Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Excellent episode. Excellent review.

Why is it that every time Seven (who is supposed to not understand humanity) and Janeway (who is supposed to be the guideline on human ethics) are in disagreement over some human trait, I tend to side with Seven?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I am with Startrekwatcher his point about moving forward. I sincerely believe that was one of the downfalls of Enterprise early on. Move forward, why go back in time and rehash what we have already seen over 4 decades of Trek watching?

I am reading post-DS9-series novels and I am enjoying them immensely because I don't have to go back to a time where Starfleet officers marvel at traveling at Warp Speed 3.

Sigh...
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

Janeway, with a somber face and mood, tells Chakotay that the man she has been in love with, married to, and with whom she had children, says that he moved on and married another.

Chakotay takes two steps forward and says with a bland expression:
"How do you feel about that?"

Seriously writers? Seriously Beltran/Chakotay?Really??

The aliens were indeed comical as Jammer pointed out. I also believe some of the dialogues were poorly written as Jammer said. However, I tend to agree with Lenny (from 2010) that Tuvok's attempt at persuading the aliens was not bad.

Otherwise I thought this was one of the better episodes of the season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

The quote: "In these maturation chambers, the development of conversational skills is, I suppose, a low priority?"

... and the Doctor's delivery of it !!!

I laughed loud at least 10 straight seconds. :))))))

I am not as high on this episode as Jammer. Nor on Beltran. His reaction (or non-reaction) to Paris's "Nelix is dead" news in the shuttle was as dull as acting gets. And the last scene where Beltran talks Neelix out of suicide, did nothing for me.

Neelix had good moments for character development but that's it. I would certainly put "Fair Trade" above this one.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Sep 16, 2017, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Sooo... Nobody found it absurd that, while Tuvok was probing Guill's mind and Guill was in obvious pain telling "Tuvok" to stop, his two collaborators who were holding Tuvok down would just idly sit there and let it happen? I did..

Otherwise a great review by Jammer and interesting comments by many.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

Mikey's comment from 2016:

"Wait. You've made an alliance with who? When? How? Why would these anonymous aliens want an alliance with a crippled ship and a skeleton crew?"

THANK YOU MIKEY!

I was going crazy reading through Jammer's review and other comments thinking "Am I the only who thought the instantaneous alliances Janeway formed were a feeble plot line?"
Come on.. How did she convince them? When and where did she find them to begin with? In a time-sensitive situation, she leaves the nebula and one second later we see Voyager advancing with other ships as allies to take on the villain? Wow... (sarcasm intended).

On the plus side, I really enjoyed Tuvok-Seven scenes. Solid two-parter overall. I don't have as much a problem with resetting things as others do, including Jammer, so that didn't bother me so much.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Aug 27, 2017, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Great point by Wilt (Dec 2015) above. 7 of 9 was totally tight in her powerful "hypocritical and manipulative" remarks to Janeway ending with "you're no different than the Borg." Kate Mulgrew shines as an actress but her character plays god too much for my taste in this episode.

I also agree with a couple of comments above about not caring that Kes left. Her character was a dud (that's on the writers) and Lien was just not a good actress, and it showed again in this episode. Something extraordinary is happening to her and she talks like an audience member listening to an opera in the VIP section, sigh.. I had no problem with her departure from the show. Just like I would have had no problem if Harry were axed also. Another sigh..

Stellar review by Jammer.

Side note:What happened to Lien later in life? Good grief.. Her mug shots from her arrest in Tennessee were shocking.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Aug 27, 2017, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

Oje of the best delivered lines of all time in Star Trek: Tuvok's "Naturally!" to 7's "We are Borg!"

Tuvok (Tim Russ) rules in this episode. His facial expression when the probes are placed in his and Janeway's neck, and Janeway says to take them off or "no deal" is about as close as you can get to a Vulcan panicking and Russ plays that beautifully. He is the best Vulcan in the Star Trek universe, and that is coming from someone who loves Spock, both in the original (Nimoy) and the latest one (Quinto) in the movies.

Also some great head-butting dialogues between Janeway and 7.

And 7 seeing Chakotay for the first time and saying "We have an alliance, do we not?" It was love at first sight wasn't it? LOL.

DaVinci parts were the only duds of this otherwise great two-parter.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

How bad is Wang's acting? Watch this episode. Any episode with him as the center of focus is likely to get low ratings because... he stars in it.

Jammer and everyone already pointed out everything that was bad. I at least learned something though, thanks to Tuvok and Janeway: that "paradoxical state-dependent associative phenomenon" meant "déjà vu." LOL..

One last nitpick: once Harry gets back on board at the end, Voyager faces the Nizari ships with the Taresian ship in pursuit. Whatever happened to the grid that they put so much thought and time into figuring out how to get past to get in the vicinity of the planet? Shouldn't they have had to get past it first, before facing the Nizaris? It just happened to disappear when Voyager was leaving?
Oh well... how superficial of me to wonder that in such a stellar (!) episode..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

Great point by both Jack and RT above. Tuvok's appearance in the blink of an eye on the bridge to save the day with shield codes, how fast he entered the codes, and Voyager fired were so "warp speed" that it made it laughable. Just the same with Tuvok's strength magically disappearing when he has to fight the bad guy, and the comical fall of the latter (RT pointed those out as well).

Jammer is right, awful directing.. and acting.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

The brief conversation between Paris and Tuvok was one of the golden moments of Voyager:

"You go through this every 7 years?"
"You only need to be concerned with Lt. Torres' situation."
[Paris disoriented]: "Right."

Great expressions and deliveries on the part of both.
It also helps that it was performed by the two best actors on the show...

Another good moment: The two Vulcans discussing intensely Vorik's dilemma in his quarters..

And another: The two dialogs between Doctor and Vorik in the holodeck.

B'Elanna is awesome in the cave scenes with Paris in the 2nd half of the show..

This episode was carried by great dialog-writing and wonderful deliveries of those dialogs by Torres, Paris, Tuvok, Picardo, and Vorik (who truly manifests his shame and his inner-conflict very well).

I also like the story.. Good intro to the Borg threat. I give it the highest rating.. One of my top 3 episodes.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

RT,
You are right that no Vulcan has made an appearance before this episode. But in a previous episode, B'Elanna or someone else did say something about "asking the other Vulcans" on the ship. I can't remember who and which episode though. So we knew there were some but Vorik is the first one we see (and no I don't believe any appeared on the background either before this episode).
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Just wanted to add to my comment above about Paris and Locarno from TNG, both played by the same actor..

I had read somewhere that one explanation was that they did not want to pay royalties to the writer of "The First Duty" for the episodes of Voyager. There are couple of other vague explanations too. But I never found a definitive answer (as in directly from producers) anywhere about why Paris is not Locarno's continuation..
Set Bookmark
Mertovm
Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

Tom Paris talking to Neelix was a great moment. It was almost like he described precisely what happened in "The First Duty." I have never heard an explanation as to why Paris was not the continuation of that character. It would have only made sense, especially after that conversation in this episode. Did the writers not even consider that?

Vorik could have been used for continuity purposes too as Jammer pointed out that Vulcan character from an earlier show that was played by the same actor.

The final verbal beat-down by Janeway was terrific as others have pointed out. Good episode overall, and another good review by Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 4:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

The best thing about this episode is reading this accurate review by Jammer.. 1.5 star for the episode (or for the smug and fine Susie Q appearance), 4 stars for Jammer's review..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

Sorry I really didn't like this episode. How many clichés? The slowly deteriorating of the mental condition of the villain, the usual freakout by Neelix who seems obsessively (and annoyingly) concerned about Kes and nothing else, Tuvok who gets captured so easily, the 200 year-old tough, witty survivor who turns stupid in the last 15 minutes... enough already.

And Janeway's line "Consider yourself drafted".. Barf! When it's so obvious that the emotionally obsessive Neelix with little-to-no training is allowed to join the rescue effort, when his behavior screams "I would jeopardize the mission in a heartbeat because I am so possessive and obsessive about Kes that I can't think straight".. This is precisely the type of person you don't allow on a dangerous rescue mission but Janeway does it after a few ridiculous pleading sentences by Neelix..

Lien does carry the episode for about 25 minutes (although for those who enjoy rewatching specific sequences, her hug of Nori at the beginning is a terrible moment of acting).

And finally, the "weak" brother who would be puppeted back and forth as easy as my hair in the wind.. Come on..

If it weren't for Lien's acting as the villain (which is a lot more watchable than her regualr character, and that is not saying much) this episode would be 0 stars for me..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 2:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

I am a fan of Janeway (Mulgrew's acting) but during the conversation with Starling in sickbay, she is so dramatically overboard & overacting that it r1eminded me of Avery Brooks and his thousand twitches of facial features and 3-second-long syllables..

And in retrospect, this is not one of Sarah Silverman's better acting performances either. I didn't think so when I watched the episode at the time on TV, but rewatching it now, I did for some reason.

Tom Paris just leaves Rayne in the middle of a deserted road in Arizona and takes off? Come on dude...

"Fate Tuvok? I won't accept that!" --> Coming from Chakotay? Great line !!

Random Thoughts points astutely to the most stupid mokent of the episode (Voyager crew expecting Starling to simply walk to Rayne's van? Come on..)

Overall I enjoyed the episode though. Great moments of fun. Doc and Tuvok especially (the look they give each other once they know they have to go to Arizona.. LOL !
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

Great review Jammer..

Best quote (that nobody has mentioned yet): Tuvok looking at the hip crowd and concluding they should have kept their Starfleet uniforms on and "no one would have noticed." Hahaha..

Voyager was still in commission in the 29th century? 500 years later? Absurd.. Otherwise an almost-4-star episode.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 1:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

I know my comment will be very superficial compared to the dozens of great comments above, but...

... Neelix was so annoying that it ruined some of my joy of watching this episode. What a terrible alien to have chosen as a regular on a Star Trek series. It would have been nice to see him leave the show early... Ugh...
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Aug 7, 2017, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Best Harry Kim episode and I agree with Jammer that Wang delivers here. And trust me, I am no fan of either.

I liked the episode and unlike others I had no problem with the Voyager scenes. The Ambassador was hard-headed and Janeway exhausted all the options at her disposal to talk some sense into him.

I understand why Jammer's review would not include this given the time he wrote it but I am surprised none of the post-2009 commenters have picked up on the fact that Ambassador Liria was played by Robert Pine, the father of Chris Pine, the big-screen, modern Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Aug 6, 2017, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

I liked this episode but not enamored with it like some others seemed to be. The pros have already been commented on, so I will just point to what I considered to be a couple of setbacks.

I don't know why the idea of sending a holographic image of Janeway (or anybody else) is considered so brilliant. That was the first thought that crossed my mind about 10 minutes into the show. I literally thought "Can't they just send a holographic image?" as soon as it was revealed that it took the clown a few minutes to read the hostages' thoughts. It seemed so obvious.

Also, with regard to the assumption that the clown represents fear (some commenters are even referring to him as "fear"), I will simply copy/paste K'Elvis's astute observation from 2014:

--"The Clown didn't feel like fear, more like a psychopath having fun at other people's expense. It's more like it used fear for it's own entertainment. The clown can't afford to kill people. It's not a parasite that can move onto a new host. It only can live as long as it's hosts live. Then again, perhaps it can't help itself, and is too irrational to act in its own best interest."--

Jammer says Joe Menosky wrote this episode, but I the original story was by Richard Gadas. So, I am not sure how much of the weirdness can be attributed to Menosky. Some for sure but not all of it.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Aug 5, 2017, 2:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

I am a sucker for paralel-universe, double-dimension, duplicates, type of episodes so I loved this one.

My only question (and Lt Yarko is the only one who mentioned this above): Must the two Janeways stand so close to each other during their concersation? It looked awful, almost lip-to-lip.. Did David Livingston not see that in the editing or does he prefer it that way? I'd love to know..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Aug 4, 2017, 2:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

The last few seconds ended abruptly, but I enjoyed this episode. Unlike Jammer I thought it was a fairly good build-up.
The line of the episode: Doctor -- "How flattering!"
LOL
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Mar 15, 2017, 2:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

I remember watching this episode when it originally aired, and saying to myself "That's it! I wish Neelix, the most annoying Trek character ever created, would disappear from the show soon. His jealousy rages were really painful to watch (both as story elements and as acting skills) and contributed nothing more that the "Pfffffft" effect to the viewers.
Jammer's review is spot on. Dismal episode, enough of Neelix-focused episodes, enough of spending few minutes wach episode watching his pre-pre-teenage disposition in matters concerning Kes..

Speaking of Kes, Jennifer Lien's acting did not help the episode either...

As a final note, I'll ask again: Were Kes and Neelix (and the actors playing them) SERIOUSLY the best actors/characters the showrunners could come up with to represent two unknown Delta Quadrant aliens to join the crew permanently? Really? REALLY??

Pfffffffft.....
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The premise of the show is good but this episode suffers badly from 2 things:
- The main character played by the show's weakest actor being the center of the show.. Wang is a dud, sorry to say.
- Some awful dialog-writing.. I mean, that first conversation between Libby and Harry where he reveals the truth to her is embarrassing to watch. Kim's initial explanation for his strange behavior is three-sentence long, the Libby has the typical "if you don't love me or have doubts" emotional sentence, Kim delivers some more vague sentences, then says "trust me" to which Libby simply replies "Ok." And Harry leaves. Just an "Ok"??? Never mind that the man she was planning to marry soon marry told her "none of this is supposed to happen" and that he is from another reality.. And then the dialog between Harry and Tom in Marseille (I have to disagree with Jammer about this scene), especially after Tom's "You're beginning to annoy me" line ... really? And then, the techno babble talk in the runabout for Harry to explain the plasma field release to Tom for 25 seconds while under fire.. Oh dear..

On a separate note... The ankle security for a Starfleet Officer just based on suspicion? Come on...
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.