? Hm?

What do we do with a Klingon altered to be human and brainwashed into thinking he is another person, to the point where he is being driven utterly mad at times? I like that the writer decides not to simply off him, but to accept the dramatic consequences of the character as a continuing plot thread. This show really likes to keep it flowing in terms of how each event creates new implications for the future, along with new dramatic possibilities.

I do feel that SMG ...may not go down in history as the best actor ever to play a Trek main character. I felt like she was developing some momentum for a while, but I'm starting to get the idea... She is sort of...erm...flat in her delivery. Static, you might say. It's very limited. Her eyes don't tell much of a story beyond "look the way the script says to look."

Phillipa Georgiou as the Empress is a nightmarish turn for the story which is played well by the music, might I add. :D I love how the shit just gets deeper and deeper on this show. You know they've got to do something that will satisfy the audience, but things are getting out of control here...

Speaking of out of control...Um...

Who or WHAT is Mirror Stamets...? Was he behind Lorca's ...ahem... alteration to the Jump coordinates? Or is Lorca ...

Is Lorca trying to defeat Mirror Stamets...? This freaking show is blowing my mind.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

After 20+ years of having the Internet, people still seem to think complaining/arguing incessantly is going to accomplish some end which heretofore has not materialized.

You know what they say about madmen repeating the same actions while losing sight of their goal... I feel that way about popular culture discussions online.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

...Ash is Voq, surgically altered into a fake human. My theory is that L'Rell is planning to have him capture or kill Michael Burnham, but L'Rell seems to have thought her code words would have some immediate effect that they did not. Ash is ready to break her neck for a moment, and she expresses genuine confusion. Time will tell how that will eventually play out, but I enjoy being strung along by this, I want to know the whole story of L'Rell. She's just got way too many cards up her sleeve for a Klingon, something's not right.

"Lorca is actually from this universe" is an interesting theory but it ignores the technobabble plot development at the start of the episode: how has he managed to conceal that his quantum signature does not match the rest of the universe (this was from the script for "Parallels" for those interested in TrekTrivia)?

That seems a mighty feat, but then, Lorca does have all those wonderful toys. Is he the Batman of the Star Trek Universe, or is he just Bela Lugosi out to suck your bluid? Ah ah ah, Nick Meyer isn't telling you, ah ah ah! :D

This Trek is sassy bassy and likes to mess with my head and my ideas of what Star Trek is about, and how I think of it and what it means to me. I enjoy this experience immensely. I like this show.

..."Captain Killy." Saru wins a point for "That's totally uncreative." And I have one more tidbit:

No show or movie has ever made me too scared to laugh but DISCO has accomplished just that feat. When Tilly is first on with the captain of the Cooper, and Lorca poses as the 'Chief Engineer,' I was so shocked by the tension of the scene that I actually couldn't laugh, even though his Scotty impersonation was absolutely dead on. I will probably die laughing the next time I hear it. He has to conceal his voice somehow, they can't know he is Lorca because they don't have any data on this universe about his identity yet. This, to me, is good, layered, detailed humor that works on a lot of levels.

...I am going to echo others here and give it a solid 3 and a half our of 4. This entertained me.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Nov 22, 2017, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

...The long-range sensors can detect its power signature...what about the lateral sensor array? Perhaps it's not quite the same type of technology, and modifying the long-range sensors to operate the same way is not possible?

Technology can be full of seemingly nonsensical things that actually are due to really mundane explanations. Running programs from a command prompt, for example, seems totally counter-intuitive to do at this point simply because we have mice and cursors for that. But it actually makes more sense to do and you can access functions of a program that its GUI doesn't let you work with.

So, the sensors may work this way: Long Range Scanners can detect things like that, but they are not specific enough to use with the tactical systems. Those are locked into the lateral sensor array, which is for short range quick "get and go" identification of stellar objects, ships, signals, etc.

That makes a lot of sense to me, anyway.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Sunshine! Lollipops and RAINbows everything that's wonderful is what I feel when we're together, brighter than a lucky penny, when you're near the rain clouds disappears, dear, and I feel SO FINE, JUST to KNOW that you are mine!

What with plenty other troubles going on in the world, we have to argue right here on the Malaka Malaka Board of Good Faith. Come on people, this is the Enterprise, we set a different standard here!
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Nipply boobs indeed. Send the kiddies to bed next season.

And danged if that didn't satisfy a lot of the building up questions of what this show is going to be about and deal with, and at the same time raise the most questions of any Star Trek cliffhanger to date. Where are they? Are they even in the same universe anymore?

Did this just turn into Sliders with a Starship?
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Jack

["This episode gets a solid 1 star out of 4 for me. This is lazy showmaking. Step it up much beyond this, Mr. Meyer. Come on."

Is Meyer even involved in day to day decisions on the show?]

The fact that we can't tell is troubling in itself.

This was a weak episode, is my point.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Tangential: It is a big wall-banger for me to watch such vehement nerds attack the romantic chemistry of Burnham and Tyler. :| You try writing convincing romance in this cynical as (insert anglosaxon monosyllable) world.

I do agree about:

- Open-ended Mysteries For Their Own Sake.

This isn't going to end well. What was always cool about the writing on Star Trek was that the mysteries had a lot of thought put into them. If you end up putting too many mysteries in play, resolving them becomes an utter HELLJOB for the writers, and we will end up getting explanations in the end which a Packlid wouldn't buy. Watch it, producer man.

- Magical Plot-Resolving Convenient Science

Enough of this. Your show has already done this too many times. Start doing some research. I don't even want to go into examples, it's getting too frustrating keeping track of all the hand-waving. You may as well bring Ian McKellen on the show as Gandalf the Grey if you go much farther with it.

- The Tone of DISCO

Someone has said "If you want that uplifting, inspiring, warmfuzzyfeeling Trek, those shows have been made and are streamable now." I agree. This show's tone is up to IT to set, and your obsession with the words 'Star Trek' being EXACTLY what you think it is (IDIC, people) is probably doing more to interfere with your enjoyment of the show than anything you're seeing.

- Sonequa Martin-Green's Acting

...She was shaky in the first ep, I said so. This hasn't improved. Ms. Martin-Green is either being over-directed or just wasn't paying attention in acting school. Her character, whatever plots are being thrown at her, seems static and unchanging. The plot says she has developed, but the actress is still doing exactly the same notes as before. Someone needs to have a talk with either her or the director. She just isn't varied enough in her emotional throughput...I dunno. It's hard to put my finger on it. I feel like this character could be being portrayed better.

- The Slipshod Plot Progression

CLUSTER ####. That is all. It's been covered by others. This is the worst plotted ep of the series so far. Stop making magic science excuses. Stop making disjointed scenes go one right after another just to have the 'shock and awe' element to them. You aren't making a story, you're making a fireworks display. Stop it. Make a story.

- 'Ash/Voq'

Saru read his mind using the mind crystal thing from 'Aquiel.' Uhm...shouldn't Saru have realized he was Voq at that point, if he is Voq? He clearly states that he was able to see Tyler's intention to keep him there, but was that all he saw? Telepathy grey areas abound, but if he were a spy, I don't think he would have submitted to the Aquiel (TNG Season...5?) mind crystal thingie, unless he is profoundly stupid, which he doesn't seem to be.

This episode gets a solid 1 star out of 4 for me. This is lazy showmaking. Step it up much beyond this, Mr. Meyer. Come on.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

[quote]MisterWooster
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
I've been cruising these comment threads for a few weeks now, silently...[/QUOTE]

Well I'm not going to repost the whole thing but I read through it and the blog post you linked.

I have felt this way, about the fan communities of all things nerdy, since about 2004 or so, and I'd add to it, that it has become a contest of who remembers the most trivia knowledge, and the idea that these are stories we are supposed to relate to and allow to inform our daily lives, help promote introspection and self-examination, has been cast to the side. It's about the neat sweatshop produced collectibles that you bought off Amazon, rather than the way a character's death made you feel. It's about the number of lines you have memorized, rather than about how those lines made you feel when you first heard them.

People are growing increasingly agitated, paranoid, and vicious in this world, and are becoming far less inclined to be honest or vulnerable in any way. It's like we're all suffering from the effects of Bendai Syndrome :D Hee hee.

This is the world in which DISCO finds us. We are at the end of a particularly frayed and precarious rope, and the thematic central element, Lewis Carol's "Alice In Wonderland" beckons to us.

"If you can't take a little bloody nose, maybe you ought to go back home and crawl under your bed. It's not safe out here. It's wondrous, with treasures to satiate desires both subtle and gross. But it's not for the timid."

One wonders how far through the looking glass we've already progressed, and what lies ahead. These are strange times, and we have a strange trek.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Lorca is a slime ball! Geez!

This guy is the most unStarfleet Captain in the history of Starfleet Captains. Selling out your commanding officer/bang friend to the Klingons to keep your ship...detestable behavior. He hasn't a shred of honor.

This is very different for Trek. Very very different. This does not seem like it will end well. People are moving around in position on this ship, joining the crew and getting offered positions, and forging relationships as a result. Those relationships don't just *not* have TNG Plot Armour(tm) coating all round them, they stand a likely chance of totally falling apart at any moment.

This show is full of possibilities for tense scenes between people who think they trust each other and find out otherwise. I can see the conflicts forming already.

In every Trek outing on TV in the past, you kind of knew the 6-7-x number of regulars were going to continue to be in the show, more or less. This show seems like it's about to go very very wrong in that regard.

These people aren't likely to get along if the stuff hits the fan.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I forget who I'm quoting, just finished skimming the thread.

"• Archer, Kirk, Picard, Sisko and Janeway — even if they didn't like the guy — would have never, ever left a human (or, indeed, any Federation member race) civilian to languish as a prisoner aboard a Klingon vessel to be tortured, even during wartime. Even if said civilian had sold them out. That civilian would have been rescued, then brought to justice. Disgusting, and further evidence of this show's overall moral bankruptcy."

Interesting bit of Star Trek Trivia: In the Starfleet Academy Bridge Simulator game for the SNES, one of your first missions involves pursuing and capturing Harry Mudd as he flees a ship intent on blowing him the $$$$ up, and when the ship demands his return so he can be executed, you fail the mission if you agree to it.

The reason given for this is that there is a Starfleet Regulation which states that Officers are to act in any and all ways to protect the lives of Federations Citizens. Mudd is one, whether Lorca likes him or not. This is a clear violation of the regulation in question.

Also, commenting on Culber+Stamets, I'm straight, liberal, and a rock musician who has worked with homosexual band members before, so I like to think that such a development would not be a problem for me. I believe in 'live and let live,' and didn't mind the scene at all...at first.

As it went on, and became more intimate, with Culber brushing Stamet's hair, I found myself growing uncomfortable with it, and I can't explain why. "Why shouldn't there be a gay couple on Trek?" I asked myself. "Why does this make you uncomfortable?" I don't really know why. I'm guessing it just flopped me out of my comfort zone a little too hard for my taste. I guess I still have a long way to go toward being an accepting human being. :(

There is either more to Lorca's story of blowing his crew the $$$$ up that somehow justifies the action (why wasn't he on the ship too? Did someone stuff him in an escape pod and push the button as he screamed 'NOOOOOO'? Why would he willingly leave the ship?), or we are meant to think that Lorca is just a jerk.

No preview for the next ep at the end of this one. Weird.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

:|

Discovery just doesn't seem to know what kind of Trek it wants to be. It bears the distinct mark of writing which is trying to please too many different kinds of people, and ends up simply alienating most.

...There's something a little mustache-twirly about having Harry Mudd scream the line "You haven't seen the last of me!!" ...Ehhh. Is this what Star Trek is supposed to be about? The episode goes off in 4 or 5 different thematic directions at once, never seeming to find its feet, even in the main plot concerning the 'ethical treatment of sentient life' angle, which itself comes off as forced and also well-trodden Trek territory. Am I supposed to be happy to have a familiar plot? Or does it represent the problem with making more Trek stories at this point? That most of what can be done with the world has been done already, so you're going to be riffing on it no matter what kind of plot you write.

This episode left me with kind of a patchy feel. 2 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Landry.

I mean, that really pushed home for me how bloodless and peaceful past Trek deaths have been. The thing throws her around like a rag doll, and unlike the previous three episodes, the editing and action blocking provide for a much clearer idea of what's going on.

That was...utterly graphic for Star Trek. Good Lord.

Landry is gone! Wow. This is something Trek hasn't ever drawn so quick on...

Eleventy-Six Point Two Stars out of 17? I dunno. This episode threw my rating meter for a loop.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Pros:

- The point of view of the immersion character or protagonist has shifted. This feels interesting to me, I have followed the exploits of 5 gung-ho, go-get-em Starfleet Captains who win all the time.

- SPOILERS. This is an episode of Star Trek where the Federation gets its bony butt handed to it, both physically in terms of the outcome of the Battle of the Binary Stars, and philosophically in terms of the "We're the good guys, we want everyone to get along," mentality that Trek seems to have (60's-Era 'Wholesome Family Values' that TV was comfy with, I'd bet). Basically, "The Vulcan Hello" and "Battle at the Binary Stars" take Federation principles and New Age Star Trekkian Peace Philosophy and take them over its knee. Just what I'd hoped, personally. The cotton candy-like "Everything's ok at the end of the episode" formula was wearing ultra thin for me. I've seen all 5 series multiple times and all the movies except for Beyond, which I didn't finish.

- Burnham is a neat character, but Sonequa Martin-Green is going to have to grow into the role. Still, her backstory (After Spock leaves to join Starfleet, Sarek adopts her after her parents are killed) and the later permutations of it which are played out in the climax of Episode 2 are hard hitting and gritty in ways that similar scenes in recent Trek offerings (I'm looking at you STID) have utterly fell flat for me. When Burnham is staring at the transporter pad after Saru beams her back against her wishes, it feels harsh, as it should.

- Echoing what everyone else said, production values on this are top notch.

Cons:

- As I stated above, Sonequa Martin-Green isn't quiiiiiite there in terms of her delivery and timing. You can taste the nerves a little. Not too bad.

- The Klingon remake, while interesting, also is overly loved by the camera a bit. Lots of scenes of speechifying by T'Kuvmah, and little interaction between Klingons or story about them...I'd beef up their characterization somehow if I were the writing staff. Cardboard Cut Out Villains aren't good enough for Trek, no matter how scary they look or act.

- As far as continuity, I am afraid all Trek fans will have to resign themselves at this point to it having been abandoned in the continuing quest to keep making new stories. The writers who write for Trek, since about the time Insurrection came out, have, in my opinion, started to thumb their nose at it somewhat more heartily with each passing year, and I don't think they are willing to cater to fans in this regard anymore. But yeah, there are 12+ plot holes in this thing being generated by the extensive backlog of continuity the series has; On the plus side, those who've never watched or liked Trek won't notice, and it doesn't affect the characterizations that badly.

I am not preferential for either the Prime or Abrams verse, I don't get into meta storytelling stuff when I think about what entertains me. I just wanna feel something, feel like these people having space adventures are saying something about the world we live in today. And if you look into "The Vulcan Hello" and "Battle at the Binary Stars," you do see a reflection of what we are today. Peace and cooperation are enduring an inquiry where they're being roasted alive, and I can only pray that the world will come to its senses.

But this is Trek for the world we live in now, and I'm on board for it. I wanna see where they take this, because they can't just make it all crap blowing up for 20 episodes or however many they're gonna do per season.

Note: CBS All Access has certain ads which disable your ability to mute the sound from within their player. I muted my TV instead, but thanks for demanding I listen to your giant overcompressed person's voice announcing the side effects of Lyrica which can kill me, CBS.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

Me, I loved it. I just finished. Hot take:

This is a great amalgamation of everything which makes the Star Trek Universe good. The Klingon Empire is well represented, and if someone wasn't familiar with them, these first 2 eps make you familiar with them. Captain Phillipa and Michael have a decent chemistry, though the peculiarities of Micheal's character did not become apparent for a while.

And therein lies the charm of this show, is how it slowly reveals to you what it's about, keeping you wondering what's going down until the reveal. Keeping you guessing.

It's dark too, but very colorful at the same time. I mean the lighting, it's got kind of a earthy vibe, very rich in values but the neon stuff and the lens flares are toned way down. The bridge looks almost cold on the Shenzhou.

I don't wanna reveal too much about what the story is like, but I will say this: get ready.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Indeed...

Telling the truth, my exact words on the line "My name is Khan" were silently mouthed, so as not to disturb movie patrons who might be enjoying the film...

"Oh come on."

But it's a solid movie, I think...not the greatest there ever was, but certainly not the shit show that Star Trek V was.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jul 24, 2016, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

...Is this real life? Have I just read Jammer's STID review?

And he says it's good???

...There is a lot wrong with the movie, but my main gist of conversation back when was that we, as a fanbase, have learned how to pick apart a Hollywood Movie since we started watching Star Trek with our parents as children. :)

Of course we're going to notice the seams eventually.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Independence Day: Resurgence

@Eric

"Also, I think Star Trek Beyond is going to perform similarly to this at the box office. The Fanbase just is not energized and nothing I've seen suggests that it will draw in a big mainstream crowd even with that Rihanna song. I hope the movie is good and I am wrong, but I'm quite skeptical."

I agree...with the new Trek Series on the horizon, written by freaking Nick Meyer and set back in the Prime Universe, this is likely the final NuTrek outing.

Shame, it started with such promise, and then STID happened...
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Jun 19, 2016, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

www.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertainment/actor-anton-yelchin-killed/index.html

This is bad news indeed. Anton Yelchin has been killed in an accident.

How terrible.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, May 11, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

@Ivanov

Indeed, your hopes are answered, it is set back in the Prime universe.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Apr 20, 2016, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

moviepilot.com/posts/3874185

This was posted about 5 hours ago. It seems like the buzz is that the show is going to both start off after Undiscovered Country *and* be an anthology show, with each season being a different setting.

The first season will be set after Undiscovered Country. Then subsequent seasons will change settings.

Also, it seems that this show will not involve an Enterprise. To be fair, Wild and Willy Shakespeare himself said, "What's in a name?" There will be spaceships, presumably, or there's no show.

And lastly, I wanted to say something to you guys, relate a bit of an anecdote: Nick Meyer is the guy who came up with a way to "un-leak" Spock's death in Wrath of Khan by (or in the process of) inventing the Kobiyashi Maru training simulation.

In other words, Meyer was born at night, but not last night. He knows how to keep his cards close to the chest, but seem like he's dishing.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Mon, Apr 11, 2016, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I highly doubt Mr. Meyer is going to let anything go out the door without feeling like he's done his due diligence on it. I'm stoked as all get out.

2017, the year Nick Meyer saves Star Trek again! :D
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.