Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 426 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

I was getting tons of buffering problems and got booted back to the android app's main screen once. I never have this issue with netflix, huluplus, youtube, or even CW. I wish there was a download option like netflix offers. I am paying for the commercial free cbs aa plan.

@WTBA
"Easter egg: Nice to see Connies mentioned (not sure if Burnham had to mention the Enterprise - there are others, right?)."

It makes sense for Enterprise to come immediately to her mind if her 'brother' Spock is serving there.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 12:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I would just like to point out that the 'mirror' in 'mirror universe' is a metaphor. As in, actual mirrors (the objects) shouldn't have anything to do with the alternate quantum reality nicknamed 'the mirror universe.' The alternate Stammets inside the mirror makes for nice imagery, but how in the world does it make any actual sense in-universe?
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

@Hank
"Yeah, sure, Lorca escaping so easily was a typical trope..."

I'm pretty sure Lorca's escape was part of the Klingons' plan, not merely due to his skillz. Also part of the plan was for his arrogance regarding his skillz to blind him to the fact that they let him go.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

So Lorca was dropping key phrases such as 'ghost ship,' to see who might leak info to the Klingons. He said 'ghost ship' to Ash, but later attributed it to Mudd's listening device. But couldn't Ash have passed it to the Klingons instead, as far as Lorca knows? Eh.

Lorca left a fellow prisoner behind. No other captain on any series would have done that.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode had a more of one element the show needs to express - human feeling and friendships. I hope it is a sign of things to come.

I wondered after watching tonight whether I liked this episode entirely on its own merits, or just in contrast to the dreary episodes that preceded it.

Set Bookmark
michael j
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 4:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

So many here find Satie's meltdown implausible. I disagree. It's pretty much foreshadowed. She tells Picard she hasn't seen a family member in years and that she has no friends. She lives on starbases and starships. I'm already seeing red flags.

Note the frequent references to her father. She has elevated her late father on a pedestal because that is all she has. That and the Federation. That's not much of a life. Zealots -- especially isolated and lonely ones -- have facades that don't crack easily but when they do, it's quite a scene.



Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Spore Drive might actually give them an out, if the show proves to be as unpopular as I suspect it will. Simply say that the Spore Drive can make you shift between universes and strand them in the actual Prime Universe where everything is much closer to the original TOS timeline. Destroy the ship in the process so that their technology doesn't contaminate the real Prime verse. Kill off the unpopular characters and put the popular characters on a prime Starship to continue into season 2.

Did anyone notice that they killed 'Zaphod' on the mine planet? I noticed it in the captions. Lol
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I forgot to add, I think the title of this episode refers first to the producers and second to the fans.
Set Bookmark
Michael is a boy's name
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I think one fundamental problem is that this is a show about miserable people. And nobody wants to watch miserable people. Real life is miserable enough. I'm not saying it has to be a dick-joke comedy all the time like Orville, but for God's sake, has anybody even cracked a smile once on the show? Maybe Captain G (yeah, and see what happened to her)? There's no charm to these people. They have no charisma. Jim Kirk had a sparkle in his eye that made people love him. Hell, even Wesley (the boy?!) had more likeability than any of the cast here with the possible - possible - exception of Saru. Everybody's either bland or an asshole!

I know 10 year old me is spinning in his ... uh... grave, but I just can't get any enjoyment out of this Trek incarnation so far.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 1:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

It's becoming clearer to my why we needed the first 2 episodes to focus on the Shenzhou, at least in the minds of the writers. They wanted to establish what the ship and crew of a "normal" Federation ship in the 2250s is like, in order to contrast it against the relative strangeness of the Discovery.

Judging by the comments about the show, this isn't working. People are taking the attitudes and staff on the Discovery to be typical Starfleet, and I don't blame them. I think we need to see other Starfleet ships and how the moral license on board the Discovery differs from them. Also, how could things have got so desperate in the war that the Discovery was commissioned in the first place? We're missing a huge chunk of the story that I hope will be revealed in time.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 4:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey


this was a forced comedy that disengenuously tried to be about serious weighty issues going on in the continuum.

I respect Plakson for her versatility. She's been almost every alien you can imagine in Star Trek, but in this outing I was really embarrassed for her.

"I'm not talking about the puppaaay" Ugh. And it's all downhill from here. All this finger-snapping and powers that the Q arbitrarily possess and lose. The whole contrived mess ended up like an episode of Bewitched.
Set Bookmark
michael
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Jammer was much kinder about this episode than I would have been. This episode was so bad it actually made me angry. I really can't say much about it because I simply couldn't hang in there to see how it ended it. Why would I want to?

Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

The first episode had me worrying - as I thought, all this botox in the female characters faces is going to spoil this series. Human emotion cannot force its way through a chemically induced frozen face. Interesting writing and character development cannot make up for a face that doesn't move!!!!! I'm thinking of the female captain as well as Michael to degree. MOVE YOUR FACE!!! I was relieved when I saw we we were going to get a much more interseting face to watch - Lorca. I loved the visuals and I liked the scare factor. Another vanilla star trek would probably have me swtich off. I know, for others they want that formula to remain. Well, that isn't going to happen from the looks of things. I think if Michael stops botoxing her face that we might get some interesting facial communication from her. The writing is complex but this is NOT showing on her face.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

A much better commentary unpacking the latest incarnation of Star Trek:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBb0hyuIfYQ
Set Bookmark
Michael
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

The Loony Tunes S.J.W.s screwed this one up. Star Trek used to be about imagination, probing human nature, science and fiction, and drama. Now it's about "diversity," elimination of "toxic" masculinity, and promotion of political agenda.

This video says it all:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWGho2ufMAI

Good bye, Star Trek, it was nice knowing thee.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Well, I'll say this: we have finally found someone who loves the sound of his own voice more than Dukat.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm reasonably confident that the powers that be have completely butchered the pre-show publicity. Based on that assumption, I really don't think we know that much about what the show's actually going to be like at this point.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Sep 14, 2017, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Flight of the Phoenix

What I don't get is why the Cylons are trying to wipe out Galactica in the first place - weren't they super thrilled that Sharon's baby survived in the last episode? So would they not leave Galactica alone or try and get Sharon back, instead of attempting an assault that would almost certainly kill her and the baby?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Tue, Sep 12, 2017, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Coming from a background as a trekkie since 1985, i enjoyed it. Tonally, it has more in common with Peter David's ST: New Frontier novel series. I enjoyed the cast's chemistry, I was fine with the humor, and I enjoyed the trek references. I was actually most bored with the fights, mainly because of overload from all the years and years of trek. Most of the problems I had with the plot, I ascribe to it being a pilot.

Hey, someone here will know: where have I seen the building used in location shooting for the science outpost? Did they use it for Starfleet Command on ENT?
Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Sep 8, 2017, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

The show itself was not well done, though to be fair it was a one hour tv show from the late 80's early 90's. The budget just wasn't there to really support the story. I think it could have been much better as a film.
It would be interesting to know where the pair went off to. It looks like that was a powerful ship.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

@Ellen
Well, on reflection, you make a strong point. Use or threat of use of the death penalty was administered very capriciously and, apparently, disproportionately (although in such extreme circumstances there is quite some leeway allowed for disproportionality in order to achieve other objectives such as discipline). SO yes, the incidents you enumerate are quite absurd for the most part.

That said, as a matter of principle, I contend that an existentially-imperiled humanity is stronger if the criminality within it is eliminated, including by executing the criminals, even if it results in lower population figures in the immediate aftermath.

Thanks for the exchange and the well-argued reply.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 4:03am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Boy, oh boy, some people really hate babies, don't they, particularly when the babies come up against third-wave feminism... *rolls eyes*

Firstly, the value and consequence of the lives of a middle-aged criminal--who, through his criminality, undermines the quality of the human race's future, which is already on a precipice--and that of an unborn baby are beyond any kind of a meaningful comparison.

Secondly, it's hysterical there are still folks out there peddling that risible canard about abortion being about a woman's "right to her body." An embryo or fetus is in no way similar to an appendix or a toenail, even in the best of circumstances. With the future of humanity at stake though, where every body (especially young body) counts, tedious S.J.W. banalities are of no import whatsoever.

But hey, let's not let any logic get in the way of the good old pro-life pro-death-penalty people are hypocrites folderol, shall we :)
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

@Ellen:
Another interesting comment but I cannot agree with you. Two main points come to mind:

(1) The fact that you feel so strongly is a testament to B.S.G.'s genius, I think. Many, even long-running, T.V. shows tend to leave me blase. I spend the forty-odd minutes following the story, pausing every once in a while as I do something else, and once the closing credits come on I forget all about it. B.S.G. consistently managed to provoke powerful feelings in me, that lasted well beyond the end of an episode. Its characters were also depicted very, very well in that each and every one of them is flawed. There is none of the one-dimensional cookie-cutter nondescript personages we see so often on all kinds of shows. Here, we tend to fall in, then out of love with pretty much every major character at different times before--as you did--seemingly giving up on the whole damn bunch of them, having realized that none is the hero paragon we came to expect. I reckon that is one of the the show's greatest assets.

(2) You are projecting our modern, peacetime values on the situation that befell the humankind in B.S.G.-verse. Yes, in the 21st-century America we expect a consistent application of the rule of law, equality before the law, separation of powers, checks-and-balances, accountability, transparency, etc. However, even in a state of war, let alone an existential conflict, such niceties (rightly) go out the window. You do (and by "you" I mean whoever garners the strength and/or confidence to emerge as the holder of power) whatever seems expedient at the time in order to prevail. Today, for instance, we may deplore the Allies' leveling of Dresden or obliteration of Hiroshima, but back then they were necessary and probably for the best. Again though, not many shows lend themselves to this kind of a pretty profound discussion, so I would extol B.S.G. on that count also.
Set Bookmark
Michael
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

@Ellen:
An excellent, very perspicacious disquisition. B.S.G. excelled in character portrayal, including through these almost imperceptible nuances and details, in ways that, say, Star Trek never did.
Set Bookmark
michael
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

As a black man (and here comes the eye rolling and sighing) I wouldn't call it The Best Episode Ever but, yes, it was very interesting to see the principal cast out of make up ( wanted to see more of Aron Eisenberg) and, YES, they hit the bull's eye on the tone of times.

Heavy-handed you say? Simple stereotypes you say? Well I have eyewitness news for you: Racism back then WAS heavy handed and blunt. There was no clever code-wording like we have now. As Douglas (Odo) kept saying, "It's how things ARE" AND HE WAS SOOO RIGHT! No apologies for it. Racism, police harassment, workplace sexism and racial discrimination was as obvious as the blazing sun. And Negroes with high aspirations had the WORST of it.

Now, does it fit into the DS9 arc? No, it doesn't. But is it honest as a stand alone story? Oh, yes, it really was. I lived Bennie's life in Indiana. I had a degree in engineering and no place to use it until I was well into my 40's. No, we didn't need the story. But we didn't need Quark's silly sex change episode. We didn't need those parallel dimension stories. We went off on a lot needless tangents in all of Star Trek but I didn't see the miles and miles of angst ridden reviews about those.



Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.