Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 31 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Wed, Mar 15, 2017, 2:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

I remember watching this episode when it originally aired, and saying to myself "That's it! I wish Neelix, the most annoying Trek character ever created, would disappear from the show soon. His jealousy rages were really painful to watch (both as story elements and as acting skills) and contributed nothing more that the "Pfffffft" effect to the viewers.
Jammer's review is spot on. Dismal episode, enough of Neelix-focused episodes, enough of spending few minutes wach episode watching his pre-pre-teenage disposition in matters concerning Kes..

Speaking of Kes, Jennifer Lien's acting did not help the episode either...

As a final note, I'll ask again: Were Kes and Neelix (and the actors playing them) SERIOUSLY the best actors/characters the showrunners could come up with to represent two unknown Delta Quadrant aliens to join the crew permanently? Really? REALLY??

Pfffffffft.....
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Mar 13, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The premise of the show is good but this episode suffers badly from 2 things:
- The main character played by the show's weakest actor being the center of the show.. Wang is a dud, sorry to say.
- Some awful dialog-writing.. I mean, that first conversation between Libby and Harry where he reveals the truth to her is embarrassing to watch. Kim's initial explanation for his strange behavior is three-sentence long, the Libby has the typical "if you don't love me or have doubts" emotional sentence, Kim delivers some more vague sentences, then says "trust me" to which Libby simply replies "Ok." And Harry leaves. Just an "Ok"??? Never mind that the man she was planning to marry soon marry told her "none of this is supposed to happen" and that he is from another reality.. And then the dialog between Harry and Tom in Marseille (I have to disagree with Jammer about this scene), especially after Tom's "You're beginning to annoy me" line ... really? And then, the techno babble talk in the runabout for Harry to explain the plasma field release to Tom for 25 seconds while under fire.. Oh dear..

On a separate note... The ankle security for a Starfleet Officer just based on suspicion? Come on...
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Mar 10, 2017, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

The one (and only) scene I enjoyed was Doctor scolding Neelix and kicking him out of sick bay. He might have done just what many of us wished the producers would do ---> get rid of him.
If I had any doubts that Neelix was the most annoying character in Voyager, this episode confirmed it.. What a miss by the showrunners to cast such a dismal character.
Terrible episode!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

This episode didn't work for me apart from the scenes with the two B'Elanna's.

- The seduction of the doctor by the Klingon B'Elanna when she is on the medical bed, and the doctor falling for it.. Come on!

- The Klingon B'Elanna's slow.....talk.... not good.

- She just magically frees her hands from the iron-look restraints just on sheer power...mmmm..

- The scene in Voyager with the synchronized talk between Janeway and 3 senior officers, so artificial. One lays out the problematic, another follows with the consequences, another proposes a solution, another gives the 'go,' all perfectly timed, talking half a second after each other with equal talk time for everyone in the scene. It sounded like a rehearsal, as if the actors were reading from their notes.

I enjoyed reading Jammer's review as usual, but he overrated this episode imo.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Mar 4, 2017, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

I have to join the few who said they enjoyed the episode, although I must admit that the denouement was a bit weak. I did enjoy the thriller aspect in the second half. I do agree with Jammer on the pointless teaser. And yes, as a couple of commenters have mentioned.. "the wide-eyed, eyebrow-cocked stare" by Janeway was a low for Mulgrew.. Overall, I still liked the episode for its classic ST themes (anomalies, crew members acting strange, feeling threatened by an alien force, etc.)

Did anyone else notice how dark the room was during the round-the-table meeting of the senior officers? Torres and Kim actually looked scary in the close-ups!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Best episode of the series thus far for all the reasons Jammer and most others already said..

Two bad moments for the Chakotay character because of Robert Beltran's limited acting skills --->
One in contrast to Martha Hackett's Seska in their dialogs and the other in contrast to the masterful skills of Tim Russ in portraying Tuvok in that last scene. Delivery of lines in a believable and authentic-to-the-character manner are very underrated (see also the dialog between Garrett Wang's Kim and Jerry Hardin's character in "Emanations" for another example)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I can't believe nobody has brought up one of the wittiest (and funniest) delivery lines in all of the Voyager series:

"[...] should improve performance and maximize efficiency."

... delivered twice, first by Tuvok, second by Janeway, both priceless.. :)))
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

An episode focusing on the two dullest regular Voyager crew members, Harry Kim and Chakotay, in the opening scenes was bound to be a dud. Luckily Chakotay's role diminishes after the first 5 minutes, but Kim's does not.

Some excellent performances by guest stars are not enough to save the day either.

Good actors can sometimes carry a badly written episode with their acting skills, but I don't (and shouldn't) expect that from Garrett Wang and Robert Beltran here, and this is despite the fact that the underlying story here did indeed have potential.

Just look at the opening scene with 4 of our regular characters (2 of whom are Kim and Chakotay) when they are talking over what they see in a screen. Wang delivers his lines as if he were reading them from that screen (sigh). And the conversation that ensues in the cave between Kim and Chakotay; no energy whatsoever even when Chakotay refuses to scan the bodies for ethical reasons (ummm.. I can think of at least 10 episodes in the Star Trek universe, if given the time, in which dead bodies discovered are scanned immediately. Nevermind anyway that Petra's dead body was revived without too much contemplation by anyone).

The most blatant examples of acting-skills contrast take place in those scenes that show Wang (Kim) and a seasoned actor like Jerry Hardin (or even a less-accomplished one like Jeffrey Chandler) holding one-on-one dialogs. I am also inclined to include the closing dialog between Kim and Janeway in the same breath. Wang is like a Chevette trying to keep up with a different Ferrari in each of these scenes.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

I am a sucker for murder mysteries and for Tuvok who happens to be my favorite Voyager character, so I enjoyed watching the episode on TV back when it was aired just as I enjoyed watching "A Matter of Perspective."

Now, in retrospect, I have to agree with some of the criticism here about the Chihuahua and the Doctor-Whatever's careless plan to somehow collaborate with the enemy. Still, this is one of the best episodes of the early part of the otherwise-mediocre 1st season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Odyssey47's comment in Aug 2016... LOOOOOOL
:)))))
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Passenger

Thanks RT.
The outfit is in good shape too and came with the tag "Durg - Worn by Chris Collins, DS8" or something like that (can't look it up now). The only problem --> it does not have a zipper and it's a one-piece costume. I better not have to go to the bathroom much during conventions! :)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Mon, Feb 20, 2017, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Janmer, first of all, thank you very much for your engaging, detailed reviews. As a long-time Trekkie and fan of DS9, coming back and reading your reviews from time to time is the best part of revisiting the show.

I believe the most glaring shortcoming of DS9 (and this is coming from someone who also sees DS9 as his favorite Trek series) was Avery Brooks's acting and he played the leading role unfortunately. I would say this is one area where Voyager and TNG had a leg up on DS9. He behaved for the most part as a stage actir thrown in the big screen. For example, "Waltz" happens to be one of my favorite episodes (your episode review is a reference as to why) and yet, Sisko's frenetic lines kept it from being my all-time favorite.

Otherwise, your season and series reviews pretty much sum everything up nicely. Once again, thanks a lot for your effort and wisdom.

I will soon begin a re-run of Voyager from beginning to end (my second go-round after watching it when it aired) and will make sure to read your reviews after each episode. In fact, I am looking forward to reading them.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Another nice episode for Bashir. I have said it before but it's amazing how far Siddig and the writers have brought Julian over the 7 seasons. He is cool, calculated, complex, and still very human as his disappointment shows in the latter part of the episode when Sloane dies the first time and his serenity in happiness does when Odo is cured. Far gone is the teenager, gung-ho Bashir of the first couple of seasons. And it's not like the writers did many favors in this episode with some of their writing.

Damar, Garak, Dukat as secondary characters, and Kira and Bashir as primary characters are a major part of the reason why Deep Space Nine was a great series: sound character development within the foundation of great story writing.

I would rate this episode 3 stars at least aimply because the collaboration dynamics of Julian & Miles to solve a complex problem was a pleasure to witness.

Side note: I have to admit I felt a particular pleasure from Julian's verbal berating of Sloan and the latter's obvious distress when he was lying down within the force field and "feeling cornered" as Bashir aptly put it.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

I am glad someone said it in the comments (Xionous, 7 years ago, LOL) because I was wondering if I were the only one to notice how different Gowron's stunt double looked. I realize it's hard to imitate Gowron's eyes but, wow, that was a whole different individual in every way, especially when Worf picks up his broken bat'leth to continue the fight.

I also agree with Krog's comment. Triumphant episode for many secondary characters.

I am also glad Winn-Dukat took a hiatus for this fantastic episode. Great review by Jammer again.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Strange Bedfellows

Damar advising Weyoun 8:
"Why don't you go talk to Worf again?"

Damar consoling Weyoun 8:
"Oh I'm sure she'll understand... but if she doesn't... I look forward to meeting Weyoun 9"

Damar looking down at a dead Weyoun 7:
"Hahahahahaha"

Priceless :)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

I second Del_Duio, welcome on board Smokey Kaye.

The first 15 minutes of this episode are a disaster in several ways. Sisko's reasons for letting Ezri go in a runabout are downright lame and un-Starfleet-like to the highest degree. Ezri's expectation that her runabout would follow the same path once the engines are offline, in all the turmoil of the badlands, is completely outside the realm of possibility. Ezri (for the umpteenth time) confusing her identity with Jadzia in a dialog is by now nauseating to watch. Worf's reaction to Boday's relation to either Dax's is so infantile that Michael Dorn should have rejected the script for Worf's sake (ok I know Dorn probably is not in a position to do that, but come on writers...!)

Once you can make it past all that to the last 25 minutes, it becomes a nice set-the-atmosphere episode for the final run of the series.

As to the hate-Ezri crowd, I agree that she gets way too much screen time in Season 7, but to claim that Jadzia was a much better character is a stretch. As few people have pointed out, Farrell barely did (or did she?) more with Jadzia Dax's development in 6 seasons than did deBoer with Ezri Dax in one season.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Agreed with Dave above. I love coming back to read Jammer's reviews, as well as the fact that people are still commenting now.

One of the best Bashir episodes. His character evolved a ton since the beginning of the series to the point where I look forward to seeing him now. And I mean "now," as in, Julian of today who contemplates and implicates himself in complex situations, and not the one from the mirror universe, holosuites, or the early-drooling-Bashur version. Credit to the writers and to Sid's acting for succeeding with the much-needed renewal of the character over the seasons.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

A lot of great commentary above. I don't have much to add except two of my own:

1) I am fine with the race issue being brought up, but not ok with the "our people" characterization of Sisko. Someone tried to justify it away in the comments (sorry, I can't remember who) but even in that comment, I have read nothing that justifies entertaining the usage of "us-vs-them" dichotomy by humans in the 24th century with regard to interpersonal relationships within them.

2) I also disagree with the "decades of Gene Roddenberry 'color blindness'" comment by Jammer. Roddenberry should really be the last one to be associated with color blindness. I will not go into a long essay explaining why but two TOS episodes, "Let that be Your Last Battlefield" and "The Savage Curtain," should be enough by themselves, to prove the opposite..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I can't write off the contrivances in this episode as easily as Jammer does. The fact that the killer "must be a Vulcan" because of the laughing people in the pictures, then have the actual killer walk in the turbolift, and Joran figuring out that it's him with ine close look at his face... Too much.

What's also too much are the number of episodes centered around Ezri lately. I like her, don't get me wrong (although she is no Jadzia), but can we get away from her being a main character now for just a few episodes? Please?
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Thu, Feb 16, 2017, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Bashir-Ezri romance in the very beginning is your emblematic plot device. Out of nowhere, they are flirting, and leaving the table holding hands (according to Odo who has no reason to lie obviously, so it must be true).. The romance feels rushed, artificial.

Disappointing that it's Ira Behr and Hans Beimler who wrote this episode.

Kira asking Ezri if she would ever betray her and then hugging her and saying "Oh... oh, oh, oh" was a low point for both actresses.

Another accurate review by Jammer..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Great episode, only partially spoiled by Brooks's outrageously over-the-top, all-body-part-tremors acting in the Benny & digging-the-sand sequences..

Please, no more Benny! And not because of Benny's story line, but because of Brooks's performances as Benny in the climactic scenes in "Far Beyond ..." and in this episode.. Enough theatrics. Phew!
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Passenger

I hold this episode dear to my heart, because, er.... I bought the actual costume worn by Durg (the Markalian) in this episode in an auction...

Yeah, I did..

Durg, a forgettable character (not once mentioned by Jammer or any of the commenters here), in a forgettable episode, highlighted by one of the worst acting jobs of any main character in any Star Trek series (and this is coming from someone who ended up liking Bashir's character development throughout the series a lot, and appreciated Siddig's acting in the later seasons)..

But hey, at least I can say that I own a piece of history, and will proudly wear it in conventions.

Long live Durg! :)
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Wonderful episode. Highlight for Avery Brooks whom I have criticized in the past for his acting skills. He conveys the sense of self-berayal extremely well here. Garak's attempt at 'relieving' the captain of guilt was anice touch by the writers. Everything else, Jammer already said in his fantastic review. I echo the sentiments of Tomás in his comments from.. errr.. 9 years ago on Jammer's site and reviews..
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

One of my favorite Trek episodes ever. Unlike Jammer and some other posters, I never saw the twist(s) coming, and I thoroughly enjoyed the performances of the actors.

I like Dr. Bashir, or rather what DS9 writers have done with him over the 7 years. He has gone from an overly enthusiastic 'youngster' to a mature, composed character with many facets to his personality and existence. This was an episode in which he got to display those qualities and show how much he has evolved.

It also helps that everything that happens in this episode is very relevant to today's world of government, policing, and politics, down to the details of the dialogue between Sloan and Bashir in the holodeck toward the end, as well as the closing discussion between Bashir, Sisko, Kira, and O'Brien.

Fantastic execution all around, hats off to Dorn for directing and to Thompson & Weddle for the writing.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

Thanks Jammer for another great review. I loked the episode overall.

My pet peeve: Avery Brooks sitting in the captain's chair with his legs casually crossed while his com officer gets blown away 3 meters in front of him and Kira moves quickly to replace him during the opening battle scene when the Jem Hadar attack the Defiant, and then again, in the climax scene when the Jem Hadar soldier misses him (since, as Jammer pointed out, the Jem Hadar "are worse shots than the average storm trooper"), he slowly walks over to the console to do other things, no hurrying, no quick movements, no agitation signs, despite being in the middle of a shootout.. I have somewhat come to expect some degree of mediocre acting from Brooks, but did Allan Kroeker not notice this during the filming or editing?
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2017 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.